Peugeot 208 GTi launched in Malaysia – RM139,888

Peugeot 208 GTi 12

Nasim has officially introduced the Peugeot 208 GTi in Malaysia. The three-door (it’s only available as such) hot hatch – which was on display at Peugeot Blue Box Glenmarie a couple of weeks back – was launched a short while ago at the new Peugeot Old Klang Road outlet, and arrives to take its place at the top of the Peugeot 208 model range in the country.

The car, which made its debut in Paris last year, is powered by a PSA 1.6 litre turbocharged motor in its THP200 guise, with 200 hp at 5,800 rpm and 275 Nm at 1,700 rpm for output figures, identical to that found in the RCZ THP 200 variant.

It’s paired with a six-speed close ratio manual gearbox transmission, and performance figures include a 0-100 km/h sprint time of 6.8 seconds and a 230 km/h top speed. Fuel economy is a claimed 5.9 litres per 100 km on a combined drive cycle. Some other numbers – the boot volume is 311 litres, going up to 1,152 litres with the rear seats folded.

Peugeot 208 GTi 7

Sitting on a 10 mm widened track at the front and 20 mm widened track at the rear, the 208 GTi features variant-distinct styling cues to differentiate it from its 208 siblings, with a chequered radiator grille, widened wheel arches and special body sills heading the list. The headlamps, which feature LED DRLs, are still halogens (the entire 208 range doesn’t feature bi-Xenons), but differ in design to that found on the standard 208, with square-shaped inserts.

Also on, C-pillar quarter panel inserts stamped with GTi lettering as a tribute to its illustrious predecessor, the 205 GTi, chrome wing mirrors, a model specific spoiler, a gloss black rear skirt dressed with chrome accents and a chrome-finished dual exhaust tailpipe. Completing the exterior job are 17-inch two-tone Carbon design alloy wheels wrapped with 205/45 rubbers, replete with diamond-cut wheel caps.

Plenty of red detailing to be found, as seen in Hafriz’s comprehensive review of the car from the international drive in France earlier in the year – externally, the brake calipers, lower front grille finisher and GTi lettering on the car features the shade, but it’s the interior that really works the colour.

The black interior is peppered with lots of red accents – the Club Nappa leather/Caro Weave fabric combination bucket seats get dressed with it, as are the door handles, centre aircon vents, instrument cluster surround and the gear knob. Red stitching adds on to this, and can be found on the seats, handbrake, steering wheel, the leather dashboard top and even for the seat belts.

Elsewhere, the instrument panel is surrounded by red LEDs, and the dials – which have a matt and gloss chequered background – have needles that light up in, you guessed it, red. Aluminium elements provide further contrast, found on the brake lever handle, gear knob, the foot pedals, door sills and on the steering wheel.

Standard fitment items include a panoramic roof, interactive HD seven-inch colour touchscreen, a six-speaker Arkamys 3D sound system with USB, Bluetooth and audio streaming, dual-zone climate control air conditioning and cruise control.

There’s also Smart Park Assist, which helps the driver to parallel park the car. The driver only needs to control the accelerator pedal, clutch and brakes, and the system automatically steers itself; front and rear parking aids provide both audible and visual cues, the latter through the touchscreen display.

In terms of safety, the 208 GTi is equipped with Electronic Stability Program (ESP), traction control, ABS, EBA and electronic brake-force distribution, as well as six airbags and front pre-tensioning seatbelts.

Available in two exterior colours, Digital White and Rogue Red, the Peugeot 208 GTi is priced at RM139,888, on-the-road with insurance. As with all existing Peugeot models in Nasim’s line-up, the 208 GTi comes with a five-year warranty with unlimited mileage as well as a lifetime 24-hours Peugeot Assistance service.

Read Hafriz’s complete test report of the Peugeot 208 GTi here.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Ryan.C on Oct 09, 2013 at 4:21 pm

what a scary price!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 52
    • hondaman on Oct 09, 2013 at 4:28 pm

Polo GTI is scarier since VW malaysia increase their price

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 130 Thumb down 2
      • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 171
        • fatchicken on Oct 09, 2013 at 7:38 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 230
          • kereta_lembu on Oct 09, 2013 at 9:05 pm

Haha! Best comment ever from a vios fanboy. Buy 2 vios for a combined power of more than 200HP but can you drive 2 cars at one go? Bet you didn’t think of that, right? :P

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 156 Thumb down 6
          • Great. And pls drive both at the same time to harness that combine power.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 1
          • akula on Oct 09, 2013 at 9:30 pm

World’s most stupid comment..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 5
          • sorry, vios cant go pike peak…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 1
          • Fatchic
            Then u should buy SV saga. ard 4 unit 1.3 x4= 5.2 cc (hp 94×4)>300

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 1
          • kembara on Oct 24, 2013 at 3:37 pm

do you know what is calculation and comparison?

Peugeot 208 GTi
            1.6, 200 hp, 0-100km=6.8second
            RM139,888

Vios TRD SPORT
            1.5, 80kW (109PS)
            RM 93,200.00

RM 93,200.00 * RM 93,200.00
            =RM186 ,400.00

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
          • Wow, I see you can split yourself into two.

• billy on Feb 20, 2014 at 8:59 am

Well..some people are just stu**d, and they prove it here..

• Hadi75 on Oct 10, 2013 at 7:58 am

How can you say it’s worthed if it’s not reliable…..

• VW Malaysia needs to defray the 20million exhibition expenses spent in Bukit Jalil 2 yrs ago. Otherwise how to survive. Poor marketing decision & now we consumers have to pay higher car price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • TooDumb! on Oct 09, 2013 at 4:40 pm

I would say that it is relatively much more reasonable compared to the Polo GTi.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 128 Thumb down 9
      • Furqan on Oct 09, 2013 at 4:45 pm

Absolutely

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
      • Najib Razak on Oct 09, 2013 at 5:04 pm

Can i test drive the two orang putih model?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 62
        • why have to bring in orang putih as model? i bet those 2 are not even french.

our minah, ah moi and letchumi not cun enuf is it?? i’ll take our girls anytime..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 17
        • Yoong on Oct 09, 2013 at 6:02 pm

Are you Najib?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 21
        • salgoodguy on Oct 09, 2013 at 8:24 pm

Not funny dude ..not funny

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
      • gynaecologist on Oct 10, 2013 at 12:00 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 174
        • droll on Oct 10, 2013 at 6:31 am

you’re the wrong target market. i like manual – immediate performance!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 0
        • Fredo VVTi-L on Oct 10, 2013 at 9:07 am

this car is not for u lah…go buy the new vios…buy 2

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 0
        • isengard12 on Oct 10, 2013 at 11:19 am

what? u think this is a toy car? this is a hot hatch for god’s sake. go home & play with your torque converter

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
          • torque converter? i think she plays with pussies. she’s a gynaecologist.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
        • nzain on Oct 10, 2013 at 11:28 am

u r extremely pathetic..guess u never drive MT car…drive an AT car only for lazy guys..feel the different lorrr

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
        • poor??this must be kidding..kekeke

• Only professional drivers and true drivers know how to drive a manual. You only know how to drive an auto, you’re poor in driving…

• Troller on Nov 15, 2013 at 12:03 am

So it means you don’t know how to drive a manual? Poor kid. Go take a cab. Don’t drive. Manual are not for poor.

• thanaseelankranjcar on Dec 11, 2013 at 11:52 pm

wat a stupid comment from you… poor people drive manual? are u stupid?… a manual car is mean for racing a lot… some of manual car expensive than auto one… check out for Peugeot RCZ MR.S g..!!!

• real drivers who know how tht’s who.. poosies drive auto

• MoFaz on Oct 09, 2013 at 5:02 pm

2008 is much better looking

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 39
    • really sacres me, sooooo cheap!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
    • carazy on Oct 10, 2013 at 9:27 am

three pedals and a stick, WOW, jz WOWWW!!!

• Yusri on Dec 09, 2013 at 3:46 pm

Somehow you get a downvote. Pretty stupid. It is indeed a scary price. I was in the UK and its a lot cheaper.

• hmm..still cheper than mk v golf gti

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 11
    • Albert on Oct 09, 2013 at 5:28 pm

is different category car dude, should compete with polo gti not golf gti.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
      • but mind you, the performance matching with Golf GTI at 100k cheaper!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 2
  • Am excited with the specs but little so with the price. But still interesting

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • sudonano on Oct 09, 2013 at 4:32 pm

So I was right when I spotted the button that looked like the self park in the showroom shots article here:

http://paultan.org/2013/09/26/peugeot-208-gti-at-glenmarie/

And VW must be shivering like no tomorrow. 139888. 6 speed manual. Thank you Nasim and Peugeot MY.

GTI IS BACK.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 2
  • Austin Shagsworth on Oct 09, 2013 at 4:33 pm

check out the big touchscreen!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • What is so good about the touchscreen? the size normal only.

• droll on Oct 10, 2013 at 6:27 am

touch screen has its own issues lah. finger print magnet, and a bit harder to use when car is moving (accuracy of finger on the screen when your hand is “floating” in front of the screen).

• neutral on Oct 09, 2013 at 4:37 pm

200bhp hatch at 140k and people still complaining. you just came to malaysia? dimwits

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 9
    • intermilan on Oct 09, 2013 at 5:53 pm

If u know your Peugeot, they could priced it much much lower… Its still relatively cheaper than traditional direct rivals, gIven its CKD status, rm140k is an opportunist move.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 12
    • familyman on Oct 09, 2013 at 6:36 pm

priced @100k people will still complain !! ehhh.. this is CBU or CBU disguised as CKD ??

• Fredo B18B Si on Oct 10, 2013 at 9:16 am

hahahha….exactly bro…it bothers me too with this kind of mentality…wanna cheap car go buy Saga SV lah…33k oni maaahhh…
      or if u really know about car in malaysia, theres always a car to suit one’s budget…eg: 4g93 GSR turbo satria for only around 20K, ~200hp B18CR EG is only around 30K

• Bob_B78 on Oct 09, 2013 at 4:42 pm

0-100 and top speed outguns Polo GTI but priced more than 10K cheaper. This car is definitely the best price/performance money can buy!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 9
    • GT Fan on Oct 09, 2013 at 6:46 pm

And looks soo much better than the dorky Polo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
    • droll on Oct 10, 2013 at 6:29 am

i’m thinking the polo gti is 6.9s because of the fast shifting DSG. this car has a manual box and it manages 6.8. which means
      a) if it has DSG (impossible i know), it should be way faster. maybe 6.7? 6.6?
      b) midrange pickup – would it be better than the polo gti by a wide margin?

nevertheless, the real GTI is back. i hope this is the start of many good drivers cars from peugeot.

• Nice spec & performance for the price. Bravo naza.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 10
  • donnyck on Oct 09, 2013 at 4:45 pm

200 hp ,turbo , 6 speed manual , rm140,000

this is godly!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 7
  • Furqan on Oct 09, 2013 at 4:45 pm

With specs like that, the RM140K isn’t that much when compared to the less powerful Polo GTi which is 12 grand more and the Renault Clio 200 that costs RM200K~ Its time for ford to bring its Fiesta ST.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 3
  • Takatohou on Oct 09, 2013 at 4:45 pm

Well, this car is priced quite reasonable. Considering it as a high performance hot hatch, this car is a bargain. I was expecting even higher price in the first place. Good thing it comes with 6-speed manual transmission, not automatic with paddle shifter. Hopefully Ford Malaysia will introduce Ford Fiesta ST, then we have more choices to choose from for turbocharged hot hatches.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 8
    • Chris on Oct 10, 2013 at 7:47 am

I hope so too. I hope the Ford salesman was wrong. Went to check out the new Fiesta, and I just say “I heard the 1L ecoboost is coming end of the year, and ST coming sometime next year?”

He just answer that 1L ecoboost coming next year April, and during his training, no word is said about the ST. He said expect 100-110k for the 1L ecoboost because “the engine is the best in class in the world”.

I hope he’s wrong…

• Went to the recent KLIM 2013. Apparently, Ford Fiesta ST will only be launched on the 3rd Quarter 2014. Priced at RM155k.

• Hukaka on Oct 09, 2013 at 4:48 pm

If this 208GTi price can par with CR-Z then can selling well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 40
    • so you want a 200bhp French hot hatch to have the same price as a japanese hybrid coupe that has less power and torque & a poor boot space

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 8
    • hukaka is probably out of his mind.

• theanswer on Oct 10, 2013 at 12:29 pm

if naza can bring 208 156thp..and put the price around 110k (must be cheaper than 308T). still can beat crz.

• Sakit mata tengok dalam merah merah….keep it minimum better…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 23
  • the front seats are non conventional design.. but a bit funny looking..hehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Guan Yin Ma on Oct 09, 2013 at 5:00 pm

Well, actually, not bad.

• chronozome on Oct 09, 2013 at 5:08 pm

“There’s also Smart Park Assist, which helps the driver to parallel park the car. The driver only needs to control the accelerator pedal, clutch and brakes, and the system automatically steers itself”

riiiight…so the only things it does is turn the wheel, oh and beep.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Ford has already beat Peugeot to that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • chronozome on Oct 09, 2013 at 7:03 pm

my point was that with a manual car and this system on, you are actually doing all the work except for the steering.
        it’s kinda ridiculous. might as well go without it.

are people that lazy to parallel park their cars?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • MackyMac on Oct 09, 2013 at 9:53 pm

thank you… I do think that if you really need the car to park itself, you’ve got much bigger problems than the options on the car.

• droll on Oct 10, 2013 at 6:48 am

i actually agree. this is a small hot hatch. parking it should be much easier.

• chronozome on Oct 10, 2013 at 2:00 pm

ditto. hence my clarification above.

• Sam Loo is a f****** on Dec 31, 2013 at 7:39 pm

Those who are unable to park their own car shall be stoned to death…haha jz joking but it is unreasonable that if you can’t even park your own car. performance drivers drinving this gti will handbrake and slide into the parking lot.

• Fredo B18B Si on Oct 10, 2013 at 9:19 am

GTI drivers dun need them… if u cant park properly than perhaps u shouldnt drive a GTi in the 1st place

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
      • chronozome on Oct 10, 2013 at 2:08 pm

it was sarcasm. i was merely saying how pointless it is to have parking assist while you do all the work except turning the wheel.

even more pointless to have it on a manual box.

• neemfa on Oct 09, 2013 at 5:20 pm

Too much redness for the interior. The awkward meter console position may not suit everyone – need to lower the steering for better view!

Attractive, but somewhat lacking in some department – just like them skinny models.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • Chris on Oct 09, 2013 at 7:54 pm

Speaking of meter console, is it just me or the steering wheel is blocking it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
      • yup, the steering wheel is blocking the view of meter console. very annoying.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
        • i own a 208, and the steering does not block your view after you adjust the seat for your comfortable position.

• If you adjust your seating position correctly, you should be able to see the meter cluster OVER the steering wheel.

Before placing orders on this car or the normal 208, please test sitting in one. Many people can’t see the meter cluster even after adjusting seating position, due to body proportion.

Not a car for everyone :(

• roger on Oct 09, 2013 at 5:23 pm

Wait for Ford Fiesta ST. Review by car mag better than this car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • _xXx_ on Oct 09, 2013 at 5:39 pm

WOW!!! They really priced it under 140k. Ni lah…janji ditepati!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 10
  • encik boss on Oct 09, 2013 at 5:40 pm

both are hot!

• wow….fantastic price and the kit list is very impressive…
    great job Peugeot !!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • sudonano on Oct 09, 2013 at 6:01 pm

VW must be shivering now. 139888, is much cheaper than the VW Polo GTi. The GTi 3 door is 151888, before insurance mind you. Doubt a dual clutch flappy pedal gearbox costs an extra 11k, not to mention this baby puggy has leather combi seats, self park (though not needed, since you can do a handbrake turn into the spot LOL) and bluetooth with dual zone air-con. wow. well done Peugeot.

On a side note, I guess I was right that the 208 GTi will get auto park, after the picture of the button in from the showroom shots.

It will be interesting to see if Ford will bring in the Fiesta ST, and the price of that too. That would complete the hot hatch trio of the 208GTi, Polo GTi and Fiesta ST.

GTi is BACK. Can we have a duo shootout, Gti vs Gti?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
    • _xXx_ on Oct 09, 2013 at 6:48 pm

…but I think brand matters. For eg. the T & P brands here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • GT Fan on Oct 09, 2013 at 6:49 pm

Those interested better buy this car quick. It won’t be long before the sore losers VW will lodge a complaint about the price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • sudonano on Oct 09, 2013 at 8:04 pm

Brands matter a bit too, but if brand=reliability, Peugeot and VW both have their own issues, VW’s being the notorious DSG7 and Peugeot being the electronics and auto g/box (which in this case, electronics only-since it is manual).

Both do command a good presence, and the fact that you are looking at a VW Polo GTi, most likely you are not even bothered at the “safe” brands like Honda/Toyota.

And yes, there may be some drama coming on the price, hopefully no la.

• dodgeviper88 on Oct 10, 2013 at 12:44 pm

Even if VW complain no one would care. Don’t forget who is the distributor of Peugeot

• cincin on Oct 20, 2013 at 3:01 pm

208 GTI would win hands down coz the Golf GTI DSG gearbox would break down half way…

• namanama on Oct 09, 2013 at 6:18 pm

impressive numbers,but looks kinda weird with those chrome lining…BTW great car!

• Hope they develop a wrc rally car base on this.

• familyman on Oct 09, 2013 at 6:41 pm

huh? THIS is better than WRC, driven by 2012 WRC champion lagi.. winner of Pikes Peak 2013
      http://www.topgear.com/uk/car-news/peugeot-208-t16-pikes-peak-2013-04-23

• ae101 on Oct 09, 2013 at 6:26 pm

Nice car, nice price. But the technician here know how to handle this car or not? Pug service well known for its lousy skills

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 14
  • i have to say this car is damn cheap.
    those who are single,wanna have some trill, wanna hot hatch but only afford for c segment car, can really consider this.
    i am speechless for naza peugeot.
    again they are bringing in a car “bulat bulat” in term of specs and put a reasonable price tag.
    who cares about resale value?
    you already saving when you buy this car, while can enjoy you drive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
    • _xXx_ on Oct 10, 2013 at 5:29 am

u muz b either freaking rich or have been successfully brain-washed to think that 140k is cheap. I’d say it is more reasonably priced when compared to other competitors but it’s definitely not cheap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
      • you go around and search hot hatch with 200hp with 275nm, manual,at less than 150k, impossible!
        under the tax system in malaysia, you can hardly do it.
        i really wonder how NASIM do it.
        it will affect it prestige if place too cheap say 120k.
        140k is just expensive enough to call it cheap.
        i am not freaking rich.but from professional, own a semi D plus shop and few condos in klang valley.
        i think this 140k is intro price. if good response from the market, easily they can raise to 159k.
        then that is the exact price of this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Saga BeLum Masak on Oct 10, 2013 at 9:28 am

Err…

Naza no longer agent for this babe..

Its NASIM

• Fahmi on Oct 09, 2013 at 6:59 pm

Polo GTI is more expensive, and doesn’t come with three pedals and stick, even in other parts of the world… Very well equipped and great power for a manual car under RM200k, definitely a better buy than Honda CR-Z, which drivetrain is weak (for my standard) and not efficient enough (compared with other full hybrid such as Prius C/big Prius, CR-Z is a mild hybrid btw)… Other competitors that I can think of is Ford Fiesta ST, Renault Clio RS and Honda Jazz Type R (in the future perhaps, still have high hopes)..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • sick&tired on Oct 09, 2013 at 7:18 pm

the interior looks to be done tastefully. lots of nice touches the price is reasonable when compared to the polo gti, which IMO doesn’t look as good as the 208 gti, especially the interior. However driving dynamics will probably play a bigger role when deciding between the 2, so may the best car win!

• lamanblog on Oct 09, 2013 at 7:34 pm

I owned standard 208 and very satified with the performance already. accelerating to 180km/h anytime without vibration, performance wise.

And with this launch gonna drool many eyes. Our (pug owner) estimated that this will priced below 150k, yet Nasim priced it even cheaper at 139k. performance comparable to golf gti and better than polo gti.

if this comes auto and 5 door would love to upgrade (family man), sadly 3 door and manual transmission only got.

Would love to see 208gti owner on the road. Never look others down btw. cheers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
    • theanswer on Oct 10, 2013 at 12:32 pm

same situation as rcz. auto version comes with 156thp engine only. but we didnt get 208thp here. if we get it here with a good price..sure can beat crz sales.

• 208 owner here. I agree. satisfied with the performance. But i just managed to speed up at 170km/h only. Belum test power kaw2 lagi.

Good to see more 208 on the road in recent weeks.

• subtlesilver on Oct 09, 2013 at 7:41 pm

so is this CKD or CBU? love the stick shift, but wished they would have an option for dsg.. the traffic is just way bad nowadays!

anyone knows if there is cruise control?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
  • Paukaya on Oct 09, 2013 at 7:52 pm

is this ckd or cbu

• Megane on Oct 09, 2013 at 8:09 pm

This car will smoke the pretentious looking Honda CRZ …Me loike so much !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • 205 the real GTi on Oct 09, 2013 at 8:09 pm

to me its expensive. why? because when you compare with its normal sibling, the 208 VTi, the price difference is nearly RM60k. Polo GTi vs normal Polo only RM35-40k difference.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 29
    • That’s because normal polo’s price is inflated to begin with.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • have you considered that the polo tsi is overpriced in the first place?

• Majuperak on Oct 10, 2013 at 12:03 am

Well, either the 208vti is underpriced or the 208gti which is only manual is overpriced …. hence the RM60k difference

• motorhead on Oct 09, 2013 at 9:05 pm

Hmm.. Price not bad.. For this kind of power & performance.. Plus.. Can carry 5 persons.. What else you want?

• dodgeviper88 on Oct 09, 2013 at 9:50 pm

As i’ve mentioned in previous 208GTi post, is is way overpriced as at least in the UK the VTi and GTi price difference is 25%. Only in Malaysia where the VTi and GTi price difference is over 60% difference and are calling it cheap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • omaigod on Oct 09, 2013 at 11:50 pm

Not only that, even Ford Focus Titanium and ST price overseas pretty damn close to each other. Thanks for making us suffer.

• RejimKejamGanas on Oct 10, 2013 at 3:31 am

The answer to that is simple. The Ford Focus Titanium sold here is manufactured and assembled in Thailand, but the Focus ST is fully imported from Europe. So how can you expect the ST and Titanium pricing to be close? Ford Thailand doesn’t even sell the ST.

• yoolang on Oct 09, 2013 at 9:55 pm

why is a side mirror have a difference color?

• ThePolygon on Oct 09, 2013 at 9:56 pm

Nice car! Does this thing needs RON 97 to run?

• Nasurudin on Oct 09, 2013 at 10:25 pm

These pug cannot tahan our weather. Sure overheat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 32
  • samlok on Oct 09, 2013 at 11:01 pm

Too bad no auto option, and there is too much red interiorly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
  • mason on Oct 09, 2013 at 11:02 pm

wow…should compare this with recently hyundai veloster turbo….price maybe almost the same…both also very nice..which is nicer….hehe

• to some, becos of living in malaysia for too long, 140k maybe looks ok and acceptable for a 200hp….
    let’s see the sales figure in 6 months time….

• sunroof?

• RedCRZ on Oct 10, 2013 at 2:52 am

Wow… Such power, equipments n transmission with the price to impress. Definitely a better buy than a cr-z!
    But then i still think both cars cater different kind of buyers. I personally am not really fond of the gti styling n badge. Its still a car worth to consider

• Bimmer and Pug owner. on Oct 10, 2013 at 8:17 am

Damn!! This car is almost as fast as my 528i if not faster. Hopefully wont get tapau by this small car. BTW, This pug is so cute, way better than my 308 at home.

• panda on Oct 10, 2013 at 8:32 am

why did they said “gti is back”?

• Helloo…..I sometimes dont understand la when car manufacturer bring in Auto box you guy complain why no manual gearbox option. When they bring in Manual gearbox you guys complain…..Can never satisfy any of you malaysian folks……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
    • effthemout on Oct 10, 2013 at 4:30 pm

in regards to this car, the first group of malaysians has valid reasons to complain when that happens.

however, the second group of malaysians is purely a group of stupid, tossing whiners that has no idea why this car is manufactured in the first place.

• motorhead on Oct 10, 2013 at 9:24 am

Those who ve no money can keep on complaining about the price.. Bla bla..

• just like that on Oct 10, 2013 at 11:32 am

so the ford fiesta st should be priced in between pug 208 gti and polo gti?

if so, no need to wait for fiesta st already. just doesn’t make sense for me to spend 140-150k for fiesta st when I can get a entry D segment car for that price.

heart wants a hot hatch but brain wins all day long esp with all the prices of goods and services going up along with the proposed gst. time to save money!

• simsim on Oct 10, 2013 at 11:54 am

In Europe, Fiesta ST is the cheapest compare to Polo GTi & 208 GTi. Here is boleh land , anything can happen.

• suresh on Oct 10, 2013 at 11:41 am

Ridiculous pricing..come on!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 22
    • simsim on Oct 10, 2013 at 11:52 am

How much is acceptable? Matching the spec you only have Polo GTi which is 153k.

• theanswer on Oct 10, 2013 at 12:03 pm

low baller..low baller everywhere. even 70+k preve also they consider expensive.

• Wahab Isahaq on Oct 10, 2013 at 1:18 pm

Better stick to your Myvi or Proton BLM… wakakaaa!!

• omanjedi on Oct 10, 2013 at 12:19 pm

Wow..this car can absolutely can smoke those Civic Type R wannabe…Civic/Lancer fanboy, please do not even try to race with this hatch

• jackson on Oct 10, 2013 at 12:37 pm

I reserve my comments on this till the Ford FIesta is launched in Malaysia. Hopefully early next year.

Great car. Somewhat OK price.

Hope Fiesta comes in and undercuts price by at least 10K. Superflous, gimmicky specs can takeout. Leave the essential on it. TCS, ESP, 7 Airbags.

• amirad on Oct 10, 2013 at 12:43 pm

ds3, 208, fiesta and polo. Soon our roads will be swarmed with WRC inspired cars. I wonder how much would a 308 GTi with 4 doors and manual tranny will cost. That would make a better preposition for the family man.

• you doesnt need the 308 gti, 308 turbo good enough for daily use and ahead most of the car on the road.
      and at affordable 122k only.

• Wahab Isahaq on Oct 10, 2013 at 1:15 pm

This car is certainly NOT for those who are about to upgrade from current cars like Vios, City or any Proton make… sorry aaa.

cheers!

• Very good choice at current market. For those who can afford higher maintenance cost, go for it!

Ex Pug owner here..once your car past 50,000 km, prepare yourself for high maintenance cost.

Cheers!

• if want low maintenance, take vios.. this car for those who love performance..

• LickMyCrack on Oct 18, 2013 at 3:52 pm

I’ll like to test drive both the chicks instead…lol….beats driving the actual car!

• blaster88 on Oct 20, 2013 at 2:24 pm

Just went and checked it out…for RM140, you get:

a). 200bhp and 275 touque
    b). Manual Gearbox (Yea)
    c). Full specs – panaromic roof, blue tooth, navigation, full nappa bucket seat, touch screen led interior etc.
    d). 3 plus years warranty
    e). Plus no crappy VW service and DSG grarbox problem…

Only worry its Nasim, whether have spare parts and not sure how goood is the after sales service…

Apa lagi you mau?

• Azamiruddin on Oct 24, 2013 at 8:51 am

Scary price…but still affordable by many Malaysian as a second car…

• nazman on Oct 24, 2013 at 2:07 pm

the car is good, but after sales sucks.