Peugeot 208 GTi facelift now in Malaysian showrooms

After getting wind that the Peugeot 208 GTi facelift is now in Malaysia, we headed to Peugeot Glenmarie for a closer look at the refreshed hot hatch, which is being displayed in the open but is yet to be launched. That’s the reason why we don’t have a sticker price to report for now.

Changes to the 208 GTi facelift include the same integrated front grille and bumper design as the standard 208 facelift that was launched here last month (the new look is much neater to these eyes), along with new LED tail lights with triple “lion claw” signatures. The GTi-specific headlights (with C-shaped LED indicators) and cool 17-inch “Carbone” two-tone alloys are unchanged, while the red highlights on the grille is now a simple stripe inset below the number plate. No lack of shiny bits, that’s for sure.

Inside, the 208’s distinctive dashboard layout gets red-themed sporty cues to set the GTi apart. The “gradient” red decorative trim of old has been replaced by full piano black items, with the door handles gaining the same red stripe in the middle as on the pre-facelift hardcore 30th Anniversary Edition, which is now called the “208 GTi by Peugeot Sport”.

Peugeot’s rival to the Ford Fiesta ST and Renault Clio RS gets a bump in power and torque. The Prince 1.6 litre THP turbocharged four-cylinder engine has been retained, but now gets 8 hp and 25 Nm more, for a total of 208 hp (as printed on the engine cover) and 300 Nm of torque. A six-speed manual transmission remains the sole gearbox option, which is good news for fans of the stick.

The pre-facelift 208 GTi was launched with a long list of equipment in late 2013, and from what we can see, kit levels have largely been maintained, save for the obvious deletion of the panoramic glass roof. Also out are front parking sensors and the auto parking function. The tyre model change from Michelin Pilot Exalto 2 to the Pilot Sport 3 is enforced – the former is no longer in production.

Given the ringgit’s current strength (or rather the lack of) against major currencies, it would be quite an achievement if official distributor Nasim manages to price this car around RM140k, which was the pre-facelift’s launch price. Thoughts?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Holofanboi on Feb 13, 2017 at 6:30 pm

Wow it comes loaded with Michelin PS3 upfront!?

A surprisingly good decision from management…not bad.

• Das Auto on Feb 13, 2017 at 6:33 pm

Polo GTI > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 50
  • Duweet Singh Bakhla on Feb 13, 2017 at 7:32 pm

Nothing’s new.But new price surely increase.

• horrayooi on Feb 13, 2017 at 7:40 pm

At least they have proper temperature gauge unlike Vios, City and other B segment and below cars.

• Bernard on Feb 13, 2017 at 7:42 pm

If sold below 80k, then it would sell, otherwise we can all go to the showroom to look at it now and then…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 32
    • Below 80k, you mean usd. Your statement show how detached yourself with hot hatch, and I bet you have no idea what it means by 300nm. Naive fella, malaysia got a lot like you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 11
    • salleh said what on Feb 13, 2017 at 10:35 pm

hehe brother, wishful thinking la. this is not a compact car in the same ilk of myvi or iriz. the only way we can make sense of that price is if Ah Jib Gor wakes up tomorrow and says, let’s make good on our promises for once, start with reducing the car prices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
      • I rather he maintain car prices higher and plow the money into more public transport.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • Bernard on Feb 14, 2017 at 4:17 pm

Meant so say ‘if sold below 60k’……

• 100k+ car but bee sting antenna. WTH?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 51
  • intermilan on Feb 13, 2017 at 7:57 pm

This is just a pure facelift 208 gti. Was hoping Nasim would brings the peugeot sport version.

• Kunta Kinte on Feb 13, 2017 at 8:11 pm

This car is really desirable indeed. With that sheer amount of power under its hood it has what it takes to rule the roads. It breaks hardly any sweat over taking the civic turbo. Well done Peugeot, if only naza can price it right, this little hot hatch may just be a dream come true for the petrol heads.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Well they got rid of the auto parking, front sensors & glass roof. Options which costs quite a lot, so I won’t be surprised if its below 150k

• salleh said what on Feb 13, 2017 at 10:40 pm

only way they can keep the price. although i would hate to see them go, if u ask me.

• Aside from the front sensors, I don’t care about the absence of the other 2. Glass roof adds weight which is fine in other cars but not a performance oriented car. I don’t even mind if they switch out the full size spare wheel with a space saver or even a repair kit.

• so its this, fiesta ST, vios J, porshe carrera S, a range of protons and peroduas without ABS and seatbelts, if I want to get a manual car.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 13, 2017 at 11:14 pm

less kit, bump in price? what about peugeot naza’s notorious reliability record

• Its 2017..Why is it still using a key instead of being keyless??

• It give you a feeling ignite the engine. Push start lack such personal contact. I am sure peugeot no prob putting in.

• i agree. performance cars don’t zoom into such look-fancy-only tech. they attract drivers with the engine, gearbox, steering, 2 doors and design. :)

• b’cause it french.

• 12yrsold on Feb 14, 2017 at 8:21 am

This is a REAL GTi. Don’t play play.

• Pugok on Feb 14, 2017 at 9:04 am

Fiesta ST > 208 GTI > Polo GTI > Clio RS

• I’m picking up a used late 2014 model with less than 30k on the clock soon. Test drive was brilliant and the best part is I got it for under 80k. Nasim should bring the 308GTi by PS so I can buy it for 100k after 2 years.

• waters on Feb 14, 2017 at 9:46 am

Nice, Way to go. Let the guy who bought it new pay half the price for you.

• takNakP1 on Feb 14, 2017 at 10:53 am

good luck…
        very likely those that bought this category of car will thrash it and sell it after they no long feel fun or feel something is not right.

• passion on Feb 14, 2017 at 9:32 am

well done. hope the after sales services has improved.what about parts availability?
    208/300 is just wow!

• Vrooommm on Feb 14, 2017 at 9:41 am

After my experinced with 308 n 508.definitely no more peug for me

• The front is way overdone with too much chrome finishing. Pug designs are unfortunately getting outdated and outclassed.

• Ben Yap on Feb 14, 2017 at 11:24 am

208hp can beat many cars ady wor….

• passion on Feb 14, 2017 at 12:16 pm

i wonder why people keep buying them despite their many problems. looks? brand?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 14, 2017 at 2:42 pm

also, the glovebox still the comical size?

• GTi-R on Feb 14, 2017 at 4:44 pm

This is a hot hatch la doh.. why give so much flying f about glovebox size? Beside.. its obvious that you know the answer to your questions alredy.. then why bother asking? Hate it that much le tu.. Loser

• Sami velor on Feb 14, 2017 at 4:55 pm

Is his criteria for a car, why u care so much. He wants to store coconuts inside.

• Johnny on Feb 14, 2017 at 6:28 pm

300nm in a small car like this is madness. And in a good way.

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 14, 2017 at 6:42 pm

Struggling to find one on the road actually even if it’s priced at 140k for the pre facelift no one is buying it.

• Its a niche market… In malaysia it is hard to justify this type of car with this price range…But if u a purist and want a modern car with stick shift, this is one of it…