W222 2014 Mercedes-Benz S-Class interior revealed!

Mercedes-Benz S-Klasse (W 222) 2013

The W222 2014 Mercedes-Benz S-Class is due before the end of the year, and being the flagship it’s a very important car for Mercedes-Benz. Perhaps even more so now that the S-Class will have to move upmarket with the Pullman model and fill the shoes that Maybach was previously filling. We’ve previously already seen spyshots of this interior, but here it is revealed in full glory.

The basic layout is very familiar to those who know the W221 well. You have the a wide binnacle that covers both the instrument cluster as well as the main Comand display, a clean centre dash design that only features climate control arranged in a single line, seat controls on the door card, Comand control at the fingertips fore of the armrest – all design features that S-Class owners would already be used to.

Mercedes-Benz S-Klasse (W 222) 2013

While the fully digital instrument panel, Comand interface (now Intel Atom-powered) and rear entertainment system have been modernised, the air cond vents take on a retro look. The rectangular clock that reminded me of a Reverso is now round. The B&O sound system in the W221 has been replaced by a Burmester system with 24 speakers and a 1500W output. The ‘metalised’ buttons of the W221 continues here along with solid aluminium controls, in an interior furnished with leather and wood.

If you don’t like that typical Mercedes-Benz leather smell, there’s a new featured called an ‘active perfuming system’ that uses a atomiser function to perfume the interior in five minute on and off cycles. There are four scents available – freeside, sports, downtown and nightlife, named after ‘moods’ that the scents are supposed to give the interior.

There are a few changes that I notice though. The vertical button panel between the Comand interface and the instrument cluster is no longer home to the Airmatic controls – you will now find a button to control the rear blinds and what appears to be the rear headrests. The Airmatic suspension controls for Sport mode and increasing ride height have now been moved to the area surrounding the Comand rotary dial.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Davinnci on Mar 19, 2013 at 5:39 am

Luxury!

• Michael Chia on Mar 19, 2013 at 10:35 am

The S class is only 50,000 pounds in the UK. But when it comes here, it becomes RM1 million. A price just to support the cronies and AP holders, who are mainly cronies also

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 91
      • catdog on Mar 19, 2013 at 1:28 pm

Shd check ur facts b4 posting. Its start fr 61,435 pounds otr 4 d current model in uk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 23
        • so what, it’s still expensive in Msia

• 50k or 60k or even 100k pounds in UK. still doesn’t justify their price in Malaysia. So i don’t really care if his facts are slightly wrong

• So Much of Tax lah on Mar 20, 2013 at 9:15 am

Its only 47,000 pounds lah in the UK. Somemore, the S250Cdi is even cheaper than that!

• Sam Loo on Mar 19, 2013 at 11:57 pm

Change that crony thing. Its all in our hands

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 45
    • Obama on Mar 19, 2013 at 12:27 pm

At first glance, i thought it is 787 cockpit. damn cool!

• Sam Loo Ori on Mar 19, 2013 at 6:29 pm

this is just overrated expensive and poor RV. Nothing compared to my Alphard!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 26
  • The mood lighting on this luxo barge is just exquisitely gorgeous!!

• sheldon on Mar 19, 2013 at 7:03 am

reminds me of Boeing 787 glass cockpit. large screens.

• droll on Mar 19, 2013 at 7:31 am

man, really loving the interior because it looks so ultra luxurious! i’m more interested to see what tech gets included in this new S-class as this is the stuff that eventually trickles down to the other models (E, C, etc). i remember the new S class was supposed to have a camera that monitors the road conditions and adjusts the dampers before the car hits a pothole.

• Fit for CEO & Captain of Industry……all I can say is wow…..should be chauffeur driven only.Feels like airplane cockpit…or fighter jet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • underskinned on Mar 19, 2013 at 9:17 am

This blows my mind. But I wonder how much does it take to maintain all the gadgetry?

• jilbaber on Mar 19, 2013 at 9:24 am

Using only Atom?…that gonna be slow..why not use i7

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • droll on Mar 19, 2013 at 10:29 am

not if they optimize the software specifically for mercedes. it can be made to appear fast.

• gavin on Mar 19, 2013 at 9:31 am

unfortunately I’m not familiar with the s class only Mercedes buses lol

• teamsleepine on Mar 19, 2013 at 10:57 am

my w220 s350 going to be so outdated :(

• Pretty nice! on Mar 19, 2013 at 11:00 am

It’s a super luxurious looking interior! But here’s the fact.

If Lexus would to produce the LS with all these interior mood lighting, most of the people here would say, “Yuck! It’s over done! There’s too much lighting inside and there’s too much stitching on the dashboard” but because its a Mercedes over here, most of the people here would say its beautiful and luxurious, biased towards the logo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
    • dugong on Mar 19, 2013 at 12:49 pm

Pls don’t compare S-class with a low class jap car like Lexus LS/Camry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 12
      • frenzy on Mar 20, 2013 at 12:13 am

So Lexus LS is cheap? Tell me which high end luxurious vehicle can match the comfort of the LS?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
        • dugong on Mar 20, 2013 at 12:50 pm

never said it was cheap. just expensive but low class.

• frenzyaustin on Mar 20, 2013 at 1:49 pm

Why? What define “Low Class”
            The president of Japan sit in a Lexus, why it’s low class?

• dugong on Mar 20, 2013 at 2:39 pm

the cheap materials make it low class my friend.

• dugong on Mar 20, 2013 at 12:58 pm

Plenty can easily beat the overrated LS. You mean the LS is best in the world to you? Pls come out fr your well and go try the bentley mulsanne and RR phantom/ghost. Since you got no chance to try let me tell you its like a 6 star suite(RR) vs a 2 star budget hotel at pudu(LS).

And you can’t say for sure LS is more comfortable than the W222. What a joke. Even paul has not sat in it b4 how the hell would you know you lexus biased fanboy! Even W221 already miles better and comfortable than overpriced LS. LS is at most on par with the dated W220.

• frenzyaustin on Mar 20, 2013 at 1:59 pm

How overrated it is? The original Lexus LS from 1989 just fascinated the auto world by the quality and the comfort.
            How does it overrated, when asking people about luxury car, M & B is the two and ONLY. No Lexus, is this overrated?
            Lexus is still a young brand and is evolving from time to time.

• austin on Mar 20, 2013 at 11:31 am

Audi is a cheap car either, so does Bently and Porsche. They are volkswagen isn’t it?
        Or Ferrari Fiat on steroids? Or Lotus is just a cheap Proton?
        A luxury car that owned/divided by a people’s car brand doesn’t mean that the car is cheap.
        Or just people jealous Toyota gained as No.1 again?

• boycott on Mar 19, 2013 at 3:29 pm

Which is why branding is very important, a vincci handbag can be diamond studded but it’s still a vincci…

• In term of luxury and comfort, S class is no way near LS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
      • Jimmy on Mar 19, 2013 at 10:22 pm

VW vs Suzuki.

• frenzyaustin on Mar 20, 2013 at 11:32 am

Overpriced awsome car vs expensive good car.
          In Malaysia no reasonable priced car.(Except Audi A6 Hybrid)

• dugong on Mar 19, 2013 at 11:38 pm

yes S-class is 9/10 while LS is 2/10 in comfort.

• frenzyaustin on Mar 20, 2013 at 11:33 am

Where is the source of the rating or just normal stereotype arrogant comment?

• Sam Loo on Mar 20, 2013 at 12:00 am

Agreed, anyone that has sat in a Lexus will immediately redefine luxury.

Looks like many are still thinking that BM, Benz and Audi are the best luxury vehicles around. Well, many are frogs in very deep well

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
        • Boycott on Mar 20, 2013 at 10:36 am

Say watever u wan, Mercedes Benz is still a more desirable brand.

• dugong on Mar 20, 2013 at 1:13 pm

Go read more forums about your idol LS. Ppl are complaining all the time about the cheap materials inside and the low quality thin leather. Similar to camry class materials. And poor handling too.
          Only thing good is the silent ride. Most LS buyers are regretting and will switch back to german rides after losing their arm and legs struggling to sell off their overpriced LS.

• MrCounterstrike on Mar 20, 2013 at 11:28 am

However, S class is definitely worth buying as it is a great all-rounder (luxury, comfort, handling, tech, safety) compared to the Lexus LS

• seancorr on Mar 19, 2013 at 11:25 am

Wow…that’s all I can say for the interior…looks super awesome. The front end could have been better but the rear looks so CLS with its curved boot.

Looks like the S Class will remain as the top luxury car again!

• Bongcs on Mar 19, 2013 at 12:41 pm

The new S-CLASS

“Fly on the road with luxury”

• Jimmy on Mar 19, 2013 at 1:37 pm

Most people who bought S-class is just for the class. No need test drive. No need to see the car. Just book only. Same like X6.
    Only car for fun needs test drive.

• mirror mirror on Mar 19, 2013 at 4:34 pm

I think I have some mental issues, no matter how good the car is, I tend to get bored of it after a few months. The same sort of thing happened to all my previous cars.

• mirror mirror on Mar 19, 2013 at 4:51 pm

Maybe the same thing happens to other people too. My friend told me that when his wife first got her 2 seater SLK, she was like waking up every morning eagerly anticipating to join the morning traffic jam, but after a few months she was asking to hitch a ride in the husband’s car again. I did not believe my friend at first but then maybe I should have. I think most of us own a prestigious car partly to satisfy some irrational needs only.

• mercedes benz lover on Mar 19, 2013 at 6:23 pm

Used to drive c class when i was 20, drive e class when i was 25. Considering S class or cls when i hit 30 in 2 years.

• mirror mirror on Mar 19, 2013 at 7:31 pm

If you observe closely, the interior is quite Rolls Royce like, may not be bad to have something to look forward to, otherwise life will be so boring.

• oldguy on Mar 19, 2013 at 9:17 pm

kerata orang tua

• frenzyaustin on Mar 20, 2013 at 11:34 am

Young fellow can’t afford

• Mercedes Lover on Mar 20, 2013 at 3:46 pm

depending on the exterior cant wait to see the the exterior design.. imo i think its suitable for 30 years old adult

• Fahmi on Mar 19, 2013 at 10:32 pm

Not just a car for CEO’s, directors, entepreneurs but a car for Goverments, Presidents, Prime Ministers, Kings and Sultans… Expectation is set very high for Mercedes Benz… The car that we have been waiting for… (And for some of us, just able to dream of, can’t afford one).. S-class is a masterpiece esp W140 and W221….

• frenzyaustin on Mar 20, 2013 at 11:24 am

This interior is not Mercedes! But a Bently/Rolls Royce!
    The interior quality is way higher than W221, a very huge leap foward.
    Now wait for the car itself, how it compare to 7 series or Lexus LS.

• Firdaus on Mar 22, 2013 at 12:06 am

‘W’ code refers to C class models while ‘V’ code refers to S class models.

• Paul Tan on Mar 22, 2013 at 12:33 am

That’s not correct. For S-Class, W is short wheelbase, V is long wheelbase.

• Lenny on Apr 23, 2013 at 4:35 pm

why got so many aircond vent at the middle ? 2 already cold what…