2011 Toyota Innova gets updated looks in Malaysia

The Toyota Innova offered in Malaysia has been updated to the latest facelifted version which made its world debut at the Indonesia International Motor Show in July this year.

Three variants of the facelifted Innova are available in Malaysia – the 2.0E with manual transmission at RM97,500, the 2.0E automatic at RM102,500 and the top of the line 2.0G automatic at RM110,600, all prices quoted for private registration in Peninsular Malaysia with metallic paint.

Innova FL

The most obvious change is at the front where you get a new grille and bumper that reminds you of the Toyota Camry facelift and helps widen the appearance of the Innova. The photo above was snapped at the Indonesian International Motor Show (read our July story which has a huge photo gallery).

The side features revised side protection moldings and a wider chrome trip running beneath teh center line of the Innova. Toyota also says there are more prominent creases on the wheel arches and more distinctive character lines on the fenders, which help the Innova look more dynamic. There’s a new 15 inch alloy wheel design, wrapped with 205/65R15 tyres. At the rear, the biggest change are the new tail lamps.

On the interior, the dashboard has been revised to have a more “horizontal” orientation which separates the center console into an upper and lower zone. The 2.0E model has its control dials redesigned to offer easier operation. There’s also a new 4-spoke steering wheel for all models, and there’s also steering leather wrapping and dark wood trimming for the 2.0G version.

The instrument panel cluster has been redesigned with a black face for higher contrast to improve visibility in all lighting conditions. The Optitron meters have a silver-finished trim ring with turquoise blue highlights in the meter face design. For analog meters on the lower end models, there is a glossy black trim ring. Only the 2.0G gets a multi-info display which offers various info such as average fuel consumption; real-time fuel consumption; average speed on a journey; the length of time that the engine has been running; the range available on the amount of fuel in the tank; the direction the vehicle is headed in (compass), and the temperature outside the vehicle.

The engine remains the same – the 1TR-FE 2.0 litre inline-4 engine putting out 136 PS at 5,600rpm and 182Nm of torque at 4,000rpm, mated to either a 5-speed manual for the 2.0E MT model or a 4-speed automatic for the 2.0E AT and 2.0G AT.

In terms of safety, only the top of the line 2.0G model gets 2 SRS airbags for the front passengers while the two 2.0E models only have one driver airbag, which is pretty sad as there are cars like the Perodua Myvi which now have dual SRS airbags as standard for all models. All models have ABS brakes.

Look after the jump for some images of the new facelifted Innova as well as an embedded price list. You can also check out our IIMS 2011 stories for more live photos from the Innova’s global unveiling.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• tupai on Oct 21, 2011 at 3:21 pm

updated???? you must be joking me! one of the ugly looking MPV out there. Toyota, you are so boring!!!

• gunigugu on Oct 21, 2011 at 3:49 pm

4 speed?? this is getting really..really..really old guys..buck up toyota! enough with all the facelifts already

• 4545er on Oct 21, 2011 at 4:34 pm

and 1 airbag? pure day light robbery..i wish Toyota never existed

• MoFaz on Oct 21, 2011 at 4:49 pm

1 airbag only??
        ahh.. just because this is not a car, Toyota think they can still offer 1 airbag only while all new cars gonna have 2 airbags minimum next year?? toyota is soo stingy!
        i believe they’re going to increase price of Vios J next month / year because they have to add another airbags into Vios J

• M'sian Salvatore on Oct 22, 2011 at 2:02 am

UMW very stingy! they r the 1 who do the package to brought in M’sia from Thailand and Indonesia.

• MoFaz on Oct 22, 2011 at 9:22 am

toyota have 49% share in UMW-Toyota.

• M'sian Salvatore on Oct 23, 2011 at 12:21 am

Do u have any general knowledge or learn any business basic/fundamental??? UMW with more than 51% (not Joint venture) are the 1 have the real power to control the whole business entity. Are u really sure UMW 51% – Toyota 49%? bcoz i also dun knw so i won’t simply said it is the truth. It is simple to me as i dun 1 jadi tukang fitnah & pembohong berdosa macam UTUSAN MALAYSIA termasuk pemiliknya.

• MoFaz on Oct 24, 2011 at 11:55 am

dude, please refer to UMW-Toyota prospectus. yes UMW have 51%, and 2 Toyota entities hold 49%. Did you know that everything must get approval from board of directors, appointed by the shareholders? some companies require 2/3 majority in board of directors meeting for any decisions. 51% is not 2/3, so UMW couldn’t just decide everything by themselves. Toyota could still influence the outcome even as minority.

• daniel on May 11, 2012 at 11:46 pm

hello dont think has a stupid person.okey.pls use your brain first.on brand new toyota innova 2.0g has 2 air bags on the first row.on 2.0e only have 1 air bag which is at the driver sit.

• Looks better than Proton Exora .

• watafak?got katarak at your eyes..pergi basuh muka

• Jimmy on Oct 21, 2011 at 11:08 pm

Poor guy. Hates Proton so much, must have been hurt badly.
        This is like saying a 55-year-old ammah is more beautiful than a new Miss Malaysia just because the Miss Malaysia is his musuh.

• Miss M’sia?but low quality leh lolx still prefer Japan brands more class and good quality! Exora is super ugly such a big fat boot and copy cat front from mitsubishi fuzion head! alien

• That's what She on Oct 22, 2011 at 7:39 pm

please.. dun compare exora to innova… in terms of safety features, generally toyota > proton due to proton’s cost manufacture. That’s just plain silly and any body in the automobile industry will think you do not know cars one bit.. Innova in all has been a great MPV, in terms of price wise but i clearly think the reason why toyota only implements 1 safety air bag is due to the survey which they conduct..

Generally, innova users consist of new born mothers or with many children. Husbands would buy this car knowing that it is great for them to move around and that the only person sitting in the driver’s seat is the mother.

in terms of 4 speed, i personally agree that the innova is very under power ..

• MoFaz on Oct 22, 2011 at 11:46 pm

bullshit! Volvo which very well known for strong body still give plenty of airbags.
            or do you mean the wife/mother is not important life? do you give a huge teddy bear to your wife to hug in the car as airbag replacement?

• tokmoh on Oct 23, 2011 at 1:07 am

Aunty, just woke up from the 80s?

Or just started to work as toyota salesman? Aiyo, u dun sell ur car by spec, u just say “good 2nd hand value” good enough. That’s my top tips for u to meet monthly sales target in a week or less. Happy selling

• noname on Oct 23, 2011 at 7:33 pm

innova from japan eh?? go back and study 1st laa….

• Hello there even thought Innova make in Thai or whatever lah Toyota logo is Japanese brand so u should go back to study first b4 u shoot me :) lolx haha

• and i more thing can you read the simple English words ‘ still prefer Japan brands… ‘ i never said Innova from Japan ‘ idiot lolx

• kuching on Oct 22, 2011 at 9:25 am

Both not too attractive compared to the expensive one. What to say. Beautiful – expensive. Average looking – average price.

• haimi on May 31, 2012 at 12:20 pm

Exora is much much better handling and riding than this old junk of lorry.i have tested both. this toyota shall perfectly call MPL not MPV ..Just tailing this car..obviouslly the spare tyre and ugly look bulky rear axle just like lorry pasir..it’s a world war two kind of suspension..

• TallPan on Oct 22, 2011 at 11:00 pm

uhh hello Toyota… even uncles also got taste la these days… let’s see how long more u can take us for a ride

• yh Inc. on Oct 23, 2011 at 11:17 pm

I can see people start booming hardly this Innova from head to toe. I’m not T supporters but these are the facts: (put aside national brand, price take this Innova G Spec as highest compare to those cheaper than this)

1) Innova give largest cabin space.

2) 3 rows air cond vent for the comfort of riding.

3) This is the largest engine capacity with the price of 100K and below MPV.

4) Old engine but proven reliability of minimum failure or defeat.

5) More comfortable seats and cushion compare to other car with thinner seats.

These are the reasons why people still choosing this as their family car although hundreds of people booming it. Those people who said how proton is good and how VW is good, please go for it. This japanese car aims the middle income group which are the biggest market for them. This group of people looking something which suit to the 5 items mentioned above and exterior design is always at the bootom of the list. Japanese car maker is now less interest in M’sia compare to Thailand, Indonesia and Philippines as the government here blocks their business here with introducing national car and high tax rate for the imported car. T doesn’t mind what people is booming here because it sells well out there!

• grizzly bear on Oct 24, 2011 at 11:48 pm

this innova is overpriced. malaysian have long been ripped off by toyota and honda. the rival should kill this trend.

remember toyota wish, some with rear drum brake, re-cond, etc, still selling well above 120k. whereas mazda5 and pug 5008 both offering the best package incl safety, controls, accessories etc, but still can’t match the wish.

get civic & altis and compare them with pug 308 turbo and you definitely will be amazed. have you test drive camry and check with other make? look at the safety features, instruments, handling etc.

malaysian have an awkward philosophy with when buying a car. 2nd hand value is their first criteria, and go to hell with the driving dynamics, performance, safety. wake up.

• sfssd on Oct 26, 2011 at 1:50 am

Dude, I couldn’t agree more with you, this is what killing the car industry indirectly, people are too afraid to buy Saabs, Volvos, Peugeots, Citroens, Renaults or Skoda, all of these marques possess exceptional ride and handling, top notch safety feature and good all round comfort for long journeys. They thinking too much on resale, in the end, it’s the very thing that kills the colorful market full of different marques and brand, remember how Ford, Alfa Romeo, Fiat & Opel was so popular back then? it was awesome..!

• its just tax that makes it overpriced

• neo1point3 on Nov 14, 2012 at 8:18 am

Ford Fiesta give you full spec at merely RM90k 7airbags

• This car really boring as i sell my 2009 innova g spec below than 75k…huhu…really reagret buying this…heavy fuel consumption..

• daniel on May 11, 2012 at 11:47 pm

the all new toyota innova is the best.have you go for the test drive.dont talk so much

• Only the stupid idiot like all Indonesian will buy this old junk

• lonelyobserve on Oct 21, 2011 at 3:50 pm

Nope, that junk is used by Indons for carrying goods.

• autojohndoe on Oct 21, 2011 at 6:32 pm

please do not insult other people la…

in some way, they are better than us…

• Redrules on Oct 21, 2011 at 7:20 pm

The thing is we are stuck in between. We somehow deemed as deosn’t deserve high spec Toyota as Singapore let alone Japanese market but at the same time we feel we shouldn’t get down graded specs as Indonesia or Thailand. The problem is Toyota being Toyota sees Indonesia and Thailand as a bigger market than Malaysia, so they probably care, but not much. One way to get their attention is don’t be brand loyal, buy a car you think you deserve.

• catdog on Oct 21, 2011 at 10:23 pm

Sokong, laa ni byk pilihan lain…mesti bagi signal pada T yg kita deserve better model… yg pasti kita kat sini berkobar2 kat luar sana ramai lagi yg loyal pd T…hope pengeluar kete lain beri saingan…

• Barkcrack on Oct 22, 2011 at 12:17 am

yeahh you can call indonesian idiot, but for us quality is number one, good looking or not is behind.

• Facelift ugly …….previous model pun ugly …. We asian people got con by Toyota Big time …….

• OMG..It is VAN with CAMRY head….sxxt…It really make CAMRY drivers to vomit..

• we want new models but not facelift, facelift, again and again..
    the design is boring, the engine is old, the overall just like its slogan, “moving backward”

• Useless engine

• why useless engine /

• Jimmy on Oct 21, 2011 at 11:12 pm

Sounds louder than a lorry. Easily recognised from far. Can you believe this is our Almighty Toyota Fortuner at RM180k with 2 airbags and 4-speed auto.
        Oh those who is attention seeking better quickly buy yourself one.

• why so sour grape ?

• It is considerably good price for a full size MPV for our local market. The rest of the MPVs available are overly expensive and not people cannot afford them. With Toyota legendary rear wheel drive, I would say it is pretty good.

• gomok on Oct 21, 2011 at 3:59 pm

Yep legendary with lorry suspension……exora much more comfort tha this stupid mpv

• Vincent on Oct 21, 2011 at 5:54 pm

To be fair to Proton, Exora is better than Innova interm of price and look….suspension is ready – – –

THis toyota, at 2011, still selling 4 gear car for 2.0 car…very sick…

• daniel on May 12, 2012 at 12:07 am

hello dont talk so much about toyota.proton tak boleh pakai.when i rent a exora for penang for a week when it back here all the tyre on exora all ready rosak sudah begoyang masa kereta berjalan kereta pun bergoyang useless car.and then when i second time i go to penang,i rent a toyota innova 2009 it was smooth no engine sound in the car superb aircond but one problem it has louder engine sound when it start and then the sound will decrease when the the engine become hot.it becomes has camry.it suberb car proton is the useless.right now im using wira 1.3cc all ready more than 10 years.my car problem is aircond motor gam,when on bumping the car wont jump,when it takes bumping our ass will pain because wont jump, has something weird sound even when no people sit behind.if on percent my car is on 10/100%.to bad.now the time all ready reach to change to a BRAND NEW TOYOTA INNOVA 2.0G SILVER MATELIC.my family member are 7 person

• the only thing legendary about this mpv is the legendary low spec and high price!!!

• MoFaz on Oct 21, 2011 at 4:39 pm

even if it’s good, it’s not pretty. so it’s not ‘pretty good’ but probably ‘ugly good’.

buy hey, i’ve driven innova and exora, exora is better. with turbo engine and cvt transmission due next month, innova is gonna be left behind. far, far, far behind.

• Jimmy on Oct 21, 2011 at 11:19 pm

Don’t be overconfident, bullying your customers. You know le, Proton bulliED terang-terang; somebody keeps on bullying, using smiling face, by selling silver at emas price.

• Unforgiven on Oct 24, 2011 at 11:30 pm

Pls get an Exora for your next car/mpv.

• daniel on May 18, 2012 at 12:17 pm

i would like to say,if you want to buy car buy the new innova which is 2.0g dont buy proton cars.its useless

• funny you should mention about the rear wheel drive. Yes, it is, but it’s on a pick-up truck chassis. the ride on the innova is bloody bumpy, I know because a colleague has one and he replaced his suspension springs to reduce bumpiness.

for me, a proper MPV must have a monocoque body construction.

• haimi on May 31, 2012 at 12:32 pm

Don’t be blinded by Toyota Legendary, it’s a world war 2 technology with millenium price.

• DewaSemut on Oct 21, 2011 at 3:52 pm

Demmm… rear looks like Naza Ria!

• ciku-san on Oct 21, 2011 at 3:52 pm

macam CIPAN!

• gomok on Oct 21, 2011 at 3:52 pm

Old man car, old engine and old gearbox…..that is what ww call expensive….not 508 or new launch jetta, passat and cross touran…..

• gomok on Oct 21, 2011 at 4:10 pm

Joke of the year……this one example how T&H treat asian people with so called asian car. Old technology, lack of safety, no ncap.. etc…etc….etc

• Looked like a camry on steroid

• OMG…i totally agreed…This is Fat version of Camry….hahahha..

• H4dRi on Oct 21, 2011 at 4:13 pm

front end has that camry ish look, not bad

• msbr91 on Oct 21, 2011 at 4:16 pm

ugly + expensive..

• maaajeeedaaa on Oct 21, 2011 at 4:23 pm

boring

• Dogbert on Oct 21, 2011 at 4:23 pm

Pathetic

• pay 102k and still get only 1 air bag??? ahahhahaha

what a blood sucking company!!!

toyota boleh!!!….hisap darah!

• that sad thing is that they don’t even bother to offer 2 airbags (option)

• toyota can now win the award of lowest spec car in malaysia above 100k category.

• Jimmy on Oct 21, 2011 at 11:27 pm

Won for many years, win now and will continue to win in the next decadess in Malaysia.
      You didn’t notice, did you? You only notice now.
      Tell me why I should give the average specs for a given price (note: average specs, not high specs) since I am so laku.

• kennytan on Oct 21, 2011 at 4:37 pm

toyota car = au ta car…

• ttooyyoottt on Oct 21, 2011 at 4:39 pm

Seriously Boring vehichle,, innova, avanza,, both sucks,,.. i don want to see this 2 model in Malaysia road,, macam negara dunia ke 3!!!

• endie on Oct 21, 2011 at 4:42 pm

nice..those unser in sabah can change to this innova to pick up people

• AhBeng on Oct 21, 2011 at 4:48 pm

if so very lucky to win one of this in some competitions, i bet the first thing comes to your mind is to sell this shit off from your garage, coz you really don’t wanna see it there.

• izzat on Oct 21, 2011 at 4:50 pm

upcoming exora turbo will tapau this innova anytime!
    3rd row seat pon still lagi lipat ketepi..
    even nissan GL still better than this..

• anak dato' kk on Oct 21, 2011 at 6:35 pm

no la. 3rd row seat mcm exora gak. lipat ketepi yg lama punya je.Tu fakta, bukan auta tp…still mahal da….

• vincent on Oct 21, 2011 at 4:55 pm

Thanks to the stupid mass toyota supporters, now Toyota had come back wtih higher price and even take out 1 airbag out of it? Hahaha… good luck to those Toyota Innova buyers. They are really pushing to the max to milk you guys dry. I will say TAK NAK to Toyota for my entire life!

• Jimmy on Oct 21, 2011 at 11:33 pm

What take out? They took it out when the initial 2.0G was launched, I repeat, 2.0G ya. Later on they felt ‘pai se’ (segan), then they put it back ~ one year later.

• pl4y3r122 on Oct 21, 2011 at 4:59 pm

toyota malaysia r dam smart in cheating people.. still using same old junk engine with 4 speed auto gearbox.. people still buying cause second hand value.. dam malaysia second hand market should change deir valuation badly.. no more high value for outdated car.. goverment should make some organazasation 2 give a second hand car valuation foe every car sold in malaysia.. dis car dealers should change frm giving high pprices for toyotas n honda oni..

• Nazrul on Oct 21, 2011 at 5:01 pm

Innova vs. Exora? Exora wins!
    I heard the Exora Turbo coming this November, can’t hardly wait!

• But remember Turbo will cost more to maintain, and this means more time to be spend in the Garage than on the road !

• Starstreak on Oct 22, 2011 at 7:05 pm

Intergrated/stock turbo produced by automakers is not a problem to maintain. Only after market fitted turbo are a headache to maintain.

• Carl Wong on Oct 24, 2011 at 7:34 pm

How about the Exora REEV plug in hybrid? Maybe in 2013..

• David Loong on Oct 21, 2011 at 5:35 pm

We the consumers are being forced by circumstance especially unfavourable govt policies that’s why Toyota can get away with such products, they are filling a gap caused by our own govt policies.

They are a biz… Toyota just wants to make more money from every possible opportunity..

• OMG…TOYOLTA did it again…

• kozos on Oct 21, 2011 at 5:52 pm

better buy hyundai grand starex royale…. 5 star, 11 seats, auto sliding door

• Jerry on Oct 21, 2011 at 5:57 pm

Nice. New nose job apes Fortuna’s. Four-speed atuo, no turbos? Don’t knock Toyota – it’s a still no-frills model at the end of the day. When has Volkswagens become the yardstick?

• mangata on Oct 21, 2011 at 6:06 pm

yes tis car sucks but think again 4 100k thre is no brand tat offer tis much space and a 2.0 cc engine te nearest car is grand livina n it only seats 7 n comes wit 1.8 n dont get me started wit honda freed,only 1.5

p/s i hate tis car

• Jimmy on Oct 21, 2011 at 11:40 pm

Freed? The owners are of No1 ‘intelligence’, because it has 12 airbags and although kerdil it has kerb weight of 2000kg and most importantly it has ‘magic carpet’ effect like RR, don’t you know? Selling at RM110k is cheap already for you guys in Malsysia.

• Jimmy on Oct 21, 2011 at 11:43 pm

Oh I forgot to mention, we only want to compare our children with the No-35 pupil, and not the No-1.

• Black Dog on Oct 21, 2011 at 6:20 pm

Sadly, even though Toyota really is skimping on the air bag, the engine is under-power, fuel consumption is high but the fact remains it is very popular and many are buying it because of it’s reliability, practicality & quality but the childish comments here doesn’t reflect the general buying public at all!

• Redrules on Oct 21, 2011 at 8:44 pm

Reliability is due to its simplicity, single airbag, simple engine, an air cond, digital clock etc, etc…..sound familiar? Yes, minus the airbag, the spec is similar to any Japanese car of the 90s or even 80s. My dad’s Dahaitsu Charade hardly breakdown and was cheap to maintain too. The Galant was a reliable car during it’s heydays and so was the Sunny. The point I think many of us is trying to make is, at more than 100k, we deserve at least 4 airbags or a better suspension system. If the selling price is at 80k, then maybe there won’t be as many complaints. Spaciousness wise, I beg to differ, the side folding sit on the 3rd row is space consuming and (again) so 80’s (found in earlier Land Cruisers and Prados, it lacks imagination or a cheap way of solving space problem.

• Jimmy on Oct 21, 2011 at 11:50 pm

Let me guess, negaraku is full of millionaires whose one month salary is enough to buy one Toyota Camry.
      People buy Toyota because they are rich people, is this in your mind? Then I know you monthly income already.

• Starstreak on Oct 22, 2011 at 10:10 am

if Toyota cant deliver a car with similiar specs to other automakers, without risking its model reliability, doesnt it show that TOYOTA ARE ACTUALLY CRAP IN TERMS OF RELIABILITY? because they have to underspec it to achieve reliability?

Its 2011, for a family minivan like this, having one airbags is really a big compromise in safety.

• thats right, having almost zero spec there is almost nothing to spoil. surely a 7 speed dsg will cost more to maintain then a 5 speed manual or 4 speed auto. the general public are mostly followers esp. ladies, following other ppls choice since they do not know how to make good decision in buying cars.

my 20 year old bicycle never need to go in the workshop before. its more reliable than any toy otak. so what?

• Yuzdi on Oct 21, 2011 at 6:26 pm

Better buy recond Wish or Alpahard or Estima. Even the model year made 2005 still look nice. Innova looks like 1990’s model. I geli @ UGLY………… Kalu miskin sangat buy Exora = cheaper and up to-date

• Jimmy on Oct 21, 2011 at 11:53 pm

This is really brand loyalty, thinking a recond Wish is better than a brand new Cross Touran or a brand new Sportage.

• nabill on Oct 21, 2011 at 6:33 pm

ok kids ,time for a bed time story , loooong loooong time ago , there was a car with 4speed auto …….!

looks like a window van actually….

• Starstreak on Oct 21, 2011 at 6:38 pm

Not Another Facelift.

First the Hilux, then fortuner, now Innova. All are equally UGLY and UNDERSPEC. Same Old Engines, 4 speed auto and its the year 2011!. Malaysian PLEASE WAKE UP! Buying cars is not all about reliability and resale value(the so called toyota’s key selling point). You get underspec engine and less gear ratios to choose means you get sucky fuel consumption = pay more for petrol/diesel + polluting the environtment more.

Consumers need to shake UMW Toyota and Toyota Corp not to threat us like a Third World Customer.

Heck I can say Proton is much better compare to Toyota Malaysia.

• :) thats y i slalu lepak at toyota usa website than uwm toyoto… :)
    innova suck!… :) :) :)

• Jhuan on Oct 21, 2011 at 6:42 pm

Toyota is always the most stingy car maker in Malaysia in terms of equipment. No dual airbag, no ABS for a vehicle selling close to $100k. Sad.

• its like uncle try to look younger by wearing short pants, it doesnt work

• Iylia H on Oct 21, 2011 at 6:56 pm

Congratulation, they managed to make the ugly innova, ugly again.

• lalok_stylo on Oct 21, 2011 at 6:59 pm

adoi, still 4-speed transmission??
    c’mon la toyota, this is already 2011, no 2000…..
    plz improve….
    not only new looks, but also better spec….
    even proton already put CVT in saga BLM……

• LOL LOL on Oct 21, 2011 at 7:02 pm

honestly i hope management/shareholder/bloodsucker/whatever arshole of UMW Toyolta read the blog and most important the COMMENTS! ;)

• Only way UMW going to listen is the people don’t buy into this con job. . Sadly, there will be suckers :)

• gomok on Oct 21, 2011 at 8:06 pm

They dont bother this comment la, they just want make more money….

• Aditya on Oct 21, 2011 at 7:48 pm

a looot better than all that malayshit proton that idiot malings are left with. ahahaha…

• Iylia H on Oct 22, 2011 at 3:15 am

at least we malaysian have our own national cars, which are much more better in spec than this lousy toyota car made in your country, indon.

• yamcha on Oct 24, 2011 at 1:08 am

This is bullshit. The fact is we dun have national car Proton and yet keep on asking money from govt to subsidized, we can have cheaper imported car, most probably.

• Dubin Johnson on Oct 21, 2011 at 7:58 pm

overpriced piece of shit….

• Unforgiven on Oct 21, 2011 at 8:36 pm

Why its happening here? Why 100k? Just because Toyota is better than Proton? Or do we still need to protect Proton?

• BeemerFreak on Oct 21, 2011 at 8:46 pm

Exora Turbo Please……….

• droll on Oct 21, 2011 at 8:48 pm

toyota is really going on a cost saving drive. digging deep into the parts bin and re-using stuff from other models. aiyoh……pretty soon people will get confused – think they are driving a camry and camry wlil think they are driving an innova! LOL

• RedBeanBun on Oct 21, 2011 at 8:56 pm

still milking the 4 SPEED Transmission!!!!! OMG!

• Same car, same shit…..just uglier. Boycott saje da…

• Kelvin on Oct 21, 2011 at 9:19 pm

Yucks I don’t even wanna touch it

• Masked Ryder on Oct 21, 2011 at 9:30 pm

Naza salesman dubur hurt again, their uglier Rondo can’t sale despite thousand’s of bull comment trying to promote it.
    Their lousy year long roadshow’s merely able secure 600 sales, how pathetic ! As if their jurassic Ria look any better nor do that black mouth recycle citra.
    September sales show Naza down as much as 20-25% speak for it self.
    Rondo sales is noway near Innova.

• yuhuu on Oct 21, 2011 at 9:40 pm

HUDUH!!!!! HODOH!!! BODOH!!!! BUDUH!!!

tak bley trima, bek pakai unser lama.. hohohohoh..

p/s: akibat radiasi nuklear.. eh?? bukan ke Innova design kat I**ON ??

• Hadi75 on Oct 21, 2011 at 9:57 pm

Hey, it’s just business….as long as they can sell their product at higher prices but with lower spec….they will do it…don’t blame them….we’re the buyer should be blame….blind loyalty to the brand…..
    For extra 40k….u can get hyundai starex with 5 speed auto….11 seat( lose 1 row to become 8 seater)….bigger space….diesel engine with more torque which is more suitable for this kind of vehicle….5 years warranty if not mistaken…

• Unforgiven on Oct 21, 2011 at 10:07 pm

Toyota won’t care because we have Proton in M’sia.
    Remove the protectionism then we see.

• catdog on Oct 21, 2011 at 10:13 pm

update2,…biler nak kluar model baru???

• Reply Bloke on Oct 21, 2011 at 10:15 pm

Yup, I guess they are aware of it. However, if the comments are translated into poor sales, they will start to take them seriously. Regardless of what comments uttered here, the point are thet they are incongruent with sales data and buyers’ sentiment. Be real, in the business world, cold hard cash makes a difference but not verbal banters.So cheer up and work hard for your dream car ! Peace out…………….

• This is worst copycat stunt I ever seen , even the cheapo cheery Easter looks nice . At least they try to get their car as good looking as possible , ini Toyota transformer silap transform la , cannot camry head + Unser body + big butt and called it the new kijang ma … Who design this ? Wah Lao eh ….. Really bad taste man

• Jimmy on Oct 21, 2011 at 10:59 pm

The usual way Toyota Malaysia handle their facelift, nothing special.
    The salesman told the ‘unwary’: this is new Innova; he was then informed by his customer that this is facelift only……

• Honda Power on Oct 21, 2011 at 11:06 pm

‘Only the 2.0G has ABS brakes.’ WTF! UMWT is ripping off buyers. Bloodsuckers.

• Paul, the brochure says all models got ABS.

• Paul Tan on Oct 22, 2011 at 11:16 pm

That is very weird. The detailed press release document they emailed us said that only the 2.0G model has ABS as standard while their website specs say all models have ABS.

• this car is a joke. i used to admire Toyata.
    now, i dont even bother if they launch any new car.

• chris on Oct 21, 2011 at 11:47 pm

Seriously….with the specs given and the asking price…. why do we still support Toyota?

• Jimmy on Oct 22, 2011 at 12:01 am

Bisnes is earning money dengan berpatutan, not potong leher. You do something bad, you guess what will happen to your family/beloved ones later? Can you sleep well?

• SaveTheEARTH on Oct 22, 2011 at 12:06 am

Toyota’s Malaysia always treated Malaysian human life not worthwhile. Only G spec with ABS. Look at quantity of airbags offer, so sad bout it. All of the models the max safety features offer, just check them out will wonder how come a market leader behave in this way. Only Prius the best cause it is CBU. Authority of motor industry must push harder so we Malaysian can feel the care as Malaysian.

• Carl Wong on Oct 22, 2011 at 1:21 am

Only Toyota and national cars are still using the out-dated 4 speed automatic transmission…………………………………………

• maaajeeedaaa on Oct 22, 2011 at 5:47 am

Drove the 2005 Innova first model…..well the engine still the same like the previous model. What im saying is the fuel consumption is so terrible….RM 250 to move a total of 830 km urban and suburban driving with top speed driven at 90km/h occasionally…. So kedekut la of not introducing Dual VVTi or even Diesel VGT…..

• my p407 cbu can do 640km with rm100 @ occasional 150kmj top speed.

• It’s in my opinion due to a few things, our national car policy (which sadly has nothing much to show after so many years. Just compare to korea. Ppl buy car of pride not becoz of no choice). This comes at a high price to the rakyat. Just how much of our income goes towards maintaining a car. Our public transport is still somewhere in the middle ages. Only in kl we see something but still not good. Then here we have to consider UMW and also our policies that is causing all this negative development. Not only Toyota to blame. VW calling their car people’s mpv etc. I feel sad to hear this coz how many ppl iMiasmaia can afford one.. Misguided choice IMHO on the national car and misplaced national pride, at what cost to the rakyat.. For the ego of certain leaders… sad :(

• Unforgiven on Oct 22, 2011 at 11:11 am

Yup, true

• MoFaz on Oct 22, 2011 at 5:03 pm

just 1 thing.. people in korea buy hyundai-kia because they have no choice also. previous gen hyundai-kia are very problematic, they give 10 years warranty in US just to clear the stock. for sure koreans want more reliable cars like Honda or Toyota, but you can’t find Honda or Toyota there. so, either you buy local cars or you have to spend a lot more to buy premium brands like BMW or Merc. that’s why 95% of cars in korea are local made.

• Unforgiven on Oct 22, 2011 at 11:29 pm

Yup, the very cheap 10 yrs warranty Sonata those days (5yrs back maybe) came with 11 airbags, 5 stars crash test, excellent blind folded test, etc in the US market too. Do you want P1 to challenge that? Or what’s the time frame to do that?

• MoFaz on Oct 24, 2011 at 12:14 pm

not just sonata. please check your source further, plenty other Hyundai models too get 10 years warranty in US. the warranty of 10 years is only for powertrain. and don’t bullshit with 11 airbags stuff, even the new 2011 model features only 6 airbags. and let me tell you they already made several recalls due to airbags / sensor failures in the last couple of years.

• Unforgiven on Oct 24, 2011 at 11:26 pm

You got everything wrong. The key point is what’s the time frame to challenge that?

Sonata is jst an example. Just go and rent the previous gen sonata in the US and see it for yourself.

• siksa on Oct 22, 2011 at 1:16 pm

2.5l 2kdftv(102hp)
    or
    2.0l 1adftv(126hp)
    2.2l 2adftv(136hp)
    2.2l 2adfhv(177hp)

diesel engine please.

• Currently only Philippines version of Innova have diesel version.

• http://www.toyota.co.th/newweb/models/innova/pdf/Innova2011_Brochure.pdf
    Innova Brochure from Thailand.

• MoFaz on Oct 22, 2011 at 11:55 pm

thanks, but do you think we all can read thai? sadly the english version is not available at this moment.

• ridger on Oct 22, 2011 at 4:58 pm

Wow the the banters here reminded me of /k/

• That's what She on Oct 22, 2011 at 7:42 pm

Innova + camry’s front grill and front bumper structure + camry’s interior , camry’s meter. haha.. i think this 2012 innova looks good if you dont wanna get a camry.

• This is not Kijang Innova BUT Camry-look Indonesian made Toyota CAMRY MPV. Mesti ramai pengkipas Toyota happy.

• UMW is not stupid, this is pure business and making money. You can complain as much as you can here but it will not change the fact that it will still sell like hot cakes, simply because it is a Toyota.

• FattyBear on Oct 23, 2011 at 4:24 pm

Looks dated but then again this is a practical MPV rather than hot SUV.

If you can look past the external looks, it is pretty ok.

Exora is much cheaper but can’t really compare them like this.

• Yuzdi on Oct 24, 2011 at 9:47 am

Buy Toyolta Liteace………… if u dun like Exora. Toyol sucks

• 4-speed auto transmission, 15″ rims / tyres – what else is lacking from this van?

• November on Oct 25, 2011 at 11:26 am

haiyaa! innova is so old.. i’m waiting for EXORA TURBO!!!

• sfssd on Oct 26, 2011 at 2:01 am

Yup, should be out anytime now, around November-December me thinks..

• kamyulo on Oct 27, 2011 at 7:21 pm

Wow, so many basher. But any real Toyota Unser, Innova, Exora..etc owner here?

The specs is indeed low, but no doubt the reliability is there. Just that it not suit of the us.

I brought a used 2001 Unser in 2006, and still using now. I love it, it suit me.
    30% use it as people carrier. (max i carry 8 adults, 4 kids)
    70% use it to carry goods of 1/2 to 1 tonne (full – even front passanger seat occupied)

It just so reliable, just regular maintenance, lub oil, atf oil, battery, coolant n filter…
    NOTE: 10 years NEVER changed absorbers – still working good. Thanks the leaf spring

Why I don’t buy a van? please don’t compare. Van is extreme bumpy.
    not comfort for passenger, bad for my fragile goods.

Underpower? For many, YES. For me, more than enough.
    I don’t drive more than 60 in town and I obey 110km/h highway speed.
    Normally I drive 90-100 at highway for comfort.
    Allocate 30 meters space between front car, enough distance to stop.
    Do you guys see airbags look pointless to me?

I used Innova few times. It is much superior to Unser.
    Much powerful, comfort and silence.
    But too bad the last row seat fold type left me little space for goods carrying.
    I think it’s suit family for carry people but carry less goods. less suit me.

I also brought an Exora last year for my wife.
    Power is good (manual), handling is good.
    But engine is noisy, even noisier than Unser, coz it need to rev high for power.
    I also doubt the suspension reliability if I frequent carry goods.
    (might need to change absorbers yearly basis)

Conclusion,
    Toyota price might be high, low specs
    but the quality is there especially the vvti engine and suspension system.

• You mean bought for buy or brought for bring? Fair comment anyway.. based on experiance.. good, thump up..

• It’s just an overpriced van. Why all the fuss?

• kamyulo on Oct 30, 2011 at 5:44 pm

Chan, it’s NOT just an overpriced van. Try compare a C22 with a Innova…
      A new C22 (yes, i know already EOL) cost 66.5k, than add
      a) the front engine part
      b) extra doors
      c) 2.0 engine and newer gear box
      d) better interiors (dashboard, door panels, air cond vents, roof, leather seats…ets)
      e) better and reliable suspension systems
      f) air bags and other safety systems

IMHO, Innova not really overpriced over the C22. It’s just the tax that put people off.

If you not satisfied with above comments, please rean on.

Say, your are going for few days outstation holiday with family members.
      (Your parents and your kids included). Total up 4 adults and 3 kids.

And your are given to choose between an Innova and a C22 van.

Which one will you choose ? …

So, please think again your comment – “It’s just an overpriced van”

no offence..

• Dont buy heavy drinker fuel consumption..i sell my 2009 innova after 2 years…feel dispointed and regret buying these car…easily feel tired for long distance jurney due to heavy body…i worn you,dont buy!! You may go for estima or wish but not this innova..

• ROBERT CHIN on Jan 31, 2012 at 6:45 pm

Don’t buy the new innova. My experience with UMW service has been an eyeopener and a letdown. My own Innova autogear box had jerkings when accelerating and UMW made me go up and down wasting my time without any replacement car!
    maybe Toyota is great elsewhere but not in Malaysia!

• lisaRina on Nov 28, 2012 at 8:21 pm

Whatever comments or reviews about Innova, it still look like a van rather than MPV. My boss owed this, n guess what? Not impress me at all

• alique on Jun 27, 2013 at 8:56 pm

Dear readers, my Mom plan to buy this & before we get disappointment please advice other models with similar price.

Thanks