GALLERY: Hyundai Genesis 3.8 GDI V6 in Malaysia

Genesis_Ext_04

The second-generation Hyundai Genesis – first previewed in Malaysia last August – was put on display at the recent Hyundai Experience Car Fest 2014 (both in Kuala Lumpur and Johor Bahru). We took the chance to photograph the near-five metre-long sedan in detail, both inside and out.

This particular left-hand drive example has a 3.8 litre V6 GDI engine that develops 315 PS at 6,000 rpm and 397 Nm of torque at 5,000 rpm. The direct injection mill is paired to an eight-speed automatic transmission. This is the largest of three V6 GDI engines available for the Genesis (others being 3.0 and 3.3 litre units).

If it looks massive, that’s because it is. The rear-wheel drive Genesis measures in at 4,990 mm long, 1,890 mm wide and 1,480 mm tall. Its long 3,010 mm wheelbase sits squarely in between that of the Mercedes-Benz E-Class (2,874 mm) and long-wheelbase S-Class (3,165 mm). Just to compare, the D-segment Hyundai Sonata has a 2,795 mm wheelbase.

Genesis_Ext_24

And doesn’t it look good? The Genesis adopts Hyundai’s new ‘Fluidic Sculpture 2.0’ design philosophy, pairing a single-frame hexagonal grille up front with a complex, sculptural rear end. There isn’t a single Hyundai logo on it, as it wears its own ‘Genesis’ crest both inside and out.

The spec sheet provided by Hyundai-Sime Darby (in the gallery below) lists 18-inch wheels, Electronic Control Suspension, Smart Cruise Control, xenon headlamps, keyless entry and a panoramic roof. Also included are Around View Monitor, Smart Park Assist System, tyre pressure monitoring system, head-up display and a 14-speaker Lexicon sound system.

On the safety front, the Hyundai Genesis boasts electronic stability programme, Advanced Traction Cornering Control, Pre-safety Belt, blind-spot detection and nine airbags (including rear side bags). Just recently, it achieved the highest score in ANCAP’s 21-year history (36.88 points out of a possible 37), along with a maximum five-star crash safety rating.

Having displayed it numerous times in Malaysia, it’s pretty much a given that Hyundai-Sime Darby plans to bring this flagship model here. When, and more importantly, how much? You’ll know more when we do.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Happen to come across the car on the road in Glenmarie. Quite a looker.. I think it was driven together with a BMW 5 series, may for comparison sake.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • policeman on Oct 25, 2014 at 7:24 am

What!!! A CHICKEN make a comparison to PHOENIX.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 35
      • Rokuth on Oct 25, 2014 at 4:31 pm

That’s okay, because they both still taste like chicken…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
        • Flag Sheep on Dec 03, 2014 at 9:36 am

Flag ship Hyundai but no Idrive ?

only a fake looking Idrive to control volume ?… WTF right

• policeman on Oct 25, 2014 at 5:02 pm

Wooo. Somebody is trying to be a fake me.

Your grammar is off.

• karam singh on Oct 24, 2014 at 6:41 pm

im not sure what , but this car lack of something ..
    3.8litre to compete with less displacement with turbocharge engine from the Germans are difficult in Malaysia.
    does not that luxury, but thumbs up for best safety rating,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
    • Cricket on Oct 24, 2014 at 6:45 pm

yeah its doesnt look luxury at all
      its design look lame compared to others in its class,
      good safety though

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 27
      • the ‘communist’ interior design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 20
      • policeman on Oct 24, 2014 at 10:54 pm

“yeah its doesnt look luxury at all”

If you can’t say it right in English, why not use a language you’re familiar with?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 36
    • yup, this is built more to cater the north american market…europe & the rest of the world, hyundai main staple are the lower cc force induction diesels TDIs (or in hyundai languange CRDi) …

• Rokuth on Oct 25, 2014 at 4:38 pm

The Hyundai USA website shows two engines for the US market, the 3.8l V6 and a 5.0l V8.

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 24, 2014 at 7:01 pm

That spec sheet better stay the same when the car is launched here! I wonder if the xenon lights are adaptive and the price…hmm uber size car at BMW 320i price? Sign me up!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 24, 2014 at 10:21 pm

320i price? have to be realistic….it would more likely be 328i price

• shawal on Oct 24, 2014 at 7:22 pm

just plonk in the 2.2 CDRI with 440nm of twist….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • rambo-tan on Oct 24, 2014 at 8:37 pm

withi this beast…definitely have to pay un-subsidized petrol price at the petrol station come Jun-2015…and hefty road tax…still a hyundai anyway…

• but its best safety car said 21yrs ANCAP..

even Volvo cannot fight this level of safety/rating..
      sure u hit this car using your conti Volvo/BM/MErc or etc beware and dont simply BANG this hyundai..
      sure ur conti will be crushed…

congrats hyundai for best safety ratings in history..

• tokmoh (Member) on Oct 26, 2014 at 2:56 pm

How dare you persoal Volvo’s safety. Volvo crushed? Don’t insult Volvo with tin milo like P2!

Wait new XC90 ANCAP test, then we’ll see who’s the true ANCAP’s safest car. The Moose will CRUSH your kimchi junk.

• drrif on Oct 24, 2014 at 8:40 pm

Looks like a Teana fused with the current Sonata, not a good marriage

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
  • sudonano (Member) on Oct 24, 2014 at 8:44 pm

Just can’t look past the sloppy number plate holder, but, I’d say a pretty fine car.

Only thing is Hyundai Sime Darby must be able to support and have good aftersales for it. At time of writing, I don’t think they do, based on recent experience.

• rifle on Oct 24, 2014 at 8:53 pm

one of my fav luxury car..nice!bring it to msia please!!!

• Porsche guy on Oct 24, 2014 at 9:36 pm

Tested this car last week in Singapore’s komoco?komodo?… More korean than continental , the screen , alarm all can be customized like samsung handphone…somehow this make it less luxurious…the engine is smooth but somehow the gearbox a little bit flimsy, maybe i expected too much…

• Jimmy on Oct 24, 2014 at 9:42 pm

Nothing stands out. At least put big ‘3.8L V6’ at the rear to show off. Panoramic roof is a plus point. That’s exterior
    Put in ottoman seats at front passenger and rear passenger seats, LED monitor behind front headrests, as selling point.
    Make sure the ride/handling/comfort/refinement are all up to standard in luxury market. Test drive unit must be perfect, check it weekly. People will buy S-class without test drive, but not a Genesis.
    Lexus has 10 airbags, so this new brand cannot have only 9. Also, whatever an E-class has, Genesis must have. What about front collision mitigation system?
    Brand not famous. Needs famous people to really drive this Genesis and make publicity on that.
    3S or 4S must be really good, don’t learn from VW, start very well from the very first day.
    Price wise, cannot exceed a CX-9, I guess, if fully loaded as what I mentioned plus what are already mentioned above. I guess a CX-9 is viewed as luxurious as a new brand called Genesis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • Jimmy on Oct 24, 2014 at 9:46 pm

Oh, forgot to mention:
    does anybody see any Phillipe or names like that?

• heybadigol (Member) on Oct 24, 2014 at 9:50 pm

I very much like it. If priced right (should be around a 5 Series pricing which starts at RM370 or perhaps slightly less), could sell a few here (not many). But I doubt it will make a dent on the German car sales in terms of individual buyers. Malaysians with that kind of money only have eyes for the Germans. And the rare few might opt for a Lexus. Maybe corporate purchase would be more viable, perhaps for limo/airport taxis or used by hotels.

The outside design is really handsome. The extra long hood, rear cabin bias and swooping rear end gives it a modern elegant look. No weird lines or curves. Dashboard is minimalist. Not ugly, but not exciting either – safe like a BMW interior. Can’t match Mercedes for elegance or even Lexus’ plush interiors. Guess they have to cut cost somewhere, in order to cut the selling price. Cos it will most probably be marketed as a value for money luxury purchase. But the matte wood grain looks really cool.

Bit surprised they didnt put an option for the 2.0 litre petrol turbo which is already used by the Sonata. Though that is a FWD engine. Might need a bit of re-engineering to change it from east-west config to a north-south one.

Though the Germans are all into downsizing using turbos, which translates to loads of power/torque, which is good for enviroment and fuel efficiency. They aren’t quite as creamy smooth or sound as good as a proper large capacity (2.5 litres and above) V6, and inline 6 motors (not to mention V8s with their deep burble). This is one area, the 3.8 (or even the 3.0) V6 might beat the Germans at. Except for the higher end Germans, which use 3.0 turbos.

• thgh (Member) on Oct 24, 2014 at 9:52 pm

Pretty promising, consider it received a lot praises from foreign review sites.

The engine choice though, will be something that affects the sale badly.

Fuel consumption and roadtax plays an important role for Malaysian.

• Yours Faithfully (Member) on Oct 24, 2014 at 10:05 pm

No need bring this in. … bring on the hyundai grandeur. … that looks better and more suitable for the Malaysian market.

• Abu Sayur on Oct 24, 2014 at 10:10 pm

Hope this car those not break down half way and explode

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
    • Low Budget on Oct 25, 2014 at 10:24 am

Me think your ‘hope’ is quite hopeless.
      This car has a remote chance to explode in Iraq, Afghanistan or Syria, but hey! They much prefer to explode the Proton there because Proton is cheap and good for that purpose.

• mamamia on Oct 24, 2014 at 10:12 pm

please explain to me why that genesis didn’t use “hyundai” logo?why it use “genesis”?why???

• Josh Ling on Oct 25, 2014 at 12:11 am

easy. hyundai doesn’t speak “high-end luxury”. just like toyota and lexus, nissan and infinity, honda and acura.

• u are wrong, hyundai luxury brand is called Equus

• Pororo on Oct 26, 2014 at 4:22 pm

Lala… You also wrong.. There is no luxury brand made by Hyundai like Lexus from Toyota and Infiniti from Nissan… Equus is another luxury model car, above Genesis by Hyundai… Equus is to compete the S Class and 7 Series while Genesis is to compete E Class and 5 Series.. do make a proper research before posting…

• kadajawi (Member) on Oct 25, 2014 at 3:35 am

Same reason why Toyota created Lexus and Nissan created Infiniti…

• Low Budget on Oct 25, 2014 at 10:25 am

Upmarket mah. Just like the Lexus and Infinity

• Genesis Sumpah DAEBAK! on Oct 24, 2014 at 11:42 pm

I went to South Korea last 2 weeks with my friends.. I saw a lot this beautiful “E-Class” of Korea are cruising otr in Seoul together with Hyundai Equus, Kia K9 and Hyundai Avante (known as Elantra in our market) and Germans car… and yeah, the Hyundai Sonata (the YF (2009) and LF (2015)) and Kia Optima K5, that known as “luxury car” in our market; fyi, these cars are only taxi in Korea.. so, whoever drive Sonata and K5 here, don’t feel so kerek sangat like you guys driving Mercedes or BMW…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 13
    • Low Budget on Oct 25, 2014 at 10:27 am

Ai Yah, those Merz and BMW we see day in and day out in Malaysia are also bread and butter car in Germany too.

• Rokuth on Oct 25, 2014 at 4:45 pm

Okay, I’m showing my age here, but I remember back in the 60s’ and 70s’ the most popular taxis were Mercedes Benz diesels… The main reason was that they were reliable and durable… Says a lot if they are using Hyundais and Kias as taxis…

• Josh Ling on Oct 25, 2014 at 12:23 am

not a fan of the rear design, and definitely not a fan of the beige interior. sorry, if i had any appetite for this car, i would have lost all of it the moment i see the cabin. wanna fight an E-Class, 5 Series, A6 or even LS? you have to try harder, hyundai!

• Aero (Member) on Oct 25, 2014 at 1:05 am

Sad to say, the Genesis will have an uphill battle when it arrives here. Some people will never get over the fact that it’s a Hyundai…. and I can’t blame them. People still make fun of Lexus cars being merely upgraded Toyotas. Infiniti is hardly as successful as Lexus, and Acura is pretty much U.S. only.

Hyundai will have to continue ‘fighting’ until the younger Gen-Y generation grows up ? Why Gen-Y ? Because it is this generation that has been been exposed most to the Korean wave, which makes up everything from TV shows to music. This is the generation which has come to accept Korean made products as equals to the Western ones. They weren’t exposed to a time when Korean car were terrible. In short, Gen Y has far more respect for Korean cars than their parents or even grandparents do. But because Gen Y is still young ( 15 – 30 years old ), they will likely have to wait another decade or two to be able to afford a new luxury car… and chances are, they wouldn’t mind choosing a premium Hyundai over a Lexus or even the German trio.

I admire Hyundai’s extreme efforts in their self transformation. It is amazing how far they’ve come since their horrid 1990s crap on wheels, to among the best and most successful cars in the world today. If I was a Korean, I would be so proud of them ! …. But I’m not, I’m a proud Malaysian, and I will support our Proton with hopes that one day, Proton too can stand tall and proud among the world’s prestigious car companies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • EnergyAnalyst on Oct 25, 2014 at 2:19 pm

Without Malaysian TV drama being popularized and local hand phone brand having the kind of success like Samsung worldwide. If it will take just a couple of decades for the young gen to accept Premium Korean car, how long would it take A Malaysian car to be accepted worldwide I wonder . centuries?

• People here still prefer japanese cars
      remind me few years ago people still says nokia was best compare samsung
      Time to move on
      Anw Japanese cars or Korean car in their country is cheap and nice
      Unlike in Malaysia so expensive and lower spec
      For example there are cars called Equus, genesis, grandeur, and one more car just below gradeur. They are above sonata class
      Sonata in Korea is sth like Myvi that everyone can drive it cost not even 70k in korea. Elantra cost around 40k in Korea which is same like myvi price in Malaysia.
      They said want to protect local brand car that is why import cars r expensive but look how about myvi isnt it so overrated? Proton is also so expensive for that standard

• Reginashwartz on Oct 25, 2014 at 3:28 am

Interesting – if it’s going to be priced like the C-Class as the Facebook posting suggested, then this car will be within range of the Lexus ES250.

I wonder which will prevail – a precision Japanese masterpiece or a luxury barge.

• kadajawi (Member) on Oct 25, 2014 at 3:34 am

The ideal VIP car. Luxurious, very safe, but not too flashy, so you’re not so likely to fall victim to robbery, theft, kidnapping, …

• Keris Jawa on Oct 25, 2014 at 7:10 am

Sime Darby + Hyundai = a combo I will avoid for personal reasons. But ish ish ish… Tak malu ka pakai logo nak dekat sama dgn Aston Martin. Just like anything else Koreans, the car is preposterous and ostentatious.

• alamak..why la front plate senget???no media consultant ke?promoting top of line car requires detail.showing exclusivity and class.showing this is THE CAR.but well maybe just me but that was the first thing I saw.I’m not OCD by the way.just meticulous. good design,good sub branding and logo,have seen it in person.heard the price at 250k.but 3.8?c’mon Hyundai.make it 1.8/2.0 turbocharged or supercharged.
    p/s:still waiting for accordana.have bought 1M4U plate already.2016 is it?

• mohdali on Oct 25, 2014 at 10:36 am

Why are we still following the UK driving on the left side? Most cars are designed for left hand drive (drive on the right side). We should change to the right side like in Germany, Korea and USA. It will cost billions of ringgit but it is worth the price.

• TheDean on Oct 25, 2014 at 10:56 am

Mmmm, fhe nameplate bearing ‘Genesis’ at the front is not screwed right (bengkok). Seriously malu lah…..

• Sam Looser on Oct 25, 2014 at 11:15 am

This Genesis gonna bury Lexus ES alive.

• not luxury at all

• Front looks like a mix of Merc (headlights) and Audi (grill). Rear lights like Elantra. In metal it may all look ok though. All the best to Hyundai anyway.

• EnergyAnalyst on Oct 25, 2014 at 2:23 pm

LOL at this
    http://s1.paultan.org/image/2014/10/Genesis_Int_41.jpg

• good job. At least they able to build their own luxury car.
    Unlike Malaysia, so many years only able to “build” an Accordana….Haix….
    Opps…did i say build? is rebadge. sorry.

• Outalingam on Dec 05, 2014 at 9:52 pm

Well-said! Re-badging of a DATED/OBSOLETE car mobel should NEVER the final answer for our own car design solutions….Proton (or even Perodua or Nazaworld) can even start to fling local car design doors open by ORGANIZING car design competitions (by category, of course) AS SOON AS POSSIBLE….would that be the fairest possible answer?

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Oct 26, 2014 at 10:12 am

This one will not even fetch 25% of its purchase value after 1 year

• Pororo on Oct 26, 2014 at 4:31 pm

Bring Hyundai Grandeur first lah before bring this Genesis and then we can talk to bring Genesis or not… i30 and i40 pn hardly seen otr, apatah lagi kalau Genesis ni kalau di jual kat Malaysia because the mentality of the rakyat still like Sam Loo with his shitty RV, harga yang tak masuk akal and because of the Brand name called Hyundai.. if it name Honda Genesis or Toyota Genesis, sure the rakyat will come to the showroom and buy it like there is no tomorrow…

• Outalingam on Dec 05, 2014 at 9:48 pm

Now, now, this all-new beast should never at all be mentioned as a mere Mazda 6 copycat, because it never has curves leading towards the front fender of the car…Would Sam Loo still want to keep THUMPING on Kimchi cars any further, thinking that his KEMLI value is still the KING in Malaysia? I think I’d watch from the sidelines and see how Malaysians are bracing for some wind of change in Asian luxury car choices….. :D :D :P :P

• Haha, very funny. Most of the German cars are manufacturing in China for Asia market. Jap cars are manufacturing in Thailand but not Korean cars