GALLERY: Ford Fiesta ST and Focus ST compared

Fiesta ST and Focus ST 1

You read about the B299 Ford Fiesta ST in our triple hot hatch comparison (against the Peugeot 208 GTi and Renault Clio RS 200 EDC) – while Dunton’s latest Sports Technology kid didn’t end up taking top honours in the test, it was actually a close run thing; in any case, the car won a Blue Riband of sorts – the six-man jury unequivocally voted the car as the most dynamic and exciting to drive.

Since it was in for the group test, we decided to do a quick round of photos with the Molten Orange mule, comparing it against its class-up sibling, the third-gen C346 Focus ST, a simple enough task given the availability of the latter – the pre-facelift Race Red example is mine. Nothing like a side-by-side to view the family DNA on call, and there are many visual similarities.

There’s the face, for one, and the spoilers on both share the same cut; moving inside, items like the scuff plate design, gearshift knob and alloy pedals show a distinct commonality. Elsewhere, the pronounced difference in how the Blue Oval sizes its B-segment and C-segment offerings is also strikingly evident.

Admittedly, the Fiesta ST we get – in what is a base ST-1 trim level with additions, virtually identical to what Australia gets in terms of specs – feels a bit bland on the inside. Save a few bits, there’s very little differentiation to a base Fiesta presentation-wise. The trim’s demure Silverstone grey/charcoal black fabric combination, monochrome and manual air-conditioning (seen on the pre-facelift Fiesta) doesn’t aid the cause.

Fiesta ST and Focus ST 8

The Focus ST, in this case uniquely-configured for our market (in ST-2 level trim, but with ST-3 HIDs – not on mine though! – and slightly different tail lamp configuration as well as rear parking distance sensors incorporated in the final mix) feels a bit more polished in presentation and material. Meanwhile, kit like the dash-mounted boost/oil temp/oil pressure gauge set may be a bit kiddy-trick, but hey, if you’re going to sport things up…

Some on-the road performance notes, which doesn’t veer far away from that gleaned from the duo on the handling course at the Ford Lara/You Yangs Proving Ground some time back. As it was in Melbourne, the Focus doesn’t feel quite as zippy or agile, its extra 120 Nm and 70 or so horses (250 PS, or 246 hp, to the Fiesta’s 180 PS, or 177 hp) largely negated by more bulk (1,362 kg to the the Fiesta ST’s 1,163 kg), but it is inherently more compliant and a more balanced offering, with a much more mature feel about it.

A couple of other observations – the clutch pedal on the Fiesta ST is lighter, but has a higher bite point. The shift action on the B6 six-speed ‘box is clean, though as mentioned in the shootout, the stick shift’s placement could be better – things can be a bit of a stretch, the only real niggle in the Fiesta’s contact point ergonomics. In this regard, the MMT6’s shifter position on the Focus is way ahead.

Finally, to the question, as posed by Danny during the drive. Would I pick a Fiesta ST over the Focus? As a driver’s car, it’s a vixen, and in many ways offers things the Focus can’t (from a driving dynamics viewpoint), but it’s a bit too plain elsewhere, and I’ve outgrown a three-door configuration, especially one in the B-segment. Besides, I’m already hitched, and I quite like the way the gal is shaping up with a growing set of mods, so that’s the end of that argument.

B299 Ford Fiesta ST

C346 Ford Focus ST

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Matrix on Dec 24, 2014 at 8:04 pm

Raced with focus ST at genting downhill.
    Can’t beat my city.

Poor cornering. Skip some more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 79
    • Matrix on Dec 24, 2014 at 8:04 pm

it’s slip some more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 41
    • Okaayyy... on Dec 24, 2014 at 9:27 pm

You wrote this comment from a hospital bed???

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 2
      • Matrix on Dec 24, 2014 at 10:55 pm

i am sure you are ford salesman.

I really beat ST. this is the fact. you can’t denied it. Ok

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 45
        • Plot twist, Focus driver didn’t know you were racing.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 1
          • linkop on Dec 29, 2014 at 8:27 pm

plot approved.somemore, ford focus were driving underwater due to flood

• Obviously (Member) on Dec 25, 2014 at 3:29 am

How are you so sure that he’s a Ford salesman? How are you so sure that the ST was serious about racing you? How do you know that the ST didn’t just let you go ahead of him because he saw how desperately you want to go downhill fast fast and he has his family to take care of so he isn’t as willing as you to throw his life away?

How can all of us here be sure that you’re not just making this up since you’re just another guy on the internet to us? As they say, video or it didn’t happen.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 3
          • lambo lp670 on Dec 25, 2014 at 1:12 pm

tak lama that fella guy found a lambo at genting downhill.. and *race* with that lambo..and that fella infront until the lambo cannot see the taillight…

and that fella comment…i raced with lambo..skid more more..

lambo said.. im a bull.. shit on ur windscreen..bcoz u like tall bullshit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
        • Ah Beng Vios Turbo TRD godcar on Dec 25, 2014 at 3:17 pm

I really beat Mclaren P1, this is the fact, you can’t denied it. Ok

• Possibly the Focus ST driver didn’t know that you ‘raced’ with him at Genting?

Next time you better tell him… :-D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • Hemi 426 on Dec 26, 2014 at 10:28 am

Mr.Matrix,i never like to use profanities here,but in your particular case here,i will make a willing exception.

You Sir have to do two things.The first will be to pull your head our of your ass.When you are done with this process,the next step will require a large spoon for you to scoop all the shit you have for brains.

Last but not least,you have to realize that it’s a bona fide fact you have “Backwater retard” written all over you whenever you speak.You clearly have issues dude.

Have a nice day.I concur with Okaayyy,ben,Obviously and lp670.We were not born yesterday dude.

Cheers

• weeee on Dec 24, 2014 at 8:19 pm

For 200 grand I’d get the Renault Megane instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • droll on Dec 25, 2014 at 9:37 am

agreed for driver oriented car. but the focus st is the more practical one. megane = 2 door.

• twincam on Dec 24, 2014 at 8:21 pm

Wait for Focus RS and then we’re talking.

• Maseratits on Dec 24, 2014 at 8:22 pm

Ford’s dash design is a mess! So many buttons…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • ahmadjohnson97 on Dec 24, 2014 at 8:27 pm

I pick Focus ST over Fiesta ST for practical and comfort. Unless if driving alone most of the time I’ll definitely pick Fiesta ST.

• cendol (Member) on Dec 24, 2014 at 8:33 pm

Frankly speaking, they both look the same

• Obviously (Member) on Dec 25, 2014 at 3:30 am

That might have been intentional. Could also not be that bad a thing.

• spongewai on Dec 24, 2014 at 8:57 pm

i go for Fiesta ST

• typer on Dec 24, 2014 at 9:57 pm

New Civic Type R will smoke these 2…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
    • Ah Beng Vios TRD turbo godcar on Dec 25, 2014 at 2:20 am

My Vios TRD will smoke your civic Type-R and these 2 slow fords.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
  • Alifz on Dec 24, 2014 at 11:32 pm

Buying any Sime Darby Auto cars will let you for longer service period. All spare parts must to through them. My friend’s Ford Focus wiper arms need 8 months wait for wiper arms and just sat at house for that time of period..

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 25, 2014 at 2:29 am

Four doors always better than two…if I wanna get a 2 door I’d go for a roadster like the all new MX-5.

• Car_fan on Dec 25, 2014 at 3:45 pm

Why no Swift Sport manual? Might not be as fast but certainly more reliable in the long run…

• intermilan on Dec 25, 2014 at 5:51 pm

Simply because its not hot enuff to be categorised as a hot hatch.. with around 120-ish bhp on tap, its just a lukewarm hatch.. not even warm hatch.. although many said its a properly sorted hatch.

• Heng Lee on Dec 26, 2014 at 7:34 am

Or a Kancil. Might not be as fast but certainly more reliable in the long run…

• darkermarker on Dec 25, 2014 at 6:14 pm

Ppl these days are so childish….
    Buying a car to smoke this car and smoke that car….

Why dont you organize a pissing contest too?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0