Nissan Serena S-Hybrid launched in Malaysia – 8-seater MPV, CBU from Japan, RM149,500

Serena S-Hybrid-2

UPDATE: ETCM has launched the Serena S-Hybrid facelift, now locally assembled in Malaysia.

Edaran Tan Chong Motor (ETCM) officially launched the Nissan Serena S-Hybrid this morning in Setia Alam. It doesn’t come as a surprise – the hybrid Serena C26 was open for booking earlier this month, but we’ve seen it in Malaysia as early as January, before the MPV appeared on the oto.my car classifieds in June.

ETCM bills the Nissan Serena S-Hybrid as first hybrid MPV to be sold in Malaysia. Imported as a CBU from Japan, where the Serena is the best selling mid-size MPV ahead of the Toyota Noah, Voxy and Honda Stepwgn, this model takes advantage of duty exemptions on hybrid vehicles below 2,000 cc that at the moment is due to end on December 31, 2013.

No extension to that date has been announced by the government so far, but we understand that ETCM is ready for local assembly if CBU benefits end along with the year 2013.

Serena S-Hybrid-1

The Serena S-Hybrid is powered by a MR20DD 2.0 litre engine with 147 PS and 210 Nm (figures are from engine alone, excluding 54 Nm from electric motor). This direct injection twin-CVTC unit is paired to Nissan’s latest Xtronic CVT gearbox with Adaptive Shift Control.

An Idling Stop System shuts down the engine when idle, and restarts in just 0.3 seconds after the brake is released. There’s a timer that shows the driver how long idle stop is in use.

The S in S-Hybrid stands for “smart” and this Serena is actually a “micro-hybrid” of sorts. What Nissan did was beef up the ECO Motor, the Serena’s starter motor that controls Idling Stop and functions as an alternator during deceleration.

Serena S-Hybrid-30

The starter motor uses a belt pulley type cranking system instead of a normal gear type unit. Even the regular Serena has this, but in the Serena S-Hybrid, the capacity of this motor is increased from 1.0kW/150A to 1.8kW/200A, and the engine bay has an extra 12V-27V-Ah battery. The main 12V-64V-Ah battery drives the motor, while the sub battery powers electrical components like the radio, wipers, etc.

With it, the engine also does not need to move the car AND power the car’s electrical needs at the same time, resulting in fuel savings. Fuel economy is listed as best in class – 15.2 km/l in Japan’s JC08 test cycle. However it’s important to note the ECO-motor does actually contribute to acceleration – this is not a motor assist system like Honda’s IMA.

On to the MPV part of the equation. The Serena is advertised as an eight-seater (eight seat belts), with a 2-3-3 formation. A variety of 14 seat configurations are available to the user, and there’s a Smart Multi Centre Seat that slides along the car’s centre aisle. It can function as additional storage for the front row, as an extra seat in the middle row, or as a tray table to be shared with third row passengers.

Serena S-Hybrid-5

Getting in and out is easy with powered one-touch sliding doors on both sides of the MPV, which reveal the largest opening in its class. Getting into the third row is done by pushing the left second row captain’s chair against the one on the right, creating a walkway. Both middle row seats slide fore and aft.

The rearmost seats can be folded and flipped up to the sides for max cargo mode. In this case, four mountain bikes can fit in. With all seats in place, additional cargo room comes in the form of an under floor compartment that can swallow a golf bag or a baby stroller. There are plenty of storage spaces, including under seat boxes. Second row occupants get flip up trays with cup holders, too.

Standard equipment includes i-Key (keyless entry) with push start, auto climate control, overhead air con vents for the second and third row (temp/fan/mode control for second row), dual airbags, Vehicle Dynamic Control (VDC), ABS, EBD, Brake Assist, auto headlamps and cruise control.

Serena S-Hybrid-19

ETCM is bringing in the Serena S-Hybrid in the sporty Highway Star trim level with unique front grille and bumpers, 16-inch alloys with sportier suspension and a dark interior theme. Four exterior colour choices are available, and they are Dark Purple, Super Black, Brilliant Pearl White and Brilliant Silver.

For a promotional period, ETCM will throw in a 6.5-inch head unit with navigation, USB, Bluetooth and rear view camera, worth RM3,300. Optional equipment include a 10.1-inch roof mounted LCD panel (RM700), combination leather interior (RM2,800), window tint (V-Kool or Solar Gard) and door visors (RM400).

The imported from Japan Nissan Serena S-Hybrid retails for RM149,500 on-the-road including insurance. Warranty is three years or 100,000 km, whichever comes first.

Brochure scans and official studio shots

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• MPV fan on Jul 23, 2013 at 12:17 pm

Looks barebone for 150k…i was hoping it would be priced less than 140k. Anyway, just a wishful thinking it seems in the fantasy land of Malaysia when it comes to car prices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 35
    • Wisdom on Jul 23, 2013 at 1:24 pm

The specs was agreed between etcm and nissan jp.
      2 airbags is a joke.
      The steering audio control gone. Audio system is nissan brand elcheapo china.
      1.6++ meter width is narrow. Recently launch new Stavic is 1.9++ meter.
      In Japan this retail ard 90k. Without excise ang import duty, left only sales tax n handling charges. Plus with much inferior spec compared to japan model, etcm can safely price this between 120k to 130k with big enuf margin.

Anybody buying this should seriously look at new Stavic which is fully loaded at only 117k..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 127 Thumb down 26
      • Stavic?? are u kidding? low rv summore..after 2 years, drop half price oledi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 66
        • Wisdom on Jul 23, 2013 at 3:59 pm

Buy this big mpv to ferry your family around for only 2 years and then sell it off? Where they gone then?

Some people need such big vehicle. Its function over form. Stavic 11 seater, can easily take out the final row and u have proper (width) 8 seater with ample cargo space big enough for a fridge.
          2.0 VGT Merc sourced diesel with 360nm torque. Bosch ‘made in germany’ is everywhere in the engine bay. Front double wishbone, rear multilink. Same roadtax but more pulling power. Electric seat, full leather, Blaupunk DVD with roof 10inch monitor complete with gps and reverse cam. Steering audio control + cruise. The most important thing, the look is better than the last Stavic.

This nissan real world fc still around 10++ km/l, only slightly better than the usual estima/alphard fc.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 18
          • husni on Jun 15, 2014 at 8:44 am

stavic maintenance is way too high… just saw in their facebook

• Peugeot on Jul 24, 2013 at 12:14 am

In Malaysia, only T & H will have higher resale value, any other brands will be about the same.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
        • Sam Loo on Aug 11, 2013 at 1:31 pm

stavic?

RV~40% within 1 year, if the owner is lucky

• isuzuki on Jul 23, 2013 at 5:15 pm

After sales how? Parts availability? Customer service and support? Reliability? Maintenance cost?

If all i-chi-ban…. then can consider :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
        • Jimmy on Jul 23, 2013 at 5:46 pm

Stavic is a much better buy if you plan to use for long-term.
          This Serena does it receive some tax exemption? The ordinary Serena without hybrid is cheaper right?
          Are you sure your 5 questions are all better answered by Nissan? Have you had any friend who made a warranty claim which took more than 3 months?
          It is easy to become billionaire by selling bronze at gold prize.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
          • MPV Man on Jul 23, 2013 at 10:21 pm

Why not consider the Starex? full fledged 11 seater in comfort with easy access due to high roof and sliding doors. Same price range as Serena.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
          • mpvhunter on Jul 24, 2013 at 1:40 am

It does came under tax exemption scheme and tcm proudly publish that in its website.
            The full spec model for japan market with all round airbags and complete infotainment system cost much cheaper.
            Tcm, u price this swollen kenari way off its acceptable price range…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
          • isuzuki on Jul 24, 2013 at 9:09 am

That’s why I asked ma…..After sales how? Parts availability? Customer service and support? Reliability? Maintenance cost?

• youjijouji on Sep 04, 2013 at 11:35 am

buddy~ the SERENA HYBRID sell on market with the SAME PRICE with OLD SERENA~ it’s just the old serena have more discount~ i forgot how much already~

p/s i write without prejudice~

• What a 2-air-bags-for-eight-people joke

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 4
      • husni on Jun 15, 2014 at 8:50 am

https://www.facebook.com/SsangYongMalaysia/photos/a.204541322928852.46342.203672073015777/679753375407642/?type=1&theater

• mpvhunter on Jul 24, 2013 at 8:59 am

Somebody was rite comparing this serena n honda freed. Indeed they have the same width, only serena slightly longer and slightly higher. Both are narrow mpv with honda powering using 1.5 while serena 2.0.
      I use to drive freed and the power is more than enough for genting run. Honda is well known for better engine n chassis packaging compared to nissan.
      The biggest different is, freed only rm100K++, but this serena rm150K. And that is after so-called hybrid tax exemption. My goodness!!
      By d way, freed have 2 version and one of it include 2 power doors.

serena dimension:
      Length (mm) 4685
      Width (mm) 1695
      Height (mm) 1865
      Wheelbase (mm) 2860

Honda Freed:
      Length, 4,215 mm.
      Width, 1,695 mm.
      Height, 1,715 mm.
      Wheelbase. 2,740 mm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
    • OMG…the model not nice, the car also not nice…puihh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
  • Rear light looks like Ah Beng version. Never mind. Value for money for long term usage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 12
  • Boxy alphard, oldies estima surely will bungkus kaw2 haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 28
  • Dual airbags ? Is this supposed to be a joke ?

For a car this age, size and price, 4 airbags should be the bare minimum ! For the same price, you can get a 5 year old JDM Toyota Alphard with 6 airbags and additional safety equipment.

TCM is no better than UMW. Earn so much profit, can’t even spare a couple more airbags. Shame on you.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 19
    • notanissanlover on Jul 23, 2013 at 12:48 pm

Aero, as said this is fully CBU la. the dual airbag is determined by Nissan Japan right? no point blaming ETCM also.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 61
      • in japan, customer can customize the option. so as in this case, tan chong can also tick more options in the order form

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 4
        • lonelyobserve on Jul 23, 2013 at 2:13 pm

That means ETCM acted on behalf of car owners here (without acknowledging). Pretend we no need this and that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 4
        • Fukuoka on Jul 23, 2013 at 3:59 pm

Precisely. I am not sure about Nissan, but for Toyota MPVs (Voxy, Noah, Estima) the price in this country for optional VSC and curtain airbag are 63,000 yen & 79,000 yen respectively.

• Ok, Aero. You go buy a FIVE YEAR OLD reconditioned car then. Nobody’s asking you to buy, or using your money to buy this Nissan.

You AP beggar idiot!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 76
      • You’re right, I won’t be buying this car, nor will I buy an Alphard, but thousands of Malaysians will and already have.

I’m very particular about automobile safety, it’s something most Malaysians do not consider when buying cars, which is disappointing because hundreds of unnecessary deaths happen each year just because the local manufacturers cut costs on safety equipment, knowing that the majority of Malaysians won’t mind, provided that the Toyota/Honda/Nissan/BMW/Merc etc. badge is evidence enough of a good car.

Well that’s not the case. What’s the point in driving an expensive 150,000 ringgit car without sufficient safety kit ? It’s no more than a well disguised luxurious coffin on wheels.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 8
        • Jeff Wong on Jul 23, 2013 at 9:36 pm

Aero, what car r u driving to justify your requirements ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
        • Aero, come on lah! the car is not expensive but when they came here… so u think they sell this in Japan 150k?!

• tokmoh on Jul 24, 2013 at 1:57 am

It’s quite an open secret TCM is very, very chinaman company la. The very company that said almera need 1 airbag only cuz its body is strong enough.

Safety? If you don’t mind used (well, to suggest a recond JDM should mean you’re open to this too), get a Volvo XC90, the end.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
        • el grengo on Jul 24, 2013 at 9:35 pm

well rebutted!

• Joejoe on Jul 23, 2013 at 3:50 pm

You are not making an apple-to-apple comparisaon. Air bag warranty expires after 3 years.

What sort of comfort do you get out from the 6 air bad with expired warranty? Undless the recon car seller warrant the 6 air bags function like new as the Serena!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 26
      • Jimmy on Jul 23, 2013 at 5:51 pm

2-airbags with ESP, then size does matter, in this case, Stavic will offer much more metal to protect you, this is Newton’s law.
        Greedy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
      • Perhaps not, in any case, I was just trying to iterate how backward the Serena above is compared to its older JDM counterparts. The age evens the playing field.

If I’m not mistaken, Toyota has no serious issues with their airbags. Even if there is, there will be a worldwide recall. The warranty won’t make much difference in most Toyotas, they’re reliable (albeit boring) cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • frenzyaustin on Jul 23, 2013 at 6:19 pm

TCM is worse of all, UMW still maintain standard spec when CBU from Japan but TCM still want to rip off for this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • the problem is that the optional airbag available only for driver side and front passenger side airbag…no more airbag being offer for back passenger (from what i read from nissan japan website)..im no kidding.

http://www2.nissan.co.jp/SERENA/eco_safety.html

• Jeff Wong on Jul 24, 2013 at 1:24 am

asked ppl to buy recond junk, u must be crony!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • I just saw it on the road and thought it was a Singaporean car. Anyways, coincidence aside, I think for its offering its kinda bargain with RM150k. Yes some reconds can fetch lower price for a bigger package but I’am not a type that trust Re-cond sellers. I mean the nearest car with push-starts, eight versatile seats , sliding doors and a all the favorable bell and whistle is the Mazda 8 and that cost RM40k more!!, but like the Mazda 8, the steering looks devoid of the usual Audio functions(That looks like a cruise control on the right spoke of the wheel)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 8
  • carlies on Jul 23, 2013 at 12:48 pm

They should increase the width of the cabin. People looking for MPV because they want comfort and spacious. This is just too narrow and where is the comfort when fitting 8 pax???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
  • Hukaka on Jul 23, 2013 at 12:52 pm

Its the model are so tall or the car a bit short?
    Looks like smaller then old version of Serena.
    This price should be lot profit for tan chong!cause usually they play throw down price.
    If the price set at rm 139K will be very attractive.

• HybridHeart on Jul 23, 2013 at 1:22 pm

If this MPV can get hybrid tax exemption. Other stop go car should get as well

• This Serena has been around for a long time already: as tomica model lol

• sambalbabi on Jul 23, 2013 at 1:46 pm

hmm…look further the size is more or less like Honda Freed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 25
  • avvecine on Jul 23, 2013 at 1:47 pm

Expected price not more then 140 k…in japan around 90 k…how can tcm came out with this price…want to tapau more,dont be greedy..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 5
    • theanswer on Jul 23, 2013 at 4:14 pm

err..why compare with japan..to them it’s a local made mpv. of course no import tax. still a good buy compared to honda stream. but i’d go for 5008.

• theanswer on Jul 23, 2013 at 4:17 pm

*correction* what i mean..i dont think these hybrid totally 100% import duty free. extra 2 airbags would be very good.

• hybrid below 2000cc..do not has excise and import tax…if tan chong lie u go ahead sent them to court

• this boss *ap party member…they make the car price high so that people will blame n even angrier with gov maybe…haha

• theanswer on Jul 24, 2013 at 9:29 am

at this situation we should blame it more to the etcm. of course they want to jacke up the price..maximized the profit.

• Dude dont be to stupid lorr, kindly read earlier article… 90k in Japan after weight tax exemption lorrr, this tax exemption not applicable to Malaysian only Japan..

• youjijouji on Sep 04, 2013 at 11:43 am

malaysia tax tax tax and tax charges is more higher than other country~ and dont forget about the transportation fee for CBU car~ anyway~ they give free MMNavigator with Revers camera~ good enough~ Rm150grand~ way much better than recond car~ recond = 2nd hand~ haha~ dunno what get into~

• Eddy Irwan Bin Mahamad on Jul 23, 2013 at 1:47 pm

Berapa HP including electric motor, since excluding it is 149PS

• For those who have not seen this car or even test driven please do not even bash it.
    I was hunting for this MPV since i saw it in Taiwan.
    And i was impressed when i test drove it over the weekend.
    Power delivery is good, handles well, great space (even at the last row for adults & awesome headroom & aesthetics to make it feel roomier) & practicality (cubby holes, seats formations & etc) as well. Could be better with wider threads tho.
    At that price, I find it adequate & rmb that this hybrid doesnt cost a bomb to replace its battery or even maintain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 14
    • MPV hunter on Jul 23, 2013 at 4:07 pm

Check the price here vs the one u drove in Taiwan.
      Lets not start with the spec. This one is stripped down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
      • Jimmy on Jul 23, 2013 at 5:58 pm

Take a look on Stavic, how can it be price at 117K which is the price of an empty-spec Innova.

• how to compare if not available at official taiwan nissan website…

http://www.nissan.com.tw/tc/cars/carmodel.aspx?CAID=00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000000

• serena c26 (current model) not hybrid oni available in 3 country…japan, hongkong n indonesia..

• violet on Jul 23, 2013 at 1:57 pm

Gonna be my 4th serena in few weeks or days may be. Hukaka, it’s only a few cm bigger than the older version.

• subwayking on Jul 23, 2013 at 2:01 pm

Indonesia Serena has 6 airbags whereas Malaysia Serena 2 airbags. Indonesian life more precious than Malaysian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 13
    • Jimmy on Jul 23, 2013 at 6:00 pm

China-man business.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • lie lie lie..i just when to indo nissan website…serena onli has 2 airbag

http://www.nissan.co.id/id/web/models/SERENA/Specifications/129188878338663856.htm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
      • theanswer on Jul 24, 2013 at 9:31 am

http://www.nissan.co.id/id/web/models/ALL%20NEW%20SERENA/Exterior/136556170014261446.htm

how come this one got curtain airbag?

• Jeff Wong on Jul 23, 2013 at 10:01 pm

indo also only 2 airbags lah……

• Jeff Wong on Jul 23, 2013 at 10:13 pm

let’s work out the price

Japanese price X 30% duty X 10% sales tax + 10K AP

(RM80K X 1.3 X 1.1) + RM10K =RM 124K

Nissan makes 20K per MPV

• franchise AP is free since ectm is official distro….open AP this AP has price tag of RM10k for recond car, gray market car n unofficial distributor…please be clear

• haaa haaa.. another stupid one.. kindly read earlier article first lorrr (link to OTO.)… RM90k after weight tax exemption laa idiot….

• the price is higher than last gen nissan serena highway, despite of excise duty exemption..
    the bigger alternator cost more or tan chong simply wan bigger profit margin? let the potential buyers think and decide

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
  • subwayking on Jul 23, 2013 at 2:03 pm

Test drove the Serena and I like it very much except for 2 airbags.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • batumudo on Jul 23, 2013 at 2:18 pm

Front looks ok, BUT the rear looks like NV200 vannette

• oblong on Jul 23, 2013 at 2:23 pm

3 years warranty only?

• Teana Owner on Jul 23, 2013 at 2:24 pm

Any idea what the steering buttons are for?

• theanswer on Jul 23, 2013 at 4:18 pm

cruise control.

• turbop on Jul 23, 2013 at 4:32 pm

turbo buttons

• gynaecologist on Jul 23, 2013 at 5:58 pm

to de-activate those dual airbags

• frenzyaustin on Jul 23, 2013 at 6:22 pm

Instantly turn your car into GT-R.

• C26 Owner on Apr 02, 2015 at 5:25 pm

It is cruise control which for me is virtually useless, I would have prefer it to be the audio control which I can use daily and the eco switch botton, which I can switch off when I needed power in instant.

• nighttrain on Jul 23, 2013 at 2:32 pm

Toyota tried to cheat with the Camry by taking out safety features. You know what happenned la afterwards. Is ETCM trying to do the same thing here with the pretty obvious downgrades and sudah terang lagi bersuluh price of RM99k in Japan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
  • LimPek on Jul 23, 2013 at 2:46 pm

although import & excise duty exempt, but you need to pay sale tax! around RM 20,000.00.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
    • MPV hunter on Jul 23, 2013 at 4:10 pm

Sales tax is 10%
      so 10k the most.

40k profit margin? Woww… lets work for TCM..

• Jimmy on Jul 23, 2013 at 6:02 pm

Salesperson, good afternoon to you. (Not in time to say good morning, have you had a good sleep?)

• alldisc on Aug 04, 2013 at 9:54 am

Ah Pek, go home. you’re drunk!

• naruto on Jul 23, 2013 at 2:50 pm

Not full hibrid la…buang duit saja

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • bongeks on Jul 23, 2013 at 3:06 pm

dual airbag onli for rm500 short of 150K? hahaha. Peugeot 5008 owners will laugh too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • Beetle Nut on Jul 23, 2013 at 3:34 pm

Why people want so many airbags for?? It’s got vehicle stability control to help you not get into accident, auto air-con, power doors door , etc. It’s good specs, if don’t like, go buy Naza’s used Toyota Alphard and Estima from 2009 laa…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 62
    • theanswer on Jul 23, 2013 at 4:17 pm

no wonder jap brand kedekut. because we got this kind of people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
      • Wisdom on Jul 25, 2013 at 3:28 pm

Wow. Got stability program suddenly everybody around you also wont drive reckless or hit you. Amazing!!

• langdon on Jul 23, 2013 at 6:11 pm

I agree, if you have a car with 6 airbags AND ESC definitely this will be a top safety pick.
      However if there are 2 models one with 2 Airbags and ESC another with 6 Airbags without ESC. I’d take the one with only 2 airbags. To me, ECS is played a major role in safety than airbags.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • Jeff Wong on Jul 23, 2013 at 9:58 pm

look like more ppl like recond junk ( in Japan) but treat as gold in Malysia. Malaysia boleh.

No wonder the cronies so kAYA!

• Idiot on Aug 04, 2013 at 9:32 am

idiot statement from idiot apparently…. u expect to hit u on the front only? or u plan to crash ppl ? if ppl hit u at the back or side?? no need airbags ?

• youjijouji on Sep 04, 2013 at 11:54 am

60 people is naza and toyota salesman~ and maybe SsangYong salesman who pretend to be “auto-fan”~ haha~ less than 5% visitor who sight seeing and get cought in to the heat~ why they hate NISSAN? b’coz~ ALMERA IS SELLING WELL~ hahahahaha~ SsangYong?? buy and cry if ur car problem later~ New VIOS?? = “salin baju baru” with OLD ENGINE, OLD GEAR BOX, OLD SUSPENTION, AND OLD CHASIS~ stay on the same price with old model~ but remove out all the accessories~ anyway~ on top of all~ better buy the HONDA CITY~ resell value is higher~ and look more grand~ XD say good bye to china brand~ and korean brand~ they think they can change the market~ HAAARKKKK PTUIHHH!!

• paparazi on Jul 23, 2013 at 3:38 pm

Very typical and little pricey japanese car.

• After I test drive this car…..value for money…for those who prefer to own a MPV, I would give a tumb up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 16
  • COsmetic make up needed.

Door visor, tinted darker, spoiler.

If don have look more like c22 van.

• isuzuki on Jul 23, 2013 at 4:55 pm

1. Mitusbishi Pajero 2×4 – 2.5 turbo diesel
    2. SsangYong Stavic – 2.0 turbo diesel
    3. Nissan Hybrid – 2.0 petrol

Which is the cheapest cost of ownership at year 5? (all in, parts, maintenance, resale)?

Can compare like that ar?

• Jimmy on Jul 23, 2013 at 6:04 pm

Different size, the slimmest and shortest first: Serena, Pajero, Stavic. Size, and hence weight, does matter during accident.

• Price in Japan Brand new starting price is RM75,796.91. If they sell RM100k still acceptable. WTF they meant by duty exemption for hybrid below 2kcc?? Thanks to malaysian government that believe they have conned rakyat without knowing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
    • sent them to court la if u feel conned….don blame gov they oledi give exemption oledi n AP for official distro is free..now u see even without excise tax car still not down..still wan to blame gov

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
    • Another idiot never read earlier article (link to Oto).. Selling price in Japan after weight tax exempted lorrr…

• Above 2idiots. Understand what he meant by what is mean with excise duty exempted still the price is high la manggo idiots… if u all suport govt, dont come here n gv comment. Just buy the cars with high price n live with it till u die…

• Since when Paultan blog become PR blog? As we all knows, RBA & PR just exist couple years ago & Paultan blog older than above of them… a joke of the day…

• frenzyaustin on Jul 23, 2013 at 6:07 pm

Still 2 airbags for a 150K cars? Need to rethink it although it’s quite cheap for this size and save a lot of fuel. But 2 airbags makes me wonder if going to bigger but high maintenance Alphard/Vellfire or better performer Pug would be better.

• Jimmy on Jul 23, 2013 at 6:09 pm

And please, usage of high tensile steel the purpose is to save for fuel economy, can you see the logic?
    Vehicles with high tensile steel must have higher ability to sustained against deformation during a crush. Use 500kg high tensile steel in place of 800kg ordinary steel, have you increased the strength and changed the Newton’s law. The best is use high tensile strength and maintain the same weight.
    Check you advertisement/magazine’s information.

• langdon on Jul 23, 2013 at 6:09 pm

I’m curious why many of us is preoccupied with how many airbags? The real safety star in all cars is really the ESC (Electronic Stability Control). ESC greatly reduces your chances in getting into an accident in the first place.
    Every time i see a car crashed to the side into a pole / tree (without any other cars involved) usually after a bend I see that these cars are without ESC.
    I’m not saying airbags are useless they are still important. But Imagine this if every car has ESC the chances of someone else loosing control of their car and hitting you will be lower… now that is food for thought.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
    • subwayking on Jul 23, 2013 at 7:25 pm

Curtain airbags are important to prevent head injuries during heavy side impacts,you definitely don’t want to be hitting your head against the side window glass.

Plus this is a MPV, very likely you are ferrying your family and in all cases, you want the best safety measures against any kind of accidents.

There is only so much the driver can do to prevent accidents. ESC, VSC, TRC and the etc are useless once the contact is made.

• True, airbags aren’t everything in car safety. The body frame, crumple zones, restraint system etc. also make a lot of difference in Passive Safety (in the event of a crash). I saw a crash test video of a Chinese car, the Chery Amulet if I’m not mistaken, got 2 airbags, but both front passengers did not survive because the frame collapsed.

And of course, like you mentioned, Active Safety (24-7 online) like ABS, EBD, TCS, BA, ESC, Blind Spot monitor, in-car radar etc. are just as important.

But it’s always good to have as much safety kit as possible in a car, regardless of size, price and intended market. Even hypercars like the Veyron have airbags and a super-strong monocoque frame to protect the occupants. This shows that no matter how skilled the driver, accidents on the road are an unavoidable consequence of mass transportation as per Murphy’s Law. Ultimately, our lives matter most, cars are expendable. It shouldn’t be the other way round.

Drive safe bro. :]

• y i do see same sentence as yours before?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • el grengo on Jul 24, 2013 at 9:40 pm

like i hv read this comment before….copy pasted from others?

• Bit expensive, BUT way better than RECON Jap used cars, with their one month warranty.
    Haiz, we got no choice…. thks to our Govt crony biz buddies

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
    • Jeff Wong on Jul 23, 2013 at 9:49 pm

TQ old man for expensive car if u want to own a car in Malaysia

• datuk on Jul 23, 2013 at 8:27 pm

only 2 airbags? all passenger need to share the 2 airbags…lol

• japan spec oso have 2 plus another 2 as optional(oso just for driver n front passenger)

• Mr Jimmy on Jul 23, 2013 at 10:10 pm

thats supposed to be a 2 people carrier with the space at the back for goods…

• NissanRainy on Jul 23, 2013 at 9:19 pm

How come so expensive?

• Jeff Wong on Jul 23, 2013 at 9:46 pm

still better than 5 yrs recon junk ( in Japan ) estima where the new owner in Malysia treats it as GOLD!

• Jeff Wong on Jul 23, 2013 at 9:50 pm

go and ask old man! He will tell u!

• Mr Jimmy on Jul 23, 2013 at 10:02 pm

how cheap you want it to be? RM30k?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • cosmothegod on Jul 25, 2013 at 4:40 pm

RM90K sounds legit.

• Then you ask proton or perodua sell the cars below RM30K…
          Proton or Perodua are not cheap as well…and the safety…

• ben yap on Jul 23, 2013 at 9:26 pm

S Hybrid = Sucky hybrid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
  • Transformer on Jul 23, 2013 at 9:36 pm

DISSAPOINTED…. thought will be priced below 120K since its a hybrid so taxed lower…

do not buy WHITE colored like those used by HOSPITAL!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • Mr Jimmy on Jul 23, 2013 at 10:07 pm

haha…all white-colored alfart, alison, nogrand are olso hospital vans huh? white-colored sclass, eclass, a6, a4, 328. GT328 (did i say GT) then look taxi in bangkok..?

• Jeff Wong on Jul 23, 2013 at 9:43 pm

All cars in Malaysia are f… expensive. TQ old man for all these shit from day one he created proton. ( now becomes his private part)

In my opinion, we got no choice … somehow we need to get a car to move around. C26 would be a better buy compared to stupid 2nd hand recond car where u r actually making the umno cronies KAYA n KAYA ( easily $$$ ) For example, to sell an 5 yrs old estima they can easily make 100K out of it.

Think before u buy a recond car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 9
    • mpvhunter on Jul 24, 2013 at 1:55 am

Why blame d G when the culprit is tcm?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
    • rambo ramsey on Jul 24, 2013 at 2:47 pm

this car is exempted from tax. why sell at higher price? how much profit you want to make? dah lah tu, reduce spec lagi. come on ETCM, even bloody UMW can give good spec Prius, and look how generous Honda on civic hybrid. greedy

• Mr Jimmy on Jul 23, 2013 at 10:04 pm

so beautifool….both the car and the cargirls….best part this piece comes with 2 powered doors. got reverse camera?

• sianglee on Jul 23, 2013 at 10:35 pm

wonder what price would be if there is ckd ver.
    As mentioned by paultan TC is ready for ckd production. Gov may give further tax relief for local assembled hybrid car. If without all current tax the mpv may be priced at 100k only. So really worth to take this cbu ver now? Hesitate…

• Yuzdi on Jul 24, 2013 at 3:10 pm

TC salesman said, no way to get cheaper if CKD after this. See what happened to Teana.

• I should say this new Serena is currently the best brand new people mover on sale in Malaysian market right now.

Boon:
    1. No direct competitor in terms of space in the same size segment
    2. It’s the right size for most people hunting for 8-seater MPV (not too big or small)
    3. It’s fuel consumption should be ideal from what we see from the spec sheet
    4. Air-cond for all rows are hard to be found
    5. Twin power sliding door

Bane:
    1. Price is still a bit too high, should be priced around 135k OTR
    2. Should have included the big sunroof as standard spec (as offered in Highway Star Indonesia)
    3. No audio control switches on steering wheel

Conclusion : a real people mover that deserves worthy consideration,but I still hope Toyota will bring in Noah and Honda with Stepwgn with lower price to fight against Serena. This will benefit a lot family-guys with a wider choice of real people mover. I’m kind of sick of the current offerings in the New MPV market…

Just my humble thoughts.

P/s :
    1. comparing it with Stavic doesn’t make logical senses. Stavic vs Starex sounds better
    2. Offering from recond dealers should not be included into comparison as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 4
  • jeff wong on Jul 24, 2013 at 12:24 am

So many complaints on 2 air bags….to me only important for front row……the rest not so important. Air bags r dangerous for kids

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
    • theanswer on Jul 24, 2013 at 4:42 pm

that’s why they create a seatbelt for each person. u the one who let your kids standing while the car moving. airbags work best with seatbelt intact.

• You think only kids sit in the 2nd & 3rd row?

• In Honk Kong, also highway star model cbu from jp, why they have xenon headlights with auto levelizer as standard while the cbu in Malaysia only with halogen with manual levelizer?

• Ada Jie on Jul 24, 2013 at 1:45 pm

to enrich the pocket of cronies,
      less spec , higher selling price = milk malaysians dry. The best thing is there is ABSOLUTELY NOTHING you can do about it,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • Wisdom on Jul 25, 2013 at 3:36 pm

Why can’t we do anything.
        Its all about us. We keep buying such poor offering.
        What we have to do is be patient and let the balance do their work.
        Last time Jazz RM110K nobody wanna buy. Now the price gone down to RM72K and people start buying.
        This Serena should be treated as such.
        TCM, your ego & greed will bring down your company.

• Sparcov on Jul 24, 2013 at 7:56 am

It looks like a bigger brother of Honda Freed to me.

Yes, I agree the car are quite narrow.
    It does not look like a premium MPV. I’m not comparing with estima or veilfire by the way.

well, is a hybrid mpv anyway…

• saiya sukaporn on Jul 24, 2013 at 8:29 am

import duty slashed…excise duty slashed…sales tax 10%…but still price 149k…just let the auto company mark up the price like hell and they always cunning in this!

• Garnett on Jul 24, 2013 at 12:37 pm

agree with you, should not be that high price since both tax exempted. In my first thought, this car is not qualified to tax exemption, but it was.

• Honey Star lwn starex siapa menang?

• Dont cry on Jul 24, 2013 at 2:35 pm

Don’t cry over Hybrid car price in Malaysia as no one would sell their Hybrid version lower than the non-hybrid sibling.

It is already a known fact in bolehland, why cry out loud?

Ask UMW and Hond to adjust their hybrid car price lower than the petrol version, who will be the one who cry out loudest? P1 and P2 la.

• Sushimonster on Jul 24, 2013 at 2:37 pm

Would it make more sense to compare petrol vs hybrid price of the same cc?
    Toyota Altis 1.8 123k vs Toyota Prius 140k
    17k (13.8%) more expensive.

old model serena 2.0 136k vs Serena S-hybrid 2.0 149.5k
    13.5k (10%)more expensive.

Safe to say the new serena has has more bang for the buck? It comes with much more goodies than the old one, such as twin electric doors, cruise control, individual aircon controls, GPS, reverse cameras, ESC, 8 seats instead of 7 seats, dual vtec, Xtronic CVT.

I drive an old Serena and I’m seriously considering changing to this new one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
    • jeff wong on Jul 28, 2013 at 5:46 pm

Confirm better buy compare to 5 yrs old estima

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
      • Sushimonster on Jul 30, 2013 at 1:49 pm

Hard to say. Coz it depends on why you buy an MPV. If you are looking for prestige and a head turner, Estima will turn more heads.

If you are looking at fuel economy, Serena S-hybrid is a better buy. Me tired of 2nd hand … time to look at new, so no recons in my shopping list.

• bhchiah on Aug 05, 2013 at 11:48 am

Old Serene Highway start cost ~RM145. RM136 is not Highway Star model.

• Sushimonster on Jul 24, 2013 at 2:40 pm

Come to think of it if you pitch highwaystar old model vs S-hybrid highway star new model, it’s 145k vs 149.5k. Actually only 4.5k difference.

• Jeff Wong on Jul 24, 2013 at 6:21 pm

for those who booked the car, what is the popular colour, black or white ?

• sianglee on Jul 26, 2013 at 7:44 am

I took Silver.

• jeff wong on Jul 28, 2013 at 5:43 pm

Chked with SA, the popular one is white n silver! Ppurple n black no so popular!

• Sushimonster on Jul 30, 2013 at 1:45 pm

SA told me, there are more white units in stock followed by silver, then black and lastly purple. ETCM is expecting more people buy white. After I viewed actual show car, Purple, Silver and White…. White is the best looking.

• Peter Lee on Jul 24, 2013 at 6:43 pm

Minivans in the U.S. are usually well equipped when it comes to safety features. Thea’s because you have your most precious cargo inside. I don’t own a new minivan but the U.S. spec Camry has 10 airbags. Driving in the U.S. is also a lot safer and less aggressive.

• Mr Jimmy on Jul 24, 2013 at 9:05 pm

ayo…not enough airbags, so expensive, bla bla…so typical comments…ayo…itu ferrari pun tarak 20 airbags la…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
  • el grengo on Jul 24, 2013 at 9:46 pm

Haiyaa people….why the big fuss! Just buy proton or perodua cars ma! They rmake the best cars in the world! Very reliable products! Save a lot of money…rsale value very good….spare parts very affordable…peace of mind….low indstalment….no stress! Ekekeke….dont hate me plezzz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
  • jeff wong on Jul 25, 2013 at 10:15 am

Japan price abt RM90K
    Msia price = RM149K
    Diff = RM60K
    Dun tell me Nissan get all 60k as profit.
    Can someone tell us how much umno pocket out of 60K?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • Wisdom on Jul 25, 2013 at 3:46 pm

I notice you’re pouring fuel on the fire.
      Lets get this discussion free from those ‘oldman, chronies, political party shall we?

Last time Honda Insight US price USD22K equivalent to RM66K. Honda Malaysia manage to sell it at RM98K.
      The RM32K is:
      10% Sales tax = 7K
      Shipping, insurance, handling, showroom = 10K
      Profit margin = 15K.
      Making sense.

Using the same rough calculation,
      Base price RM90K
      Sales tax = 9k
      Shipping, insurance, handling, showroom = 10K

Making the profit margin = RM40K

wow!!

• El Hefe on Jul 25, 2013 at 1:12 pm

Happy with my Mazda 5… This nissan looks box-ish.

• Maserati on Jul 25, 2013 at 5:59 pm

Looks good.Definately better than anything Korea can come up with.

Besides,theres a reason why there are no Korean hybrid cars at the moment.It goes to show that Korean tech is far far far behind Japs & Germans.

• toyota supporter on Jul 25, 2013 at 10:31 pm

toyota is always the best, wish, vellfire, alphard, estima all much much better than this nissan junk… forget about this junk, puih!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 25
    • sianglee on Jul 26, 2013 at 7:45 am

Agreed vellfire, alphard, estima are much better but price also.
      But wish is totally different segment, can compare here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
      • jeff wong on Jul 28, 2013 at 6:10 pm

Buy 2nd hand , not virgin how to be better! Must buy the virgin one only shiok to use !

• old dog on Jul 26, 2013 at 8:25 am

anyone know why the car price always under RM150k?

since corporate tax can exempt RM100K for 2 years for car under RM150K.

so Gov is indirectly sponsoring those motor cronies..now you get it?

• Jeff Wong on Jul 26, 2013 at 6:41 pm

talked to SA, booking thus far only 300+
    why in media Tan Chong said booking reached 600+ ?

• Some manufacturers like to over declare booking figures to show popularity of their newly launched models.

Booking of Nissan Almera was reported to be more than 15000 units within 2 months of launching. But was it the case?

http://www.theborneopost.com/2013/01/05/unexpectedly-high-nissan-almera-bookings-to-boost-tcms-earnings-outlook/

• Sushimonster on Jul 30, 2013 at 1:41 pm

SA told me 700 booking already. 1st batch only 500 units available with gps and reverse cam system. See who can put down the money first will get the free gps and reverse cam system.

Your SA said 300+

Official news quote ETCM director said booking exceeded 500 since the soft launch.

I got the feeling it’s over declared bullcrap what do you think?

• bhchiah on Aug 05, 2013 at 11:43 am

I was by SA told free GPS and reverse camera is for 1st 1000 units. Booking is RM1000.

• yoolang on Jul 27, 2013 at 6:21 am

which one bigger, this or alphard?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • mr right on Jul 27, 2013 at 3:08 pm

ugly ugly ugly ugly ugly ugly ugly ugly ugly ugly ugly ugly ugly ugly ugly ugly ugly ugly ugly ugly ugly ugly ugly ugly ugly ugly ugly ugly ugly ugly ugly ugly ugly ugly ugly ugly ugly ugly ugly ugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 22
  • jeff wong on Jul 27, 2013 at 6:26 pm

If u think ugly, dun buy…
    But u got $ to buy or not ….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • jeff wong on Jul 28, 2013 at 5:37 pm

Buy a car in oldman land hv to make oldman kaya
    Honda insight price in US = rm60k oldman land = rm100k , 100/60 = 1.66666667 ie u r paying 66% more

Serena c26 price in japan = rm90k, oldman land rm150k, 150/90 = 1.66666667 ie u r also paying 66% more

WtF….. got $€£¥ , just buy!

• MASON on Jul 28, 2013 at 7:08 pm

Just visit the nearest Nissan showroom to admire the new car from close.
    Overall conclusion that the car is nice but lack some sort of luxury thingy,but i do like the sunshade at the middle window and the dual power door.
    But the prices is a bit higher.
    If ECTM want to charge consumer such prices,they should include the goodies that require additional charges like the DVD player,door visor and leather seat,should they….hmmm…

• jeff wong on Jul 28, 2013 at 9:40 pm

High price all becos of old man n umno….

• Sushimonster on Jul 30, 2013 at 1:53 pm

2 words. Pricing strategy.
      Like toyota camry, initially came without VDC/VSC … people made a lot of noise, so expensive and yet doesn’t come with VDC/VSC. Every high priced luxury should come standard with it. Did it stop people from buying the new Camry? no.

• the salesperson told me that unlike the toyota/honda hybrid battery which costs rm15k to change after the 5y warranty, this nissan’s hybrid battery only costs rm300+. can anyone comment on this claim?

• Yuzdi on Jul 29, 2013 at 8:43 am

Normal car has 1 batt. But this MPV has 2 batt. Same size and same type! Means u hv to maintain 2 batt instead 1 batt. Just visit the showroom and look for yourselve. It’s not like H & T they use diff batt type for huybrid. This MPV is Micro Hybrid, H half hybrid & T is full hybrid. Check in Wikipedia, u’ll know more abt Hybrid. Do test all these 3 brand then u will know further. Do your homework bro…

• Sushimonster on Jul 30, 2013 at 2:05 pm

I read up a lot about S-hybrid. The system harvests energy from deceleration and braking. Stores it in the sub batt. So that during idle engine stop, the stored energy is used to power all the electrical systems including aircon. The stored energy is also used for torque assist.

The ECO motor is mounted outside the engine block, it is not able to drive the wheels directly. Thus the motor is not able to assist the vehicle’s acceleration like in a regular mild hybrid, which has a motor integrated between the engine and transmission.

However the ECO motor does provide a “torque assist function” by delivering 50 Nm of torque for about 1 second to the crankshaft when driving the vehicle away from standstill (after restarting the engine from idle stop). This reduces the amount of fuel required to move a vehicle from standstill and thus contributes to lower fuel consumption when driving in urban traffic.

50nm is a lot of torque for a little electric motor considering the 2.0 litre engine makes 210nm @ 4400rpm.

• bhchiah on Aug 05, 2013 at 11:39 am

SA told me that it has one small battery (normal car battery) and one bigger batter that cost R200+ and RM300+ separately. 3 yrs warranty. Much cheaper for new replacement cost compare to H and T hybrid car which cost you >10K+ for battery battery.

• in other words, which hybrid is better?

• Yuzdi on Aug 01, 2013 at 9:05 am

Depends on your taste. T & H claims since day 1 nobody change the batt. Hybrid in Japs quite few years oredi. We here are “Beginners”. Lots to learn abt it. Prius C & Jazz more likely in the same segmment. Serena frm diff segment. U will decide wic 1 u want subject to ur requirement, usage & budget. Take note dat no spare tyre in Jazz & Serena. In my point of view, Serena came in to beat dat recond Alphard & Estima. If u buy these 2 models, some minor modification need to do to fit with our climax, where only few ppl knows, or else u hv to repair the gearbox that is very costly.
          I wonder y P2 never produce hybrid. They can get the technology frm their big bro T. If d Gov really serious on hybrid they shud encourage our P1 & P2. And this is the time!

• Sushimonster on Jul 30, 2013 at 3:54 pm

Read that it costs RM1k to replace both batteries. Batts comes with 3 years warranty. Cost you, RM333.33 per year.

• bhchiah on Aug 05, 2013 at 11:34 am

SA told me the smaller battery cost RM200+ and bigger battery costs RM300+. 3 years warranty. Total cost is around 600+ max.
        Malaysia CBU has no air purifier fucniton. poor.

• Indon selling normal Serena at USD40K, Hybrid should cost more.

Tested it, feels very light, steering, throttle response, very smooth.

Huge headroom, can wear cowboy hat & drive. Engine stop can be restarted by turning steering or liftoff brakes, nice!

Dislikes are stiff suspension, crashes over bumps and irregularities, esp for MPV. Also no leather seats included!

• madhopper on Jul 29, 2013 at 7:03 pm

A hybrid car with FC 15.2km/l?
    what a joke…
    >.<

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
  • TCM import this model wearing the Highway Star badge without Xenon and auto levelizer while the SAME model cbu in other countries do have such features….one word: dishonesty. Hopefully paultan can verify for us.

• jeff wong on Jul 30, 2013 at 9:21 pm

Sushimaster: u booked one oleri ? What color? White ?

• jeff wong on Aug 01, 2013 at 8:36 pm

latest booking figures from SA: 1000+

• i am getting my new serena s hybrid tomorrow.i am really looking forward to it.i booked before it was launched i.e during rumour time.i ve test drive it when it was launched and it was good.i currently own serena c24 latest version.i know this car very well.it is good and very reliable.those who have doubts i can assure u you cant go wrong with this.brand spanking new from japan!

• h_hizam on Aug 03, 2013 at 11:57 pm

Yoby, when exactly did you book?. I booked on 1st July but the SA informed me there is no news yet on the delivery.

• jeff wong on Aug 04, 2013 at 12:16 pm

Why so slow hizam? I booked on 7/21 also got my car oleri, just waiting for payment!

• h_hizam on Aug 04, 2013 at 2:14 pm

Really got yours already? When? My SA told me there is a problem with custom so delivery is not confirmed.

• jeff wong on Aug 04, 2013 at 2:35 pm

Car is ready, just waiting for my payment! Soon I pay, I will get the car. 500 units hv been in, reorder 500 units more, what custom problem ? Ur SA must hv con u , or given ur unit to someone

• Booked my car on 1st week of july.loan approved on launching day.got my car today.drove from kl to ipoh the fuel avrragel consumption on display was 13.2km/litre.mixed driving mostly 70% highway.speed <110 becoz ops sikap.i guess its still new.but better than my old serena around 11km/l at best(worse in city driving 7-8km/ltre).i think this new serena will get better with time.the best part is the drive is much better than old one smooth and softer.less nvh.overall i am very happy with my new serena.

• jeff wong on Aug 04, 2013 at 4:26 pm

Yoby what color is ur new baby ?

• Hi jeff mine is pearl white.actually it looks bigger than previous serena although i never measure them.the luggage is of course bigger and the hidden comparment is a bonus.it can store golf set in there.i keep my baby stroller in.still can put other small things like shoes.

• interesting on Aug 05, 2013 at 9:28 am

Rubbish Hybrid….more like a loophole to get the Hybrid Tax.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 25
  • Latest fuel consumption countryside road 30km run speed 60-80kmh aircon auto 25celsiuos fuel 18.1km/litre!

• jeff wong on Aug 06, 2013 at 10:40 pm

Yoby, what is driving experience witje new babe ? Is the tire width 195 to small for the car ?

• jeff wong on Aug 10, 2013 at 9:53 pm

Saw a few white one on the road!

• jeff wong on Aug 13, 2013 at 9:46 pm

Getting popular….so far seen 5 on the road

• S David on Aug 14, 2013 at 2:03 am

Which area you are in? KL? Seen one in JB so far, that’s pathetic. Perhaps less distribution to JB from TC. Can’t imagine when is mine will be delivered which I booked on launching day.

• I heard only 60 units were sent to northern state from a total of 500 units. KL got the most. Many were used as showroom and test drive unit.
        The reason you don’t see it right now on the road (I was told) is due to queue to get the car tested at puspakom. Or maybe the respond is indeed poor.
        I am in Penang and I got my pearl white serena yesterday.
        Quite satisfied generally. Felt a bit lacking in acceleration; engine need to roar a bit but this is probably bias as I used to driving prius. Will test the uphill performance when have chance.
        No auto lock after car moving (like prius), so need to do that manually.
        Reverse camera not too bad. Crisp and bright. Haven’t test at night yet.

• jeff wong on Aug 14, 2013 at 9:35 pm

David, I m in kl

• S David on Aug 14, 2013 at 11:25 pm

I believe u r in KL so could see more units on the road. Thks Jeff. By the way heard one of central dealers booked 60 units therefore can deliver to client faster.

• narrow_car_act_mpv on Aug 19, 2013 at 12:44 pm

Serena Overall Width: 1695mm
    Altis Overall Width: 1760mm

there is 6.5cm narrower than altis, such small car wanna act as MPV, pls lar…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • Wonder_car on Aug 19, 2013 at 1:04 pm

To be precise… The actual measurement from Nissan website is 1735, and not 1695 mm. ;)

• narrow on Aug 19, 2013 at 7:37 pm

lol still narrower than altis. What kind of mpv us this? Big no no

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
        • ah beng on Aug 19, 2013 at 11:47 pm

is this matter to you, mr narrow???
          no body force you to buy…
          since you have such a narrow mindset, please continue to stay in your own ‘comparison’ world…
          please respect the car and other people who buy the car, regardless which car.

• narrow on Aug 20, 2013 at 9:03 am

mr ah beng, i just tell you the fact why get so angry? what u shd do is to complain to TCM dun cut cost so much and make this kind of crap, lol

• Ah Kau on Aug 20, 2013 at 6:08 pm

Mr Narrow, The MPV is not defined by the width. BTW, Estima’s width is also just 1798mm, only 63mm wider than Serena S26. If based on your narrow minded definition it should not be called MPV too, right?

• NISSpengAN on Aug 20, 2013 at 5:38 am

The width is actual 1735mm.

• Zubir on Aug 22, 2013 at 11:28 am

i assume mr narrow own an altis and try to compare the stability and space wise of this mpv to his sedan (just 25mm width different). the stability of a car/mpv is not just determine by their width alone..it a consideration of the overall dimensions..length, width and wheelbase. i just list some sedans which width dimension are less than this serena..vios-1700, polo sedan-1699, persona-1725, honda city-1695..and so on. Space wise, i personally view the real unit and i feel this serena is very spacious..maybe because of the high cabin headroom space, seating arrangement and wide window size.

• simon on Aug 24, 2013 at 10:44 am

just booking serena hb,omg.have wait arround 2 month

• simon on Aug 24, 2013 at 10:48 am

hb serena is cheaper.save arround rm 50k for tax,

• simon on Aug 24, 2013 at 12:16 pm

serena mpv rm 0.14 per km
    alphard rm 0.25 per km
    astima rm 0.22 per km

serena rm 149k new car
    alphard rm 190k year 2008.second hand
    ssangyong rm 104k year 2008 model.old model

serena good for travel and daily using.save petrol
    alphard good for travel,petrol high
    ssangyong ,after 2 year you have work for him.everyday send to services station.

serena=parts eazy to get
    alphard=parts eazy to get but expensive
    ssangyong =alamak,all kena order from korea

• syeoh1 on Aug 25, 2013 at 6:36 pm

Finally I got my Serena, I like it so much, spaces, very good driving experience like with Xtronic CVT, never feel the car is changing gear. I’m strongly recommend to those who plan buy MPV should consider Serena.

• simon on Aug 27, 2013 at 1:28 pm

congratulation.my one have wait for 2 month because choose peach white,and wait for new wilayah plat for single w

• GreatOne on Aug 27, 2013 at 11:48 pm

Just got my car this afternoon. My family loves it, and enjoy the “smell of new car”, instead of the “add on perfume smell” for the recon Estima 2009 that my family previously owned. ;)
    Learnt from SA that the order has hit more than 1300+ orders. For those who is ordering now, would definitely need to wait for at least 2 months.
    I have yet to see many on the roads (1st batch only 500, and yet to fully released all), and hope more will be joining the road soon.

• jeff wong on Aug 28, 2013 at 4:13 am

Nissan pj told booking reached 1700+, u said only 1300+ …who to believe ? Anyhow, they r expecting to sell 2000 units in 2013. And look like more than their target by 2013! Got my serena last week. Nice car … pick up not so cool but enuf to move around comfortably. Space wise very good for 6 adults. Perhaps could change rim to 17″ 205 or 215 to look more sporty! All in all, better than recon mpv that made cronies rich.

• Ah Long on Aug 28, 2013 at 4:41 pm

Agree, the 17″ rim with 215 tyre definitely look more sporty!

• syeoh1 on Aug 28, 2013 at 9:18 pm

If changing the rim to 17″ will is create problem to the car? Any expert can share his/her input/experience?

• Ah Beng on Aug 30, 2013 at 4:31 pm

I’m not an expert but since Impul do have the Serena C26 kits with 18″ rim, thus it should not be a problem, I guessed. However, with my general knowledge the fuel consumption will increase and riding will be harder while the handling and styling improved. :)

• C26 Owner on Apr 02, 2015 at 6:03 pm

Can I not changing rims but change to a wider tires? eg 215/55 R16

• Ah Long on Aug 28, 2013 at 10:14 am

Still not seeing many in Pg. I made my booking @ launch and still waiting for the delivery…. a little out of patient…#@$%&!$@ :)

• You are right. Not many new serena in Penang. I took delivery of the 2nd serena in Penang on 14th August. My guess is that there are not more than a handful of serena right now. Dunno why so few on the road.

• simon on Aug 31, 2013 at 11:09 am

monday can get my new car.hahahaha.after use serena c24 for 9 year,sure very comfident nissan with c26.
    and my plat is BMG=BIG MONEY GAIN.KAKAKAKA

• syeoh1 on Sep 02, 2013 at 8:44 am

Sent my Serena for 1st Service (1000KM) and request to have the GPS unit upload with Thailand map and being advice, no Thailand map for this GPS unit.
    What kind of GPS it’s?
    Anyone know how can I have Thailand upload to the GPS?

• simon on Sep 02, 2013 at 10:25 am

syeoh 1.thousand km driver ur new serena,any comment of this mpv?

• Syeoh1 on Sep 02, 2013 at 4:09 pm

Overall I’m satisfy.
      Except the GPS will have no option to add on Thailand map. Which I feel very disappointed because I’m frequent traveller to Thailand.

• syeoh1 on Sep 02, 2013 at 3:05 pm

Hi All, just received call from ETCM Customer Service inform me the navigator sold will not support Thailand map. For those thinking to get Thailand please don’t buy the navigator from other vendor.

• syeoh1 on Sep 02, 2013 at 3:08 pm

Typo, if you thinking to have Thailand but the navigator system from other vendor.

• hi, the salesman told they take 2 months to deliver the serena. if we sign bank agreement this week, do u know when is the 1st payment take effect? is it after we receive the car?

• Ah Long on Sep 06, 2013 at 8:05 am

Horay! I will be getting my Serena S-Hybrid after more than a month wait today! :)

• devilito79 on Sep 06, 2013 at 9:53 am

hi maw…actually 1st payment must be paid 1 month after we received the car….

• SIMON on Sep 06, 2013 at 2:20 pm

2 days driver serena c26.most is better then c24,but inside very narrow.third line just for kids only

• Hi Simon:
    R u sure 3rd row is for kids only? U can adjust teh second row. Indeed, I had brought 7 adults on the car for an outstation drive. And, empty of legs room. However, the main complaints is that the middle person would not has the proper headrest, and it’s tiring when drive through long distance.

• Ah Long on Sep 07, 2013 at 11:54 am

Having my new serena since yesterday. The whole family enjoy it. I took 7 adults and it has decent leg rooms and everyone felt comfortable. As long as mostly not a big size persons it should work perfect. For your reference, the 7 persons we have was 4 with the average size of 170cm & 3 with the average size of 160cm yesterday.

• did you ask the sales person, what number is your serena in Penang? I have not spotted any other serena on the road yet in Penang.

• Ah Long on Sep 10, 2013 at 8:52 pm

Yes, as per the SA mine was number 10+ in Penang. That meant there should have at least 10+ units in Penang. I personally spotted 4 units on the road beside mine so far

• Great to know more units on the road, although I haven’t seen any. Probably I need to open my eye wider.
          Today, I saw three new Serena at TCM Bayan Lepas, still without number plates.

• TQ devilito79! ur info is correct, i juz check with ambank. Also waiting for my serena, actually a bit nervous coz I saw dark pepel serena on the road yesterday..n from far away, it’s look dolphin la..Wat say u…huhu..hopefully its not..

• devilito79 on Sep 10, 2013 at 12:23 pm

he..he..he.dolphin…dont know…but every one have different perception…for me i choose this MPV coz the flexible seaters….espcially at 2nd row…
    Will get my Serena by today…

• devilito79 on Sep 10, 2013 at 12:42 pm

he..he.he..dolphine??? every one have different perception…for me …choose this MPV coz it have flexible seaters…will get my Serena by today

• frencar on Sep 10, 2013 at 3:20 pm

Well…have seen more now on the road, mostly are White or Silver… Had yet to spot the Purple one. Anyone has managed to find the accessories shop that catered for Nissan Serena C26? Or any Impulse Kit?

• dolphin is cute ma..haha. hv u received the car devillitto? how u feel? excited to get mine one…

• simon on Sep 11, 2013 at 2:38 pm

1735mm is plus the skirt,actual size without skirt just 1695mm.wht the hell ,,lier

• simon on Sep 11, 2013 at 2:44 pm

on the road arround 1000km,no save as 15.4km/l.yesterday me try pump full from kajang to pedas using plus hway with speed 100/120 and rpm below 2000.meter show as 13.4km/l

• Similar to the number I have been getting. Town driving will probably be around 11km/l. Mixed driving with 80% highway will be around 13km/l.
      If the meter is showing you 13.4km/l, most probably you are only getting 12.9km/l if you really calculate base on your petrol bill.

• Anyone test out the auto cruise control? I have just found out that the cruise control max speed limit is set at 108km/h. This is regardless of whether you are in ECO mode or not.
    At that speed, the true speed is only 102km/h. Bummer!
    Anyone knows how to by pass this? I don’t intend to drive fast but driving at ~100km/h is just a tad too slow even on our bumpy highway.

• devilito79 on Sep 11, 2013 at 7:33 pm

hi maw…just get my serena…so far ok….how you guys calculate the km/litre…is it in the monitor….
    For cruise will try later…
    What i can see the screen show i can reach 500 km. ..coZ just fill rm70 ron95

• Hi,
    Got my S-Hybrid about 3 weeks ago and to date I’ve been driving it for around 3,000km. My first long distance trip was from Batu Pahat to Johor Baru, carrying 8 passengers. Overall, it was a comfortable 3 hours drive back and fro.
    A week ago, I sent the MPV for the first 1000km service which was totally FOC.
    Then came my second long distance trip from Batu Pahat to Kota Baru carrying 4 passengers. Again, it was a comfortable drive throughout. Nevertheless, in my humble opinion, as I also used to own a C23 and C24 previously, the C24 gave a better acceleration compare to this one. However, the C26 has much better FC. My calculation showed that using Ron 95 (after the petrol price increase) the FC is about 15 sen/km.
    My complaints about this C26 so far are:
    1. The radio (or maybe the antennae) has a poor reception quality as at many times it receives weak signal (shown on the screen). I thought my former ALZA radio has a better quality.
    2. The GPS is not as effective as Papago. For an instance, when you miss a turn, the system insists that you make a U-turn and return to the suggested route. Papago system would quickly recalculate a new route after you miss a turn/corner etc.
    3. I also notice a kind of ‘wind noise’ at the driver’s and front passenger’s doors. I think this is caused by the door visor. (I did not hear such noise when I test-drove the MPV which was not installed with the visor).

I suggest that any Serena S-Hybrid owner here to create a FB page so that we can have a more proper place to discuss anything related to the MPV. Tq.

• SIMON on Sep 12, 2013 at 1:24 pm

AZMI,GOOD IDEA FOR IT,tomorrow have go first services for my c26.so far ,nothing to complain,just morning start engine very noise

• afthey on May 27, 2015 at 8:34 am

Thanks for review. Ya, wind noise is a bit annoying. Do u all have facebook page for Serena?

• I also found my auto cruise only work up till 108kmh.first i try to set at 112km h.didnt work.i thought my auto cruise was not functioning.then i managed to set it at lower speed.could be the factory setting.i m too lazy to gothrough the book.bout the gps.not as good as papago. I get more confused with this one.finally i used my sygic gps.better and accurate and upto date.

• Josie on Oct 01, 2013 at 10:01 am

Can anyone give advise is this MPV suits for those doing sales in town area?

• devilito79 on Sep 12, 2013 at 4:20 pm

Aiyya…the cruise only follow the max limit speed…110km/hr…
    yoby may right….factory setting…
    Azmi why dont you create FB for us… :)

• Hi devilito79, Simon and others.
      Just found out that there’s already a Serena Malaysia (nsocm) FB group. Maybe we can just join them.

• Just want to know if anyone notice that when driving at night the the gear indicator beside gear knob does not illuminate (as my p2 myvi & h city) even though the car headlamp is on.just need any feedback from those who already own these new serena s-hybrid.thanks.

• Zack J on Sep 17, 2013 at 3:56 pm

dah conferm ngan SA pasal lampu kat gear indicator tue. memang takdak lampu pon.

• hi SH Owners,
    1) How abt the engine sound? is it noisy (like exora sound, sorry exora owners)
    2) How abt internal sound?
    3) Ur & passenger comfort level? Is it smooth..

Becoz suddenly am confused Estima 2008 or New SH with SAME PRICE.
    Appreciate your advice…

• devilito79 on Sep 19, 2013 at 7:19 am

hi maw..
    B4 this just use waja….so compare it..better than waja….internal sound…was good..
    For me…recon vs new car….the warranty of the spare part….
    Azmi
    Group nsocm cam senyap je….

• Mandy on Sep 20, 2013 at 6:25 pm

stil under consideretion wan to buy tis serena hybric or not..anyone can gv advice?

• SIMON on Sep 23, 2013 at 3:07 pm

USING SERENA HB FOR 3 WEEKS,KM NEAR 2000,
      RPM 1500=16KM/L ABOVE
      RPM 1750=15-16KM/L
      RPM 2000=14.5-15 KM/L
      RPM 2500=13….KM/L
      TOTALLY NO SAVE AT ALL,
      AND WHEN TRAFIC LIGHTB.ENJIN WILL STOP ARROUND 40 SECOND,AND START AGAIN.WHEN THAT TRAFIC LIGHT TAKE TIMES FEW MINIT,ALAMAK,STOP AND START AND STOP AGAIN.DON KNOW STARTER AND TAHAN HOW LONG

• dear all, may i know what petrol do you pump in for your baby S-Hybrid for better performance and fuel efficiency?
    thanks a lot…

• GreatCar on Sep 25, 2013 at 5:58 pm

Beng:
    Indeed.. Ron 95 is sufficeint.however, if u want to achieve better engine performance, u can try 97. The general guideline is pump 3 times 95, and 1 time 97 just to help to clean the carbon accumulated at the engine.

Anyone has managed to purchase any bodykit or serena accessories?

• thanks great car…
      any particular for fuel company like Shell, Caltex, Petronas, Petron, Bhp???

• Have the car for few weeks now, all in, its great.

Good space, its roomier than Estima, being much taller and sitting much higher, albeit very slightly narrower. The rear seats can sit adults OK, as the mid row has plenty of room to slide around. Same height now as Alphard drivers, see eye to eye.

Engine is acceptable, the power button is great for uphill stretches. Complaints are, the suspension is stiff for an MPV, lousy radio antenna stuck on rear window, poor reception and engine start/stop doesnt last long at traffic lights, small battery le…

Seats are comfortable with upright seating, dont really like the dash design, touchscreen radio in cars are definitely no no, hard to touch while driving, but small matter.

Decent fuel consumption as measured by other forumners, very light steering, the wife loves it, easy to park with reverse cam… great.

From the side, it looks massive with its length and height, from the front, it looks narrow, due to its height as well.

All in, no need to think about the recons, which are all bad deals, Japanese discards which sell here for more money than when new in Japan, Pui!!
    This is the real stuff, brand new CBU Japan, affordable, roomy.

Now if only T & H will bring in their equivalent.

Lastly, a Livina parked nearby had the same alarm frequency and opened both simultaneously. That was a scare.

• “Lastly, a Livina parked nearby had the same alarm frequency and opened both simultaneously. That was a scare.”

Bro Patr, do u feedback to SA?
    BTW Nice comment….
    I just book one and probably need to wait 2 mths

• “Lastly, a Livina parked nearby had the same alarm frequency and opened both simultaneously. That was a scare.”

sorry, am not clear wat u meant..

• Meaning, a Livina parked nearby, disarmed my alarm system with their remote.
    I guess this was a one in a million, depending on the encryption, but was still very surprised.
    Dont think their SA can do much, not unless it happens in front of them.

The skirting is too low, always hit the petrol pump islands.

First service was absolutely free, their service improved.

Bro Sky, are they still giving the Navi/radio combi free?

• Syeoh1 on Oct 02, 2013 at 10:14 pm

Hi, Today I pair the Bluetooth come with Serena with my smartphaone. when call coming in the BT from Serena doesn’t work at all.
    Anyone facing this problem before?

• durjana on Oct 03, 2013 at 6:09 am

my wife did tried calling using the BT and it works. But after several times the ETCM hang. Need to restart the car then okay. anyone got the ETCM hang?

• Wow, 1st service at 1000km is foc….good.
    How abt service at 5000km?
    Told by SA that we can go for 7000km interval if using semi-syn, and 10,000km if going for full-syn.
    True?
    Any idea on the service charges on maintenance?

• Syeoh1 on Oct 13, 2013 at 9:02 pm

Hi All, does anyone already got solution fix the poor FM radio signal?

• hi, i juz got the car last week. juz noticed got leaking at the back,around bumper left sided.n also front side.we tot is air cond..not sure

• Ah Gu on Oct 28, 2013 at 10:50 am

Maw, if you meant the water then it was not leaking lar. It’s the water from the aircons. Serena came with 2 sircon compressors: One infront and the other at the back.

• SIMON on Oct 30, 2013 at 10:01 am

JUST AFTER MY SECOND SERVICES.AND MAKE COMPLAIN WITH THE BODY SKIRT,NOW LOOKING LIKE BENGKANG BENGKOK WITH THE SKIRT.FEW PLACE THE SKIRT SPLY WITH BODY FEW MM

• Yeefung on Nov 13, 2013 at 1:09 am

Nissan Serena hybrid isn’t a full hybrid….
    The functions of so called “s-hybrid” are the same as the mazda6 ieloop n the upcoming mazda which also comes with the same functions. Yeah.. Maybe mazda biante as well . It only uses the rechargeable capacitor / battery to power the aircond n other electronic stuff when the engine is idling. Yeah, the engine stops when u stop.
    Why only nissan gets the tax exemptions n not mazdas??
    Understood the same function also installed in bmw , audi n Mercedes . Do they get exemptions too? Or the consumers being cheated?

• The fuel consumption was very poor..my 4×4 much more save than thos hybrid
    when I consume rm 50…the distance not even reach 250km…
    so disappointed with this serena s hybrid.the advertising was rubbish

• astral on May 25, 2014 at 10:38 pm

Tan Chong is selling serena s hybrid year manufactured 2013 at RM141K. They only discount 8k. Is it worth buying?
    Dear all owners, please share your reviews on this Serena S Hybrid year 2013. Thanks.