Peugeot 208 GTi ad up on oto.my – year end launch

Peugeot_208_GTi_review_023

Hot hatch fans, take note. The Peugeot 208 GTi will be reaching Malaysian shores later this year, specifically in October or November, according to an ad posted on our sister site oto.my.

In the said ad by Peugeot salesman Steven Yong from GE Carriage, the performance flagship of the 208 range is tagged at RM128,888, although he adds that price and actual spec are still pending. Still, it’s good to know the ballpark.

The 208 GTi is only available as a three-door hatchback, and with a six-speed manual gearbox. This should light up the eyes of stick shift kakis, as will the output of 200 hp and 275 Nm (at 1,700 rpm) from the THP 200 1.6 litre turbo engine. That’s a lot of power to move a 1,160 kg car, and performance figures read well – 0-100 km/h is done in 6.8 seconds, while top speed is 230 km/h.

The ad spills no details on the spec, but it’s safe to expect the best from Nasim based on trend. Our Hafriz Shah made his way to the gorgeous French Riviera to drive this pocket rocket earlier this year, and you can read his comprehensive test drive report here. Also check out the gallery, which shows the 208 GTi with all the bells and whistles available. Interesting times ahead…

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• lonelyobserve on Aug 07, 2013 at 5:14 pm

Small hot hatch for real driver and full driving pleasure. Sorry for auto/double clutch gearbox lovers.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 5
    • Petrolhead on Aug 07, 2013 at 5:20 pm

There we have a Polo GTI or even a Golf GTI contender

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 5
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 164
      • Coriolis on Aug 08, 2013 at 5:29 pm

Sissy? A hot hatch with 6mt and three pedal is definitely more macho than a slushbox any day any time bro.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 121 Thumb down 1
    • _xXx_ on Aug 08, 2013 at 9:49 am

nice car but left n right rims are not symmetrical!

• comrade on Aug 12, 2013 at 10:03 am

can I buy normal 4 doors 208 with manual gearbox… ?willing to pay more for it…

• sonyman on Aug 07, 2013 at 5:26 pm

sure kah? 128,888? later vw write letter to complain ask to increase the price to 168,888?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 3
    • _xXx_ on Aug 08, 2013 at 8:34 am

haha can’t agree more….high chance to happen.
      I starting to see POLO GTI selling their old cars with loss (depreciation). Some made $ or got months of free ride during the upward revision of price lately. But anyway, I don’t give a damn coz Im too scared of its FAST CHANGING LATEST TECHNOLOGY GEAR BOX.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
  • ae101 on Aug 07, 2013 at 5:28 pm

fuuu really great news. hopefully it comes with 5yrs warranty and at least 2yrs free maintenance service.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • VW Fanboi on Aug 07, 2013 at 5:34 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 156
    • Barrack on Aug 07, 2013 at 5:54 pm

Don’t be silly, both polo and 208 will be end up by the road side waiting for towing trucks. Drive safe buddy! Don’t be a fool, care for the others!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 82
    • my kancil turbo can smoke your polo anytime anyday anyroute.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 46
    • pooyu on Aug 07, 2013 at 6:01 pm

relax dude. why smoke2… ramai org mati time raya ni. drive safely…peace

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 4
    • peugeot fanboi on Aug 07, 2013 at 6:49 pm

with polo miserable 105hp 175nm, only can smell smoke from this car.
      be realistic bro, call out the golf GTI.(polo GTI still smell smoke)
      at least can have some decent fight.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
    • _xXx_ on Aug 08, 2013 at 10:23 am

u mean with smoke from the gearbox?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 0
    • Enthu on Aug 08, 2013 at 5:19 pm

What are you smoking? lol~

• HondaCivicFTW on Aug 07, 2013 at 6:42 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 182
    • be realistic, i own civic and peugeot 308 turbo
      civic no where near 308 turbo, not to mention this 200hp 275 nm,likely type r also will kalah by this.
      different level la.
      go drive a turbo car, u will understand how naive ur statement is.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 120 Thumb down 5
    • the current civic R engine VTEC is for fuel saving, no more for power.
      go and read more.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 5
    • lonelyobserve on Aug 07, 2013 at 9:42 pm

Current Civic engines are R engines with SOHC design, really meant for better fuel economy. The ecstatic, high rev engine sound and fully opened VTEC valve in Civic Type R was K engine (K20A to be specific), which was DOHC design engine.

Honda only builds DOHC petrol engines for high performance cars and SOHC engine for normal, everyday use cars.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 0
      • Contradictions on Aug 08, 2013 at 8:25 am

Owned a Civic and now a Pug and Ford. No fight. Period. Civic is overrated. Good car but still a couple of notches behind.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 0
    • Alifz on Aug 11, 2013 at 1:56 am

Civic so good ah..just now tapao FD2 uphill to genting with my Preve lol..

• Shut up! Civic is just for people who can afford 6 digits car, not cheap proton!!

• PauKaya on Aug 07, 2013 at 6:42 pm

if thats really the price. nice one naza.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
  • Dieeee!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • wattaaaaaaa on Aug 07, 2013 at 6:51 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 143
    • resale value, go buy vio with 4 gears and grandfather engine.
      we are talking hi end car here.
      resale value not a problem.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 3
    • Your CVT will mati first before your NOS bottle finishes hehehe. Corolla. Stupid. 146hp, lower torque at higher rpm. How?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 0
    • Your Altis RV will go down the drain once you heavily modify it. Not to mention reliability issues too. Besides, comparing modified with stock cars is not really fair. Why don’t you compare your Altis with the Pug when both got N2O?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 0
  • wattaaaaaaa on Aug 07, 2013 at 6:57 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 141
    • Hadi74 on Aug 09, 2013 at 5:10 pm

Stupid ar….comparing stock with modified…..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 0
    • NOS? you think it’s Fast and furious ah? Toyota Corolla is the most beige-est car I’ve ever known. Want to compare to this Hot hatch.

• ESLteacher on Aug 14, 2013 at 9:41 pm

otak udang…..

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 110
  • cobra on Aug 07, 2013 at 7:08 pm

Smoke or being smoked is not important. If win so what? Got a million to pocket is it? Most importantly, one still have life to drive whatever nice car one is driving.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • u get a 200hp car is meant for smoking the car around you.
      you will unintentionlly smoke everybody around
      coz they are too slow.
      i am driving safe and ahead all the while.
      why always me?
      dangerous is when kancil try to smoke people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
  • most affordable value for money hot hatch
    no match in the car market i can say loud

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 0
  • cutebanana on Aug 07, 2013 at 8:07 pm

When is Fiesta ST coming ??????????????

• Samlok on Aug 07, 2013 at 8:18 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 109
    • only when vios sell at less than 50k and proton sell at less than 30k.
      i have a dream….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 1
    • Biggest on Aug 07, 2013 at 10:43 pm

I think if you want to drive big chunky car better get a trunk, this is a hot hatch.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 0
  • skypirate on Aug 07, 2013 at 11:04 pm

my god this car is gorgeous, but the 129k price tag seem unrealistic. oh well, maybe naza really can do magic LOL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 67
    • theanswer on Aug 08, 2013 at 12:08 am

how realistic u want it to be? smaller polo gti will cost u 150+k. 120k still expensive to me..but hey it’s a turbo hot hatch..not 70k suzuki swift.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 0
  • Aiya, all smoke smoke smoke, Preve can smoke all of your car la hahaha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
    • preve only can smoke myvi,vios,occasionally civic. definately not this la.
      this power is at Golf GTi range.mk6.and much lighter.

• Price is acceptable if Naza offer 5 doors version and option for auto transmission.. For 3 doors with manual only it’s quite turndown…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 52
    • neemfa on Aug 08, 2013 at 1:50 pm

You can buy the car with 5 doors and auto gearbox – which is the normal 208. This GTI ain’t for you lol.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 1
    • bully on Aug 08, 2013 at 3:59 pm

peugeot 208 gti is ONLY made in 3 door trim and manual ONLY….suck it up

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 0
    • peugeot doesn’t make the 208 gti wth 1) automatic/dsg/cvt/etc. strictly manual! 2) 5-doors. strictly 3-doors or nothing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 0
  • doremi on Aug 08, 2013 at 3:49 pm

Nice car…. RV..? I don’t care much.. I enjoy driving everyday…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 0
  • so young so naive on Aug 08, 2013 at 3:53 pm

Pls go and test drive this when it launch before u say anything smoke or not smoke with ur preve. Civic or polo and nos somemore…. haha… I bet u nv drove a 200hp car furthermore this car is much lighter compare to its power. Don’t be naive…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 0
  • FlamingFox on Aug 09, 2013 at 1:27 am

At around RM130k, this is definitely an affordable sports car! If the following are handled properly, I don’t see why people shouldn’t be buying this car:
    1. Reliability
    2. Expensive spare parts and maintenance compared to Japanese makes
    3. Quality service at service centres and number of service centres

Also, if

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 1
  • galaxystar on Aug 09, 2013 at 2:03 am

want auto and want performance , go and fly kite

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 0
    • start a fight on Aug 10, 2013 at 7:45 pm

Forgetting lambo/ferrari are we? Or thats not performanve to u…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
      • anymore? on Aug 10, 2013 at 9:26 pm

yes, they’re performance but they’re no longer pure. all only interested in statistics. not driving. fastest acceleration, best top speed, fastest gear change… that’s not driving. managing the clutch well, perfecting the best take off on one’s own without any launch control… that’s driving. downshifting before a corner, knowing the best place to downshift, when to release the clutch, when to upshift without fumbling, that’s driving. newbies and new age drivers will never understand these old school delights when it all comes together when one strings together a perfect set of corners going up frasers of camerons. but, there will always be fans of old school and new age drivers. but to an old schooler like me, real driving is with a clutch. you can be faster, brake better but that is not the objective.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 0
  • John Tan on Aug 09, 2013 at 8:41 am

With this car coming round the corner, the sales of CRZ may suffer a bit. Add another 10k, u got this real performance car. Thou CRZ is way much prettier to my eye.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 1
  • Henry Ford the XII on Aug 09, 2013 at 6:56 pm

Can the new Clio 200 Turbo come out and play at the same price (please)?

Fiesta ST vs Clio 200 Turbo vs 208 GTi vs Polo GTI

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • chronozome on Aug 13, 2013 at 4:02 pm

The ad got taken down recently.
    Maybe there’s some truth to it?

• The comments i read here are generally very childish and idiotic..please read UK forums where they exhibit more decorum even when they hentam the other party. The intellectual level among the contributors in this forum are very low…sorry to say

• just found out, they’ve limited units only. at that expected price, there won’t be any left when it is actually launched as they are already taking bookings for it now.