VIDEO: Interview with CEO Abdul Harith Abdullah – “Customer deliveries for the Proton Iriz to begin in October; competes against the Jazz and Polo”

Following the launch of the new Proton Iriz, paultan.org was given the exclusive opportunity to sit down with Proton’s CEO, Datuk Abdul Harith Abdullah, and discuss about the new car’s targets for the company as well as the future in which Proton is headed towards.

Abdul Harith himself has admitted that Proton has been slow with the development of its new models lately and is aiming for the Iriz to turn this around. He cites the ‘younger’ generation was a key target market for the car and is optimistic about capturing the majority of buyers from said demographic.

For those who have placed their orders or are interested in doing so, Abdul Harith mentions that full production is scheduled to commence at the Tanjung Malim plant in October with customers receiving their new cars not long after.

In the meantime, check out our launch story for full details of the car or head over to our Youtube channel for more exclusive interviews and videos on the new Iriz.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• TooSurprised! on Sep 26, 2014 at 12:35 pm

Jazz? lose hands down in terms of boot space, and engine noise. But win in terms of power and definitely better handling.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Bye Proton on Sep 26, 2014 at 1:26 pm

Remove the car tax first, then see who still buy Iriz.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 3
      • Allen on Sep 26, 2014 at 1:38 pm

By then, Jazz might cost 50k while Iriz for 30k, why not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 39
        • Urzu3 on Sep 26, 2014 at 2:31 pm

what r u bluffing about..?

proton iriz in langkawi/labuan only priced RM3000-RM4000 cheaper than mainland.

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 2:49 pm

Idiot.

Excise duties don’t on National cars.

How old are you kid? Go back to school.

• Vader (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 1:43 pm

The turbo engine definitely will have higher torque, but look on the fuel consumption on CVT gearbox, the Iriz is 13km/l+ and the Jazz is around 18km/l, that is a huge different!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
      • KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 26, 2014 at 3:25 pm

Axia > ALL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
    • Acrix on Sep 26, 2014 at 2:14 pm

Iriz has more torque at 150nm for 1.6L engine compared to 145 for Jazz. However it does lose out in terms of HP at 107 vs 120 on Jazz.

Another thing to consider is the weight. Kerb weight of Iris is 1185kg vs 1088kg for the highest spec models. That’s almost 100kg difference.
      Probably thats why the FC is almost 18km/L for Jazz compared to 13.5km/L on Iriz.

Iriz might win on the handling department but let’s wait for the review to come out on that.

• Protonalwaysproton on Sep 27, 2014 at 10:16 pm

I have the new Jazz and just for the sake of it I tested the iriz and I found the car sluggish. Both 1.3 and 1.6 liters are bad. And I’m 5’10” and at my driver height there’s almost little space at the back. Previous comments claim the boot is bigger than Jazz but the Jazz has 400 liters. End of conversation. The engines for the iriz are very unrefined and the throttle lag is ridiculous. Proton seems to have no idea on how to map throttles. Wanna compete. The day they really up their game and compete fairly and start taking constructive criticisms. Unlike some fans here who act so defensive over a bullshit product.

• Same L0rrr on Sep 26, 2014 at 12:37 pm

Datuk himself is not confident, check up the video and his expression. lol…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 5
    • Motorhead (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 1:25 pm

Before. . Boasted 17,000 bookings.. October?
      Eh org x marah ke??

Mmg x mrh.. sbb mmg xde org order. .

Hahaha. .

…”This also implies that Proton will not be able to export the Iriz to many developed markets unless it produces an engine that meets Euro-6 emission standard.

The short-term solution would be for Proton to source the engine from other manufacturers.
      “To develop an engine, it usually takes four to five years. We cannot wait so it is better for us to acquire it from other party,” said Tun Dr. Mahathir….”

TADA ENJIN.. KITA BELI ENJIN. ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 6
    • DonkeyKong on Sep 26, 2014 at 6:51 pm

The datuk is just wagging his leg around like a schoolboy who’s nervous when asked to answer a question on the blackboard by the teacher.

I went to see the Iriz yesterday after it was launched. The interior quality has improved by a lot. Comparing it with the Preve that was also in the Proton showroom, the Preve feels positively crappy. Even my colleague said “Preve? A global car? It’s almost an embarrassment. The air-cond controls on the Preve is a joke, and the steering wheel feels cheap, the plastics are no different than that on the Exora and Saga. But the Iriz? It should stand a chance against the other players”.

That’s pretty true. The Iriz’ steering wheel feels good. The door trim feels good. The dashboard material feels similar to that on the Vios, right down to the fine-grained plastic features like the fake stitching. The leather seats on the premium version is really good. Comparing it to the Myvi, it’s far superior in terms of looks, and the interior’s build quality is similarly excellent.

But the Proton showroom was admittedly quite empty. It wasn’t as packed as the Perodua showroom nearby that still had people checking out the Axia.. which is a pity, because the Iriz is quite well built. But then again, many people will consider the Axia to be far better than the Viva in terms of fit and finish, spaciousness, build quality, etc. but at very reasonable prices. Perhaps many who are looking for a compact car have already chosen an Axia. The Axia feels like it has more headroom and legroom than the Iriz, but it is narrower and the doors, dashboards, etc. do not feel as good as those on the Iriz.

As a daily driver car for highway commuting, the Iriz is a clearly better option. But for short commute and town driving, I believe the Axia gives the best bang for your buck at present.

• Albert Lee on Sep 26, 2014 at 9:43 pm

Same Lorr,you are 1000percent correct….correct…correct(Lingam style).
      How can they be confident when deep down,they know the “hidden and unrevealed and potential” flaws?
      Proton salemen so stuck up,they don’t even layan us at their launching yeasterday.They thought they have conquered Everest,when actually they are just at struggling to climb Gasing Hill.
      But you and I walk tall,work hard,drive Toyotas and have no perlindungan stigma.

• iskhalifah (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 12:54 pm

Datuk Abdul Harith is so excited that his left leg always moving. hehe..

An important question that Sze missed. How to export the Iriz to Europe in the near term (1-2 years) when the engine is only Euro-4 compliant while the EU requires Euro-6? Any likely Honda VTECs going to be used considering that they are engaged in current JV?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
  • peyno (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 1:09 pm

more n more p2 salesman will be here and give comment
    coz now… they are very free… nobody wanna visit p2 showroom… we can see lonely p2 salesman seating inside aziah
    most of customers come to p2 showroom to cancel the booking
    wherelse p1 salesman soo bz now n dont hv time to
    be here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 52
    • Motorhead (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 1:28 pm

Eh?? Suddenly your Datuk Harit silence on 17K orders? ?

Boast la lagi.. should be 18K… or still 17K??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
    • Vader (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 1:45 pm

May you share where is the source to stated that Iriz hit 17k++ sales?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 25
  • alfie on Sep 26, 2014 at 1:11 pm

From the day Proton open factory until now,Proton ALWAYS claiming to make the BEST car in the world. Cakap besar tapi sale tak sampai 150k unit satu tahun.

If Mahathir can admit that his opinion of Anwar Ibrahim was wrong,what makes you think that his opinion of the Iriz we can pakai!!!!

Somemore now he is the chairman of Proton surely his opinion is BIASED!!!

Only fools still believe in Proton promises!
    As Mr T of the ‘A Team’ will say “I pity fool”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 9
  • unforgiven on Sep 26, 2014 at 1:25 pm

What’s compete? Do we have the knowledge or education? Compete without protectionism in a global world please, we need educated ppl please, not jaguh kampung please!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
  • Sounds very ambitious at first glance.. But when comparing both cars, yeah, this car can compete with the underspec, bare & pricey 1.6 VW polo & probably entry spec jazz. Kinda insulting when myvi is not even mentioned in the same sentence.. Haaha

Ps- i think the crew should remind datuk not to shake his legs too much~ Like how PA to my boss constantly remind him not to rub his nose so much when speaking.

• Paul Cheah Yuh Yuan on Sep 26, 2014 at 3:33 pm

Compete against Jazz and Polo? You are having a laugh.

Jazz and Polo will destroy Iriz ANYTIME of the day.

• Truth Hurts on Sep 26, 2014 at 4:19 pm

Proton Iriz 1.6L Premium CVT price at Langkawi: RM58,268.00

Honda Jazz price at Langkawi: ?

VW Polo price at Langkawi: ?

So, mana satu macai Peyno mau beli??

• whats with datuk shaking his legs all the time during the video ? Doesn’t look professional at all

• wayangkulit on Sep 26, 2014 at 10:00 pm

Thats why people loose faith in companies like Proton and its product.
      And alot of people who are blind accuse them of being a Proton basher.
      How can people have faith in them when the people who suppose to represents the company appears unprofessional
      While those who are professional and capable gets pulled down.

• boy d on Sep 26, 2014 at 10:43 pm

Datuk ceo. You dont look convinced on your own product. How ppl gonna buy? Now u put so many features in iriz… 6 airbag.. esc .. etc. I am more scared to buy iriz now because simple things also cannot get right, what about the complicated ones?

• Looking at export?.. dont la.. fix your fuel consumption 1st la.. Iriz 13.5km per liter with CVT? even Mazda3 2.0 6speed torque converter can do better with real driving 14km per liter n Honda City CVT 15km per liter.. checkout paultan video..

with Iriz published 13.5km per liter, I think real life driving would around 10km per liter @@…

international models like Jazz Yaris Fiesta will definately be more frugal, well spec n price is cheaper globally due to economy of scale..

which angmo wan to buy proton?

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 27, 2014 at 8:52 am

Mazda’s 6-speeder is quite advanced, though. The torque converter locks up right at 8km/h and really becomes just like a manual clutch’s 1:1 power transfer, so most of the time, it’s a really efficient machine. Don’t know much else about Honda’s torque converter CVT.

10km/l for the Iriz in real world driving conditions sounds realistic, based on my experience with NEDC combined cycle rated vehicles.

• Car was not even available for sake abd 17k booking? I went to few proton showrooms after launch and they were all empty salesman told me no one even come and ask about the iriz. Where the hell 17k come from? Another BS by proton marketing and sales departments? Just to give false reports to their bosses so their jobs at e securd…

• Wait till you read that one person can get Axia fast and one person has to wait until months!

Isn’t that fishy?

• kzm (Member) on Sep 27, 2014 at 10:37 am

customer dont go show room..they use betulbetulonz website n use the form there..

• steven on Sep 27, 2014 at 11:18 am

lagi problem. lagi best…

• stranger on Sep 27, 2014 at 7:29 pm

Compete against Jazz and Polo?
    Let alone the price, whatever taxed or not for all cars’ brands.
    Let alone what 5 star ASEAN NCAP (i think all cars should have this)

hate it or like it, Proton has never been in the game

• paulz on Sep 29, 2014 at 3:30 pm

“Customer deliveries for the Proton Iriz to begin in October; competes against the Jazz and Polo”

U must kidding me. I wanna know who is paying press to write the motor headlines here.

BTW, VW Polo has just bagged another World Rally Championship constructor title in Australia Rally this month.