MRT Sg Buloh-Kajang Line – finalised station names

mrt-stesen

Mass Rapid Transit Corporation Sdn Bhd (MRT Corp) has revealed the finalised station names for the MRT Sungai Buloh-Kajang Line.

Approved by the Prime Minister himself, the finalised names were chosen based on several factors – including the locality of the stations – to cater to the situation where an area has more than one station and the need to reduce the similarity of names for different stations.

The earlier station names were provisional names which were determined prior to the public display of the MRT Sungai Buloh-Kajang Line railway scheme in 2012.

mrt-finalised-station-names

“After obtaining feedback from the public during the public display, the proposed alignment underwent some changes resulting in some station locations being changed. However, the original names were maintained, resulting in them having names which did not reflect their locality,” said strategic communications and public relations director Amir Mahmood Razak.

The above table shows the provisional and finalised station names of the MRT Sungai Buloh-Kajang Line. The names which appear against a grey background are those that have changed.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Roger Tan on Nov 26, 2014 at 6:15 pm

I think the name selections are quite good this round

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 0
    • Can Be Better on Nov 30, 2014 at 3:37 pm

I totally don’t agree with u. It can be much better.

1. Kampung Selamat – still kampung when malaysia aspires to be a develop country in a few years?
      2. Kwasa Sentral – will be confused with KL Sentral
      3. Kajang – definitely the most confusing with Bandar Kajang

Short and simple names like Surian, Semantan, Maluri, Sri Raya…so easy to call and remember!

• well.., I am not agree with you with no 1, why not keep it one name like that, its not about a develop country or whatsoever its about a name that show where is this country started from .., look at UK, japan..etc, I went there, and they still keep old name in advance country .. we are still develop country lol

• Worried netizen on Nov 26, 2014 at 6:18 pm

A Professional Engineer said our country will never be a develop country by 2020 which I agree. Not easy to get that title. Most important we have to improve on our current feeder bus service and punctuality of it. We could have even eliminated this huge budget for MRT project.

Now it seems they want to eliminate chinese & tamil school…..woi don’t worry about the standard of education of chinese and tamil school they are better of cause! See how can we improve standard of national schools :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 104
    • MoFaz (Member) on Nov 26, 2014 at 6:30 pm

no matter how good the bus service is, MRT has lots more advantage than bus; diesel price, pollution, safety, comfort, no traffic jam, and most importantly is the amount of passenger it can ferry per trip… hundreds vs about 60 passengers on bus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 4
      • No one must know on Nov 26, 2014 at 7:30 pm

Totally agree with that. I just hope George Town and JB build monorail to overcome massive traffic that slow the economic growth of the city.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
        • Yes! the feeder bus system must be properly managed to ferry passengers from their homes to the MRT station. No way walking is an option with our crime rates and what is the point if we still drive and park in the MRT station.

• kzm (Member) on Nov 28, 2014 at 6:43 pm

in front of house..better rite..just like school children waiting for their school bus…

• Anti-Establishment on Nov 27, 2014 at 10:06 am

You want improved punctuality for feeder buses that are sharing the same roads as personal vehicles, 90% of which are single occupancy.

Chicken and egg issue here. Until you cut down on the number of cars on the road, you’ll never be able to get the buses to run on schedule.

• MoFaz (Member) on Nov 26, 2014 at 6:21 pm

… and suddenly DBKL will change the stations name later.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 48
    • diesel on Nov 26, 2014 at 6:44 pm

Dung dung dungggg…
      Next station..station tunku abdul bla bla bla
      Stesen strusnya..stesen tunku abdul bla bla bla

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 28
    • Master Troll on Nov 26, 2014 at 7:15 pm

Are you serious? U acted like they change the name all the time. It was one time a few days back. after a long time at that. grow up man, seriously GROW UP!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 49
      • kenix tim mun chong on Nov 27, 2014 at 9:39 am

if proper procedure changing name is no problem.. asking public opinion 1st before action.. do dbkl did it? some more the road name changing are main road.. after associate with the name so long, how u expect ppl to adapt.. like your name, after u use it for 50 years ++, will you feel suddenly change the your own name from Master Troll to Ultimate Complete Droll Over Street??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
        • Anti-Establishment on Nov 27, 2014 at 10:15 am

Do you know where is Treacher Road? Dickson Street? Mountbatten Road? They’re better known now as Jalan Sultan Ismail, Jalan Masjid India & Jalan Tun Perak respectively.

So are you saying that Malaysians today are too dumb that they can’t adapt to a simple name change?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 11
  • carfan on Nov 26, 2014 at 6:47 pm

My only comment is
    1- Taman Cuepacs should be left as Taman Cuepacs
    and Taman Koperasi as Taman Koperasi
    2-Bandar Kajang and Kajang- maybe consider another name for Kajang.

• sri raya residents on Nov 26, 2014 at 7:55 pm

Boss…..point no1. I disgree with you because atcual location MRT buit that station at Tmn Sri Raya….that way need to change the name lah.
      for point no2…..I no issues about that.

• Pacifictuna on Nov 26, 2014 at 8:04 pm

i suppose taman CUEPACS, as we all know it, is actually called taman koperasi CUEPACS. if i’m not mistaken. i used to attend primary school there.

• hubby on Nov 26, 2014 at 10:21 pm

Taman cuepacs and taman koperasi cuepacs are two different taman. The station situated at taman koperasi cuepacs thats why i think the name was chosen imho

• Kwasa??? Me no understand.

Don’t quite agree with the KL Sentral being named as Muzium Negara though. Would have prefered KL Sentral since that is where it’s really at and it I/C there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • http://www.kwasaland.com.my/

Kwasa Land is developing the area there.

• TRANSIT on Nov 27, 2014 at 3:36 am

And here we were pleased that they weren’t naming stations after shopping malls & giving them free advertising.

• yeah and then give free advertising to a developer which is a kawan company

• TRANSIT on Nov 27, 2014 at 3:39 am

The station is located on the same side of the highway as Muzium Negara. It is not even located on the KL Sentral property.

Muzium Negara is the appropriate name.

• No one must know on Nov 26, 2014 at 7:24 pm

Thank god their change KL Sentral to Muzium Negara. Its more logic cause Muzium Negara is far closer than KL Sentral.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 26, 2014 at 8:20 pm

what is a kwasa though?

• No wonder house price in Sg Buloh nowadays like #*&%$. rm250k for a 20 years old single storey terrace house -.-“

• Low Budget on Nov 26, 2014 at 9:23 pm

Thank goodness, common sense prevail here, names that all Klang Valley folks can relate to. Now a days they like to give very very long names that people have hardtimes to remember.

• luckily not one of those superrrr long names…yet.

• kwasa = kwasa land sdn bhd – “KWASA LAND SDN BHD was established in 2010 as a wholly owned subsidiary of the Employees Provident Fund (EPF) to specially undertake the development of 2,330 acres of prime land located in the Klang Valley. The land formerly belongs to Lembaga Getah Malaysia (LGM), which will now be developed under a 15-year construction plan and under Kwasa Land Sdn Bhd.”

but it sounds weird kwasa…kwasa sama lu!

• Tak kisah la nama ape pun. Yg penting rakyat tolong la guna sebaik mungkin.

• its easy to forget that with all the hoohaa on the MRT that feeder bus services ferrying passengers from their homes to the MRT stations are getting little to no word at all. no way are we walking to the stations with our high crime rates and whats the point if we have to actually drive to the MRT station.

more planning should be done on intra-“taman” bus services with newer bus stops sending passengers to and fro to the MRT stations. with this we might even see less traffic congestion in major highways as a direct result of less cross city buses

• Manhattan on Nov 27, 2014 at 7:58 am

I’ve attended their public display sometimes ago. looks like they gonna have their own feeder bus services covering area of 3km radius from station. covered pedestrian walkway with anti-snatch fencing were provided within 200m radius.

Some stations in high density area have what they called Multi-Storey Park & Ride that enable people to park there and ride the MRT. not bad. imagine park your car at kajang, and can go buy stuff at ikea/ one utama/ pavillion or even go to kl sentral to take flight at KLIA. not bad.

• Sparcov on Nov 27, 2014 at 8:42 am

How big is the population is kampung selamat compare to kampung baru sg buloh ?

• Petrofsky77 (Member) on Nov 27, 2014 at 9:33 am

I have no idea what Kwasa meant too …

• Kampung Selamat? on Nov 27, 2014 at 10:58 am

Never heard of Kampung Selamat, is it some sort of squatter? It sounds like one.

• Sabri on Nov 27, 2014 at 2:48 pm

Imagine this scenario….im old man from outstation….my relative ask to embark at “kajang” station…..reach “bandar kajang”…….mungkin stesyen ni kot kena turun…..bingo wrong station.