Toyota Corolla Furia Concept previews next-gen Corolla Altis – bigger body, edgier design

Corolla Furia Concept-09

This is the Toyota Corolla Furia Concept from the 2013 North American International Auto Show in Detroit. As its name suggests, the Furia Concept previews the next-generation Corolla sedan, which should make its debut this year, according to Toyota and Scion USA vice president Bill Fay.

By the way, we’re talking about the next-gen Corolla Altis as we know it, not the JDM Toyota Corolla Axio and Fielder wagon that was launched in Japan last year. The current E140 Corolla has been around since 2006, so a new one is long overdue.

“This exciting compact sedan concept hints at the styling cues consumers can expect to see on the next-generation Corolla. The concept represents an exterior styling study by Toyota designers, and it builds on the brand’s product development priority to develop more dramatic, expressively designed vehicles,” the press release reads.

“The Corolla Furia Concept is an early indicator of where our compact car design may lead in the future. It blends a heightened emphasis on dramatic design and modern elements of high technology to generate curb appeal that will surprise a lot of people,” Fay said.

2013-toyota-corolla-altis-theo

Designed around a theme of “Iconic Dynamism,” the Corolla Furia Concept is 4,620 mm long, 1,805 mm wide and 1,425 mm tall. This means that while it’s 60 mm longer than the Altis, the Furia’s 2,700 mm wheelbase is a whole 100 mm longer than the current car’s. 2.7m seems to be the wheelbase par for today’s C-segment sedans – both the Hyundai Elantra MD and new Nissan Sylphy also share the measurement.

Toyota wanted a “more stable, athletic stance” and so the Furia Concept is 45 mm wider than the Altis, while sitting 40 mm closer to the ground. The fact that a concept car is released with such detailed dimensions could mean that the car body you see here is close to production, minus obvious showcar details such as the 19-inch rims, fancy lights and carbon fibre bits.

Above is Theophilus Chin’s rendering of the next-gen Corolla Altis, done last August and inspired by the new Auris hatchback for Europe. Like Toyota’s new direction for the Altis?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Pretty sure the front of the actual car is confirmed the same facia of the Auris, like this picture Theopolis rendered. But the back will look close to the concept. No where near what Theopolis imagined. Because the Auris tail lamps are similar to the this Furia concept . Sharp and edgy lamps!

• Here u r Toyota,this is very good looking car and i hope this is not just a concept car…Japanese is back !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
    • Kalun on Jan 16, 2013 at 11:28 am

Not bad but the roof looks flat.
      It has character though.

• Jimmy on Jan 16, 2013 at 11:33 pm

Well done this IS only if the safety specs is as good or better than the new Mazda 6, otherwise shameful.
      Can someone please show us the comparison Mazda 6 vs Lexus IS.

• the front need better design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 53
    • Let’s face it, whatever toyota do right now with the Corolla is an improvement, it can’t get any worse than the current gen…… maybe i said it too soon lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • Let’s all be honest. We really did’t expect Toyota to pull of a real beauty, they have’t really done that since the 2000GT back in the 60s.

The things I really like about the Furia concept? the headlight blending itself with the honeycomb grill, the rear lamp and that contrasting side profile along with the rear wheel arch, Hope some will make it into production. Other than that, it is a rather striking concept which is quite serios looking, espacially with that contrasting ‘GTR/Evo X like’ bumper .

But it is still fundamentally a Toyota [And why on Earth did they put the A-pillar so forward on such a long wheelbase car]. I can say is an improvement over the current crops of mundane cars, We all have to agree. Is better than a Camry, right Sam?

• Sam Loo on Jan 16, 2013 at 12:55 am

Fuyoh, keng wor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
    • Petrolhead on Jan 16, 2013 at 1:11 am

looks like Toyota is game-on in improving its designs to take down its competitors

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
    • PauKaya on Jan 16, 2013 at 2:12 am

yes, but so extreme design got RV ah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • Fuiyoh, korean style rear lights.

But Toyota finally got it (on concept), good design should be copied.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 23
      • Beng Alex Chan on Jan 16, 2013 at 10:22 am

Get an Hyundai Elantra better than this Toyota.Quality also best.After 10 yrs,it still be Elantra.Can Toyota do this??No right?Vote PR and you will get the Korean quality car forever.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 50
  • PauKaya on Jan 16, 2013 at 1:00 am

sincerely wish at least 50% of the concept makes it to production

• MBX Boy on Jan 16, 2013 at 3:44 am

Very nice. Couldn’t believe my eyes seeing a Toyota logo on the car. So, well done Toyota… Make the concept a reality!

• HONpengDA on Jan 16, 2013 at 6:05 am

still can’t beat civic!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 38
    • Civic is at the bottom of the barrel in this class of cars, there’s nothing to beat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 8
  • Seems like the design team starts to wake up to please the young group. Hopefully, they would improve its driving dynamic as well and input more safety element into it.
    l drove an Altis about 8 yrs. Altis is a relatively good and reliable car IF we drive it slowly but once the speedometer goes beyond 110km/h, it is totally a different scenario.
    Toyota used to be in the last position of my own buying listing(of course way above P1 &P2). Well, hopefully Corolla Furia may change my preconception on Toyota.
    Currently, I own a Inspira 2.0 and Mondeo 240ps. To me,these 2 cars are still miles better than Altis and Camry.
    Anyway, good job Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
  • Dr Advisor on Jan 16, 2013 at 8:10 am

Even Toyota become afraid like hell by Hyundai Kia design that stealing gazillions of sales globally

Whoever afraid of competition must close shop lah ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
  • Joe Radzif on Jan 16, 2013 at 8:11 am

muncung dah macam Honda Civic la pulak…

boring…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 30
  • Beh Chin Wai on Jan 16, 2013 at 8:14 am

The estima front and back looks chun! Better than current civic ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • Looks really good.

• comrade on Jan 16, 2013 at 9:45 am

this is a real improvement on design…. hopefully Malaysian can get it in the same year as Japan..

• Front looks like Estima and rear looks like latest Camry. Ugly and boring car. No matter what, Toyota average segment cars are for people to go from point A to point B. I won’t be surprise that most internal parts still leveraging older generation design. It is just a shell that is changing. Lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 28
    • You really comment blindly and you are just one with the herd mentality. Give credit when due, I did criticized many of Toyota poor design especially the new Camry but when they finally did something good, give them credit like this design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • frossonice on Jan 16, 2013 at 10:14 am

UMW Toyota Malaysia will write to Toyota Japan,

“How on earth are we going to sell this car to old folks here? We need a more bland, old tech Corolla please.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
  • Disappointed on Jan 16, 2013 at 10:16 am

Concept cool, too bad actual car will probably never look anything like that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • ben yap on Jan 16, 2013 at 10:20 am

Listen! Listen! Listen!

If toyota starts to change it design from uncle to this, it is awesome. but when it reaches our shore, the price will be high and many will complain being overprice. cats, dogs, chicken, sharks and all animals also got a problem…. we also got a problem which is our government tax.

listen, listen, listen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Digir on Jan 16, 2013 at 10:46 am

The design is very Japanese! especially the front part.

Well-done!

• Bring it on, once they realise it to production, i will be the first one to buy.

• synzz on Jan 16, 2013 at 11:46 am

this shows that car makers that we perceive “boring or stagnant” can do great designs.

They start trimming things to keep cost low and maximize profit relying only on a branding.

Things start to change only when competition pops up.

Arigato Korea and China!

• gomotech.com on Jan 16, 2013 at 11:48 am

nice design. i like

• Toyota with excellent BRAND NAME.

• Felix on Jan 16, 2013 at 12:39 pm

Don’t be too happy about this, this design is especially for European and US country, you can refer to the latest similar design of Camry in European and US countries. Soon in Asia countries, you will still get the fugly and ungly Corolla just like the current-gen of Camry in our country.

• Ongtk on Jan 16, 2013 at 2:28 pm

Our current Altis is very similar to the US market Corolla. Chances are, the overall design will be the same albeit with some comestic changes. Americans don’t like those chrome parts on their cars.

• Jimmy on Jan 16, 2013 at 1:45 pm

Yellow one is cantiq. Cantiq cakap cantiq, greedy cakap greedy.

• Not many car maker can transform extremely beautiful concept design that you see in auto show or CAD drawings to final product. For this rendered version of Toyota Corolla is a poorly blend of Estima front, Camry rear and Prious overall wedge shape. Toyota may have step up their design but that doesn’t mean it is an attractive car. I will give 80% for the effort but 40% for the result. They can still gain lots of market share for this segment but that does not mean is a better car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • haha…so which one would you guys choose? Like=Corolla Furia, Dislike= New Civic..If this coming..I gonna choose this over new civic :)

• i didnt know this thread got so many ah bengs..LOL

• Toyota is good in distorting the reality and having a huge base of loyal follower. Eg: Calling the latest Camry a new design with latest technology. Just like Apple, calling iphone5 a breakthrough product. Yet, people will believe it because of the branding even after some cases of product recalls recently. Perhaps this is the “TOYOTA WAY”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • hmm..how about the interior?

• gOOsh on Jan 18, 2013 at 3:19 pm

baru la cantik corolla ni… maybe toyota designers just woke up from long night sleep…