DRIVEN: Toyota Hilux 2.5 Intercooler VNT launched – we test it out on a trip to Belum Forest Reserve

The wonderful world of cars means that there is a vehicle for pretty much any purpose you can think of, and the sheer variety of that world means that there are as many jacks of all trades as there are masters of one.

In the case of go anywhere-ability, it’s often difficult to avoid mentioning the Toyota Hilux. Since its introduction in the late-1960s, the venerable pickup has built a reputation over the years for ruggedness, reliability and durability in some of the toughest conditions. On a recent media drive of the latest incarnation in the range, it was clear that what we subjected it to was merely child’s play for the tough truck.

It’s not a new generation, so what’s all the occasion? The answer lies under the bonnet – the 2.5G variant has joined its 3.0G sibling in getting Intercooler Variable Nozzle Turbo (VNT) technology added to its 2KD-FTV common rail turbodiesel unit, pushing output numbers up to 144 PS at 3,400 rpm and 343 Nm from 1,600 to 2,800 rpm.

This is an increase of 42 PS and 83 Nm over the non-VNT car, while that peak torque is available over a wider rev range. The updated engine is also now to be found in the Fortuner 2.5G.

The VNT optimises the flow of exhaust gases into the turbine according to demand conditions by altering the opening angle of the vanes – at low revs the vane opening is narrow, increasing exhaust flow and pressure so the turbine spins faster, improving low end torque.

Apart from the intercooler, which cools intake air temperature for better combustion and therefore more power, there’s also a fuel cooler which lowers the temperature of the return fuel to the fuel tank, maintaining its viscosity and preserving the reliability of the fuel system.

No exterior changes, save the addition of a new bonnet scoop to help channel better air flow to the top-mounted intercooler; the item was previously seen only on the 3.0 litre version. The interior remains simple and functional, the only change being a new two-DIN audio system that offers Bluetooth, USB and Aux connectivity and MP3/iPod compatibility, with six speakers as standard. These are also to be found on the Fortuner.

There’s the option of going with a DVD-Audio Video Navigation (AVN) system with the 2.5G variant, which adds GPS as well as a reverse camera on a large 6.1-inch colour monitor.

In a time when steering wheels are becoming increasingly festooned with buttons and switches, it is refreshing to see one devoid of any in the Hilux 2.5G, adding to its functional, largely mechanical nature. Also worth a mention is the fact that a limited-slip differential comes as standard, distributing power more effectively between the two rear wheels in low traction conditions.

Our 380 km drive took us from Shah Alam to Belum Forest Reserve in Pulau Banding, Perak through a mix of highway and trunk roads. We also had the opportunity, en route, to take the updated Hilux away from the tarmac to tackle an off-road trail that snaked up a 670 metre high hill. Coupled with occasional rain and light and heavy traffic, you might agree that as far as preview drives go, this one was pretty thorough.

For the sake of comparison, UMW Toyota Motor also brought a fleet of non-VNT cars along. Having driven both, I can report that the performance increase is evident, most so when overtaking.

Naturally, the VNT car pulls more strongly from lower revs, confirming the higher torque figure, but also at the top end of the rev range, the older car runs out of puff sooner while the VNT car continues to build up speed – useful for short bursts of acceleration. I was definitely more confident of executing safe and swift overtakes in the latter.

There didn’t seem to be any change in the engine note or its sound levels – clearly audible but not excessive, and the turbo emits its characterful whistle. Power delivery remains for the most part smooth and purposeful.

While the two-DIN touchscreen system responds well and adequately quickly to one’s fingertips, the screen isn’t very bright, and the glare from the sun can make the interface quite difficult to read.

Naturally, brake pedal feel is not the same as that on a regular car. While the brakes themselves are as effective as any in hauling the 1.9-tonne vehicle to an assertive stop, the long-travel pedal requires quite a bit of effort before the bite comes – just takes a bit of getting used to.

As befits a big 4X4 like this one, the steering is low-geared so that it doesn’t wobble excessively when you hit the rough stuff, but it isn’t so vague as to compromise accuracy.

The VNT Hiluxes among the convoy were fitted with all-terrain Bridgestone Duelers for the off-road bit later in the day, which on the initial highway blast naturally yielded quite a bit of tyre roar, and while grip levels on tarmac were reduced slightly, they didn’t ruin the ride comfort much, which has to be said is not as choppy as you might expect at speed.

Then it was time to engage low range on the chain-driven transfer case and take it off road, and the Hilux was now truly in its element. In the rocky, narrow climb up a hill to a turn-around spot, the surface undulations did little to disturb its body composure and balance, and the increased torque meant that it was capable of creeping up very steep gradients at very low revs, which brings a rather satisfying sensation.

To summarise and conclude, the already versatile Hilux has definitely received a long-awaited and welcome improvement in the form of the added Intercooler VNT to its 2.5 litre engine – the increased power and torque makes the vehicle more useable in all situations and restores an element of parity with contemporary competitors.

As for pricing, the Hilux Double Cab 2.5G Intercooler VNT costs RM94,988 for the manual and RM99,988 for the automatic, while the Double Cab 2.5 Standard manual is priced at RM86,788.

Completing the five model Hilux range are the 2.5 single-cab manual gearbox version at RM76,288 and the top-of-the-range double-cab 3.0G, which goes for RM107,267. These prices are OTR for individual private registration with insurance, for Peninsular Malaysia.

Colours available for the Double Cab 2.5G and 2.5 STD are Dark Steel Mica, Silver Metallic, Medium Silver Metallic and White. The 3.0G has the same shade palette, but drops Medium Silver Metallic to make it three colours, while the 2.5 single cab only comes in white.

The pricing for the Fortuner variants are as such – the 2.5G automatic goes for RM171,288, while the dressed-up 2.5G TRD Sportivo version is priced at RM174,772. Those wanting to go the petrol route still have the 2.7V to pick, and that one goes for RM179,007; opting for the 2.7V TRD Sportivo brings the sum up to RM182,465.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Oct 19, 2012 at 2:51 pm

Now only we get VNT, Thailand almost use a decade :(
    We M’sian seem always “last” in getting good stuff.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 4
    • M’sian will buy anything with a Toyota badge. That’s why they don’t really care.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 9
      • _xXx_ on Oct 19, 2012 at 6:08 pm

Very true. There’s no hesitation when the product comes from a reliable maker. If the maker is a half pass five, sorry, I x nk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 23
      • thequestion on Oct 21, 2012 at 5:14 pm

that’s the worth thing about being persistent and diligent in the very beginning. Once you’ve gain people trust, they love you no matter how spoiled you are in the end. Not like some local automaker whom did opposite way.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • Kalun on Oct 19, 2012 at 4:19 pm

True that. Malaysian will be the last to enjoy what the real world has. Including Proton as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
  • alldisc on Oct 19, 2012 at 3:09 pm

this hilux is only 50k, the rest is excise duty of 70-80%.

and it has always been in top 10 non-national sales for the past 2 years consistently. also top in police list of stolen cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 29
    • DEREK on Oct 19, 2012 at 3:26 pm

alldisc, may i know how you derive the selling price of hilux as RM50k and the rest as excise and sales tax? When I check Toyota Malaysia website for Hilux 2.5G price in Langkawi, it is still RM90K.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
      • alldisc on Oct 20, 2012 at 9:19 am

i am trying to polish my sarcasm skill… still not good. heh heh heh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 28
    • Pickup Truck is considered as Commercial Vehicle… meaning that it dont have Import duty and Excise duty… only 10% sales tax..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
      • Curious on Oct 20, 2012 at 12:36 pm

Yet, the 3.0G Thai (with 5 speed Auto) sells at 992k Baht compared to RM107k 3.0 M’sia (with 4 speed Auto). So, Toyota cars in Thailand don’t hv excise and sales tax?

• previously yes, both single and double cabs were commercial vehicles, but govt has few years back made double cabs pickup as passenger vehicles, only single cab is solely commercial.

• So why does Langkawi and peninsular Malaysia almost have the same price.. Langkawi is duty free, no?

• amatku17 on Oct 19, 2012 at 3:33 pm

Thailand hilux and fortuner already equipped with 5speed autobox. Hold your booking until umw bring in the 5 speeder to Malaysia. Just skip this old 4 speed autobox.

• Pumpkins on Oct 19, 2012 at 3:56 pm

Do you think UMW will ever bring 5spd box here??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • Netsoft on Oct 19, 2012 at 4:31 pm

Personally I don’t think UMW will bring in 5 speed auto to the current Hilux line up because the 4 speed is sufficient for a Hilux.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 18
      • Hmm.. it’s more like, “YEA, we have tons of 4 speed box to get rid off, who should be sacrificed.. Ah yes, the Malaysians.”

^ True story bro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 5
        • netcat on Oct 19, 2012 at 11:50 pm

Guest you don’t drive a pickup..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
        • Netsoft on Oct 20, 2012 at 7:05 pm

Most countries such as UK, Australia, Philippines and Singapore are still using 4 speed auto gearbox. Furthermore, the most speed you’re going to do with this workhorse is 80-90km/h. Anything beyond that is dangerous for such car that has high COG. So, 4 speed is adequate la. Why fix something that ain’t broken?

For Camry with 4 speed auto is rubbish. But we’re talking about pick-up truck here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
          • Then why Thailand gets 5 speed and we don’t. Make sense?

• Jilbaber on Oct 22, 2012 at 9:26 pm

then why buses and lorries also high COG and don’t travel fast but got like 10,11,12 gears

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • 5 speed…why not cvt?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • only 5 speed…why not cvt?

• Just Me on Oct 20, 2012 at 10:26 pm

Bro,in other countries,Hilux are equipped with ESC (Electronic Stability Control) & Rear Side Airbags on top of that additional of 5 speed Auto.

• Just Me on Oct 20, 2012 at 10:52 pm

Looks like we Malaysian are always being ignored when comes to safety.Plus with the high fatalites rate due to automobiles accidents.

• Ben Yap on Oct 19, 2012 at 4:49 pm

Oklah, at least toyota gave an upgrade in power wise. though nothing great to shout about, it’s better than nothing.

now toyota has to rework on their passenger cars. the camry and vios still using the same shit as the previous model.

• alex chan on Oct 19, 2012 at 5:46 pm

nice THE BEST PICK UP and OFFROADER!!..why ?..because its toyota!..hi resale value..everybody in malaysia will dream to own one maa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 46
  • sarawakiana on Oct 19, 2012 at 6:03 pm

If you live in remote part of Sarawak, Hilux still the best choise. Hilux for city drive only is pointless… Try drive Sorento, Santa-Fe to Ulu Baram, don’t expect to come back in one piece…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 4
  • _xXx_ on Oct 19, 2012 at 6:12 pm

Thieves and thugs are waiting for their prey now. Your Hilux will be ‘booked’ if u r unlucky. Boats along the west coast leaving for the opposite shore are also on standby mode now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Reason toyota selling good because of the Malaysia high car price. Other country they can just change the car if found the car no longer realiable, but can Malaysian afford keep changing car at sky high price? Answer is No, even change also want better resale value like Toyota to minimize the losses. That’s why it got good sale over others. Unless fuxking gov change, bloody moron gov tax so much still damn poor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 22
  • nabill on Oct 20, 2012 at 12:52 am

thy could have put a vios engine n thy wil sell more oso!looks outdated….this design doesnt age well unlike Triton or the navara

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • There was a comparison done on all 7 models of double cabs pickup in Thailand, Triton and Navara appeared 6th and 7th placing respectively.

1st was BT50, 2nd Ranger, Hilux came in 3rd, 4th was D-Max (latest generation) and 5th the Colorado.

This comparison was not done simultaneously, but a comparison based on each individual test vehicle at different time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • Mr Hukaka on Oct 20, 2012 at 8:21 am

anti toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • vee-oh on Oct 20, 2012 at 11:28 am

Triton better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 14
    • Sam Loo on Oct 20, 2012 at 3:16 pm

Triton, D-Max low RV wor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
      • Mario Gomez on Oct 22, 2012 at 7:57 am

Pointless RV

• Pickup truck always do off road..u expect them to have good RV?

• When I look into buying cars or truck, I would look at RV the last. Why?1 of my mechanic friend stress that hilux commonrail injector unit are problematic. 1 spoil, change 4 sets. RM12,000. Can believe it, 1 of my friend face that problem.
        Second, 2 person aim for high RV. But that aim turn ash when caught in accident due to ‘tail happy’.
        Even my uncle bought vios. Aim for RV. End up complaint about shock absorber problems. Plan to sell. For example in 7 years time which you would sell your car, how much maintenance you paid for. Nowadays toyota is really problematic. Changed to Dmax. I m happy until today.

• DArkerMarker on Oct 20, 2012 at 11:58 am

almos100k price tag…..for pick up truck???? t’s a workhourse….not even a luxury car….

what kinda fu@k up country we are living in??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 24
    • We are living in a One and Only country in this world that has its own ‘branding’, paranoid about world rankings (must be good rankings) and can always make good plans/blueprints.

• Josh Ling on Oct 20, 2012 at 4:12 pm

just curious, what’s the Standard version stands for? the one with black bumper or the one with the old 2.5 engine (with higher spec than the black bumper version)?

• Netsoft on Oct 20, 2012 at 7:07 pm

Standard version is using the same 2.5 VNT Intercooler engine. Just that you missed out on features. You can check on Toyota’s website.

• Just Me on Oct 20, 2012 at 10:12 pm

The Standard version is without the VNT engine.Hilux’s with the new VNT engine can be identify by the bonnet scoop just like the 3.0G

• mamat on Oct 20, 2012 at 10:03 pm

HILUX, the best off road machine in rural area in Sarawak…..imagine travel 23 hours until BARIO, the highland in Miri and come back in one piece…salute!

• doodle on Oct 20, 2012 at 11:02 pm

triton?better u buy wira 2nd hand and make it 4×4.to ed – where did u get d stupid statistic?bt50 was d 1st in thailand?r u makin fun of urself?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • downsys on Oct 21, 2012 at 2:33 am

DArkMarker: get your facts right before posting. We’re getting it at roughly the same price as other markets (after currency conversion). Pick-ups are considered workhorses, hence some tax exemptions. Our country won’t be able to move forward if the people remain ignorant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • RM100k, now that is great value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • watda on Oct 23, 2012 at 7:35 am

What’s the point of fixing that vnt? Same stuff that the triton fixed with its 2.5L model. Why not just upgrade the present 3.0L vigo. It’s as if the UMW has still so many of its 2.5L stock that they can’t sell@let go anymore because people prefer the more powerful 3.0L model. Same storylah like with the Triton company..LOL!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • Just Me on Oct 23, 2012 at 7:52 pm

Adding VNT on the 2.5L is actually a long awaited improvment since is has been always been the least powerfull in it’s segment.There are others who aren’t luckly enough like you to afford the high road tax on the 3.0L my friend.

• Lim Ping Shern on Oct 23, 2012 at 3:16 pm

Old Tech Sell for HIGH Price!!!

• I tried the current Navara and Ford Ranger and the New Hilux already.

Guess what?

I think Ranger drove most like a car and the Hilux a clear second best. Navara was nice too on a straight road but had some lack of confidence over some turnings and speed bumps.
    But which would be more reliable? Just like a Vios or Csmry, it would still have to be Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • Leseid Obrut on Oct 27, 2012 at 1:35 am

ever wonder why umw toyota still hasn’t included a front windscreen defogger in the hilux?

• Just Me on Nov 03, 2012 at 10:02 am

Why would UMW Toyota ever included a Front Windscreen Defogger in the Hilux when even the Camry doesn’t comes with it!

• I just got back from narathiwat to visit friend there and he just bought himself hilux vico champ single cab and it come without 4WD and the price are still over 80k…….i don’t hink the price are cheap there back to malaysia what i have done is to book one for my self. Cant wait alreadyhahahahaa fortunately new one come with vnt

• kingmongbang on Nov 05, 2012 at 12:37 pm

the question is… do you really need 5 speed when you off-roading?

• Just Me on Nov 06, 2012 at 6:50 pm

Most buyers will think twice before bring the Hilux off-roading. Those guys will need it for long range driving on tar road.This is when your 5 speed Auto comes to play with more gears means low fuel consumption (Low RPM).Further more,to go off-roading,usually you have to travel far before you reach the untar roads.For me,I need something that is fuel economy before tackling the offroad stuff that usually 100 km’s away!

• mr yun on Nov 13, 2012 at 11:06 am

VNT keluar nak lawan ngan ford ranger. Yang dah beli tu macamana, pangil balik la pasang VNT…

• hang kebun on Nov 20, 2012 at 6:50 pm

sy dah guna 2.5 vnt hampir 2 bulan..tidak mengecewakan..canopy dan aksesori sy pasang di hadyai..jimat..

• Semulong Man on Nov 21, 2012 at 4:27 pm

I bought my Vigo in 2005 (First model) and drove it on and off roads till now. No major problem at all and now more than 450,000 km of milage. Last week i drove back to my friend’s village in Sri Aman Sarawak along timber road with ease beside carrying 1 ton of durian fruits. I trust my Lux.

• David on Nov 22, 2012 at 5:54 pm

don’t support Japanese bcos they change the fact of history in their textbook about intrusion and agression into the land of others !! not worth supporting !!! give them a real lesson !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • mobiLku.org on Jan 03, 2013 at 2:19 pm

great picture, hillux double cabin now is very popular in asia,,,like this

• john yong on Mar 11, 2013 at 1:38 am

can an expert please comfirm if 2.5 vnt fortuner has better pickup than the 2.7 petrol model if both are automatic?which is more powerful,why 0 to 100 km is not consistently advertised.not sure which to buy? Silly me.

• yen VNT on Apr 27, 2013 at 9:23 am

hi..sori menyibuk sini tp nk gtaw double cab bkn stakat guna as workhorse je n mainly off road..sy pilih hilux sbb jlnraya kt sabah ni xbrapa nk perfect,hole thre hole here hole evrywhre.proton cars wont stay long here wthout skirting hancur or rim bengkok sbb tmasuk lubang kt ‘haiwey’ sbh ni..ok sori crita psl hilux,sy da test hilux sy boleh cecah 180kmh but stil triton n navara can overtake my hilux..tht means they go much faster thn 180kmh..tq,just sharing.

• Febias on May 17, 2022 at 4:13 pm

Hi. I’m struggling with my VNT hilux 2.5 it doese not boost at all is not going over 120km/h what can be a problem?

• PHUAH SWEE TATT on Jun 11, 2013 at 11:51 pm

All these pick up have very high centre of gravity. Because of this the pick up is very unstable and accidents happen frequently. If you own one be very careful.I saw an accident after allowing the pick up to pass me. THE DRIVER CRAWL OUT. THE PICK UP IS THE BEST BUY EVER.

• Hayzin on Apr 01, 2015 at 5:54 pm

I currently own a 2003 Hilux Tiger, Sports Cruiser. I love it. Its an all rounder and works as my daily driver, tourer and offroader.
    My only disappointment is wtf Toyota did not give a defogger for the front windscreen, especially for those rainy days when you cant see anything. What would be the after market solution for this?