GALLERY: New Kia Cerato and Naza Forte side by side

Comparison_Kia_Cerato_vs_Forte_001

Many were convinced that the Kia Cerato and Naza Forte would be sold alongside each other in Naza Kia Malaysia’s new two-pronged assault on the C-segment market. They would be wrong. The new Cerato completely replaces the older (and cheaper) Forte here, as it does in all markets elsewhere.

Here we have them side-by-side for your viewing pleasure. New versus old, if you like. No doubt the Forte was a looker. Still is, most would agree. It’s just as edgy and characterful now as it was four years ago, but you’d have to admit the fresh new Cerato is something else yet again.

These two look nothing alike, though. You wouldn’t have guessed that one is directly replacing the other, if not specifically told so. There is a small family resemblance around the easily identifiable Tiger nose but elsewhere, the larger Cerato is definitely comfortable in its own skin.

It’s in the interior where the biggest gains are at its most obvious. From the grade of leather used on the steering wheel and seats to the choice of soft-touch plastics everywhere else in the cabin, there’s a quantum leap in quality and ambience.

The Forte’s interior wasn’t bad in any way; it was a revelation when it was launched in 2009. But the few years that have passed haven’t been kind to it, and with the Cerato, Kia has moved its game far forward. It’s more grown up in there, and perceived quality has been improved too.

As with the exterior, some may still prefer the older Forte’s more traditional approach. But it’s not until you put them side-by-side that the stark generational differences become so apparent, that there’s no going back.

So what do you think? You’ve already read our in depth launch report and reviews of the new Kia Forte – both from its international press drive in Dubai and more recently one with a more local flavour. Is the new Cerato upmarket enough to justify its new price range?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• seilo on Jul 05, 2013 at 12:07 am

outside look good, inside back to 80’s

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 132 Thumb down 16
    • Jimmy on Jul 05, 2013 at 1:23 pm

To persons like me, Forte is more cantiq and has a tinge of elegance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
      • Wisdom on Jul 05, 2013 at 7:31 pm

Have to agree with. i somehow found Forte is more handsome than the Cerato.
        Cerato front grill design will expires in no time. Similar to Picanto grill. Last time we ooh on Picanto grill when its first launch. Now, its an eyesore…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • gnaee on Jul 05, 2013 at 12:10 am

best post ever like this come with side by side comparison.. very good writing concept.

New Cerato = grow older, more uncle, 1990’s dahsboard or like a pick up truck’s dashboard.

Forte = overall more young looking, steady also.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 113 Thumb down 8
    • Beautycontestant on Jul 05, 2013 at 12:57 am

Would appreciate side by side pic comparison of new mazda3 sedan and this new kia ceraka

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 34
    • moots on Jul 05, 2013 at 8:20 am

The only thing comparison is
      Once aFORTEble.
      Now cost CERATOs k(seratus).

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 203 Thumb down 6
      • Gegary on Jul 05, 2013 at 9:47 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 253
        • Johnny on Jul 05, 2013 at 1:55 pm

Indeed thou shall get flamed Mr.Shakespeare. I think it was a pretty good attempt at puns. Your sense of humor is embarrassing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
        • thedarkside on Jul 05, 2013 at 7:31 pm

get a life bro

• jalilj on Jul 05, 2013 at 9:38 pm

Hey look I’ve just given u dislike yang ke cerato-s.

• Forte wins hands down for the interior..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 10
  • jinjangman on Jul 05, 2013 at 12:18 am

civic better..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 128
  • Theking on Jul 05, 2013 at 12:19 am

Ive never been in a forte, nor seen the interior, but from the photos of the interior, i thought the phto above (the all black) was the old forte and the new one below it, id prefer the older gen interior design, the new one seems hideous and very Hyundaiesque of the late 90s.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 10
  • joanna on Jul 05, 2013 at 12:21 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 184
    • say who? on Jul 05, 2013 at 4:42 am

wow..
      do we need talk bout preve here?
      I think you need a candy.. ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 7
      • Gegary on Jul 05, 2013 at 9:49 am

If you notice, it’s the same TROLL in every post. “Don’t feed the troll”. Just ignore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
        • joanna on Jul 05, 2013 at 4:27 pm

Why people always think i’m trolling. I’m being honest u know. People, they are so mean. Huhu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
          • youbodok on Jul 05, 2013 at 8:17 pm

oh it’s a troll, can look at the name. the comment is not worth to read

• OMG…SARCASM…

• Mozilla Chrome on Jul 05, 2013 at 12:32 am

This is weird but the old Forte interior looks more bad ass and futuristic.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 4
    • Chris on Jul 05, 2013 at 9:11 am

While I do agree with what you said, I can’t stop thinking that it’s targeting a different user group.

The old Forte shouts “Asian”, while the Cerato have European stamps all over it. Personally I’m a big fan of simple yet elegant design with high grade material (eg. VW) instead of busy plastics (eg, ford fiesta).

That said, I haven’t get to sit in the Cerato yet, cannot judge the feel/quality, but my family’s Elantra has been a bit on the unreliable side so far.

• peace on Jul 07, 2013 at 7:24 pm

the interior quality is superb. if you are not a badge snob, you could compare it against VW’s Golf Mk7.

• If the price tag between Mazda 3 and Kia Cerato almost similar, I guess Cerato sales gonna really bad. Who on earth would choose Cerato over Mazda 3 ??

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 10
    • RejimKejamGanas on Jul 05, 2013 at 1:23 am

One can only dream that your prediction comes true.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 32
      • DonkeyKong on Jul 05, 2013 at 1:56 am

Unfortunately for you, the prediction is correct. The Cerato is priced within spitting distance of the Mazda3. Naza is far too ambitious and it’s gonna backfire.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 4
        • Stamp on Jul 05, 2013 at 7:48 am

Usual Naza trick. Price it high and after sales slowed down, mega discount.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
        • theanswer on Jul 05, 2013 at 9:42 am

brand>price>spec. whatever kia trying to justify regarding the price. brand and price going to be crucial in our market.

• frenzyaustin on Jul 05, 2013 at 10:49 am

There is, some K-Fans that so obsessed by eveything about Korea.

• DonkeyKong on Jul 05, 2013 at 1:26 pm

Will they also be coming out of the closet like the K-pop boy band “males”?

• KKong on Jul 05, 2013 at 4:35 pm

Are there any K Pop male bands.? I have not seen any so far. All the “so called” male K Pop bands look female to me :-) In fact it makes Korean man look like fags, just like their cars!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • Sam Looser on Jul 06, 2013 at 9:59 pm

less than Japs butt kisser

• The forte may lack material quality compared to the cerato, but the forte still has a better interior design IMHO. And no, cerato is still not worth the price.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 6
    • Kuinosan on Jul 05, 2013 at 1:17 am

Yup! I totally agree with you on that. Forte overall better designed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
  • Kuinosan on Jul 05, 2013 at 1:09 am

Hey! How come you guys didn’t sample the Forte updated interior with the multimedia and navigation display? The updated interior do look classier than the one in your review. The Forte you guys sampled is the older version… Come on guys, please update the readers with the latest and not the oldies. Cheers!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 1
  • Ryan.C on Jul 05, 2013 at 1:24 am

i think forte looks better..
    Especially rear.
    but front wise, cerato comes with DRL.. forte can’t beat it..

• Kuinosan on Jul 05, 2013 at 1:44 am

For your info, the 2013 facelifted Forte do come with DRLs as well and they look good too. Go check it out at the Puchong showroom. Cheers!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
    • Tutuk on Jul 05, 2013 at 1:38 pm

U sure abt that? 2013 Forte comes with DRL. Do google first before you comment.

• owner on Jul 05, 2013 at 2:22 pm

Are u not sure about that? Do google first before you comment

• How sure r u, Mr. OWNER? Go check b4 u bark here and there….woof…woof….

• yes ofcourse Ann, stop barking…do your homework…what they meant is teh forte which produced in year 2013!!!logic lh…dont be too arrogant!!!

• Kuinosan on Jul 05, 2013 at 9:09 pm

Go check it out for yourself at the Puchong Kia showroom for the latest updated 2013 Kia Forte model with DRLs, before you accuse others of misinformation. Grow up and stop making yourself look like a mad dog barking at everything that is unknown to you!!!

• Kuinosan on Jul 07, 2013 at 2:55 am

Do you think you can get all the latest information by just Googling? Don’t take my word for it if you doubt my informations. Do take the trouble like some of us do to visit any Kia showroom to authentify about the facelifted 2013 Forte that comes with original built in DRLs in the fog light cluster. My advise to you is don’t rely too much on your keyboards and Google to search for the latest information. There are more newer updates in real time then you can ever imagine!

• yoolong on Jul 05, 2013 at 1:27 am

forte is naza car, local one. how for competing with cerato? different ma

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 395 Thumb down 221
    • KennyKT on Jul 05, 2013 at 1:44 am

seriously?? such comment?? “forte is naza car, local one. how for competing with cerato? different ma” ……………………………..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 232 Thumb down 123
      • yoolang on Jul 05, 2013 at 2:15 am

yes one. why u no educate is it? so ignorance. go look the picture closer

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 157 Thumb down 132
        • theanswer on Jul 05, 2013 at 9:46 am

u no need to educate. your engrand is very powderful.
          naza only ckd the forte maa. since when we consider forte as a local car.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 127 Thumb down 191
          • yooolang on Jul 05, 2013 at 10:23 am

excuse me. i am educate in the uk okay.

make a zoom first and see the car symbol. the forte got clear say naza, cerato is kia. different car ma

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 129
          • since the import tax waived on ckd version..that mean local production/assemble

• cembam on Jul 05, 2013 at 11:47 am

Bro… naza is local bro. That’s why forte is cheaper. Forte is considered local car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
          • 3 Series on Jul 05, 2013 at 11:50 am

Yup. Forte is local car. Similar rules to how some cars are badged inokom. Not many people know this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
          • beruang on Jul 05, 2013 at 12:32 pm

Kalau miti mmg bedge kire kereta kite. naza dpt 3rd national car status. Forte kire mcm inspira la

Sebab tu lah cerato mahal kut

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
          • I surely would like to know which UK institution yooolang was educated. I will then make sure non of my children will enrol in this particular institution.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 20
        • facepalm…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 30
        • andrewk on Jul 05, 2013 at 11:37 am

But both steering wheel has Kia on it….

• Joshua on Mar 20, 2014 at 10:47 pm

So UK taught you ‘i am educate in the uk okay’?

• DonkeyKong on Jul 05, 2013 at 1:56 am

Ah beng. Confirmed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 85
    • blacktop 6 speed on Jul 05, 2013 at 2:06 am

cerato locally assembled in Gurun maa…where’s gurun? kimchi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 21
    • This yoolong comment confirm he is gong kia. Naza is just distributing cars. Forte and cerato belongs to Kia. Not naza. Si beh knn gong kia yoo long

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 46
      • yooolang on Jul 05, 2013 at 10:24 am

i spell wrong. is yoolang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 10
      • yoolang on Jul 05, 2013 at 10:39 am

is naza forte. kia cerato. make a research first before you talk please

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 139 Thumb down 154
        • Mr.Yoolong, u sure u studied abroad?? do a grammar check ya….btw Cerato is locally assembled, so does CKD Forte, Naza badges doesnt means it is a local made car, not like P1 n P2…kids nowadays….sigh…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 152 Thumb down 54
        • Momok on Jul 05, 2013 at 12:49 pm

I live in gurun.. everyday i saw cerato came out from assembly line.. You know what I mean?? it came out from Naza.. So Cerato also local car la?.. come on.. it just a badge.. when u saw naza, it local? but stick on kia badge it not a local car anymore?..Read this “Licence By KIA”…

Both are KIA laa….
          aduss..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 25
      • Agreed with u. Yoolang, there’s no need to show off how much educate u r. Educated in UK, so wat? Educated but not graduated?

There’s many plp out there holding degrees, master degrees or even PHD. It’s not how much u know but how u talk and react reflects ur personality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 28
        • yoolang on Jul 06, 2013 at 7:30 am

i am graduate and practice as doctor in one of the leading private hospital okay. i no need to say but u want for it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
          • Joshua on Mar 20, 2014 at 10:50 pm

You can’t even talk proper English. Was that what UK people taught you.Never heard of proper grammar?

• ooohhh on Jul 05, 2013 at 7:43 am

Forte is a local car. *facepalm*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 56
    • here’s an idea kid, howbout stick to tetris.

p/s : cerato is overpried.If soon to lauch mazda 3 priced the same, i’d go for m3.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 44
    • Mr.Yoolong, u sure u studied abroad?? do a grammar check ya….btw Cerato is locally assembled, so does CKD Forte, Naza badges doesnt means it is a local made car, not like P1 n P2…kids nowadays….sigh…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 22
  • HenryL on Jul 05, 2013 at 4:23 am

i think i will wait for hyundai MISTRA which should price in the same range as K3. or maybe wait for K4, launching early new year, price should be between 110-130k.

anyway K3 hatchback is totally hot >_<~

• say who? on Jul 05, 2013 at 4:36 am

I like forte more…

• Anyname on Jul 05, 2013 at 5:38 am

disagree with cerato was badly designed. different people different perception. somehow i like the new cerato design. the old forte looks more like a jap car but this new cerato have a little european DNA in it. interior wise also a major upgrade except the ICU. if u compare the climate control it is almost similar to audi and bmw concept. cockpit area is the most impressive that give a major upgrade from the previous forte. meter panel n steering now packs even more information n buttons. kudos to KIA. i am looking forward to upgrade to this new Cerato

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • peace on Jul 07, 2013 at 7:36 pm

Hence, it was the right thing for Naza or Kia to switch the name from Forte to Cerato for this market due to the change in design concept. I think if the new Cerato was of a different brand – maybe a German one – most would accept or at least forgave how it is designed. Seriously the quality is way better than any of the Jap brand cars – something this market should applaud Kia for taking it to the next level. Hope to see the Jap brands respond accordingly.

• saiful on Jul 05, 2013 at 7:38 am

the excuses use for seratus-k pricing is a confirmed nonsense now that we have a clearer picture of comparison like this. but anyway, looks might get to grow on the eye, though in any case the RM increase is never justifiable. and yet this new bro is still too elantra-ish to me…come-on lah KIA, its not about comparing with T or H or what so V or A brand… its YOUR OWN SIBLING that you replace and wanna claim the throne worthy that cost? but then again, maybe some forte in stock hasn’t left the yard…so i do smell strategy there too! hmmmm…to those eager to be early owners, beware of this! price ‘revision’ and ‘sudden lost value’ is not new here!

• HonestJoe on Jul 05, 2013 at 7:40 am

Kia Malaysia is ripping people off…
    My opinion is that the Cerato is a Forte with plastic surgery gone bad

• Prebet Sapu on Jul 05, 2013 at 7:47 am

Proves how much actual improvement done by Kia, truly the Asian BMW 3-Series….unlike the other brand just proud of its life time warranty for power windows with brave but silly price RM90K at Indonesia…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • Stamp on Jul 05, 2013 at 7:52 am

What do we think? Forte look still last when it comes to Exterior. This Cerato will be dated very very soon.

• Kyoshooo on Jul 05, 2013 at 7:57 am

IMHO Cerato design much better in exterior and interior, forte look like 70’s design. Very old fashion. I never like forte design. Well done Kia cerato.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 20
  • gavin on Jul 05, 2013 at 8:06 am

One was the underdog, humbling all rivals with good quality, futuristic design, chock load of standard stuffs, cheap, real value for money.

the other one is not and going backwards in the interior, maybe the steering wheel was too expensive so they had to simplify the dashboard.

• gOOsh on Jul 05, 2013 at 8:10 am

both models has its own unique character…
    but i like the later most…

• fendy on Jul 05, 2013 at 8:14 am

I prefer the new dashboard… much more simple and easy on eye… reminds me of conti cars… and doesnt looks like spaceship…

• everything looks a little simpler and refined/ rounded. But why the clock… it’s so…. 80s. And the steering is a button fest.

• azrai on Jul 05, 2013 at 8:21 am

No wonder it will be a failure. Just look at what numbers are the new Elantra with the same price bracket on the road till now. By the way, the older Forte look very masculine and simple. So does the price. With those old price, it is an edge compare to Persona & Preve. With this new price, I think Malaysian will probably stick to Civic or City while for the money wise concious a 1.6 Saga SE at RM49k will be the cheapest 1.6 car in Malaysia or maybe ASEAN (just like what Hamim from MITI said in Parliment) :-)

• azrai on Jul 05, 2013 at 8:22 am

Meanwhile, waiting for new VIOS this October. This factor can also affect the sales for this new Cerato. Even for City, Almera & Preve.

• how is it going to affect???? new tech vs old tech??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • penguna K5 on Jul 05, 2013 at 10:06 am

bang, vios almera and city are in different segment bang.. depa tu B- segment car.. should be competing with Rio… Cerato.. saing depa are civic, altis, mazda3… compare apple to apple bang.. having said that.. cerato vs other c-segment except proton car.. is still cheaper and new tech.. compare to old tech kosong 4 speed rip off japs.. haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 9
        • skypirate on Jul 05, 2013 at 10:54 am

yes, the Vios and Cerato no doubt are in 2 different segments all together. BUT no one can DENY that the reason the forte was selling well prior to this is because of its price point, LOTS of potential Forte buyers cross shopped the Forte with Vios or City NOT the Corolla or Civic.

I dare not say ALL, but a huge chunk of potential Corolla or Civic buyers would not cross shop Cerato, they probably would look for Mazda3, Ford Focus or Volkswagen Golf.

So no, the Cerato will not sell as well as the Forte, heck even the slightly more expensive Elantra, when compared to Forte, is struggling in the market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
          • azrai on Jul 05, 2013 at 11:13 am

Remember those days when Savvy and Myvi were introduce? It is not in the same league still people keep comparing them because the launched date is almost the same and the price bracket is in the same.

• peace on Jul 07, 2013 at 7:46 pm

it’s hard to say. i think what confuses the market is that Cerato 1.6 is competing with City and Vios while Cerato 2.0 is competing with Altis/Corolla and Civic.

Cerato 1.6 has a lot more goodies than its competitors while Cerato 2.0 is really a bargain undercutting competitors by more than RM10k.

This entry to market by Kia/Naza is really something. Worth a study by MBA students out there, IMHO.

• frenzyaustin on Jul 05, 2013 at 10:55 am

But market compare badge to badge.

• azrai on Jul 05, 2013 at 10:55 am

In Malaysia it is not based apple to apple. It is what will you get in a specific price bracket. For example, 30k-50k car will eventually fall into Saga, Viva, Myvi category (see even the class and cc is different), 60-80k fall into Preve, Persona, Almera, Vios territory. Malaysian do not judge things based on the tech or whatsoever. They look at the price and brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
          • Agreed!

When I was looking for a new car myself, I started off with my budget first, then only I consider the specs, followed by brand.

I believe the 1.6 Cerato might still sell, looking at how little choices we have with the same specs below RM 100k.

Unfortunately, the same cannot be said for the 2.0… honestly, I think it’s in for a big fight from the likes of Ford Focus and the soon to be intro Mazda 3.

Sad to say…Malaysians in general still put high emphasis on price (and even resale value) :(

• peace on Jul 07, 2013 at 7:49 pm

perhaps that is true.. but I think more and more buyers a getting sophisticated. especially the types that buy Golf Mk7 1.4 TSI, or any VW’s for that matter.

we have the internet for this – making it easier to conduct their own research.

• Gary Yap on Jul 05, 2013 at 8:21 am

Aiyo why the Ceruto interior so fuggly wan…my Saga SV looks nicer!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 25
  • ben yap on Jul 05, 2013 at 8:26 am

frankly the elantra interior looks better than this cerato. from the exterior, the forte is still a looker if it slapped on with the bodykit.

my vote goes to Forte! they shouldn’t discontinue the forte. at a tad under RM100K for the highest spec, it is still better value than Cerato highest spec or even the 1.6.

Naza thinks their Kia is a Toyota? Puuiit! Even a 408 Turbo with better engine also doesn’t price so high.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • aforanimal on Jul 05, 2013 at 8:55 am

The new Mazda3 is way more appealing interior and exterior.

• iluvkia on Jul 05, 2013 at 8:57 am

Major discount for ceratus is coming!

• Drust on Jul 05, 2013 at 9:28 am

When Forte was first introduced and then launched in Malaysia, the design caught my attention and it have the ohmm factor in it. The body lines, the sporty and mascular design makes the car looks damn good and it still have that ohmm factor until now even already launched for few years. And yes i’m a proud forte owner for 2 good years :) At that time, the long list of features and attractive pricing make the Forte even more attractive.

This Cerato still looks good with impressive list of features and equipments but i do feel the price is abit expensive. Maybe over confident with their recent achievement. With improved product quality, performance and after sales maybe maybe it will be hot cake?

• Different Outlook on Jul 05, 2013 at 9:34 am

I would have to give a different outlook. I think the Cerato is cleaner, elegant and upmarket compared to Forte. But it could be better.

• CKD Master on Jul 05, 2013 at 9:39 am

I always wonder when drive my civic in road why forte is damn adorable than other car same class…first with extreme body kit it look garang, style and sporty….reliability ok but the dashboard can be improve at least….but ceratong look more feminine, premium feel and elegant.. but loose all his sportiness….but it should not compare closely to forte as different set design and name….this strategy at least not impact much of Forte RV….fuhhhhh

• CKD Master on Jul 05, 2013 at 9:41 am

Please compare with other car in the same class such as civic, altis,

• Eugene on Jul 05, 2013 at 9:57 am

so many “plastic” lover prefer old forte interior???

• the interior should twist a little bit from optima K5 then this car would look fabulous

• Ladyman on Jul 05, 2013 at 10:17 am

KIA CERATO AND FORD FOCUS TITANIUM…
    juz look alike… from the back side…

• korean car. sigh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • autodriver on Jul 05, 2013 at 10:29 am

I went to showroom to see the new Cerato K3 on Tuesday when it launched. The overall build quality is better than Forte. The finishing of the dashboard and lots of soft touch plastic do show the premium impression. To be honest, the interior build quality feel better than Civic, Altis, Sylphy, Lancer etc. However the center console design is old school where feel back to 90s. Build quality is good but design is “outdated” or “so Korean”, big contrast. Think the outdated dashboard design let down a lot of potential buyers.

Compare to Forte, interior space of Cerato actually feel smaller than Forte despite its wheelbase is 50mm longer than Forte. Besides, the rear seat height of Cerato obviously lower than Forte. Tall guy like me (183cm seat at the back will have very limited headroom).

I love Cerato’s instrument panel over Forte. It look sporty and nicely displayed. And design of steering isn’t look nice, but it is much better than Forte one. Forte’s steering wheel design is totally crap and not matching its overall car design. When I bought Forte I love every parts of it, except the 80s design steering wheel.

When holding Cerato’s gear knob, I felt what it is so “plastic”, damn. And the design of it, ugly. I still prefer the Forte gear knob design and feeling of holding it (with leather).

My own conclusion, Cerato has number of improvement over its predecessor, Forte. However there are some areas seems step backward as well. Besides, these 2 cars are lousy in 1 area, lack of storage box. Again the driver seat come without backpocket.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • I HEARD THAT THE CERATO HEIGHT IS LOWER COMPARE TO FORTE. BY SEEING IN THE PHOTO…HMM

• both are ugly.. better buy sexy car like vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 40
    • Vios time is gone…. even Almera is selling better than Vios… bungkus already

• valjean on Jul 05, 2013 at 11:10 am

This article is just to try “justify” why Cerato is so much more than “Forte”. I bet Naza has saw people here complaining about big price jump. So they must do damange control and get the writer to compare side-by-side and tell us how “good” cerato is and why it should not be consider as “forte” replacement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • My vote goes to Cerato interior.

But I’m not a fan of the front tiger nose version.

• anonymous on Jul 05, 2013 at 11:28 am

The steering wheel on the Forte is just crap! Looks awfully ugly!! Exterior wise I think Forte looks slightly better. Don’t really like the big grill on the Cerato. But I bet most people will pick the Cerato coz its refreshingly new. People tend to get bored with the outgoing product. To be honest, Hyundai design are so much better than KIA does.

• Anthony Tan on Jul 05, 2013 at 11:47 am

Well…. design is up to individual preferences.

I dislike too much curvy lines from hyundai….

• I think both looks pretty darn good IMHO.

• omanjedi on Jul 05, 2013 at 11:44 am

I reserve my comment until I saw the unit yesterday. As a current use of 2013 forte, I have NO regret for not waiting for the CERATO. IMHO, the current forte has a more masculine look (with bodykit)in comparison with Cerato which looks a little bit tooo much for me. The additional spec for Cerato while its good, but rarely been used. The interior is an upgrade…BUT the small LCD screen is really a turn off – I believe my daughter would not appreciate seeing her fav movie in a smaller screen. In conclusion, I will not trade my family’s forte to cerato.

• Anthony Tan on Jul 05, 2013 at 11:45 am

can i say Forte has been labelled with wrong price?

Since all the price from the same segment are priced around or over 100K

• Leo Lim on Jul 05, 2013 at 11:47 am

The drastic price increase doesn’t justify the improvements in the new model.

• still, vios is the best car ever !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 36
  • NazaRipOff on Jul 05, 2013 at 12:10 pm

The increase in price of the old Forte to the new Forte (Cerato) in other countries is not as drastic as in Malaysia. In Australia for example, for 2.0, the increase is approx RM10K but in Malaysia RM20K. Why-ah Naza? Upgrading to premium brand status?
    Sorry-lah, as long as poor after sales service, high spare part cost somemore have to wait for certain spare parts as well as low resale value, KIA in Malaysia will not be a premium car brand. Note however, that the comments above is true only for Malaysia and it reflects negatively on the Naza group and not on KIA itself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • anonymous on Jul 05, 2013 at 12:13 pm

overpriced, the price tag is more like on how good or how nice the interior and exterior built.

• Abg Long on Jul 05, 2013 at 12:17 pm

whateverlah. for me the price for cerato still ridiculous for a kia.

• Forte and Cerato both looks nice….. just Cerato is newer version than Forte. If we wanna buy a car…is looking for new version or old version? depends on what u prefer, specs or price… i just bought a Cerato,i know is price high,but love the specs which never get from others japan car. i wish this Korean Kia wont make me down…coz i am the fist time try it!

• Yes, the car may be good but there is still the major BUT — the issue of after sales service. As you have rightly stated “…but the few years that have passed haven’t been kind to it…” Any take on that, Editor? This would matter most if I were to buy this product.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • dAvId on Jul 05, 2013 at 12:55 pm

Forte being a decent car with a decent price in it range, No other car with the competitive price. & definitely no foreign brand car able to go into that range of price, just like being in blue sea in the market segment.
    Now Cerato, with many extra spec & of course EXTRA $$$, suddenly they throw themselves into a dog fight in red sea, with other brand. You have more to offer, but down to the question, do the buyer need it?
    Cerato still selling, I doubt it will sell better than Forte with this price range.

• The interior of both cars look the same to me. IMO i actually prefer Cerato’s design over Forte but the Forte has more aggressive looks. Cerato leans more towards the dynamic side.

Btw just a point, why do I see people saying that Forte is a local car? Forte is a Kia being rebadged as a Naza. Honestly I have no idea why Cerato was not rebadged (I believe most want the original Kia badge though) but both Forte and Cerato are global cars distributed by Kia.

Anyway, I’m not a great fan of Korean rides and this Cerato thingy is going to destroy itself with that price.

• Johnny on Jul 05, 2013 at 2:00 pm

I think the Forte looks cooler and more “bodykit-able” if that makes any sense.

• Megavalve on Jul 05, 2013 at 2:42 pm

Hopefully there’s Cerato SV edition…kosong spec RM70K

• jamalul tiram on Jul 05, 2013 at 3:48 pm

so simple…if the cerato price under 100k or let say maximum 95k for 2.0, u will not see this type of comparison…all will hail the new cerato like no tomorrow, forte will be defeated so bad and gone with the wind

• ceerraatohh on Jul 05, 2013 at 4:00 pm

can i hv forte’s owner comment on the current service that naza kia is providing…is it still the same like before? for parts is it still that expensve n hard toget? for 1,6 forte is it the fc that bad? i need a first hand user rview not others..thanks..i dont mind the price increases if there is improvement with naza kia

• omanjedi on Jul 05, 2013 at 7:15 pm

Imo the sc is not bad, wayyyy better than p1 which another car im using now. But be ready for the high fc for short distance drive, 10 to 11liter for 100km is normal…for longer range 7.5 is normal…im thinking of downgrade the rim size to 16inch or even 15 inch

• autodriver on Jul 06, 2013 at 11:29 am

Driving Forte 1.6SX for 2 years. The staffs and environment of KIa service center has improved a lot. Still not up to Honda or Toyota standard, but it is better than Proton, Perodua, Ford, Nissan, Suzuki etc.

Part is not cheap, because all parts are “genuine” from Korea. If comparison is apple to apple, i.e. Korean car genuine part vs Japanese car genuine part, I believe Korean is cheaper. People always say Japanese car parts cheaper, it is because they are referring to OEM, non-original or used parts.

Part hard to get? this might still exist because all spare parts are imported from Korea. The waiting period of getting shortage parts likely about 2 weeks since it need to ship from Korea. I believe it is easy to get compare to Ford, Suzuki and Mitsubishi, of course slower than Proton, Perodua, Honda, Toyota and Nissan.

1.6 Forte FC is “not bad” for me. It is neither fuel saving car, nor high fuel consumption. 100% city drive, RM85 get around 400km (RM0.21 per km). 100% highway drive, same RM85 will get around 600km (RM0.14 per km).

• MyVi lovers on Jul 08, 2013 at 1:19 pm

Have you used and serviced all these cars — Proton, Perodua, Ford, Nissan, Suzuki, Mitsubishi etc yet?? Cuz the way u talk, looks like u have went to all services center and said they are worst than Kia sc.

• The dashboards for both looks like a piece of crap..bad call Kia…bad call!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
  • overpriced for a KIA. Better buy vios..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 22
    • Sure, it is better to buy a B-segment Vios with 2 airbags at RM72k-92, instead of a C-segment Cerato with 6 airbags & other goodies at RM99k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
      • MyVi lovers on Jul 08, 2013 at 1:16 pm

I prefer to buy a car with safety features. So Cerato is the best bet over Vios

• just visited showroom…nice spec for 1.6 with electric memory seat..you wont get that high spec under 100k..wont regret with alut of stuff inside. New era color info disply and high quality plastic and finishing..far much better than polo ssedan. Only seat material is similar to inspira 1.8 . Other than that is all OK. Full size sport rims 17′ for spare tyre with no sacrifice boot space…well design and sporty sitting at the back and driver seat. Totally diff. ambience than old forte…I want ONE…any discount kaaa Naza !!!

• jakolovic on Jul 05, 2013 at 6:47 pm

Forte looks simple and cheerful, more evergreen.
    While Cerato looks too aggressive and offensive, will easily get dated.

• Pishu on Jul 05, 2013 at 8:07 pm

Mazda 3 kills everything. Kia Forte look like retard car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
  • autodriver on Jul 05, 2013 at 8:08 pm

In fact after sales service of Kia is quite impressive. While visiting Kia 3S, I strongly suggest you to visit their SC beside or behind the showroom.

I understand some people may think Naza mostly hire Malay to work at service center, whereby Toyota and Honda prefer Chinese as technician.

I am chinese and when I step in SC to service my Forte, the Malay staffs are kind to help and speak politely and softly to me. Besides when I highlight door rattling issue last time (only problem so far), they immediately get it fix. They never said the problem like “biasalah, harga murah lagi minta apa2” which I heard this from Proton when I driving Gen2.

After my car complete service, they provide FOC car wash (outside only). FYI, Honda does provide car wash but it is chargeable with “government tax”.

Kia after sales services still not up to Toyota and Honda standard yet, but it is certainly better than Proton, Perodua, Ford etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
    • cement on Jul 06, 2013 at 9:04 am

tats really true. i remember last time when my vios is new, i complaint abt some minor issue. The toyota guy tell me wat can i expect, its the cheapest car in toyota range, exactly “biasalah, harga murah minta apa lagi”. I just wan to rectify the problem bcos is stil under warranty.. toyota-big let down..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • autodriver on Jul 05, 2013 at 8:09 pm

High maintenance cost? Forte 10k km normal service cost around RM300, fully syn oil + labour fee. Equivalent to RM150 for every 5k km service. Honda City normal 5k km service is RM152. Is Forte maintenance cost consider high?

• Pointblank on Jul 05, 2013 at 8:58 pm

Everyone blaming the cerato interior is bad ,did u guys really go and see the real car ? The actual interior is way better than the photo , the material , the finishing just nice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • I have to agree with your statement. The build and finishing quality can be felt much better compared to the Altis. I still don’t like the over inflated selling price.

• Big Bang on Jul 05, 2013 at 11:28 pm

I’m totally agreed!

• kerato on Jul 06, 2013 at 12:22 am

Even the name sounds so ‘karat’. Cerato? WTF name is that? Kelantanese Korean is it? At least Forte sounds good. Naza got it wrong twice on this one
      1. Much higher price
      2. Name sounds awful.

• autodriver on Jul 06, 2013 at 11:35 am

I did went to showroom on the first day of launching. The material and finishing is better than Civic, Altis, Sylphy, Lancer, even its sibling Elantra. Suggest anyone how doubt my view to visit new Cerato in real.

The interior feel great until I seen the center console design, it is outdated and back to 90s which is the biggest let down to me.

• aslan on Jul 05, 2013 at 9:50 pm

If really want compare, please use same colour !

one is silver light colour, one is black deep colour, how to compare the look?

silver sure stand out more than black ….in fact not much people buy forte in black

silver to silver pls

• I completely agree with your statement. The build and finishing can be felt much better than a Altis. Though I still don’t like the over inflated selling price.

• retard on Jul 05, 2013 at 10:13 pm

If you basher get a free ceroto, sure 100 % u say other car are the worst. :-)

• Big Bang on Jul 05, 2013 at 11:26 pm

Totally agreed with you!

• Ha Gnih on Jul 06, 2013 at 9:43 am

I love the Cerato. Both on the outside and all the way to the inside. It looks very continental now. Prefer the interior to the ones in the Forte. It doesn’t look as clustered or messy. Not that it’s a bad thing in the Forte but it’s more subtle and pleasing to the eyes in every sense. Being an owner of a few Korean cars before, I must say the Cerato has achieved so much in terms of design. I wouldn’t complain much about the Cerato except for the pricing. But oh well, for those who loves and can afford it, pricing would be the least of our concerns.

• D.MAN on Jul 06, 2013 at 6:00 pm

I went to see the car in metal and it is above my expectation. I’m not kimchi supporter but it does offer a lot for the price… well, if you compare with Elantra/Mazda3. The build quality is very good with nice driver seat position and good rear seat with low middle floor base. The price a bit on the high side but go see for yourself to decide whether it is worth it.

• Maserati on Jul 06, 2013 at 7:36 pm

Both version sucks to be honest. I’m not biased in my motor journalism but a Mazda 3 is sooooooo much better than Kia Se Ra To that if feels like bullying when I list the pros of Mazda against this junk…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
  • notcerato on Jul 07, 2013 at 12:09 am

Some are trying to justify the higher price by the improvements and added features. But then one should expect improvements & added features for newer versions. If there are none over the older version, might as well not launch the new version. But then does it justify the 20K increase for the 2.0l? Recent new launches of other car makes like the civic, crv, camry, swift, golf etc, though there were an increase in pricing, it was a slight increase and does not match the % of increase of the cerato. Neither was the increase of price of the cerato in other countries as much as here in Msia. If we buy the cerato, the message that we are conveying to the car distributers is that it is ok to have a huge increase everytime that a new version is launched. Is that what we the consumers want? Certainly not me which is why I will look elsewhere for my new ride.

• firefish on Jul 07, 2013 at 1:55 am

If naza already sell off cerato with forte price, who going to buy forte? Wait lah until forte stock is over right?

• Soon Goh on Jul 07, 2013 at 8:35 am

Put on the Forte body-kit and compare side by side.. Forte is much more sporty than the weird-looking Cerato =)

• CeratoOrForte on Jul 07, 2013 at 10:08 pm

My house was broken into last 12Jun2013 and dat retard searched solely for my Forte key. My neighbours got Rm90k Vios…Rm130kWish…RM90k Livina….Rm89k City but I lost nothing but my 8mths old rm86k Forte. …Why ? Shud I buy forte again or Cerato ? Or go for common cars….Sincere opinions plz..tq

• WOW! Sad to hear about losing your Forte man…but seriously, they took the Forte over other higher RV cars??? WHY LAHH??? =_=”

I think for the price of <RM100k, nothing comes close to the Forte/Cerato in terms of spec (except for Preve).

So yeah, if budget is a concern, then go for the Cerato! :)

Cheers!

• Peter How on Jul 07, 2013 at 10:48 pm

Cerato looks ok

• Q Up! on Jul 08, 2013 at 12:59 pm

Judging by the looks of the new Cerato’s interior, can’t help to notice that the gap between all the trims and panels are very tight especially the one between the door trim and the dashboard are much smaller if compared to the old Forte. Also the look and feel of the textures are more refined. Good job KIA!!

• i dont trust yur claim that the Forte and Cerato wont be sold side by side…Thats what happened to the older Hyundai Sonata, they called it NF or Classic or something, when new Sonata out…many old outdated models being shoved down Malaysian consumers throat, eg 206, rebadged China cars

• cronies kaniniah on Jul 09, 2013 at 1:36 pm

stop supporting govt cronies laaa.. teach them a lesson.. when are you guys going to stop them sucking your life?? it’s time to start thinking about your future generation..

• kyheng on Jul 12, 2013 at 7:50 pm

Have a look on the Cerato last weekend. Rm100k for a B-segment car is really a joke. Interior size are way smaller than Forte.

• Anonymous. on Jul 18, 2013 at 11:09 am

Kia Cerato is C-segment car brader. Get your facts right.

• kyheng on Jul 18, 2013 at 12:13 pm

Emmm, if were to see the fancy gadgets, yes, it is c-segment.
        But if were to see the interior space, it is close to a perodua Viva.
        I judge a car based on interior size

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
        • Anonymous. on Jul 18, 2013 at 1:17 pm

It’s not about the interior size at all. For example Nissan Almera which has such a big interior space is only classified as a B segment car whereas a Ford Focus which has smaller interior space is classified as a C segment car. You can check in all the review sites, the use a common language. As for the fancy gadgets, if it falls under a c-segment car it ought to have those gadgets and Perodua Viva is a freaking tin can with thin doors just like the kancil. legroom is aplenty but could only accommodate 4 ppl. C-segment cars typically accommodates 5 ppl comfortably.

• kyheng on Jul 18, 2013 at 7:24 pm

Well, the fact is, this Cerato is just a 4 seater like Viva…
            I don’t really have to blame the car, I have to blame myself and my family being too tall..
            Still prefer Forte more than Cerato at any 1 time….

• i prefer forte koup!

the best looking for me…

• Sam Loo on Jul 21, 2013 at 5:18 pm

Both cars will fetch lower trade in value than Hyundai’s

• lovekia2.0 on Jul 29, 2013 at 12:02 am

I drive kia forte 2.0 and it’d make me soo happy leaving a new saga fl at the autoshop. I dirve it everyday for almost 40km per day. and still the best from the first day I drive it. when this cerato come, I look it like a fish head, get me no excitement like everyday looking my forte (during first week bought it). I wonder why didn’t Kia upgrading Forte’s masculine good-looking and bring more specs into it. All Forterian looking for that..

• YL Tan on Dec 13, 2013 at 12:24 pm

This is a damn good car. Worth every single cent. I,ve received a professional service by Selayang branch sales team.

• Considering 2010 kia forte 1.6 sx for my first car. Currently the market base price is not lower than rm55k. Still value for money for used c sedan but price same as myvi.