Audi Q7 redefines aural pleasure with 3D audio tech

Faszinierend plastisch: Audi bringt den 3D-Klang ins Auto

The second-generation Audi Q7 is definitely not a car one would refer to as lacking in technology. To further redefine the genre, the new Q7 will debut what Audi calls a ‘3D’ sound system that will allow the listener to experience spatial height. Yours truly isn’t sure what it means, but it sounds epic.

Available on both the Bang & Olufsen Advanced Sound System and Bose Surround Sound options for the vehicle, the system is made possible via an algorithm that “calculates the control signals for each speaker swiftly and precisely.” Initially, the system dissects the data from the music source into spatial constituents.

Said algorithm then calculates and constructs a “mathematical model” of any recording studio, effectively turning the cabin into an almost exact replica of where the source music was recorded. As a result, the audio signal – be it mono, stereo or 5.1 surround sound – and format of the source music is rendered irrelevant.

Faszinierend plastisch: Audi bringt den 3D-Klang ins Auto

The data is then processed to match the sound pattern in the cabin as close as possible to the original recording studio. The Bang & Olufsen Advanced Sound System consists of a total of 23 speakers, together with a re-engineered subwoofer and a 1,920 watt amplifier.

Four speakers installed in the A-pillars with individual channels broadcast the portions that help generate the spatial height as part of the recording studio “recreation” process. In the Bose Surround Sound system, 20 speakers, along with an additional four, allow for the presence of the aforementioned 3D sound.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• ayooo on Dec 19, 2014 at 4:57 pm

still cannot beat ah beng shop mod. AH beng sound system coupled with club dance music will bleed your ears and give you cancer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
    • Q7 suspension so hard, ride is so rough like a pick up truck, what is the point of putting what 3D audio tech. Put all these in a Lexus RX is more appropriate, because Lexus RX is so luxury and comfort.

• Jimmy on Dec 19, 2014 at 5:30 pm

What is the purpose of a 7-seater high-ride Q7?
    Has it serve its purpose and fulfill the needs of its target customers? We are not aiming at A8 or S-class. We are buying exterior size in all dimensions and interior space for 7 persons, especially the precious 2nd roll passengers.
    And we hope you do not just concentrate or too concentrate on somethings not quite relevant. Mind you, there is a word ‘just’ here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • Sounds bombastic – but then when I read Bang & Olufsen and Bose; it will be an expensive option from Audi :) don’t think that they will make it standard across the Q7 range.

• Bevzer on Dec 19, 2014 at 7:22 pm

My ride has the premium sound system with 10 speakers, active integrated active subwoofer and 1,000+ watts amplifier. My family just ask me to turn the volume down. But when cruising alone the sound is awesome even the volume is just slightly higher.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 19, 2014 at 10:57 pm

still find the B&O system very overrated

• dodgeviper88 on Dec 20, 2014 at 12:34 am

Don’t think my house in total had 23 speakers let alone my car. I feel very poor now

• ropeb on Jan 05, 2015 at 4:28 pm

They include all these fancy tech + premium speakers but the software does not support lossless format audio files (FLAC/Apple Lossless/WAV). I am talking about the first gen Q7 with similar B&O speakers. Hope they fix this.