Toyota sells 10.23 million cars in 2014, stays on top

2015_Toyota_Camry_038

Toyota has, for the third year in a row, maintained its top spot as the leading car manufacturer by selling a total of 10.23 million vehicles in 2014. A growth of 3%, which includes figures from Toyota’s Hino and Daihatsu divisions, sees the Japanese firm break the 10 million-unit barrier for the first time.

Trailing closely behind is the Volkswagen Group, with a total of 10.14 million vehicles sold, including figures from its two heavy-vehicle divisions. An increase of 4.2% also sees the Wolfsburg-based automaker sail past the 10 million-unit ceiling.

Standing on the final step on the podium is General Motors (GM). With only a 2.1% increase in sales quoted, GM wasn’t close enough to hit the milestone with 9.92 million vehicles delivered. For those who are unaware, GM held the sales crown for close to eight decades before Toyota snatched it away in 2008. GM recovered the title for a year in 2011.

Volkswagen_e-UP_Malaysia_Preview_ 009

With that said, analysts have forecasted that 2015 could be Volkswagen’s year as Toyota has implemented a freeze that will see the firm hold back on establishing new production plants. On the other hand, the Volkswagen Group has stated its intentions to raise its annual production capacity in China to four million units by 2018.

Toyota has projected a 1% decline in sales figures for 2015, to 10.15 million vehicles. “Their (Toyota) focus is not No. 1. Toyota is more concerned about keeping profitability than chasing numbers. So for coming years, I wouldn’t be surprised to see Toyota selling fewer cars than VW,” said a Tokyo-based analyst.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• In bolehland…toyota sales going down

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 18
    • Same L0rrrr on Jan 23, 2015 at 11:24 am

Don’t talkok if you know nothing! Our sales remain strong and I am still busy like hell.

Next year, you will see Toyota sell more than Proton. As someone here always said “Rakyat Smart already!”

There is always solid reasons (e.g. build quality, comfort etc) for Toyota to be the world best seller. However, haters still hate, basher still bash.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 50
      • paanjang16 on Jan 23, 2015 at 1:20 pm

If Toyota really want to overtake Proton, then they be better equipped with more safety features like vsc and 7 airbags. Of course a new engine and gearbox is a plus too.

Think if how many people went with city or jazz because the god car is under speced and does not have vsc. I’m sure many went with accord and other makes instead of Camry due to the Camry is ancient compared to others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
        • Toyota Moving Coffin on Jan 23, 2015 at 6:48 pm

Toyota Global sales is good but in Malaysia its going down and down and down.

Nobody is touching Toyota now. It is known as the Moving Coffin. Bad luck to buy their cars. Before I talk about the rubbish Vios without VSC, lets talk about their Camry first.

Let us start with the Camry. The Camry, everybody boycott because at first when they introduced, it was the only Camry in the world without VSC. UMW thought it is better to reap more profits than the lives of Malaysians and took out the VSC. Then news went viral online and everybody started to boycott Camry. Sales dipped like mad. then UMW damage control. They recently put VSC back into Camry cars but people still remember what a useless company UMW is to give peanuts to Malaysians and sacrifice our lives. A 9 airbag CBU Camry 2.5 in the US is US$22,000 (RM60,000). Here, we pay RM180,000 for a Made in Malaysia car with 2 airbags and no VSC. (now got VSC). Now with this recall, who really wants a Camry?

The Altis, nobody is touching also. This car in the US, after discounts and bargaining is US$12,000. (RM39,000) My brother just bought it a brand new 2014 Corolla. Comes with 9 airbags and so many more features our toilet CKD does not have.

UMW Malaysia will get this car in CKD form direct from Toyota Japan for about USD$8000. If Toyota USA can sell the CBU in USA for US$12,000 and still make money, UMW for sure will be getting this car far cheaper.

In Malaysia, we get the jamban made in Malaysia model with 2 airbags and no VSC. A Moving coffin. When a car does not have VSC, it is known as a moving coffin. Half the parts are Made in Malaysia. But the car is sold for RM120k. That is why you hardly can see an Altis on the road despite nearly 2 years launched.

Why do we have CKD when the CKD cost more than the CBU? To support crony part manufacturers? Rm39,000 vs RM120,000.

Anyway, Malaysians know that the Toyota Corolla is a big failure in Malaysia. Do you see it on the road at all? Drive the whole day and you hardly can bump into the 2014 Altis or a Vios despite being launched 1 year plus already (Vios). Everywhere you see Elantra or City.

Malaysians rather buy Hyundai Elantra. The car after discounts can get RM85k and comes with VSC. Also, the car is a much bigger C segment than the Altis. No wonder why we see Elantra everywhere.

Malaysians already know that UMW regard Malaysian lives as dirt and don’t care whether you die or not. This Toyota Vios should be named as Toyota Moving Coffin because a car of this price, with no VSC is a risk to you and your family.

Malaysians have now dignity. they know UMW are big cheats. Charge so much for the car, yet compromise on our lives and safety of the family.

How UMW? Still no VSC? All over the world, Toyota comes with VSC as standard!
          Our lives not important UMW?

The Vios is a Big big failure. No need to write a lot here. The City with VSC beats it flat. Tak payah cerita panjang. Even the apek jual ikan also know City is more highly specced than the Vios. So Vios is dead.

Sam loo and Same Lorr also now hiding like chickens. They will come in here and say Toyota got good RV but in truth, nobody is going to buy UMW’s trash in Malaysia. Even now, their RV jatuh like hell. 11 months old Camry 2.5, you can buy RM120k, drop from RM180k. In 11 months, the car can drop RM60k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 12
      • IrizX on Jan 23, 2015 at 2:27 pm

Diam lah, Sam lorr…VIOS oready lose to the City oready.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
      • subby on Jan 23, 2015 at 2:30 pm

I want to get a license from Toyota for sales in Malaysia and kick out UMW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • paulnut on Jan 23, 2015 at 2:51 pm

This year Proton do better that Toyota partly because people like you who bash proton but also buy proton saga black color for your son.

• Same L0rrr on Jan 24, 2015 at 11:50 pm

You can make whatever story you like of me. You can even say I live in shah alam Proton warehouse.

Just want to ask you one thing: Since I have so many opinion on Proton junk, why would I wanna buy a junk back home?

Can you please use a little bit of your brain when you make story?

• Super on Jan 23, 2015 at 12:10 pm

O – u need to see last year sales performance. Toyota almost overtake P1 to get 2nd position. Its only 10k units diff. If those AP unit take into calculation, definitely they’re no 2.

• carlies on Jan 23, 2015 at 1:00 pm

Other than new car, even the sales of the used vehicle like MPV and SUV (used Estima, Alphard, Harrier………) still remained strong world wide. That pushes this giant to the top of the industry!

Good job Toyota!

• No1 leader in automobile sector so I would 100% correct that they are No.1 contributor fr Global warming if v talk about global warming from automobile sector

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 23
    • slk3879 on Jan 23, 2015 at 11:02 am

Not that simple, you got to look at the engine efficiency and capacity which decide the emission from the engines from the vehicle.

• I would say VW is far ahead in this area, as a big chunk of sales are hybrid models for Toyota’s case but VW sells lots more performance-oriented models that kill the environment more than anyone else.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • Same L0rrrr on Jan 23, 2015 at 11:41 am

Even if Toyota make a trillion cars a year, the cars won’t emit CO2 if no one drive it. So blame the driver instead of the car.

If you don’t eat, you won’t shit, so blame yourself instead of your nasi lemak. Why you eat?

Toyota engine is more environmental friendly compared to others. Look at the “awesome” Iriz then you know, they can’t even enter europe market due to their non-compliance on Euro 5.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 21
      • So we should buy a toyota but should not drive it? I’m so confused now….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
      • dugongx on Jan 23, 2015 at 5:08 pm

No, you should buy a toyota and burn it. Don’t follow ah beng in his stupid souped up TRD crash and burn due to poor safety and handling.

• Same L0rrr on Jan 24, 2015 at 11:38 pm

You can do whatever things with your Toyota, flood it, squeeze it, freeze it I don’t really care.

But if you don’t own a Toyota, you are pure talkok here. Or you actually own a Toyota but you didn’t burn your Toyota as example, you also pure talkok here.

@ali I meant if you buy a car and drive, you are contributing CO2, your car just a tool you used to contribute it.So don’t blame the car, blame yourself.

• I would say is GM.. they produce the most gas guzzlers..

Most Toyota use less capacity engine or hybrid..
      Although VW has Lambo and Bugatti, but they are only a small fraction. Most of VWG using fuel efficient TFSI, TSI or TDI

• totally agree. VW does not focus more towards hybrid cars but like what you said they have the technology for fuel efficiency.

• Josh Ling on Jan 23, 2015 at 10:01 am

i think what toyota has in mind is smart. and i think they know they will not be able to compete with VW in terms of sales volume anymore, since VW is like don’t know how many times bigger than toyota (by no. of car companies it has). so instead of keep chasing the number blindly, they should have focused more on the profit instead, because that should be the ultimate goal of any corporation in the world.

sales volume is just a mere number if it can’t bring in substantial income to the company. and please, toyota, come up with more new and exciting models in this region as well!

• I don’t really think they have intended to be world’s biggest that bad.

What they do best is to promote their cars as being reliable, reliable and reliable. Somehow in a world where money is so little, everyone wants a piece of reliable machine, and that’s what drove the growth.

• dugongx on Jan 23, 2015 at 5:10 pm

Toyota has always been only focusing on pure profits since the beginning. Selling a 20k car (cost) like dugong for 95k

• low inflation on Jan 23, 2015 at 5:39 pm

tats d main point. how u can get higher profit? giv u outdated engine n 4 speed old gearbox, less safety features n lesser warranty. stil they sellling good cz people thought its stil a reliable car because outdated tech sure low maintenance n cheap spare parts.
        smart toyota.

• ProtonGSC on Jan 23, 2015 at 10:01 am

Toyota the top, BUT UMW going to be last if things don’t improve !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • Petrofsky77 (Member) on Jan 23, 2015 at 10:05 am

Hurrah for Sam Loo and his Hailat!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • sallehin on Jan 23, 2015 at 10:10 am

Proton can’t even beat the .23 sales for 2014.
    And it’s dreaming of going global.
    Wake up and smell the coffee Proton and its management.
    U only sold 115K cars with a local market cap
    of 17%. These figures don’t lie.
    Proton expects the Iriz to be the game changer
    but in reality falling sales in Preve ,Saga, Inspira and Persona will sink Proton to a lower level.
    Time for a total review & overhaul on its fleet of cars as overproduction will only lead to unsold cars
    piling up at the garage to rot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 8
    • Iris Tak laku on Jan 23, 2015 at 10:49 am

Where are you Ah beng (Member) & all his Member?
      Comment Please!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 8
  • sam loo (official) on Jan 23, 2015 at 10:43 am

thats why im still malaysia no.1 richest man

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
  • WaJib on Jan 23, 2015 at 11:46 am

Volkswagen Group have Lamboghini, Porsche, Bugatti Veyron, Skoda, Seat & Ducati and their problematic 7speed DSG Volkswagen car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
    • WaJib on Jan 23, 2015 at 11:46 am

Also Audi..

• So you mean all Lamboghini, Porsche, Bugatti Veyron, Skoda, Seat & Ducati have Gearbox problem?!

• Problematic for the buyers, but profitable for the manufacturers.

• Heng Lee on Jan 24, 2015 at 1:31 am

And Toyota has airbags that send metal shrapnels into your face… ;)

• demmyu on Jan 26, 2015 at 2:49 pm

You tend to keep that info in your head i mean till FOREVER or what? Stop with all the DSG shit and everything bro. cmon.

http://paultan.org/2014/11/03/volkswagen-expert-programme/

http://paultan.org/2014/10/20/volkswagen-malaysia-dsg-resolved/

• Low Budget on Jan 23, 2015 at 12:33 pm

Notice the figures of Toyota total sales include Hino and Daihatsu divisions?
    So, if Boleh Land Toyota sales include the Perodua sales, they easily win all others by land slide!

• Bullmark on Jan 23, 2015 at 12:47 pm

Don’t understand how Toyota can be that good here in Boleh-land.

I own a new Vios and the body feels like it’s made from thin and unsafe aluminum. Eg. Every time it rains it feels like zinc roof sound. Despite having installed the insulation from Japan which I have to wait for few months for it to arrive. Engine also quite loud.

• jacksonljs on Jan 23, 2015 at 6:27 pm

Made in Japan Toyota (such as Wish with Valvematic engine, full spec Estima 2.4 with CVT-i gearbox Alphard/Vellfire, Japan spec Camry, Crown, Land-Cruiser and also Prado, Mark X, Prius, Prius-C, RAV-4, 86) – Among the best build quality, but still depends on luck.

ASEAN country made Toyota (Altis, Rush, Avanza, Fortuner, Hilux, Innova) – So-so bullt quality, but generally still acceptable (quality on par or slightly better than Perodua, but with larger interior and storage space).

Local Toyota (current gen Vios and Camry) – Quality like ‘new jamban’, can’t even compare with old Toyota, even 5 – 10 years ‘buruk’ Wira/Waja or Myvi far more better quality than new ‘local Toyota’.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 24, 2015 at 10:34 am

Thailand Toyota plant is one of the largest assembly and manufacturing hub outside Japan.

They are managed by a Japanese team, unlike UMW’s assembly plant in Shah Alam that is run by ex-Proton jokers

• no doubt, toyota is the best, this has already a proven facts. this also a big slap on those rubbish people’s face who keep on argue toyota is no good. other brands are all junk. no doubt…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • wayangkulit on Jan 23, 2015 at 7:23 pm

Malaysian “car enthusiast” hates the reigning car manufacturers
      They’d rather listen to competitor salesman talk than rationalize things

For many years Toyota has been the target of “car enthusiast”
      And I call these fashion complains; they come and go like fashion

Some time ago they were complaining that Toyota uses torsion beam and spew out lotsa nonsense like not safe during cornering, drives like a boat and etc.
      Suddenly all torsion beam cars are deemed dinosour tech and drives like a boat overnight
      The internet/mamak TT session suddenly errupted with lotsa “car enthusiast guru” advising people to buy cars with multi link suspension if they dont want to crash during cornering. And its the most imnportant feature to have

Then the next fashion came, 4 speed AT vs 5 speed AT. Some magazines were explaining the efficiency and possible fuel savings of an extra speed in ATs.
      The 4 speed ATs has suddenly overnight become very fuel guzzling
      The internet/mamak TT session suddenly errupted with lotsa “car enthusiast guru” advising people to buy cars with 5 speed or more if they wanted fuel economy.

Then the next fashion came when some car mag/websites were explaining drum brakes vs disc brakes benefit
      Suddenly all Malaysian “car enthusiast” got riled up and complain “What only drum brakes and not all disc? So UNSAFE” and spews out lotsa nonsense.
      Drum brakes has thus become seriously unsafe overnight
      The internet/mamak TT session suddenly errupted with lotsa “car enthusiast guru” advising people to buy cars with disc brakes if they dont want to die or bang into some one’s back as the most important feature

Then the next fashion came when people saw some articles about airbags and how it could potentially safe life.
      Suddenly all cars featuring less airbags has become very unsafe to be on the road
      The internet/mamak TT session suddenly errupted with lotsa “car enthusiast guru” advising people to buy cars with plenty of airbags if they dont want to die or value safety. And it is of utmost importance to choose cars with plenty of them

Then the next fashion came when people saw some marketing videos about VSC and some websites featuring articles on how VSC can save lifes.
      Sudenly cars without VSC has become very very unsafe and will get some one killed if driven on the road
      The internet/mamak TT session suddenly errupted with lotsa “car enthusiast guru” advising people to buy cars with VSC if they dont want to die or value safety. I also saw from paultan comments, some one said cars without VSC are moving coffins.

Im awaiting the next complain fashion to come and when the current complain fashion will go out of season

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
      • dugongx on Jan 23, 2015 at 8:36 pm

Podah…go drive your 4-speed dino dugong.

• paanjang16 on Jan 23, 2015 at 10:16 pm

If VSC and number of airbags are not important, then why in Australia the Vios aka Yaris YRS and YRX comes with 6 airbags and VSC? Are Malaysian lives less worthy compared to Australian lives?
        http://www.toyota.com.au/yaris/range

For Camry, it comes with 7 airbags, traction control VSC plus many more safety devices.
        http://www.toyota.com.au/camry/features/safety

Fact is fact, overseas Toyotas are better equipped when it comes to safety equipment than our Malaysian Toyotas and they cost less too. Also UMW Toyota can actually equipped these items since if Honda can do it for their City and Jazz, Proton for their Preve and Suprima, Kia for even their Picanto, there is no excuse not to.

• wayangkulit on Jan 24, 2015 at 12:43 am

Maybe they’ll view your life more important if you complain less?

Maybe if you convince Toyota to open a full manufacturing here like Honda they’ll reduce price or give you better spec?

Maybe if you pay extra like 60k for a 1.2l Picanto and omit some spec they’ll put in your extra safety device?
          Or maybe wait till you get to become CEO of UMW or maybe you go stand for election and get a post as transport minister and implement 6 airbags and VSC as compulsory across all models sold in Malaysia?

Maybe you can start applying for PR/Citizenship in places you deem to be auto haven where everything is cheap and life’s good?

You know, we have alot of blank people making lots of white noise about problems while expecting others to do the job for them, like “Mamaaa Im hungry!! And expect food to be served immediately”

• nothing special about toyota cars here in Malaysia..

• losantara on Jan 23, 2015 at 7:54 pm

Just repaint my 7 years vios. Except the body everything else like new. Already clock 230k km. Cannot find a reason to sell the car. Still can hit 165 kmh like the first day I bought it

• wajib on Jan 24, 2015 at 1:11 am

Be Prepared.. ur Vios floating like sampan like participating in Penang Dragonboat show at 165kmh. Safety first

• Heng Lee on Jan 24, 2015 at 1:32 am

165km/h is quite fast for a Toyota.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 24, 2015 at 12:29 am

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV.

If its a Toyota, it will have great RV.

If its a KIA or Ssangyong, it can’t even be traded in

• safety first on Jan 24, 2015 at 12:31 am

Have 10 years old cbu toyota car – very reliable. But recently involved in accident – somebody hit from the back. After that incident, I realized that safety is the most important aspect for any car. Sold off my toyota and get beemer e60 since its very cheap nowadays.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 24, 2015 at 10:31 am

The purpose of crumple zone in areas not occupied by humans absorbs energy from impact.

Learn your physics first before making such uneducated statements

• Heng Lee on Jan 24, 2015 at 4:35 pm

Toyota’s chief test driver Hiromu Naruse died in a Lexus LFA when he hit a BMW head-to-head on the wrong side of the road. The elderly gentleman in the BMW escaped unharmed.

Learn about the safety of Toyota first before making such uneducated statements.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • alldisc on Jan 24, 2015 at 10:27 pm

Toyota Malaysia sales of 100k units is nothing compare to the 10 million worldwide toyota sold last year.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 24, 2015 at 11:47 pm

How I wish that Hyundai will sell 100k units a year.

That way, within 18 months, I will have 75k used Hyundai’s to trade, as 3 out of 4 Hyundai owners will sell off their rotten cabbages within 18 months