New Honda Accord appears on oto.my – Sept launch

s4-4047-image_1

It’s getting really close to the introduction of the ASEAN-spec ninth-gen Honda Accord in Malaysia now, by the looks of it – last month, a listing for the 2.0 litre showed up on oto.my, and now an ad for the 2.4 VTi-L variant has appeared, with an indicative pricing of RM175,500 being mentioned.

UPDATE: We’ve driven the new Honda Accord. Click here to read our review.

On the equipment list are leather seats, keyless entry/start, GPS navigation system and LaneWatch Blind Spot Display for the variant, which has 174 hp at 6,200 rpm and 225 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm for output figures. Like the 2.0 litre, this one is paired to a five-speed auto transmission.

What’s more interesting are the photos that accompany the ad listing that went up last week – they look like they’re taken at a dealer preview of the sedan here in Malaysia.

We even have a firmer indication of when the car will be in local showrooms, and that’s September 5, which isn’t very far away – whilst driving past Batu Pahat last Friday, our man Hafriz snapped a couple of photos of a banner shouting the launch date!

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Alpha on Aug 26, 2013 at 7:14 pm

I’ve seen the new Accord in the metal. It looks way more upmarket than the Camry.

And while the Mazda6 have that sporty looks, this new Accord certainly looks bigger and more luxurious. But I believe the target buyers are different for both models.

But still, both wayy better buy than the Camry. Such an annoying thing that the poorly equipped Camry have better 2nd hand value than the others.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 137 Thumb down 19
    • the camry was already ugly to begin with, to say that this is prettier isn’t saying much, that said i don’t think this is anywhere near as attractive as the 6, but this would easily have the best interior of the three

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 5
      • carlies on Aug 26, 2013 at 8:59 pm

The outlook of this model looks not much different to the Accord before 2008. The design is now going backward! Terrible and seriously, this model looks like old car, no wao effect at all. Feel like no matter how make it bigger size to fight with other D segment! Bored!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 56
        • haha, wao factor, i learned new word

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
          • _xXx_ on Aug 27, 2013 at 10:31 am

saw the car in Thailand. Thought it was an old sonata…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
        • this accord might not be much of a looker at first glance..but with times i think i will gets better..just like new civic.. i love it more each day..

btw.. why is everybody saying camry is a bad car.. it’s simply not. it might be overpriced but the quality is still there.. half of it is still UMW’s fault u know for the price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 9
        • Butthurt comment of a 8G Accord owner? lool

• Car fan on Aug 26, 2013 at 8:12 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 170
      • carlies on Aug 26, 2013 at 8:49 pm

Who dare to go for Accord again? This will become the Proton after some years, no guaranteed RV at all for all the Honda cars especially this Accord. Other Honda models will go the same path.

This is very simple reason for me to go for Camry or M6. No more Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 115
    • I’ll slot the Accord right between the Mazda 6 and the Camry,better than the Camry, well batter equipped, but more conservative than the 6, for those that keep a low profile. thailand gets 6 airbags on the higher 2.0 and 2.4, so please let this be the same here.

But it’s a Honda, and carries a H badge. So, there will be bashers. I’am seeing them lining up with the 4-star ANCAP excuse. Interestingly it receive 5-stars from the United States NHTSA, thou this is probably boosted by it performing rather well in the small frontal overlap crash, it also scores 4-statrs in a head long collision.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
      • frenzyaustin on Aug 26, 2013 at 10:00 pm

Ya, don’t understand why people say it’s ugly. It just conservative, not ugly like Preve and Camry. IMO, Accord looks much better than Audi wannabe Passat, on par with new Mondeo but lower than M6 and 508.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 39
        • NasiMinyak on Aug 26, 2013 at 11:11 pm

Frenzyaustin – You not very smart. Passat is Audi wannabe? Audi is the one that needs to get VW board sign-off before it can release a car. Remember, the owner of Audi is still VW and every car in the VW family needs to get the board sign off.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 10
          • kadajawi on Aug 26, 2013 at 11:24 pm

I doubt it. Skoda could release the Superb, and that really pissed VW off. But there was nothing they could do… except for firing the CEO of Skoda for releasing a car that is too good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
          • Colin Wong on Aug 26, 2013 at 11:56 pm

Nasi Minyak sir, Frenzy is not entirely wrong even though I may not use the same phrasing. If you know German friends, they will tell you VW is their kereta rakyat, ie biasa je. So if you are looking for a German Perdana, it is a Passat. If you want something more prestigious from the VW group, Audi is the choice. I check with my nephew who lives in Germany and it is true.

• frenzyaustin on Aug 27, 2013 at 9:18 am

Just look at the rear of Passat, looks like a watered down Audi, or Audi is just a beefed up Passat?

• alldisc on Aug 27, 2013 at 11:59 am

dear OilRice..

in VAG, Audi is the most prestigous passenger car make between them all (VW/Skoda/Seat) so it goes without saying that Audi should set the trend, only to be followed later by the rest.

the same trend happened to turbocharging, high powered diesel engines and also DSG. Toyota does the same with Lexus. and Ford too when Jaguar was with them.

• kyoshiro on Aug 27, 2013 at 2:37 pm

So you are saying..”Better buying a Toyota Camry rather than Lexus GS250?”…:D

• Honestly, Preve and even the much-hated Camry XV50, is not really too bad on my eyes, maybe because they are everywhere. They are certainly not as hedious as the Innova facelift or the Ssangyong Stevic (say what u like, I was tailing the new one on my trip back from Penang and it was terrible IMO). The Accord won’t turn heads, but its meant to be. In fact, to me is the ideal Camry, the Accord use to be the sportier alternative, and the Camry the contemporary reliable Japanese sedan.

But I really do not see how a Passat acn be a Audi wannabe. Where the Audi Exudes modern contemporary Art like most Audi, the Passat looks, rather common without the LED lights, just edging out of the usual Japanese lot for contemporary. I know this, there is a Passat and a FL A4 around my neighborhood.

• Colin Wong on Aug 27, 2013 at 9:01 pm

Dear AVH, as mentioned elsewhere in this discussion, Passat is Germany Perdana. If you want something better, the VW Group offers you Audi. Maybe it was not put across quite accurately but in essence, yes, VW group stratifies the different grades of vehicle with VW at one level and Audi at the next.

• Colin Wong on Aug 26, 2013 at 10:20 pm

US made Accord have different specs. A 4 star rating is inexcusable for a Honda. They need to go for remedial action and retest

• If you are tralking about interior, yes, different Audio system lighting , the lot. But onto safety, Please indulge me with this ‘different spec’ between the Australian and the US Accord. I’am curious.
          And this remedial action and retest, the small frontal overlap is a stringent test where many of the supposed ‘safer’ Conti and Korea cars fail not by the passive safety system but by their structural strength. I’am defending Honda here, but you make it sound like all Honda on the road will be a potential death trap like the Ford Pinto or teh 1st gen Ford Explorer.

• Colin Wong on Aug 27, 2013 at 9:45 am

AVH, we are not putting the Accord down and likening it to Pinto. What we are saying is this: why would you buy a car that has gone backward on safety? Why would you go for a 4 star product when the same budget gets you a 5 star car? For your info, only cars with curtain airbags can score 5 stars in ANCAP. The unit tested in Australia was from Thailand (since 1999, AU import Accords from TH). US tests use cars from Marysville OH. I can’t say for sure they are different but neither can I say that they are identical in design, build process and material.

Rather than doubting the ANCAP test, just let us accept that we are paying for a car that is only 5 star in safety rating. Let Honda do their job. Harping back to US test ain’t gonna help. It is like saying my twin brother passes his medical test in the US and why didn’t I? My test is wrong?

• Actually I’am not doubting the the ANCAP system, I’am doubting the people who doubt the US IIHS system. frankly I do admit the Accord did bad in the frontal collision even in the US, where it did also scored 4 stars in that area(and weirdly the coupe version scored 5). But It live up to the test in the small overlap crash frontal teat, Honda is one of the few manufecturer that did well there, many failed in that area. And as for the curtain airbags in Australia, I did check, Australia only sells the 2.4 version, and all of them gets curtain airbags. Even I would say that 4 is not enough, but according to the rating, it is good enough to get us from any serious injury. Toyota didn’t do well in anay areas in the IIHS test….surprisingly. And as for the twin brother passes his medical test in the US and why didn’t I?…Its just basically means that they are tested by two different system, I pass my SAT and not my A-levels. Both can still be used, but if you pass your SAT, you are good to go.

• Colin Wong on Aug 27, 2013 at 9:03 pm

Err AVH, wrong answer. One twin passed and the other twin failed because they are essentially different people but people would assume they are the same. In this case, not all cars of the same model and spec’ed the same. So, it does OK in one, not the other.

• Yes, 6 air-bags for the 2.0 PUHHHLLLLLEEEAAAASSSEEE! Guaranteed to eat Camry for breakfast!

• dugong on Aug 26, 2013 at 9:42 pm

Camry is the undisputed world’s ugliest car. So saying this accord looks better is redundant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
    • Pontiac on Aug 26, 2013 at 11:05 pm

No no. U dont simply said LGE do wrong by choosing ugly camry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 16
      • salambangi on Aug 27, 2013 at 9:47 am

LGE is as ugly as Camry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 15
      • hell…LGE is the most intelligent, smart and very clean person…he is like angel in human form….

hehe… ;-p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
    • alldisc on Aug 27, 2013 at 8:31 am

dont forget honda did not succeed with their ‘go-bigger’ plan when they launched the 8th gen Accord. hardly a dent on camry sales.

camry sales had slowed down a lot, but it was an impact made by a tag team of Sonata/Mazda 6/VW Passat and not Honda Accord. Accord sales were actually also affected by those 3, PLUS Nissan Teana and Kia Optima as well.

many ppl said back then the all new honda accord was launched with 5 speed gearbox and more powerful engine and bigger body+cabin that it will kill Camry (the same thing when Sonata and optima k5 luanched) but that never happened. the scenario is worse now when Accord has to face rivals that are better equipped (turbo, 6 speed, moonroof, 6 airbags). no need to worry about stealing Camry sales but its very own.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • carnoisseur on Aug 27, 2013 at 10:26 am

quite frankly , the Mazda models are the only ones with the WOW factor set aside for the Alfas and perhaps the Volvo V40 but that is another league altogether . even the new contis looked so boring with non stimulating interiors to match .

• Not so much change but it looks great! Mazda 6 and this r better choice! Camry is too ugly to be a car!

• Sam Loo on Aug 27, 2013 at 7:19 pm

RV RV RV

D Segment vehicles, nothing can match Camry’s RV

• encik boss on Aug 26, 2013 at 7:15 pm

Prefer add some bucks and get mazda6 2.5

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 8
    • frenzyaustin on Aug 26, 2013 at 8:04 pm

But M6 is too sporty for 50 years old uncle aunty, whom is the majority of this segment buyer, and that’s why M6 didn’t sell well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 8
      • Sky pirate on Aug 26, 2013 at 8:31 pm

You got to be kidding right? Do you even know how long is the waiting list for the Mazda6? Of cuz it’s not selling as good as the Camry and Accord, but it’s definitely selling more than they can bring in.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
        • frenzyaustin on Aug 26, 2013 at 10:04 pm

Number on M6 on the road is like number of Porsche Cayanne I saw in Penang. Majority of uncle aunty don’t know Mazda exist, only know Camry and Accord and Camry better than Accord because their friends said so. Luckily my mum still know Mazda as 323 is very popular back then. But the too sporty looks and drive don’t suit them anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
          • skypirate on Aug 27, 2013 at 4:42 pm

Mazda3, CX5 and Mazda6, these 3 cars are what moving the volume of cars sold in Malaysia for Mazda. The Mazda3 and CX5 are now CKD-ed, so they are using pretty much all their APs to import the Mazda6, and yet you have to wait next year to get a Mazda6 if you book one now. That pretty much sums it all how well is the Mazda6 doing.

• Pontiac on Aug 26, 2013 at 11:10 pm

U make me laugh LOL when u said this car not sellingwell. The AP for this model are fully book till the end of the year. NOOB

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
      • U better go and check how long is the waiting list for M6 before you said that

• carnoisseur on Aug 27, 2013 at 10:27 am

I believe that the mazda will sell better in the coming months

• Ryan.C on Aug 26, 2013 at 7:20 pm

I feel current model and new 1 about the same.
    i would say this is facelift.

But the true is .. new model… -.-“

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
  • Ezhar Ahmad on Aug 26, 2013 at 7:24 pm

Is this the in going to be used by the government ? Or are they using the 8th gen model.?

• alldisc on Aug 27, 2013 at 8:39 am

hmm.. if rebadged Proton, then definitely 8th gen.

if it is the genuine Accord, this model then.

• Any hybrid variant coming to Malaysia?

• alldisc on Aug 27, 2013 at 8:49 am

actually the hybrid model looks gorgeus!! honda malaysia should act fast and bring it in even though may affect its own accord sales. they still make money and consumer wins as well.

• abcdefg on Aug 26, 2013 at 7:33 pm

4 star ANCAP

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • Happy? Better get PReve or Suprima S which got 5 star ANCAP … let the Government use 4 star car … …. Rakyat safer than those G…. haha…

• keepyourpromise on Aug 26, 2013 at 7:46 pm

i thought we are promised car prices will go down. how come it seems to go up? accord was 166k. upcoming model 175k? whyyy???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
    • alldisc on Aug 27, 2013 at 8:51 am

to reduce impact on re-sale value of the previous gen – it has always been like that.

• Coroner on Aug 26, 2013 at 7:47 pm

When you drive it, make sure you don’t bump into government official cars. It won’t be an easy feeling.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Wow mom’s getting superr excited if I tell her. And if I recommend (begging) her to buy she may even realize it. Been a long time since she dreamt of having an Accord. :-)

• Colin Wong on Aug 26, 2013 at 7:58 pm

It is a disappointment that this car scored only 4 stars in ANCAP. The Aussie testers even skipped the side pole impact test as it is only a 4-star scorer.

Also, I think the design is far too conservative and look 10 year old. Is this 2003?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
    • Zenyu on Aug 26, 2013 at 8:43 pm

but don;t forget it also scored the highest rating in
      US IIHS test. which is more strict than ANCAP

• Proton Staff on Aug 27, 2013 at 6:43 am

US version is always different from the world. The safety requirement is much higher. Most cars manufacturer use more HPF steel for US version. For the rest of the world, its different. For ASEAN market, it is even worst.

• mizzuddin on Aug 27, 2013 at 4:15 pm

i don’t understand why so many people mati2 defend the 4 star ANCAP rating like the USDM 5 star IIHS accord will be shipped here

mengada-ngadaa

• Proton may rebadge this model as th new Perdana? Instantly , price will drop by30k!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 3
  • drrif on Aug 26, 2013 at 8:06 pm

Never before has there been so few options for what to buy in this segment..

New Camry – as exciting as watching paint dry
    New Accord – boring – only a mild reverse facelift
    Mazda 626 – Looks a bit tinny…weak
    Teana – OK…not bad…but not exciting

5 years ago new Camry and Accord were exciting, made you feel good that u spend $$ on new car. Now its like forced to make a choice between the best of a bad bunch…even Contis boring, 5 series, E-class, A6…all boring, what has happened to car designers!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 22
    • Colin Wong on Aug 26, 2013 at 8:25 pm

You left out Peugeot 508. If you have not test driven one, go and try. I used to own a Camry, after test driving the 508, I decided to switch. All those talk about poor Nasim service is really not true. I have been there 3 time and honestly, they are much better than UMW Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 5
      • drrif on Aug 26, 2013 at 8:55 pm

True, the 508 is the best looking, and probably drives well too….BUT…it will only be worth 3ringgit when u sell it in 5 yrs…sorry, u r a brave man to buy the 508.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 9
        • carlies on Aug 26, 2013 at 9:08 pm

Agree! 508 comes with the best specs in the segment. But if you appreciate the gadget inside, the performance and the cabin space rather than the RV, better go for it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
        • Colin Wong on Aug 26, 2013 at 11:16 pm

Drrif, I used to share your mindset. Then I found myself driving my Camry and keeping it in pristine condition because of RV. You see, if you are thinking RV, you should be driving the cheapest acceptable car. When you are talking about D segment vehicle, you are likely to be in for the pleasure and experience. You can’t have it both ways. Put it this way, if you are so afraid that you will lose a lot driving a D segment car, ask yourself, what is your motivation then of owning one?

And btw, no I do not lose sleep over my 508 steeper depreciation because I really enjoy driving it

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 3
        • kadajawi on Aug 26, 2013 at 11:26 pm

You want to loose less money, buy a Viva. Even if the car is worth nothing after 5 years you will still have lost less than even on a Camry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
          • alldisc on Aug 27, 2013 at 9:04 am

or a 10 yrs old wira. bought at 8k 5 yrs ago. now value at 5k.

only 3k depreciation.

• NasiMinyak on Aug 26, 2013 at 11:06 pm

But Peugeot parts are so expensive! Even if you want to change the battery, you can only do it at official Peugeot centres as the battery is connected to the ECU unit. To change tyre also not easy. If you send your car for tyre balancing and alignment, it will cost twice that of Camry and Accord. Now do you still want to buy the 508?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 102
        • Colin Wong on Aug 26, 2013 at 11:31 pm

Nasi Minyak, you are telling me that DIN66L batteries are hard to find? Century, Yokohama (the one that explodes and gave Peugeot a bad name), Delkor and even AAM have it. Also, the handbook ask you to disconnect the battery if you do not use for more than 1 month. When you are back, put it on again. They made it so easy that the positive terminal fastening uses a clip and no spanner is needed! As for parts, give me a break, we used to own a Civic and Camry and parts aren’t cheap. They are only cheap because of alternative parts and kereta potong. Within 6 years, our Civic had aircon, steering pump, both rear bearing konked out. That is not the full list bro. The driver is btw female who treat the car with more love than the hubby. My Camry had problems with front suspension, radiator cracked, immobiliser died (car died in middle of traffic jam at Jalan Parlimen), ignition coil and the last straw was my tranny sounding funny – early sign of impending problem.

Do your homework and don’t just pass ignorant comments. If you need to borrow my user manual, be my guest but read it before you pass comments about a car you do not know. Btw, the 508 has a PEUGEOT- BMW Prince engine and a Jap Aisin (Toyota related company) transmission. Electronics are Bosch. So really, please do your homework before commenting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 8
          • NasiMinyak on Aug 27, 2013 at 6:20 am

Colin – you are not reading carefully. I did not say the battery is hard to find, its hard to change. When i wanted to change my Peugeot 308 battery, the regular battery shops refused because of its proximity to the ECU box. They said its a common Peugeot problem. Even tyres are hard to change because of the unique 3 nut, 1 lock mechanism

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 58
          • theanswer on Aug 27, 2013 at 11:33 am

308 tyre hard to change? i blew one 308 turbo ori tyre..change it at the roadside easily. just 4 simple nut..not lock mechanism.

• Kitolo on Aug 27, 2013 at 5:43 pm

Huh, i just service my peogeot – changed 4 break pad, 2 rotor, engine oil, some minor parts, turbo sealant here and there and it cost me RM2.5K! Major service cost a bomb for Pug.

• Colin Wong on Aug 26, 2013 at 11:39 pm

Oh yes, change tyre difficult? The 508 has a security nut to prevent theft. You need a special adapter to open that one nut in each wheel. If you dont tell the tyre shop fellow, he will be figuring out how and his ingenuity may wreck your rim and then he blame Peugeot cars. Sigh. Even if he knows about the adaptor nut, he mighr use his airtool on it and damage the poor thing. Again, Peugeots fault and not the tireman. You knew half the story and now I hope you know the other half. My suggestion is this, go visit the showroom, drive the car, join Peugeot owners group and ask questions. Then only comment.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 13
          • NasiMinyak on Aug 27, 2013 at 6:23 am

Colin – You must be a Peugeot salesman. I own one and I am a member of the said club for many years. Most of the members of the club have their own nightmare stories of owning Peugeots

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 104
          • alldisc on Aug 27, 2013 at 9:22 am

all european cars have the same including VW and vauxhall which are also followed by lexus since 15 yrs ago. among other features are visible chassis number plate underneath windscreen that is hard to change but easy screening by authority and also marked body panels.

• I agree with Nasi Minyak. Peugeot cars have so many problems. I sold mine and will never buy one again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
          • Colin Wong on Aug 27, 2013 at 1:36 pm

Nasi Minyak, I am NOT a Pug saleman. I own 2 Eurocar now after years of driving Toyota, Nissan and Hondas. I think we all have nightmares driving even Japanese cars. There are millions of Eurocars out there and if you choose to focus on a few incidents and blow them out of proportion, then it is wrong.

Whether it is battery, tyres or parts, remember you own the car. If you bring to an Ah Chong who normally service Japanese makes, you should tell him what to watch out for.

Parts memang lebih mahal because of lack of “OEM” or imitation parts. But with original parts, they will generally last longer. I have done my research before getting our Eurocars. Just walk up to spare part shops and strike a conversation. Also, if you want cheaper parts, you can order from the websites overseas. So to generalise that Pugs are problematic is both wrong and a misrepresentation.

BTW, do you still have your 308?

• alldisc on Aug 27, 2013 at 9:17 am

that is actually a good security feature. now thieves will worry even more a they cannot simply steal one car and fix everything themselves. the days of wira has gone.

• carnoisseur on Aug 27, 2013 at 10:29 am

must try 508 then . they are well equipped though

• theanswer on Aug 27, 2013 at 11:35 am

yep it’s a must. it’s not the best saloon out there..but definitely worth to buy compared to 2.0 camry or accord.

• Sam Loo on Aug 27, 2013 at 7:21 pm

Pijat 508?

That is in the sui kwan category

• dugong on Aug 26, 2013 at 9:37 pm

Of course la. You are only looking at boring japs. Open your eyes to better options out there.

• Storm on Aug 26, 2013 at 11:12 pm

You obviously don’t know what you are talking about. Mazda 626 already changed to Mazda 6 more than a decade ago. Weak? By having euro Ncap 5 star??

• Coolglass on Aug 26, 2013 at 8:07 pm

Ia this
    the older new generation
    or
    the new new generation?

Unbelievably getting out of current design trend just like the civic

• carlies on Aug 26, 2013 at 9:11 pm

Civic is a big failure. I find rarely on the road after one year!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 9
      • alldisc on Aug 27, 2013 at 9:29 am

competition is stiff. 10 years ago honda only has toyota to worry in C segment.

nowadays everyone is a direct rival. nissan sylphy, ford focus/titanium, vw jetta, corolla altis and prius, kia forte/cerato, chevy cruze.

and to make things worse the cheaper variant of D segment is just like 10-20 grand away. examples like Honda Accord 2.0 and Camry 2.0.

• Proton staff on Aug 26, 2013 at 8:11 pm

4 star ANCAP.

• human on Aug 26, 2013 at 11:24 pm

sorry im still doubt for ancap, this accord is top safety pick plus by IIHS US.. perform really well in small overlap.. does proton will perform better?

• Proton Staff on Aug 27, 2013 at 6:46 am

IIHS is different than standard NCAP guidelines. IIHS is new and US have higher standard than the rest of the world. Most cars manufacturer have different HPF steel just for US markets. For ASEAN market, it is definitely not the US version.

ANCAP sometimes gives lower rating than Euro NCAP. There are cases where same car achieve 5 star Euro NCAP but only get 4 Star ANCAP.

• Proton staff on Aug 27, 2013 at 8:44 am

Supreme got 5 star you don’t know? what a lousy basher.

• Asray on Aug 26, 2013 at 8:15 pm

Was invited by dealer for launching on 5th sept. test drive available.

• Ahmadfaris93 on Aug 26, 2013 at 8:34 pm

Oh my god, why those wheels

• WanLuqman on Aug 26, 2013 at 8:43 pm

Wow! What a cool looking car! *this is sarcasm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • Will Honda malaysia strip off the gps like how they did to the 8th gen ?

• heybadigol on Aug 26, 2013 at 8:56 pm

Malaysian/ASEAN product planners seem to have made the car worst. In the US, the 2.4 DI engine has a powerful 189hp engine (sports variant) with 250NM of torque. Seems to have been heavily detuned to only 177hp/225NM here and in Thailand. Why have Malaysians been shortchanged? We are not that stupid ya know, the specs for the US Accord can easily be found on the internet for comparison. The new CVT also didnt reach here it seems. Though the side mirror mounted camera is making an appearance here. But having said that, I think HM will still sell a lot of them.

• sudonano on Aug 26, 2013 at 9:01 pm

LaneWatch caught my eye. Hmm.

For me, its Mazda6/508/Mondeo on top. This comes behind them. With the Passat. Camry is far away behind.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • frenzyaustin on Aug 26, 2013 at 9:58 pm

Passat: Overpriced boring car
      Camry: UMW earning machine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • teamsleepnine on Aug 26, 2013 at 9:13 pm

hopeless honda!!!!!…among the biggest car maker in the world yet the design still uninspiring …heck look like it copied e60 bmw….hopeless….hopeless…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
  • My Honda Tak Guna on Aug 26, 2013 at 9:44 pm

new gen, same shit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • Is this the version government purchasing? Better not waste our money with old version. :)

• Gov buy the old generation. I don think its gonna affect rv of accord since the amount is small compare to taxi and for sure toyota vios and Nissan sentra has is a taxi in indo thai Viet and here. I wont buy a car brand used as taxi haha. In china… jetta also taxi.

• kadajawi on Aug 26, 2013 at 11:30 pm

In Germany and Africa Mercedes are very popular as taxis. Only shows you that the cars are reliable, so taxi drivers are willing to drive them cause they know the car will work, and won’t be in the workshop all the time. IMHO the success of Mercedes in Germany was based on it being popular with taxi drivers… that meant people could trust the brand. That’s why my father only bought Mercs for a long time. Used to do 700000-1000000 km per car.

• alldisc on Aug 27, 2013 at 9:42 am

basic requirement for taxis are:-

1. ultra reliable
        2. spacious
        3. economical

which is reason there thousands of prius taxis in america and australia

• Katak on Aug 27, 2013 at 11:23 am

I saw lot’s of older gen Kia Optima as Taxi in Malaysia. Is that car fit all the requirement above?

• Sushimonster on Aug 27, 2013 at 2:09 pm

Majority of taxi’s in Malaysia are Proton Iswaras. Clocking some 1,000,000km on the road. Taxi drivers are damned proud of it, told me ini kereta tahan lasak!

• alldisc on Aug 27, 2013 at 4:12 pm

katak,

you tell me… ;)

• At least the LED ldr is inside …not like desperate last minute in camry…and 6 pieces total . stingy.

• ncsh88 on Aug 26, 2013 at 11:30 pm

Honestly in my humble opinion mazda 6 is a better car but honda accord cant be written off just yet…its was always there over the years…

• Sushimonster on Aug 27, 2013 at 2:11 pm

Don’t forget Honda gave Ayrton Senna a winning F1 car …

• Polo Saga on Aug 26, 2013 at 11:46 pm

Finally. What takes Honda Malaysia so looooong to launch this?
    Why Malaysia always being the last one and the most expensive one??

• introducing both CRV and Accord together wont help in their sales. It will compete with each other.

• alldisc on Aug 27, 2013 at 11:15 am

for any companies in Malaysia, there are certain limitations that they need to adhere to in order to enjoy some advantages. Honda can bring in the cars direct from Japan in CBU form, but then the cars will be subjected to import tax which will make the prices unattractive.

the problem to knock-down the parts include whether the cost to bring in assembly jigs are feasible or not. is there enough volume to justify CKD? how fast they can break even on a model before start making profit? otherwise instead of making money, the company will lose.

this happens to Tan Chong (latio launched in 2004 but intro to Malaysia 2006) and NazaKia (first Kia Cerato was in 2003, to replace Spectra/Sephia but Naza soldiered on and only brought in Spectra5 – the hatchback version in 2006/07).

the same reason why it is hard for Japanese franchise like UMW or Honda to bring in many various models unless they are sourced from ASEAN countries which benefit from afta tax free agreement.

and the reason why VW did not sell base spec or cheaper variants of Golf, Jetta and Polo but rather only bring in high end models with WOW factor like turbo and DSG to attract buyers and slap a premium on them.

• shawal on Aug 26, 2013 at 11:49 pm

the new direct injected earthdreams 2.4 has 10% more BHP and torque and paired to a new CVT gearbox (5% better FC) in the US…

So what we’re getting exactly now is the same engine and gearbox as the 8th gen ….

at least mazda 6 2.5 is all new

• Maserati(Official) on Aug 27, 2013 at 12:06 am

MAZda 6 looks good on the internet,in fliers,in newspaper ads.

But on the road,in real life,it looks so damn boring. I dont know why,but it just doesnt look good in real life.

This Honda Accord will take a share of the sales from Camry and will blow the KIA Optima K5 to smithereens.

Honda still have one of the nicest engines .Silky smooth with awesome high end torque. Even the current Civic is a joy to drive.

KIA & Hyundai engines are utter rubbish. Drove them before and they are so reluctant to move.At high RPMs,they gasp for air and even a 1.8 engine feels like a 1.3 engine at high speeds.

Stick to Japs and you will be well taken care !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 25
    • skypirate on Aug 27, 2013 at 12:58 am

Probably those that you saw were 2.0 mazda6. Man those 19″ rims for the 2.5 really make a difference, especially in red.

• Honda on Aug 27, 2013 at 1:54 am

How many are we getting?
    2 airbags again?
    Our life is not precious isit?

In Europe all cars must be equipped with safety features such as
    6 airbags
    Esc
    Traction control
    Abs
    Ebd

Miros do something about this!!!!

• Ah Beng on Aug 27, 2013 at 9:57 am

Japanese consider Malaysian life cheap and shit. So definately cut out all the safety features to make more $$$$. Even then Malaysian will still lumba lumba rush to buy all these lapsap products.

• I would prefer Nissan Teana than this accord or camry…Teana much better n more comfortable :-)

• alldisc on Aug 27, 2013 at 11:21 am

i agree Teana shines in certain areas like the v6 engines and CVT gearboxes but the package is not complete as its cabin is a little tight on space – especially legroom and width (lack of shoulder comfort)

• azrai on Aug 27, 2013 at 8:00 am

These in near future will flood the road especially sicne the top government servants will also use them.

• JasonKiD on Aug 27, 2013 at 8:02 am

If Accord 2.0 Hybrid reach Malaysia, it’s really walao ehhh ~
    30.0 KM/L, nice fuel consumption in this segment car ~

• No meaning if crude oil now falls to 100 USD per barrel but our RON 97 is still at 2.70 per litre…investing such a premium price for car require such a premium fuel at least Ron 97..this will make our cars performed !!

Ron95 lately sucks, knocking and underpowered..too much litre consumed per km as compared to Ron97 with breeze of power and very less pollutant with good km/litre !!

• JapanOil on Aug 27, 2013 at 10:36 am

In Japan, this Accord uses RON90. And Japan’s RON90 is almost sulfur-free, thus less-pollutant even when compared to our RON97.

• JeremyNg on Aug 27, 2013 at 9:28 am

Last sunday I saw this car in full disguised at AMG, Melaka ! I am sure is Accord due to it body shape

• jilbaber on Aug 27, 2013 at 9:37 am

To me it design just a reminiscent of the old CG (sixth gen Accord) only its look more butch.

• Felix on Aug 27, 2013 at 10:45 am

Ultimately unsurprisingly BORING outlook. No more innovation and creative ideas. Japanese Designers are aweful and still stay in 2000. This design in 21th century? Toyota, Nissan and this Accord are top three for the worst and boring designs award. Look how Mazda, Kia, and Hyundai learn to improve.

• Sushimonster on Aug 27, 2013 at 2:23 pm

They have a very delicate balancing act to do when comes to designing the next gen. Just like Camry, designers are afraid to mess too much with the formula lest they lose the majority of Camry fans. The same can be said for Accord.

Like it or not, the big majority of Camry/Accord buyers don’t want wild design.

• NEYMAR J.R on Aug 27, 2013 at 11:08 am

shut up please honda I-Vtec still a very seducing engine to drive for.. For those never drive I-vtec please shut up and no matter how honda accord ugly is the sales still sure promising . dont full liao malaysia mindset is only honda and toyota only ..

• Sales person just confirmed that Collision Mitigation Brake System CMBS not applicable in Malaysia. Malaysian market accord is really watered down specification compared to our neighbors Thailand and even Indonesia. :((

• Toyolta on Aug 27, 2013 at 1:51 pm

T&H worshipper will buy any car even without airbags as long has T&H badge.

• NEYMAR J.R on Aug 27, 2013 at 11:18 am

hi jilbaber,

I am totally agree with u the design just like 6th generation accord. I have this in mind since the first sight of this latest accord . finally someone has same taught with me. but malaysia people wont care about this what they want just the name of accord haha

• Sam Loo Sucks on Aug 27, 2013 at 1:41 pm

Yeah i agree…i gonna get me a 2nd hand 6th gen accord. Not much difference with this .

• heybadigol on Aug 27, 2013 at 11:45 am

With due respect to Honda, the Accord is a good car, just that the way HM/Honda ASEAN has packaged it thats just wrong. To me it looks good (not great), and will age well. Just like the F10 BMW 5 Series, which looked like the designers fell asleep when it first came out, but now is still looking fresh. The only letdown to this car, and this is a major letdown is the failure of the product planners to include the DI engine, and instead putting a lower power engine (compared to previous car). Has anybody noticed that the CRV 2.4 makes way more power than the Accord 2.4? The CRV has 190ps, whereas the Accord only a paltry 175. If not for the CRV’s extra weight, it could probably out-accelerate the Accord. How can the planners let this happen? The SUV CRV is more powerful than its most important sedan (and technically flagship in Malaysia). If I was planner, i would make sure my flagship has all the bells and whistles, plus better specs. Unless, they are bringing in the 3.5 Accord (with 6 speed auto like the US), so that probably explains the weak engine specs for the 2.4. Anyways, hope HM can start selling the car soon. More choice of new cars for consumers to consider. Might even force Mazda/Bermaz to make the 6 in CKD form to match demand.

• sam loo junior on Aug 27, 2013 at 2:04 pm

So is this confirmed not earthdream engine ?

please clarify, tx

• Gua Punya Rasa on Aug 27, 2013 at 2:14 pm

Gua rasa itu kasut sukan is super ugly.. overall is ok. for Honda quality & brand name, if highest spec rm120k, i’ll consider one.

• The Honda Accord only scored 4 stars in the ANCAP safety test recently. It was a shocking result in a market where almost all the cars have 5 stars. The failure is attributed to the foot parking brake. In the front collision, it moved more than the permitted allowance for 5 star rating. In the same test group, the Kia Optima scored 5 stars. The reviewer recommended waiting for the new Accord Euro. We get two versions of the Accord here.

• Jimmy on Aug 27, 2013 at 5:47 pm

I will put 6 airbags besar-besar dalam advertisement ku if I am offering it.

• Mike Teo on Aug 27, 2013 at 5:58 pm

Whatever car tested with 5 stars rating, is it mean this variant of the version/spec will launch in Malaysia. I don’t think so. Usually when car launch in Malaysia………all feature, safety, spec…….as usual reducing.

So what is the point of those car score higher safety rating.

• Alson Pang on Aug 27, 2013 at 6:43 pm

Honda Accord design is nice…. Spec is good…. and safety..??? Honda Accord disappoints with four-star ANCAP safety rating…
      http://www.caradvice.com.au/247121/honda-accord-disappoints-with-four-star-ancap-safety-rating/

• Exterior Mazda 6 win, but this has better interior than mazda 6.

• Mohd Imran Abdul Hamid on Aug 27, 2013 at 8:41 pm

i am driving K5 now in Korea, my accord still feels way much better. Koreans prefer Hyundai than Kia, as they think Kia just cosmetics and gadgets same as K-Pop but engine and gearbox sucks.

• Johnny on Aug 28, 2013 at 1:00 am

Malaysia damn slow. I saw quite a number of this in Thailand already. Also the New Toyota Vios. On the road.

• seriously I have no idea why Malaysians consider Accord, Camry and Mazda 6 as a luxury car? They’re just a piece of fwd junk. wake up and get a german’s car