National Automotive Policy (NAP 2014) full text by MITI

The announcement of the National Automotive Policy (NAP 2014) at Matrade has just ended, and to supplement our stories, here’s the full text of NAP 2014 released by MITI.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Joker The Great on Jan 20, 2014 at 5:51 pm

Laooo ehhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Najib, where is the 30% you Promised? on Jan 20, 2014 at 6:03 pm

Where is Najib’s promise of 30% reduction in car prices over a period of 5 years? Najib promised before the election that if we voted for him and BN, he would ensure that he would match PKR’s offer to reduce car prices. Najib himself quoted saying that the BN government would reduce car prices by up to 30% gradually over 5 years and we should trust BN. Infact he said BN always keeps to their word. 7 months have passed and nothing has been done. He promised last year!

Infact companies like Toyota and VW have increased their prices. Does not matter now whether a car is EEV or ELV. What matters now is where is Najib’s promise?

Madani, please ask your boss Najib to honour his promise. This basic thing also MAI cannot do, how can the rakyat trust MAI and the BN Government?

The reduction in your chart is Superficial. Got no meaning at all or any real savings to the rakyat. It is unfair, while we rakyat are told to eat Kangkung, the Minister’s wives are buying Birkin handbags costing RM100,000 each. And that also one person got berpuluh puluh Birkin handbags.

And the AP robbery is still going on. 30 Million rakyat suffer just to benefit 20 or 30 crony AP holders, all related to the Ministers.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 390 Thumb down 13
      • Pontiac on Jan 20, 2014 at 6:09 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 275
        • Relax bos..its only comment. Undi itu RAHSIA Maaa!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 5
        • Pinky on Jan 20, 2014 at 6:23 pm

Najib reduced the price of kangkung already.. Be grateful and eat kangkung everyday so that you can save more money and buy a better car next time.. Complain too much, later kangkung’s price also increase ahh..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 209 Thumb down 11
        • sleman on Jan 20, 2014 at 11:06 pm

doesn’t matter who we have voted for. what matter is, the winning party must keep their promises during election campaign

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 3
        • farizY on Jan 21, 2014 at 8:55 am

What a douche, it does not matter who you voted, it is the matter of honouring the promise made. And that forked tongue PM is not honouring his words. I thought JANJI DITEPATI?

• west end boys on Jan 20, 2014 at 6:14 pm

copy paste basher

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 44
      • Listen Listen Listen…Correct Correct Correct…!wa sokong Kenyataan Lu..AGREED! Now Najib..KOREK KOREK KOREK…..!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
      • Malaysia Prices vs Global Prices on Jan 20, 2014 at 6:27 pm

Mainstream car prices

Honda Accord 2.4 (CBU)
        US$21,480(RM64,440)
        Malaysia Price – RM175,000 (CKD)

Honda CRV 2.4 (CBU)
        US$22,495 (RM67,485)
        Malaysia Price- RM185,000 (CKD)

Honda Civic CBU
        US$15,955 (RM47,865)
        Malaysia Price- RM115,000 (CKD)

Toyota Altis (CBU)
        US$16,130 (RM48,390)
        Malaysia Price – RM112,000 (CKD)

Toyota Camry CBU
        US$22,055 (RM66,165)
        Malaysia Price CKD RM180,000

Kia Sorento CBU
        US$23,150 (RM69,450)
        Malaysia CKD Price RM160,000

Hyundai Tucson
        US$19,245 (RM57,735)
        RM140,000

Hyundai Sonata
        US$20,895 (RM62,685)
        Malaysia Price CKD – RM150,000

Hyundai Elantra 1.8
        US$16,695 (RM50,085)
        Malaysia Price -CKD Inokom RM118,000

Luxury car prices

BMW 328i
        US$36,500 (RM109,500)
        Malaysia Price – RM300,000

BMW 528i
        US$46,900 (RM149,000)
        Malaysia Price RM420,000

BMW 535i
        US$52,500 (RM157,000)
        Malaysia Price RM600,000

BMW X5
        US$47,500 (RM142,500)
        Malaysia Price RM580,000

Mercedes E350
        US$51,000 (RM153,000)
        Malaysia Price – RM420,000
        In M’sia for only CKD E250)

Jaguar XF
        US$53,000 (RM159,000)
        Malaysia Price RM500,000

Porsche Cayenne
        US$48,850 (RM146,000)
        Malaysia Price RM570,000

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 199 Thumb down 8
        • try compare with thai vs world price n indo vs world price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 76
          • What a moron (as usual). Malaysian will compare prices based in Malaysia cause that is relevant. Not Thai. Not Indo. This show your level of intelligence. See what happens when you eat KANGKUNG everyday.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 7
          • righttttt….why dont we just compare ourselves with all other countries that are worse off than us so that we can feel superior.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
          • try comparing with west africa if that makes you feel better you ignorant fool!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
          • Lol..that show how ur level of inteligent oso…so y does need to compare to US? If taxless car in boleh higher than world price how do u expect boleh price their car near the world price?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 39
          • Unforgiven on Jan 21, 2014 at 8:50 am

What is good for the country? Is it attractive enough for investors?
            What is good for the people? Is it affordable for most?

• U ate too much kangkung already

• farizY on Jan 21, 2014 at 9:00 am

Don’t you get the point, we do not have as much purchasing power due to the government inefficiency and corrupt practice. Why compare to a third world country if you want to improve? LOL

• chinz on Jan 21, 2014 at 9:26 am

even compare with thailand and indo they avanza still cheaper then us, at thailand, 4×4 still cheaper then us! honestly lah, wen you buy a ferrari at malaysia you are more richer hen other ferrari owner in the world!

• Jonathan on Jan 21, 2014 at 1:34 pm

kzm, is a typical dude who failed his way and yet got into getting a Mara scholarship and went overseas to study under our expense.

• Langkawi taxless price – All Camry variant cost RM97-115K. How do u aspect Toyota Camry RM66k in bolehland?.. please don say US..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 65
          • ChRiS on Jan 20, 2014 at 9:12 pm

I agree with you but not totally agree. This is pricing strategy from manufacturer. If in Peninsular and east malaysia car price are cheaper. Do you think manufacturer can price positioning ‘Car Price’ At that range in Langkawi?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
        • How can to price Toyota Altis RM48k when langkawi taxless price between RM73-90k? Even in thailand Almera cost more than RM48k…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 63
          • Jonathan on Jan 21, 2014 at 1:35 pm

kzm, is a typical brain drain in Malaysia. This what happens when you get all Ds and Es and yet get into university

• Julius on Jan 20, 2014 at 9:08 pm

So easy ma! Go and live in the US.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 33
          • Only smart ones can survive in USA. Hence the brain drain in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
          • kerapu on Jan 21, 2014 at 10:44 am

haiyaa…a lots of malaysian got good brain what. only u got brain in the drain maa…..

• Julius on Jan 21, 2014 at 12:03 pm

Kerja cuci pinggan di chinatown pun smart ke?

• Low Budget on Jan 20, 2014 at 9:11 pm

Oops!! It hurts. NAP…..

• kerapu on Jan 21, 2014 at 10:43 am

haiyaa…a lots of malaysian got good brain what. only u got brain in the drain maa…..

• Even brunei cant match ur world price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 36
      • That guy is only a kangkung minister.Only know how to reduce kangkung price.You ask him to reduce car prices?Are you sure you asked the right person?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 6
        • Julius on Jan 20, 2014 at 9:12 pm

Minister ma, chauffeured driven . You? Go to the parking lot and park your own car. Who is a kangkung now. Kangkang ler.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
      • kena d on Jan 20, 2014 at 10:55 pm

Promised 30% but 70% did not promised…so majority was turned by minority…makan kangkung la dude! Don’t buy car in Malaysia if can coz more than 50% gone for birkin handbags lol…now is just the beginning…more to come. Later will say “ham choy – sayur masin” price reduce too!. That ham choy – sayur masin is preserve with rats poison…and “ham yueh – ikan masin” will follow…maybe “ham tan – telur masin” as well!. Will be a wonderful feast for VMY 2014! Don’t fuking trust these buggers…they talk ayam only just to grab more votes…since they became the minority so what do you expect…tighten the belts la.

• Hiroshi on Jan 20, 2014 at 11:26 pm

bro…u speak up for rakyat, bty suffer still goes by…hope whole malaysia rakyat can be one heart , refuse buy or trade car often …only action will speak for us !!! hail

• Obama on Jan 21, 2014 at 8:38 am

All in all, the government don’t care what the rakyat think, they just making our life difficult. No reduction in excise duty and increase hybrid car price.

• farizY on Jan 21, 2014 at 8:51 am

He’ll give it come GE14, just wait and see.

• MycarMylife on Jan 21, 2014 at 10:49 am

As usual , our guys in MITI and Gov has NO substance and integrity in anything ! GIVE UP

• KangKung on Jan 21, 2014 at 1:20 pm

Bro, Aiyo yo! Harap Pagar … Pagar Makan Padi lor! KangKung boleh dapat free tepi sungai lor …

• Doesntmatterwhatmynameis on Jan 20, 2014 at 6:14 pm

so what is they are doing is asking people to wait for years for BN to actually fulfill their promise to bring car prices down?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • i just want to know if most of us here can read above article

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 53
  • Vincent Cheng on Jan 20, 2014 at 5:52 pm

In short, NAP will not make car cheap in near future… car will be cheaper only until certain minority protected group ready and reduce their price. When they sell MYR1, you are not allot to sell less than MYR 1.10!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
  • Guan Yin Ma on Jan 20, 2014 at 6:04 pm

Well. As expected. So this is the report from a government ELITE GROUP of professional who earn over 20k per month . Cool. Even a secondary school boy can write a better report then you.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 10
  • Contender on Jan 20, 2014 at 6:05 pm

For those waiting for reduction …. NAP @ Nanti Akan Potong

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 3
    • Low Budget on Jan 20, 2014 at 9:13 pm

What more do you want? Proton Saga is already the cheapest in the region.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 31
  • dzulx on Jan 20, 2014 at 6:08 pm

Seriously 31 pages? Seriously? Tu pun intro dah makan 10 pages

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
  • Polo Saga on Jan 20, 2014 at 6:13 pm

LPPL. Never believe the lies from Be-eNd.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 5
  • policeman on Jan 20, 2014 at 6:19 pm

Wow. I didn’t know my Inspira is a luxury car.

Tipu lagi…A compact Executive car has better fuel consumption than a small family car. Fiesta vs Saga.

Big BS. Waste of time reading.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 4
  • 31 pages of rubbish.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 5
  • Nothing inspiring and informative..they only let u know what other countries doing, what they want to do/might do/hope to do and achieve…But NOT HOW they do it, clearly…They dont seem to be sure…it feels like a student writes an essay becoz he must do the homework that needs to b submitted…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 3
  • jonathan keung on Jan 20, 2014 at 6:27 pm

NAP policy is going to kill the automotive industry and benefit the open AP holders. the people got to pay thru their nose

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
  • parpu on Jan 20, 2014 at 6:48 pm

How about fiesta vs attrage? Or fiesta vs ranger

• old dog on Jan 20, 2014 at 6:52 pm

from last election push to next election, and next election will push to next next election, and there are still people believe in barang naik….LOL>..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
    • Low Budget on Jan 20, 2014 at 9:18 pm

And before you know it, you are already six feet underground. 30 years of mediocre quality and ‘tak laku’ overseas, only depending on Malaysian buyers.
      Proton need to import ‘real specialists in car manufacturing’ fast.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Julius on Jan 20, 2014 at 6:54 pm

Malaysia is not the only country with expensive cars. Just check the car taxes in Holland where tens of thousands of people ride the bicycles daily. TEPUK DADA TANYA SELERA dan UKUR BAJU DI BADAN SENDIRI.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 88
    • ChRiS on Jan 20, 2014 at 8:48 pm

Bro, what are the weather in Holland? What are the weather at our country? At holland younger generation no need support older generation. Gov support old generation. Education free. we have gas, oil, good soil and weather for palm oil and rubber. What they have? Our education free? THeir public transport is good. Ours?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 4
      • Julius on Jan 20, 2014 at 9:42 pm

Come on, taxes there are high. Even imported books and magazines are highly tax. Do not forget you eat a lot of subsidized food and use subsidized petrol. Only small percentage of people here pay income tax.Income tax in Holland even reach 60%.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 55
      • Malaysian on Jan 20, 2014 at 10:07 pm

Chris, this type of argument is always like that. First compare with other country. But when shown flaws in their reasoning, they will ask you to go live some place else. Never wanting the the country to improve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 3
        • ChERISS on Jan 20, 2014 at 10:45 pm

Malaysian: ZZZ.. NO ONE IS ASKING ANYONE to live some place else.

The truth is : THERE IS NO PERFECT WORLD.

We never say we dont want the country to improve.

But with a pessimistic attitude displayed by if not 70% of the people raging here, this displays lack of will power to change.

You do understand a government cant change regulations that drastically? What about their generated revenue? Do you hold the books to their account? Are you in the Finance Department?

The government also needs revenue to sustain projects, pay pension to retirees, etc etc.

Surely one would not see this from an economic perspective and jump the gun calling me ” member of UMNO, BN dog etc”.

But the difference between me and you is that I’m realistic.

And right now, RM10,000-20,000 in price deduction is shit loads of money. Think of it in a large scale of 1,000,000 models sold.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 20
        • When they ask you to leave country – u tell them: this is rakyat’s country, you are the elected nominee of rakyat who live off rakyat’s moneys from tax. We are the boss, you listen to us!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
      • ChERISS on Jan 20, 2014 at 10:38 pm

LOL… turns out you dont seem to understand their tax system policy. In fact you are wrong. the younger generation is supporting the older generation. Individuals below the age of 65 who earn over €55,991 will be taxed 52%.

That amount goes to education, public transportation, government project etc.. AND they still have to foot the payment.

Do you actually think people go to work everyone without having to pay a single cent and can hitch free a ride on the bus? OR your children attend local university for free? They will be in debt upon graduation ( look at US and AUS etc).

Comparatively speaking, Malaysia is not worse off. Above RM100,001, one would have to contribute 26%.

EVEN IF the public transportation in Malaysia is good, WOULD YOU TAKE ONE?

The problem with Malaysians is their inferior complexity. They wanna show their status by purchasing cars,jewelries, etc..

Westerns dont give 2 shits about the latest cars. They view a car as getting from Point A to Point B. Some even ride bikes to work and earn over $100,000 yearly compared to a typical Malaysian with a monthly salary of $6,000 and driving a brand new $160k camry.

I am not in the same boat with Be-End neither do i support PeeKayRR (PKR). But all in all, if 70% of malaysians with average income want to go on and spend lavishly, above their means and go on debt with banks, JUST TO SHOW OFF, then prepare for a recession. Its going to hit us all hard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
  • old dog on Jan 20, 2014 at 6:57 pm

when i read the line…Agenda Bumiputera..i was wondering..

1) How many bumibupetra benefits?
    2) how many bumibupetra sufferred from it?

and the suffered one still happily support that…that is the confused part..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 3
  • terima kasih on Jan 20, 2014 at 7:00 pm

no one had brought this up yet?
    well, he it goes….

THANK YOU BN VOTERS!!! TERIMA KASIH!!! XIE XIE!!!

You guys made Malaysia a better country! I am so proud of you!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
  • Sam Loo on Jan 20, 2014 at 7:07 pm

And NAP 2014 will drive the RV of kimchis even lower

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 15
    • Besi Buruk on Jan 20, 2014 at 9:15 pm

When people trade-in besi buruk, mana ada ‘rv’- whether sushi or kimchni?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 17
  • as usual great plan but horrible execution. i didn’t see anything written about 30% price reduction by 2018 as claim by umno’s media.

Just 31 pages? This is not an undergrad assignment paper, this suppose to be a detail paper on our automotive industry! I have doubt we be able to compete competitively with thailand and indonesia for the next 4-5 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
  • GovindS on Jan 20, 2014 at 7:16 pm

This report looks like some college assignment, with bits and pieces plagiarized from the net. Seriously, this doesn’t look like a well thought out policy rather something cooked up half heartedly to make a few more orang kaya besar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • stupid on Jan 20, 2014 at 7:18 pm

if you got no $$, just buy kangkung don’t buy cars, flooding the road with rubbish cars, everyday i have to drive my 400hp car under 100km/h thanks to the japanese, korean and malaysian cars causing jam

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 37
    • Julius on Jan 20, 2014 at 9:04 pm

Not your father’s road, ok.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
    • ChERISS on Jan 20, 2014 at 10:51 pm

stupid: HAHA. I get your humour.

That is right. A typical malaysian would not want to take public transport.

Ask yourself: If tomorrow the govt invest over RM 10Bln in public transportation, tighten security, take all measures to make it efficient and long hours of operation, would you even consider taking it?

Its the mindset of a typical malaysian that has to change. Government change is far than enough. I hope the younger generation can learn to save and not simply spend.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • frenzyaustin on Jan 21, 2014 at 10:53 am

I won’t take public transport because our’s are horrible. I would take one if it”s efficient, convenient and cheap!

• stupid on Jan 21, 2014 at 2:31 pm

Frankly, i would still drive a car for the love of driving, so blame me, i take it. And yes the typical Malaysian has to change, but the Government has to change too. Look at our cabs, they don’t drive safe, some of them are dangerous criminals, and they don’t use the meter, also many cabs are in a disposable condition. Look at our buses, who would want to take a bus full of smelly foreign workers? I am being very realistic here. The government has so much to do to improve our public transportation system, yet they’re spending elsewhere, we deserve a BOTH good public transit and good roads to drive. You can’t blame the people for wanting to drive when public transport is shit.

• Ibrahim on Jan 21, 2014 at 4:03 pm

But you must share the roads with cheap cars ok. Not your father’s roads ok.

• stupid on Jan 21, 2014 at 5:55 pm

as long as i can go fast i don’t mind, I’m sure they won’t mind the flashing headlights too

• VoodooMagic on Jan 20, 2014 at 7:39 pm

Nice! after making so much noise they finally reduced it a little. From now on we should make double the noise to get a bigger reduction.

They can’t ignore use forever.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • Not daddy's son on Jan 20, 2014 at 8:11 pm

Honestly I am quite shocked with the announcement . Although I m not a BN supporter, i still think Najib will reduce the car price after taking so much from the Rakyat. Scary scary

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
  • motorhead on Jan 20, 2014 at 9:01 pm

Not worth to say anything.. Just.. Hharrkpuiihh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • ChRiS on Jan 20, 2014 at 9:07 pm

Our Planning should have an objective with measurable result in numbers. We are talking about fact & figures.

Out neighbour country planning is always with fact and figure to achieve.

Not like wat we have here. We want this and that; we hope this and that. But no well define goal/objective.

Congratulation to our Gov. I really don’t understand how we reach this situation while 25 years ago we are much ahead our neighbour country in automotive industry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • saladin on Jan 20, 2014 at 11:05 pm

actually they know all the figures. but afraid if they implement sure proton will kangkung. ancient engine technology cannot compete others in CO2.

• Mustaffa on Jan 20, 2014 at 10:37 pm

memang kencing kuat ah kerajaan bn ni

• nandakumar on Jan 20, 2014 at 10:38 pm

All this automotif problem was not created but invented by Mahathir.Because of his foolishness of inventing so called Malaysian made cars….PROTON & PERODUA.Rakyat ended up living a deprived life.
    Bloody fools…BN UMNO cant even provide proper education and public transport but ventured into automobile industry and screwed it up big time.
    Best is to but a good continental car an maintain in.Dont ever buy a crappy proton and support those lazy bn umno goons

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • Archangel on Jan 20, 2014 at 10:46 pm

Hoping to hear some good news especially reduction price for car but our beloved government have ruined it. Thank you government especially BN.

• darkermarker on Jan 20, 2014 at 11:15 pm

I really don’t expect much, esp. from the gang of kangkung and company….

• Gundam on Jan 20, 2014 at 11:25 pm

Apa? Tiada pengecualian cukai untuk kereta rear wheel drive dengan kuasa kuda tinggi?? Oh tidaaakkkk

• di-rompak on Jan 21, 2014 at 12:23 am

What a drama ? After waited so long

• kangkung on Jan 21, 2014 at 12:58 am

how many years still the gov still fikiran kangkung?

• Nicholas on Jan 21, 2014 at 1:04 am

For those that say Malaysian not willing to use public transport even if the G improve it, I as one of those who took public transport during my school and college time would like to share some thought…

I was robbed once, knife beside me, and that is before the crime rates escalated as high as today… I waited 2 hours for a bus that finally took me to my college where I attend the final 15mins of the class… I waited under the hot sun until my shirt is drenched with sweat, imagine how that smell in an aircond room… I waited under heavy rain and got sick the next day… I often need to use 2 buses to a specific place (which took a long time because I need to wait twice and the bus will drive slower and stop often), sometimes 3 times for further area.

It is not that Malaysian want class, it is just too troublesome and risky to take public transportation… But if all the issue above have a solution, then I think most of us will be more willing to use it, maybe not on the spot but changes need time…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • Harapan on Jan 21, 2014 at 11:58 am

Remember the days of the Bas Mini Wilayah? Cheap and efficient.

• yslim on Jan 21, 2014 at 2:21 am

Save your time, no need to read the whole program, conclusion is:
    1. More money will be wasted on national automotive industry
    2. No reduction in car price
    3. More expensive CBU hybrid car

No need to say thank you for the conclusion. Makan kangkung, it’s cheaper

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • infant on Jan 21, 2014 at 9:11 am

why everybody talk about AP. We have many car manufacturers, Proton, Perodua, Naza, Toyota, Honda, Kia, Nissan, Inokom, Hyundai…….

• tkhengong on Jan 21, 2014 at 10:15 am

The announced NAP is all and sundry hogwash. As long as the government needs to protect the livelihood of bumiputra participation in Malaysia’s automobile industry there can be no genuine NAP policy. The minister has unashamedly stated they will study the open AP policy (i.e. after umpteen studies) after CNY as it need to consider the interest of bumiputras holding those APs. I surmised the NAP was announced for academic reasons as it has been promised but postponed many times. It is therefore released for self gratification only with no commitments to adhere to it.

• MAIN MAIN on Jan 21, 2014 at 3:36 pm

I’m in agreement with you. The objective that have been communicated to MAI is very clear…. remain the status quo. That is why we see that the report is a load of rubbish, without any substance, data nor detailed plan and schedule.

• vroom vroom on Jan 21, 2014 at 10:24 am

kantoi lagi. come next GE, ah jib will tell you they need to be elected again to fulfill this 30% reduction promise. when they win, the cycle continues. another 5 yrs…bla bla bla

• Aiyaa, what a waste of time, another junk,just get the Civic, put on Proton badge.

Then it’ll sell like hot cakes.

They already halfway there.

• Joker on Jan 21, 2014 at 12:06 pm

Actually i don’t understand why taxless price in Langkawi is more expensive in other countries which have tax… Why???

• Ibrahim on Jan 21, 2014 at 12:40 pm

Just wondering whether the present CKD C Class Mercedes Blue Efficiency comes under EEV. If yes, nanti can be seen a lot on the road every where.

• We never know. It’s probably a high school assignment and they simply picked the best one that they can get.

• again and again on Jan 23, 2014 at 5:43 pm

again, protection…..and again….

when will this be ended? we talked about growth of our country yet we still keep ourselves under the umbrella saying we need more protections, after all these lengthy years of wastage.

when will it end, and when will our economy be revived.

the world in on their economy recovering stages yet we are on the other way round. so sad to hear on this so called NAP. yet, just another junk to all malaysians. as when there is no target date for achieving results, it means there’s no improvements in promise.

we live in this land and we’ve been talking about the same old grandma grandpa story that we know all along (corruptions, cronies etc). please stop all the saying and do something good.

we live to provide solutions, not like the Gomen we know that creating more and more say or problem.

live up, malaysians. kami anak malaysia!