TBU opens RM22 mil Plant 3 for new Toyota Vios

toyota-vios-plant-3

Toyota Boshoku UMW (TBU) has opened its third plant in Shah Alam. The plant will support the processes at the first two plants by producing seat padding and form-in-place headrests for the new Toyota Vios.

Additionally, the new plant will be pioneering the introduction of vibration absorption foam to improve the new Vios’ ride comfort, said UMW Toyota Motor president Datuk Ismet Suki.

Over RM22 million has been allocated to develop the plant on a 3,200-square metre built-up area. The project started earlier this year as part of UMW Toyota Motor’s RM1 billion investment plan from 2011 to 2013.

“Since 2004, the sales turnover has grown from RM121 million to RM230 million in 2012,” Ismet said, adding that the demand for assembling seats, door trims and interior parts has also increased.

toyota-vios-plant-3

TBU was established as a JV between Toyota Boshoku Corporation of Japan and UMW Toyota Motor in 2006. It produces and assembles seats, door trims and interior parts for the Toyota Vios, Hilux, Fortuner, Innova and Hiace built by Assembly Services Sdn Bhd (ASSB), as well as Hino commercial vehicles.

The first plant (ex-Seat Industries (M) Sdn Bhd) started its ASSB operations assembling seats for the Corolla. It expanded later on to seat frames, door trims and headlinings for other Toyota models.

In 2011, TBU invested over RM8 million to develop its second plant. This plant focuses on sewing and cutting operations, as well as the “Package Tray” – the CKD Camry‘s rear speaker board.

The new Toyota Vios’ Malaysian launch is just around the corner. The order books are open, with estimated pricing revealed. You have a rough idea of its specifications and equipment, and we’ve shown you the car at IIMS, Bangkok, Spot & Snap, on a trailer and on oto.my – everywhere but in the kitchen sink.

Not long now, boys and girls!

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Bling Bling on Sep 24, 2013 at 4:44 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 357
    • Korean Junk Boss on Sep 24, 2013 at 6:13 pm

What?? Come on with full force give this a thumbs-down to thousands.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 37
    • myvi is like the most hated car on the internet, but in reality, like about 8K-10K new myvis been registered every month.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 3
      • True cuz a lot people cant afford, I just got my infamous myvi extreme 1.5.Bloody hell, still better than no car at all.seriously.crap car but low profile.It does not attract attention like example bmw m3

• Peter on Sep 24, 2013 at 4:49 pm

Good, besides appearance, finally see some other improvements on toyota cars, namely seat padding & head rest. Toyota has made such a big investment in technology locally. This’s a quantum leap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • Eheh! No need la! Your sales will be lower than before thanks to more competitive cars on the market. Nobody would buy one unless you,YES YOU reading this,would like to..then go ahead ._.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 24
  • Einstein on Sep 24, 2013 at 9:07 pm

so this is how the Japanese giant reward us malaysian with technology transfer. I say thank you so much and we will continue to support your reliable product for many years to come.

• toyol on Sep 25, 2013 at 10:25 am

poyo lah mamat QC tbu..visit vendor just for lunch..haha.