New Ford Mondeo, Everest SUV and Mustang 2.3 EcoBoost/5.0 V8 confirmed for Malaysia in 2015

Ford-Mondeo-5-Door-01

It’s going to be an exciting 2015 for Ford in Malaysia. The brand, together with local partner Sime Darby Auto Connexion, announced that the new Mondeo, just-unveiled Everest SUV and Mustang will be launched in Malaysia next year. This was disclosed at a media group interview attended by FoMoCo’s Asia Pacific group VP and president David Schoch this afternoon.

The Mk5 Mondeo, which will go on sale in the UK late this year, already exists as the Ford Fusion in North America. It will replace the third-gen D-segment sedan that first arrived here in November 2009.

UK, the biggest right-hand drive market for the Mondeo, is set to get a new 1.5 litre four-cylinder EcoBoost engine, a 1.0 litre three-pot EcoBoost and a new twin-turbo 2.0 TDCi diesel unit, among other engines, as well as an upmarket Vignale variant. Expect the European CBU import here in the first half of 2015.

Ford Everest 01

The production 2015 Ford Everest was just unveiled last week in China. Staying true to the macho concept that we saw in Bangkok earlier this year, the seven-seater SUV is based on Ranger T6 underpinnings, although it sports a unique face and interior this time around.

The Australian-designed/developed SUV will be available in both rear-wheel drive and 4WD configurations, the latter featuring a Terrain Management System (TMS) with four distinct programmed settings (normal, sand, snow and rocky terrain).

In terms of drivetrains, the familiar four-cylinder 2.2L and five-cylinder 3.2L TDCi turbodiesels are set to feature, but there will also be a 2.0L EcoBoost petrol option. Not sure if the latter will be suitable for (and available in) ASEAN, which will get the Everest from regional production hub Thailand.

2015 Mustang Media Drive in L.A.

Lastly, the new Ford Mustang will make its Malaysian debut in the final quarter of 2015, after right-hand drive production starts in the second half of the year. We first heard of the S550 coming to Malaysia in 2016, so perhaps Ford wants to end the year on a high note.

The muscle car, which will make the long journey from Ford’s Flat Rock Assembly Plant in Michigan USA, will be available here in both 2.3 Ecoboost and 5.0 V8 forms, it has been confirmed. Prefer the wind in your face? The convertible is set for our shores, too. This is the first time in 50 years that the famous pony car will be available in RHD form, and officially in our country. Thank you very much, One Ford.

So there you go, handsome new Mondeo in the first half of 2015, rugged Everest after that, and Mustang to end the year with a bang.

New Ford Mondeo

New Ford Everest

2015 Ford Mustang

Learn more: ,

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• dodgeviper88 on Nov 18, 2014 at 4:16 pm

An exciting year expecially for the mustang 2.3 ecoboost. Just price it right and you’ll have a winner in your hands. Hopefully below RM200k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
    • Chris (Member) on Nov 18, 2014 at 4:31 pm

Last “guestimate” from prices in USA and our import duty says probably 190-200k. But that’s the LHD version, no idea if there’s any variation in cost, and also not including any shipping fees… or markup..

Not holding my breath though…

• Thanks to Ford for the car but no thanks to Proton for the price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
    • thgh (Member) on Nov 18, 2014 at 4:36 pm

that won’t be possible, around 200-250k i would say.

• Must a Mustang on Nov 19, 2014 at 9:14 am

Mustang is selling USD 25-35K in US.
        that’s V8 variant..

See how much it sell in BOLEH LAND.
        4 cylinders…. more expensive than V8!!

• AbsolutKev86 on Nov 21, 2014 at 2:29 pm

here in UAE it was jus lauched at around RM150k. im guessing atleast 300k in Msia.

• weeee on Nov 18, 2014 at 4:53 pm

As much as I love to agree with you I don’t think the EcoBoost is gonna be below 200k. Even the cheapest V6 model is more expensive than a Mondeo (Fusion)

• Legend (Member) on Nov 18, 2014 at 4:20 pm

i will take Mustang 2.3 EcoBoost!Hope that Sime Darby will price it right, price it wise!
    If you price it right and wise, you will rules the same segment market with the Mustang!

• Anti-Establishment on Nov 18, 2014 at 4:32 pm

For a halo model, the right price in the eyes of the carmaker would bring maximum profit so expect a RM200K – RM300K price tag.

• heybadigol (Member) on Nov 18, 2014 at 4:36 pm

Wah, Mustang coming here. I want one in dark green, so can drive like Bullit. It may not be the same Mustang that the King of Cool raced himself around San Francisco, but its got similar fastback looks.

• Dafuq on Nov 18, 2014 at 4:37 pm

New Mondeo looks so much prettier than the outgoing one… Big LIKE for the designer.

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 18, 2014 at 4:37 pm

Nice…but since its not a sedan, I expect it to be heavily taxed like the Toyota 86 and that car with a puny 2.0l NA engine already retails for RM244k I bet this will cost close to RM300k.

As for the Everest…if the Kuga price is about RM156k then I think we’re looking at around RM180k++ for a decent spec model, if not more.

• Baja Lapis Seng on Nov 18, 2014 at 4:42 pm

In Ford we trust.

SDAC however…..hope they don’t ruin Ford reputation any further.

• What’s the a ‘wise’ price? I think below 300k is more realistic, perhaps similar to a STi or Golf R pricing range…

• spongewai on Nov 18, 2014 at 5:08 pm

what bout Ford Edge??!

• What? No Sex-Max?

• Probably the 2.3 mustang will be price in between 400-450k. I don’t think it will be cheaper than the BMW428i

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
  • I’m almost drop my tears for this news.
    Mustang, you are coming to me!!!

• Last time buy focus can get LG photo printer, so now buy everest can get LG refrigerator?

• Yes Mustang will be hitting our shores. Miss it when in the US! Great car with great sound!

• waters on Nov 18, 2014 at 6:27 pm

All well and good, but will you trust the monkeys at SDAC to maintain and fix problems? Pfffftttt!

• drMpower on Nov 18, 2014 at 7:14 pm

this promise of automotive openess under najib administration is the testimonial of his leadership. since we are all mature then we must thank him for making everyone have a taste of the mustang

yes sime darby brings it here but due to him making good on his promises to open up automotive industry then sime darby is willing to bring it over here. be easy on the tax, najib.

people are cheering for you. thank you najib

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 43
  • NurburgringDriver (Member) on Nov 18, 2014 at 7:29 pm

And the TMJ be like “oh no! People are gonna get the same cars as me now! Nevermind, can buy other cars”. Still, it doesn’t matter but FORD, PLEASE BRING IN THE MANUAL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • They need to address issue with Service Center first. Right now the waiting list is long and booking is required month ahead during peak season. Malaysian buyers are more confident to try other brands other that the standard T & H and Ford has to make it more convincing by putting up more service center and spare parts availability. Current Ford owners are sick with the SC..

I must say the upcoming 3 models are all strong in their own segment. Can’t wait to see them on our roads next year.

• gaviny on Nov 19, 2014 at 8:58 am

lol, now all ‘oohhh and ahhh’, when actually arrives, no one buys

• Must a Mustang on Nov 19, 2014 at 9:32 am

mustang is an eye catching car.
    V8 is the heritage symbol.

Most of the mustang will be seen in Malaysia will be ecoboost. V8 roadtax are killing!

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 19, 2014 at 10:48 am

UMW will have another 2 gunning for its Camry 2.5 and Fortuner.

If Ford prices them right, no one in the right mind will get the toyotas.

• truely malaysian on Nov 19, 2014 at 1:23 pm

Ford diesel turbo is not reliable, the Ford Ranger T6 I am driving has the turbo kit, turbo hose and inter-cooler changed within 2 years time! No more Ford for me!

• if mustang reach M’sia, Mitsubishi Evo can scrap in junk yard

• truely malaysian on Nov 19, 2014 at 4:48 pm

I am driving a Ford Ranger T6, the turbo, turbo hose and intercooler break down and had to be replaced in less than 2 years time! No more Ford for me!

• eryamrikhs on Dec 19, 2014 at 3:04 pm

FORD EVEREST 2015 NEW PRICE?
    PM PLEASE. FORD MONDEO 2015 2.0 ECO BOOST PRICE PLEASE.

• blaster88 on Jan 23, 2015 at 2:09 pm

New Mondeo..Great and beautiful car……..inflatable safety belt? UMW, you reading this? Camry is in SERIOUS trouble!!! Accord and even the smaller BMWs and Mercs should be worried.

Now…if only Ford would increase and fix their dealership and after sales service.

• Jackmahi on Feb 27, 2015 at 5:01 pm

RM288,888

• Haris Ford on Mar 07, 2015 at 11:47 am

Ford Mandeo price 203K confirmed