Nissan Leaf launched at KLIMS13, EV goes for RM169k

Nissan Leaf KLIMS-1

Edaran Tan Chong Motor (ETCM) launched the Nissan Leaf electric car at KLIMS13 this afternoon. The electric car, which has been in Malaysia for trials since the first half of 2012, is now available for sale at RM168,800 on-the-road with insurance, much lower than an early estimate of RM200k. The purchase price includes a home charging unit and a three-year/100,000 km warranty.

The world’s best selling electric car is powered by an electric motor-inverter combo, which runs on current from a lithium-ion battery pack. Comprising 48 battery modules (each module has four batt cells), the Leaf’s battery pack has a capacity of 24 kWh, max power of 90 kW and 360V voltage.

Nissan Leaf KLIMS-9

Located under the seats, the battery provides a driving range of 195 km per full charge, as measured in the New European Driving Cycle (NEDC). A completely drained battery pack can be fully charged in around four hours with the supplied 6.6 kWh home charging unit (wall-mounted charger with cable, cabling works with PVC conduit, dedicated circuit breaker), so actual charging time may be less.

There’s also a solar panel on the Leaf’s rear spoiler that maintains the charge of the (other) 12V battery that runs the lamps, wipers, audio and other accessories. Currently, there are 15 public EV charging stations in the Klang Valley, Penang, Melaka and Johor Bahru set up by Tan Chong’s First Energy Networks. Nissan Leaf owners can use these charging stations free of charge.

Nissan Leaf KLIMS-4

The Leaf owner will never need to visit a petrol station again, unless it’s for refilling his/her tummy. ETCM says that the Leaf is 75% cheaper to run than a petrol-powered equivalent car based on current Malaysian electricity rates. Maintenance is cheap as well – you can expect 80% savings over a five-year period over an internal combustion engined car.

Safety wise, the five-star Euro NCAP-rated Leaf comes with six airbags, ABS, Brake Assist, Hill Start Assist and Vehicle Dynamics Control (VDC). It’s a big hatchback, so there’s plenty of cabin space. The batteries are under the seats, so boot space is a decent 370 litres, expandable to 720 litres with the rear seats folded.

The RM168,800 Nissan Leaf is available in five colours – Pearl White, Brilliant Silver, Metallic Slate, Super Black and the signature Blue Ocean. Read our preview drive report, and a detailed account by Daniel Yap, a pilot programme ambassador who drove the EV for six weeks.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• DonkeyKong on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:36 pm

That’s one seriously ugly looking car. But Nissan managed to sell their Sylphy and Toyota managed to sell the Vios dugong, so anything goes..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 56
    • Petrolhead on Nov 14, 2013 at 6:10 pm

This car only looks good with the light blue paint job

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 15, 2013 at 2:00 pm

ETCM run by bunch of old idiots. No idea about pricing. They are old uncles who have no clue about market needs. Better to buy a Myvi for RM50k and save the RM120k in the bank.

ETCM don’t be so clever lah trying to bring technology at the killer price. You want technology, upgrade your HQ. You HQ near chow kitt look like 60S building. Upgrade your image a bit before you try to win the younger hearts. Bodoh pricing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • To add insult to injury, the babe pumping the car is also a few notch below the standard. Non shaggable at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
      • sam hailat on Nov 14, 2013 at 11:34 pm

You just insulted Sam’s Loo mistress. Why lar, she got resale value ok !!!

• aiyoo..kenapa gambar model tu kamera tak ke bawah sikit.. sikittt je lagi :p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
    • BN Cybertrooper on Nov 15, 2013 at 4:23 pm

Ha ha. All the models are batangs. Only brand with batangs as models. This sure to be a winner pix.

• sam69 on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:40 pm

sam loo showing u the hilux face – , – _|_

• Nis another dumb on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:46 pm

The price comes with the model shown in this link kah? If yes can consider otherwise RM168k….better go for CT200h… Anyway TNB in another month will raise their rate…so WTF?!.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 16
  • how much is TNB cost per charge?

• makes no sense to buy this car, whatsoever.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 16
    • Black Dog on Nov 14, 2013 at 7:05 pm

This is living the future…now

• except if the future is paying more and getting back less its a bad investment,
        by the time you are about to gain money from buying an electric car instead of a petrol one, you would need to replace the batteries, I much rather wait for the price to drop otherwise im perfectly happy living in the “past”

• Richard on Nov 14, 2013 at 9:32 pm

You are fast forwarding yr life.
        Right product come at the wrong time (too early).

• choha on Nov 14, 2013 at 8:51 pm

how abt cleaner and safer ride? with ICE cars u r literally riding in a bomb. imho, petrol should be reserved for aeroplanes only as the reserve is getting fewer and will eventually run dry.

• have you read about the tesla s that caught fire? don’t give the crap that electric cars are safer – they are not.

• engineer on Nov 16, 2013 at 12:43 pm

Did you know how it catch fire? If no, better shut up. If the same scenario happened on gasoline car. it will explode right away. oh btw, the passenger came out safe and sound from the Tesla.

• Sam Loo on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:49 pm

What a burden price. The nature of the car itself is a burden, not many place can provide charging in here yet. Troublesome car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
    • Tree Hugger on Nov 14, 2013 at 8:53 pm

With 195km range maybe can still drive from KL to Melaka and from Melaka to Johor but how to get to Penang?? Looks like Leaf buyers in Penang can only drive in Penang and adjacent states. Cannot drive elsewhere! They should open one more charging station in Perak to allow travel north-south in peninsular west coast.

• Richard on Nov 14, 2013 at 9:20 pm

Use Super AAA battery to be developed in the near future. Need to wait for another 5 years.

• Semanis Kurma on Nov 15, 2013 at 2:16 pm

Even if there is charging stations around, you have to wait for 4 hours at the station for the car to fully charge.

• Shadowsniperus on Nov 20, 2013 at 1:44 pm

195km is base from a test track and of course is flat road. Our road too many up down up down.. most likely 135KM++ and also after 1yr with numbers of charges the battery life will degrade by 20% so left around km?? you can calculate your self. But Leaf still the best electric car in the world.

• These cars are meant for city driving, where you burn a lot of fuel because of stop-start driving. I think for an electric car, it looks decent enough.

• Since I live in a condo, that excludes me? Is there a way I can get the personal charger installed in my parking bay?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • Good question, living in a condo without the charging port is a pain in the ass.

• ajo haters on Nov 14, 2013 at 6:44 pm

just buy long extension wire la…drop down from your window to the parking bay

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Richard on Nov 14, 2013 at 9:22 pm

You need to get more spare units or hire a 100% real Guard.

• zalendo on Nov 14, 2013 at 11:27 pm

can i use powerbank to charge outside?:)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • izz_t on Jan 23, 2015 at 10:22 am

Yeah, if only they could solve that. Of course, we in the city either lives in the flat or condo, so how do we charge our car,then? Guess this car is indeed for the future then

• pay 169k and you ll get a sympton called “milege anxiety”. Not a good buy. This car is more deserved to get tax exemption than any other hybrid out there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • ‘Leaf’ it for yourself @ 169K
    I might get stuck somewhere if detour from routine

• Porta on Nov 14, 2013 at 6:47 pm

Great move by Nissan, hope in the future more EV car, price reduce and charging station, so when the Gov increase the fuel price, we are not lousy about the fuel and quality of fuel.

• joanna on Nov 14, 2013 at 6:54 pm

So freaking ‘affordable’.

• sudonano on Nov 14, 2013 at 6:59 pm

The problem for the Leaf is not the car. Its just that 15 stations only in Klang Valley seriously limits the range. Until the charge infra is fully setup, it would be a tough sell.

But I have been in one. And I can tell you, it feels like no other. dead silent, but floor it, and you will be thrown into your seat.

• zalendo on Nov 14, 2013 at 11:29 pm

somemore u need to wait turn for ppl finish charged. 3hours a car? ~

• sudonano on Nov 15, 2013 at 10:08 am

Hmm, I think public charging not too long, 30 minutes if I am not wrong for 80% charge.

But you see, there is another issue on mentality. Malaysians will go to the charging station, park their car to charge, and will go to the malls, shop the whole day, then come back, and the car was unnecessarily occupying the space for extra hours. Also, you will see some geniuses with normal cars parking it there too. Cause they can’t be bothered. This is the biggest issue we might face.

• Shadowsniperus on Nov 20, 2013 at 1:47 pm

Not to mention those charging station are located in goverment sector and parking base of very expensive shopping mall car park.

• can someone tell me how much I need to pay for the elec fee for each charge up?

• Richard on Nov 14, 2013 at 9:24 pm

Not much just about a cup of Starbucks, don’t forget to add 6% tax or GST.

• TIGER Q7 on Nov 14, 2013 at 7:46 pm

this car should get all taxes exempted,RM169 not worth,if charge at home increase electric bill arnd RM 70 to 100,depends on amount of charge in a month(this figure is approximate).this car should b below Rm 100k bez its electric,so encourage pple to use electric charge car instead of traditional fuel(petrol?diesel)……..

• Idiot on Nov 14, 2013 at 8:04 pm

Can charge it with my power bank??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • Tigey on Nov 14, 2013 at 8:30 pm

Its really worth,if u drive 5000km permonth u save rm 900 permonth with rm1700 installmnt. Seems u pay rm800 permonth for this car. Cheap to maintain. For full charge, it require rm3.50 from electric bill. Really does matter is secondhand value.. Most hybrid car here second hand value really bad. But i wait for BMW i3 or i8… i3 i guess about rm200k & i8 about 400k… Image does matter

• rakyat didahulukan. USA jual USD 25 , MALAYSIA jual rm 169 , and goverment said to us subsidiedes lah minyak …. dont compare, malaysia put price usd25 and no more subsidies lah…. shit… ok?

• Richard on Nov 14, 2013 at 9:29 pm

RM169 K is not expensive if Nissan change the logo to Infiniti.

• leonardo austin on Nov 14, 2013 at 9:29 pm

Stupid and hopeless tan chong malaysia. Where the Hell is the Nissan Note?TAn chong motors please bring that model in.dun sleep in the office.damn!!

• rickyll on Nov 14, 2013 at 9:35 pm

Green car technology should be lauded but this car cannot be taken seriously at the moment. For a driving range of 195 km per full charge and charging time of 4 hours, it’s really inconvenient. If you’re staying in Penang Island, the furthest it could go to and fro is either Taiping or Alor Star not inclusive of round town journeys. It couldn’t even get you to Ipoh. It could be useful of people who normally travel short distances,i.e. to work and back, to do shopping, in dine out etc. In short, it’s only for inner city travel, leisure cruising or may be to show off.

• zalendo on Nov 14, 2013 at 11:34 pm

and dont drive this car at office hour or rainning at k.l cause the city will floatting u will make ur car ontow more worth the batteries at ur bottom become short~curcuit :-D

• Trevor Tham on Nov 14, 2013 at 11:14 pm

If there is so many Lexus CT200 on the road, I don’t see why this car is expensive.

To add for those who is asking for the elect charge, per charge is approx. Rm5-7 based on existing rate. One thing to take note, you no longer really need to service your car and the road tax is only Rm36!!!

• Richard on Nov 15, 2013 at 1:01 am

Mr Trevor,
      Based on every 5k Km the service expenses average is RM150 for my Altis. 100k Km is only 20 times services or RM3000 in total.
      Estimated petrol saving is RM30 for every 200Km. Let says everyday mth traveling distance is 3K Km or 1 yr is 36K km or 9 Yrs is 324K Km. Total petrol saving is only RM48.6 K.
      You will agree with me that others wear and tear is the same.
      So how much saving
      RM168 K (Leaf) – RM115 K (Altis) = RM53 K
      RM53K – RM3 K – RM48.6 K = RM1.4 K (almost the same).
      But don’t forget you are in Malaysia there is no 100% financing 0% interest. So add in the interest 2.5% for RM140 K for 9 yrs. Interest is RM31.5 K or roughly about RM10 K more than Altis (margin about 85%).
      Can the Leaf last for 9 yrs? Belum tahu lagi.
      Battery price – ???
      Waiting time for battery – ????
      Charging stations – balik rumah sendiri
      Other problem – only waiting time for charging.
      RSV – ???
      Spare parts – ???

My advise – wait and see
      My choice – Plug-in (slow slow wait also)

• adrian on Nov 15, 2013 at 11:53 am

Actually maintenance is way lower than combustion engine cars.

I’ve driven it in the states before, for the regular maintenance check:
        1. no oil change, no filter change, nothing
        2. remember: there is no combustion engine, so many of the wear and tear parts already gone. ie. belts, pistons, etc
        3. just check battery condition

• Semanis Kurma on Nov 15, 2013 at 2:19 pm

How about wear and tear to the electric motor? It rotates too…

• zalenda on Nov 15, 2013 at 9:19 pm

ya the motor also need maintenance and get change in schedule maintenance. dont forget here is msia our engineer is not familier with this and parts also high in price .

• zalendo on Nov 14, 2013 at 11:38 pm

be patience all . plugin hybrid will arrived soon 2014. Maybe the proton &perodua already start develop.

• now only they start? other are start selling by the way. Fuel Cell car is coming very soon and will put hybrid in RIP soon…

• zalendo on Nov 15, 2013 at 8:00 pm

M’sia car spec always late than other 5year+ dont say if we develop our own definitely will delay 10-20 years

• ELECTRIC FEEL NOW on Nov 15, 2013 at 7:02 am

Electric feel now

• gOOsh on Nov 15, 2013 at 8:29 am

looking at the price tag… orang kaya pun fikir 40 kali nak beli kereta nih…

• You said there are 15 public electric charging stations in Malaysia. I thought there were only four? Do you know where I can find out where all of them are in Malaysia?

• Shadowsniperus on Nov 20, 2013 at 1:53 pm

Most of then in Goverment sector in Cyberjaya which is according to the sales man.

• Shadowsniperus on Nov 20, 2013 at 1:57 pm

Those who order or plan to order, kindly take note. this is 2013 model. It doesnt come with or compatible with the 2011 model portable charger. Which allow you to plug in to any 3 phrase socket. ETCM please bring in the portable charger for LEAF which can charge through any power socket not the 3 phase socket only.

• mohd farid on Dec 04, 2013 at 3:40 pm

guys, what happen last time? i heard the price suppose to be less that 70k when the programme started? bloody expensive for 190km range car. good luck tan chong!

• RedKnight AHA on Dec 20, 2013 at 10:00 am

haha…FUnny How Tech Really eats your wallet. RM170k? Unless you really wanna to help the Earth conservation..purlezz. With that RM170k you could get the new VOLVO V40 T4..comparison.

• Shion on Jan 07, 2016 at 9:51 pm

I have to admit, that was an ugly car. The butt look like Shin Chan’s swollen face. The front lights look like some mafia wannabe trying to look scary. Totally turned me off.