The provisional FIA Formula E Championship race calendar for the inaugaral season in 2014/2015 has been announced, and on the cards are ten city venues spanning four continents. Three new venues make their way on to the original list of cities announced earlier this year.

Punta del Este, a beach resort in Uruguay, Monte Carlo and Hong Kong replace Rome, Rio de Janeiro and Bangkok, which will instead be considered as candidate cities for the coming Formula E seasons.

Beijing will have the honour of hosting the world’s first fully-electric race, and after the opening round, the 10 teams and 20 drivers of the FIA Formula E Championship will remain in Asia for Rounds 2 and 3, with Putrajaya being the second race venue (the race is set to take place on October 18, 2014), followed by Hong Kong.

2014-15 formula e provo calendar

From there, the series heads to South America with Round 4 in Punta del Este, Uruguay, before arriving in Buenos Aires, Argentina, in January 2015 for the fifth race. The series then heads to North America for Rounds 6 and 7 in Los Angeles and Miami respectively. Europe will host the final three rounds, beginning with Monte Carlo, followed by Berlin (at the former airport location of Tempelhof) and then London.

For the first season, all 10 teams – each with two drivers – will compete using the new Spark-Renault SRT_01E car, which was unveiled earlier this month at the Frankfurt Motor Show.

All Formula E races will feature a free practice session, qualifying session, one-hour race and live music concert taking place in a single day – this being Saturday – in order to minimise disruption to the city and its surrounding areas. Precise circuit layouts for each venue will be revealed at a later stage, but all will use city-centre locations.