Peugeot 208 GTi facelift gets a power hike to 208 hp

2015_Peugeot_208_GTi_by_Peugeot_Sport_01

Alongside the updated 208 range, the PSA has also revealed the Peugeot 208 GTi facelift. The winner of our hot hatch shootout last December receives minor changes for 2015, the most significant of which is a small power bump from 200 hp to 208 hp.

On the outside, the new GTi gets the same restyled front bumper introduced with the facelift range. As before, though, the grille is unique to the range-topping model, featuring a similar chequered flag design and a red bar below the blacked-out centre strip. The GTi-specific headlights stay as before.

The black and red car you see here is a new variant called the 208 GTi by Peugeot Sport – essentially the 208 GTi 30th Anniversary Edition that’s now an integral part of the model line-up. It boasts the same upgrades – lowered ride height, 18-inch wheels, bucket seats, Brembo brakes and Torsen differential – as the limited-run special.

As mentioned above, both the standard 208 GTi and 208 GTi by Peugeot Sport (yes, that’s the variant name) get the same 1.6 litre THP208 engine first introduced in the 30th Anniversary Edition. So that’s 208 hp and 300 Nm of torque (up 8 hp and 25 Nm on the outgoing model) paired to the same six-speed manual gearbox. Sounds good to you?

Standard Peugeot 208 facelift range

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• a pocket rocket that you can live with everyday & still have fun at sepang

• bigboy on Feb 19, 2015 at 9:10 pm

18 inch wheels…

• TS.Lim on Feb 19, 2015 at 11:28 pm

Please come to Malaysia this year and launch it with same or slightly cheaper price!
    I might consider this.

• Deus Ex on Feb 20, 2015 at 7:08 am

Dear Peugeot owners, how’s the aftersales service? Good, acceptable, below average or downright bad? No BS assessment.

• Ng Zhi Lin on Feb 20, 2015 at 9:29 am

Hi there! i was previously an owner of Peugeot 208 (registered on august 2014) and i have since sold it.
        depending on where you live, Peugeot Kota Kinabalu has a hell of a service center!!!! upon receiving my car, i noticed there were already rattles beneath the steering column. i decided to let it go and rectify it once i service the car (1000km). 2 weeks in, i couldnt start my car, O2 sensor kong, some problems with the ECU. so i called Peugeot to tow my car, they only came to my house 2 days LATER!!!!!!!!!!

• I’ve been sending my 407 for regular service at geotauto PJ ever since I got it in 2009. No need for appointments so I always come early morning before work. It’s been good there. Not sure about other places tho.

• oklarr on May 26, 2015 at 3:56 pm

owned 208 vti 5-door white, completed 2 years owning already. Wanna review?

FC – Good, comparable to Vios, City, jimat.
        Driving – Fun, pleasure, handling very good. Clocked 210km/h downhill, standard 190km/h very stable.
        Comfort – interior space comparable to Myvi, boot larger than myvi. compartment very small.
        Service/after-sales – Hm. Service cost quite pricey at service center. Later after first 3 years warranty finish gonna service outside. Claim of parts also need to wait, very comparable to VW sc. But if you stay far from town.
        Problem so far? Oxygen sensor fault, making your car displaying weird status, saying fault everywhere. But afterall that was sensor only and safe to drive. Go to SC to fix it then okay already. Battery went finish fast also. But both problem is normal for this kind of car (with sensor everywhere). Not suitable if you’re the kind of ppl who far from town – because SC in small town only dealer and not specialist.

Small car with prince engine at 87k – same engine as BMW 1-series, alfa romeo, renault, citroen, mini cooper (which all of these topped hundreds K of price)

• 308 turbo for 2 years 3 month.
      So far so good. Good car indeed
      service is acceptable.
      From ipoh.

• Deus Ex on Feb 21, 2015 at 11:46 am

Hmmm, so drawing from all your experiences I guess Peugeot West M’sia is a lot better than here out East, pity. Still, this GTi looks like it’d be one hell of a ride.

• Ng Zhi Lin on Feb 20, 2015 at 9:50 am

well, i was an ex Peugeot owner of the 208. Depending on where you live, Peugeot Jalan Kolombong service center at Kota Kinabalu is HELL!!!! i received my car in August 2014, and upon driving my car back home from the showrooom, rattles could be heard beneath the steering column. i decided to fix it once my car hits 1000km. so few weeks in, the car couldnt start, AT ALL! so i called Peugeot and they towed my car 2 DAYS after my call!!! mind you, i was calling during a weekday (Tuesday to be specific…) and they determined there was a fault with my O2 sensor and ECU.
    i then waited and waited for it to be fixed, i had to borrow my mum’s waja to get to my office (public transportation in KK sucks). it was so troublesome! my mum sometimes needed to use the car to buy groceries adn stuff and here i am.. troubling her…
    1 month went by and my car was still at the service center, no courtesy car was given at all. sigh.
    finally after 48 days, my car was ready to be picked up. i was furious at that point! telling myself why didnt i just get the vios or city. but my car is okay.. for now…
    roughly 1 week later, the first week of November, it was raining heavily in KK and i was stuck in a jam, well more of a crawling. thats when my car decided to jerk, judder and turn off by itself!
    thanks to me.. now people will have a stagnant jam for sure! got outside to check the engine compartment, couldnt risk opening it as it was heavy rain. i called peugeot but it was at 6 p.m already. they told me they could arrange a tow truck to come as early as 11 p.m.! wat is this? some kind of joke? then thankfully someone decided to help me push my car to the side of the road, both of us were soaking wet! i will forever be grateful to him.
    i called my mum and she picked me up, i left the car by the roadside, have to lock it manually since the alarm wont function. Peugeot took the car ard 11.45 p.m. and during that time, i started discussing with my mum about selling off my car and get a new car! this time however, ECU was replaced again and some other parts, waited 4 weeks for my car to be fixed. once its fixed, i immediately took a leave and went to the bank to finish up my loan, borrowed money from my mum. my d/p was 20k, borrowed moeny from my mum 60k and use my savings to finish up all the loan, then 3 days later i headed to a 2nd hand shop to sell off my car.. guess how much they wana take for a 5 month old car?? bought it at rm 85k, with rm3k discount, they quoted my rm68k!!!!!!!!!!!!! i was utterly perplexed. i surveyed around, and the highest i could get was rM 70K FOR A 5 MONTH OLD CAR!
    i sold it off, gave my mum back the 60k, and put rm10k downpayment on Myvi 1.5 extreme (at that time, new myvi wasnt out). BEST DECISION I EVA MADE!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • peter on Feb 20, 2015 at 1:42 pm

Luckily I spotted the 208GTi that was allocated to me being used as a display unit at 1 Utama (the chassis number allocated to me matched with the unit on display) although I had clearly said no display or demo units.

Nasim did not even apologise when caught with their pants down.

Whoever is thinking of buying one better be careful. I cancelled my order.

• daniellys on Feb 21, 2015 at 2:17 am

Saw a new (WA 2xxx Q) 408 broke down on 19th Jan near Bentong, waiting to be towed away! Well that’s just explained how durable the car is, pity the owner though :(

• 208 GTi since 2013 on Feb 21, 2015 at 12:35 pm

I have my 208GTi for 13 months now. It had gone through a lot of abuses since I got my car. I drove it to the red line, corner it hard, brake it hard, speeding on uneven road surface. I even drive it on gravel road back to my kampong! Till this date this car had proven to be a very solid car, inside and out. I enjoy my drive everyday as I used it as my daily work horse. I only left it idle on weekends when I drive a bigger sedan to accommodate my family. Great car as an everyday hero. Not a family car so please at least has another car before consider this. This car is definitely a keeper

• BoringRakyat on Feb 23, 2015 at 4:12 pm

* I even drive it on gravel *

I mistakenly read gravel as grave . Laughed my ass off when i read this..

• Uvnice on Feb 22, 2015 at 1:05 pm

So the normal 208 GTi now come with Torsen differential?

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Feb 22, 2015 at 2:04 pm

Afraid not. Other than the styling updates and uprated THP208 engine, the 208 GTi stays as before.

The Torsen differential is added to the 208 GTi by Peugeot Sport, a new variant, together with a lowered ride height, 18-inch wheels, bucket seats and Brembo brakes – as per the 208 GTi 30th Anniversary Edition.

• intermilan on Mar 10, 2015 at 3:56 pm

This newest version, 208 GTi by Peugeot Sport WILL replace the current/standard 208 GTi.

208 GTi by Peugeot Sport is essentially similar to Peugeot 208 GTi 30th Anniversary as it will retain all the revisions made on 208 GTi 30th Anniversary.

That’s what they wrote on evo.co.uk

Anyway, bravo Peugeot Sport for the effort as every changes they introduced received positive feedback by almost if not all UK based reviewers.

I particularly praise the inclusion of Torsen LSD.
    208 GTi shall murder any corner with aplomb now I reckon.

Nasim should stop selling the standard 208 GTi and moves swiftly to launch CKD version of 208 GTi by Peugeot Sport.