Formula E – Bangkok joins list of candidate cities

formula e thailand

Bangkok has joined the list of candidate cities bidding to host the new FIA Formula E Championship, which begins next year. Earlier this year, organisers Formula E Holdings presented the FIA with a preliminary list of eight cities (London, Rome, Los Angeles, Miami, Beijing, Putrajaya, Buenos Aires and Rio de Janeiro) as potential venues to host races for the inaugural season, and Bangkok makes it nine.

Since the launch of the series last August, FEH has received formal letters of interest from 23 cities across five continents – a total of 10 races are scheduled for 2014, and the final calendar will be presented to the FIA for its approval at the September 2013 World Motor Sport Council gathering.

Formula E is a new FIA championship set to feature racing cars powered exclusively by electric energy, with races set to be held in the heart of the world’s leading cities, around their main landmarks. The series, which plans to field a a grid of 10 teams and 20 drivers when it begins, is designed to promote interest and investment in electric vehicles and sustainable motoring.

Demonstrations of the first cars will commence later this year. The event in Bangkok also saw the fully-electric Formula E car making its first ever appearance in Asia.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• formula racing without the sound, though they might oinstall a sound generator for the engine…..
    instead of refueling, they change bettery at pit stops, right?

• sparcov on May 20, 2013 at 11:13 am

I think they should change the battery instead of charging it at the pit stop. As what we normally did for the radio control car competition. There is a limit of 5-8 minits race. I’m not sure whether the Formula e will have an average 30 minits race ? Off course it depends on the rule whether to complete the race within time giving with a single battery pack.

Very interesting for the manufacturer to come out a high performance system with low energy consumption….

For sure i will apply to production car?

Just imagine next time when we go to charging station, we just need to buy the battery pack instead of refuelling. and we return the used battery pack to them. Each battery pack last you let say 500km and cost you only 50 ringgit? As what we did for the gas tank at home? After finish, we return the empty and only pay accordingly…

Will that happen?

• frenzyaustin on May 20, 2013 at 11:25 am

Best is fast charging system, it’s kinda unlucky if get a defective battery.

• Fast charging system will still lose out to a conventional fuel pump. Battery swaps are the better option. I think it’ll be a multiple battery module system rather than 1 big box of battery (whereby you’ll need a crane for it).

• frenzyaustin on May 20, 2013 at 9:56 pm

Fast charging is like from empty to full charge under 1 minutes, you think it’s impossible currently but in the future, it is. 5 years ago, do you think 1080p in 5″ screen is possible?

• Joe Radzif on May 20, 2013 at 11:46 am

Putrajaya!

Hope they will go around my flat…

• Leonardo on May 20, 2013 at 12:46 pm

Sketchy details, not sure how this works out. They have a standard chassis and batteries? You can only adjust the tire and aero settings? Just as in A1 GP before?
    So in future we could have a F1 champion and “E1 champion”? :)

• Sharifuddin on May 20, 2013 at 1:49 pm

“The event in Bangkok also saw the fully-electric Formula E car making its first ever appearance in Asia”……PUTRAJAYA not in Asia?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • Joe Radzif on May 21, 2013 at 5:09 pm

maybe Bangkok first before Putrajaya…

still excited to see those car racing from my window…
      he he he

• BlackBJQ on May 20, 2013 at 3:25 pm

Probably we will watch the race in sound mute! hehe

• Abg Long on May 22, 2013 at 2:37 pm

putrajaya! nice!

• malaysia tu hutan on Sep 15, 2013 at 9:32 pm

haha! speak bangkok all around the world know… speak putrajaya people all scratch head don’t know where it is… they think of it is situated in the north pole