Honda Jazz CKD 1.5L launched – cheapest Honda in Malaysia at RM74,800, with dual airbags, VSA, ABS

Honda Jazz Petrol CKD 1

Honda Malaysia revealed the locally assembled Honda Jazz this morning in Petaling Jaya. The CKD Jazz is the second Jazz variant to roll out from Honda Malaysia’s Melaka plant after the CKD Honda Jazz Hybrid that was launched in November 2012.

The standard petrol engined CKD Jazz is priced at RM74,800 OTR including insurance, making it the most affordable Honda car in Malaysia, undercutting the Honda City Grade S at RM85,980. All this while, the Jazz has been imported from Thailand.

Honda Malaysia’s MD and CEO Yoichiro Ueno explains the lower price. “Early this year, we established a new R&D centre in Malaysia, which specialises in matching local parts design. With the support from this new R&D centre, we are increasing our local content across all line-up,” he said. Local content now stands at 30% to 40%, and there are plans to increase it. The knocked down packs are from Thailand.

Honda Jazz Petrol CKD 8

Here’s the chronology. The second-generation Honda Jazz was first introduced here in August 2008 in two grades – S (RM104,800) and V (RM109,800). The mid-life facelift came in April 2011, bringing a singular Grade V with a revised, sportier appearance for RM109,800, unchanged from the pre-facelift car.

The Jazz Grade V was then replaced by a Jazz Grade S in August 2012, which brought down the OTR price to RM99,800. Despite the RM10k lower pricetag, the non-hybrid Jazz didn’t make much sense beside the then made-in-Japan RM94,800 Jazz Hybrid, which is tax-exempt. The Jazz Hybrid is now locally assembled, and sells for RM89,900.

No revisions to the mechanicals, so say hello again to the L15A 1.5 litre i-VTEC engine with 120 PS and 146 Nm of torque. The SOHC 16-valve engine is paired to a five-speed automatic transmission. Safety kit includes dual airbags, Vehicle Stability Assist (VSA), ABS, EBD and Brake Assist. As usual, Honda touts its G-Force Control Technology (G-CON) body, which scored five ASEAN NCAP stars with the Jazz’s sedan sister, City.

Honda Jazz Petrol CKD 19
Click to enlarge.

Equipment wise, the CKD Jazz gets things like the famous Ultra Seats, blue/black fabric seats, tilt/telescopic steering, power retractable wing mirrors, factory stereo with USB/AUX, LED tail lamps, fog lamps and 15-inch wheels with 175/65 tyres. Our CKD car has everything the Thai-made Grade S has, except for one thing – auto door lock. This is because of ECE regulations, we are told.

A Modulo aerokit is optional for RM3,950. For this amount, your Jazz is dressed up with a unique front grille, front under spoiler, tailgate spoiler, side skirts and rear under spoiler. There’s also a RM2,550 “Jazz Urban Package” that throws in a front grille, trunk tray, illuminated side steps, alloy pedals with foot lights and tailgate spoiler.

Available in four colours – Taffeta White, Alabaster Silver Metallic, Sparkling Brown Metallic and Crystal Black Pearl – the Honda Jazz CKD is protected by a three-year or 100,000 km warranty. As a bonus, customers can choose from an extra six months of warranty or a 10,000 km free service package.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• For 1.5cc is still pricy, I would buy Preve

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 658 Thumb down 747
    • Ben 10 on Jul 11, 2013 at 12:04 pm

GO HUG your Proton then!! Swear to yourself don’t buy any other makes other than Proton or Perodua BECAUSE all cars sold in Malaysia is “pricey”, not because of car companies but due to our UNbeloved Goverment tax.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 699 Thumb down 286
      • Diarbi Haikom on Jul 11, 2013 at 12:27 pm

This will sell like a hot a cake. The P3-22A won’t stand a chance against the Jazz at this price.

Looks like the collaboration between Proton & Honda is benefitting Honda more…

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 400 Thumb down 401
        • 1world on Jul 11, 2013 at 1:40 pm

Can’t agree more.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 119 Thumb down 178
        • rajaGlobal on Jul 11, 2013 at 4:37 pm

this jazz will replace all the myvi on the road!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 280 Thumb down 26
          • Dru-Zod on Jul 11, 2013 at 6:51 pm

good one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 17
          • adyza on Jul 13, 2013 at 1:45 pm

am sure to replace my myvi.. huhu..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 6
          • Wisdom on Jul 15, 2013 at 11:14 am

If you know the word value, this is it.
            The practicality of this car can beat any sedan. Own it and you’ll know.
            *bonus: the boot is much larger than myvi..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 2
          • Price would be ok. Can CKD be as good as CBU?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
        • tupakamaru on Jul 12, 2013 at 8:44 am

Dear Mr. Honda, again…please change the interval to 10,000 KM. It will be great to the environment and our pocket too..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 3
      • 1world on Jul 11, 2013 at 2:14 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 152
      • Bent my back on Nov 03, 2013 at 4:26 pm

ben 10 you don’t like goment tax can go to other gomen. if not shut up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
    • then go buy la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 24
      • kimi_ on Jul 11, 2013 at 1:37 pm

Good price , we can SAY BYE BYE to

1.Kia Rio
        2.Suzuki Swift
        3.Peug 208
        4.Ford Fiesta
        5.Mazda 2
        6.Chevrolet Sonic
        7.Nissan Latio Hatchback
        AND Preve Hatchback!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 372 Thumb down 181
        • 1world on Jul 11, 2013 at 1:55 pm

Definitely a good price!

I don’t really mind knowing this model will soon be an outdated model.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 6
        • Why would u want to say bye to global best selling cars like Fiesta? Pls make sense thank you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 80
          • 1world on Jul 11, 2013 at 3:26 pm

Perhaps he refer to Malaysian market.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 3
          • You're the dodo on Jul 12, 2013 at 12:03 am

Hello dodo brain!
            Fiesta is crap. So small and feels like plastic. In fact the same can be said abt the Focus. All Ford cars are crap. You buy it and you will regret it in a few months after ownership. I sold my Focus last year and lost money. Car always giving problems and made a loss when I sold it as Ford resale value is really bad!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 62
        • lchlch on Jul 11, 2013 at 8:44 pm

How does it beat pug208? By number of airbags? Torgue? Handling? ESP? Dash display? Or what?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 37
        • Dah lama dah on Jul 11, 2013 at 9:48 pm

a 2007 years car, why only CKD it 6 years after globally launch?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 2
        • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 136
        • speedzter on Jul 12, 2013 at 2:22 pm

New standard, new benchmark!

Bye-bye to VW Polo as well!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 14
        • D.MAN on Jul 14, 2013 at 1:50 pm

I haven’t seen a Chevrolet SONIC on the road in PG since it launched!!! Wait, that’s 6 months ago!!!!

• Sam Loo on Sep 23, 2013 at 1:01 am

Goodbye to kimchis RV

• consrito on Jul 11, 2013 at 12:26 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 209
      • err?? either you’re confused or just plain idiot. 1.5cc=1500cc…which is more than twice of a kancil.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 148
        • 1.5cc is 1.5cc….1.5L is 1500cc

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 272 Thumb down 16
          • 1world on Jul 11, 2013 at 2:16 pm

Yeah, but this Jazz is 1.5L, which translated to 1500cc.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 5
        • ahmad on Jul 11, 2013 at 1:53 pm

1.5 with 120PS, quite powerful man. Look at the power output given by Toyota 1,5L engine in Vios or Myvi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 9
          • driver on Jul 11, 2013 at 6:45 pm

L15A is the same engine used in the previous generation of City. I owned one, but later sold it. Good in city driving (hence it name), but losing steam at higher RPM. On the other hand, campro DNA is the other way round – sluggish in city, but superb in high speed. In the end, it goes back to individual taste.

Your money, your call.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 7
          • The current Honda Jazz/City uses a L15A7 I-VTEC unit, the L15A1 was sold on the previous Jazz and city. Power and torque increase by 10hp/10Nm respectively. But the different with yours is that does duty through a ‘7-speed’CVT while the the current gen does it through a 5-speed auto. That 5-speed Auto is a sore thumb in the entire package in the city, Bloody indecisive. Thats why I personally felt that it’s is suited for the inverted reason. Good on Highway due to looong gearing, while bad in city/town for the same reason. Indecissive between 2nd or 3rd unless I put it in S mode. But on the highway, it can comfortably cruise at 130kph@2600rpm. And because peak power is now higher in the A7, at 6600 compared 5600. The higher the rev u go, the more exciting the surge. I really wish for a manual with that engine, the auto gearbox just won’t hold the gears.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 3
          • driver on Jul 11, 2013 at 10:51 pm

AVH, you’re probably right. Mine was CVT, and this one is 5 speed auto. I have no idea on this new tranny.

• Apalalu on Jul 11, 2013 at 1:56 pm

1500cc is 1.5 liter la bodoh. Which school u went to? You are an idiot.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 7
        • no..
          1.5L = 1500cc..
          simple maths

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 1
        • pwnage on Jul 11, 2013 at 2:23 pm

apa lu karut 1.5cc=1500cc? So 1.50 ringgit = 1500 ringgit?

like that i can buy ferrari liao

1.5 liter la bero

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
        • ticko on Jul 11, 2013 at 4:45 pm

i think you are the confused and plain idiot here. 1.5cc does not equal 1500cc. are you blind or did you fail maths?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
      • namanama on Jul 11, 2013 at 2:05 pm

bangang!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
        • look in the mirror on Jul 13, 2013 at 4:42 pm

Ok, all those idiots above who called someone idiot for 1.5cc, please read again. I bet Consrito was commenting on Ben … with tongue in cheek. Refer below for more …

Quote “Ben on Jul 11, 2013 at 11:37 am
          For 1.5cc is still pricy, I would buy Preve”

So who’s the real idiots??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • U go full retarded..
        Never go for full retarded :)

• _xXx_ on Jul 11, 2013 at 12:49 pm

Finally u woke up, but too late. This is already an outgoing/dated model and ur competitors r offering models way better than this. And too bad, as usual, u ignore manual transmission lovers…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 38
      • alldisc on Jul 11, 2013 at 2:15 pm

too bad that this non-hybrid is cheaper than the hybrid.

tax exemption has like no effect anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 6
    • A fool and his money soon parted

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
    • WaJib on Jul 11, 2013 at 2:20 pm

Proton is still a proton… Nak bandingkan dgn Honda pulak. Jaguh kampung…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 70
      • peYno on Jul 13, 2013 at 6:48 am

Jaguh kampung Is perodua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 10
        • chlow on Jul 16, 2013 at 9:53 pm

FYI , P2 is still way way better compared to Proton in terms of quality and reliability …..I owned 3 P2 models and no doubt its quality n reliability. For Proton swear to god I n will nvr buy it again …ever . We working class dont hv much choice so I rather bet on a company that still has Some Japs share n interest where QC still mean something which translate to better 2nd hand resale value at the end if the day for working ppl like us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
    • Be prepare to fork out more for future maintenance and repair. They are using more local parts. The difference is a marginal when you drive CKD and CBU. I would still prefer CBU especially from Japan. In fact these days Japanese are still going on the conventional safe ways, same engine for decades, specs, design, and etc, except for Mazda. However, if price are only main concerned its worth to booked one Jazz now and expect less refinement from these CKD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 36
      • Jimmy on Jul 11, 2013 at 5:58 pm

CBU Japans have radioactive contaminations or not? Please verify. Authorities Malaysia most probably will just simply say no.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 44
        • look in the mirror on Jul 13, 2013 at 4:45 pm

Are you sure?? Malaysian authorities approved Lynas!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
        • Kiasu Ah Beng on Jul 20, 2013 at 7:02 pm

Jimmy is a CBB of the century lah. Why don’t you start checking the sushi you eat before jumping to the radiation of car components. Plus a portion of the car is localized. Plese check what that means before showing off your “scared to die” attitude here.

• OMG…GOOD price. But pls do the same for Honda City, guarantee top sells in non national sales.

• _xXx_ on Jul 11, 2013 at 6:58 pm

read ads on the right, 2006 jazz rm59,800 hahaha…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • maserati jr on Jul 11, 2013 at 10:21 pm

This is overpriced! I prefer myvi 1.5 extreme. Lagi best only 63k with Toyota engine and tech.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 94
      • Hey we know ur Myvi is the best but come on this page is about import car lah! a little rich boy toy oh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
    • Siau ah? 74k is still pricy? Potong is just for pasat pagi and pasat malam… i mean u can park whatever u want and never worry about ur car scratch or bumper fall down!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
    • And u know what?! when u r driving a high quality import car, u will take care of it muakss!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
    • Bathurst on Jul 12, 2013 at 6:12 am

If u like jazz, better buy now instead waiting new facelift.. I believe the price will increase n this jazz version rv keep competitve. Gov not simply approve that if effect p1.

• speedzter on Jul 12, 2013 at 2:28 pm

No matter what car, we always welcome low-priced car!

Honda is making a new benchmark here!
      Please do the same for Civic and Accord.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • PLEASE READ CAREFULLY , LANGKAWI ONLY PRICED AT RM36k ONLY .
      THIS IS NOT VALUE FOR MONEY , OUT OF RM75K , RM40K GO TO GOVERNMENT POCKET FOR NOTHING

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
    • tat price was reasonable… but compare wth new trend & technology, y still using normal radio without touch screen, maps & orange color for radio screen? akward! disaster…we know honda quality is the best 1 in the world, but pls upgrade some important accessories coz for me, we have a lots time to enjoy frm inside not outside..be Finctional…ok?

• i mean functional

• myvi extream was nice looking inside c/w touch screen radio, maps, & other good accessories…wake up pls!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
          • janice on Aug 08, 2013 at 10:27 pm

Myvi is a plain and pure SHIT car on the road la.not well known in usa and uk.a car with no class, useless toyota shit engine and looks like a rats ass on malaysian roads.PUI!!!Huge disgrace to the car industry!!!Kereta Sial!!PUI!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
    • CKD Master on Jul 16, 2013 at 9:35 am

Delivery expected Middle of October…nice engine but interior so plasticky and lot of empty space there and here…limited accessories

• Kenny on Jul 22, 2013 at 6:10 pm

The tax on cars here is pretty high eh. I’m from uk and lucky enough to be on the retirement scheme here in M’sia, so able to buy Jazz Petrol minus tax.Total price for me is RM 36,800. Seems to be something wrong somewhere.

• carguy2000 on Jul 24, 2013 at 11:02 am

this model planned for discontinue next year in Indonesia

• That is why all this while I think the Honda Jazz was over-prized in Malaysia.. Now it has correct price tag, same price with or cheaper than Honda city..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 199 Thumb down 2
    • 1world on Jul 11, 2013 at 3:28 pm

Agree with you.

• Pontiac on Jul 11, 2013 at 5:52 pm

Tq kerajaan!
      Tq HONDA!
      Tq DRB -Hicom owner – tan sri sheikh mokhtar albukhari!
      Tq rakyat malaysia for ur vote!
      Now i can own a cheaper jazz!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 112
      • yeah tq for voting be end.. so unfair and still pricy..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 37
      • driver on Jul 11, 2013 at 10:55 pm

you’re right.. cheapER jazz indeed. but the question is, does it really cheap?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
        • Low Budget on Jul 12, 2013 at 12:46 pm

Yeah, Chepness is relative, the RM 75K price tag can buy much better car in Australia and US or UK.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
      • TeacW7 on Jul 12, 2013 at 9:53 am

Seriously, has anyone followed the price for duty free Langkawi/Labuan? On-The-Road Price with Insurance 36,800.00. Now do you still think we are getting a cheaper car at 74K?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
        • Fortuner on Jul 12, 2013 at 5:50 pm

it is cheaper than myvi and of course the protons here… let’s hope the others -toyota/kia will follow!!!

• driver on Jul 12, 2013 at 5:50 pm

That’s what I meant. This Jazz is cheaper, relative to it’s CBU’s mate, but the point is.. is it really cheap? And from your posting, it could be cheaper, if “majority” of us decided to have the excise abolished.

Anyway, Honda’s effort is very much welcomed. Let they compete, we’ll gain the benefit.

• chlow on Jul 16, 2013 at 10:33 pm

Any price reduction is welcome . Honda fired the 1st shot hopefully other Japs, Conti or Koreans will follow suit.
            Manufacturer cant make everyone happy …pls put politics a side , we know abt the cronies and what not.
            As a consumer with limited choices I pick what suit my budget n beliefs not to mention the company that is behind it , that I feel is able to provide me a good service thru out my ownership.

• semut on Jul 13, 2013 at 11:08 am

Selling like hot cakes…..more than 100 bkgs on 1st day…..(incl mine :)

• langkawi price RM 36K :D..already 300 bookings only in 1week :D

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Jul 11, 2013 at 11:38 am

Not bad for a Honda price but compare to Korean still a bit “expensive”. Anyway it depends what the customer want. Won’t compare Korean better than Japanese, since 2 are different continent & technology. Is alwiz a good thing to lower prices!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 21
    • Tukar on Jul 11, 2013 at 12:24 pm

Different continent????

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 130 Thumb down 3
    • Anti-Fuel-Price on Jul 11, 2013 at 5:44 pm

Typing error!
      Why so harsh on the comment, fail geo lah, alien lah! So uneducated both of you. 2 different countries it should be. No wonder nickname Store & Boxy coz the “mind” already store in boxy mode hahaha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 39
      • driver on Jul 11, 2013 at 6:37 pm

Chill bro. Most of people in this forum are looking for opportunity to release their long held tension of daily life. So even a single scratch was seen as a deep cut. Don’t be like them. Keep cool! hahaa..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 4
    • Low Budget on Jul 12, 2013 at 12:51 pm

Korean cars are as good as Japanese, don’t forget this Honda now has many local parts, so the quality of the RM75K Honda Jazz probably will be as good as Peroduas but not better than the cars from Korea.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
    • zippp on Jul 19, 2013 at 5:55 pm

He or she must have been umno strong supporters.

• joanna on Jul 11, 2013 at 11:39 am

Wow. I want one! Thanks Honda and other car makers for your own initiatives to lower the cars price.
    If we wait for govt to lower the car’s taxes, then its like waiting a cat lays egg. #janji dicapati.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 141 Thumb down 97
    • the bad side of this is that utusan will help the charkui givernment to take credit…and stupid people will believe it…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 81
      • charkui government

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 64
      • Pontiac on Jul 11, 2013 at 5:55 pm

Somepeople just butthurt and can accept the truth when people think its not directly from BN. Let me tell u,
        Our honda malaysia owner by this so called crony who get many gov project and glc. And how this happen? Gov must have got negotiation with this so called crony!
        Tq “BN crony” that make this things happen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 35
    • lelonglelong on Jul 11, 2013 at 12:02 pm

in this case, brio will never come to semua bolehland

• 1world on Jul 11, 2013 at 2:18 pm

Perhaps it will, just at a much lower price. Proton must have felt the heat under their arse.

• croosbow on Jul 11, 2013 at 8:09 pm

proton also taxed la. if gomen removes some duty, proton also cut hence gets cheaper. still, the cheapest in malaysia

• Dru-Zod on Jul 12, 2013 at 12:37 am

Proton cannot be the cheapest. It does not have the volume. The taxes are artificially keeping Proton afloat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
        • driver on Jul 11, 2013 at 10:54 pm

maybe an even cheaper P3-22A?

• peYno on Jul 13, 2013 at 6:49 am

i tot perodua should feel that… Honda is under drb.. same as proton

• well done.

• rajaGlobal on Jul 11, 2013 at 11:47 am

cheaper than Peugeot 208… maybe better than 208..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 8
    • 1world on Jul 11, 2013 at 2:19 pm

Overall, I think it is a good deal. But Peugeot 208 is genuinely a new model, this Jazz is an outgoing one. I guess we can just take our pick.

• kadajawi on Jul 11, 2013 at 3:06 pm

I wouldn’t expect it to be better than the 208, but the price makes it quite interesting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • chikaro on Jul 11, 2013 at 11:51 am

Now we’re talking

• shawal on Jul 11, 2013 at 11:52 am

Explain d ece regulstion plz…
    Auto door lock? So central lockinh stillcgot..?

• Danny Tan (Member) on Jul 11, 2013 at 12:19 pm

Central locking is still present. Just that the car won’t lock itself automatically to comply with local safety regulations, according to Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
      • 4G63T DSM on Jul 11, 2013 at 12:32 pm

Malaysia has safety regulation?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 11
        • why they banned it? auto lock door when the car start move is a good function. i found that the new myvi also dun have this. anyone know more on this?

• my camry also doesnt hv autolock feature, it’s a safety regulation from the government..

• farghmee on Jul 11, 2013 at 3:53 pm

yg aku faham,
            regulation ni ckp, kalu time accident, autolock ni akan disengage. i.e, auto-unlock

• passat CKD on Jul 11, 2013 at 4:22 pm

In case of accident or fire in the car, the auto lock function might be compromised therefore locking passengers in the car and prevent escape. This feature has been disabled to prevent trapping in case of fire.

• Elchino on Jul 11, 2013 at 5:38 pm

Not true, my MYVI Elegant has auto lock. After you start the engine, the moment you step on the brakes, all the doors will lock automatically. Can’t believe this is a safety regulation when my MYVI has it. In fact it is safer to have an auto lock to prevent an intruder from jumping into your back seat!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
        • rizal on Jul 16, 2013 at 4:34 pm

autolock onluy cost u rm30 , go to accesorries shop n fix it..jangan bising2 la..kiasu!

• 1world on Jul 11, 2013 at 1:57 pm

I can’t see anything about cruise control.
        Does this model come with one?

• Safety regulations? I think the car locking itself automatically when it moves is a good safety measure against snatch thieves and robbers when you stop at traffic lights.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
        • rickyll on Jul 11, 2013 at 4:05 pm

I agree with you that the auto locking system is a must have safety feature for a car, while a more advanced system will provide auto unlocking when the car is involved in an accident which is crucial and life saving.

• quoted from a fb friend;

“Malaysia follows an European safety standard that states doors must be able to be opened during a crash. So it means cars must use central locking that is controlled by the ECU, not by the brake pedal.
        Pricey but safer.”

• 4g63tdsm on Jul 11, 2013 at 6:28 pm

Wow..if that was the case, honda should be shamed publicly.

So instead of doing it the right way, and have the doors auto unlock in a crash ( or airbag deployment) they just removed the feature.

Does the car even has a cut off for the fuel pump and electrical systems in a crash? As is the norm in many new cars?

Earlier …someone mentioned safety regulation… I stand by my earlier comment. What safety regulation?

• Bathurst on Jul 12, 2013 at 5:59 am

During emergency, most people panic. this is reason of disable autolock. Anyway this can be enable back by etacs setting.

• Lemonguy on Jul 13, 2013 at 6:15 pm

European dont have much snatch thieve or car stolen case compare to malaysia. Malaysia definitely need autolook hahaha

• I dont think so, my parent lexus ct200h still got auto lock. u can even set when do u wan it auto lock such as
        1) at certain speed
        2) when switch Gear
        more and i forget

• Tasya on Jul 12, 2013 at 10:08 am

Yup! My new innova oso dun hv auto lock…always hv to remind d driver to press the central lock…very troublesome

• I think they should still maintain the auto-locking feature on all cars. I find it illogical to link auto-locking to occupants being trapped in the car…

If that’s the case, then how about the scenario when the driver MANUALLY locks the doors? Does this mean with the regulation, cars with no auto-unlocking feature should not be locked at all? Robbers will be having a fun time then! :p

Comments anyone?

• Alex Chan on Jul 11, 2013 at 11:52 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 177
    • Nice sarcastic.. Hihi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • So you are saying Honda is a less prestigious brand than Toyota? Myvi maybe better equipped in terms of gadgets but definitely not in terms of safety equipment (does Myvi comes with ESP and five star ratings?) You typical Toyota worshipper that thinks just because it has a T logo, there is no need for more safety equipments than basic dual-airbags and ABS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 8
    • 1world on Jul 11, 2013 at 2:21 pm

For RM 62K, I would rather go for this Jazz (RM 74K) even knowing it is an outgoing model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
  • Still pricy beb, u can get premium preve with only 70k. High feature not like honda, handling out. 75k not much i can get compare with preve cfe. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 67
    • Cannot compare price with Preve coz Proton manufactured locally. Honda Jazz CKD assembled locally.Assembled doesn’t mean components are local. But still a big difference compared to original price. Those that bought the Jazz earlier sure bengang giler coz sudden drop in price.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 4
      • Sori I left the word all: “Assembled doesn’t mean ALL components are local”. The article also mentioned the knocked down part is still from Thailand. But it is still good that Honda is showing the commitment to reduce the price of their cars in our country

• Local content now stands at 30% to 40%, and there are plans to increase it…….

• Lemonguy on Jul 13, 2013 at 6:18 pm

Both cars after 5 yrs i bet you cry for your preve depreciation price value compare to Jazz….

• iluvhonla on Jul 11, 2013 at 11:55 am

Good for wifey car! Bye bye saga and myvi!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
  • reyust on Jul 11, 2013 at 11:58 am

wah..soo cheap..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • underskinned on Jul 11, 2013 at 12:00 pm

I don’t get it, why does the hybrid price higher than the normally-aspirated Jazz?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • jazz from rm100k to rm75k so the 2014 honda city should be rm90k to rm65k

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 5
    • neemfa on Jul 11, 2013 at 12:24 pm

The G wouldn’t allow this.. anything below 60k will be a threat to national products.. hehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 8
  • Kaninabei on Jul 11, 2013 at 12:07 pm

korean cars will get overheated after 2 years. They cannot tahan our weather

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 30
    • rickyll on Jul 11, 2013 at 12:42 pm

I beg to disagree with you. Korean auto technology may be one level backward when compare with the Japanese or German but they are fast catching up, and I do not understand what do you mean by overheated because of our weather. I have been driving Kia Forte for the past three years and eight months, there is no sign of the car overheating. In fact, after the metre clocking 100K km, it still has the new car feel. Like I posted in all my past comments, Forte’s 4 speed auto is no doubt a bit aged, the car lacks pickup and a bit sluggish but once it gains its momentum it’s smooth driving all the way. One more thing, unlike its predecessors, its FC is also commendable. As for this Honda Jazz, it’s really value for money, I have driven my niece’s Jazz Hyrid, its really a nice car to drive especially to a lady driver.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 30
    • KuinosanNickNick on Jul 11, 2013 at 11:13 pm

Sounds like you know nuts about cars! Cars nowadays are climatized no matter what brands they are and overheating will only happen to abused cars that have not been regularly serviced. Are you one of those irresponsible car owners that drive your car to the ground withou carrying out the regular service intervals? Don’t blame the car, instead blame the owner!

• along on Jul 11, 2013 at 12:07 pm

Hmmm still expensive and normal rakyat will still need 7-9 years loan to buy this…

So my verdict: will ignore this car and any new car and continue using my current car.

If we do this together, price will drop…

When the buying stop, the killing can too…
    If we work together, we can win this…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 176 Thumb down 8
    • hero car on Jul 11, 2013 at 12:35 pm

Totally agreed with you. Use your current car as long as possible. The issue is how to relay this message and do it together.

If we do this, I think it will kill the money wasting goverment first coz much lesser tax contribution from automobile industry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 6
    • blacktop 6 speed on Jul 11, 2013 at 7:07 pm

i love u

• Anti CO2 on Jul 11, 2013 at 12:07 pm

Obviously Honda is targeting the high volume and over-priced Alza. And the standard Exora maybe??? Good initiative!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
    • kadajawi on Jul 11, 2013 at 3:09 pm

Overpriced Alza and Exora? Not really. And those are 7 seaters, this is a B segment car, even if it is a bit more spacious than other B segment hatchbacks. Hard to compare.

This is going against the Rio, 208 and Fiesta S. And at that price point it’s quite a bargain, at least it has VSA/ESP. The Rio has a similar price but is better speced, the Fiesta S is similarly speced but more expensive. 208 is better speced and more expensive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
      • i don’t think rio is better spec…. it’s only sightly better in terms of accessories and safety

and that’s only applicable for the SX variant which cost 80k. the lower spec EX variant cost 74k.

rio is running 1.4 mated with a 4 speed auto…. while jazz using 1.5 mated to a 5 speed. since so many are complaining about transmission with more speeds…. make ur choice now

• 5000km or 3 months service interval whichever comes first. Is this necessary for a modern car or does the local distributor just want to make more money? Even Korean cars are at 10,000km now. But necessary or not you are forced to do it to keep your warranty. More importantly do you have the time to service so frequently?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • 5000km for mineral oil, 10,000km for synthetic oil.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
      • hondaman on Jul 11, 2013 at 1:40 pm

I opted to use full synthetic oil for my new City but service center informed still need to do servicing every 5k, if not warranty not covered.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
        • city e on Jul 11, 2013 at 2:36 pm

For same model in Thailand, honda thai sc allowed 10k service intervals with fully synthetic oil. Local honda is at fault here. Something fishy somewhere.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
        • 1world on Jul 11, 2013 at 3:46 pm

They just want to squeeze you for money. That is the only reasonable explanation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
  • mohdwahidi on Jul 11, 2013 at 12:16 pm

it’s about time to have premium car with ‘right’ price. if not lower than any other makes, at least Honda makes the effort for it.

• namanama on Jul 11, 2013 at 12:16 pm

good move.

• Good job Honda!

• neemfa on Jul 11, 2013 at 12:23 pm

Wow.. but a little bit too late? Honda is feeling the pinch for sub RM80k competition..

• My fren just smoked myvi 1.5se with his honda city grade e kaw kaw who tried to cucuk him.This car shares same engine with honda city that produces 120ps n 146nm which cn tapau myvi 1.5 LAGI BEST easily since its lighter thn city..so to all myvi driver plz dun think u al driving a super car n cucuk org kt highway

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 24
    • ex myvi on Jul 11, 2013 at 1:14 pm

That fella prolly asked you to speed up and not to hog the lane, no intention to cucuk or whatsoever. Probably. No offence

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 63
    • hantu on Jul 11, 2013 at 6:25 pm

did your fren managed to open the i-vtec?

• Yeap..initially my fren was cruising at180kph n d myvi could cucuk. Later wen he floored d accelerator he managed to open i guess. I was sitting beside him n laughing..speed was about 190kmph. Quite impressive for 1.5 liter car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 21
    • did he bring back any trophy after that?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 5
      • RejimKejamGanas on Jul 15, 2013 at 12:04 am

He is lucky they did not follow him to a rest stop and kick his butt. People forget that there are always bullies on the road that can be easily provoked.

• See, this is why local makes are damn super over priced.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • well done Honda Malaysia! suzuki swift and kia rio die liao lol…. this is the price that i want! the power of dreams!yeah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 108
  • Jab! Strong! Fierce! on Jul 11, 2013 at 12:35 pm

Good pricing but late timing. Honda is trying to move some units but the current generation is almost near it’s expiry shelf life. The next gen is launching next year September In Japan so more or less 1+ year it will reach our shore. I suggest hold back on your purchases and stick to your current ride now, unless you urgently need a new affordable ride :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
  • japankiller on Jul 11, 2013 at 12:35 pm

Isn’t that new gen of Jazz coming up soon? lower price meaning we are getting obsolete one?

• batman on Jul 11, 2013 at 12:35 pm

Owhh mai..susah laa ini mcam for Rio,SWIFT,

• Katak on Jul 11, 2013 at 12:36 pm

Used to be the car I want when it’s over 100K. Now it looks cheap. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 17
    • It’s always been a cheap car elsewhere around the world. Your mindset needs cleaning I reckon. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
  • Polo Saga on Jul 11, 2013 at 12:37 pm

Quite a good deal! Well done, Honda Malaysia!

• YeapyEvo on Jul 11, 2013 at 12:37 pm

Those who bought the CBU Thai version will be crying now, 2nd hand value gonna drop at least 20k.

Anyway good move by Honda, finally they realized they can’t price a normal family hatchback as premium car and Malaysian isn’t so stupid to pay premium price for it. Although a new version is going to come in 2014, but at 75k it is still worth considering over new Swift 1.4 or Kia Rio.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
    • 1world on Jul 11, 2013 at 3:23 pm

I guess it is too bad for them. But looking at the bigger picture, this move by Honda is a good move.

• dugong on Jul 11, 2013 at 10:38 pm

nowadays koreans giving pressure to the japs. so they need to lower prices.
      RV for japs gonna oso diving faster than koreans due to price drop of new models.

• alamak geng kamonla…nice tryla Honda but when u look the interior design and other spec given i want to cry lahh baek angkat proton saga.
    nothing special about this car expect of HONDA logo. So kluar RM 75k or 40k , ^_^

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 40
  • nabill on Jul 11, 2013 at 12:41 pm

This is surprising in a very nice unxpected way!
    this wil start a price war everywer else……its worth da purchase…n hope those “30-40%” local content can stand up da time…

• 1world on Jul 11, 2013 at 3:24 pm

No worries. I am sure the essential parts are still from Thailand.

• Cityowner on Jul 11, 2013 at 12:42 pm

damm.. mii love this car long time..overpriced so just bought city..but know..damm..

• I feel you, but City has paddle-shift and steering control, two features I rreally love in mine(well, I said mine but…). I really wish for a manual with it.

• seancorr on Jul 11, 2013 at 12:43 pm

Hmmmm how much does it cost to add audio controls on the steering wheel?

Plus how come this latest model from Honda Malaysia only offer 3 years warranty instead of 5? Local Jazz not durable as compared to the rest of the Honda line up?

• bystander on Jul 11, 2013 at 12:43 pm

I always drive this variant in Thailand as a rented car. I am not really a hardcore car enthusiast, so I totally love it! Too bad I cannot afford it here in Malaysia. If the steering wheel controls are still present, and not removed, then it would make the 75k sweeter. Good as town runabout, the interior versatility of the Jazz due to the Ultra Seats is really unmatched.

• jinggo on Jul 11, 2013 at 12:49 pm

Come on la guys. This model is already 5 years in the market. Ini barang lama la kawan..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 8
    • beware guys! this car is selling the “H” logo only,beside it… this is nothing and out dated car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
  • yep..i had tried drive this car..very good car..

• good thing they still include VSA

• this is the end of swift-fiesta domination..preve hatchback might be killed before its launch.

pls stop b/c segment argument.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 40
  • drMpower on Jul 11, 2013 at 1:07 pm

this is a great testimony of the government IS very committed to bring down the car prices. it just the government want to do it their own way. by cutting all the taxes, they lost money. its a lose-win situation. this is what rafizi wanted.

they want the government to lose money.

but then come this news. yes, bigger local contents can bring down money without losing tax money. kudos to the government. so this should serve as incentives for the carmakers to focus on increasing local contents. this solution is better than rafizi’s lose-win. this is a 30% slash of car price WITHIN just THREE MONTHS winning the election.

THREE MONTHS

this isnt political. it just there is other way to reduce car prices without having to forgo one of the biggest money source for A GOVERNMENT. running a government isnt like settling households.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 136 Thumb down 71
    • 1world on Jul 11, 2013 at 2:05 pm

Well said.

To actually running a country is not as easy as giving more promises just to win vote.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 16
    • farghmee on Jul 11, 2013 at 2:16 pm

bro, aku rasa ko salahfaham.

rege kete murah sbb manufacturer tu amik langkah utk amik sumber tempatan.
      kalu ada kuantiti & demand, mmg bagus amik dr local source.

tax gomen still ade, xturun pn.
      sales tax, eksais ada ubah?

ok. yg rafizi nk buat ialah kurangkn eksais.
      dlm ertikata lain, pd pihak gomen, dia nk buat cmtu.

sila bezakan antara tindakan oleh manufacturer utk kurangkn kos & tindakan gomen dlm menentukan struktur cukai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 43
      • drMpower on Jul 11, 2013 at 2:41 pm

Hang baru saja setuju yang cara ni boleh kurangkan kreta TANPA abolish tax. Thats all i want to know

So lepaih ni, kereta dalam bracket 1600cc, dengan local content yang sama, dan menikmati tariff tax yang sama, harga dia MESTI 75k tops. It cannot be more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 13
        • 1world on Jul 11, 2013 at 3:20 pm

Exactly. Some people just don’t get it. They only think of ONE way to reduce the price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 10
        • farghmee on Jul 11, 2013 at 3:59 pm

yup bro. CKD boleh jimat kos kalu ada volume.
          aku repeat, kalu ada volume.

& itu ialah di pihak pembuat.

tp still eksais tu ada & still sama.
          kalu nk kata gomen turunkn eksais, tidak juga.

& mmg dh lama ada ckp kalu guna local content aku dpt -tax.

aku lebih percaya pd ini ialah penurunan harga disebabkan kurangnya kos operasi berbanding pengurangan eksais.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 45
        • rambo ramsey on Jul 12, 2013 at 12:35 pm

bro, bila you use local component, the excise duty can be removed (part by part price). most local OEM will localise seat (bulky item) as this will save not just tax, but logistic cost as well. this is just an example, hence this Jazz with 40% local content will incur 60% x 75% of excise duty = 45% excise only.

• Da gov mintak pembuat keta untuk turunkn harge keta secara suka rela dgn cara ckd atau fully built dlm malaysia…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 4
      • Menteri kreta yg baru pun da kompemkan yg effective excise tax keta dlm malaysia ni 40-50% +10%(sales tax) + 30% imp tax( mane yg berkenaan). Bkan mcm 75% ( bawah 1800cc)..buat ape nak kurang if memang da kurang pun.cube kire sendiri kalo xcayer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • RejimKejamGanas on Jul 15, 2013 at 12:20 am

While I agree overall with this comment. I would like to point out that it is a outgoing model and specs have been removed to bring down the price. Fortunately they maintained most of the safety specs. The question is why there is poor support from local OEMs to offer full safety specs? Besides this Jazz, the Hybrid Jazz also reduced price but the specs reduction was worse and defeats any significant gain from the reduced price. Is the only way for us to get cheaper cars is to reduce on specs, especially safety? What will happen when the new Jazz shows up? Will that mean the prices go up again or we will be stuck with the old model for a very long time to come?

• Kinda bummer that the paddle-shift has to go, It was the only way to bring out the engine’s potential in a Honda City. But have to sacrifice something for that rather huge price drop(no matter which side you are on, RM24k is alot of usable cash) for a rather similar specced car. Honestly, great job Honda M! repentance for the for the Honda Jazz Hybrid CKD, a car that was a disappointment of biblical proportion. I mean this still have rear disc brakes!

• 1world on Jul 11, 2013 at 2:04 pm

I can live without the paddle shifter but I wish the put back the cruise control and audio control.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • keongzai on Jul 11, 2013 at 1:11 pm

i think the CBU version come with automatic air-con control, and this one with the manual version….the dials looks terrible to me.

• Jonathan Lee on Jul 11, 2013 at 1:13 pm

Oh my, they finally did it.

I don’t understand what took them so long. I mean, they’ve had the capability to do it for so long, having assembled the City here for ages. I guess they couldn’t just let the cheaper Fiesta run around sewing up the local hatchback market.

Still, better late than never. Now it’s the Jazz that undercuts the Fiesta by a full RM10k. Looks tempting.

Also, I wasn’t aware that Malaysia adopted ECE regulations. When was this, and why are other cars still sold with automatic door locking systems?

• 1world on Jul 11, 2013 at 2:12 pm

Perhaps they waited for the tools to make parts for this model to depreciate before ship it to Malaysia?

Anyway, it is a good move thus a good deal.

• Activestream on Jul 11, 2013 at 5:38 pm

Hello for u dumb fools here who compare this piece of junk to Fiesta and Kia Rio (2013)you are nuts, by the way I’m driving the Rio the car specs are way better than this obsolete crap, no bluetooth, no front LED lighting , plus my fuel consumption for the rio is not bad full tank petrol for RM 65 can get a mileage of 430 km , 70 % highway and 30 % city drive. So Pls think before voice your comments.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 36
        • driver on Jul 12, 2013 at 5:55 pm

it may be well spec-ed on paper, but do you really enjoy it? really?

• RejimKejamGanas on Jul 15, 2013 at 12:23 am

Enjoyment is relative. It’s not like these cars are hot hatches.

• Dream on Jul 24, 2013 at 12:58 am

My ten years old city idsi rm70 full tank get 500km+/- city drive. Highway get 600+/-km. Your brand new Rio get so low mileage?

• noname on Jul 24, 2013 at 9:01 am

pOlo sedan aku rm50 boleh dapat 370km.. relex jerrr

• 1world on Jul 11, 2013 at 2:42 pm

Yeah, better late than never.

• oomph on Jul 11, 2013 at 1:17 pm

walaweh.. wanna buy this for my mom going to pasar. really handy.

• So will UMW selling Yaris CKD at RM74K also ?

• 1world on Jul 11, 2013 at 2:34 pm

Is it even in the same category as Jazz? Please shed some light. Thanks.

• guys…checked it carefully, this jazz interior looks weired and cheepo car…like low grade car..got nothing at steerling. i feel that like honda wanna clearance it and plan for new model.just honda jazz fans,this is a right time to get it…. think wise ya!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 22
    • 1world on Jul 11, 2013 at 2:41 pm

Perhaps we could have a look in the flesh first?

• kiarow on Jul 11, 2013 at 8:24 pm

the interior looks like cheapo myvi plastics. i’ve been in rio hatch and its plastics looks more expensive. both are hard ones though.

• My Honda Tak Guna on Jul 11, 2013 at 1:29 pm

This model exist since 2007 and still no new generation… HELLO! You are Honda, not Proton…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
    • 1world on Jul 11, 2013 at 2:48 pm

This is an outgoing model. The replacement is just waiting to be launched.

• Finally, Honda has answered the call for the price cut of 1500cc vehicle segment without the need of the govt to further decrease the existing excise duty tariff. Truly, our tariff for 1500cc is almost comparable to other ASEAN neighbours (30-50%) yet the 1500cc cars are still pricey. For this segment, it’s not the tax that have make the car price expensive but the greediness of the manufacturer/dealership to make a super huge profit. Now, Honda is more affordable then the previous days… Appreciate the good move!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
    • 1world on Jul 11, 2013 at 2:09 pm

Indeed. I just hope next time they do it with a current morel (not an outgoing one).

• 1world on Jul 11, 2013 at 2:37 pm

Nevertheless it is a move in the right direction.

• ben yap on Jul 11, 2013 at 1:44 pm

Honda should plonk in a paddle shift.

nevertheless, good pricing strategy.

• farghmee on Jul 11, 2013 at 2:19 pm

buat ape pedal shif tu.
      bukan pakai pn nnt.
      masuk D…jalan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 8
    • 1world on Jul 11, 2013 at 2:33 pm

99% of the time you will not use it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
      • and I use it almost everyday, in short uphill overtakes(I live around hilly areas). It’s good feature as the engine has its power and torque waaaay up in the rev range.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • I prefer push start button and keyless

Paddle shift for what?..stylo onli

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • shensh on Jul 11, 2013 at 8:25 pm

pakai preve turbo baru kena dengan paddleshift, civic pun kalah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • Johnny on Jul 11, 2013 at 1:50 pm

Honda Jazz SV

• 1world on Jul 11, 2013 at 1:52 pm

This will definitely effect Alza and Myvi sales as much as it will effect Proton’s.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Oh my Gawd! The centre console looks so dated, like retro design. I know this model is 5 years old but even 10 year old interior don’t look so ‘lau peh’ (old fashioned).

• danny on Jul 11, 2013 at 1:57 pm

Prepare to have a huge depreciation when Honda launched the next gen. Jazz soon. But car hungry Malaysian will think they are having a great deal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • 1world on Jul 11, 2013 at 2:06 pm

It is a good deal (not great) in a way.

• 1world on Jul 11, 2013 at 2:25 pm

I hate the way they place wing mirror on the upcoming Jazz, prefer the current one. Other than that, the new on is a good car.

• dugong on Jul 11, 2013 at 10:54 pm

but new jazz probably priced at 100k wor

• Leo Lim on Jul 11, 2013 at 2:13 pm

Is it me or this lowered priced CKD Jazz’s interior material seems more “lousy” compared to the Jazz imported from Thailand, the quality of the interior (dashboard, seats) seems more “premium” compared to this CKD-ed Jazz..hmmm…

• dewaSemut on Jul 11, 2013 at 2:18 pm

By doing this, DRB is killing its own sales on the upcoming Preve Hatchback.

• mentari-o-korea on Jul 11, 2013 at 2:27 pm

Outdated and aging product!!! Only fools rush in!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 16
    • 1world on Jul 11, 2013 at 3:00 pm

I agree to some extend. BTW, did you know the NEW Myvi still using the same OLD engine as the 2004/5 model?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
      • How about vios with 4 speed auto?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
        • wearear on Jul 13, 2013 at 3:23 am

Oh that’s exempted because it’s a company said to be moving forward so even if they use old archaic engine and gears they should be praised like no tomorrow

• Ken Ng on Jul 11, 2013 at 2:28 pm

As a Jazz Hybrid owner myself, I honestly don’t think this is a good deal. Reduced airbags in proportionate to the price, I can understand. But the center console is definitely from the 90’s. I feel dreary in my Jazz already but in this, it’s a whole new level BENEATH it. LCD screen is orange-ish, doesn’t match exterior colours, service interval still 5,000km.

Sorry but Honda is consistently lagging behind other brands, not setting the trends like it was in the 90’s.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
    • 1world on Jul 11, 2013 at 3:07 pm

Service interval should be 10K KM, or Honda just wanted to recoup some of their money (for giving 74K price) this way?

• Toyota uses green..does that make it better than amber? Current City also still amber what.

• Ken Ng on Jul 12, 2013 at 9:56 am

My Jazz Hybrid is grey, or green-ish maybe. When it is illuminated at night it’s blue, so I kinda like that compared to amber =)

• dongga on Jul 11, 2013 at 2:33 pm

Latest news preve hatchback cfe rm 60000

• skywalker on Jul 11, 2013 at 2:36 pm

I felt sorry for those who bought the CBU unit with 100K price…

• namanama on Jul 11, 2013 at 2:42 pm

manual transmission please…

• 1world on Jul 11, 2013 at 3:05 pm

You could have it if you are lucky.

Majority of the market opt for Auto (be it normal auto, CVT, DSG or whatever) version anyway.

• make it Manual 6-spd n price it rm65k….

• rickyll on Jul 11, 2013 at 4:35 pm

Manual transmission is fast becoming a dying breed. For those who only know to drive an auto cars, they surely missed out a lot of fun. But in our daily city cum heavily congested roads, auto transmission reins supreme. I was told that in Indonesia, manual transmission vehicles cost more to own. So, at least in Malaysia we are still able to get them at a cheaper price, the only trouble is that they are now hard to come by.

• nabill on Jul 11, 2013 at 2:48 pm

Why ia everyone comparing to preve hatchback?? dis is fiesta,sonic,rio teritory….u dont hav to be some genuis auto analyst to figure dat one out…..it mite be close to preve hatchback PRICE bt its diferent segment diferent size

• taboogen on Jul 11, 2013 at 2:59 pm

normal lah malaysian people.. wont satisfied until malaysian own business gone down the drain… they only talk the talk but wont do walk the talk…

talkative lah uollss… damn

• 1world on Jul 11, 2013 at 3:03 pm

But in Malaysia, people down here never really observe the class/segment (be it B, C or D), they mostly look at the price tag.

• Pontiax on Jul 11, 2013 at 3:33 pm

No wonder some vios or honda city owner think that their b seg car is the same as d segment car. LOL.

• chikaro on Jul 11, 2013 at 2:56 pm

Hmm..dont how to tell u guys…but im so attracted to cerato..haihh..dem..I think I juz go buy the cerato

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • go lah. Nobody will stop you. Why are you in this tered then =.=

• Datuk Jack. on Jul 11, 2013 at 3:02 pm

not sure how many unit they able to sell.. brand wise they are camp, but spec wise far behind P322 spec.. old generation looks on brand, new generation looks on spec.. want prove? look hot selling cerato it tell u everything..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
    • 1world on Jul 11, 2013 at 3:11 pm

But the new Forte (Cerato) is WAAYYY more expensive than the older Forte that it replace.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Pontiac on Jul 11, 2013 at 3:31 pm

U sure o not?? Cerato hot selling like hot cake?? BS only ler. Overprice car with overated car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 8
    • weight on Jul 11, 2013 at 8:33 pm

p332 for those who want car that has more value for money, enjoy teh fun of driving, jazz ….errr maybe for budak baru nak naik LOL

• Whatever reason that Honda couldn’t sell it at this price Years back and whatever make it happen today. Jazz is OUTDATED.

You are pricing it at a range where for example, RIO is offering a lot MORE Accessory and Korean made these days are very welcome among new drivers who doesn’t suffer the stink of poor second hand Value in 90’s.

There are plenty options of car in the range of 70k that I don’t even notice Jazz are still in the business.

Still, some Honda die hard fan might bite the bait.
    Good Luck.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
    • 1world on Jul 11, 2013 at 3:39 pm

Knowing Malaysian. The sales will pickup real quick.

Mark my word.

• hondaman on Jul 11, 2013 at 3:50 pm

korean car still has poor rv after the 90’s. Sold my 80k hyundai bought in 2005, for 10k only last year.

• 1world on Jul 11, 2013 at 4:06 pm

Oh boy! That gotta hurt. Thanks for sharing info. I should not come to Korean car within 10 feet wit the resale value for an 80K car is just 10K after only 7 years.

• fcked_up on Jul 11, 2013 at 6:31 pm

hi,
        I have my own used car dealership. may I know which korean car are you referring to? For that price, I would think the hyundai elantra. yes, the previous generation korean cars, do have a low resale value, but i think RM10k is extremely low. BTW newer korean cars have better resale value simply because the newer generation have become more desirable. When it first came out, the jazz was indeed a good looking car, however 5 years on…. I think this is more of a stock clearing exercise, even the golf gti has dropped to RM185k, in anticipation of the new model.

• 4g63tdsm on Jul 11, 2013 at 6:40 pm

Who asked you to fire sale your car?

Blame RV when you are the one who sold below market value. Hahahahaha

…so says the honda salesman I suppose.

• Sorry to hear that. I’m skeptical if the Forte onwards generation will suffer the same.
        Nevertheless, it will be painful for Japanese to understand that the market has blown wide open these days. RV advantage might still creep some old buyer but its a whole new game for the young. You can’t sing the same song for decades and expect big crowd.

• IINM you can only get the lower spec Rio EX @ 74k…. the Rio SX with more accesories will cost 80k

and don’t forget rio only running 1.4 engine with a 4 speed auto, and i believe that car is heavier than jazz as well.

• Proton staff on Jul 11, 2013 at 3:24 pm

So bangga when everyone is comparing with Proton P3-22A. Everything is comparable with Proton. B segment, C segment can also compare. Proton is the benchmark for ALL!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 11
    • souce on Jul 11, 2013 at 8:37 pm

if i want to compare the handling i will compare proton with contis, not with sushi or kimchi. the difference is light year!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • Dru-Zod on Jul 12, 2013 at 12:52 am

True. Benchmark for crappiest cars in the market.

• crapper on Jul 12, 2013 at 2:55 pm

only crappy people will say that, proton is definitely not for them because it’s not the crappiest, haha!

• Dru-Zod on Jul 12, 2013 at 8:11 pm

You can insult me personally all you want but the fact of the matter is Proton is Crème de la Crap of cars in the Malaysian market.
          Instead of being syiok sendiri thinking that you are the benchmark, why don’t you listen to feedback in forums like these and improve your products. How long has the internet been easily available to Malaysians? 15 years at least. That’s 15 years of easily available feedback of people posting the issues that they face with your cars. You won’t get all of the feedback from your SC coz not everybody will come back to your SC (many losing confidence with the service they get at your SC). they rather get the problems fixed outside where they are more confident. Listen to the people please. Don’t be delusional and live in the kayangan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
          • crapper on Jul 12, 2013 at 9:49 pm

5 stars aussie ncap car is still crap? i don’t think so. and people will benchmark it against anything, b with c segment, sometimes with d, so what’s the problem? before you say they don’t listen to feedbacks in forums, you have evidence? don’t be mouthful without any source. anyway people make proton as benchmark because it’s good enough to be. why so jelly?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
          • Dru-Zod on Jul 13, 2013 at 12:07 pm

Evidence is the crappy cars and parts that you continue produce. Coming out with syiok sendiri statements just like the TM days 10 years ago. BMW of the East lah, Benchmark lah etc. Lampu Preve pun tak tau pasang balik kat SC. Apa punya training bagi kat SC? I am not Jelly. Its a pity that Malaysians have to put up with these crappy cars so that a few crony and politicians can get rich.

• techtron on Jul 13, 2013 at 7:30 pm

You got confused between cars, company and the management. I believe you have 12 year old kid brain, pity.

• Kuinosan on Jul 13, 2013 at 9:49 pm

Proton as benchmark??? Your sarcasm is much appreciated… Ha..ha..

• Pontiac on Jul 11, 2013 at 3:29 pm

Terima kasih kerajaan pusat yg initiate the reduce price campaign. Janji ditepati!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 83
    • 1world on Jul 11, 2013 at 3:49 pm

All these while I thought it was just an election gimmick. I guess I was wrong. And I am glad I was wrong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 19
      • fthis on Jul 11, 2013 at 4:56 pm

“Before any newspaper jumps the gun to conclude that this is an example of the government delivering its promise to lower car prices, Honda Malaysia made it clear that the price reduction was the result of an internal effort. There were no subsidy or rebates received from the government.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 8
    • cheaper car at last on Jul 13, 2013 at 4:19 pm

NOPE you’re wrong.. it’s the RAKYAT WHO CARES that had made this coming! Did AIR-COND / KIPAS like you bothers to fight for cheaper cars before? No?? So why bothers now?? Lameeeee

• Peter How on Jul 11, 2013 at 3:44 pm

Cheaper than Hybrid

• Poor deprived Malaysians. A ‘B’ segment Jap car with outdated engine for RM75,000 and most people say its a good deal. It even comes with a retro dashboard. But it IS REALLY a good deal in Bolehland folks. Compared to City and Vios going close to RM90K. You may not even find a 1.5L – 1.6L Korean car for this price. The 1.6L Cerato at RM100K anyone? Well, I’m one of them, a poor deprived Malaysian and I think it is a good deal. In Bolehland.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 30
    • 1world on Jul 11, 2013 at 4:14 pm

Exactly!

When people down here say it is a good deal, you have to take it in context of our country.

• Kenny on Jul 11, 2013 at 5:57 pm

Yes, I agree it is a good deal. RM75,000 for a 1.5L jap car is a breakthrough in Malaysia. Toyota and Nissan have better come up with something to counter. I foresee a long line of buyers for this Jazz. As for the Cerato Naza has priced it too ambitiously. No doubt they have a lot of gadgets but would your rather have the extra gadgets of the Cerato 1.6 or RM25,000 in your pocket? This cut price Jazz will be another hammer blow to Cerato’s sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
      • ceratus on Jul 11, 2013 at 8:39 pm

the target is not cerato but rio, fiesta etc. cerato is C segment car

• Green on Jul 11, 2013 at 8:57 pm

How do u define outdate engine??

Kia or Hyundai 1500cc can produce as fuel saving as Honda Jazz 15km/L.?

Pug or Proton campro can produce 15km/L.?

Toyota Nissan Honda technology is more advance then most engine due to the high efficiency.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 2
      • Bongeks on Jul 12, 2013 at 9:07 am

yes mr Green. my gen2 campro 1.3 auto can…but at highway only lah. speed 110kmh.

• Honda..why this price tag announced today for jazz??

Quite dissapointed and I already bought city earlier. Sigh..

• Think twist before you own a Honda CKD (Malacca).
    Once you own it, you will never buy Honda again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 13
  • Norman on Jul 11, 2013 at 4:33 pm

Just hold your breath gentleman.Next year Honda will produce a new gen Jazz/Fit with different design and of course new engine.From a reliable source its variant are 1.3 102hp/124nm,1.5 122hp/147nm with either 5/6 speed Auto with many features.This one just a stock clearance with a bit of cosmetic upgrading unless you’re really keen for a reliable and cost effective car.Anyway thumbs up for Honda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • Dream on Jul 24, 2013 at 8:27 pm

Ready? Next year new jazz coming? Rm75k ? CKD ?
      I thought Malaysian normally have to slowly wait

• Kuinosan on Jul 11, 2013 at 4:40 pm

This is the true nature of greedy humans indeed. When the pricing of the Jazz was way too expensive, they will condemn and condemn and condemn. Now that it is being offered at such a reasonable pricing, they will still condemn saying that this initiative is due to the model being an out dated one. Hey! Guys, you are one hard to please lot! What do you expect? You expect Honda Malaysia to sell the latest Jazz model at RM75k??? Dream on guys, instead just be thankful that they even bothered to have this last dish promotion to clear their existing Jazz stock. Well, some buyers don’t mind buying an outgoing model as long as it is a good car and most importantly, when the price is right! Cheers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 12
  • Spec of this car isn’t bad (comes with VSA too), comparing to the other japanese brands. The Vios, Almera sales will somehow be affected as this Jazz has better features.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Maserati on Jul 11, 2013 at 5:12 pm

Good job Honda! This Jazz is damn fun to drive ! Drove othe hybrid one before and it does everything right.Very spacious cabin and it drives effortlessly.

Only thing is that the engine was a bit weak.So this 1.5 should be better

• civicsuck on Jul 11, 2013 at 8:42 pm

Go get your M3 lah, earlier you failed with civic, enough with Honda, haha!

• seancorr on Jul 11, 2013 at 5:24 pm

Tomorrow Utusan Malaysia will report that Honda has started bringing down the price haha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 8
  • There goes the resale value of all those existing Jazz cars on the road.

• Fahmi on Jul 11, 2013 at 5:54 pm

Why always like this haa?? Price reduce due to, clearance stock.. Fyi this generation jazz is launch in 2008, so, in 2014 should be a new model launch.. Same as vios.. This october new vios will launch, then the price for current model is down.. Come on Najib, we want you to cut all the government tax!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
  • civic 1.8 on Jul 11, 2013 at 5:55 pm

bravo to honda malaysia! a really good move to reduce to car price!
    if i’m in the market for a car priced 60-80k i would really take this one into serious consideration.
    for me i will compare it with the likes of
    fiesta
    mirage
    myvi (when is the real new generation? enough of special editions)
    city,vios and almera.

• azlan88 on Jul 11, 2013 at 6:05 pm

Nice move from Honda! While Honda is decreasing their price, Kia is increasing their Forte/Cerato. Padahal Kia pun pasang kat Malaysia je. LOL

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 9
  • THIS IS A PHASED OUT 6 YEARS OLD MODEL. WHO BUY IT WILL 101% REGRET…NEW JAZZ WILL BE LAUNCHED IN Q4 THIS YEAR.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 26
    • Kenny on Jul 11, 2013 at 9:25 pm

Yes, new Jazz will be launched this year but what will be the price? Buying cars is not like buying smartphones where you must have the latest model. Many people will not mind driving an “outdated” model if the price is right. I just hope this is not a limited stock clearing sale for Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 12
      • RejimKejamGanas on Jul 15, 2013 at 12:40 am

Umm… it is a stock clearance, since the new one coming out very soon. Are buyers willing to tolerate a huge dip in resale value so soon?

• azrai on Jul 12, 2013 at 9:56 am

The new one is uglier than the cureent one ma.

• Watafrog on Jul 11, 2013 at 6:57 pm

This is a good deal for hatchback lover.
    since pairing with 1.5L and 75k…

Car is better than safe n save….

who care new gen ?
    new feature and the previous 90-100k price?

Unless New Fiesta Ecoboost with 80k price tag :D

• Drive Your Way on Jul 11, 2013 at 7:49 pm

This could be an aging model and a replacement is due soon. The price cut does come late but it’s still better than never. Jazz is the authentic version of City created for global market and it would never be priced at this level before to avoid a segment clash with its sibling. At least the premium version of City is made affordable to those who have been eying on the award winning sub-compact, yet turn away by its premium price tag. I’m not quite a Honda fan, but I’m moved, at least.

• i reckon myvi & alza monthly sales will be cut half!

• Wah… looking at the interior feel like wanna puke

• If got L15A manual Transmission.. lagi syiok..

• nova_freak on Jul 11, 2013 at 9:50 pm

Hope Preve HB test driver won’t worry about this until accident during testing…

• albag on Jul 11, 2013 at 10:12 pm

remove the abs, remove the airbag, remove those fancy acronyms.. lower the price even further to less than RM50k… then rakyat will love to buy it for sure

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 19
  • Kuinosan on Jul 11, 2013 at 10:47 pm

Wah! You must be one of those unlucky 2nd hand car buyers that happened to purchase an abused unit from an unethical used car dealer! What proof do you have that Korean cars will over heat after 2 years? Any cars that are not properly maintained will over heat! Don’t make yourself sound like a moron by making such a shallow statement. You really know nuts about cars… Jeez! For your info, both my Korean cars are as cool as a cucumber even in streaking hot weather.

• ayah pin pon on Jul 11, 2013 at 10:54 pm

sori vios…cikgu fresh grad dah ada choice baru…makin byk la jazz kt sekolah bila musim cikgu baru posting kekeke…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
  • KerisJawa on Jul 11, 2013 at 11:02 pm

The plastic… looks like one in that of a Proton. Kesian rakyat Malaysia, always the pariah of the motoring earthlings…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 13
  • Wow, first the Al-merah, now the Just…And Potong still kiping the new Pray-way under wraps and continue testing and testing and testing maybe in kampung roads)

• OMG!..im about to trade my CBU jazz..how..how

• Omg….. Luckily I was very busy these few weeks…. Thanks paultan, now I save 25k. Made the booking just now. Hope it won’t be a long waiting list…. Fingers cross.

Amazingly it’s just rm10k dearer then myvi extreme. Suzuki swift alnost same price and, well, its 100cc short also. Talk about over priced, local super mini not really an option now.

• torquealot on Jul 12, 2013 at 8:19 am

Remember that CBU Toyota Yaris sold by UMW couple of years back ? It was overpriced at RM100K++ and we hardly see any of it on the road, it was discontinued after that. Perhaps UMW Toyota should emulate Honda to CKD their Yaris !

• And the 2nd hand value of earlier Jazz will…

• I just worried would Honda become second Proton as Honda not just assembly local, also start using the local part <_<

• fourwheeler on Jul 12, 2013 at 9:17 am

…great price.langkawi/labuan RM36,XXX. Like saga sv price…

• azrai on Jul 12, 2013 at 9:33 am

The most pissed people in Malaysia will be the currently owner of Honda Jazz I think. Beside the new lower price, it mean their current ride is on a larger scale depreciation.

• The biggest casualty to be is

Suzuki Swift 1.5- they should drop some grands
    Kia Rio- though dynamically better than Jazz but Honda badge has more admirer
    Myvi 1.5Extreme at rm62k sound expensive too

New Vios must sell around outgoing model if not cheaper. Preve Hatchback must be cheaper than the sedan variant

• Dr Cooper on Jul 12, 2013 at 10:32 am

I hope this going to be a continuing steps for balancing the stupid Resale Value thing on Europe/japs/korean/malaysian car that going on in this country these day because I so sick of it !

• Oppai Yappun Style on Jul 12, 2013 at 10:43 am

Honda has just started their dumping program.. 6 year old car, old engine..CKDed for lower pricing hence clearing all the CKD assembly packs… Good luck Malaysia.. guess who’s next then?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
  • This one got manual transmission kah?

• How many units are there…?
    May be a few je kut?

• PLEASE READ CAREFULLY , LANGKAWI ONLY PRICED AT RM36k ONLY .
    THIS IS NOT VALUE FOR MONEY , OUT OF RM75K , RM40K GO TO GOVERNMENT POCKET FOR NOTHING

• anak_berudu on Jul 12, 2013 at 7:26 pm

Kami yg duduk kt Lngkawi juga yg untung..murah dari myvi dn saga..lebih pilihan kpd pengguna/peminat jazz

• mivec101 on Jul 14, 2013 at 12:44 pm

Now The whole nation know Perodua (especially) and proton are sucking the money dry from all malaysians. The actual cost of this Jazz CKD is cheaper than a ViVA ELITE AT, but with Jazz, u get much bigger car, way bigger engine, better transmission, 5 star safety, VSA and a very flexible and practical car. Stop buying overpriced perodua’s shit.

• jilbaber on Jul 12, 2013 at 3:38 pm

Woah..now I can buy one for my new mistress…my ex-wife gonna butthurt because she bought it 2 years ago at premium price hahaha

• Was going to get 208 and this pops out..

wonder which is better in value??

• i probably replied to some in the comments above but i’m gonna make a new post here to make it clear

IMO this is a better car and deal than rio. 73k will only be able to get you get lower spec rio ex variant which is slightly less spec in terms of accesories. the higher spec rio sx variant cost 80k.

and rio is running a 1.4 engine mated to a 4 speed auto with a heavier body i assume, the jazz is using 1.5 engine mated to a 5 speed auto with a slightly less heavier body.

jazz also have a reputable fc… rio ?

make your choice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 10
    • Yet, the lower specced Rio still out specced the lower priced Jazz.

• Sparcov on Jul 12, 2013 at 4:56 pm

I’m just wondering whether i could get the Jazz 5 years old car at a lower price let say RM 35K ? in view the new version only 75K ?

Just to replace a second car :)

• xenogearz™ on Jul 12, 2013 at 5:29 pm

Apparently, the OTR price with insurance of this new Jazz in Labuan is only RM36,800!

• lauyiachia on Jul 12, 2013 at 5:33 pm

Hot comment in town now :-
    1. Lucky never buy Jazz earlier.
    2. OMG. Now my Jazz has depreciated in value overnight.
    3. Aiyo…sell my Jazz now also nobody want. No secondhand value already.

• Samlok on Jul 12, 2013 at 5:38 pm

Sh*t I just bought Suzuki swift

• stilloverpriced on Jul 12, 2013 at 6:47 pm

1) the rear bumper shape is ugly and weird – doesn’t match the rest of the car design flow. the 2011 facelift version looks much better and sportier.

2) the new uni-colour front bumper looks cheap and less sporty than the previous bumper design with black inserts surrounding the fog lamps and grill.

3) the blue seat fabric not only looks odd but the actual photos reveal it is paler and looks very worn out, compared to the brochure photos. (not sure if it is spill and stain resistant like previous gen city vtec seat fabric? anyone can confirm?)

4) the center panel with those engine-oil-cap knobs just make this dashboard looks cheaper than myvi. Just the steering spoke looks fancier than myvi but it’s empty without any button or paddle shifter.

5) what use of having higher gear ratio and smooth engine rev at cruising speed when you don’t have cruise control??? (even my old 1996 elantra manual has cruise control).

overall, I think the car is not cheaper than what it should be. not a bargain and nothing to shout about. from what we can see externally the price drop matches the drops in aesthetics, materials, and accessories. however, there should be more ‘drops’ in something somewhere among the internal components that we cannot see. otherwise, they won’t be able to maintain high profit margin as usual. in the end, rakyat still ditipu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 29
  • klinik doktor on Jul 12, 2013 at 7:54 pm

Now who is going to buy Honda City when their cheapest version is 85k , having same engine with this new Honda Jazz and both Honda brand??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • finally I can buy this lovely car to my wife. go honda. now i’am using honda city e spec and it’s a good car. thanks honda for making my dream come true. honda, the power of dream.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • The super top secret Pray-way is still hiding in some kampung testing, too scared, the Power of Nightmares

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Value to buy:-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • Carl Wong on Jul 12, 2013 at 11:21 pm

Is it time to say good bye to Myvi & Swift………..??!!!

• autodriver on Jul 12, 2013 at 11:21 pm

It is happy to see the local CKD Jazz selling at RM75k and the lowest price among Honda model. And the most appreciate safety feature is the “VSA” and this is the lowest price among all other foreign car. Good job Honda Malaysia.

But in the other hand, I pity all the current Jazz owner(bought in 2008 till 2013 before this CKD launched) who will suffer at least 10-15k drop from resales value price. I went thru mudah.com, Jazz 2008 was selling at RM65k. Why not the new buyer pay another RM10k get a brand new CKD Jazz with 5 years warranty rather than paying for this used CBU Jazz without warranty. The old Jazz owner gonna sell below RM55k or else no point to release their old Jazz.

• cheaper car at last on Jul 13, 2013 at 4:06 pm

CBU secondhand will last longer than CKD.. believe me.. you just look at CKD/CBU of other brands.. you’ll get what i mean.. that’s why CKD should be way cheaper.. because higher maintenance need is inevitable.. coffee from kedai rakyat satu malaysia against coffee from starbucks.. which one gives more satisfaction?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • Safety Warden on Jul 13, 2013 at 12:09 am

Eventhough it is an old model, I think it is a really good deal considering you get sufficient safety especially VSA which is rare on cars below 80k other than the Fiesta and Rio.

I really don’t mind the looks or the dashboard what matters is the safety of my life, family and my pocket.

• Noname on Jul 13, 2013 at 12:46 am

Rm36.800 apa lagi mau? Beratur panjang la.. Viva, sv??? Honda jazz der..

• Skidrow on Jul 13, 2013 at 9:51 am

This car is scrap from Honda, Ure buying small car 1.5, ugly dashboard, the pros are the shift gear on steering and VSA others are crap. Myvi is more spacious and comfort.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 61
    • Kuinosan on Jul 16, 2013 at 12:22 am

Myvi better than a Jazz??? What planet do you live on? No contest between the two models, Jazz wins hands down!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
      • dugong on Jul 16, 2013 at 2:28 pm

myvi 1.5 extreme better than golf gti la!!more comfort, spacious and power!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 16
  • CarsLover on Jul 13, 2013 at 9:56 am

I own a honda, its feel great due to its look, design, performance and mostly by the H logo, but seen others car technology like VW, Ford, Kia, Hyundai, there are lots of thing were not in Honda,just my 2 cent, lets go for conti, better safety reason, better performance, this Jazz already outdated, Honda only makes changes from 1st model, but in the end, its your money…

• No spare tyre and takde lampu dekat area rear mirror yg boleh tekan2 mcm the other Honda models. Hmm…

• karim corner on Jul 13, 2013 at 1:14 pm

always remember when i drove my fren city 5th gen….after switch on the key, u cannot hear the engine sound…dashboard fitting seem to be solid n free from annoying vibration…so i’ll not doubt about the quality of this new jazz…winner for built quality although not very shine in term of spec…please proton learn much more from honda then u can start to build ur new reputation begin with p322a

• Jonathan Lee on Jul 13, 2013 at 1:53 pm

Also, seriously Honda? You finally release a small, cute-looking supermini that younger people could actually afford and you could only bother offering it in white, black, silver or brown?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • cheaper car at last on Jul 13, 2013 at 3:52 pm

Habislah Malaysia will go bankrupt, more traffic jam, lots of people in automotive industry will lose job, car insurance and roadtax will double, spare parts price hike etc etc..! Why the hell they want to sell car for cheap like that?! This should be priced at RM 115,000.00! What is Najib, Mukhriz, ministers and auto industry reps are doing? makan gaji buta? After saga SV then this jazz then what else coming?? Govt should stop this! MY FRIENDS WHO PREVIOUSLY STRONGLY AGAINST CHEAPER CAR, PLEASE DON’T BUY THIS OR SAGA SV OR SHAME ON YOU! STOP CAR PRICE REDUCTION NOW! nice isn’t it :-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 43
  • Norrafi on Jul 13, 2013 at 3:54 pm

Jazz Hybrid having 10K Raya discount starting from today. + free 3 years service. Thumb up.

• mr_freaky on Jul 13, 2013 at 4:50 pm

cheap car here and there = traffic jam! kaniniah one person also want to drive car ha? use public transport lah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • Honda Lover on Jul 13, 2013 at 6:53 pm

Just waiting 4 Honda Brio! Compact Cute Car!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
  • kumanz on Jul 13, 2013 at 7:22 pm

Enjoy Honda!

• Faz Ely on Jul 13, 2013 at 9:16 pm

free duty harga langkawi RM36,800 je macam goring pisang panas 3 hari open booking dah penuh dekat 300 book termasuk saya sampai salesman terpaksa hold dulu ada yang nak booking lagi

• Kuinosan on Jul 13, 2013 at 10:30 pm

This Honda Jazz is also the Honda Fit in some of the overseas market. It is hailed as one of the most well packaged and designed cars that Honda have ever produced, and it it also the King of compact cars in some of the markets around the world. I am not a big fan of Honda cars, but credit must be given where credit is due and Honda Malaysia deserves a pat on the back for this great offer that is just too hard to resist. Well done Honda, and thanks for acknowledging that prices of cars should be reduced to make them more affordable for our local market. Cheers!

• AlmeraOrJazz on Jul 13, 2013 at 10:39 pm

I think only nissan almera stands a chance to fight against this. The rest within this price = habis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • runningman on Jul 14, 2013 at 12:36 am

jazz ckd 1.5 (75k) vs jazz ckd hibrid 1.3 (79k after minus 10k hr raya disc), which one do u think worth buying?

• almeeratebo on Jul 14, 2013 at 6:51 am

almeera

• Of course buy normal Jazz la. Some more RM4K cheaper. The petrol saving you get from hybrid car is very little only, not worth the extra cost. Then you have higher maintenance for the hybrid car. If you want to feel good that you are driving a “green’ car then you have to pay for it. Just don’t think you will save any money from a hybrid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • dugong on Jul 16, 2013 at 2:30 pm

i think jazz hybrid is a better steal at 77k now. The centre console looks much more premium with the auto climate control buttons.

• noname on Jul 14, 2013 at 8:38 am

Jazz 2014 tak cantik pun, model sekarang lagi lawa, mesti tak menyesal punyalah kalau beli pun

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
  • OBAMA on Jul 14, 2013 at 9:34 am

DAMM…THIS CAR SHOULD B SELL 4 20K ONLY…OLD TECNOLOGY…EEEEEE…BUT SOME PEOPLE HERE DONT CARE ABOUT IT,,,YEAHHHH ITS HONNNNNNNNDAAAAAAA…BRAND FIRST

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 22
    • dugong on Jul 17, 2013 at 7:46 pm

If this jazz is old tech n should be sold for 20k according to you …then vios should be 10k and myvi should be 5k.

• man raja luwak on Jul 15, 2013 at 4:37 pm

heard rumors about revised price for jazz in langkawi and labuan…they hold booking at this moment for some price revision as so many people have realized that 36k is very attempting price for getting honda in duty free land…if this true, our auto brand will be jaguh kampung forever…apa pon tak boleh!!!

• peugeot 208 or this?!!!!!!!!

• Dream on Jul 27, 2013 at 8:29 am

10k car price and interest saving can pump petrol and let you travel a few years extra. Passengers in the cabin feel more comfortable than 208.

• man raja luwak on Jul 15, 2013 at 4:44 pm

*tempting~~~not attempting

…sorry guys

• jazz cannot sell on Jul 15, 2013 at 8:18 pm

Price in Labuan and Langkawi are on hold for now. Obviously MyVi, Viva, Saga, Mitsu Mirage and Vios in Labuan and Langkawi cannot beat d RM36,800 Jazz price so they all complain..

• fourwheeler on Jul 16, 2013 at 8:05 am

..ya lar…labuan oredi within a weeks, more than 800 units booking received…tiny island…tiny car…not enough parking lots …

• tonikhati on Jul 16, 2013 at 11:34 am

rm10k different from hybrid model if not mistaken

• Wow.. Just thinking about the secondhand price of that car..

• reader on Jul 16, 2013 at 3:15 pm

there is a special promotion on Honda Jazz CKD. now the price is about rm5k more than this after >rm10k deduction. hesitate to get a Jazz for my family, mainly town drive. please advise, hybrid or non-hybrid, take into consideration also the long term maintenance etc. 2nd hand value is not top priority. thanks.

• Nicholas on Aug 01, 2013 at 10:31 pm

Non-hybrid, no need change hybrid battery and only 1 engine to maintain, cheaper too…

• apakatasurvey on Jul 16, 2013 at 4:37 pm

People will always complain and that’s what people do. People who love certain BRANDS will always want their lovely BRAND win! People who having lot of money will said the interior of this car is old blablabla. People with less of money either will said it’s still high or they will even thanks and aprreciate Honda effort.
    Well for me, you will get what you paid and just buy cars that you CAN buy. Got it?

• babaygrand on Jul 16, 2013 at 4:43 pm

Hi Bro,

I just book CKD Jazz petrol last Sunday. But waiting list for this car is mid of November. WOW hot selling like IKEA hot curry puff. SA didn’t offer any discount and might be give away free cheap cheap tint only. Anyone here can best offer from u Honda SA ??? Please share and thanks

• SSR rdr on Jul 16, 2013 at 10:23 pm

Hi..
    In Langkawi for the price of RM36ooo++ Honda jazz the booking for the car are overwhelming.. Roughly about 1000++ booking. Honda Langkawi are holding the booking due to over booking of the car.
    Now they decided to bring up the price about RM57000++..So early book can get the cheap price..If they sell the car in Peninsular RM36000 I think anyone can drive a Honda.Maybe in my dreams..

• calcutta on Jul 17, 2013 at 1:13 am

not sure bout the current generation of honda,but my friend previous model civic was as noisy as my rotty kelisa and very bad ride quality

would go continental build whenever i can afford,for the price i would rather buy a fiesta for refinement

• Faiz Ezanee on Jul 17, 2013 at 1:13 pm

Let’s wait for Vios to launch in Malaysia. 75K-80K, I would say better to take Vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 92
  • Interest for loan 2.48… Anybody getting better rate?

• anak_berudu on Jul 18, 2013 at 12:53 pm

SSR rdr – Tempahan awal Jazz di Langkawi kekal pd harga RM36,800.00 OTR. tempahan lepas 14 Julai akan berubah harga ( masih tunggu harga terbaru dari HONDA). Jika diletakkan harga rm 50-60 ribu rasanya ianya dh jadi mahal sebab versi CBU sbm ni hanya rm59 ribu OTR. Pada sy harga antara rm 40-rm49 ribu dh ok utk pasaran Langkawi & Labuan.

• Intercooler VNT on Jul 18, 2013 at 2:31 pm

Tau knp? Kawan sy di Honda Labuan baru beritahu P2 telah buat bantahan kerana takut kereta mereka tidak terjual…

• anak_berudu on Jul 18, 2013 at 3:00 pm

Masing-masing syarikat kereta ada strategi pemasaran sendiri untuk utk menarik pembeli – klau nk jual byk, turunkan harga pd harga yg munasabah..sy jamin akan ada peningkatan jualan bknnnya nak buat bantahan kpd syarikat lain yg berjaya menarik pembeli…

• Intercooler VNT on Jul 19, 2013 at 8:32 am

Memang itu yang berlaku sekarang… Kalo tidak buat ape Honda nak naikkan hargakan? Booking pun dah berape skrg… Sape yg taknak untung kan… Tiba² naikkan harga mesti sales drop…

• anak_berudu on Jul 19, 2013 at 1:25 pm

Nk byk tempahan buat la penurunan harga mcm honda..rakyat juga yg untung.. tu pasai perodua atau proton perlu ada ‘gimik’ utk menarik pembeli..cara yg paling mudah – buat penurunan harga murah pd unit terhad 1000 unit contohnya.

• Hondo on Jul 19, 2013 at 9:51 pm

Frankly, the exterior and interior also disappointed for a Honda. At this price, what do you expect ? If you dont care the spec and just want to drive a Honda, this is the car for you

• checked honda website… they have taken down the price for labuan langkawi..

• old jazz how to sell? 2nd value suck.

• dwayne john on Jul 29, 2013 at 1:53 am

myvi is pure SHIT compared to this.Useless myvi.drives like shit and looks like a crappy washing machine.Honda Jazz is the answer for drivers who dislike the myvi.Myvi is nowhere in the international car world.it sucks although got toyota engine.testdrove my best friends car.She said regret buying Myvi extreme cuz so lousy to drive.Perodua=Building trash people last.LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
  • dwayne john on Jul 29, 2013 at 1:56 am

Sorry perodua, u cant please everyone.Stop building crappy daihatsu trash.Useless trash car manufacturer.Huge disgrace to car fans.Btw Toyota=Moving nowhere.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
  • terminatorlee on Jul 29, 2013 at 2:47 pm

dwayne j dont worry.u are right absolutely right about the myvi extreme.IT is a useless and shitty car.i own one thats why.i am tall and its very crammped up inside.gps doesnt work at all. boot space and practicality is like SHIT compared to the honda jazz.useless 1.5 engine by toyota.sounds nice oni but like u said drives like shit.LAGI POWER LAGI PROBLEM.the ugly and crappy bodykit is worthless.in short, parents and fellow graduates should never buy a myvi cuz it is pure TRASH compared to the Honda Jazz.This car will definitely Kill and Destroy Perodua Myvi sales on malaysian roads.i studied in uk. The Honda Jazz is extremely well loved by all my friends in college.Myvi is nowhere to be seen or heard at all.Car journalists dont have a clue on what in the blue Hell is a myvi overseas.All my mechanic friends advised me to buy The Honda Jazz cuz is an excellent car with a powerful ivtec engine,practical boot space, excellent build quality,beautiful body, and most importantly drives extremely well.Test drove it last weekend.all my friends and family members Loved It:)REMEMBER never buy a Shitty MYvi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
    • Crown of Love on Sep 01, 2013 at 10:05 pm

Now I try to make sense of myself to own this cheapest Honda. After making overall comparison with other rivals, it does excell in space and practicality. If my Myvi SE1.5 was not involved in an accident and got loan previous issue, I just let it be. Oh… to many Myvi on the road.Its our choice, our money anyway. Will go to the nearest showroom to see or book this iconic rocket pocket.

• terminatorlee on Jul 29, 2013 at 2:49 pm

Other excellent cars are Ford Fiesta, suzuki swift, mazda 3, hyundai matrix 1.6, hyundai i10.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • YK Kung on Aug 16, 2013 at 5:21 pm

I got it 2 weeks ago. It’s for my wife. Not bad at all, so far so good. Should be consider fair price in Malaysia market.

• Hi all..
    Just wanna da opinion.yesterday I went to one honda showroom.the salesman told me that the price for honda jazz petrol rm74800, jazz hybrid rm79000(rm89000 less promotion rm10000), honda city S rm77000(rm85000 less promotion rm8000)..
    So among the 3 models which one more better n valuable?
    Really hope to hear good opinion.thanks in advance.

• Hock Gee on Aug 24, 2013 at 10:13 am

Both the Jazz and City are sharing the same engine, if you need more boot space, than city is batter choice. if you want batter look, I think Jazz is smarter than City, Jazz hybrid is a bit less power but smoother drive, if you travel a lot especially in town, this is a good choice … the most important thing is which one you love the most.

• elizabeth ngan ee huey on Dec 23, 2013 at 3:27 pm

I just buy this honda jazz and i love it. definitely a good value for money car.

elizabeth ngan ee huey
    taman tun dr ismail