Automotive council to be set up within two months

Mustapa

Minister of International Trade and Industry Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed revealed at the National Automotive Policy (NAP 2014) status update that an automotive council is set to be established within two months, Bernama reports.

To be chaired by the minister himself, the council will serve as an avenue for policy makers to interact with industry players, and will comprise government and business community representatives, as well as non-government organisations representing consumers.

“The council will provide a platform for policy makers to interact so that we can have inputs from the industry and have clear directions as to which way the automotive industry will move,” the national news agency quoted Mustapa as saying, with the first meeting expected to be held at the end of March.

Other topics from the NAP 2014 status update:
NAP 2014 update – TIV up 1.6%, imports, exports fall
New car prices dropped 7% on average last year, 20% reduction on average by end-2017 targeted – MITI
Euro 5 diesel to begin selling in Klang Valley this year
No plans to extend CKD hybrid tax exemptions as yet
Public not ready for Vehicle End of Life policy – Tok Pa

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• British_Council on Feb 02, 2015 at 5:17 pm

Ohhh OK, that’s good. Another council full of liars to protect gov interest. The minimum requirements for the new councilors are that they must be retarded & skewed IQ.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 10
    • wayangkul1t on Feb 02, 2015 at 5:27 pm

That is any council style. Then they will get all the contracts. Usually council members will get contract for this and that. Don’t be surprised if council members also start getting free APs. When you work or friend MITI, a gift for you is usually free AP

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 6
      • drMpower on Feb 02, 2015 at 5:41 pm

so now u go friend MITI lah i pay 15grand for the AP ur friend give u wwnt or not

U see people like this wont be useful at all to malaysia. Why dont u ask people to use this platform to achieve what u want. For example now go form a very strong group pushing for ur people sit on council seats first then use their voice to say what u want

Like this also need to teach. Suwei child.

And ah 15grand for the AP ur miti friend give u offer stands. Dont ask for more. 15grand is more than u really are

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 22
        • wayangkul1t on Feb 02, 2015 at 5:47 pm

DrM, go ask your son. He is one of the big king of AP. Dulu bawak berlambak Porsche under Auto Eurocars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 8
          • drMpower on Feb 02, 2015 at 7:46 pm

i wanted to but i cant hes just 2 years old

U see its better if we use this situation for our own good. Now we know we can push them around so lets push them around

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
          • Same L0rrrr on Feb 04, 2015 at 11:26 am

What council, committee, coordination lar… all bullshit to con tax payers’ money only.

You at least need to do something to suck government fund, don’t you?

That’s why you see government keep rolling out new things regardless it is practical or not. (e.g. old car retiring scheme)

It is all about MONEY MONEY MONEY!

• Feels like setting up another whatsapp group chat for NATO use.

• Agree with you on some level, how many councils, committees etc etc do we actually need?

“The council will provide a platform for policy makers to interact so that we can have inputs from the industry and have clear directions as to which way the automotive industry will move,”

Another thing that bugs me, how about inputs from those who really matter? Us consumers?!

• BuySmart on Feb 03, 2015 at 2:14 pm

Another position created for cronies from BN with inflated salaries so that the minister can have more hanger-ons and council of kaki bodeks during his meetings.

• wayangkul1t on Feb 02, 2015 at 5:24 pm

As with all Government meetings, its all about minum teh tarik and kuih lapis in the meeting. !0 meetings also, nothing can be decided. That is the Government for you. I was a Government servant and I can tell you, every meeting, even when nothing is decided, it is wajib for it to be adjourned. Minister will say, “Jemput makan karipapa dan minum teh dan boleh bersurai”

This goes on and on and on until the 10th meeting!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 6
    • wayangkul1t on Feb 02, 2015 at 5:32 pm

Why set up a council when AP also takut want to challenege MITI?

The 30 PEKEMA members are so powerful. Both MAI and MITI so so so scared to touch them. Why?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
      • ilicit on Feb 02, 2015 at 10:09 pm

Talk kok so much. If you are brave enough reveal all about yourself here, if not you are coward!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
    • wayang on Feb 02, 2015 at 10:06 pm

wah so fast got people take the nick i used
      you can copy the name but never the attitude

since you’re a government servant and you cant get any AP, you really fail big time

eh wait or you want to blame they didnt give you any AP?

• Tong Kosong on Feb 03, 2015 at 6:51 pm

-that karipap & teh is kroni business oso, w/o meeting no income.

-Why Another committee? To waste money for unemployed no market graduate son? MAI not enough?

Why not only find the genuine Result Maker man to lead-not Fake syiok sendiri Power Point man.

In order to generate internal economy growth and national BRAND-
      only Fired existing leader-Same to syiok sendiri Proton designer (proven fail bad Savvy, Juara, Iris , Preve a.ka prove fail)-
      Good leador become mentor, Without good leader, good down liner mean nothing.

• ii3mod on Feb 03, 2015 at 8:36 pm

Preve design is better than Civic FB
        Maybe you admire “nice” designs of Vios and Almera, LOLOLOLOL

• X celcom on Feb 03, 2015 at 9:23 pm

Don’t down grade Preve,

compare it with Syplhy, Corolla.

BTW, who thinks Preve is good global design??
          Only Proton People- not the majority consumer (except the owners)

• wayangkul1t, what a BS u r..

• alldisc on Feb 02, 2015 at 5:31 pm

finally. the will to listen to the experts after failing for so many years.

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 02, 2015 at 5:34 pm

Council to listen? More like dictate!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • Useless council!

New council means new positions for them. It just an excuse for them to get extra income, and this council will help gov to confuse taxpayers that gov actually help to reduce car price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • wayangkul1t on Feb 02, 2015 at 5:53 pm

The Council will be the next MAI – talk kok all the time. Every NAP say all sorts of things but nothing happens.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • works on Feb 02, 2015 at 6:03 pm

Automotive council,MAI,NAP,MITI, current government have one similarities : makes me sick….they all know to talk crap and get million…enough with all this shit …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • holiday on Feb 03, 2015 at 8:40 pm

Of course gomen got million, only lazy person like you who blame other people for your poverty

• No need council … just read this blog and get input already. Yes…agreed just to create new position for extra income!.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • shawal on Feb 02, 2015 at 6:09 pm

a whatsapp group would suffice…
    stop sucking our coffers dry…

• Crasher7 on Feb 02, 2015 at 6:13 pm

How many more councils/committee/panel they need to set up?!?!

• karipap basah on Feb 02, 2015 at 7:03 pm

Another council?? How about setting up another council for the council???

Sounded like a council that would only call for meetings, eat karipap, drink tea, go lawatan-sambil-belajar, makan gaji buta…….and later come up with nothing that could benefit the rakyat.

The council will eventually highjacked by politician and made the malaysia automotive a milking cow for cronies…

Simple and predictable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • torque on Feb 02, 2015 at 7:33 pm

Another council?! More like another way to “kapok” funds…horse$h!t

• torque on Feb 02, 2015 at 7:35 pm

Another council?! More like another way to “kapok” funds…horseshit!

• takNakP1 on Feb 02, 2015 at 7:53 pm

i think. auta-con-cil sounds better

• ong chin aun on Feb 02, 2015 at 8:24 pm

Hai, Two words to describe : Not Sincere. Car price remains high,cos our currency value drops drastically. Always talk about few years in future!! The future is uncertain, tell me who can predict the future,2017 ??? The past become History. What matter most is the very moment of the Present Moment at this date of time. Be realistic otherwise can’t go far.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Albert on Feb 02, 2015 at 8:37 pm

In Boleh Land,we have numerous councils..but what’s the use?
    Look at our city streets,housing suburbs…..rubbish…rubbish…..rubbish .They are existing to collect taxes to enrich cronies.
    Now,automotive council…. for what? To enrich some fat nuts.

• “To be chaired by the minister himself, the council will serve as an avenue for policy makers to interact with industry players, and will comprise government and business community representatives, as well as non-government organisations representing consumers.”

So, what are you saying is that previous NAP was prepared and announced without any interaction with the industry and consumer? This explain a lot….haiyaaa…what MAI doing all this while??? Prftttt….

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 03, 2015 at 12:52 am

paultan….u guys love his face dont ya…..finding a faceblock to remove his pic….

• Rubbish dept setting up another rubbish dept, burn rakyat money to the maxxxxx..

• Krasher on Feb 03, 2015 at 3:48 am

Sounds like good reason to take a ride on tax payers’ money.

• applegreen on Feb 03, 2015 at 8:56 am

Who’s in this council? Tun Mahathir?

• puii!!!

• wah…necessary or not? another fat paycheck for them…

• angah on Feb 03, 2015 at 9:40 am

They can setup whatever council, working group, committee, jawatankuasa that they want.

Whats important is we stop buying any new cars for say two years. Then when stock piling and not moving, we can see real price drop. If we stop buying new cars, they cant have their excise duty…

Let do this together, and we actually will control the car prices.

When the buying stop, the killing can too.
    When we work together, we can win this.

• Josh Ling on Feb 03, 2015 at 9:54 am

by the time they come up with a good and sure-to-implement policy, the car industry would have advanced for another 10 years or so already.

don’t want to lower or remove the excise duty, don’t want to abolish the ap system, don’t want to really promote energy efficient vehicle in the long term, then don’t bother to set up whatever council.

• old dog on Feb 03, 2015 at 10:33 am

Serious, how many councils, organization because of just the Automotive industry and yet, the production of the car is mainly for the locals and not export to help the country. With RM down, its good time for export “provided your product is acceptable”. We have nothig acceptable except Petrol…due to policies that do not encourage EVERY RAKYAT productivity but cronies only activities in the country.
    What a waste of time and resources for this BS katak.
    Have a council to discuss how to create competitive car EXPORT to other country please.

• C.P.MOHAN on Feb 03, 2015 at 12:38 pm

When you need to establish a Council after umpenteen years later, it says “BANKRUPT OF IDEAS”.

• CyberPatrol on Feb 04, 2015 at 12:07 am

If the discussion were based on ASIAN hub for EEV and EV. Let us read and hear what your goals for ASIAN hud
    for EEV and EV can do better than Thai/Indonesian counterparts.

Bear in mind (Thai/Indonesian) already manufacturing EEV and maybe Nissan’s EV soon by Thai’s. I give Datuk a benefit of doubt to make that change to happen. Clock ticking…coming to edge of cliff and we do not have luxury of time.