SPIED: Renault Fluence ZE spotted on transporter

Thanks go to reader Qhal, who sent in these photos of what appears to be a Renault Fluence ZE being transported on the KESAS highway. The electric vehicle, built in Turkey, is powered by a synchronous electric motor with rotor coil that produces a peak 70 kW at 11,000 rpm and 226 Nm of torque.

We know that First Energy Networks (FEN) is set to launch Malaysia’s first public charging infrastructure for EVs in KL soon, and since FEN is a subsidiary of Tan Chong Motor Holdings, this Renault could very well be on the way to the event, since it’s got advertising stickers on the doors and boot lid. Will it join the Nissan Leaf in undergoing local trial programmes? We’ll bring you more details after FEN’s launch later this week.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Land Cruzerz on Oct 08, 2012 at 5:29 pm

I’ve seen this car in Singapore, i think it is heading to the International Greentech Exhibition at KLCC, happening on 10th – 13th this month

• seancorr on Oct 08, 2012 at 7:06 pm

I still don’t see our EV tech being feasible enough for mass use. The charging times are just too long unless we all use EV on weekends to shopping complexes where we spend some time shopping while our car charges in the parking lot. Following London’s CO2 charges would be good though.

I can imagine the colossal sum of $$$ needed to build the infrastructure…so who’s gonna pay for all the charging stations in S’gor/KL…what more nationwide?

• not a car enthusiast on Oct 09, 2012 at 9:19 am

Why is such negativity?

We have to start somewhere. Of course there will be only a few EV charging stations to begin with initially. If it EV proves popular, the charging number will increase, if not then it won’t. There will be a lot of teething problem. There will be a lot of cost vs benefit issues. That’s expected and that is something we have to grapple with. It is the same story basically anywhere in the world.

• alldisc on Oct 09, 2012 at 3:27 pm

not surprised at all since renault owns nissan. both brands are enjoying the benefits of EV technology.

• sean zx-10 on Oct 14, 2012 at 12:19 pm

it costs the G around RM50 millions for 1000 charging points. peanuts compared to petrol. do your math la .

• Learn Ping on Oct 08, 2012 at 8:18 pm

Wow! If they are testing it in Malaysia, there may be planning to launch it here. If they have a switchable battery version like in Denmark, we can get a more affordable EV without range problem in the future. Of course, supported by battery switch station network.

• NIEKO on Oct 08, 2012 at 8:42 pm

Well this is very suprising ..oh well welcome renualt

• Sam Loo on Oct 08, 2012 at 8:46 pm

Dunnu if Euro EV will overheat?

• nope…but last week a toyota estima overheated and caused massive jam in LDP caused me to be late for work.

• David D on Oct 08, 2012 at 9:16 pm

The rear overhangs are really long, as compared to the petrol-powered Fluence/SM3, but i think it’s a good thing, since boot space wont be terribly affected. And, with Nissan bits inside, particularly the CVT gearbox,i’m confident that this car will be able to run for as long as possible.

Now, the cost of leasing. Hmmmm……..

Now

• I wonder what proton will show in igem. same old test car or something real and working!!!

• As we all know Proton will show same old test car..saga ev/exora ev for next 10 or 20 years & tell to all malaysian that is latest technology…huhuhuh.

• gangully on Oct 09, 2012 at 10:45 am

I saw this car parked at the Panasonic showroom at Jalan Sultan ABu Bakar just off the Sprint on Saturday, which i found weird because if i remember correctly this EV was jointly developed with Samsung right?

Anyway, that Panasonic Showroom is a Green Energy building too… they constructed an arch around the original house to place solar panels on it… looks oddly good to me…

• the design is totally lack of innovative and creative. sure will not be a hot cake in bolehland. T will be the always hot cake in bolehland. other brand “sao pei la”