Nissan Serena S-Hybrid facelift debuts – CKD, RM139k

Serena FL Main

We’ve covered the facelifted Nissan Serena S-Hybrid from its launch at the Tokyo Motor Show last year, to spyshots of it under the covers on a trailer in Malaysia earlier in the year and the opening of the order books last month. This morning, Edaran Tan Chong Motor (ETCM) finally launched the refreshed mildly-electrified eight-seater, now locally assembled to take advantage of tax breaks for CKD hybrids.

Previously estimated to be priced at “below RM140k” for the Highway Star available previously and “below RM150k” for the higher-spec Premium Highway Star, the new models retail at RM138,800 and RM149,500 respectively, both on-the-road with insurance. That makes the former RM10,700 cheaper than the previous model, which was fully-imported from Japan and benefitted from the now-expired CBU hybrid tax incentives.

Revisions to the exterior design include a new face reminiscent of the facelifted Elgrand, with reshaped headlights (now LED as standard, with LED ‘signature’ lamps) split by a chrome strip that runs down to frame the revised grille. The front bumper and side mouldings have also been reprofiled, while the LED tail lights now have S-shaped internal graphics. Finishing off the look are 16-inch chrome wheels in a new design. A space saver spare tyre replaces the previous repair kit.

Serena S Hybrid Facelift 35

Inside, the rear air-conditioning controls, previously a digital unit with an LCD screen, has been swapped out for a more basic auto unit with slider control. Apart from that, the rest of the kit from the previous model have been retained, including twin powered sliding doors, i-key keyless entry and push-button start, cruise control and leather wrapped steering.

Tacking on the “Premium” moniker adds a 6.5-inch touchscreen infotainment system with navigation, reverse camera, DVD playback and Bluetooth connectivity (a RM3,300 option on the lower-rung Highway Star), a 10.1-inch roof-mounted LCD panel (RM700), combination leather seats (RM2,800), rear spoiler (RM800), door visors (RM400) and V-Kool tinting.

Under the bonnet, the powertrain remains the same as before – an MR20DD 2.0 litre direct-injected twin-CVTC four-pot delivering 147 PS at 5,600 rpm and 210 Nm at 4,400 rpm, mated to an Xtronic CVT with Adaptive Shift Control.

Working alongside the petrol mill is an ECO electric motor – replacing a conventional starter motor – that provides acceleration assistance and energy regeneration, as well as controlling the Idling Stop System that shuts off the engine at idle. All in all, fuel consumption on the updated S-Hybrid remains the same 15.2 km per litre on Japan’s JC08 test cycle as before, which is still claimed to be best in class.

As before, safety equipment on the facelifted Serena include ABS with EBD and Brake Assist, Hill Start Assist, Vehicle Dynamic Control (VDC), two airbags and eight three-point seat belts. Isofix child seat anchors are available on the second row chairs, which can be slid inboard for better third row access.

The facelifted Nissan Serena S-Hybrid is offered with a three-year, 100,000 km warranty. Two new colours, Garnet Red and Graphite Blue, join the existing Diamond Black, Brilliant White and Tungsten Silver hues. ETCM is also offering three years free maintenance as well as a chance to win a 3D2N stay at Legoland Malaysia for those who register before December 31. There’s also a special RM888 monthly installment plan for the first two years.

You can compare the new Nissan Serena S-Hybrid facelift against the pre-facelift using CarBase.my’s car comparison tool.

http://youtu.be/t4DBXIgmDkQ

Pre-facelift Nissan Serena S-Hybrid

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• sudonano (Member) on Nov 04, 2014 at 9:28 am

The facelift makes the Serena look even nicer than before. The only thing is, why oh why Nissan, didn’t you include 6 airbags. Come on, families are bringing kids in these cars. Don’t you guys want to be one of the few manufacturers with no compromise on safety, like how you guys did the Sylphy and Teana?

On a side note, how is the high speed stability of this car actually? Quite curious to see how would wind noise be at highway speed due to the tall body, something all these MPVs have…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 5
    • RicoT on Nov 04, 2014 at 12:41 pm

The max cruise control speed for the Serena S-Hybrid CBU is 108 km/h +/- 2 km/h, and you cannot go any further than that. At that speed, the noise is slightly noisier than the older version of Toyota Vios. The only downside is at the 2000 to 3000 rpm range, loud intake(?)/exhaust note penetrated into the passenger cabin, not sure whether it is the characteristic of the car or something is wrong with it, since I am still new to the car.

• RicoT on Nov 04, 2014 at 4:24 pm

Just got it in SC today, they apparently installed the air filter incorrectly!! Are you kidding me NISSAN!? Brand new car air filter incorrectly assembled!?

After rectification, no loud intake sound.

• RicoT on Nov 04, 2014 at 6:37 pm

I wish to ask fellow members of PT.org who are driving a Nissan Serena S-Hybrid CBU model, does your original tyres Bridgestone Ecopia Made in Indonesia?

I just got a tyre replacement from Nissan SC due to a pre-handover side punctured tyre (had to replace the whole tyre, yet they still hand me the car) and they replaced it with Made in Japan tyres. There is a difference in hardness as the Japanese made are softer than those made in Indonesia.

Aren’t new tyres on CBU units supposed to be made in Japan? Did Tan Chong Nissan or an unscrupulous dealer did it? Can anyone help me clarify thing?

• Dear Rico,

Good day. How is your car? U bought the new facelift hybrid?

• I noticed sitting in the last row the sound is a little louder than my liking, im not sure if its sound insulation problem or the sound of the aircond that is rushing through the cabin but it was a tad loud, the second and first row have no such problems.
      The front row, its a little louder than the sylphy but that is to be expected.

• ThePowerOfDream on Nov 04, 2014 at 10:17 am

Cun gile..

• tishaban on Nov 04, 2014 at 10:26 am

Yeah, boo on the lackluster safety specs. When I bought my Honda many years ago overseas the option for side airbags was less than US$400. I can’t believe TCM wouldn’t even consider putting it in when the cost isn’t really that significant.

I’m wondering though who still uses these roof mounted monitors connected to VCD/DVD players? If you have kids don’t you just buy tablets which are multipurpose and can be used outside the car etc?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 20
    • Many parents still using roof mounted screen for the kids to watch their favourite shows during long journeys.That including me.
      I dont buy them tablets cos I dont want them to spend too much time on such things until they become antisocial.
      Parents who uses that usually too lazy to entertain or spend time with their kids cos they are ‘too busy’.
      kapish?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
      • tishaban on Nov 04, 2014 at 1:32 pm

Wakaka why so defensive soup? To me as a parent, controlling the roof mounted screen and controlling tablet use is the same thing. The tablet gives them more choices, but I’m tech savvy enough to limit them to only what they should have.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
    • 4G63T DSM on Nov 04, 2014 at 11:47 am

Yes, very poor showing to not include full safety gear.

USD400 for side airbags. But don’t forget here is 400*3.3 then + local dealer profit * whatever excise and taxes is liable. So your USD400 ends up being 5000.00. The bigger problem is, you can’t even add that as an option if you are willing to spend the money.

But I have another bone to pick with TCM. This is CKD and qualifies for hybrid tax breaks and ONLY 10k cheaper?

• YC1974 on Nov 04, 2014 at 11:04 am

Wonder if there is optional for power boot for premium version

• Kancil Hybrid on Nov 04, 2014 at 11:12 am

Selasa, 04/11/2014.
    548 days since PRU13. Still no reduction in car price.
    KR1M – Kencing Rakyat 1Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 6
  • Nodame-chan on Nov 04, 2014 at 11:54 am

All that bits and bobs but 2 airbags?! Really, ETCM??!

• totti on Nov 04, 2014 at 12:15 pm

Nissan launch a lot of product during 2013 & 14 including Sylphy, Teana, Serena and coming X-trail with higher price tags as compared to the previous model.

but you hardly see any nissan sylphy, teana and Serena on the road. They kill these good products with the high price which is comparable to Honda and Toyota.

Their With Slyphy selling RM 112K and teana at RM 139K. \

Do you think the consumer will opt for Nissan if they price it same as their rival?

TC still sleeping with their new product pricing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • nissan on Nov 04, 2014 at 1:35 pm

i do really hope that sales figure drop that means the queuing time in service center will be shorten, they just can’t cope with the amount of Almera they had delivered.

• Frankie on Nov 17, 2014 at 7:29 pm

I think TC need to earn a lot money ….for open branch at OVERSEA.
      Is time TC divert asset or money to OVERSEA ….. they see no hope on Malaysia.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 04, 2014 at 2:52 pm

2 airbags. facepalm.

• Old dog on Nov 04, 2014 at 5:01 pm

Give those recond estima and Alphard a run of the money..

• -unknown- on Nov 05, 2014 at 9:53 am

* out of topic * where is the place they held the event? looks nice…

• submarine on Nov 05, 2014 at 10:35 am

TC has been doing the right thing by putting 6 airbags as standard across the new Sylphy and Teana ranges, but now it’s back to square one… 2 airbags in an eight seater? What are you thinking TC?? Definitely a deal breaker for me.

• SadGuy2 on Nov 07, 2014 at 12:29 am

Nice features but washing machine design

• Exnissanowner on Nov 14, 2014 at 3:26 pm

High over trade practice is going to deter new buyers. Unless you plan to drive nissan for life…

• 2 airbags for a vehicle that can carry 7? Got no more words – or maybe there are – Tan Chong trying to commit sales suicide.

• Frankie on Nov 17, 2014 at 7:25 pm

Nissan Serena should have spare tyre. Because this Malaysia ….Malaysian cannot depend or trust stranger. What happen the tyre burst ??? Should we wait call or ask some one to help ??????

• Does anybody here did a hill-climb-test on Serena @Banjaran Crooker Kimanis Sabah? Tq

• Mohd Noor on May 10, 2016 at 9:03 pm

Ya..why Nissan didn’t provide SPARE TYRE.!!! It was a big mistake by purchasing this car