Honda Jazz S debuts – priced trimmed to RM99,800

Honda Malaysia has announced the introduction of the Jazz S. The Thai-built variant replaces the Grade V introduced when the facelift debuted here last year and joins the Jazz Hybrid as the two models in the Jazz range. It significantly drops the asking price from the previous RM109,800 to RM99,800 (on-the-road with insurance), bringing it closer to the Hybrid.

Exterior-wise, the Jazz S wears 15-inch alloys (previously, 16-inch), new front and rear bumper, black mesh grille and mud guards, as well as a new blue/black seat fabric. The reduction is pricing has seen the omission of the side sill garnish, exhaust pipe finisher, paddle shift, cruise control and steering wheel audio controls.

It’s still powered by the familiar 120 PS L15A 1.5 litre i-VTEC lump and five-speed auto transmission, and the S retains the array of safety kit, namely Vehicle Stability Assist (VSA), dual airbags, ABS, EBD and brake assist.

As for exterior colours, the Jazz S goes with three choices – Brilliant White Pearl, Polished Metal Metallic and Crystal Black Pearl, the same shades as found on the Grade V previously, with only the signature Brilliant Orange Metallic dropped from the palette.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• protonsucks on Aug 08, 2012 at 12:06 pm

reduce 16 to 15 inch for Rm 10k ? its a good bargain! honda is making the right move

• maddroid on Aug 08, 2012 at 7:39 pm

“The reduction is pricing has seen the omission of the side sill garnish, exhaust pipe finisher, paddle shift, cruise control and steering wheel audio controls.

I guess you don’t have any idea of what “omission” is.

• Badut Rempit aka Samseng Jalanan on Aug 08, 2012 at 12:08 pm

Price trimmed but so many features also got trimmed.

No thank you Honda. I’ll stick to my Honda kapcai.

• wao, so, honda kapcai has more features? LOL

• Badut Rempit aka Samseng Jalanan on Aug 09, 2012 at 9:15 am

I didn’t say so. Obviously you need a thicker glasses.

• Kapcai on Aug 10, 2012 at 1:23 am

Why thicker glass? Higher reflective index lens should be a smarter choice. Won’t increase the thickness.

• No, he wanted to say his kapcai is more petrol saving than Jazz Hybrid.

• Lorat on Aug 08, 2012 at 12:11 pm

No more orange :(

• shawal on Aug 08, 2012 at 12:13 pm

no steering wheel audio control….
    so sad….

• ben yap on Aug 08, 2012 at 12:22 pm

Honda malaysia should’ve kept the paddle shifter there, at least. that’s where the fun of driving comes from.

• Bimmer on Aug 08, 2012 at 12:25 pm

Fiesta is still offering a better value.

• hanifhamzah on Aug 08, 2012 at 12:26 pm

=)

• kereta lembu on Aug 08, 2012 at 12:29 pm

Yawn….

• donadoni on Aug 08, 2012 at 12:34 pm

overpriced still

• Can add on paddle shift?

• xenogearz™ on Aug 08, 2012 at 12:57 pm

Why would anyone wanna buy this when there’s a better equipped hybrid variant at a lower price.

• _xXx_ on Aug 08, 2012 at 1:19 pm

Remove turn signal lamps since most ppl don’t used them. How about another RM100 cut?

• Dinozilla on Aug 09, 2012 at 12:02 am

RM100?? should cut off at least RM500…
      that side mirror easily clocked RM900 each (based on Honda price)

• _xXx_ on Aug 09, 2012 at 7:49 am

haha u took it seriously? i was trying to tell u tat many m/f malaysians dun use turn signal coz by doing so it costs them some dimes…

• Tall Pan on Aug 09, 2012 at 4:46 pm

hehe. Dinozilla took the bait. He most prolly is part of the 95% malaysian drivers who don’t use indicator lights

• polo saga on Aug 08, 2012 at 2:07 pm

good good!!

• sleepwalkerz on Aug 08, 2012 at 2:22 pm

why should people buy this when there’s already jazz hybrid which is much cheaper?

• helmi on Aug 08, 2012 at 3:53 pm

It’s like a hidden cost like many of our telcos try to cheat us. This car tak laku because its too pricey and not value for the price. Now they pretend with the cheaper one, but without the steering audio control which is should be basic in nowadays car. Come on la Honda, be sincere la, dont be like the bloodsucking UMW Toyota or Sime Darby Auto.

• Better offer the 1.3 manual also with rum caps and now power window for rm79k….

• kancil660 on Aug 08, 2012 at 4:12 pm

overpriced still lol.

• Internal source from ppl working at Pegoh, Malacca and they already talk about Jazz Hybrid from this production line will be sell below 80K n my advice wait for it expected to roll out end of this year

• xenogearz™ on Aug 08, 2012 at 5:38 pm

I bet the price will be RM79,990 then. Will the features stay the same like the current CBU version or lesser?

• i hope not 79,999 then we should all ban Honda, the spec same like the CBU acc to source

• carlitos on Aug 08, 2012 at 4:26 pm

Honda dreaming a lot!
    overpriced car with cut out basic features!
    Honda The Power of Dreammssssss..haha..

• chris on Aug 08, 2012 at 4:49 pm

Too little too late Honda. People now have more choices. Blame yourself for being too greedy. Heck, Fiesta or Forte offers better value in terms of money and specs. 99k for Honda Jazz? You must be joking.

• Fiesta and Forte were launched 2 years back and the effect of sales would have been seen two years back if it was really so. I believe the price trimming is more towards the market gimmick and most importantly, to bring more sales and hence, more RM into Honda’s pocket. With the forcasted slow global economic growth next year and the introduction of new guidelines from BNM in tightening the HP loan, the business environment will become gloomy.

• Nontheless, it’s still a bit pricey. More room to trim further. It’s better than none.

• Dear Honda….

Still Overpriced …. Hope Honda will die soon…

• Anytime better go for imported Prius C. Imagine the Prius 1.8 doing a Honda? Price drop from RM140, 000 to RM110, 000? Very UN-UMW, huh?

• Enough on Aug 08, 2012 at 6:09 pm

I have no choice to buy perodua or proton or a small compact car from other makes because I cannot afford other cars. Even in my 30’s i still can afford a 100k car because how to pay 1k++ for a car a month for 9 years. OMG! Enough of this bullshit! i want someone to stand up for the rakyat and stop ppl cheating the rakyat!

• Enough on Aug 08, 2012 at 6:10 pm

I have no choice to buy perodua or proton or a small compact car from other makes because I cannot afford other cars. Even in my 30?s i still ‘CANNOT’ afford a 100k car because how to pay 1k++ for a car a month for 9 years. OMG! Enough of this bullshit! i want someone to stand up for the rakyat and stop ppl cheating the rakyat!

• 4agze on Aug 09, 2012 at 8:42 am

my advice to you is work hard and save hard..period

• MetroCrap on Aug 09, 2012 at 10:41 am

live within your means. better get a house and drive a perodua n proton rather than drive flashy cars and live in a rented house / flat.

• teelim on Aug 08, 2012 at 6:17 pm

Meh~

I would still rather get the hybrid

• Guest on Aug 08, 2012 at 6:22 pm

Poor Honda, they think they can ripped off Malaysian by pricing this car above RM100,000.

The first generation of Honda Jazz used to sell for approximately RM90,000 only.

• 1000horses on Aug 08, 2012 at 10:44 pm

Tat was 1.4 iDSi….now is 1.5 iVtec….

• It was pricey at that time. Only some could afford it. Also, not much models were introduced way back, the first gen Jazz can thus sell better.

• seancorr on Aug 08, 2012 at 6:58 pm

Crap la Honda why you go discontinue the V spec and just offer the S spec? How about other customers who want more kit on their car???

• go for C segment 308 vti better la…
    just let honda earn much only.

• Forted on Aug 08, 2012 at 8:10 pm

308 vti got no stability control maa

• My friend just trade in his 308 to Proton Persona. My friend change and overhaul the engine many times during the 3 years warranty. After 3 years trade in. 2nd value not so good.

• paparazi on Aug 08, 2012 at 7:23 pm

RM99,800… still expensive!!!
    if price below 90k, would definitely get more sales.

• DArkerMarker on Aug 08, 2012 at 7:49 pm

why shy-shy reduce a few hundred bucks? like RM99,800? wanna make profit but shy izit?

Come on la honda….this is not like Tesco selling milk powder for RM9.99 per tin, ok??

• I went honda malaysia website and checked. Paddle shifter, audio stering control and side mirror with turn light are still retained. Test the car before comment, every car have their unique.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Aug 08, 2012 at 8:56 pm

Actually, Stan, the paddle shifters and steering wheel audio controls are not available on the Grade S Jazz. The specifications on the HM website for the Jazz S confirm t. If you’re talking about the pdf brochure, that’s the one for the previous Grade V.

• I went honda malaysia website and checked. Paddle shifter, audio stering control and side mirror with turn light are still retained. Test the car before comment, every car have their unique.

• i juz wan to make my relief here..i pity the recent buyers who bought tis car and ppl stil owning honda jazz..drop in resell value..it is stil overpriced though 99,800, specs looks like middle specs myvi..i am relief coz i juz sold my 07′ jazz 3 months ago..fuh!!!!!!!

• baloon on Aug 08, 2012 at 9:25 pm

one of the most overpriced car in Malaysia. 100k for a 1.5 NA car & basic feature…

• Buy Inspira. One of the most value for money car in Malaysia. 92k for 2.0 Mivec, 150hp, paddle shift, auto cruise control, GPS, 2 din touch screen, reverse camera, auto light sensor, auto rain sensor, interior leather…

• better pick Fiesta .. no brainer..
    1.6L, 6 speed Dualclutch, superb handling, great safety feature, looks nice and most important, >10k cheaper
    Not to say Jazz has much much more interior space also..

• paparazi on Aug 08, 2012 at 9:49 pm

with this size, cc & price, so much choices could think of
    like Mazda2 & 3, Ford Fiesta, Kia Forte…. a lot more!

• John Cooper on Aug 08, 2012 at 11:42 pm

Of course reduce 10k lah, freaking so many items omitted! Boycott Honda!

• mantoi on Aug 09, 2012 at 8:16 am

ni la honda jazz versi ‘viva basic 660’…after this please throw out aircond, sound system, even use the wheel cap only so honda can intro another very2 user friendly ‘ripped off’ selling price…the power of day dream!

• matlimmutu on Aug 09, 2012 at 9:47 am

i prefer 308!!

• Extrimist on Aug 09, 2012 at 10:25 am

Cars with STABILITY CONTROL cheaper than Jazz S.

B-segment car:

Ford Fiesta Sedan 1.6 (RM83888)
    Ford Fiesta 1.6 HB (RM84888)
    Honda City 1.5E (RM90980)
    Honda Jazz Hybrid (RM94800)
    Toyota Prius C (RM97000)
    Honda Insight (RM99800)

C-segment car:

Proton Preve CFE (RM72990)
    Kia Forte 1.6 SX (RM85800)
    Kia Forte 2.0 SX (RM98593)
    Hyundai Elantra 1.6 Hi-Spec (RM98888)

• Thanks Extrimist for the efforts compiling the prices. Doesn’t make any sense to spend that much money when for 16K less, an excellent car with 7 airbags and VSA can be had, in the Ford Sedan.

Doesn’t make sense at all to buy this car.

• Jonathan on Aug 11, 2012 at 7:18 am

Just buy perodua/proton… Malaysia boleh… We got 2 medals from olympics btw…

• Giving RM500K (from tax-payers’ money) is obscene when he get the silver again. He should donate all to sports centre or yayasan for development of new talent(s) instead which I hope he is humble to do so. It is not that we are not grateful for his achievement but money should not be the driver to represent success under the name of the country. If monetary value is to be, might as well we buy imports like our neighbouring country.BTW, does a duble silver entitle him for lifetime pension of RM3,000 X 2 silver medals(per month) ????

• elGringo on Nov 15, 2012 at 1:08 am

If u still want the full specced Jazz V, buy 2nd hand. More value. Try driving the 1.5l petrol Jazz with the paddle shifters, then go la compare with all the substandard models mentioned above.
    Pick up n midrange much better then the cheap fiesta, forte, swift, vios, myvi even the turbo preve. Then go compare the maintenance & resale value… Jazz is all about the joy of driving, not for lowballers who wants maximum value for money.
    Thats why its still one of the best selling hatch in Indonesia, Thailand and US.
    And please dont compare with the slow 1.3 Jazz hybrid, no match at all. Unless u really wanna drive daily like a snail to save some litres, end of the day depends on what u want, and how u like to drive.. To me the Jazz V spec is for those who misses the dimension and agility of smaller civics back in the 90s, small engine but fun to drive. test drive them first before flaming…