SPIED: 2013 Toyota Vios spotted on a trailer in M’sia

2013_Toyota_Vios_Malaysia

Here we go again, boys! A pair of uncovered 2013 Toyota Vios models has been spotted on a transport trailer in Malaysia, as sent in by reader Jared Ling. It gives us yet another view of what will the latest edition of Malaysia’s top selling non-national car be in local specifications.

UPDATE: 2013 Toyota Vios now launched in Malaysia – click here for the launch report

The grey car in the back appears to be the same one we’ve seen before, but it’s the brown one ahead of it that’s more interesting. It appears to be wearing a bodykit with a different set of wheels than the TRD Sportivo unit in the last round of our Vios spyshots.

2013_Toyota_Vios_Malaysia_2

Our best guess is that the grey one with the eight-spoke alloys is the E grade variant, while the other one with fancy multi-spoke wheels is a higher spec G grade model fitted with an optional Aerokit, much like the current Vios G Limited. It has chrome door handles and boot trim too.

So we’ve now seen the E, G and range-topping TRD Sportivo variants of the Malaysian 2013 Toyota Vios range. Only the base J grade model remains an unknown for now. Won’t be long till the official launch now, slated to be in October. Anyone here placed a booking yet?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• SteveJobs on Aug 02, 2013 at 10:35 am

perggh.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 166 Thumb down 126
    • carguy2000 on Aug 02, 2013 at 10:57 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 154
      • yaa I agree… because it’s durable and low fuel consumption. Do you know carguy, in Italy and Dubai-Ferrari was use for Police Fleet car. Ya, in Singapore at Jln Bugis few years back an accident involved Ferrari Taxi.. well ya..

• wow wow wow wow

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 46
      • What the hell on Aug 02, 2013 at 2:06 pm

PEOPLE …

This car is the only NEW CAR that STILL features an obsolete 4 speedo gearbox….

Even Korean makes now have 6 ….

Go figure.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 146 Thumb down 15
        • Alex Lim on Aug 02, 2013 at 3:38 pm

but have ECT,korean normal gearbox only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 65
        • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 162
          • “Intelligent” or not, it’s still 4 speed.. when you cruise at highway, you don’t need “responsiveness or smooth”. You need higher gear ratio for better fc.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 151 Thumb down 3
          • alldisc on Aug 03, 2013 at 9:40 pm

actually the additional gear ratios that a 6 speed gearbox like in elantra has are mostly between 2nd and 5th gear.

the 1st gear and 4th in vios actually has similar ratios with elantra.

having extra gears in between does improve acceleration and from an angle FC, but may not be suitable in town driving as was proven by Kia Optima and even current Honda City with only 1 extra gear than Vios. the gearbox struggles to find the right gear and keep hunting to find the best gear to give the so-called ideal drive.

for normal driving – a 4 speed gearbox still can provide optimum performance since there is already a weight saving which helps a lot with FC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 26
          • extremeauto on Aug 08, 2013 at 10:48 pm

this vios 4th speed is proven since 2003 in durable, smooth, power, and fuel saver. 4th speedo is perfectly for 1.5 car, unless is CVT.
            not most of u think the more gear can give u more fuel saving is wrong, as we know the 1st gear ratio and the 4th gear ratio is almost same to the 6 speed GB, the extra 2 gear is making more weight in the GB to the engine, it cant help to save fuel but slash more engine power.
            think… why Now H.city 5speed but the engine need upgraded to 120ps, because GB weight increased, and higher hp consume more.. so H.city save in HW not in town.

• If Korean without those high end interior,exterior or 6 speed so u think they can sell well? even T & H car looks creepy with 20 years old tec but still can sell well here!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 16
          • granfia on Aug 02, 2013 at 9:14 pm

say no to overpriced Japs!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 6
        • 6 speeds sounds very high spec, but for Forte 1.6 the 6th gear ratio is similar to Vios 4th gear ratio.. So the 6 speeds gear in Forte 1.6 is nothing much contribution to lessen the FC, but it does help a lots to pick up the car.

• kadajawa on Aug 02, 2013 at 11:50 am

Horrayyy!!! Proton sure cannot sleep well now losing its No.2 top sales spot soon!!! Ha Ha Ha!

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 230 Thumb down 286
      • Low Budget on Aug 03, 2013 at 9:40 am

What talking you? I bet Proton can sleep well, because the Vios will always price more than double of Proton Saga, the cheapest variant of the new Vios will probably cost around RM80K even more expansive than the Preve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
      • kadakadasuck on Aug 05, 2013 at 9:01 pm

change your nick bro. it doesn’t suit with your junky comments

• Petrolhead on Aug 02, 2013 at 12:34 pm

The top 2 cars are Almera, look at the rear lights, rear bumper, tail pipe and the Nissan badge in the middle. Nice way to camouflage though but should have put the Vios on top

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
    • OMG…Abang and adik…both r ugly…puihhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 30
  • gangully on Aug 02, 2013 at 10:37 am

what baffles me is why are the vios being transported with 2 Nissan Almeras?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 4
    • yeah, somemore got no. plate.

• Comparing lo. Almera is an registered car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
    • SteveJobs on Aug 02, 2013 at 10:52 am

must be doing comparison between Almera and the Vios.last time it was City.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
      • kadajawi on Aug 02, 2013 at 9:38 pm

They sure are aiming high. Next time they bring in Lada to compare? Iswara?

• do you think toyota have their own trailer to transport??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 27
    • Very simple, because there are come from the same species of Dugong family

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 4
    • krohh on Aug 02, 2013 at 12:24 pm

just want to confusing the paultan reader.. umw already know, sure got spyshot in here haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Jalil on Aug 02, 2013 at 2:33 pm

To camo a bit maybe.then not so noticeable to onlookers.

• kadajawi on Aug 02, 2013 at 9:50 pm

That it doesn’t stand out much amongst Almeras (which are known to be rather… well, unattractive) isn’t a good sign…

• Maserati(Official) on Aug 02, 2013 at 3:05 pm

Common lah .Its called cost sharing lah DUDE.

• Ninja Siam on Aug 02, 2013 at 3:43 pm

that’s call…”kurang sale”..better sharing the loader lahh..than..
        “hello nissan..do u want to share with us”
        we dont want shame and lost to proton…err..err..can ahh..”

• alldisc on Aug 03, 2013 at 9:49 pm

maybe UMW bought 2 almeras as internal comparison? this is hardly surprising, a normal practise.

when i was working with Milan Auto in the 90s, Proton bought one 146 as part of its benchmarking towards making better cars.

part of the result can be seen in Proton Waja (the beak on its bonnet) and also Perdana facelift, with similar looking AR grille.

• Wonder what is the prize is?…If it is higher then the current Dugong (like Cerato), I think people won’t buy it…Engine, safety feature, spaces are the same as Dugong…But the design is better..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 8
    • prize on Aug 02, 2013 at 11:41 am

ya lar.. what is the prize?.. i think first prize is flat tv 50″. second prize gps.. third smarttag.. consolation is full tank.. they said just submit slogan, the most creative will win.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
    • prizes on Aug 02, 2013 at 12:18 pm

50″ flat tv is really good for the first prize… second prize should be a high end smart phone..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
    • ong chin aun on Aug 02, 2013 at 12:36 pm

Agreed,Prize is the factor. Msia’n vehicle esp. car sell too expensive.!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 0
  • taiko on Aug 02, 2013 at 10:40 am

let us wait until the budget announcement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • JACK WILSHERE on Aug 02, 2013 at 10:40 am

ATAS VIOS TU BUKAN ALMERA KE BRO

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • Cactus on Aug 02, 2013 at 10:42 am

The rear look of the car at the top of trailer seems to be Nissan Almera…

• lazyf on Aug 02, 2013 at 10:43 am

Is that Nissan Almera on the top?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • for training purpose, I guess. But don’t know whether UMW Toyota one or Nissan Tan Chong’s though

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
  • frenzyaustin on Aug 02, 2013 at 11:08 am

2 ugly car together, challenging each other to see who can win the ugly contest.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 68
    • heppie on Aug 02, 2013 at 11:35 am

coming vios is not ugly, it somehow evolves from dugong to catfish. catfish is beau….ok it’s not that ugly… ok just a bit lol

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 2
      • frenzyaustin on Aug 02, 2013 at 11:40 am

Still ugly and old tech overpriced things. C’mon, now hybrid got low tax, why don’t want to bring in the Yaris Hybrid? That thing is reasonable for Malaysia, compact, good looking and save a lot of fuel. Thailand, why don’t you hybridized your vios directly use all Yaris Hybrid parts, at least something new mar, or you don’t have the technology?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
        • kadajawi on Aug 02, 2013 at 9:52 pm

Malaysia already has CRZ, Insight, Jazz Hybrid, Prius and Prius C. Do Malaysians buy those? A few, yes, but I don’t think sales are strong. Too scared of the battery and low RV. Yaris Hybrid doesn’t make sense then, unfortunately.

• I really don’t see the coming Vios. All round, I don’t see the Vios as ugly, maybe the name does add a little influence to people’s bias attitude to the styling, but I like it. Its a step forward in the right direction. And if it does come with that rumored ESP in at least the G spec, I don’t see why it’s a bad car. Engine and powertrain can’t be help, Toyota as a whole put their effort into their hybrids and EV tech that they have now lag behind in their ICE engine & transmission development so much so when looking for an engine for their new sports car, they look for Subaru.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • The rear 3rd generation vios looks like 1st generation

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
    • Yes its look like 1st Generation. That why i buy the 1st gen instead of waiting this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
  • modesto.hann on Aug 02, 2013 at 11:18 am

they don’t camouflage the car. wait, they use Almera to camouflage vios. camouflage is all about visual confusion anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • modesto.hann on Aug 02, 2013 at 11:24 am

almost all Toyota cars have ugly rear design. they make good cars, just lack of attention in taking care of their butts, that’s all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Maserati on Aug 02, 2013 at 11:25 am

Looks like a truck carrying the nominees to the “World’s Most Ugly Car” ceremony.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 21
  • powderful on Aug 02, 2013 at 11:36 am

no doubt this is more powerful than GTI

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 30
  • If UMWT can priced new Vios around Almera’s prices it will rock the market and buyers will opt for the Toyota.

NIssan only have one obvious advantage- their trade off is much higher than any brand

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 1
  • i think the black color with proper bodykit will look great

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 23
  • aku makan nasi lemak pagi ini on Aug 02, 2013 at 11:50 am

God car reborn!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 35
  • lepat on Aug 02, 2013 at 12:06 pm

demm
    i hate the bontot

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
  • pontoon on Aug 02, 2013 at 12:14 pm

new vios sale will boom in sabah and sarawak soon excluding the rural area…coz most of new graduate teacher will be compulsory posted to east msia hahaha…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 130 Thumb down 2
  • this is the best car ever.. i already own the previous vios.. will book the new one later

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 28
  • bmpower on Aug 02, 2013 at 12:53 pm

vios = crap car at premium price.
    nuff said.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 167 Thumb down 4
    • kadajawa on Aug 02, 2013 at 2:35 pm

Just keep your rm33k saga sv away lah. Such an eye sore!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 106
      • quantise on Aug 02, 2013 at 9:11 pm

saga SV body is more proportionate than new vios

• alldisc on Aug 03, 2013 at 9:58 pm

so proud as Saga BLM was originally designed by a Korean company – the reason it looks so good!

similar goes to Persona (rear end) and Exora.

and luckily, preve not designed by korean anymore. but neither it is by a malaysian

• Andrew Ting on Aug 02, 2013 at 2:09 pm

Those who made a booking, think twice…you are buying 1NZ-FE with 4-speeds autobox again!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 4
  • azrai on Aug 02, 2013 at 2:37 pm

Base on the present of the Almera, it seems likely Tan Chong bought the car in Thailand for some evaluation to find the Achilles Heel of the VIOS to counter the soon to be sales Vios will canibalized Almera sales.

• you can say what ever la. Ugly, expensive la, small la. But come November , average 2000- 3000 Malaysian will purchase this car per month until the world comes to an end

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
  • Maserati(Official) on Aug 02, 2013 at 2:58 pm

Looks like some idiot used my name.Oh well,its flattering.

OBTW, cant wait for this car to be launched! Its gonna sell like hot cakes and well,who cares about what u Korean fanboys are saying,u guys are a minority who care about 6 speed gearboxes and push starts..LOL

This 4 speeder is probably even better than any new KOREAN shitbox and still drives way better than any KOREAN car atm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 27
    • Ninja Siam on Aug 02, 2013 at 5:46 pm

hahahaha..anonymous also got official..

*clap *clap *clap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • totti on Aug 02, 2013 at 2:59 pm

Good to see the T Vios here and complete with the N and H.

1) Nissan launched the Almera at below RM 70K OTR.
    2) Honda with Jazz at below RM 75K OTR.
    3) Now Toyota Vios need to price it competitively to be the top again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 4
  • Alex Chan on Aug 02, 2013 at 4:02 pm

The BEST have arrived!!..resale value is very very good, buy TOYOTA ..u will never regret !..confirm..buy europe cars…after a day..value drop 50% for sure!.
    Only clever people buy TOYOTA, not so clever..they buy other brand..its a fact.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 88
    • Damn, I never realize you can earn money by buying cars.. Tomorrow gotta go Toyota and sapu all Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • silent-reader on Aug 02, 2013 at 7:30 pm

Alex, the current dugong price will drop like tmrw is the end of the world..

• wow european car 50% drop after 1 day….where to buy?? i pay cash…

• Kimi Raikkonen on Aug 02, 2013 at 4:17 pm

Toyota is the only company that can get away with putting a bodykit on their car and calling it ‘SPORTIVO’ – pfft.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
  • this car is not great, just a good and reliable car but overpriced. I agree with few raeders. The design evolve from dugong to CATFISH. Looks better than almeera but cant elegance ity design. I guess Vios J will top the sales again bcos its Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 0
  • The fact is vios is the car for ppl who doesnt want to be seen in a proton.

• beanY on Aug 03, 2013 at 1:32 am

I want to be seen in a turbo car rather than ah beng style car with old engine and gears, LOL

• vios ah beng car, drive a Vios they look down on Potong car owners, but Smart people get Potong, their pocket more full, why pay so much for such a small old tech car

• Guilt on Aug 03, 2013 at 10:56 am

Samseng Jalan got new excuse to be samseng jalan, this coming October.

• azrai on Aug 05, 2013 at 8:03 am

Tan Chong already put the assault today! RM4,888 worth of impul Aerokit + Free service for Almera buyers. They think people will buy their Almera for free BK? Really?

• URGH!!! on Aug 05, 2013 at 9:33 am

Wow. Malaysian spec Vios is ugly. It looks better in Bruneian version.

• HighwayStar82 on Aug 05, 2013 at 2:54 pm

Vios is like the iphone.. no matter wat ppl will still buy. Lets see what they offer in Oct.

• Beli toyota, tiada pening kepala. Bentuk faktor ke 2, yg utama ialah reliability.

• NISSpengAN on Aug 07, 2013 at 9:22 pm

Nissan Almera 4 life!

• blah blah on Aug 12, 2013 at 4:08 pm

You all are stupid one , this car so nice , not just in malaysia in usa also got ,than the world said the car so ugly ,so that car no buddy buy ,so the toyota cantnot sell toyota car already lor !!

• dugong4life on Aug 28, 2013 at 1:14 pm

sales record back for this vios

• firdaus on Nov 02, 2013 at 10:52 am

wow it is like from kepong to kuala selangor only rm10.

but viva 660 manual took rm12.

impressive