ZF 9HP transmission for Range Rover Evoque – world’s first nine-speed auto for a passenger car

range rover evoque 9 1

The Range Rover Evoque is to have its current six-speeder replaced by the ZF 9HP transmission, becoming the world’s first passenger car with a nine-speed auto gearbox.

Increasing the number of ratios from six to nine improves fuel economy and reduces CO2 emissions. The more closely-spaced ratios result in better acceleration response, while the higher top gear provides added refinement.

Land Rover, who is the lead partner on the ZF 9HP project, says the robust gearbox is suited to its models’ rugged all-terrain ability. The ZF 9HP’s lowest ratio is far lower than the current six-speeder’s, and is specifically designed for off-road use.

Unlike the outgoing gearbox’s sequential operation, the new boy has a ‘skip-shift’ function – which means it can skip a gear or two when downshifting under heavy deceleration or rapid kickdown. It also matches the driver’s mood within seconds, sharpening up for sportiness or settling down for economy as need be.

range rover evoque 9 2

Curve Mode, longitudinal acceleration and pedal position all control upshift prevention, while Fast-Off mode measures the rate of throttle release, anticipates further requests by the driver for high power, then holds the gear if necessary. If the driver requests a downshift when the vehicle is travelling too fast, the transmission will remember the request and make the shift when the speed drops to an appropriate level.

Despite the extra three gear ratios, the new nine-speeder is only 6.0 mm longer and weighs 7.5 kg less than the outgoing six-speeder. It’s produced at ZF’s Gray Court facility in South Carolina (more details on the ZF 9HP here).

Late last year, ZF boss Stefan Sommer was quoted as saying nine gears was the “natural limit” for transmissions, because any more than that would add weight that he opined could not be offset by gains in fuel efficiency.

There have been reports of General Motors’ and Ford’s collaboration on nine- and 10-speed transmissions, as well as of Hyundai developing a 10-speed gearbox.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Good news! Toyota finally updating to 6 speed because 6 speed is now obsolete.

• kadajawi on Feb 27, 2013 at 1:27 pm

Bodoh betul coming out with 9 speed and later 10 speed and so on. One day, it will be 20 speed. For what? Does it make real difference to the drive quality and handling? Isn’t better these silly companies try to cut down in cost and channel R & D towards fuel efficency?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 32
      • EDDIE on Feb 27, 2013 at 1:37 pm

.1. No such thing as 20 speed…

• AVH® on Feb 27, 2013 at 4:08 pm

In UK, Range Rover was last in the reliability survey. Perpetually breaks down. That they cannot sort but want to come out with 9 speed.

• kadajawi on Feb 27, 2013 at 1:43 pm

A hint to the fake kadajawi: I don’t speak Malay.

Again, please Paul Tan, we need to be able to register our names…

• to the stupid who calls others stupid on Feb 27, 2013 at 1:44 pm

woah..we have a badass here..anyway..
        1) no it won’t reach 20-speed.
        2) yes, lower rpm means more comfortable driving (i.e less engine noise).
        3) yes, newer technology means less weight so engineers can improve the handling (i.e if you at least know how to read the above article – 7.5kg less).
        4) every company is trying to cut down cost. but later don’t you complaint about the quality.
        5) this is an R&D..the result shows more gears equals more fuel efficiency.
        6) don’t call others stupid when you’re not so bright yourself..stupid.

• o_O

What are you talking about? ZF only produces gearbox, of course they can only do gearbox. And yes, a smarter and more speed box is definitely more fuel efficient than a conventional 6 speed. Not to mention it cost lesser than DC boxes.

Are you really kadajawi, I’ve seen more sensible comment from you.

• Kadajawi Ternyata Bodoh on Feb 27, 2013 at 2:54 pm

Dear Kadajawi,

Please learn Physic and Science regarding the Gear Ratio or at least Google it before saying something STUPID. If there is 100 Gear and its Automatic we still buy it unless you change it manually like a stupid person or plain dumb. Kindly do not embarrass our species on this Earth with the stupid/Bodoh remark. Thanks for reading.

• frenzyaustin on Feb 27, 2013 at 1:38 pm

But Lexus IS-f using 8 speed while AMG or M3 using 6 speed….

• Black Dog on Feb 27, 2013 at 12:24 pm

My dream SUV…stylish, fast, practical, go anywhere…wow!

• sudonano on Feb 27, 2013 at 12:42 pm

When will it hit the market?

• Mat Global on Feb 27, 2013 at 1:07 pm

A premium and stylish SUV for the have.

• Land rover is making full use of tata’s money. this is good to hear along with use of lightweight chassis they are sure to be a big player in the future

• kadajawisucks2 on Feb 27, 2013 at 3:55 pm

how about RV?

• ayamxxx on Feb 27, 2013 at 7:17 pm

even F1 nowadays only used 7 Semi-Auto Gear. Everthing will depend on the engine, cost production, target market, and Demand.

• armandd on Feb 27, 2013 at 9:39 pm

Here Toyota only offers Vios and Camry with the ancient but reliable 4-speed autos. Yet, Malaysians still buy them in droves…

• The more gearbox is good like truck..due to they need the power ratio n low rpm for output the maximum power for diesel engine