GALLERY: 110 years of the Mercedes-Benz S-Class

Mercedes_S-Class_01
Mercedes_S-Class_13

This gallery is a special one. Special because it’s a collection of all generations of the Mercedes-Benz S-Class – Special Class or Sonderklasse in its native language. This long line of top-of-the-range limos has been in a class of its own ever since its inception, starting from the Mercedes-Simplex 60 hp from 1904 which was used by businessman Emil Jellinek – whose daughter Mercédès lent her name to the brand.

Two more pre-war models are included in this elite collection – a Nürburg 460 (W 08, year 1929) and a model 770 “Grand Mercedes” (W 07, 1931). The rest, as they say, is history.

This is a timely lead-up to the next-generation W222 S-Class of course, of which we’ve already seen the official interior teaser shots and undisguised spy photographs. We’ve also covered a preview of the next-gen car’s array of tech here.

Here’s a game for all you anoraks out there. How many of the nine other models representing the ancestors of the range-topping, premium-segment saloons can you name? The current model carries the codename W221, and the one before that is the W220. How low can you go?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• BMW Fanboi on Apr 01, 2013 at 5:43 pm

Preve is still a better car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 67
    • Sam Loo on Apr 02, 2013 at 12:30 pm

Have you all wondered why you see very old Mercedes on the road and hardly any really old BMWs on the road? Yes, Mercedes last longer and comes with less breakdowns.

BMW is also now starting to panic. Infact there are more Mercedes sales in Malaysia than BMW but BMW has always played around with their figures to show they got more sales than Mercedes.

What is not told is that BMW sells close to a thousands cars a year to Sime Darby Rental (former Hertz) which uses the BMW cars as fleet cars for their Sime Darby staff. Sime Darby owns both Hertz and BMW. So, are they really making real sales and really beating Mercedes in their annual figures?

• To be fair, it was only post mid-90s and early 2000s that BMW decided to give Malaysia some focus. Prior to that, BMW in Malaysia was poorly represented.

When I was growing up in the 70s, Arshad Motors was the main distributor. Arshad was famous for spoiling the brand in Malaysia, due to poor distribution network, non-tropicalised cars and a string of poor service records. The brand got stuck for quite a while before the revival.

What BMW has in Malaysia today is nothing short of phenomenal. Their cars have improved, along with a wider network and greater warranty. Reliability issues were largely put to the waste bin with the “BMW+Service Inclusive” pckage, and zero interest deals pulled in many cost conscious Malaysians.

Its growth in Malaysia can also be partly attributed to the fact that more Malaysians were exposed to the brand when they were studying overseas. In mature marketing oriented markets of the west, the proliferation of their advertisements were not lost on Malaysians aspiring to return home to drive their own BMWs.

As for fleet cars and SD staff using the cars, that is smart promotion! Why would Sime Darby issue their staff with cars other than their own brands? The cars get driven and seen around town. In fact, this is exactly what happened with another car they distribute, Hyundai Santa Fe. Before it was used by government agencies like JKR and JPJ, it was mostly issued to their General Managers. Today, that model stands on its own.

Sales figures don’t lie. Even if SD issued the cars to internally, they still generate sales as the cars are sold to Hertz (which SD operates as a licensee), and Hertz leases them to SD who issues them out to staff. Its not “playing around”. Indeed, its smart and strategic.

• The other day at Sri Hartamas, I caught a picture perfect moment of the latest S-class, A8 and 7-series(pre-FL) side by side, and weirdly, despite being the oldest , I find the S-class has more opulent flair than the other 2. The A8 looks like a bigger A4(there was one nearby for me to compare), the 7-series looks boxy. A timeless design the current S-class

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • Shame_Loo on Apr 01, 2013 at 7:52 pm

For those who love to Preve here Preve there…..Let me share my thought here…Proton Wira can do the same..from 1993 to 200x?? Design never change and also cross the Millenium…..Joke of bolehland…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 17
  • jilbaber on Apr 01, 2013 at 8:04 pm

The very first gen look like a 7 seater SUV before it was cool..

• Well, …W222, W220, W140, W126, W116, W108 … that’s as far as I knew. I’ve been owning W126 300se , W108 250s, apart from non s class models such as W124 260e and W123 230e, I must say that to date, nothing beats the opulence of a classic s class. I’m still in love with my mint 22 year old 300se

• 22 year old 300se? Is it a W126? Still the S-Klasse with the best design until today in my opinion. Although the design is from 1979, it still looks fresh.

• Jimmy on Apr 01, 2013 at 9:52 pm

Is there anybody in this world who individually possesses every single versions & generations of S-class? Tabik.

• Anti-BMW Fanboi on Apr 01, 2013 at 11:20 pm

BMW Fanboi! You are a sick boy indeed! I don’t mind any of your statement except keep repeating Preve!

For goodness sake, this is a blog to express comment! If you wanna advert go elsewhere!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 17
  • Ahmadfaris93 on Apr 02, 2013 at 9:22 am

I admit the current S-Class is getting old now but when I look at it, it is still one of the best looking luxury car. Chris Harris once said that the S-Class is old but still looks good.
    Cant wait for the new one to come out after seeing the undisguised photo of it. Looks awesome !

• MrCounterstrike on Apr 04, 2013 at 6:48 pm

The W140 is the best S class ever made. Comfortable, Durable, Tank-like build quality, Luxurious and way ahead of its time than its competitors.

• Luqman_HKM on Jul 23, 2013 at 10:56 pm

Mercedes S-Class W126, still looking like a RM500,000 car, even though now it cost RM20,000 -RM30,000 range. Back then, the W126 costs RM100,000+ , that was a lot though

• w140 s class m120 engine still impressive..