First Energy Networks launches first two public EV charging stations at Suria KLCC and Lot 10

First Energy Networks today announced the launching of the country’s first two public electric vehicle charging stations in Suria KLCC and Lot 10. The announcement was made at the 3rd International Greentech & Eco Products Exhibition & Conference Malaysia (IGEM) being held at the KLCC.

FEN, a wholly-owned subsidiary of Tan Chong Motor Holdings, says that the launch of the charging stations is aligned to the company’s support towards the government’s efforts to setup an EV charging infrastructure, beginning with the Bukit Bintang Pilot Program.

Located on Level P2 of Suria KLCC and the 5th floor of Lot 10, the stations each feature a dedicated bay and will offer charging facilities for EVs, be it the Nissan Leaf or models from other automakers.

The charging station at KLCC is equipped with an Elseev charger from Panasonic Electric Works, while the charging station at Lot 10 is running a Greenlots charger. Currently, the use of the facilities are free, with the stations offering Level 2 240V AC charging.

Strangely enough, all the power outlets on the Elseev chargers on display say Mode 1, which is slow charging from a regular electrical socket, meaning that juicing up a battery (from zero capacity) to full will take around six to eight hours – it’s unlikely when it rolls in that an EV will be down to almost zero operational range, so a couple of hours should provide the necessary top-up levels for most users.

By the end of the year, ratification on a defined standard and payment charges should be in place, and it is expected that the Malaysian standard for public charging systems will eventually adopt a Mode 3 approach, with 32 ampere fast charging using a specific EV multi-pin socket with control and protection functions following the IEC 62196 standard. From what we were told, 63 ampere quick charging (20-30 minutes) will not be on the setlist, primarily down to cost.

Yes, filling up an EVs battery at a public charging facility will cost the user, though just how much it will work out to and how payment is remitted remains to be seen – we’ll know when the standard is out.

Some side notes about the Elseev charger. It’s structured like a controlling board and comes with a single 200V outlet unit, though a total of four power outlet units can be mounted in its frame. The cost is around RM5,000 for one.

The EV pavilion at IGEM also saw on display the Renault Fluence ZE that was spotted on a transporter earlier in the week. The car isn’t going to be a permanent fixture or part of a Renault pilot programme here – the vehicle has been loaned for the exhibition from Singapore, and will be going back home next Tuesday. There’s a sampling of the car on Monday though, so we’ll report on it when the time comes.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Kalun on Oct 12, 2012 at 8:43 pm

If not taken care properly, vanderlism will occur

• Handicap parking also people simply park, what measures are they going to take to make sure only people with EV cars park at those spots?

• Kalun on Oct 12, 2012 at 10:32 pm

If they park in that parking spot and not using an EV, they probably have to pay for the parking space it self.

• MythBusters on Oct 12, 2012 at 10:49 pm

non EV car will get an electric shock??

• Just try to install near the security room or just send someone patrol around there.

• Jimmy on Oct 12, 2012 at 9:32 pm

If you care about how people think about you, then don’t buy hybrid nor electric vehichles. If you drive an ordinary Camry 2.0E, you will be perceived by most people as richer/smarter than someone who drives a Prius. Of course, even driving an E200 is also so so only, nothing to shout about.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 27
    • Smarter? No. I’d look at someone driving a Prius as being smarter.

• Ride bicycle smartest la!

• carnoisseur on Oct 10, 2013 at 2:47 pm

I totally agree, bicycle or walk wagon . Who cares how others perceive me ? I dont give two hoots about that

• Bujang Lapuk on Oct 14, 2012 at 10:23 pm

As for me, who cares what society thinks? Be yourself! If you wanna drive an electric vehicle, that’s your decision. If the people don’t like it, proves how “smart” they are.

• tungguuu on Oct 12, 2012 at 10:11 pm

there is also one at UTM jalan semarak KL

• dodgeviper88 on Oct 12, 2012 at 10:17 pm

5 bucks says that the parking spot would be taken up by a non-electric car

• SorChai on Oct 12, 2012 at 10:25 pm

Must pay to charge???

Wonder if got some doofus try to charge their !Phone.

• Kalun on Oct 12, 2012 at 10:35 pm

If I were Batman in this time of a week where this exhibition goes on and I’m using an Electric Batmobile, i will break into this exhibition, park my Batmobile and let it charge for 15 minutes. Then crime catching goes on. It’s the future!

• I wonder…

Do I have to pay to use such service? It is using the building’s electricity, isn’t it? Kalau pakai plug kat Starbucks, Starbucks bears the electric bill. kalau parking?

Apart from people with non-electric cars park there, I’m afraid that hooligans can suka2 do pranks by plugging it out. From 4 hours kat KLCC to get it fully charged, jadi 8 jam. heh!

• DArkerMarker on Oct 12, 2012 at 11:32 pm

knowing malaysian, they will simply wack this parking space for their own convenient one…regardless if it was a handicapped lot, towing zone, loading area, main entrance, no waiting area…

All sapu….

• david on Oct 13, 2012 at 12:00 am

The panasonic is a slow charger at 20A AC.

the real fast charger will be running at 120A DC
    should be able to juice up 80% of the battery in 30 minute time.

look at nissan leaf, the left port is for fast DC charging. the right port is for AC charging.

the renault is unfortunately do not support fast charging. max 16A AC charging. they are pushing for the idea of swapping battery rather than charging.

• kerelbort on Oct 13, 2012 at 1:26 am

im all on booard for battery swapping.. no need to worry about replacement of battery after certain year…

• Alicia on Oct 13, 2012 at 1:02 am

Looks good. But only 1 charging bay at each location. Too few, right?

• Davinnci on Oct 13, 2012 at 2:40 am

Petrol rules. Still

• Nothing to be proud of. If the alternative is not working, then we need to understand the risk of global warming!

• fuel cell phone on Oct 13, 2012 at 7:04 am

imho, our urban environment like KL would be much cleaner if all passenger cars, taxis and motorcycles are 100% electric

however, few challenges for the above eg.

1. price of ev; looking at current ev price in US (base price before tax credit):
    – nissan leaf is about 46% pricier than prius
    – mitsu i is about 18% pricier than prius

2. traffic jam fiesta especially during peak hours

• alldisc on Oct 13, 2012 at 8:02 pm

if UMW sells prius at that level but it will be cheaper than altis, its like shooting in their own feet when many ppl stop buying vios.

• Painter on Oct 13, 2012 at 7:30 am

Maybe we can learn a thing or two from Tesla. They have solar panel installed on station’s rooftop, though how much energy is subsidised by solar power remains debatable. Anyway, the supercharger (32A and above), where you can get 20-30 minutes to charge full capacity may not be good for the batteries’ lifespan.

Is the socket standard on every EV car?

• thequestion on Oct 13, 2012 at 8:36 am

Good initiative by FEN, though I see you not only buy the car (Nissan leaf) from TCMH, you also refuel at TCMH..

But if I’m going to get an EV car then its probably used for routine journey where the distance is well planned and strictly no detour…so I depart from home with full charge and expect battery depleted when arrive back home

• why need two EV station in KLCC area? so those who stay somewhere in PJ,shah alam etc area need to drive all the way to KLCC to charge? ^^

• I saw my colleague charge an ev using normal plug provided when you buy the car. So using this station just to top-up.

Well that car just for show unit though. Did not sell in malaysian market (yet?). I am sure automaker will provide a house plug or else they dont bother selling.

• Pumpkins on Oct 13, 2012 at 9:55 am

EV charging is dangerous…explode easily…just ask George W. Bush…

The best solution is still Wireless Charging technology…

But for now nothing more genius than Just Add Water dude…Hydro Fuel…way better than EV car…memang genius ini Just Add Water tech

• Kalun on Oct 14, 2012 at 10:54 am

Typical American.
      They hated Diesel Engine and EV. Look. They all use Gas/Petrol, use the most fuel in the world, steal other countries fuel.

• wireless charging? how energy is transfer?

• alldisc on Oct 13, 2012 at 8:04 pm

dont be surprised, this is something agencies like NASA are studying. you know, things like microwave was developed by them in the 1960s for space travelling purposes.

• Nobody on Oct 13, 2012 at 11:26 pm

Checkout Panasonic Qi. The wireless charged battery and charger is already in Japan market.

• TNB is smiling, the future belongs to them…what about us? We are being charged with ever increasing and overcharged electric bills at the moment…..

• whether u like it or not, cheap energy supplied by fossil fuels are not going to last, cant really blame TNB on this since they are dependant on coal & natural gas. We have to find alternative energy supply to bring the cost down, and slowly educate the public on energy efficiency and conservation. The earth can only provide so much of non-renewable fuels, and everyone is using it, the future without alternate energy supply is not attractive at all.

• sean zx-10 on Oct 16, 2012 at 5:19 pm

that’s why la Kettha came out with FiT tariff..to encourage buildings to install solar panels…indirectly we, the rakyat is part of power plant.

• aisehman on Oct 15, 2012 at 9:23 am

from petronas pocket to tnb pocket ^^

• Give me/us EURO 4 fuel instead ! How many owner of EV out there for now ? Also everytime I see the fee for KLCC parking, I will lose all my charge..

• sadly to say, some ah bengs with modified cars probably from Sri Petaling or Kepong will park here like nobody’s businesss…

• Carl Wong on Oct 14, 2012 at 12:36 pm

Good Start……..

• Learn Ping on Oct 14, 2012 at 3:09 pm

That is awesome.
    I think FEN is moving at the right direction. They must setup the infrastructure first, and sell EV later. This is how telecommunication company did by setting up all those antenna on the rooftops before selling mobile phones.

Hope to see charging stations else where later.

FEN, is there by any chance you guys are considering Battery Swapping Stations? Like those in Denmark & Netherlands which supports Renault Fluence ZE (with swappable battery).

• GreenGreek on Oct 14, 2012 at 4:26 pm

Again, this is the chicken-and-egg issue, it’s a good start to actually see companies like FEN and Evmal starting to build and operate the charging infra such that it gives the (potential) EV owners the confidence and helps overcome the range anxiety.
      From the recent IGEM show, on display it seems that FEN is positioning as only the local infra network operator by importing the Panasonic slow chargers, whereas Evmal seems to be offering a more turnkey solution provider offering from AC chargers (bigger in size but with dual-charger per station) to backend charging management system to operating the whole charging infra. Their engineers also demonstrated mobile apps to help EV users to find and reserve chargers using your Android or iPhone!

Anyhow, this is good development for the local EV industry trying to target different market segments. Our gomen is needed to do more to create awareness and help these local companies & EV OEMs to drive large scale deployment of EVs….but i guess the charging infra is capital intensive! Governments like in States (especially state of California), HK, Japan, UK and EU countries are very supportive of this green initiative to the extent some even amended/added legislation to accommodate the deployment of EVs and its infra, but Malaysia leh??? Zzz….zzz….zzz… :)

As for Battery Swapping technology, I personally see that it’s good for EV users ONLY IF all OEMs can agree or standardize the form factor and design of the batteries for swapping, otherwise you can imagine how many different battery form factors each swapping station need to stock up (COST!)! Moreover, the battery design is usually part of the proprietary (competitive advantage?) of each OEM, like the different fuel tank design underneath the car, I guess not easy to convince these OEMs to agree on ONE form factor, at least not anytime soon! hehe

• sean zx-10 on Oct 14, 2012 at 7:28 pm

popular questions by malaysian .. EV cannot drive to Kelantan la..Not attractive. you drive to kelantan everyday meh? IQ very low. 2nd Q: charging is so long. are u in the car most of the time? I can bet my mother that you are in your car EVERYDAY in average for 3 hours top. why worried? if you claim you are intelligent, is it not actually foolish of you to pay expensively just for your car to do nothing for 8 hours at office??? hahahah…

• GreenGeek on Oct 15, 2012 at 7:43 am

I guess the point is that our gomen is not doing much to support and promote the overall EV industry or ecosystem. Is it because our politicians or their proxies have got too much interest in current oil n gas business?  Instead of seeing it as a threat, it should be seen as business opportunity in the auto n energy segment.
    Or do we always have to wait for giants like Petronas, TNB, Syed Mokhtar, YTL and AK conglomerate to move first, before eyebrows can be raised?

Another Malaysia Boleh story again…hehe

• I just wander why you said that our gomen is not supporting and promote EV? Kind to share your viewpoints and facts?

• sean zx-10 on Oct 16, 2012 at 5:21 pm

EV pavillion in igem2012..it was not funded by the government. it was funded by the industry. support ke?

• Well that’s good point indeed.. but i beg to differ..

Let me gv my 2cents point of view..

If a car company or charger company want to market/sell/promote their products for business and making $$, gomen hv to pay for their promotion expenditure??

If like that all company who want to sell something, gomen hv to pay for their marketing expenditure?? Do you think taxpayers will agree on this??

All company who participate in IGEM regardless EV, or other green products, they hv to pay for the booth lah.. Not only IGEM, whatever exhibition also, those company hv to pay.. As a tax-payer, i certainly dont agree my $$ to spend on private company product marketing expenditure.. :-)

This doesnt justify your conclusion that gomen not supporting.. :-)

• sean zx-10 on Oct 17, 2012 at 11:06 am

agree with GreenGeek below. The industry are willing to pay for the marketing. No problem. BUT please understand the objective of EV pavillion. Its a gathering of all EV solutions. correct? do u honestly think any company on their own funds wants to park their products next to their competitors just like what happened with EV pavillion? Industries have put aside their ego and etc to work together, participate in EV pavillion. How about the govt? incentives for hybrids. ok..but what are the actions to realize EVs in malaysia? Why cant the govt push TNB to take up or Petronas? Why not give mandate to local companies that have the technologies to blossom in this fairly new chapter for the world not only malaysia? Thailand is moving. Singapore have moved. Indonesia will be next. China is like crazy..USA too..Until when must malaysia be the followers not the trend setters?

• GreenGeek on Oct 16, 2012 at 11:50 pm

Please read my comments in its whole context, I said the gomen is ‘not doing much to support and promote the overall EV industry or ecosystem’, and I was not implying that ‘our gomen is not supporting and promote EV’ at all!!
        To drive and build this EV ECOSYSTEM, gomens in the States and Europe have actively participated in EV pilot programs, including funding and building of the capital intensive charging infra to springboard or kick-start the initiative to de-carbonize the economy. More importantly, if our gomen is really serious in reducing 40% GHG (green house gases) by year 2020 (as announced by our PM not too long ago), the gomen should be recognized as the key stakeholder in driving the success of the EV industry by legislating and/or implementing policies/guidelines to support the large-scale deployment of EVs and its charging infra, plus giving incentives to both EV makers and buyers (in various forms) to support and realize the value of such initiative for a greener future. The bits and pieces will have to come together at the same time, not about providing relatively little funding/subsidy to certain companies for marketing activities etc etc. Looking at the bigger picture is needed.
        If certain gomen ministry has drafted an EV deployment roadmap, why would they wanna just sit on it? What is holding them back? Awaiting other gomens who have embraced EV deployment to make mistakes first? Another academic research? Haha!

• 1st of all i would like to thank you coz it seems like you hv read the EV deployment roadmap and recognise the value out it.. I feel so proud coz at least i know that you hv understand and knew that something good is done.. FYI, i was among the main driver for this initiative. If you were those ppls involved with EV, you should knew who am i by now.. :-)

Frankly, i would love to see through the implementation and action on those strategies to move forward.. But i am no longer in the driver seat now.. I am no longer in charge now.. So, sorry as i cant answer you why you didnt see anymore progress after that.. I guess, maybe the person who takes over me has another priorities..

• DArkerMarker on Oct 15, 2012 at 10:19 pm

politicians cared about their own gain……before benefitting the rakyat..