GALLERY: 2013 Toyota Innova facelift on show at IIMS

Toyota_Innova_facelift_ 004

All of the fuss and attention has undoubtedly been on the fresh faces at the Indonesian International Motor Show 2013, but more familiar faces are also to be seen, and this one isn’t that old – well, not if you take into account that it arrived wearing a new face just a month back.

Yes, it’s the Toyota Innova facelift, which was launched in Indonesia in August – our man Hafriz spotted the new Kijang Innova, as it’s known as there, at the Toyota booth whilst on his rounds and duly snapped some shots of the updated MPV.

Previously revised in 2011, the changes to the 2013 Toyota Innova facelift are centred on the exterior, with a rather loud-looking front grille – and face – heading the list. Some minor revisions at the rear and additional garnishing complete the picture, by and large. The show examples of course go the song and dance route, dressed up with sportier alloys and, in the case of the white Type V example, side panel stripe accents.

Two engine choices are available for the Innova in the Indonesian market, a 136 PS and 182 Nm 2.0 litre petrol and a 103 PS and 200 Nm 2.5 litre diesel, with transmission options being the familiar five-speed manual and four-speed automatic gearboxes.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• najib on Sep 20, 2013 at 10:32 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 218
  • _xXx_ on Sep 20, 2013 at 10:33 am

someone starts the lorry….wrongrongrong….wooommwoommm…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • basher on Sep 20, 2013 at 10:43 am

whatups with that big grill?!

• Macam Yes on Sep 20, 2013 at 2:10 pm

More air intake, cooler aircond and engine – better performance!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Just when I thought nobody can beat preve’s ugly grill.
    Apparently we have a new winner!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 67
  • hendrik on Sep 20, 2013 at 10:52 am

grill and headlamp look nicer. but I see the tail lamp looks like the same la?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • sudonano on Sep 20, 2013 at 10:53 am

That grille looks horrid.

Thank goodness your lens didn’t crack trying to focus on that.

• what outgoing model? this is the same model as your “outgoing model”.It’s just another facelift..

• Dear Toyota, please stop INNOVAting facelifts on this. You made it worst, pure ugly and even Hotwheels mini scales are way prettier than this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • itammanis on Sep 20, 2013 at 11:02 am

The white version is totally ah beng. Why on earth you need those bling wheels plus the scratch-looking stripes?

• How many times Innova will be facelifted? The product is already enter the 8th production year and completely new design should be introduced

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • TOYOTA on Sep 20, 2013 at 11:15 am

I am toyotaaaa.I dont need new design.I just do facelift and all you malaysian fags will still buy meeee.
      you cheap ppl will pay more for underspec car because I AM TOYOTAAA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 52
  • “In jail, no one can hear you scream”

• Nice MPV but under power. For normal use ok but going uphill struggle like hell especially to Genting Highland. My friend drove his Innova to Genting Highland last Dec with 8 persons and luggage on board can’t reach the top, have to make twice. Pls brings in 2.7l. will be even nice. In Taiwan it sold less than rm60k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • lonelyobserve on Sep 20, 2013 at 11:37 am

There are two options to get more power:

Install supercharger for budget tuning. Can get extra horsepower and over 250Nm of torque with ease.

If money is not a problem, install turbo charger. Innova with over 300 horsepower and 350Nm of torque is not a dream.

• Ahbeng on Sep 20, 2013 at 3:10 pm

I think you read too much hypertune magazine.

A lot of folks think just plonking a turbo or supercharger onto a n/a car is as easy as kacang putih. Try plonking a 0.5 bar turbo onto your standard NA engine and see what happen.

Can the auto gearbox take the torque ?

If seriously money is no issue, isn’t it better to just sell the car and buy a better car with the huge amount of money and questionable reliability you going to plonk into a bread and butter van.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • 4G63T DSM on Sep 20, 2013 at 6:25 pm

or the 2.5L oil burner for that matter.

• next will be 10th years anniversary facelift. stay tune~

• wow.. what a beauty… much better than alphard..
    good job designer…so futuristic.. walaoweyh..
    I Must Get This..simply love it… =P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
  • kusochon on Sep 20, 2013 at 11:41 am

new toyota starex

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 56
  • khairul on Sep 20, 2013 at 11:43 am

Ugly like ‘katak pisang’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 36
  • caprico on Sep 20, 2013 at 12:13 pm

Waduh.. rupanya brengset sekali ya

• Kijang bertambah gigi besi

• Denaihati on Sep 20, 2013 at 12:24 pm

with white color make Innova a lot different than existing.

• Beetle Nut on Sep 20, 2013 at 12:27 pm

Old wine, old bottle, new bottle cap…wait, it’s not even old wine, more like vinegar now :P

• Ahmadfaris93 on Sep 20, 2013 at 12:45 pm

It’s ugly. Nuff said.

• klguy on Sep 20, 2013 at 1:44 pm

looks so 3rd world. wander what would be the reaction of the ppl when this luxurious mpv is showcased in frankfurt

• disgusting

• Toyoi on Sep 20, 2013 at 1:59 pm

new face, same shit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
  • tauge-ta on Sep 20, 2013 at 2:38 pm

It’s CAMRY MPV…
    Luxury & Spcious….
    Oops, my mistake it’s not APHARD VEILFIRE!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 22
  • Jonjai on Sep 20, 2013 at 4:58 pm

UMW Toyota, please bring in better models to replace Innova for Malaysian market. I’ve had enough of all this facelift bullshit from toyota for innova. I just hate it when looking at the overall specs for this car. Too outdated for our market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Sorchai on Sep 20, 2013 at 6:09 pm

I thought was the old Ssangyong…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 21
  • Ahlee bin ahtan on Sep 20, 2013 at 7:03 pm

Bang Nuar pun undergone facelift jugak that is the IN THING now ! following Innova footsteps or the other way round?

• Jilbaber on Sep 20, 2013 at 9:16 pm

Oh god, the grille is so ugly! I want to puke…

• HarpArtist on Sep 21, 2013 at 8:36 am

OUCH MY EYE

*I’m Blind*

• benzs on Sep 21, 2013 at 10:21 am

When release it will not reach higher volume of selling. Innova is too old tech. Ppl will rather wait new replacement model as Toyota life cycle is predicted. Last face lift after roughly 2 years, new model will launch. Design wise does not match mpv especially front grill.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Toyota= king of facelift