2013 Toyota Vios officially launched in Malaysia – five variants, priced from RM73,200 to RM93,200

2013_Toyota_Vios_launch_ 009

It’s finally official – the 2013 Toyota Vios has been launched in Malaysia! Locally assembled at UMW Toyota Motor’s Assembly Services (ASSB) facility in Shah Alam, the third generation of the hugely popular B-segment sedan is available in five versions – J (manual), J (auto), E (auto), G (auto) and TRD Sportivo (auto).

All of them are powered by a 1.5 litre 1NZ-FE four-cylinder with VVT-i that sends 109 PS at 6,000 rpm and 141 Nm of torque at 4,200 rpm to the front wheels via a four-speed auto with Super ECT, or a five-speed stick-shift in the manual J variant.

Although the engine and gearboxes aren’t new, Toyota says that the new car offers a 5% improvement in fuel consumption over the previous Vios. Contributing to the improved fuel economy are various components in the engine bay that have been redesigned to be lighter or more compact, including the engine’s air cleaner housing and related parts.

UPDATE: Read our preview drive report of the 2013 Toyota Vios here.

2013 Toyota Vios 37

Elsewhere, a ‘catamaran’-shaped roof helps streamline airflow over the top of the car, and several areas and gaps, including the underbody, have been smoothened and sealed to reduce turbulence.

Besides more aerodynamic door mirrors, small aero stabilising fins are present on the tail lamps and where the door mirrors meet the A-pillars to create air vortices that improve the vehicle’s straight-line stability. The drag coefficient has been reduced from 0.29 to 0.28.

The all-new sheet metal brings with it a large trapezoidal lower intake, a slim grille with small intake openings and chrome bars that intrude into the glass of the angular headlamps. The base of the front pillar has been pushed forward and that of the rear pillar, backward – making the side profile look longer.

2013_Toyota_Vios_launch_ 004

At 4,410 mm long, 1,700 mm wide (including wing mirrors) and 1,475 mm tall, the 2013 Toyota Vios is 110 mm longer and 15 mm taller than the outgoing car, although it sits on the same 2,550 mm wheelbase.

With kerb weights ranging from 1,050 to 1,095 kg depending on the variant, the 2013 Toyota Vios is between 10 and 30 kg lighter than the car it replaces. The body structure utilises more high-tensile steel (56%, compared to 30% previously) and the roof is thinner without compromising strength, Toyota says.

Rigidity gets a boost too, through a higher number of spot welds (increased by more than 100) around the door openings and the bulkhead cowl.

The 2013 Toyota Vios’ Impact Absorbing Body Structure complies with UN ECE R94 and R95 safety regulations, which took effect in Malaysia from July 2012. The structure absorbs and disperses impact energy through the entire body frame in a frontal collision. The sides are reinforced, with beams present in all doors to reduce intrusion during a side collision.

A knee brace for the driver is fitted below the dashboard to restrain the lower leg, while the steering wheel column is collapsible. The front seats are whiplash injury-lessening, and three-point seat belts are provided for all three rear passengers.

Impact-absorbing material is integrated into the pillar areas, headlining and door panels to cushion occupants in a collision. Also, Toyota says the stopping distance from 100 km/h has been reduced from the previous 44.3 metres to 42.4 metres.

2013_Toyota_Vios_launch_ 013

Suspension is taken care of by independent L-arm MacPherson struts up front and a torsion beam out back, both with stabilisers (previously only on the front). The settings have been revised and several components have been redesigned. The electric power steering system, offered as standard, is also claimed to offer more precision while transmitting less road shocks.

Enhancing refinement are an acoustic windscreen (only on the G and TRD Sportivo variants), a redesigned engine mount, more optimally-positioned insulating materials, an insulation pad on the underside of the bonnet, revised door seals and increased use of asphalt sheets around the floor.

There’s a completely new interior, which is a marked improvement over its predecessor’s. The seats have increased seat-to-body contact, and the horizontal adjustment range has been widened from 16 steps at 15 mm intervals to 26 steps at 10 mm intervals. The driver’s seat also has a 15 mm-higher lifter range.

2013 Toyota Vios 26

The instrument panel has been moved from its previous location in the middle of the dash to a more conventional position behind the rake-adjustable steering wheel. There’s a multi-info display showing odo/trip meter, gear position, average speed since start, instant and average fuel consumption and range (G and TRD Sportivo only). Eco light is available in all variants except the manual J.

A three-dimensional centre stack that ‘floats’ above the dash is finished in Piano Black with a fine dimple grain that prevents scratches and fingerprint marks. The instrument panel, door trim and steering wheel feature a three-dimensional stitched design.

There’s more cabin space as well – rear legroom is up by 75 mm, and knee room by 44 mm. The doors now have three opening stops so as to avoid hitting another car or wall by the side. The console tray has a rubberised surface to prevent items from sliding around, both front seat backs have pockets and there’s a pair of cupholders in the rear armrest.

The boot can accommodate up to 506 litres of luggage (J variants, which do not get 60:40 split folding back seats, hold a little less). This represents an increase of between 28 and 31 litres over the old Vios. The boot lid opens to a vertical position, and the load area is slightly larger, with a 21 mm-lower boot sill.

No matter what variant you choose, you get ABS with EBD and BA, dual-cell body-coloured reverse sensors, dual front airbags, Isofix, door visors, rear fog lamps, remote boot release and intermittent time-adjustable wipers. No VSC though.

How do the five variants differ? We’ll start with the wheels. Although they all ride on 185/60 R15 alloys (steel spare tyre), there are three separate designs – an eight-spoke for J and E cars, a multi-spoke for G and a ‘dynamic’ five-spoke for the TRD Sportivo, with TRD logo in the middle.

The J and E variants have front disc/rear drum brakes; the rest have discs all round. All except J get power-folding door mirrors with turn indicator, front fog lamps, 60:40 split folding back seats and a dashboard-integrated audio unit (the J gets a head unit).

As for headlamps, J and E get reflectors, while the G gets projectors and the TRD Sportivo, smoked projectors – all with manual levelling adjuster. The latter two also get keyless entry and start, an instrument panel multi-info display, six speakers (J and E get four) and a leather-wrapped gear knob and steering wheel with audio buttons (no leather wrapping nor steering wheel audio buttons for J and E).

All variants have a black interior save for the G, which gets an ivory interior. J gets black fabric seats while E gets two-tone grey and black fabric. G and TRD Sportivo get perforated leather seats in dark ivory and black with red trim respectively.

2013 Toyota Vios TRD Sportivo 1

Apart from those already mentioned, the range-topping TRD Sportivo gets an aerokit (specifiable on other variants as an optional extra) that comprises a front bumper extension with LED DRLs, a rear bumper extension, side skirts and a boot spoiler.

It also exclusively gets TRD body decals, sports seats, red stitching on the steering wheel, TRD embossed front door sill scuff plates and TRD Sportivo floor mats. The multi-info display features white backlighting and a drive monitor, and sits within a sports instrument panel.

Also available as optional accessories are a choice of two touch-screen systems with reverse camera – 5.8-inch DVD-AVX and 7.0-inch DVD-AVN – and a choice of window tints. Both touchscreen systems offer DVD, MP3, AUX, USB, SD and Bluetooth compatibility, but the bigger DVD-AVN system adds on Smartphone Link (compatible with selected smartphones only), Voice Recognition and navigation.

2013 Toyota Vios TRD Sportivo 16

The Vios also features a UK Thatcham-1 standard-compliant security system that comprises an engine immobiliser, tilt sensor (to prevent unauthorised towing), hyper-frequency sensor (to detect cabin intrusion) and a back-up battery for the siren.

Elsewhere, Premium Security Solar Film, Standard Solar Film and Essential Solar Film window tints are available. All tints come with a seven-year warranty which is still applicable during transfer of ownership at a later timing.

Five body colours are available – Medium Silver Metallic, Silver Metallic, Attitude Black, White and a new Quartz Brown Metallic. Offered is a three-year/100,000 km warranty.

The Toyota Vios first entered the Malaysian scene in 2003, and quickly rose to become the best-selling non-national car in the country. As of August, nearly 265,000 units of the first- and second-gen models have found Malaysian homes.

Since order-taking started in July, more than 8,000 units of the 2013 Toyota Vios have been ordered to date, and UMW Toyota Motor is hoping to sell around 36,000 units of the new car per year, up from 30,000 previously.

“We are also proud to announce that the local content in the new Vios has increased from 15% when we first started to now close to 50%,” said UMW Toyota Motor president Datuk Ismet Suki.

2013_Toyota_Vios_launch_ 019

Finally, the on-the-road pricing, with insurance (Peninsular Malaysia) for the 2013 Toyota Vios is:

• Toyota Vios 1.5 J (manual) – RM73,200
  • Toyota Vios 1.5 J (auto) – RM77,300
  • Toyota Vios 1.5 E (auto) – RM82,900
  • Toyota Vios 1.5 G (auto) – RM88,500
  • Toyota Vios 1.5 TRD Sportivo (auto) – RM93,200

The E, G and TRD Sportivo variants are dearer by 0.7%, 1.3% and 1.3% respectively over those of the outgoing model, while the pricing for the J variants has not increased.

Read our preview drive report on the 2013 Toyota Vios here.

2013 Toyota Vios launch

2013 Toyota Vios 1.5 G

2013 Toyota Vios 1.5 TRD Sportivo

2013 Toyota Vios official gallery

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• The front looks garang, but the back looks mehh..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 186 Thumb down 8
    • Obama on Oct 02, 2013 at 2:50 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 204 Thumb down 491
      • stanley on Oct 02, 2013 at 3:48 pm

lol much better than proton , i test drove and book already white color, expecting to arrive next week. i am going to paint the rim black for more sporty look

interior is superb!!! much improvement from the previous vios. this one damn sporty very high technology comes with push start button and GPS. hehe feels like driving a sporty luxury car

those who say nonsense about this car are just korean n proton owner cant afford a real car LOL…. pls dont jealous when i get all the chicks u all can drive ur fat chicks with ur korean n proton

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1535 Thumb down 1111
        • high technology on Oct 02, 2013 at 4:01 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 531 Thumb down 815
          • Vader on Oct 02, 2013 at 7:25 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 377 Thumb down 816
          • komarad on Oct 03, 2013 at 8:52 am

wanna book the Sportivo but with manual gearbox but salesman says cannot… the J spec too low spec…*sigh*

• Wisdom on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:16 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 256
          • _xXx_ on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:43 am

I prefer reliable old skool than crappy hi tech like itu apename klac kembar..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 24
          • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 180
          • OMG…Better buy the facelift H.City full spec with vsc with 8k rebate than buying this crap without vsc.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 215 Thumb down 9
          • Toyota Salesman on Oct 03, 2013 at 5:22 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 349 Thumb down 463
          • Toyota Topsalesman on Oct 03, 2013 at 10:06 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 141 Thumb down 248
          • VSC VSC Where are you on Oct 04, 2013 at 9:35 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 158
          • Singapore VIOS got VSC on Oct 04, 2013 at 4:13 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 188
          • SamShowedMeTheHilux (again) on Oct 07, 2013 at 9:26 am

I am so sorry to all Korean owners. Pls forgive me. I have been wrong bashing Korean for my own benefit in Toyota. Sales in Toyota has been bad and this is the wrong way for me to get sales. I am so sorry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
        • Gegary on Oct 02, 2013 at 4:06 pm

Obvious troll is obvious

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 2
          • cuntlies on Oct 02, 2013 at 11:25 pm

Good job Toyota! Nice exterior design and neat and tidy interior design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 76
          • Toyota Salesman So Clever on Oct 04, 2013 at 9:14 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 139
        • JohnDi on Oct 02, 2013 at 4:31 pm

Still looks like dugong to me… no thanks!

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 113 Thumb down 209
        • RedCRZ on Oct 02, 2013 at 4:43 pm

please say that u are trolling… pleaseee!~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 10
          • THE DEATH MACHINE on Oct 03, 2013 at 10:03 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1101 Thumb down 1426
          • MALAYSIANS HAVE NO SHAME on Oct 03, 2013 at 1:33 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 486 Thumb down 654
          • VSC Also Don't Have! on Oct 03, 2013 at 5:25 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 827 Thumb down 1158
          • Toyota Topsalesman on Oct 03, 2013 at 10:11 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 126 Thumb down 252
          • Toyota Salesman So Clever on Oct 04, 2013 at 9:12 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 256
          • Toyota Topsalesman on Oct 04, 2013 at 11:25 pm

Who needs VSC when u can get lots of chicks with this superb sportscar?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
        • eric ooi on Oct 02, 2013 at 4:59 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 192 Thumb down 305
        • You are right in ‘much better than proton’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 53
          • mohsin on Oct 02, 2013 at 6:14 pm

Owh! previous butt hurt Vios owner!
            kekekeke!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
          • proauto on Oct 03, 2013 at 4:34 am

Ha2 now turbo engines are the most preferable compared then dam old vios engine. No improvement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
          • I disagree with turbo engines, i prefer reliability and the car wont throw up a fuss if i forget to service it.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 353
          • drBirdie on Oct 02, 2013 at 6:46 pm

what exactly is a ‘fleshlight’ ? i tot it’s free with every vios purchase during promotion period

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
          • atoyot on Oct 03, 2013 at 8:50 am

fleshlight…? tenga is it?

• UltramanSuck on Oct 02, 2013 at 9:28 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 193
          • cuntlies on Oct 02, 2013 at 11:31 pm

Face the fact bro! Korean car still hardly sell here. Believe me in Malaysia, D segment and below family car still monopolized by Japanese. For those affordable for luxury car, will go for conti car. Car is carrying life, choose carefully and not treat it like choosing mobile.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 116 Thumb down 16
          • Sam Loo on Oct 03, 2013 at 12:10 am

Fact of life, kimchis have no RV

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 154 Thumb down 94
          • Haha…FYI, Nokia are not from Japan..FIND THE FACTS BRO!!!

• bleukaizen on Oct 02, 2013 at 9:58 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 179
        • Lol clearly you don’t know anything about cars..

• Annoynimouse on Oct 02, 2013 at 11:00 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 148
        • “Gps and pushstart button” very high tech? Aiyoo… Baru keluar hutan arr u?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 3
        • Keris Jawa on Oct 02, 2013 at 11:57 pm

You called this a real car? You must be kidding yourself. Or did you have a really troubled childhood?

• Darth Maul on Oct 03, 2013 at 12:09 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 175
        • Ichimatsu San on Oct 03, 2013 at 7:36 am

@Stanley
          If you say that chicks will sit only in vios and wont sit in K5 or Forte means.. you are totally useless mang. What about Merc or Bimmer? If I drive it inside a pub.. do you think that lenglui will sit in your car or my Merc or Bimmer…

• ViosisAsiSSycar on Oct 03, 2013 at 8:40 am

Damn it…really beh tahan when reading this comment, push button and GPS is very hiiiiiiii TECH. How about Ford Fiesta?

• The Death Machine on Oct 03, 2013 at 5:31 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 191
          • Sam Looser on Oct 03, 2013 at 9:33 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 260
          • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 04, 2013 at 11:19 pm

Sam told me all kimchis come with VHL as standard

Very HaiLat

• better than proton?..which model? if u wanna compare this vios to suprima & preve..this vios is nothing…very high technology comes with push start button????..HAHAHAHAHA..dont malukan urself can or not

• If someone give me a new vios i take it..crazy la if u don take…..than i sell back RV tggi maa new summore..samloo suda kasi tau…then i pay downpayment for new house..briliant idea rite..haha

• Looking for resale value please buy home not a car

• Sam Loo (used kimchi) on Oct 03, 2013 at 2:53 pm

On the contrary, checkout the prices of used kimchis.

The 1st sorhai owners have lost an arm and 2 legs within the 1st year

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 23
      • prisoner on Oct 15, 2013 at 11:24 pm

yes im also feel that the interior looks like plastic

• Aerro on Oct 02, 2013 at 4:04 pm

This Vios alone will knock off Proton from 2nd spot top sales! Bravo Toyota!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 118
      • Alifzz on Oct 02, 2013 at 4:37 pm

The sales might be but the new Vios owner for sure will pissed off with Proton 1.6 turbocharged car until dare to overtake from emergency lane lollss..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 23
      • Annoynimouse on Oct 02, 2013 at 11:02 pm

So?

• APKing on Oct 03, 2013 at 9:41 pm

Now its too late to trade in your old dugong vios as i only pay 30-35k for 2012-2013 dugong version. Sorry folks. Nobody wants to buy my stockpile to dugong rotting in the yard.

• Loo Sam on Oct 05, 2013 at 12:34 am

Looks like kimchi owners are so desperate to trade in their cabbages nowadays until they even pretend to talk on the phone as if it was another dealer.

They can’t fool me. Kimchi’s market value is determined by laws of supply and demand

If no demand, the trade in prices will be VHL

VHL-Very Hailat, it is a feature that comes standard with all kimchis, and Kia’s have dual VHL

• rashuk khan2 on Dec 14, 2013 at 5:05 pm

For J spec…Persona SV definately win

• I skipped the look and went straight to look for information on transmission… as expected, still the same 4-speed sh**

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 108 Thumb down 9
      • _xXx_ on Oct 02, 2013 at 5:25 pm

Rear drum brakes??? What??

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 7
      • Their four speed is not that bad. It’s pickup and fuel economy is better than my 6 speed Forte. It’s still a good town car drive (i mean the previous gen)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 57

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 166
          • cuntlies on Oct 02, 2013 at 11:36 pm

I doubt the car equipped with 6 air bags can be inflated when accident happen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 54
      • cuntlies on Oct 02, 2013 at 11:45 pm

Back to the reason why we need more gears. Coz we need low rev in high speed in order to achieve the highest fuel efficiency.

As market proven, Nissan and Toyota did a good job in FC overall, with CVT and 4 speeders. Honda, Hyundai and Kia with 5 or 6 speeders give lousy FC and lower fuel efficiency!!!!!

If you really think that more gears represents more luxury, please go for the newest S class with 9 speeders who supposed never care about the FC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 29
        • Ryan.C on Oct 03, 2013 at 12:54 am

u should get 1 gear for yourself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
          • cuntlies on Oct 03, 2013 at 12:51 pm

I don’t mind to get one gear only as long as the technology is there, the car performance is acceptable as well as the FC is good. What’s wrong with four gear? EV is now going this way.

Your mindset is more gears = good car! What??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
      • skypirate on Oct 03, 2013 at 2:08 am

you obviously knows sh** about cars. good luck with a 6 speed auto mated to an engine capable of only 109 PS at 6,000 rpm. your car will hunt for the right gears like you are hunting for a unicorn.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • VIOS – Kereta Kegemaran Rakyat Malaysia – sama ada basher atau worshiper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 12
      • Sam Loo (used kimchi) on Oct 03, 2013 at 8:37 am

For me, kereta kegemaran saya is Sonata, coz, trading used Sonata is the most profitable.

K5 and Forte, for the 1st owner will be ultra Hailat.

Elantra trade in market is not too bad for profit margin

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 12
        • Sam Looser on Oct 03, 2013 at 9:37 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 253
    • fatchicken on Oct 02, 2013 at 6:50 pm

Hey guys, this car power can go up genting or not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
      • stanley on Oct 02, 2013 at 7:38 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 193
        • Darth Maul on Oct 03, 2013 at 12:13 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 105
        • Roy Mustang on Oct 03, 2013 at 8:51 am

The SA will always say nice nice things one..

I doubt the 30% power improvement tho.

• salambangi on Oct 02, 2013 at 7:12 pm

The girls are more sophisticated and fully loaded than the car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 2
      • Rakyat on Oct 03, 2013 at 3:33 am

Even the girls beside Vios look better than Suprima’s one.

• stanley on Oct 02, 2013 at 7:36 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 131
    • How come the rims look like 1st gen Myvi on the Sportivo?!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 4
    • Kuasa Gila Besar on Oct 02, 2013 at 8:38 pm

The mouth looks like Mitsubishi Lancer EVO X & Nissan GTR.

Sure got hidden turbo inside need to suck a lot air intake and it must be very powderfool yoooo!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • UltramanSuck on Oct 02, 2013 at 9:38 pm

JAPS CHEAT ASEAN….cuma tukar sarong je maa!! Dalam masih lamaa!! OLD SKOOL TECH.. Only dumb fanatic japs car fan buy this junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 5
    • Wow this is the car for ppl who cant afford the Lamborghini! look so much better than the Almera and Preve!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 19
    • front garang? i think the front looks more like optimus prime’s cousin. btw, the only thing i was scrutinizing are the curves on the chicks.

• luxurious on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:58 am

WoW with rear seat center armrest and cupholder, like driving an Audi.. really luxury for the price. The first in segment even proton c-segment dont have. Going to to buy god RV too .

• Dear All,

my sincere thought.
      I believe, no one here is die hard supporter of Japs or Korean cars or even Malaysian car. (Maybe die hard supporter of MU or LP.. yeah i agree)

All, we, as consumer want is good cars with reasonable price without sacrificing the safety…. blah blah.,, blah
      The safety should be on par with European or American standard like the availability of ESP/VSA + 6 airbags and etc plus 5 star NCAP certified. its a must. Readers Agree?

My question to toyota?
      1) Why are you selling a car which is not 5 star NCAP certified. Dont you know that without this safety standard you are putting life of your so called loyal customer at risk.
      2) Why honda can give a better safe car for their customer and you cant?
      3) Why korean and even Suprema can give better safe car which NCAP certified but you can’t?
      4) Are you too greed for the blood money ?

Dear readers,
      As consumer, we have power to change the business world. Give preasure!!!!! yah

opsss, just my 20 cents thought.

As a good company, please offer o good and safe product to your beloved loyal customer.

I seen even your premium cars also dont have this safety.

Why toyota ,why…why !!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 293
    • and proton fanboi is early as usual.

work harder man.

then you can afford the car you like.

why the hate hate mentality?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 84
      • stanley on Oct 02, 2013 at 3:49 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 296
        • Aerro on Oct 02, 2013 at 4:01 pm

Wah…you lucky dude…congrats salute…sure can tapau lots of hot chicks!!!

Whoever buy Vios is natural born winner!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 59
        • how can not afford? proton price already almost same level as vios especially the J variant…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 2
        • At that price I already can put race chip in suprima/preve and leaves beat any vios in smoke. You still say vios is better?

Ok, I forgot it can beat vios even in stock specs, muahahahahaha

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 7

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 287 Thumb down 483
    • stanley on Oct 02, 2013 at 3:50 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 169
      • It’s a show off/hairdresser car. Looks like turbo car but engine only 1.5l. So shame. Only chicks, uncles and aunties are easy to be conned. Real man drives turbo car nowadays.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 5

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 169
      • already seen it at pdg besar, really ugly in real life..
        well, i am happy with my 2007 focus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 113
      • Sam Loo (used kimchi) on Oct 03, 2013 at 2:33 pm

If you insist of being shown the Hilux, at least be a smarter sorhai.

Get Hyundai instead of Kia, it commands around 10% more in trade in value.

Kia’s RV is around the same as Ssangyong, ultra Hailat

• If this is like shit, i couldn’t find any other words to describe proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 48
      • salambangi on Oct 02, 2013 at 7:17 pm

Preve is no shit mah. Can smoke mios anytime loh including the JRD.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 12
      • stanley on Oct 02, 2013 at 7:40 pm

dont say like this bro later all the proton owner here cry haha . truths really hurt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 71
        • unsleas on Oct 02, 2013 at 8:51 pm

To what extent proton is rubbish. This Vios got 10 star safety rating? LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 4
        • Darth Maul on Oct 03, 2013 at 12:21 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 179
    • Annoynimouse on Oct 02, 2013 at 11:04 pm

I respect your opinion and I don’t quite like the rear… but I would say its shit ugly either… quite nice compared to previous model.

• Sam Loo (used kimchi) on Oct 03, 2013 at 12:25 am

kami is kimchi owner.

He must have tried to trade in his rotten cabbage in my car yard and one that has been shown 2 Hilux

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
      • like ur comment.
        kimchi? thanks..but no.

• Sam Loo (used kimchi) on Oct 03, 2013 at 2:37 pm

Smart Person

If you wanna get a kimchi, get a pre-owned.

You will be amazed at how low the prices are

• alvin on Oct 02, 2013 at 2:44 pm

Finally Launching

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 40
    • stanley on Oct 02, 2013 at 3:51 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 403 Thumb down 544
      • okeyla on Oct 02, 2013 at 4:52 pm

stanley ar… for you information la… my boss just came back from THAILAND coz had meeting with vendor for automotive supply part… he was told by he partner that the new Vios sales there fell a decline due to the introduction of the Ford Fiesta model and the entry of Korean cars that offer better specifications than toyota cars. same as in singapore. but in malaysia??? people who buy toyota are those who never did a comparison with other models … influenced by incitement friends … and who grew up with the golden age of toyota … for me la toyota dulu and sekarang adalah berbeza… dulu toyota used to produce cars for customer satisfaction, but now for the sake of profit … fikirkanlah….

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 268 Thumb down 317
        • Good point.

What I can say is there is a minimum standard for toyota car.

In contrast, the minimum standard of toyota car surpass the maximum standard set by Malaysian blood sucker – PROTON.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 53
          • ok, you still live in cave don’t you? At 73k, is this vios has 5 star safety rating?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 7
        • LooseSpine on Oct 02, 2013 at 7:40 pm

IMO the sales of vios or overall <1.5cc car in Thainland is mainly due to tax break introduced by the Thai's government after 2011 flood. Now the tax break is over, i bet you boss was conned. Are u and ur boss really in automotive industry?? Gotcha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
        • frank on Oct 02, 2013 at 8:13 pm

Korean car not even 1 of their car in the list of Top 40.

Your had been troll by your boss.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 30

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 163
        • ViosMan on Oct 02, 2013 at 11:57 pm

That’s not true…
          Check out the top selling cars in Thailand for the past 7 months

1 Toyota Hilux 128,103
          2 Isuzu D-Max 118,665
          3 Honda City 61,819
          4 Toyota Vios 57,234
          5 Toyota Corolla 28,084
          6 Nissan Almera 26,361
          7 Mitsubishi Triton 26,220
          8 Mitsubishi Mirage 24,193
          9 Suzuki Swift 21,488
          10 Honda Jazz 18,559

And Fiesta is No 21 !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
          • Proton Thailand only selling 523 units? BWA HA HA HA HA

• wakaka on Oct 02, 2013 at 5:08 pm

You gotta be kidding me, it’s a Vios, an econobox

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
      • U trying to show-off a VIOS with the jockeys? By parking beside the lambors and ferraris? Gosh i wonder how many Malaysians think like him…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 1
      • bleukaizen on Oct 02, 2013 at 10:03 pm

aiya…i only have myvi 1.5 also pretty intelligent malaysian chicks hanging out with me….wat

all u need is ur brain…

normally ‘average’ ppl arrr…need enhancements in order to stand out ma….but sometimes work sometimes dont larr….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
      • vios4smallkiddo on Oct 03, 2013 at 12:12 am

Allooo brader stanley….haiyaaaaaaaa! How old r u ah beng. Dont bash ppl who drive other than vios is like shit. Or u still in college n feel very proud driving vios n feel dat is like im da king kaa driving vios……aiyaaaaa…i wann vomit la ah beng…drive vios for 2nd gen…dulu bole la nak rsa kiasu bwk vios…tp skrg pun dah mcm x ezclusive lg dah. I drive vios when im 22 in 2007….come on la. ?.if you wnt tckle chick nowadays drive at least ford fiesta or mini coopers la….hadoiiiiii….tak payah berlagak la wei! I yg dh lama pakai vios pun rasa mcm bodoh new gen masih gun enjin lama. Even though frankly speaking i bawak preve. Interior bes walaupun ada complint. Kalau u nak boast bawk altis ke civic ke baru la masuk akal…adoiyaiiiiiiii!!,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
  • rally_fan on Oct 02, 2013 at 2:45 pm

im no vios fan, let alone a toyota fan. .but this is probably the best effort from toyota yet.. and the interior looks decent although basic but with some nice details.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 20
    • unlike Suprima S have all the technology and gadgets but a very disappointed interior.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 21

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 163
        • Well, could you define clean design interior.

• powerful turbo engine. This 3 words tickle me so much that I can’t even laugh out loud. =.=”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
          • unsmart on Oct 04, 2013 at 12:33 am

of course more powerful than vios so what? if you want more power go for twin scroll turbo. but at the end of the day, you still stuck at around 9 secs unless you settle down with the newer variant.

• theanswer on Oct 02, 2013 at 3:48 pm

design..interior..yes. but mechanical no. higher spec should have vsa and 4 airbags.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
  • Datuk on Oct 02, 2013 at 2:46 pm

Someone was very bz today, right Sam?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 6
    • Sam Loo on Oct 02, 2013 at 4:59 pm

Sorry! Sorry! Too busy. Please don’t book through me. Cannot handle lah. Super Best RV!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 204 Thumb down 106
      • mohsin on Oct 02, 2013 at 6:29 pm

overpriced still old technology, Better take 5 star Ancap with many of features. Those who looking for resale value, Please buy home not a car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 5
    • Sam Loo (used kimchi) on Oct 03, 2013 at 12:36 am

I have never had so many kimchi owners q ing up in front of my yard until it created a jam along MRR2. Dam, biz is good today.

Just got home around midnight. Thanks to the new Vios launch, all my salesman are worked to the brink of collapse. Bought them a good dinner tonight for the record breaking kimchi intake at record low prices

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 17
      • KNS sam loo on Oct 03, 2013 at 10:02 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 233
  • Walau UMW on Oct 02, 2013 at 2:47 pm

Overall interior ok ok la… But VSA, why la UMW ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
    • all variant of vios in thai n indo have no vsa oso…quite dissapointing..

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 123
  • Peter How on Oct 02, 2013 at 2:47 pm

Shld sell well…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
    • Tonghoi on Oct 02, 2013 at 3:05 pm

Anything under the Toyota brand will sell well although lousy spec and outdated engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 126

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 163
        • Now it’s CFE/campro turbo, why you no read? It’s far more powerful than this dinasour era 1.5l engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 6
          • ViosMan on Oct 03, 2013 at 12:00 am

Power vs Quality? Which you choose?

• Oh really? How reliable for Proton Campro engine in long run? How about fuel consumption?

Do you really believe Proton engines are more advanced than current toyota vios engine just because campro engines were built more recently?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
        • armandd on Oct 02, 2013 at 9:27 pm

More advance my @@s.

• Who buys this car must be the dumbest person on earth

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 307 Thumb down 297
    • Chris on Oct 02, 2013 at 3:26 pm

How about trying to accept that different people have different priorities instead?

I like the dashboard, but the steering wheel seems a bit not up to match with the rest of the dash.. :/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 46
      • Johnny on Oct 02, 2013 at 7:41 pm

I fully accept that people are different. Some are idiots, some are not.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 3
    • theanswer on Oct 02, 2013 at 3:50 pm

i’m not going to say dumb buyer..but more to blind buyer. buyer should force T to provide better spec. for example look what happen to camry..now they already provide vsa.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 3
    • Annoynimouse on Oct 02, 2013 at 11:11 pm

Agree with Chris that different people have different priorities in buying cars. I’d say a dumb buyer would be one that buys the Vios and ask for sporty handling. Its a decent affordable, reliable, nice looking, family car to start with.

• shouldnt more local content mean cheaper price at consumer end?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 118 Thumb down 3
    • LooseSpine on Oct 02, 2013 at 7:52 pm

Logically yes, however supplier & product development is relatively costly when compare to importing from Thailand for example.

• kns sam loo on Oct 02, 2013 at 2:57 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 210
  • Peng Wong on Oct 02, 2013 at 3:04 pm

“Contributing to the improved fuel economy are various components ……..including the engine’s air cleaner housing and related parts”. Gosh they are so proud of their new air cleaner housin. “engine and gearboxes aren’t new ..and sits on the same 2,550 mm wheelbase”. Does it mean this is just another all new cheaper facelift rather than a total new car? Most of the Japanese makes like Toyota have been hibernating these past decade resting on their laurels of reliability and nothing much else

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 12
    • theanswer on Oct 02, 2013 at 3:54 pm

to be exact..asean toyota. they treat us like 3rd world market. outside asean entry lvl toyota already use cvt and dual vvti engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
      • we r 3rd world market n country!

• So true. Only car tax abolished. EP permit for imported is abolished then we have many cheap car enter. Then, we can get a good car with cheap car. And, say forever bye bye to Proton.

• voilve on Oct 02, 2013 at 7:54 pm

If tax removed, proton is still cheaper than those cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
          • Rakyat on Oct 03, 2013 at 3:19 am

If tax removed, proton close shop la, no need to be cheaper.

• beanY on Oct 04, 2013 at 12:36 am

no need to be cheaper? proton spare parts and maintenance cost are much more cheaper not to mention TOC.

• keegankit on Oct 02, 2013 at 5:12 pm

I think they achieve the a bit better fuel economy than the old version by making the car even lighter

• frenzyaustin on Oct 02, 2013 at 3:05 pm

Not a bad car for everyday driving, but a terrible price for a car with this spec.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 2
    • stanley on Oct 02, 2013 at 3:52 pm

bro u cant expect to pay peanut for premium car. i suggest if u cant afford this car go for proton or korean crap LOL… n workharder or dream more to own this car

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 285 Thumb down 340
      • Mozilla Chrome on Oct 02, 2013 at 4:12 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 121 Thumb down 236
      • So, to you vios is premium.
        LOL funny guy. go out more often pls.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 4
      • Agree with soup, stop asking other to work hard just to afford a vios…Afford to buy a vios=work hard enough?
        I like Toyota’s product, but this time really been disappointing, the last Vios was worth buying compared to this…Such price with this kind of specs? Pointless..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 3
      • Affinity on Oct 02, 2013 at 5:04 pm

Don’t criticize the chick magnet ok? He’s a new sporty luxury Vios owner la weiii

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
      • wakaka on Oct 02, 2013 at 5:10 pm

Surely a “beng”, cuz no one in their right mind will equate Vios to premium LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
      • theanswer on Oct 02, 2013 at 5:23 pm

korean crap? baru keluar gua ka?
        no brand is perfect..but to label korean car is crap..LOL..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 5
      • gtmaniac on Oct 02, 2013 at 5:27 pm

Toyota is premium? Gosh.. i couldn’t imagine what level of people degrading occur if this fella could afford to buy a new Lexus or BMW/MB one day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
      • Wake up man. Your mind just poisoned with Vios = Ferrari. Vios just a normal sedan entry level car and stop complaining other brand like Proton. Proton is not bad as you imagined.Peace!

• stanley the caveman on Oct 04, 2013 at 11:54 pm

Vios is a super luxury car ok! Same as lexus. I already customised mine to lexus edition with lexus glowing emblem. Now can tapau M5 anytime!

• vios the king on Oct 02, 2013 at 3:06 pm

This car will smoke all BMW, Audi and Merc from the moment you start driving out from showroom! Now i need GT wing and 19” Enkei rims with full LED from front to back to tell other lousy car owners to give way on highway!

ALL HAIL THE GOD CAR!

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 160 Thumb down 151
    • And after you smoke, your junk will kwai tai by the roadside and I will like to see your hailat face

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 130
  • Jonathan Lee on Oct 02, 2013 at 3:07 pm

Wow, I’m surprised. I was a little disappointed at first by this update, but it’s is far more thorough and far-reaching than I first imagined. The improvements in aerodynamics, lightness (only 10-30 kg, but every little counts) and rigidity while increasing refinement and feature count pushes the class forward despite the carryover engine and transmissions.

One question though — were there really no models at the launch without a bodykit? The new kit looks effing hideous.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
  • Tonghoi on Oct 02, 2013 at 3:07 pm

Whatever…not my cup of tea. Cheers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
  • Why doesn’t the AC have digital controls like the Indonesian version?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
    • WILSON on Oct 02, 2013 at 3:38 pm

YESH!!! finally someone notice! thank you for noticing! this is hidious!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
    • cutester on Oct 02, 2013 at 5:01 pm

Even the top spec G and S also don’t have auto climate control.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
      • lol what.. premium=no climate control.. later will say the AC can detect without any sensor

• sudonano on Oct 02, 2013 at 3:10 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 294 Thumb down 465
    • Kepunden Parang Skeper on Oct 02, 2013 at 4:49 pm

I couldn’t think of a better way to describe the new Vios. UMW has been ripping off Malaysian motorists with under-specced cars. They’ve been too complacent, thanks to Toyota’s impeccable reputation for reliability.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 48
      • sudonano on Oct 02, 2013 at 5:59 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 181
        • Proton cars also reliable. When owners of those ‘imported’ cars have problem they keep their mouths shut. But when proton owners have problem, they tell it to the whole world. Proton cars now are not that bad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 2
          • sudonano on Oct 02, 2013 at 8:32 pm

True that. They have improved. But are they at the level of the Japanese, mmm not so. But still WIP (work in progress) la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 100
  • kadajawi on Oct 02, 2013 at 3:11 pm

It has a manual headlight level adjustment! FINALLY! I hope future buyers will make use of it to not blind others… that even makes HID possible without blinding others, if the drivers adjust accordingly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
    • Roy Mustang on Oct 03, 2013 at 8:57 am

I’m predicting they’ll make the headlight higher.

And FYI, there’s a screw on the top of most headlamps. You can adjust them using a screwdriver.

Check youtube for tutorial bro :)

• Still the same engine since the first gen?? Seriously???

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 3
    • Chris on Oct 02, 2013 at 3:42 pm

The good old 4AGE evolves at much faster rate.

I did a quick search after reading your comment, shockingly, Toyota doesn’t have a newer 1.5L since the original 1NZ-FE other than the low-tech non vvti 2NR-FE.

I would thought they could have at least improve the engine. It’s almost 2014 and they’re competing with late 90’s technology.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
      • edissy on Oct 02, 2013 at 8:03 pm

And some people still say that proton engine is outdated. Sigh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Denaihati on Oct 02, 2013 at 3:13 pm

exterior and interior look very nice, especially the TRD sportvivo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 39
    • susha on Oct 02, 2013 at 8:04 pm

Yes put the TRD sticker and you can have additional 20hp, lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
  • Im Toyotas no.1 hater….but even i have to admit, this is probably the best Vious to launch in the last 10 years or so.

Toyota is definitely aware of the threat 208/cerato/fiesta etc is posing to the vious.

This new car looks decent, interior is ok…my guess is it will be the best selling Vious ever.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 70
    • lololololol on Oct 02, 2013 at 3:43 pm

TOYOTA SALESMAN SPOTTED

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 45
    • rational buyer on Oct 02, 2013 at 6:26 pm

TOYOTA SALESMAN SPOTTED +1

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 311
      • Sam Loo (used kimchi) on Oct 03, 2013 at 3:07 pm

See so many desperate kimchi like PSY before.

Comparing a C Segment Cerato/Forte with a B-Segment Vios, and he will still be more Hailat that the Elantra owner, coz Hyundai will trade 10% higher, anytime

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • Sam Loo (used kimchi) on Oct 03, 2013 at 2:43 pm

Used kimchi car dealer here. Yesterday was so busy taking in used kimchi.

Today settle down a bit. Weekend will he good biz again

• do'oh on Oct 02, 2013 at 3:14 pm

yeayyy new vios but still using 1st gen vios engine woohoo!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 5
  • Boring…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 5
  • Iluvvios on Oct 02, 2013 at 3:21 pm

Wahh!! This one more garang than Lancer…next week i’ll trade in my old Vios for this one…sure gempak habis satu Malaysia….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 36
  • achocho on Oct 02, 2013 at 3:25 pm

dugong has been transformed to ikan keli!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 3
  • The engine and transmission, from the first Vios model back in 2003, right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
    • Chris on Oct 03, 2013 at 8:50 am

Yes, but the engine and transmission was used a few years before, outside of Malaysia. Can’t find solid details.

All I know is 1NZ-FE + 4 speed auto was used since the late 90’s, Vios got it in early 2000’s.

• Roger Tan on Oct 02, 2013 at 3:27 pm

Not a fan of Vios, but good to hear that ABS EBD is included for once across the range

Probably gotten burnt in the Camry saga, as it seems that the consumers have spoken

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
    • rational buyer on Oct 02, 2013 at 6:25 pm

Nowadays even saga and myvi are featuring ABS and EBD, vios come with 7x-9x price tag is an absolute compulsory to have it. Btw where is ESC?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
  • Joker on Oct 02, 2013 at 3:28 pm

Joke of the year. Ahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 104
  • Three TwentyDee on Oct 02, 2013 at 3:31 pm

At least it looks better than the Camry!!

Sighh…Navigation even on a sub 100K Toyota and BMW still does not offer Navigation for their $250+K F30 320i or 320D…where is the logic??!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • theanswer on Oct 02, 2013 at 5:27 pm

want to hear the logic? navi cost us max rm1k. 320 twin power engine will cost u definitely more than 10k how can u compare vios n bmw. lol. joke of the day.

• Vios is more superior than BMW because it can fly.

True story.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 160
          • Bob_B78 on Oct 03, 2013 at 10:28 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 259
          • Bob_B78 on Oct 03, 2013 at 5:16 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 144
          • APKing on Oct 05, 2013 at 3:29 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 213
  • Dixytrojan on Oct 02, 2013 at 3:34 pm

For the exterior part, so far its much better compared with previous model. The body kit for trd model seems a little bit over. Interior parts, everything look nicer than before. With the same engine used in previous model, and the price is not reasonable. I dont know what people think when they buy this car at first place. Can get better specs with this kind of price.

• Jason on Oct 02, 2013 at 3:35 pm

why the rim on TRD spec mcm mvyi 1st gen rim

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • Polo Saga on Oct 02, 2013 at 3:36 pm

Okay, the Best Resale Value legacy continues regardless how harsh comments you drop at here. (FYI I’m not dugong supporter)

• come on on Oct 02, 2013 at 3:43 pm

no auto cruiser?????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • ncp92 proud owner on Oct 02, 2013 at 3:50 pm

Fuel consumption improve more….wahhh…untunglah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • Proton R3 Biru on Oct 02, 2013 at 3:51 pm

Ini adalah sampah! Misleading Malaysians since 2004

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 7
  • with RM70K we could’ve get FULL SPEC SUPRIMA S
    much way better than this vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 25
    • Joke of the day : Sperma Ass is really better than this…lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 40
    • gtmaniac on Oct 02, 2013 at 5:47 pm

Not a proton supporter, but judging by number of kit, power, safety features & etc, i have to agree on this. Not to mention a LOT more power. Even the rm82k E version still running on drum brakes!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 2
    • You Proton had tried it many times, using a higher segment car to compete with smaller cars but failed many times. You have to admit that people hate your brand and hate the people working there.
      If people willing to pay higher price on a smaller car than your junk, you seriously have to consider close shop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 24
      • karma on Oct 02, 2013 at 8:09 pm

You have no idea to bash proton already? Preve are increasing day by day on roads. Let’s wait how this Vios fair against it. Time will tell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
        • Time have tell many times. Just Proton refuse to accept it. Instead of admitting your own problem, you come to blog creating fake hype, go on national radio telling challenging the public about their knowledge about cars. This ailing company should just close.

• Just shut your mouth and stop complaining Proton. If you want to buy Vios go ahead. Nobody forcing you to buy local car. By the way, its just a car. With start price from 73K you think people cant own it? Some people just need a car and they just buy a car doest care wat brand and they want to use for daily transport purposes. Peace!

• It hurt isn’t it?
            Doesn’t care what brand of the car? …. yes you are right.
            People don’t care what brand they are buying. They just care what brand to avoid, in this case, its Proton.

• As a step up in improvement, it is(technically) an improvement to spec and aesthatic, and I kinda like that it has a standard safety kit throughout the range however, passive safety like ESC should have been implemented, at least for the top spec, there is currently no car(I think) of this price and segment that has dosen’t have ESC.
    I don’t hate it, but this one, there is a sense that UMW did something, thou there is more they’ve could have done, but at least they are trying to chase the pack.
    PS: “tilt sensor (to prevent unauthorised towing)”, how are those Majilis Perbandaran going tow illegally parked vehicle?

• Chris on Oct 02, 2013 at 4:34 pm

Careful bro, seems like “give credit where credit is due” kind of comment doesn’t go down very well with blind haters.

PS. Maybe they can carry the entire car instead? like those trucks that can transport a single car at a time.

• I am fully aware that it wont go down well with blind haters, A comment is nothing more than an expression of opinion, If I were to be moved by simply a majority of people ‘disliked’my comment to oblivion, I would have stop using the internet long time ago.

PS: you still have to tilt the car to get them up the ram of those trucks in the first place. Only logical solution is to crane it….I think

• Correct me if I’m wrong, but ESC, together with ABS, EBD are active safety features to prevent accident from happening. Airbag & seatbelt are passive safety features to prevent or minimize the injury during an accident.

• Correct, it is best to prevent an accident in happening in the first place, so it is better to look for VSC/ESC when you are shopping for a new car. Of course that dosen’t mean you have to totally over-rule the passive safety feature as well.

• the exterior is a bit overated…I think

• CHong on Oct 02, 2013 at 4:23 pm

At least no more DUGONG shape la

• taboogen on Oct 02, 2013 at 4:26 pm

can i fit the front bumper to my current vios.. seems the spec is still the same… hahaha

• Ford?…anyone?….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • The exterior is ok but the dashboard is hideous! and its made worst by the fake stitching on the dash and door trimming… yucks.

• Michael on Oct 02, 2013 at 4:36 pm

This is obvious underspec vios as compare to our neighbours, Thailand and Indonesia. No digital A/C even in G or TRD spec!

• Kepunden Parang Skeper on Oct 02, 2013 at 4:38 pm

What? No windscreen blower? And only one cupholder for the rear passengers? Sorry, I couldn’t help nit-picking.

Aesthetics-wise, the interior looks great. Sadly the same cannot be said about the exterior. But being a Toyota, it will sell like hot cakes.

• They don’t even give us the new air-cond switches ? WHAT ?!

• JeremyNg on Oct 02, 2013 at 4:45 pm

Before it launch i thought that this car will be jz cosmetic changes but after i read it, i jz realized what Toyota did to this car. As people always said that why change the winning recipe while the winning recipe is still attract the market so i think this car is good enough for most of us.

This car has no problem but i found out that most of the problem is the people who buy this car (part of them), they always think that this car is the best car in the class and etc .

Btw where is Abang Sam Loo a?! Too busy handle customers ? LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 21
    • Affinity on Oct 02, 2013 at 5:10 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 116

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 175
    • Sam Loo (used kimchi) on Oct 03, 2013 at 8:32 am

Was working until 11:30pm last night as there were so many Elantra and Forte owner q ing up for me to show them the Hilux.

Man, UMW’s launch of this baby sushi even caused has so many hailat kimchi owner streaming to me that it caused a traffic jam along MRR2, albeit Jusco sale.

Dem tired, but gotta get to work by 10am instead of 10:30am today, as more kimchi owners have called me to accept their cabbages.

Need to have another 2 Hilux, otherwise my saleman will get a sore throat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 24
      • stupidCarl on Oct 05, 2013 at 5:00 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 163
  • Jilbaber on Oct 02, 2013 at 4:47 pm

No VSC for 90k+ premium car is a no no to me. I might say no to my kids even they interested on it.

I say better wait for facelift,sure they fit the VSC..it happened to Camry probably going to happen to this one too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • azure on Oct 02, 2013 at 5:43 pm

i do have my doubts about that though. so long umw isn’t feeling the pinch from competitors in this seg they probably won’t bother much but just add in chrome to make the car more “premium”

• achocho on Oct 03, 2013 at 8:54 am

ESC cannot be simply retrofit to the new vios like what happened to Camry. New Vios still use old chassis that dont come with ESC in any variants. They have to develop a new chassis from ground up with ESC.

• Jilbaber on Oct 10, 2013 at 3:50 pm

I think in Australia this car’s predecessor was marketed as Toyota Belta (similiar apperance) and it has VSC

• bobby on Oct 02, 2013 at 5:29 pm

Did UMW sign a contract with Toyota to use the same engine for another million years & saved truckloads of money? God knows. They don’t seem to care, we don’t too. So, Let’s just be darling Malaysians & get ripped off for another 5 bloody years.

• theanswer on Oct 03, 2013 at 8:53 am

nope. vios target market is asean country. no matter where u go..vios still use old engine. except china market..use 1.6 dual vvti.

• theanswer on Oct 02, 2013 at 5:30 pm

i dont want to compare with suprima or preve..but at least T should spec’ed up their car based on what rivals has to offer. (jazz ckd, rio,208..etc).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 253
    • sonic31s on Oct 02, 2013 at 11:52 pm

Toyota “Moving Forward”, New Vios “Moving Backward” thanks a lot UMW…

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 213
      • Sam Loo (used kimchi) on Oct 03, 2013 at 9:11 pm

I will personally show your dad the Hilux when the rotten cabbage is traded in

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 236
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux(Again) on Oct 04, 2013 at 11:46 pm

Great, ask your folks to get a new Elantra or Sonata.

Would love to see the look on your face when Sam shows you the Hilux

• azure on Oct 02, 2013 at 5:36 pm

I think the rims don’t fit the overall “sporty-ness”. What happen toyota? blew all your budget on the outer shell until you forgot about the rims? c’mon if you’re gonna put effort on exterior styling do it right pfft

• nighttrain on Oct 02, 2013 at 5:36 pm

What then would you say to be the best C segment car in the current Malaysian market? The best should have ample power(accelerates under 10 secs please), modern & reliable engine, good active and passive safety features(govt should regulate some obvious ones, c’mon already it’s 2013), cool gadgets, nice design and competitively priced(like Proton). Doesn’t this Vios fulfill these requirements?
    C segment is king on Malaysian roads. Whenever a C segment is introduced, Paul’s page is very very busy..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 34
    • Azure on Oct 02, 2013 at 6:01 pm

err… vios is a B seg bro

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • The Vios is a C-segment? Get your facts right bro.

• err….isnt vios a B segment car?

• the car you mentioned is the 308 turbo

• Sam Loo (used kimchi) on Oct 03, 2013 at 8:28 am

Read the 1st paragraph of this article.

Vios is B-Segment, but there are a couple of Korean D-Segment owners here comparing their cabbages that are 2 segments larger with a smaller car.

Sooooo desperate, and I will show them as many Hilux as possible when they trade in their kimchis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 10
  • calcutta on Oct 02, 2013 at 5:43 pm

the looks is really not very clean,the design full of odd and disrupting lines along the front and rear face,side profile does looks ok

the plastic skirts front and rear make it even worse,like it crashed into plastic accessories shops

• Desirable. This is the best looking interior and exterior compared to the other older models. At least the price is kept as it was 8 years ago, E variant. Bravo Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
    • lepry on Oct 02, 2013 at 8:33 pm

Good luck with decades old engine. They certainly milk your your money.

• daniel on Oct 02, 2013 at 5:48 pm

no auto air-conditioning???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • JohnQ on Oct 02, 2013 at 5:49 pm

Kudos to UMW for bringing in a manual model! A bit disappointed that it’s only for the lowest spec though.

For all those 4AT haters… Spend a few hours brushing up your manual driving skills and you safe RM4100 on the car, get cheaper maintenance, a better 0-100 time, higher top speed and better fuel economy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
  • Azure on Oct 02, 2013 at 5:56 pm

however to be fair i will give props to toyota for the new interior design. it looks much much better than the out going model.

• Same sucky design. Only colour is different. Those fake stiches are jokes.

• medic on Oct 02, 2013 at 6:00 pm

Launching the new vios will ‘doom’ the dissapointing suprima.Vios is not the best B-segment car around,still much better then suprima.Toyota still commands loyalty & trust from the general public.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 20
    • peyno on Oct 02, 2013 at 6:39 pm

why only suprima?? how abaout Almera n city???

• Sam Loo (used kimchi) on Oct 03, 2013 at 8:26 am

I know very when that 1 year old K5 now only can fetch RM50k in the trade in market.

That is the selling price of a 8 year old Vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • rational buyer on Oct 02, 2013 at 6:15 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 178
  • ayamas on Oct 02, 2013 at 6:20 pm

waaaa…. look so nice

best design of the year

thanks toyota

i love u

want to book right now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
  • bukapintubayartol on Oct 02, 2013 at 6:26 pm

Why does Toyota insist on having two different 1.5L engines in it’s lineup? One for the vios another for the avanza. Wouldn’t it be cheaper to just have one? Which brings me to my disappointment to the price of the vehicle.

• theanswer on Oct 03, 2013 at 8:50 am

3sz engine was joint developed with daihatsu. that’s why daihatsu models use this engine too.

• peyno on Oct 02, 2013 at 6:38 pm

how many airbags??? Safety rating???

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 164

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 160
      • Chris on Oct 03, 2013 at 8:55 am

Do note that there’s also 8000 people who will think we’re just bunch of useless kids with no life, ranting online making less noise than a buzzing mosquito, regardless of our actual age and profession.

Hooray for keyboard warriors!

• achocho on Oct 03, 2013 at 8:52 am

ESC cannot be simply retrofit to the new vios like what happened to Camry. New Vios still use old chassis that dont come with ESC in any variant. They have to develop a new chassis from ground up with ESC.

• ESC requires relatively minimal hardware, as long as the car has 4-channel ABS, it can be implemented relatively easily and cheaply via upgraded ECUs with the necessary software, with the addition of a few g-sensors at strategic locations to sense the actual behavior of the car to supplement wheelspeed sensor data.

VSC is in fact a cheapo way to improve safety. The proper way is to improve chassis stiffness, suspension design and suspension tuning, but that goes against the maximizing profit by minimizing cost dominator paradigm of today.

• Langdon on Oct 02, 2013 at 6:55 pm

Well done Toyota for keeping the price under 100K! I would have paid 120K for this.

Imagine Stiffer body, shorter stopping distance as a result it does not even need Stability control (VSC, DSC Etc).. The car will stay intact when you lose control because you swerve to avoid cat on the road at 80KPH and hit an on coming truck on the other lane.

Brilliant!

I’ll have 2! Spare to replace the one I wrecked earlier.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 10
    • Yes it does not even need stability control because it can fly to avoid the crash lol

• judge on Oct 02, 2013 at 7:03 pm

get an inspira, better than this red sportivo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • Jonathan Lee on Oct 02, 2013 at 7:18 pm

Also, rear fog lights. Not good here, where people turn on their fog lights at night, whether it is actually foggy or not. They’re unaware that on a clear night, their rear fog lights are dazzling drivers following behind, much like high beams dazzle oncoming traffic and the people they’re following.

• secret on Oct 02, 2013 at 7:21 pm

wow I can’t believe it my 10 year old vios spec is still on par with those new vios..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 131
  • Johnny on Oct 02, 2013 at 7:36 pm

As predicted. Toyota Vios is very close to our hearts. And we love to criticize it. It’s a love-hate relationship.

• stanley on Oct 02, 2013 at 7:37 pm

I am Vios 2nd gen owner. I know it looked hideous that is y I never bother to mod. Saves a lot of money. My priority is reliability and cost saving because I do sales. I drive very high mileage everyday. So tutup mata and buy la. Vios is engine n gearbox are old but I have no complain because power is sufficient n fc is good. What I cannot accept is price difference of their J spec n TRD spec. Almost 20k yet no difference in engine n gearbox. Just cosmetic n accesories where got worth 20k. Total rip off. Buy toyota just buy the lowest spec enough already

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
    • Don’t play play with TRD variant, the bodykits only can add 70hp to the car. Think what you can get with the sticker, rims etc. You sure can beat Golf GTI anytime.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
    • Chris on Oct 03, 2013 at 9:02 am

Age must be catching on, I’m starting to agree with what you said. As a car enthusiast I cringe at the Vios’ spec, but whenever I think about starting a family I think I need to learn from you and just tutup mata buy a practical car that I can afford.

People say T and H is uncle auntie car, truth is I’m probably fit into the uncle/auntie class already, soon if not now.

• gdntsk on Oct 02, 2013 at 7:45 pm

Currently, the best choice among the B-segment sedans in terms of pricing, equipment/specifications & trustworthiness and reliability towards its authorised distributor (based on J.D. Power’s latest customer satisfaction report) is the Nissan Almera which also happens to be the No. 1 non-national B-segment sedan in Jan-June 2013 according to MAA. Just my 2 sen. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • coolcare on Oct 02, 2013 at 7:47 pm

what a disappointment. nice try to revamp the look..but under the hood not impressive at all..
    have to say proton suprima topped this vios in all sections except for the look and interior..
    give credits where its due.

• unsleas on Oct 02, 2013 at 8:47 pm

I’d rather choose conti designed Preve/Suprima rather than much lesser powerful ah beng alike car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • dino years on Oct 02, 2013 at 7:54 pm

I would say this WAS a good car…it WAS a good car 10 years ago. 10 years later…now….haha…legacy engine legacy gearbox legacy safety equipment disguised under a new (its really ugly, seriously) look. At a new price. Please guys, take your hard earned $$ elsewhere to some car that at least tries to improve.

• SakitMata on Oct 02, 2013 at 8:37 pm

Adoi … my eyes hurt when i see the pics of the new vios. is it just me?

• what so special about the gps ? you can buy the nuvi with portable friction mount at < 500 , why ESP is not a standard feature ? why toyota discriminate the south east asian peoples ?

• just use a Nokia Lumia phone as GPS should be enough. Mind you… Nokia’s Here Drive app using offline map, no internet connection needed (Google Maps use data)…

• ViosisAsiSSycar on Oct 03, 2013 at 8:49 am

Toyota compliment us with a better braking distance from 44.3 metres to 42.4 metres… so ESP unit can be omitted.

• copy cat on Oct 02, 2013 at 9:00 pm

Why the odo/trip meter looks like forte design?? :(

• supra 1.5 on Oct 02, 2013 at 9:11 pm

that amoi got vsc tak?

• D.I.Y on Oct 02, 2013 at 9:12 pm

Oooooo? Vios launching??? nothing to surprised seriously.. but very surprise within 10year same technology

• albag on Oct 02, 2013 at 9:17 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 193
  • zen altair on Oct 02, 2013 at 9:24 pm

Can the new vios tapau the proton inspira?? enlighten please..

• Veneno on Oct 02, 2013 at 9:26 pm

Toyota just refuses to kill the four-speeder.. hahahaha..

• Vincent on Oct 02, 2013 at 9:37 pm

still the same ol rear drum brake
    1.5L ancient NA engine
    4 speed transmission
    no ESP
    2 airbags

aight buy this and get all the chicks you want

• speedometer looks like on honda jazz

• retard on Oct 02, 2013 at 9:48 pm

hope the bn gomen increase the tax for this car so that can collect more income for the country. higher price oso make it more luxuriously for this thai & indon taxi car. pple still buy it becoz it’s a T.

• Aldridge on Oct 02, 2013 at 10:00 pm

NCAP berapa star?

• Proton Suprema will gonna hate this…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • 666devil on Oct 02, 2013 at 10:16 pm

Learn from Camry? 1 year later give vsc?
    Why not learn from altis? 1 year later give 7 gears if cannot sell?
    Have been supporting Toyota too long to know their dirty tactics and don’t give a hoot on loyal customers who book their first batch.
    Was burned real pain. Never going back to them anymore.
    Btw,remember to test drive the car during rain. U will find out their art of cut cost skill. Zinc roof…

• Sam C on Oct 02, 2013 at 10:47 pm

Go fire the car designer

• evil master on Oct 02, 2013 at 10:52 pm

is that car or another trash from japs? shame on you toyota. everytime you make some advertisement, you always said (all new toyota vios?) actually, there’s nothing on it… the engine still same, the interior fully with plastic. When you drive this shit go up to genting highland, i bet you it engine will sound extremely noise like you are getting your poop out from your anus.

• Oh my god toyota!! Why are you moving downwards from time to time? The dugong vios was one of the worst Toyota (Avanza no.1 worst) in the world and now this? I was so excited to see the fierce front bumper and headlight thinking that the rest of the part of the car should look nice but when I see the tiny weels i was like face palming all the way.. Sorry toyota, I’m still sticking with my Preve CFE and my Hyundai Sonata :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
  • memang sahlah kereta Malaysia MAHAL

• Bobomarley on Oct 02, 2013 at 11:25 pm

Dear suprima s we know you was design for european market or australia because we asian know nuts about traction control ncap like mr chan…you may be spec champion but this vios which already booked at 7k should be able to teach potong management one thing or two what matter most…price!!! Now find a big warehouse and store the sup rimau for good because seriously the european dont give a damn also…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
  • Carl Wong on Oct 02, 2013 at 11:36 pm

The models are beautiful..

• JayJay on Oct 03, 2013 at 12:07 am

Indonesia model with auto aircond…

• new vios looked like previous altis, new altis soon look like previous camry ? new camry new face ?

• Sam Loo (used kimchi) on Oct 03, 2013 at 12:17 am

All I can say is that I have been so bee zee today showing Hilux to Elantra and Forte owner wanting to trade in their cabbages for the new Vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 17
  • hothot day on Oct 03, 2013 at 12:29 am

God.. this all new vios is unbelievable ugly and expensive…
    Those body kit is just make the car looks even uglier.

• Hukaka on Oct 03, 2013 at 1:10 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 157
  • lololol on Oct 03, 2013 at 1:11 am

With poor specs, old engine & gearbox, overpriced (well bcoz of govt’s stupid TAX)…but a lot of Msians stil love it, WHY?…Bcoz it have QUALITY…engine is old but still give very good FC…compared to the so-called global car Preve/Suprima with poor quality n stupid unefficientcy CamPro…Vios is still better choice…to Proton hardcore fans, full specs/ancap 5-star is good, but without GOOD Quality & efficient engine, it is still useless…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 45
    • izzul on Oct 03, 2013 at 8:25 am

thats why the engine can be used forever because of good quality and efficient engine.ha ha ha

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 222
      • hyundai user on Oct 03, 2013 at 2:52 pm

Yea korean cars nowadays really hv good quality and design…bt the main reasons why Msians still afraid of it is bcoz of the spare parts is hard to find, even when buy at official service outlets sometimes also hv to wait quite long, and it is quite expansive too compared to japanese car’s…and also their low resale value…my 7yrs old Accent now only worth 9k whereas my loans still gt abt 2yrs to go..

• Tommy on Oct 04, 2013 at 2:17 pm

I do not own Korean car but I admit what you said is true that’s why I choose Japanese.
          You seem polite I like you!

Every car is suit for different class of person so they will have their own supporter!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
    • farghmee on Oct 03, 2013 at 10:01 am

it’s no problem with old GB n engine.

but saying that ANCAP 5* is an ignorance.
      good fit&finish won’t save u in an accident.

on separate note:
      it seems that u lololol just copied ur earlier comment & pasted it at the bottom?

• mee sedapp on Oct 03, 2013 at 2:44 pm

Nobody said that ANCAP 5star is not important…Lack of ESC and side airbags doesnt mean it will becomes soft like taufu car…in Japan Ncap Vios did scored very well…if they can do well in quality like fit&finish, for sure they can also do well in car body structure’s rigidity…

• Krasher on Oct 03, 2013 at 2:19 am

CKD and the price still goes up? What a rip off!

• Savvy88 on Oct 03, 2013 at 2:37 am

The only good looking part is the steering wheel.. the rest? meh..

• Aerro on Oct 03, 2013 at 3:21 pm

Savvy new gearbox cost RM9K? Better lelong it at scrap iron dealer lah

• Savvy is never marketed as new. Even Saga has different dimension, different engine and CVT gearbox.

• Cek CT on Oct 03, 2013 at 7:31 am

the TRD price is same with honda city E+..damn..which is more BETTER?city or TRD vios?

• Mamee on Oct 03, 2013 at 7:32 am

Im not a fan of proton and toyota because i dont have both. Honestly, from my point of view suprima is way better compared with this vios. With the price and also the performance of the engine. Only lousy people will buy this car. They think about the fame and chick thats why they will buy it.

• DongSen on Oct 03, 2013 at 7:35 am

“Wahh, that guy is driving vios.. He’s a rich person” – Hot chick.. Seriously chick, suck my balls please.. This is the vios buyer thinking

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • amirad on Oct 03, 2013 at 8:08 am

Toyota philosophy is if it ain’t broke don’t fix it. Works everytime. I don’t mind the four speeder as long as it has a good torque characteristic. In my 4 speeder, 2000 rpm translates to 90km/h. In a 7 speeder, the same rpm gives 100 km/h. In real world driving, there’s not much difference. Less gear changing also means less wear and better reliability.

• Wow, is Toyota that bad? I’m confused now. Who is better, Proton?

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 211
  • superman on Oct 03, 2013 at 9:22 am

no matter what engine or gearbox Vios use, people will buy it and will love it simplt because it is a TOYOTA and this means quality and reliability. this will hurt suprima and Almera sales. if they upgrade the car to new drive train next year which will be ddone for sure, kiss the others goodbye.

• Superman on Oct 03, 2013 at 1:54 pm

I mean if VIOS upgrade their engine and gearbox. then kiss Suprima, Almera and the rest goodbye. the onbyl one standing our will be Mazda 3.

• krsdy on Oct 03, 2013 at 9:24 am

It looks like orang kampung wears the nice suite, which makes look even more funny. It just unmatch with inner frame or just to pretend to be nice. Same logic goes to current Honday City. Nothing to wow of it.

• Maserati(Official) on Oct 03, 2013 at 9:36 am

Finally this beauty is up in the market. I wouldn’t say its the best car in the market, but its bang for the buck car. Lets see what this car has to offer (alternative Paul Tan review that would never be published)

1/ Sleek exterior styling – in some ways reminds me of the new Aventador on how the lower bonnet and side profile connects with each other. 5 star job by Toyota, a kick to the face of the ‘supposed’ best designer Peter from KIA, what a shambles the k3 is compared to the beautiful Vios.

2/ Reliable tech – the decision to use the old technology is a strange one but makes sense. Why fix something that is reliable and works brilliantly? I’ve not come across any Toyota that breaks down in my life, and theres a simple explanation to this. Reliable Tech. Unlike KIA who churns out technology which I doubt they understand or knows how to utlize, I see a broken KIA as much as I see an obese person on Malaysian streets.

3/ Interior – One of the most innovating in its class, and one would be proud to be sitting in all day before the health and safety officers come pulling you out in fear of the driver committing suicide. A bucket loads of high technology only found in German Marques like GPS, push start button, soft plastics etc. Toyota has done this well. Compare to the more expensive k3 which doesn’t even come with GPS and a puny screen, this is basically a ‘fck you’ sign to Peter’s KIA by the ever brilliant and innovative Toyota engineers

4/ Safety – many has bragged about how the Korean has more safety features. But does it really matter? Its a chicken an egg story basically. If you are a lousy driver and relies solely on the car’s safety system, you are basically fighting fire, instead of preventing it and hence you are better off the road from dangering other users. A good driver doesn’t need these fancy ESP or whatever jargon the automotive industry has been throwing to us, all you need is airbags, and 2 is more than enough. It’s a fact in the past that the rate of accident is much much lower than we have now, and the reason is the drivers are too dependent on the car, instead of the skills. So this car is a true drivers car, without needed much interference or false security by the many techs being thrown into a beautiful piece of engineering marvel called the Vios.

5/ Price – a contender with the k5 and yet half the price, what more can I say? the Koreans have been short changing the Malaysian market for so long and its time to put a stop into this. Get the vios or other similarly priced Japanese car for a better ride, comfort and safety for you and your family.

I could go on and on, but out of respect to the brilliant reviews posted in this article, I would stop here.

One final word. Avoid smelly Kimchi, stick to delicious and healthy sushi

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 143 Thumb down 65
    • dewaSemut on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:32 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 127
    • cousinofakupung on Oct 03, 2013 at 12:14 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 210
    • kusochon on Oct 03, 2013 at 12:15 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 185
    • Wow, you are so biased in your ‘assessment’ that it’s strange your handle is not Toyota (Official) instead. You go on and on but it just shows that you a) are a Toyota salesman, or b) seriously dislike the Koreans almost to the point of obsession yet can’t really give unbiased facts that can support your view. All you spew here sounds exactly like what a Justin Bieber fan would do to defend their idol/god.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Masakrotingok on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:24 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 212
    • avomine on Oct 04, 2013 at 8:43 am

1/ Aventador?! Seriously?!
      2/ Automotive industry will die without any new technology changes and improvement. If your context is right, Vios (I’m not implying Vios is not good here, but this guys just giving unreasonable comment here so I’m just quoting based on the sample) need not to be facelift or introduced new generation because the current one is selling like hot cakes anyway. Why bother to change?
      3/ Wow! Those high tech stuff you mentioned is really that high tech huh?
      4/ You really need to go back to stone age and get yourself a Flintstones car which you have ultimate control without any technology which you’re so good in driving a car.

Every car out there has it’s pros/cons but your comment here really degrades the car industry and not painting the correct picture.

• Sam Looser on Oct 04, 2013 at 11:17 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 171
  • Ninja on Oct 03, 2013 at 10:02 am

If u love it, then buy it…if u hate it, buy another car… just simple as that.. you guys talking as if you ever owned a perfect. If there is a perfect car, can u guys afford it?

Get a life!!!

• benzs on Oct 03, 2013 at 10:32 am

Overall is looking good. Even old tech under the hood but it still doing great. P1 also using old tech under its hood, but does it effecient in term in fuel. Same story with Vios. But both comparison, T brand is capable to let us free from worries in long term usage. Beside the price for lower n middle spec is more I less same with P.Sup. Sure safety perspective is different. But ppl still choose lack of safety but good in quality car over P1. DRIVING T brand look promising for us!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 15
    • Suprima specs are way better than this old junk. P1 uses new turbocharged engine and CVT gearbox, not old outdated puny engine and pathetic 4 auto gears.

• Onanimous on Oct 03, 2013 at 10:38 am

Dear PT sifus,

I am a newbie here and just wanna get some clarifications:

Many said the engine is outdated, decades old from the 90s. Would like to know the current features/design of NA engines (of the same class) and the differences between them and that in the Vios.

Same goes with the auto transmission – what (and how much) do I lose out against the modern ones (6-speed tranny?)?

Thank you very much sifus!

p/s: I am very afraid to die so need my car packed with active and passive safety features and I agreed that the Vios is lacking in this area but am confused about those two I mentioned above.

• farghmee on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:49 am

i’m not sifu.

imo,
      old engine & old tranny are not much of concern.
      efficiency is the keyword for both.

the suitability or “marriage” between engine & tranny should be extensively studied.
      engine got it power band & tranny should be able to cope with it.
      “old engine vios” is a Spark Ignition (SI) engine, Natural Aspiration (NA) with fuel Injection (FI), & Variable Valve Timing (VVT) at Intake Port.
      the current trend of so called “new engine” is still SI, but with Direct Injection (DI), Force Induced (supercharged or/and turbocharged), Dual-VVT at Intake & Exhaust Port or Continuous VVT.
      you may search the Uncle Google & learn a little bit :)

as engineering is not all about the advance & invention, it is recommended to view all i’ve mentioned above in business (read: cost) pov.

don’t misunderstand safety equipments.
      they won’t be activated unless the sensors detected so.
      it’s always good to have more safety eq than less.

• isengard12 on Oct 03, 2013 at 5:11 pm

you may try googling.. Examples of newer & modern designs are: engine & transmissions are direct-injected, turbocharging, hybrid etc. Redesigning components that reduces internal friction, lighter parts to reduce weight, thus reducing emission & saves fuel. CVT gearboxes/6-speed forward trannies etc.

• Dato' Jack on Oct 03, 2013 at 10:51 am

finally, INDONESIA Blue Bird Taxi is here.. it will flooded malaysian road, with arrogant face the driver will so proud to drive it..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
  • Msia is a contracting party to international standard of vehicle regulation under United Nation called The 1958 Agreement (UNECE Vehicle Regulations) and the 1998 Agreement (Global Technical Regulations) since 04 April 2006.

And the Govt authority would be JPJ, NOT MITI!

• Dato' Jack on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:11 am

owh the blue bird taxi from Indonesia has arrive here..

• Nenek Jack on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:49 am

Yet it’ll make the blue suprimah cannot sleep now…so panic give more RM10K discounts still nobody wanna buy…hahaha

• Sam Loo (used kimchi) on Oct 03, 2013 at 2:50 pm

Blue Bird sounds repulsive in Hokkien, to the Cantonese ears

• ben yap on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:12 am

more local content should reduce price. this greedy toyota increase price.

Puii!!!

• azhar on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:33 am

yup..i cant understand why the price is not decrease after the local content increase to 50% from the previous 16%..our labour is more expensive than siam arrr??

• EDDIE on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:48 am

Meh…no manual for the G and TRD ver….SAD

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 109 Thumb down 2
  • Mahu B.N dan Najib Turun on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:59 am

In fact Vios is just lack of good sound proof/insulation,is a practical overpriced family sedan car, actually. Any1 test the car and tell me whether japanese is improving soundblock or yet. However, at RM93k with no VSC, no cruise control,no paddle shift, no HID, no NCAP 5’s, no rear aircond, no here and that, is UMW built the car in the island cast away or they are out of this planet???

• gOOsh on Oct 03, 2013 at 12:31 pm

personally, the good front look seems not really fit with the rear… anyway, this car will hit good sale in m’sia for sure…

• apa kereta sekalipun, safety first….nak wajib ada VSC, ABS, EBD, airbags etc…then engine mesti power n reliable la….sesekali nak jugak cilok VIVA turbo… kalu x lepas, malu la…he…think b4 u buy any car..

• wahedenator on Oct 03, 2013 at 12:40 pm

depan sangat garang. ade jual half cut x?
    bole masok kat neo. hehe

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 217
  • Phadan on Oct 03, 2013 at 12:53 pm

Sorry..talking BULLSHIT..most of you are not even affordable to buy perodua viva…hahaha…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 4
  • matkota on Oct 03, 2013 at 1:09 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 139

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 148
  • Johnny on Oct 03, 2013 at 2:10 pm

I rather choose the girls than this car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 46
  • My personal view is ..something that old (technology) but with good reliability is better than new technology that cannot sustain and need more maintenance and repair…I like the better spec of korean cars but in doubt about their reliability and parts availability.

• Aerro on Oct 03, 2013 at 2:40 pm

Exactly the point!

Vios 16km/Liter of course lah better than Suprima 9.1L/100KM!

• That’s only applicable on highway only, test Vios in city 100% with jam all the way or with full load on highway, the difference is not that much. 9.1/100km of suprima is combined cycle FC (urban+extra urban) so no wonder at all.

• victorhzl on Oct 03, 2013 at 2:48 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 234
    • Aerro on Oct 03, 2013 at 3:18 pm

Unlike Proton, Toyota never re-send crash test from 1-star to 3-star…real global champion simply face any reality lah…no need to hide and seek…

• Fredo VVTi-L on Oct 08, 2013 at 4:18 pm

hahahaa… still u dun understand ka? what a pity…
        this Vios is meant for ASEAN market only, thats y no need hi safety spec…while Suprima-s n Preve r both planning for global market, hence the hi safety specification to meet the requirements..
        u want a real toyota? get some imported JDM unit dude, they surely equipped with the highest safety features….not this local champ Vios la….its a rip-off

• azhar on Oct 03, 2013 at 4:22 pm

to be fair to toyota 1090kg for h’way cruising is quite stable..as long as you drive within speed limits..and you should drive that way with AES going to be implement in near future

• budlee on Oct 03, 2013 at 3:08 pm

i actually like this design. yes its lame that the engine and gear has never ever changed and its so laughable when people say the engine is over powered, but at least you know cheap spare parts and skill full “under the tree” mechanics are already there. Boot size is nice

• jack azhar on Oct 03, 2013 at 3:32 pm

katy perry front,selena gomez end but auntie rosmah guts..aiyaiyai..

• King Kong on Oct 03, 2013 at 3:33 pm

Always remember that Malaysia car price is damn expensive and yet people is comparing a 80k local brand “P” with non-local brand. If P is offering a much higher spec at this price, let’s see how would other non-local car would have to price their cars. When they offer the same spec with P, the price will be shocking. So pls be fair enough to compare it. You get what you pay. and yet a local car which do not have “tax” and charging the same price as a non-national car just because of higher spec? Let’s see who’s sucking your money and be fair to any of the non-local brand. Not particular saying about Vios but all non-local car brands. Rmb, what’s the reason we have to pay so much for a Vios and just to protect the P.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 22
    • Sam Looser on Oct 04, 2013 at 12:50 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 170
  • mandm on Oct 03, 2013 at 3:42 pm

so niceee

look sporty, very cheap and affortable, just put 3k bucks for booking

all my friends follow me to buy this car

congrats UMW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • thepain on Oct 03, 2013 at 4:07 pm

better than honda city

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • Honda City Owner on Oct 04, 2013 at 12:10 am

My Honda City i-VTEC is much much better than this crap!

• piston ring on Oct 04, 2013 at 9:36 pm

City owner, please get ready to save some money in your pocket for repair your transmission,this day will come to you soon. Ha,ha,ha….

• budan on Oct 03, 2013 at 4:11 pm

preve smokes this so so branded car with specs and price !

• Aiyo. Work Hard,earn well.Buy the best car in this high tax car nation.eg mercedes, bmw ,audi ,vw.settle case.no complains about the shitty myvi extreme 1.5.that car really sux.

• Kimseng on Oct 03, 2013 at 4:25 pm

Don’t buy now and regret. I heard they are coming out with 5 speed auto in their next batch. Be wise.
    Don’t be like the first batch Kia Forte 4 speed buyers. Regret. Countless sleepless nights.

• I will wait until new City next year before jump into conclusion.

• Nicholas on Oct 03, 2013 at 6:52 pm

Almost 50% local parts, yet still sell so high… Erm… Where did the tax saving go?

• Sam Loo on Oct 04, 2013 at 12:46 pm

To my pocket lor. hahaha. I am laughing to the bank everyday! Idiots like to throw their hard eraned money at me i sure take lo!! HAhaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
      • stupidCarl on Oct 05, 2013 at 5:03 pm

You are only a car sales man budak, jangan cakap macam taukeh. Pergilah sekolah main gasing and continue to talk bodoh.

• SadekSegaraga on Oct 03, 2013 at 8:24 pm

Too many Vios fan around here, no matter how much you critics or giving out true “Reality” fact that this new vios is not a good car to buy, they just won’t listen.

• NISSpengAN on Oct 03, 2013 at 8:54 pm

My mighty Nissan almera still better than this vios crap,at least almera got more rear legroom than new vios so cramp,i’m 6’1′ height.

• majorka on Oct 03, 2013 at 9:11 pm

haha..so much of comments..mostly negative..not sure because they really hate toyota or they really like other brands..

any way..no matter what the comment is those who keep looking for perfect car will keep on searching

while those who really wanted more from current one will keep on waiting

and those who just want new car suiting their purpose and needs will just buy no matter what others say..

cheerio

• SamShowedMeTheHilux(Twice) on Oct 05, 2013 at 12:24 am

Well, anyone that is faced with remorse buying a rotten cabbage will defend it in hope that they can sell it off at the RV of Sushi

In reality, Sam is probably the most generous kimchi trade, coz I have volume.

Most will come to Sam after a few rounds of enquiries. I am one of them which Sam saved

• stupidCarl on Oct 05, 2013 at 5:07 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 272
  • Levin on Oct 04, 2013 at 12:35 am

Is it me or did I notice the new VIOS looks like its being jacked up? I mean the suspension. Notice how high the car sits up from the ground and the gap between the wheels to the fender. Man, I mean you don’t need to use jacks to slide under this VIOS for a quick oil change. Also, why is Toyota using the same engine & gearbox from the first generation VIOS on this new model? And that TRD badge on a VIOS is always over rated.

• Scooby on Oct 04, 2013 at 8:47 am

Rupa belakang dah ala2 gay jer…

• Car reader on Oct 04, 2013 at 11:58 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 181
  • Dato' Jack on Oct 04, 2013 at 12:03 pm

i traveled to Indonesia last week, i saw few blue bird taxi’s on new vios.. to be fair, its nothing WOW for this car, if u place it side by side with Saga flx the looks almost same..

i ask indonesian, are they excited to own the new vios? the claim better buy avanza rather overprice vios..

looks like our friend in Indonesia lookdown to vios, while us here so proud of it.. they look vios the way we look proton persona just a TAXI…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 97
    • yes agreed with u,,,i’ve been living in Indo for quite some times…vios there are like nothing!! they only used as a public transport, taxi… they’ll buy jazz or city or fiesta instead…that’s why when i got back to malaysia and see this car i felt NOthing special…and indeed it is nothing special with the engines and safety-less features, and so overpriced

• say whatever, this car’s gonna be one of the best sellers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • peyno on Oct 12, 2013 at 5:49 am

last time when they launched New AVANZA and NEW camry.. ppl oso said it gonna be hot seller… yet it was wrong

• vios_godlike on Oct 04, 2013 at 1:32 pm

marvelous, what a good job of TOYOTA, truly a great improvement on the already godlike VIOS and make it beyond godlike!!! now VIOS performs much much better than ever and comes with execellent sportive look. great power, fuel saving performance, superb external look, wonderful handling, not to mention comfort and quietness, and long lasting quality. you really can’t find any excuse not to buy it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 13
  • Tommy on Oct 04, 2013 at 1:55 pm

VIos wasn’t that poor by the way,
    Korean car still have doubt will its quality.

As long as you have a good skill.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • omanjedi on Oct 04, 2013 at 8:58 pm

Toyota vios. Prime choice for callgirls and escort girls. Real family man buys nissan

• Chin Chai Kong on Oct 04, 2013 at 11:22 pm

SA , please , I want this VOIS and the girl beside it too .

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 153
  • Oberry on Oct 05, 2013 at 5:44 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 176
  • VIos using same engine is normal because vvt-i is from Toyota you never aspect i-vtec from Toyota! Honda also selling i-vtec for a while!
    VVt-I has proven its good fuel consumption and smooth engine for numerous of year.
    You can’t aspect 2.0 engine to fit into VIos because is not suit for this segment perhaps the price is consider cheap.
    4 gears for A/T is enough for 1.5 engine so if 5 gears is too heavy to fit into the car and it’ll cause more fuel consumption.
    Toyota engineer is always smart!

• Toyota Engineer on Oct 07, 2013 at 11:06 am

T.K,

absolutely correct….we are smart! we design this vios for nyonya to go pasar….better fc bcoz income from mahjong not consistent…

• cousinofakupung on Oct 07, 2013 at 12:47 pm

1. do you know that i-vtec engines have many series? each series comes with slight/many improvement over the previous engine? and honda did this for many years. guess what? NOT ONLY HONDA DID THIS.

on the other hand, this toyota 1NZ-FE has been around for years, as if they have perfected their 1.5 engine that no improvement needed for this engine at all. the way i look at it, they don’t want to spend a dime on investing to r&d for this engine. it’s fairly a good engine, i have no doubt about it, but come on! join the wagon! improve your ability to cope with others.

2. we never asked for 2.0 or 3.0 or 5.2 engine to be fit in the body. we asked for excellent FC with low displacement while not sacrificing the torque (much). this is basic common sense for all other car manufacturer around the globe. you know they have made 3-cylinders engine imperatively equivalent to current heavily 1.6l engine. why not toyota?

3. 4-speed transmission. let me put in simple word, we don’t want rubber band effect on our driving experience, and we want for rather responsive during acceleration. that’s it. and you wont solve this demand on 4-speed transmission gearbox.and that’s why they develop 5-6 speed transmission, regardless augmented, virtual, or actual 5-6 speed. again, other manufacturer did this, why not toyota?

and yes, they are smart? why do we need to change something that return huge profit?

• Toyota Engineer's Boss on Oct 09, 2013 at 3:23 pm

Ahhh. now u understand 1st principle of making profit in business.

“If there is huge demand, why change?”

• farizY on Oct 08, 2013 at 10:06 am

Won’t get 5 star for Asian NCAP, no VSC.

• Fredo VVTi-L on Oct 08, 2013 at 4:07 pm

this is just a taxi in Indon…but here its a ‘sportcar’…miahahhahaa….

• Sam Loo (used kimchi) on Oct 08, 2013 at 10:14 pm

I am deeply sorry to all kimchi owners for my idiotic blind bashing. I need to make a living to feed my family and sales of Toyota has been poor lately. People are getting smarter by the day and making better choices.

Also I need to pay for the high maintenance of my Vellfire which cost RM21k to repair a faulty auto door. Seriously the killer maintenance is higher than 7-Series and even Audi A8.

Recently no one is trading in their kimchi to me as they found out I was offering ridiculous cut throat prices. Around 30% below market price. So they rather go elsewhere or sell the car themselves.

I regret being such a bloody idiot. But please understand my dire ultra hailat situation. I have no choice.

Yours Truly.

• Other Car Dealer on Oct 09, 2013 at 3:35 pm

Current car market is same lah. Other brand car sales more worse lah, Sam.

• Only for those who has low sense of technical knowledge will go for Vios. Better go for Honda City or KIA Forte or Hyundai Elantra or Proton Preve or Ford Fiesta or Peugeot 208 or Chevrolet Sonic or just name it…

(If people are considering resale value when buying a car, they will stick to boring design and underspec Toyota)..

• ccy7218 on Nov 08, 2013 at 12:51 am

Okay, looks good!

• Ethan on Nov 26, 2013 at 2:24 pm

Is time to say byebye to the new dugong with major plastic surgery and inner still remain the old dugong.. after you see the new CITY..

• Chow 1 on Mar 06, 2014 at 3:33 pm

Test drove it, and loved it. Huge improvement from previous model. Well done Toyota. Best brand in the world.

• Ray Teoh on Mar 30, 2014 at 12:59 am

1’st time saw when launch in gurney plaza find out the interior look very class like premium Lexus after that find out all the stitching is FAKE just D*** cheap plastic OMG Toyota build this kind quality my conclusion is same like proton cheap car but this vios I’m sure laa with better reliable

• Eason Chan on Oct 04, 2014 at 11:09 am

the all new vios will definitely cause RV of previous generation dugong to drop significantly… the all new vios looked just so much better…. but where is the auto air cond and ESC?