Peugeot 208 GTi to return to M’sia in facelifted form

Hot hatch fans rejoice, for the Peugeot 208 GTi will return to our shores! The news was broken during the launch of the facelifted Peugeot 208 and 2008, hinting that the pocket rocket will arrive soon in facelifted form, although no details have been released just yet.

Nasim senior general manager Yasser Awan said that the outgoing model – which has already been sold out – was a successful model for the company and has achieved a cult following among enthusiasts. Expect the price of the new car to hover around its predecessor’s RM139,888 price tag.

Changes to the GTi include the same integrated front grille and bumper design as the standard car, along with new LED tail lights with triple “lion claw” light guides. The GTi-specific headlights (with C-shaped LED indicators) and 17-inch “Carbone” two-tone alloy wheels remain unchanged, while the red highlight on the grille is now a simple stripe inset into the lower part of the grille.

Inside, the rather tacky graduated red decorative trim has been replaced by piano black items, with the door handles gaining the same red stripe as on the hardcore 30th Anniversary Edition (now called the 208 GTi by Peugeot Sport and no, that one is most likely not coming).

The Prince 1.6 litre THP turbo four-cylinder engine has been retained, but has been breathed on to boost output by 8 hp and 25 Nm to 208 hp and 300 Nm of torque, the same outputs as the 30th Anniversary Edition. A six-speed manual transmission remains the sole gearbox option.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Bernard on Jan 11, 2017 at 4:45 pm

What a great car! If only its priced below RM80k….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
    • Coriolis on Jan 11, 2017 at 10:25 pm

Below 80k? Got. Buy a 2nd hand unit.

• Be realistic! on Jan 11, 2017 at 11:42 pm

U r a joker! Wake up small boy! Why dont u say Honda or Toyota should sell at RM20k!

• gtiowner on Jan 11, 2017 at 11:45 pm

what a great iphone! If only its priced below RM1k

• Imagine suddenly all the french marquees pull out of the malaysian market entirely. Meaning no more new Peugeot, Citroen and Renault cars sold here. Apart from the current owners who will cry for their cars’ resale value going straight to hell, how many potential malaysian carbuyers would shed a tear? I bet not many as there are plenty of better cars sold by better distributors in the market to choose from.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
      • Peugeot 405 had a good value even after IBiS automobile ceased operation. Same goes to Peugeot 406. Many ex peug mechanics set their own workshop. Not a big issue

• 80k? Sammy says can, just wait 1 year later.

• hmmm was hoping the 208 by PS would come here…

• lolpanda on Jan 11, 2017 at 5:33 pm

when speaking of hot hatches, yes it’s a little up on power but the ultimate question is still “How does it drive and how does it take on the winding roads?”

the outgoing 208 GTi was seen as a step up from previous pugs but not quite close to its rivals such as the Fiesta ST and Polo GTi. It was quick for sure but it’s ruined by an engine that gets more breathless the harder you push it. Also, can’t forget that mushy brake and clutch action….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 17
    • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Jan 11, 2017 at 7:09 pm

To some people, the ultimate question is “timing belt or timing chain?”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
      • honestly it’s not going to make a world of a difference for performance cars…i never understood the whole timing belt / timing chain debacle when it’s one of the least serviced items (relative to other parts of the car).

in any case, these performance hatches – despite using similar serviceable parts as the cooking models – do need to have those parts replaced/serviced at a shorter interval. for example where a pair of sparks would be replaced every 100Ks; it’s probably 60Ks on these babies.

maintenance cost isn’t going to be the #1 consideration for this target market…it’ll probably be somewhere down the list, but definitely not #1

• lolpanda on Jan 11, 2017 at 8:23 pm

actually the belt vs. chain conversation is near negligible considering it’s a single part (that’s not ridiculously expensive) which doesn’t need to be replaced very often.

yes some people argue on the strength/durability but honestly, belts have been used for ages and it’s not a primary failing component…just service/replace it when it’s due or even earlier if you’re concerned

• Msnxxx on Jan 11, 2017 at 8:48 pm

Hey bro…your statements are wrong
      Advice u to read more reviews

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
      • mr pug on Jan 12, 2017 at 7:26 pm

I believe he was referring to the new Polo GTi not the outgoing one on Malaysian roads… I have to agree with mr panda to some effect: most reviews around the world do state that the Pug, while good, is nowhere near as good to drive as the Fiesta ST…I can vouch for the mushy brake and the clutch biting point is rather vague…if you limit your literature to Malaysian reviews then you may find opinions differ.

• Msnxxx on Jan 13, 2017 at 1:22 pm

Sorry dude i only read European review…hardly even paultan

• Yahooxxx on Jan 13, 2017 at 3:01 pm

To be fair there’s no harm in a blend of both foreign reviews and the ones on Paultan as they typically give a local perspective for a typical Malaysian buyer. Of course not all of us fit that profile.

That’s why there are 208 GTIs on the road, there are Fiesta STs on the road, hardly see the Clio RS though…there’s certainly a lot of Polo GTIs on the roads. We may all like or dislike them for our reasons but everyone had their reason for buying one.

I’m actually new to Paultan and immediately i notice 2 things:

1. Most (not all) people here are just commenting based on reviews done by others and/or short ‘test drives’ – which is a highly inaccurate gauge even as a personal perspective.

2. We don’t all have to agree on something, but it seems typical here where people bash what’s deemed as an ‘unpopular opinion’. Everyone’s entitled to their own…these are all fun cars, just enjoy it!

And I hate to say this but for those of you trolls and bashers who’ve never owned one of these; well, don’t buy them if you don’t like em, easy as that.

• Coriolis on Jan 11, 2017 at 10:34 pm

Fiesta ST edges 208 GTi on dynamics, but Polo GTI does not even come close to either of them. Heck, even Clio RS is better than the Polo.

• How much does the Clio RS cost compared to the Polo GTi? Figure out yourself why Clio RS is much better

• hothatchery on Jan 12, 2017 at 7:45 pm

have you driven the Clio RS? go and test drive one and you’ll realise how slow the gearbox responds to inputs…. it’s not terrible, but for a hot hatch; definitely not good enough.

• Coriolis on Jan 13, 2017 at 1:48 pm

In fact, I am fortunate to have driven each of them myself.. have you tried bring

• Coriolis on Jan 13, 2017 at 2:06 pm

I am fortunate to have driven all of them, and I say the clio RS works best on the track. Fiesta st and 208 gti are the ones I’ll take to Ulu Yam, and polo gti is just not worth anything.

Now, which of the hot hatches have you actually driven? Or none of them?

• hothatchery on Jan 13, 2017 at 2:40 pm

as a matter of fact i’ve indeed driven all of them (albeit not on a track) and still, the Clio RS’s gearbox needs some reworking.

you reference track days and that may be your thing, but how relevant is it to most people?

yes i can definitely agree with you on the Polo GTi…it’s definitely at a deficit here.

• Coriolis on Jan 13, 2017 at 1:42 pm

You can price the polo GTi cheaper than all of the other hot hatches, and it doesn’t cancel the fact that polo is underperforming. Did I touch a raw nerve there? I’ll say it again: polo gti is way behind everyone in terms of design, comfort, performance and price.

• 208gti owner on Jan 11, 2017 at 11:47 pm

It drives bloody brilliantly actually. And the engine is a torque wonder. So much torque midrange makes it extremely drivable. While true in terms of driving dynamics it might be slightly edged out by the Fiesta ST, but the comfort and interior quality you get in return makes it a better choice for those waiting a daily driver. Not sure where you get your facts, especially it being ‘not quite close’ the Polo GTI.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 22
      • 208gti bias on Jan 12, 2017 at 7:30 pm

“it drives bloody brilliantly” says the owner of a 208 GTi…kinda puts a hole on the whole credibility thing..

is the 208 GTi good? yes…but is it brilliant? probably not…it may make a good daily driver, but not a hot hatch

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
        • You are not even driving a 208 GTi to be fit to tell that it is a “good daily driver”, and also far from being fit to comment that it is NOT a hot hatch. Please let the owner of the GTi give this comment, dear Keyboard hot hatch.

• hothatchery on Jan 13, 2017 at 3:42 pm

208 GTi owner here…and i’ll be as neutral as i possibly can be, highlighting the pros and cons. I test-drove all possible options back then but largely compared the 208 GTI and Fiesta ST during my purchase so that’ll be what my opinion is based on.

1a. it’s a good daily driver because it’s got a softer setup than it’s rivals and it rides like any other small hatch when you’re just going along.

1b. it’s not a good daily driver when you’re coming home from work on Jalan Tun Razak at 7pm everyday (but no manual will be).

2. some call it the most practical. to be honest, no 2-door will be largely practical, but it gets the job done. I didn’t really buy it for practicality anyway.

3. you never feel it’s underpowered (ever!). Don’t get me wrong, its rivals are no slouch as they’re all light and relatively within the same power figures (remember, the Fiesta ST pushes 199PS and 270Nm which you can see from all the 0-100 times. For sheer straight-line acceleration, the Clio RS will get you there. For maximum effect, Fiesta ST..the symposer makes things come to life (i liked it, not everyone will). I saw the power department as a tie – the differences were negligible in real world applications (plus you need to compare the wheel horse power if you really want to geek it out).

4. Best bang for your buck! it’s the cheapest among its rivals with the most bells and whistles (got mine when they were throwing RM7k discounts and RM15k for a previous year manufactured unit, if I recall correctly)

5. You’ve read every review and yes, it’s not as exciting as the Fiesta ST, but it’s not a dull car to drive at all. Many people wouldn’t be able to tell the difference nor would you notice it unless you step out of one and jump into the other for a drive immediately.

6. The clutch setup..probably not “mushy” as lolpanda describes it, but you can feel it’s been setup to ‘ease in’ to make it easier for the everyday user. This, IMHO, can feel a bit vague sometimes. The Fiesta ST has a much more definite and sharper biting point. I must say the “gear shift feel” goes to the Fiesta ST as well, it’s got a nice solid lock in and out when changing gears.

7. Looks are subjective, but i think it’s got the best interior among all its rivals (and then some). It’s the nicest cabin to be in compared with its rivals whether you’re goofing about or just want to go on a normal drive.

Verdict 1: What ultimately make me choose the Pug? It was an all rounder, but it doesn’t mean it’s a bad thing, sometimes that’s what we want; especially for everyday use. Good price (during discounts), good to drive, good interior. Why not?

Verdict 2: If you’re looking for pure excitement at all levels, the Fiesta ST will probably leave you smiling silly. But the trade of would be a firm ride and because the front Recaros are bolstered up; it’s quite a chore to get in and out of the back. Not recommended if you plan to ferry people around in the back.

There you go. They’re both tremendously excellent cars to suit the desires of different drivers. So whichever you pick, just enjoy it! These are fun cars!

• 208gti owner on Jan 12, 2017 at 11:27 pm

I actually was upfront to say that I am a gti owner. So people know that I am sharing from experience and not picked from ‘reviews’ online like some of the keyboard warriors here. It was in reply to lolpanda’s questions (“How does it drive and how does it take on the winding roads?”). And I stand by my word, that it drives brilliantly, at least more brilliant than any car in it’s RM139k price. Also, by brilliant I meant that it handles well.

Perhaps your definition of hot hatch is >300bhp >400Nm >RM180k those kind of hatches, and if so, good for you, but the 208 gti being 200bhp, 275Nm is plenty fast for a touge car and despite that, has better compliance in the rough city roads than a Merc A250 or even to a certain extent, the Fiesta ST. That is not to say those are bad cars, but the 208 gti is definitely no where near what lolpanda has described it to be.

Cheers :)

• Yahooxxx on Jan 13, 2017 at 3:54 pm

as an owner could you please share some feedback on lolpanda’s comment that the engine gets breathless the more you push it?

this was also something mentioned in the Paultan review but i was wondering if it’s apparent.

“the 208 GTi…becomes breathless about a grand under the 6,000 rpm red line, and the gloopily damped gearshift also radiates slightly ponderous vibes.”

your honest opinion is appreciated as i’m seriously considering one (looking at a used outgoing model not the facelift)

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jan 13, 2017 at 4:02 pm

I’ve had a 208 GTi for 2 years now. Still stand by the three-car comparison test :)

• Yahooxxx on Jan 13, 2017 at 4:07 pm

thanks Hafriz! when you mentioned the breathlessness and gloopy shifts; could you please share if it is all that noticeable vs the Fiesta ST?

unfortunately SDAC don’t have test drive units readily available so i can’t compare it myself.

i’m pretty sold on the other areas but the clutch and gear-shift action are my primary concern.

• aurel on Jan 12, 2017 at 8:10 pm

the 208 GTI lacks aural feedback..your body counters the force of the torque kickback overtime so you don’t really feel it after awhile (passengers still do). things are worse when it sounds like a regular 4-pot engine without any roar or thrill.

say what you want about sound symposers (the tube that channels bits of the engine sound into the cabin without bothering other road users with stupidly loud exhausts). This makes you feel more engaged with the power delivery as you run through the revs.

AMG mercs have them, the LFA has it, many performance cars have it, but of course that doesn’t mean everyone will like it..so to each their own; i wish there was a way to fit it in my pug…exhaust mods just makes it sound a little ahbeng-ish.

• Msnxxx on Jan 13, 2017 at 1:26 pm

Seems like there is a lot of fanboys trying to bash other brand…..they can even say a car is bad even before test drive the facelifted car..sigh

• hothatchery on Jan 12, 2017 at 7:43 pm

the Fiesta ST has a clear edge over the Pug as the world knows..power isn’t the ultimate recipe for a hot hatch. i too would like to see if they’ve done anything to the ride on this facelift, I doubt it tho.

I got the 208 GTI for over a year now and picked it for its softer ride but if I’ll be honest, when I see the ST on the road a little part of me wished I got that instead…sat in one recently in a convoy and while the ride was firm, it didn’t seem to bother me so much now than it did back then…

my advice, if you’re looking for a “practical” hatchback, 208 GTI without a doubt..but if you’re going for all out hot hatchery..the winner is clear

• Eternalgl0ry on Jan 11, 2017 at 5:37 pm

I highly doubt the price will be the same. The reason it sold out was because of the very reasonable price

If it is able to sell at or around the same price amount will be a complete winner. Probably more and more people will go for this over most 130k cars

• mr pug on Jan 11, 2017 at 8:31 pm

actually, the reason it sold out was because there weren’t many units stocked up to begin with.

yes it was cheaper than its competitors but that wasn’t the primary reason a 2-door manual hot hatch went out of stock.

like it or not, the true enthusiast market is very, very small in this country. There’s a very thin line between being an actual enthusiast and a ricer.

• iluv671 on Jan 11, 2017 at 11:48 pm

yea don think so, but even if there is increase in price is also expectable, 5 years ago the cars was priced at 140k, and we are paying RM4.5 for USD1 now

• 12yrsold on Jan 11, 2017 at 7:25 pm

The Pug 208 GTi is a handsome Hot Hatch in any angle. With an increase to 208 hp and 300 Nm of torque, this little Pug will run rings around most B-segment HB.

• mr pug on Jan 13, 2017 at 3:56 pm

that goes without saying when other B-segment HB are urban trotters and not performance-biased.

the question is if it will run rings around its hot hatch rivals?

• 12yrsold on Jan 14, 2017 at 2:10 pm

You are quite right there mr pug. I’m not wrong either. That is why i said “Most”. As for other Hot Hatches like Fiesta ST/Polo GTi/Clio RS, I believe they are all “almost” in the same league.

They all have their pros & cons which I’m not going to even tell you as many experts here have given their feedback which I’m not going to dispute as i respect their “opinion”.

Lastly, No one & I mean NO ONE can claim theirs are better because everyone buy a certain car base on their needs/wants at that time. 5 years down the road, when you are married with kids, your needs will change so will your taste for cars. Cheers mate

• Coriolis on Jan 11, 2017 at 10:39 pm

Would love to see the 208 by PS. Considered better than the Fiesta ST, with LSD… and that two tone paint. Yum.