Modern Proton cars just as safe as Volvos – MITI

2014_Top_Five_Proton_Iriz_MT_ 002

Proton cars are as safe as those from Volvo, the International Trade and Industry Ministry (MITI) has said. The ministry, in a written reply to Batu Gajah MP V. Sivakumar’s question on whether Proton has what it takes to compete with international rivals, said Proton’s newer models featured “advanced technology, high quality and performance”.

MITI elaborated by saying that current Proton models like the Exora, Preve, Suprima S and Iriz feature safety tech such as ABS, EBD, Brake Assist and Electronic Stability Control, in addition to things like “whiplash protection headrests”, six airbags and Isofix mounts for child seats. These features are typically offered in premium imported cars, the ministry pointed out.

“Some Proton models even offer features of added value in terms of comfort and safety of passengers,” the ministry said in its statement, adding that these characteristics, when combined with “Lotus Ride and Handling”, has helped elevate the standard of Proton vehicles.

ESC stability control is standard across the Iriz range, while the top model features six airbags

It was highlighted that Proton’s recent models scored the maximum five stars in the Australasian New Car Assessment Programme (ANCAP) and Asean NCAP crash tests. “This rating puts the Proton car models on par with other popular car makes like BMW, Volvo, Toyota and Honda,” it added.

For real? Well, the Preve and Suprima S did score five-star ANCAP ratings when they were tested in 2013. As for the Iriz, Proton initially claimed a five-star ANCAP rating, before later revealing that it actually meant five-star Asean NCAP.

When queried on the matter, Proton said that the Iriz was developed with a five-star target and internal testing showed that it can achieve that, but as of today, ANCAP results for the Iriz have yet to be published on the body’s website.

Screen Shot 2015-04-06 at 4.07.51 PM

For the latest round of ANCAP crash tests, the above graphic shows the minimum protection a car must provide to get a five-star rating. The results are based on a frontal offset test conducted at 64 km/h, where 40% of the car (on the driver’s side) makes contact with a crushable aluminium barrier at the above speed.

The test car will have two adult dummies in the front seat; the rear seat has an 18-month old child dummy and a three year old child dummy, both in appropriate child restraints.

A green rating must be achieved for the driver’s head, body, thighs and feet. For the passenger, yellow for the chest is allowed. Yellow is also permissible for the driver’s lower legs and the passenger’s right lower leg. Green basically means a high level of protection while yellow means only a slight chance of serious injury to areas which are not likely to be life threatening. Check out the Preve and Suprima S’ crash test results in our CarBase.my database.

Do note that a car with a five-star rating from a few years ago might not not qualify for it today, because NCAP organisations raise the bar every periodically.

For example, Euro NCAP has required cars to be equipped with some form of autonomous emergency braking (Volvo’s City Safety and Ford’s Active City Stop are examples) to achieve five stars since 2014. AEB systems can help avoid crashes or reduce their severity by warning the driver of an imminent crash and supporting his/her braking response, or even braking the car independently of the driver’s action.

Currently, there are no Proton models with AEB. However, we have seen Proton testing out the LG ADAS stereo camera on an Iriz prototype, something, when integrated, would provide the Proton with AEB functions.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Tc Soo on Apr 06, 2015 at 4:35 pm

Speechless

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 197 Thumb down 15
    • paulnut on Apr 06, 2015 at 4:45 pm

Sam is happy for his son saga.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 24
      • Nutty Professor on Apr 06, 2015 at 4:55 pm

Here comes the Proton supporters…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 9
        • Gargantia on Apr 06, 2015 at 5:09 pm

MITI = cronies department that implanted by Bolehland era.

Proton = cronies company start by Father of AP system.

Same shit statement from shit department…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 176 Thumb down 47
          • u5rtBN on Apr 06, 2015 at 6:10 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 136
          • comeonlah on Apr 07, 2015 at 12:28 pm

Pls improve your English before making pro-government statements. Buat malu BN sahaja di mata dunia..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
          • 1MDB (Malas Dolop Bodoh) on Apr 07, 2015 at 8:41 am

This is typical Government servant thinking. We think we are the greatest and see no need to improve. Like when it was announced recently that our education was top in the world and we have one of the best education in the world. Few days weeks later, DPM announced education system was in shambles.

We are in denial. The government and its 1.5 million lazy civil servants are in denial all the time. Now, they come up with this joke that everybody in the nation is laughing and making fun.

The truth is, Proton has been sucking the rakyat’s money all this while. From the day of its inception in 1985 till this very minute, Government has pumped at least RM100 billion or a few hundred billion into Proton, most of the time giving it free money to survive and sustain. It is all our LHDN money. It is your money and my money.

This money could have been used to at least build 10 new extra schools and 10 new extra Government hospitals in each state.

So because of Proton, we have now about 130 less schools and 130 less Government hospitals.

Proton, please stop sucking our money. We are fed up of Proton sucking our money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 10
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Apr 07, 2015 at 8:43 am

Gargantia = kiasu came somewhere in eastern earth that he/she will not stop condemning PROTON until they rule the government one day

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 16
          • 1MDB (Malas Dolop Bodoh) on Apr 07, 2015 at 8:54 am

It is solely because of Proton that 30 million people in Malaysia suffer. Everybody’s biggest payment per month is their cars as we are paying overpriced cars.

You see, in the 80s or even in the early 90s, you can get a brand new Nissan 130Y or a Toyota Corolla for RM20,000. Now, the same car is RM139,000.

In truth, the past 30 years, car prices have come down a lot globally and have NOT gone up due to inflation. It has come down due to economies of scale achieved by car companies. This is proven by the fact that you can get a brand new purely Japan made top spec Toyota Camry 2.5 with 10 airbags in the US for US$22,000. That is about RM60,000. The normal B segment car like the Almera is sold in the US for US$9,999. (RM30,000). Mind you, this is after Toyota and Nissan of the US has made their margin and profits and the US government has collected taxes and duties from Nissan and Toyota. The direct from factory prices is far cheaper. UMW will get the above 2.5 Camry for US$15,000 from their principal in Japan. As our Camry is CKD, the price is even lower than that.

So, in actual fact, most Malaysians can enjoy cheap and reasonable cars but because of Proton, all the other car prices have been raised up tremendously to protect Proton. Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of one man’s dream of benefiting his friends and relatives and forcing the dying Proton to live with billions of our LHDN money, money which could be used to build more schools and hospitals.

If we did not have Proton sucking money from LHDN, each state can have an addition 10 fully fledged government hospitals and 10 fully fledged government schools every 10 years being built. But all our LHDN money go to the failing Proton. Every year government gives hundreds of million to Proton as form of grants. Every other year, Proton ask RM billions in help. Recently, even under private hands also (DRB) Proton asked the government to give them free few RM billions from LHDN.

Proton also cost us hundreds of billions in ringgit in investments from car companies who moved to Thailand and Indonesia. Car companies got fed up with Malaysia’s MITI for protecting Proton and telling other companies what to price their cars. They got sick and tired of the AP system and how genuine brands cannot get enough APs to import their cars in (like Mercedes, BMW and Honda).

They thought that if they set up their brands and plants in Malaysia, they knew they had to give 30% of their hard earned company free away as well as being told by MITI what to price their cars. They all moved their operations to Thailand making it the AutoCity of the world.

Recently GM announced that they rolled out already 1 million cars from Thailand. Imagine if GM was in Malaysia and we taxed GM RM10,000 per car. Calculate that with 1 million cars. Just from GM alone, we lost Billions in USD. Imagine what will the amount be from other car companies if they had set up in Malaysia, like they did in Thailand?

Because of Proton, we lost hundreds of billion of ringgit in investment and trillions of ringgit from jobs lost. If Malaysia was the autocity of Asia, hundreds of thousands of jobs would have been created for Malaysians. We lost all that. Trillions of Ringgit and hundreds of thousands of jobs. Now, Thailand is benefiting from this trillions lost.

Car companies are flocking to invest hundreds of billions in Thailand despite Thailand being an unstable government, unstable economy and full of bomb blastings and terror.

Yet, global car companies still prefer Thailand.

All because of Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 16
          • Iriz owner on Apr 07, 2015 at 11:18 am

Easy to blame others for your failure life. Blame yourself for your stupidity and laziness.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 22
          • Nozlan on Apr 07, 2015 at 11:44 pm

1MDB, be our next P.M…………

• John Dough apple man on Apr 09, 2015 at 3:26 am

Cheers mate, you said it perfectly. This country is going to the dogs

• Same Lorrrr Lingerie Sdn Bhd on Apr 07, 2015 at 9:20 am

I have no idea why people here so negative about Proton. Better you come to me, I will spice up your love life.

I am a former UMW salesman. Because sales were so bad due to people realising UMW has been cheating people with low quality cars and minimal safety features (ie no VSC and 2 airbags only), many UMW salesman have left.

I and my buddy Same Loo (ori1) have now joined Parkson as ladies undergarments promoter. I am doing very well here. Bonus also very good.

I invite all PT readers to come and see me, I can give you good discounts and good RV on brands like Sorella, Triumph, Wacaol, Bee Dees, Skiva. Come and buy for your wives and spice up your love life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 13
          • ProtonGSC on Apr 07, 2015 at 9:30 am

Ah Beng = butthurt when someone talk about fact on this country !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
          • Which Minister Use Proton? on Apr 07, 2015 at 9:37 am

Can Ministers and Mahathir answer me two questions.

Firstly, to Mahathir. Why are all your sons and yourself as well as Siti Hasmah not using Proton? You all use mainly Porsche. Why not using Proton Tun? Mahathir promotes Proton so much but sendiri tak pakai Proton.

Ministers also, most Ministers and the whole Cabinet cronies don’t use Proton. If you speak so highly of Proton, why you all don’t use Proton?

Secondly, why are the export models so much higher in quality than the local models? I was using a Satria Export model meant for the UK market. It was so high in quality compared to the local Satria.

Why do we Malaysians get trash and we give the Mat Salleh better quality Proton?

Is this fair? After all Proton was created to give Malaysians cheap cars. Now, we give Mat Salleh cheap and better Proton but Malaysians get the lower grade Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 5
          • Same L0rrrr on Apr 07, 2015 at 11:24 am

Yes, it is possible that Proton be as safe as Volvo, when it is PARKED in the showroom or car park. See MITI’s catch?

Proton is safest when the engine off. Because once any Proton part is working, the Proton-Murply law applies: Anything Proton could break down GUARANTEED 110% will break down gao gao.

If you bought a Proton, park it at home ALL TIME. It is safe!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 12
          • Madani Sahari (MAI) on Apr 07, 2015 at 12:15 pm

Proton cars ARE as good or even better than Volvo, BMW and Mercedes. All those commenting here are jealous and have no intelligence.

Beli lah barang buatan Malaysia. Kualiti memang ada! See our Waja, last time my boss say like BMW. Mahathir said, “Waja will put BMW to shame”.

Memang betul, BMW lost so many sales becaus eof Waja

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Apr 07, 2015 at 3:52 pm

Tun Mahathir using Iriz when he drove attending meeting in Shah Alam. WE all saw during vendor briefing day. To all butthurt 怕输 kiasu STOP telling lies to public..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
          • Proton Condom on Apr 07, 2015 at 7:15 pm

If Proton is so safe, why still need “protection”? Takut ada STD kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
      • When shameloo saying that he is talk kok number 2, only MITI dare to say they are talk kok number 1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 6
        • The Truth About Proton on Apr 07, 2015 at 9:02 am

You see Proton is actually a good concept. But when Mahathir created Proton, he made sure every single part of the Proton car is supplied by his crony buddies. And these crony buddies overcharge Proton by ten times whilst giving poor and inferior parts. That is why your Proton always falls apart and everybody blames quality control. That is the reason also why Proton makes only RM500 per car that they sell. It is solely because of the crony vendors who are overcharging Proton. For example, per car Mat is sold to Proton for RM100 whilst you can buy the same car mat from Brothers for RM10.

So, Mahathir can say all he wants about quality being raised but until ALL Proton’s vendors are changed, how can the quality go up?

Mahathir won’t do this. All his buddies have got the contract to be vendors to Proton. Mahathir will just ensure that all the vendors for Proton remain the same. All his buddies and relatives, so why upset his relatives when he can continue his past misgivings?

Proton will still get the same low inferior quality parts it has been getting for the past 30 years and it will still be overcharged by 10 times for each part the vendors supply.

Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of one man’s dream of benefitting his buddies and friends. Until Proton changes ALL their vendors, Proton will be a loss making organisation because it produces super low quality cars due to its vendors supplying Proton Super low Quality parts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
          • Iriz owner on Apr 07, 2015 at 11:20 am

Easy to blame others for your failure life. Blame yourself for your stupidity and laziness.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
          • Banyak Onz!!! on Apr 07, 2015 at 11:46 am

Being an Iriz owner, you are already a failure in life. Buy a car whose ad reads “Onz” What is Onz? No such word.

That is how stupid Proton is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
          • Owning an iriz is a failure in life? wtf is that statement bro, I own one but I don’t feel my life is in failure, I oso own a couple of cars such as Evo x, bmw and a mazda but After I buy the iriz I didn’t felt my life is a failure lol, then better U go an earn a jet then probably Ur life will be getting Better…

• Madani Sahari (MAI) on Apr 07, 2015 at 12:19 pm

Proton is much better than BMW or Mercedes. All those saying negative things here are just jealous and misinformed. Ignorant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
          • P1 the Best on Apr 07, 2015 at 6:23 pm

Yes, Proton is the best in the world. But why still need “protection” ah?

• Same Lorrrr Lingerie Sdn Bhd on Apr 07, 2015 at 9:32 am

Our cars memang low quality but I can tell you one thing, our ladies undergarments are very good quality despite being made in Malaysia. The underwired bra is very high quality and good SIRIM approved wires are used.

• Same Lorrrr Cheras Flat resident on Apr 07, 2015 at 11:53 am

The whole Malaysia is laughing at this MITI statement. In offices also, everybody talk about this butt joke by MITI

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
      • Rugi besar on Apr 06, 2015 at 6:55 pm

Datuk Mustapha prefer to tell good fairy tales rather than telling the actual horror truth of Proton mega losses at Parlimen.

Malu sangat kah nak bagitau rakyat??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 7
        • Banyak Onz!!! on Apr 07, 2015 at 11:48 am

Berpuluh puluh billions in losses. Not millions. Their accounts also modified la. If KPMG can modify 1MDB accounts, you know lah about Proton accounts

• Aero (Member) on Apr 06, 2015 at 6:01 pm

Dear MITI,

Have you heard of the term ‘humility’ ? I don’t think so. Just because new Proton cars have scored 5-star safety ratings, it doesn’t automatically grant you the right to claim that Proton cars are as safe as Volvo Cars.

Volvo has been pioneering car safety for decades. Volvo is usually the first to use any new safety tech on the market. Meanwhile, Proton only just started their emphasis on safety in 2013 with the Prevé. Proton doesn’t design their own airbags and whatnot, they just import it from Sweden from the same company which supplies Volvo and many other big names. Proton’s Hot Press Forming technology is also not their idea, HPF tech is actually from Germany. That’s fine, because at the end of the day, the customer still wins because Proton cars have become much safer today. However, because Proton doesn’t pioneer (create) their own safety tech like Volvo and the Europeans, they cannot claim they are as good as Volvo. Fortunately, Proton’s employees know this, which is why they never made any explicit claims like this one, they know better.

So please MITI, just keep your mouths shut and stop embarrassing Proton with your propaganda bullsh*t. You’re only doing more harm than good, now people will start making fun of Proton and it’s not even their fault this time ! Seriously, MITI, JPJ, MAA, they’re all run by a bunch of immature, two-faced retards.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 261 Thumb down 17
      • tokmoh. on Apr 06, 2015 at 6:30 pm

I believe Proton’s airbag supplier is Japanese Autoliv Hirotako.

Well said, as a Volvo fanboy, never felt this insulted. Yes, Iriz has impressive safety, but to say on par with Volvo, that’s a very, veeeeery bad joke.

And Volvo is more than just safety. Comfort, reliability, design, ergonomics, practicality, intuitiveness is top notch too.

So no, don’t kid yourself and syok sendiri you’re already there. For a start, fix your shitty powertrain. It’s so thirsty even XC60 T6 with 3X more horsepower and much heavier than Iriz is more fuel efficient, and that’s only the petrol auto. If it’s diesel manual, Iriz can eat dust liao.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 7
        • That’s true.
          They can’t claim they’re as good as Volvo.
          Even a 2 tonne XC90 are more fuel efficient then their cars like Suprima S…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
          • fckeen on Apr 06, 2015 at 8:17 pm

Wow xc90 is more fuel efficient? Can share the city driving FC figure? Interested in buying one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
          • Anonymous on Apr 06, 2015 at 8:19 pm

Then again, Minister didn’t say ‘as good as Volvo’ or ‘as fuel efficient as Volvo’… just said ‘as safe as Volvo’.

Just correcting that wee bit so as not to look like a fool who can’t read the article. Sorry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
          • samboob- on Apr 06, 2015 at 8:54 pm

If I claim Vios is much reliable than Volvo , can? My neighbour’s old volvo ends up at SC. Probably because no spare parts available

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
          • tokmoh (Member) on Apr 07, 2015 at 12:41 am

@fckeen

Official 2015 XC90 T6 fuel consumption 7.7L/100km combined, the T8 hybrid 2.5L/100km. The T8 hybrid is confirmed to arrive later this year CBU Sweden, so go book one already.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GQ786N7K2KM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M8dzJEPXLPo

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jlkqnVoQxqY

• samboob on Apr 07, 2015 at 9:02 am

@Hoo
            The FC is better but the price? Dun give Langkawi price or US price as only dreamers will compare that, back to reality, only some people are in Langkawi.

• kadajawi (Member) on Apr 06, 2015 at 8:10 pm

What does the fuel consumption have to do with safety?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
          • tokmoh (Member) on Apr 07, 2015 at 12:51 am

To say Proton is on par with Volvo, it gotta match all aspects.

Clearly, Volvo is ahead of Proton in safety, fuel consumption, power, quality, etc.

One of Proton’s weak point is poor powertrain. They’re not the fastest, nor the most economical.

Before thinking of being already on par with Volvo, match their powertrain’s performance first. Next to Drive-E’s, Iriz’s S4PH + punch CVT is dinosaur. On par with Volvo? Lel

Drive-E will spawn a 3-cylinder 1.5L turbo soon, good luck to Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
          • kadajawi (Member) on Apr 07, 2015 at 5:25 am

The article, and what MITI said was about safety. Not the other things. And in terms of safety Proton is pretty close to Volvo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
          • Ananz on Apr 07, 2015 at 10:20 am

In my opinion Proton can only claim they are as safe as Volvo if they are able to get the same scores under ANCAP or EUROCAP and also get the top safety picks under IIHS.
            Most of the new Volvo like S60, XC60 has top scores in IIHS. V40 got 36.67/37.00 under ANCAP and Suprima only 34.25/37.00 which scored even lower than a Honda City.

• kadajawi (Member) on Apr 07, 2015 at 8:06 pm

34.25 is still very good, and far above what a sub V spec City can achieve. The thing we have to remember is that all specs of the Preve and Suprima offer the full protection, including manual variants, while with most other cars (which usually _can_ be safe too, apart from the new Vios perhaps, and the Avanza/Innova/Axia) will force you to get _a ton_ of other stuff you may not care about if you really want a safe car. If they even offer it in Malaysia at all. And keep in mind that all of that is offered in a car that costs half as much as competitors. Yes, taxes may play a part in that, but in the end what does it matter? Even when tax free competing products cost more.

• tokmohpondan on Apr 06, 2015 at 8:22 pm

You admit you feel insulted? I dun see many of them said that before, even p1 fans got tonnes of such comparison with other brands, noone feels that way..

You must have soft heart like woman, aaawwwwwwwww!!
          Pondan!!!!! Hehehehehehehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
        • Aero (Member) on Apr 07, 2015 at 5:28 am

@tokmoh

Okay, thanks for the info. As far as I know, Proton imports all their safety tech except HPF.

I personally don’t mind that Proton imports their safety tech, it’s incredibly expensive to design independently, and if anything goes wrong, people could die. Most car companies still import their safety tech from independent companies today, and that’s perfectly fine by me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
          • Madani Sahari (MAI) on Apr 07, 2015 at 12:17 pm

Kereta Proton better than Rolls Royce or Bentley. Syabas Malaysia!

• satumi on Apr 06, 2015 at 6:56 pm

Aero – I hope you give more shit to that MITI ass

• kadajawa on Apr 06, 2015 at 7:51 pm

Dear Aero,

Rant as you like, but in Langkawi for sure you will rather buy Volvo duty free price instead of buying Proton.

Please admit your hypocrisy. Honesty is best policy.

Thank you and best regards.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
        • You lost in defining hypocrisy, if you are rich enough to buy a bimmer, would ride a kapchai?

If justice is equal rights, you buy a bra for you son?

Too many old men with childish minds here, sigh.

• Justice Bao on Apr 06, 2015 at 11:27 pm

What does justice got to do with bra?

• Gold Avanza on Apr 07, 2015 at 8:39 am

Agree.

Sam loo daughter mummy buy bra. Sam loo say to wife, why discriminate our son one? So sam loo go buy bra for son in the name of equality and 1malaysia muhibbah spirit freedom of speech.

Br1m money still got a lot so sam loo hailat can buy sticker no smoking sticker dvd sticker wifi sticker so cool one like bus transnasional.

• Aero (Member) on Apr 07, 2015 at 5:33 am

You’re wrong. If I was in Langkawi or Labuan, I’d still buy a Proton.

It’s just that Proton has not made the car that I want just yet. I’m hoping for a Prevé with a 6-speed manual. I love how Proton offers a Iriz 6-spd MT, but for some reason, I always loved the Prevé most. A Suprima S 6-spd MT will be welcome too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
          • Kambeng on Apr 07, 2015 at 9:59 am

You know what they call for person bought Proton/Produa at Labuan? Stupid person

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
          • yoldrim on Apr 07, 2015 at 11:05 am

You can save money for fuel, go for holiday, save into unit trust. If he is stupid to save and get back more money then the one who calls him that is more stupid.

You dun know anything about compounding do you? Car is not an investment, just a tool to move from A to B and safety between the two is vital.

• Hipokrit on Apr 07, 2015 at 1:23 pm

“If I was in Langkawi or Labuan, I’d still buy a Proton.”

You confirm stupid beyond repair.

• yoldrim on Apr 07, 2015 at 1:53 pm

His money his choice la. 20k difference is not small

• Why Pay More? on Apr 07, 2015 at 7:03 pm

Yes, the difference is not small. Thanks to the “protection”, a 80k Corolla with top notch safety with 7 airbags(Better than Iriz) in Langkawi becomes 130k in Malaysia. We can save the 50k for fuel or holiday or into unit trust investment but nope, the money goes to “protect” the useless Proton. Proton is just wasting the rakyat’s money

• kadajawi (Member) on Apr 06, 2015 at 8:14 pm

You also have problems reading? MITI states that modern Protons are as safe as Volvos. Not that Proton is as great a car maker and innovator.

Even that statement goes a bit far, a Volvo is safer. But if Volvo is 100%, then Proton is maybe 90%, together with the better mainstream cars sold here, and Perodua and Toyota (sold in Malaysia) are 30%. Proton is competitive.

The idea was to tell Malaysians that Proton is as safe as the safest cars sold in Malaysia, better than most Japanese brands they would usually buy. And that is true for the most part, there are only a few exceptions, and they usually cost more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 23
        • kadajawa on Apr 06, 2015 at 10:47 pm

The idea of Proton as good as Volvo or BMW is laughable because none of you macai will buy Proton in Langkawi anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
        • Aero (Member) on Apr 07, 2015 at 5:20 am

Hey kadajawi,

I’m sorry for the misunderstanding. However, I must say that I read the article properly, and I know what MITI was trying to iterate. I still stand by on my previous comment; it’s not right to claim that new Proton cars are as safe as Volvo Cars.

Let’s just disregard the fact that Proton doesn’t make their own safety tech. Let’s focus on what we customers are faced with. First of all, Proton only has three 5-star safety rated cars, the Prevé, Suprima S and Iriz. If you count the fact that the Suprima S is essentially a Prevé with a restyled rear, then it would be just two 5-star cars. However, Volvo has ssooooo many 5-star safety rated cars, and they’ve been at it for decades. Yes, Proton is a new company, and they’ve succeeded in making a 5-star safety rated (specifically 5-star ANCAP) car in 2012, but the majority of Proton’s model range is NOT 5-star rated. The Saga and Persona sell wayyy more than the Prevé. Even the Satria Neo outsells the Suprima S. The Iriz is not selling as well as the Saga, despite being infinitely better and more competitive, but slightly more expensive. Until Proton can transform their whole model range, or at least the majority into 5-star safety rated cars, no one can claim that Proton as a whole is on par with Volvo or any other establish Euro marque in terms of safety. One or two good cars cannot make up for the lacks of four or five bad ones.

Secondly, Proton’s safety standards on their Prevé and Suprima S may have met 5-star ANCAP safety standards, but that was in 2013 and 2014. EuroNCAP and NCAP have already been implementing higher safety standards for new cars. The new standards include tech like autonomous braking, lane watch, sign recognition, pedestrian protection etc. If Proton sent the same Prevé and Suprima S to ANCAP today, I can guarantee you that it will only get 4-stars. Plus, the Iriz still hasn’t been tested by ANCAP. Why ? I’m aware that Proton is working with LG on their next generation safety, but the fact is that it’s still in the prototype stage for now. We still don’t know if it will work out, and if it does, which markets will get it ? Will we get it at all, or is it just for the U.K. and Australia ? I also understand that unlike Volvo which sells expensive cars, Proton is a low-end manufacturer. If Proton can match what Volvo can offer, and yet price their cars much cheaper, then it’s a different story. However, for the time being, Proton is not out of the woods yet, and having a few 5-star safety rated cars is not enough. They must make many more 5-star safety rated cars to prove that they really put emphasis on safety. And by 5-star rating, I mean 5-star ANCAP or EuroNCAP, not the useless ASEAN NCAP rating.

I cannot tolerate MITI’s statement because they’re not being objective and honest enough. On your second paragraph, I would say it’s more realistic if; Volvo 100%, Proton 60%, Perodua 20%, UMW Toyota 10%.

• IrizX on Apr 07, 2015 at 4:34 pm

You are wrong.

Proton only has 2 5 stars rated ANCAP car. Iriz only got cheap Asean NCAP. So in that sense, to put a blanket perception that PROTON (as the entire range of products with that brand name) is SAFER than VOLVO(as in all VOLVO cars), is nothing less than pure lies, misinformation with unpure intent and evilly seditious.

• kadajawi (Member) on Apr 07, 2015 at 8:22 pm

MITI said _modern_ Proton vehicles. IMHO that means Iriz, Preve and Suprima. The Exora is semi modern perhaps. Persona and Gen-2 are grandpas that should have been phased out long ago (they have already been replaced with the Preve/Suprima pair, it’s like Perodua keep selling the Kancil despite the replacement already being offered), and the Saga is a bit better, but (over)due to replacement this year. And I expect the new car to be at least as good as the Iriz… maybe with a few more budget cuts (hopefully nothing crucial) cause the sedan tends to be the mainstream model for Proton.

Volvo is great, I know, I get it. But they are priced way out of range for Malaysians. Volvo stands for safety. But the problem is that Malaysians think Proton is the least safe option there is. That’s why someone needs to step out, and maybe exaggerate a bit and say that actually they are competitive with the best out there. And Proton is much closer to Volvo than to Perodua or Toyota. Not quite there, yes. But close.

The Preve, tested in 2013 (not 2012) received a similar rating to the V40 that was also tested in the same year. And keep in mind that 1 of the 2.something points difference in the score is because of the seatbelt reminder.

I doubt Malaysia will get the LG tech, it costs money and it doesn’t make sales in Malaysia (unless it does do adaptive cruise control). But keep in mind that right now Toyota sells a D segment car with 2 airbags and without stability control. I remember that in Europe they stopped selling such cars in the mid to late 90s. It will take a long time before Malaysia gets the really advanced tech for affordable cars. Proton is already far ahead of its competitors.

I don’t think Proton is at 60%. Maybe 80. And they mostly lack on additional features, though they have the really important stuff like stability control.

What Proton now needs is more models, yes, but they are coming (really what is needed is the new Saga, and to phase out the Persona, Gen-2, Satria Neo and Inspira (or upgrade the Inspira to modern safety standards… trivial for that model since Mitsubishi obviously developed that car with safety in mind, the tech exists and was developed for that car)). Cut down the forest of models. And introduce better engines and gearboxes. I propose Aisin 6 speed torque converters instead of the Punch CVT. As for engines… the big issue is IMHO that even if Proton were to offer very modern engines, maybe sourced from Europe, small, powerful and frugal engines, who is going to take care of them? Proton mechanics, or most mechanics in Malaysia, aren’t trained for them. And while you can expect a Mercedes owner to go to a Mercedes specialist and pay him like a doctor, you can’t expect the same of a Proton owner. He will go for cheap mechanics who have no clue about the engine.

• Justice League on Apr 07, 2015 at 6:33 pm

Proton is safe? Fine. But why “force” the car on us? I mean why still “protect” Proton if it is as good as it claims? The Rakyat should be given the choice to buy the cars they want, with the same tax system. If foreign cars are tax 100%, Proton should be tax 100%. Now, with the “protection”, everything the minister said will be just thin air because there is no fairness in competition. In other words, Proton is not competitive. Don’t BS that Proton is cheap because it’s not in the real world

• jebone on Apr 07, 2015 at 7:44 pm

Irizx is still living in denial. Several postingshere ady gave some links. Read it but still denied. You better go to psychiatrist

• Asian Volvo on Apr 06, 2015 at 6:16 pm

Proton easily No.1 car in Sweden if really better than Volvo then. Geely of China should have buying Proton instead of Volvo.

Last time shouting to the world as the Asian BMW. What a lame joke it was. Now shouting again to become the Volvo of Asia. How delusional.

Let’s see how huge the losses made by Proton this year. Maybe another half billion ringgit again. Would the same minister dare to tell it at Dewan Rakyat on behalf of Proton? Hahaha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 9
    • All the while I was told its 5 star NCAP.

Now only I realise, its not even tested on NCAP but only with Asean NCAP.

Lies and misrepresentation.. again.. hmmm.
      Going for Korean Car. Atleast they don’t cheat on safety.

• olio benzina on Apr 07, 2015 at 12:33 pm

I also speechless.
      Why talk about vulva?
      Save that for biology lesson.

• Number 1 on Apr 06, 2015 at 4:36 pm

MITI – Talk kok No.1
    Proton – Jaguh Kampung No.1

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 147 Thumb down 13
    • Number 2 on Apr 06, 2015 at 5:14 pm

Toyota/p2 = moving coffin no.1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 39
      • Money Burner on Apr 06, 2015 at 5:35 pm

Hahaha… Moving coffin again. Ok lah but with certain Protons, you get coffin + cremation Super Value(SV) package. People burn money paper for their ancestors while Proton supporters burn Malaysia dollar for Proton

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 10
        • Number 2 on Apr 06, 2015 at 5:46 pm

Where got deaths over p1 fire? While Toyota got sued over deaths. Is it same?

Use brain. Dun tell me other countries dun do bailing out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 23
          • Money Burner on Apr 06, 2015 at 6:23 pm

Got sued? Show me the court case. Don’t talk kok if don’t have. Toyota did the recall on its own but Proton got do recall ah? Btw, the death is by Takata airbag in HONDA, not Toyota. Use your brain to read

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
          • bestbeast on Apr 11, 2015 at 9:59 am

Please check several toyota lawsuit on unintentional acceleration several states of US…Please google yourself

• Obviously (Member) on Apr 06, 2015 at 8:28 pm

Money Burner,

Since you asked for it:

http://nypost.com/2014/03/19/toyota-to-pay-1-2b-settlement-in-vehicle-acceleration-lawsuit/

http://www.reuters.com/article/2010/02/08/us-toyota-lawsuit-idUSTRE61758B20100208

And as a bonus, something from Australia, but totally unrelated to car reliability:
            http://www.caradvice.com.au/138299/toyota-us-sued-by-woman-over-creepy-stalker-campaign/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 15
        • kadajawi (Member) on Apr 06, 2015 at 8:19 pm

nypost.com/2014/03/19/toyota-to-pay-1-2b-settlement-in-vehicle-acceleration-lawsuit/

And many more. Toyota had to be forced to do the recalls, they weren’t willing to do so in the beginning.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
          • Obviously (Member) on Apr 06, 2015 at 10:54 pm

Oooh, kadajawi, looks like we angered some Toyota fans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
          • kadajawi (Member) on Apr 07, 2015 at 5:28 am

Yup. They can’t accept facts and reality. A bit like those crazy Republicans in the US.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • kadajawi (Member) on Apr 06, 2015 at 5:25 pm

Proton is on a similar level with other car manufacturers for the most part (in terms of safety). That’s what MITI stated, and that is true. Australian crash tests (Preve) confirm that.

The technology Proton has is not rocket science, every major car manufacturer has it, including Toyota, Honda and Nissan. The difference is that Proton is offering some of the tech for 40k, and all for 55k or so, while Toyota for example charges at least 137k or so for it. Pay less (or even more, in most cases) and you’ll get a car that is far below Proton’s standard. For Honda to get a competitive car you need to get a Jazz or City V spec, both of which are significantly more expensive (though much more reasonable than Toyota).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 45
      • kadajawa on Apr 06, 2015 at 5:41 pm

Proton must sell 10 million cars per year first, then can talk big like jaguh global. Anything else is just a Bangla dream.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 14
        • kadajawi (Member) on Apr 06, 2015 at 6:18 pm

Why?

465,866 cars sold in 2014.

That is Volvo. Record sales for them. https://www.media.volvocars.com/global/en-gb/media/pressreleases/155922/volvo-cars-reports-record-sales-in-2014

Proton sold 115,783 cars, which was an all time low, and it seems like it is going up again.

Yes, Volvo still outsells Proton 4 to 1, but Volvo is far from 10 million cars. You say Volvo is a lousy kampung car maker?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
          • tokmoh (Member) on Apr 07, 2015 at 12:54 am

Meanwhile, new Volvo XC90 has received nearly 24,000 pre-orders in same time period.

For all other current models, Volvo reported 107,721 Q1 sales.

• Gimme stats of where those 115783 Proton cars reside and where those 465866 Volvo are.

No brainer you can also figure out that all those 100k P1 cars are in Msia, and sales was “great” because it’s cheap.

• kadajawi (Member) on Apr 07, 2015 at 8:31 pm

So you say since the Volvos are sold to foreigners, those sales are worth more? You say Malaysians aren’t worth as much as foreigners?

• Anonymous on Apr 06, 2015 at 8:26 pm

10 million cars worldwide per year? Really…? Only Toyota and VW sells upwards of 10mil… followed by GM with 9.92mil.

So… lets speak of something a bit more realistic.

• Whenever p1 said in any topics everyone is like loosing their minds.

• Bangle on Apr 06, 2015 at 10:10 pm

What? Last time was “Jaguh Kampung” now becomes “Jaguh Global” ah? Proton mahu diketawa dunia?

• defty on Apr 07, 2015 at 1:35 pm

OMG you blind? No such words in his comment. Better check your eyes

• mklll on Apr 07, 2015 at 6:51 pm

Dear defty, are you illiterate? Can’t you see the words “Jaguh Global” in kada’s comment? Better check you eyes because you are a blind supporter

• Still remember at the time when ppl claimed that the waja was as good as BMW. And here we go again. Very funny indeed. Nonetheless proton have indeed improved on safety. Kudos to that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
        • jokowi on Apr 06, 2015 at 6:33 pm

2010 – BMW of Asia
          2015 – Volvo of Asia
          2020 – ???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
          • Why not it’s like a pray

• Abu Sayur on Apr 06, 2015 at 10:31 pm

Rolls Royce of Malaysia -2020

• Gold Avanza on Apr 07, 2015 at 8:42 am

If potong is volvo then sam loo’s hailat is hummer and my gold avanza is scuderia ferrari.

• BeemerFreak on Apr 06, 2015 at 11:10 pm

What do you mean common? They seem common due to the naming conventions, however the way they operate will likely be night and day. Volvo has those mentioned electronics since the 90s, do you think they have not progressed since then. They have sensors that monitors almost everything for the safety nets to work in accordance to different situations not just one setting and that’s it by Proton.

yes proton is the best in terms of local mad, but to compare with Volvo? Please that’s just like comparing Malaysia’s economy and Japan’s. Both are growing at almost the same rate, but are they at the same volume????

• meng meng on Apr 06, 2015 at 4:36 pm

Do a test. Proton iriz langgar vovol.
    MITI punya orgI SIT in iriz…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 180 Thumb down 4
    • do like fast7 chicken game who will win?
      which chassis still in the good shape…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • kadajawi (Member) on Apr 06, 2015 at 5:30 pm

https://www.ancap.com.au/safety-ratings/proton/preve/1014b7

https://www.ancap.com.au/safety-ratings/volvo/v40/108a51

The final score is not as good as the Volvo, but it is very close. A 2 1/3 point difference out of a max of 37 points, and one point is missing because the seatbelt reminder isn’t sufficient. The Proton even does better for whiplash protection, while the Volvo is better at protecting people you run over, GTA style.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 13
      • kadajawa on Apr 06, 2015 at 7:35 pm

In Langkawi you sure go buy Volvo duty free price than buy anything Proton. Stop lying to yourself like a hypocrite, okayy!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
        • kadajawi (Member) on Apr 06, 2015 at 8:24 pm

Link. Show me how cheap the Volvo is in Langkawi. Stop pulling bullshit out of your arse. Where is the proof that the car is much cheaper in Langkawi? A Camry that is 175k is 115 in Langkawi, so a V40 would still be at least 2-3 times as expensive as a Preve. Which is almost as safe.

• kadajawa on Apr 06, 2015 at 10:52 pm

The bullshit is on you when you will not even bother Proton cars in Langkawi anymore. Hypocrite as you are.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
          • kadajawi (Member) on Apr 07, 2015 at 5:31 am

Why? I would not mind buying a Proton in Langkawi. It is still cheaper than competitive cars. To get a comparable Altis I would have to top up around 26k… the cheaper Altis models are junk.

• Hipokrit on Apr 07, 2015 at 1:31 pm

“I would not mind buying a Proton in Langkawi.”

HaHaHa! Stop kidding yourself lah. Spoke like a true liar and hypocrite!

• meng meng on Apr 06, 2015 at 6:51 pm

Vovol can consider sue MITI or proton liao…
      coz they make vovol standard, safty look as low as proton..

• kadajawi (Member) on Apr 06, 2015 at 9:18 pm

First learn some English. Then look at the actual test results… the Volvo V40 and the Proton Preve performed nearly the same in the crash tests done by ANCAP (Australia). Some areas Volvo was better, some Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
        • kadajawa on Apr 06, 2015 at 11:02 pm

Australians buying far more Volvo and BMW cars than the irrelevant Proton cars. You should follow how smart thinking they are. Even Great Wall China cars selling more than Proton over there. Why is that so? Never mind, hypocrites like you can never smell own hypocrisy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
          • kadajawi (Member) on Apr 07, 2015 at 5:36 am

You just heard the word hypocrite and now want to use it all the time, is it? To show how smart you are? Then learn what it means. Hypocrisy, the new resale value?

I am German, German passport, Germsn educated, lived most of my life there. I would buy a modern Proton, or at the very least consider it. Especially given the other options in Malaysia. Now I demand more of a new car… LED or HID headlights, adaptive cruise control, automatic braking and steering assist, and Proton doesn’t have those things. But neither does pretty much any other car in Malaysia, no matter how much you are willing to spend.

Compared to the other options in Malaysia I find Proton’s offerings very attractive and good value for money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
          • Hipokrit on Apr 07, 2015 at 1:39 pm

A smart German will never buy a Proton.

• Proton is private? Seems like no. Can see here how a government minister commenting on ‘private companie’s’ product.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
    • tailong on Apr 06, 2015 at 5:14 pm

if people u stupid, u’ll get angry. read lah before commenting. it was a written reply. one mp posted a question, kena la jawab. if not, some quaters will say this minister chicken scared, cannot answer..bla bla bla. sigh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 13
  • Kotembad on Apr 06, 2015 at 4:37 pm

Of course, Proton might not be so reliable but they excel in safety features. Unlike that piece of scrap metal Perodua.

I’d pick the safer car. You can fix a car (or replace it) but you can’t fix yourself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 13
  • meng meng on Apr 06, 2015 at 4:37 pm

Muka sangat2 terbal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
  • jarhead on Apr 06, 2015 at 4:39 pm

Uh….. Volvo has bonnet airbags, high pedestrian crash ratings, BLISS, their version of distronic, radars to prevent pedestrian crash, anti collision warnings, lane drift warnings, apart from dual stage deployable airbags and sensors that detect the position and weight of the passenger before deploying the airbag in the event of a crash. As safe as?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 3
    • kadajawi (Member) on Apr 06, 2015 at 4:53 pm

It gets the same ratings. The Volvo will be a bit better, yes. It will be better at avoiding an accident in the first place (though Proton is already ahead of most Toyota models sold in Malaysia, let alone Perodua). And it will be better for any pedestrian you may run over (but I’d expect Malaysians to deactivate those features anyway… “you mean I have to replace the bonnet airbag if something happens? And it doesn’t protect me? Deactivate la!).

Proton is doing a pretty good job, especially considering the price. You have to spend much more to get a car that is able to compete.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 39
      • kadajawa on Apr 06, 2015 at 5:05 pm

Wrong. You can get a much cheaper car in Langkawi for the same spec if not for Proton’s “protection”. In other words, other cars would have better equipment for the same price if not for Proton. Also, proton is no match when it comes to safety equipment compare to Volvo. Last but not least, Volvo got 5 stars Euro NCAP safety rating while Proton is tested using Asian NCAP, not even Australia NCAP which Proton lies about it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 16
        • bliss on Apr 06, 2015 at 5:17 pm

Picanto and Honda can give better spec, why not Toyota/p2

There you go – Prve 5 Star Australasian NCAP
          h ttp://www.globalncap.org/ancap-a-first-for-proton-preve-achieves-5-star-ancap-safety-rating/

• kadajawi (Member) on Apr 06, 2015 at 5:39 pm

Show me. Which ones?

The Preve was tested by ANCAP, and got 34.25 out of 37 points, while the same segment Volvo V40, launched in the same year, got 36.67 out of 37. Is the Volvo better? Yes. It is. Overall too, obviously. But it costs 3-4 times as much. Do you think there is a 400% tax on Volvo? At most the Volvo should cost 2x as much, IF Proton were to be tax free, and Volvo were hit with the highest possible tax rate. Both of which isn’t the case.

Also, Proton is able to sell its cars outside of Malaysia at a lower price than in Malaysia, because even Proton is taxed heavily in Malaysia.

I know that in Europe car manufacturers offer safe cars for something like 10000 Euro, which is roughly RM 40000, and that includes 20% GST. But those aren’t offered in Malaysia. In Malaysia the last features a car can get is safety specs, while in Europe it is the other way round. There, 6 airbags, stability control and a strong chassis are standard on base spec cars that have 60 hp in the B segment, or 70-80 hp in the C segment, that have tiny steel rims, no aircon, no powered windows. In Malaysia, car manufacturers will first add huge alloy rims, aircon, parking sensors, leather seats etc. before they add safety features. That drives up the price a lot.

The good thing with Proton is that they offer good safety even on lower spec cars that lack other features.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 30
        • kadajawi (Member) on Apr 06, 2015 at 10:57 pm

I looked it up. A Preve, highest spec, in Langkawi is 69k. The only Altis that is as safe as the Preve is the top spec model with additional safety package. That one costs 86k in Langkawi, 137k in the rest of Malaysia. Yes, the Altis is closer to the Preve in terms of pricing, but it’s still much more expensive. And if it is just safety you are after, even the most basic Preve is as good as the most expensive Altis, and better than all other versions.

So even in Langkawi the Preve is cheaper, despite a lack of protection.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
          • kadajawa on Apr 06, 2015 at 11:57 pm

Between a 86k Corolla and a 68k Preve, which would you choose? I think most will prefer the 86k Corolla. As the price gap narrows, most get the one with better build quality and proven reliability, not to mention a better drivetrain(Better CVT) as tested by PT. Btw, i only have one original comment, the rest with the word “hypocrisy” are not by me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
          • kadajawan on Apr 07, 2015 at 7:20 am

The Altis is safer by design, as it can only reach 120km/h.

• freshd on Apr 07, 2015 at 9:08 am

Bolehland people mostly are living in mainland / borneo. Why you took Langkawi prices as comparison ?

• kadajawa on Apr 07, 2015 at 9:39 pm

Why? To show that with the same price, you can get better value for your car. We are paying more just to “protect” Proton

• jarhead on Apr 06, 2015 at 6:02 pm

Same ratings? Are you sure? Look up what it takes to score 5* on Euro NCAP vs Asian NCAP.

Also, look at how Both cars are put through their paces. Volvo has their own test facility To research and develop safety. They have their own crash test facility to simulate all sorts of crashes. All this is done BEFORE the car is pushed out into the mass market and to EURO NCAP and NHTSA crash test facility. As safe as? Please! Let them fit 6 air bags, traction and stability control + ABS as standard, and get their cars tested in Euro NCAP. Then they can brag.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
        • kadajawi (Member) on Apr 06, 2015 at 9:24 pm

Proton equips the Iriz Premium as well as all Preve and Suprima variants with 5 airbags, traction control, stability control and ABS. Lower end Iriz models still have TC, ABS and stability control, they just lack the 4 additional airbags. Considering the price that is still very good.

EuroNCAP will only test the cars when they are sold in Europe… since Proton isn’t doing that (yet?) they don’t get tested. ANCAP, which tests very similar to EuroNCAP, did test the Preve. And they tested the Volvo V40.

I agree, ASEAN NCAP is worthless, it’s intention is to mislead customers into thinking lousy Perodua and Toyota models are safe. But thankfully the Australians have proven how good Proton actually is these days.

Designing a safe car isn’t that hard, most major car manufacturers have that knowledge. However they may chose to produce cars that aren’t for markets that don’t demand good safety, because actually producing the safe car costs a bit. Not so much, but it costs, and if they can increase their profits, they will, even if it costs lives.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
          • kadajawa on Apr 06, 2015 at 11:10 pm

Thankfully the Australians are smart enough for not buying Proton much. The Proton total sales there is a joke despite the ancap ratings. Only hypocrites like you can never understand why, exactly the same reason why you choose Volvo BMW Toyota in Langkawi but not Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
          • tokokk on Apr 07, 2015 at 11:15 am

@Kadajawa
            You want to buy Volvo BMW Toyota Mazda Nissan Bentley Bugatti in Langkawi goi ahead lor. Noone stops you.

Most people dun stay in Langkawi, why should they care aboout it?

• kadajawi (Member) on Apr 07, 2015 at 8:35 pm

He wants to say that without taxes, Proton would be as expensive as other, “better” cars. Closer, yes. But still cheaper. And those cars usually aren’t better in terms of safety. Also, don’t fool yourself. If Proton were to go away, the prices would remain high. Other cars wouldn’t get cheaper. But the affordable option is gone. The tax income goes to the government, and they don’t want to give the income up.

• @tokokk
            Of course you don’t care, you are ignorant of the real price in the real world. This is the standard price, not the double price for “protection” non-sense

• tokmoh. on Apr 06, 2015 at 6:42 pm

The fact Volvo has poor RV scares away most non-Volvo enthusiasts. They’d go for flashy cars with gearbox that breaks down after 3 miles off the showroom, to impress chicks they can afford to buy and fix their problematic junk.

That leaves Volvo only owned by people who are truly, madly, deeply in love with Volvo brand and everything the brand stood for. It is sacrilegious to behave negligently/recklessly for one to call himself a Volvo owner.

Sadly, V40 sold here don’t come with bonnet airbag, so can’t deactivate cuz not there in the first place.

• Heng Lee on Apr 07, 2015 at 5:09 pm

Your beloved XC90 is worldwide known for it’s problematic gearbox?

• Proton definitely is as safe as a Volvo, no doubt. A Volvo from the late 90s.

• 4G63T DSM on Apr 06, 2015 at 4:42 pm

Another shoik sendiri statement.

As good as vovlo? Where is Proton’s AEB? City Stop? Is the car smart enough to fire the side and curtain airbags before a roll over event? BLIS?

Volvos AEB is even better than Mercedes…….

MITI , not all 5 Stars are equal. Some are more equal than others.

Sounds as bad as the “world class education” said a certain minister. This MITI fellow must be from the same stock.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 10
    • Jimmy on Apr 06, 2015 at 4:58 pm

Granted.

‘Lotus ride and handling + 6 airbags + ESP’ that’s all Proton has. Is there anything else that you need to improve?

For a cheap car, how are the ride and the handling?

Heard the noise level of the CVT is just unbearable, true?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
      • The sound is not that bad.

• haiya on Apr 07, 2015 at 1:10 pm

@4G63T DSM
          What syok sendiri? Clearly the statement is based on the test which does not require all the features that are not in p1 car. But later p1 will have all this as the requirement is getting higher.

You can’t understand simple English? Duh.

• Anonymous on Apr 06, 2015 at 8:17 pm

Minister didn’t say ‘as good as Volvo’… only said ‘as safe as Volvo’. Suggest u re-read the article before makin a fool of urself.

• Kick Ass on Apr 06, 2015 at 9:57 pm

As safe as Volvo? You must out of your mind, living in lalaland. Proton is no where near Volvo in terms of safety equipment. I suggest you kiss the minister’s ass if you agree with him

• kadajawi (Member) on Apr 07, 2015 at 5:42 am

The safety equipment of a Volvo V40 in Malaysia is similar to that of a base spec Preve. A few more things, but nothing crucial. And both cars have been tested by the Australian ANCAP, including side impacts, and the results are in both cars very good. The Volvo has better seatbelt reminders, which gives it one out of the 2 1/2 points more it received (both cars get almost 37 points, which is the highest possible). As far as whiplash protection is concerned the Preve even beats the Volvo.

• 4G63T DSM on Apr 06, 2015 at 10:31 pm

I suggest you read my statement again. The items I listed are safety gear, which certainly satisfy your “safe as Volvo” part.

You sir, are certainly a product of our world class education. Reading comprehension = fail.

• yawnn on Apr 07, 2015 at 4:46 pm

You are a failed guy.
          The comparison IS based on the NCAP test. Not on features you listed.

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 06, 2015 at 4:43 pm

The cars maybe safe (IF the safety features work as EXPECTED), but with Proton quality, your bank account, FD, EPF, money in the pillow are considered RIP.

Proton’s quality, enough say.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 22
    • VHL Lorr on Apr 06, 2015 at 6:38 pm

with ‘jamban junk’ local UMW Toyota (with exception of Camry hybrid and highest spec Altis with extra Safety package), not only your bank account, FD, EPF, money in the pillow RIP (due to awesome built quality that tumbling down to drain nowadays), everything (even you and your passengers’ limbs, skulls and bones) are considered RIP once you crash due to no VSC and just 2 airbags equipped.

UMW’s bloodsucking quality, nothing new. Must show their ‘excellent’ profit record to that son of Puki (oops son of Suki)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
      • Ya Lorr on Apr 06, 2015 at 8:06 pm

All Protons got VSC and 6 airbags ah? If not, you must be the son of PK as all Protons except those with VSC and 6 airbags are ‘jamban junk’

• Proton Penipu on Apr 06, 2015 at 4:45 pm

“As for the Iriz, Proton has been a little inconsistent in its messaging – initially it claimed a five-star rating for Australia’s ANCAP, but this was later revealed to actually be ASEAN NCAP”

Proton penipu!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 5
    • kadajawi (Member) on Apr 06, 2015 at 4:58 pm

The only reason why Proton can’t say 5 star ANCAP rating is because ANCAP hasn’t released their results yet, as the car hasn’t been launched there yet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
      • kadajawa on Apr 06, 2015 at 7:39 pm

The only reason why you would buy Volvo duty free price at Langkawi but not Proton car is because of your hypocrisy at highest level.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
    • Jimmy on Apr 06, 2015 at 5:01 pm

May not be penipu. Initial overconfidence maybe lah.

I don’t know if Proton is the King of cost optimisation.

• bantah gst on Apr 06, 2015 at 4:48 pm

for sure Volvo laughing like no tomorrow for this statement

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
    • Meanwhile, other moving coffin brands still milking owners lives like no tomorrow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
      • define on Apr 06, 2015 at 6:03 pm

Moving coffin means no VSC?

• VHL Lorr on Apr 06, 2015 at 6:20 pm

Yes, a brand new RM150k ‘jamban junk’ cars can be openly sold to public, but anyway, still got many sorhai that will rushing to the showroom and buy it without thinking twice, ‘T’ ma, sure got good RV one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
          • samejunk on Apr 06, 2015 at 7:27 pm

So, you’re saying Saga is a ‘jamban junk’?

• viosjamban on Apr 06, 2015 at 9:31 pm

Saga is derived from savvy, that’s not the time safety features as much as today. Vios has already reached generations, so the jamban junk is the right name for it

• protonjamban on Apr 06, 2015 at 9:51 pm

Why Proton still selling the Saga today without safety features? Jamban junk(Invented by Proton supporters for Proton) is also the right name for it

• viosjamban on Apr 07, 2015 at 12:26 pm

Saga will be replaced by Iriz sedan, so by right VDC should be there. How about jamban Vios? Until when people should wait?

• protonjamban on Apr 07, 2015 at 6:19 pm

Until Saga got VSC, then Vios will have VSC. When will Saga be replaced? Last year said until now still not replace. When is it exactly? For now, Saga is still a ‘jamban junk’

• Gracke on Apr 06, 2015 at 4:49 pm

I rather sit in Volvo…..the V40 enough…!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • sukai on Apr 06, 2015 at 5:04 pm

haha.. you indeed can sit only.. but to drive it using your own fuel money,sure it will move for weekend car only..haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
      • Fuel Money on Apr 06, 2015 at 5:25 pm

BS lah, the new Volvos are more fuel efficient than your Proton. You’re driving Proton, right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
        • Gracke on Apr 06, 2015 at 5:37 pm

Luckily, has someone who understand volvo, thanks :-) yes, more fuel efficient, more powerful, more safety, more practical and LESS FUEL CONSUMPTION!!!

• tokmoh. on Apr 06, 2015 at 7:04 pm

Drive-E yo~

Merc can’t brag to have most powerful 2.0L engine for long when Drive-E’s triplecharged 450HP arrives fufufufu

• unying on Apr 07, 2015 at 1:58 pm

BS lah, FC good also no use because every month money goes for paying huge instalment

• P1 Sucks on Apr 07, 2015 at 7:37 pm

Paying huge instalments thanks to Proton. The BS is on you

• Ha hahaha ,
    i just read one quote from Malaysia Mail .
    putrajaya said proton is as good as BMW .
    what is a volvo lah compare to proton .

i will be calling proton, BMW already lah .

• yes…. i agree proton now are same level with volvo…. for 20 years ago… not today

• unknown89 on Apr 06, 2015 at 4:54 pm

Would like to see how the crash test goes. A head to head test with a Volvo

• kadajawi (Member) on Apr 06, 2015 at 5:49 pm

Same test, same obstacle:

• YEKE???…dont make urself like a dumb ass or people will lough at u non stop…proton is far away from volvo even ur quality is not good enough as continental car…but still support proton to improvising all matters step by step

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • What quality of Volvo? You dun know unless you drive both of same segment.

• Joker on Apr 06, 2015 at 5:00 pm

Seriously….. **facepalm

• I think there are on the par with BYD, Tata, Chery..another 5 years maybe on their own…

• kadajawi (Member) on Apr 06, 2015 at 5:05 pm

Proton can compete with cars sold in Europe for the most part. Some crash avoidance technology is missing, but the structure is good and stability control is present, as well as a reasonable amount of airbags (for Iriz Premium, Preve and Suprima).

Is it going a bit far that it is as safe as a new Volvo? Yes. Of course. But compared to what Perodua is selling in Malaysia? Or Toyota? Proton is far ahead of them. Toyota of course has the technology, but withholds it from (most) cars sold in Malaysia. Both Prius models they used to sell are safe, the Camry Hybrid and the highest spec Altis with additional safety package. GT86 too, probably. And maybe the Alphard? Honda too sells plenty of cars that can’t compete with Proton… Honda could do it, but won’t. The new Mazda 2 sold in Malaysia is another sub par model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
    • tokmoh. on Apr 06, 2015 at 7:08 pm

RM 270,000 Previa aka estima only 2 airbags, ABS, no VSC, topkek safety.

• viosFTW on Apr 06, 2015 at 10:09 pm

Volvo is also big NO because not so reliable, topkek rosak. Baik beli Vios boleh tarpau Volvo for breakfast lunch dinner supper

• Exora for You on Apr 06, 2015 at 11:37 pm

Volvo not reliable? You better buy Exora

• tokmoh (Member) on Apr 07, 2015 at 1:30 am

Hello, topkek rosak belongs to German and French cars. DSG? TSi twincharge crack? Banyak Masuk Workshop? Peugeot turbo bocor? Battery short lifespan cuz of crappy Peug electronics? Legendary Tiara with Citroen parts? Savvy AMT useless Renault gearbox?

Volvo got what rosak? Still got plenty of Volvos older than you running around, rosak apa if bole jalan?

Vios wanna tapau Volvo, you’ll fly and meet your God before that happens, that’s why Vios is called GODCAR, now faster go shooh shooh.

• kadajawan on Apr 07, 2015 at 7:36 am

You’re a very funny guy. Your XC90 is well known for it’s transmission problems, the 2004 XC90 saw 3X as many complaints about the transmission failing as it did in its inaugural North American model year… ;)

• oldvolvo on Apr 07, 2015 at 1:44 pm

@tokmoh
            Where to get cheap old Volvo spare parts? I want to buy old Volvo

• tokmoh. on Apr 07, 2015 at 4:53 pm

XC90 T6 admittedly was a bit problematic, used GM’s gearbox. The other variant using Aisin gearbox was normal. When Volvo was under Ford, it wasn’t the best, so good thing it’s ended.

For the rest of Volvo, they’re relatively more durable. The older rear wheel era 940/740/240/older are bullet proof, they can really last for very long time.

@oldvolvo : u can join fb group Volvo Owners Club Malaysia, there’s plenty of helpful members there.

Also, look for JimVolvo on fb. He deals with a lot of 240/740/940 parts especially.

• Meowman on Apr 06, 2015 at 5:05 pm

The rest of the auto industry has moved on to crash avoidance and yet our auto industry is still talking about crash mitigation.

Looks like our auto industry still have a lot to catch up.

• kadajawi (Member) on Apr 06, 2015 at 6:04 pm

Proton has some crash avoidance technology, and has shown a prototype that has more.

But this is Malaysia. In Malaysia, brand new cars are sold that don’t even fulfill what base spec cars in Europe had 15 years ago. That Proton is offering the same as a current base spec car in Europe is very good. That’s much more than some other brands offer, even though they charge much more. Why is a 40k Proton Iriz safer than a 150k Camry?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
      • kadajawa on Apr 06, 2015 at 7:32 pm

In Langkawi you won’t touch any Proton cars at all. Better buy Toyota or Volvo duty free price, tak mahal sangat. Don’t be hypocrite, okay.

• kadajawi (Member) on Apr 06, 2015 at 9:28 pm

I checked the prices. A high spec Preve costs 69k, the cheapest Altis costs 71k. However the Altis only has 2 airbags and no stability control. I’d pick the Preve. The only Altis worth considering is 86k… highest spec with safety package. But that’s a 15k increase. And there are cheaper Preves that are just as safe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
          • kadajawa on Apr 06, 2015 at 10:41 pm

You still buy Toyota at Langkawi no matter what. Stop fooling around pretend yourself not drooling over Altis sleeker design than Preve fake European accent. The more you argue, the more hypocrite you gonna be.

• altiscatfish on Apr 07, 2015 at 1:34 pm

Altis is ugly like catfish. Preve was designed by Italdesign, a European company. It’s not fake accent.

• kadajawi (Member) on Apr 07, 2015 at 8:52 pm

Eh. Altis? No thanks. The Toyota Auris, yes, ok. That’s quite ok. But the Altis? Oh please…

I never owned a Toyota, and I don’t wish to (except for the GT86). I’m happy with European makes.

• IrizX on Apr 28, 2015 at 9:13 am

You sure? let’s head on crash a Camry with an Iriz!!! See who survives! You can volunteer to be in the Iriz and Sam Loor can go into the Camry!

• “This rating puts the Proton car models on par with other popular car makes like BMW, Volvo, Toyota and Honda,”

– This statement alone made my day. Are you serious Dato’? What ever you’re smoking, please pass it around.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • Anonymous on Apr 06, 2015 at 8:38 pm

Relax dude n keep your panties on… its just the safety rating… not overall standard performance or such.

• kadajawi (Member) on Apr 06, 2015 at 9:31 pm

True. How dare he compare Proton with those unsafe cars from Toyota and Honda? Only few models from T&H can compete with even the most basic Preve when it comes to safety. For example the nearly 140k Toyota Altis in the highest spec and with the additional safety package. Only that can compete with a 60k Preve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • Balls on Apr 06, 2015 at 5:08 pm

Wtf? They don’t even have the cars in the same segment. Also the ignorant MITI doesn’t event know the materials used in both cars are the same? Sure proton can all the acronyms but low quality ones vs high quality mechanisms not known. Volvo has European NCAP. Proton get that also la.

• frauseeur on Apr 06, 2015 at 5:23 pm

Why low quality? It’s sourced from same providers such as Bosch

• Balls on Apr 06, 2015 at 5:37 pm

Again, Bosch dont sell just one product. They have the low grade items and the high end items. Just by having bosch items does not mean same.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
        • frauseeur on Apr 06, 2015 at 5:42 pm

They got quality assurance lor, if not they dun dare to make it in developing countries.

Example, airbags. Takata got recalls while bolehland’s not.

• Balls on Apr 06, 2015 at 9:50 pm

It’s becos developing countries are willing to settle for brand rather than pay extra for “real” quality. Proton airbags no recall because they don’t even fire. Bang already still not activated.

Next time buy the lower end products with big brand names and see if quality the same. Big brands know that developing countries rather have the look and name rather than functionality. Thts how China products become popular here

• kadajawi (Member) on Apr 06, 2015 at 11:02 pm

That is bullshit. If the airbags and other parts don’t work, it is the supplier, like Bosch who suffers. They need to protect their brand, and they may have to pay for expensive recalls if they screw up.

Lower quality materials for non safety related parts is fine and not a problem. But when safety is concerned…

• Balls on Apr 07, 2015 at 7:07 am

Guess U are not experienced when it comes to buying low end products with big brands. My suggestion is for you to try a simple product. Try buying a rm50 Bosch car horn vs rm200 Bosch horn and see which fails first.

• Again, it’s been tested by NCAP. Why so hard to believe?

• Desperate nya… sampai nak gunakan MITI. Anyway, non of these agencies worth listen to.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • my laughing medicine on Apr 06, 2015 at 5:15 pm

no wonder malaysia become a laughing country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • Proton ada apa? VSC, VSC and… VSC lol. Ada apa lagi?

*In before Vios no VSC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • Banyak, now Iriz with VDC consists of:

ESC
      TCS
      ABS+EBD
      BA
      Hill Assist

Yup, Vios no VDC, even VSC also none, LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
      • padanmuka on Apr 06, 2015 at 5:39 pm

Lol serve him right. Padan muka nak sangat, ambik ko. HPF chassis, even at new Mazda6 ada berapa ketul je.

LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
      • Kenny on Apr 06, 2015 at 5:49 pm

I dont need all of that.what i need and always is my smart brain and art of footwork.

• UMW Mampus on Apr 06, 2015 at 6:08 pm

Brother… smart brain and art of footwork doesn’t help in emergency. No matter how smart and safe you drive, sometimes accident is not caused by you but external factors.

Malaysians need to be more safety conscious seriously!

• Proton Kantoi on Apr 07, 2015 at 11:51 pm

Smart brain don’t buy Proton, smart brain buy Volvo

It’s safer and better than Proton

• No VSC on Apr 06, 2015 at 5:51 pm

And Saga got VSC? Nope

• And saga was derived from savvy. Vios got no VSC aftrr generations.

• If old, why still sell the junk to the rakyat?

• Every car has lifespan. It’ll EOL. Better ask yourself why you dun buy car from year 3000

• Wtf you’re asking?

• Why you dun ask Toyota, it’s new but still dun have VSC?

• I hereby urge all ministers of malaysia to change all official and household cars or MPV to Proton. We love proton .

• AKoNGz on Apr 06, 2015 at 5:28 pm

I don’t care about how many airbags that deploys during a crash. I care more about what passive/active safety tools that the car have that can prevent a crash in the first place…

• AcerMan on Apr 06, 2015 at 5:29 pm

Aiyoh……dun la compare Volvo safety sama Potong……
    Leave some face for Potong la……
    This comparison makes Potong tooooooo inferior lo…….
    Haiz……..

• Yeah, they should instead give p2 as example of national cars because they are very safe, same level with Vios Japs brand.

*sarcasm*

• car fags on Apr 06, 2015 at 5:31 pm

kutuk proton mcm keje engineer kat volvo…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
    • tokmoh. on Apr 06, 2015 at 7:14 pm

Volvo is already working on Euro 7, tripleboost 2.0L engine to give 450HP.

So umm, yea, MITI, please don’t embarrass yourself comparing with Volvo.

• nothingtoshoutabout on Apr 06, 2015 at 9:56 pm

Boring, twin charge, twin turbo etc, that’s not impressive. If Volvo so good, why not doing it without turbocharge?

• Corporal on Apr 07, 2015 at 10:44 am

What nonsense are you talking about? Most manufacturers are moving towards forced induction for their engines be it supercharged or turbo for better efficiency and power in smaller engines. In that case why even Proton have 1.6 campro turbo???

• nothingtoshoutabout on Apr 07, 2015 at 11:25 am

My point is, any companies can reach that stage, nothing to shout about. See my nick?

• IrizX on Apr 28, 2015 at 9:18 am

Proton has smaller turbo charged engine not because Proton is visionary. Proton simply don’t have the budget or technical know how to build a new bigger engine. So the Campro needs to be milked until year 4040.
            The so called ‘new’ VVT engine in iriz is nothing more than a slightly modified cascaterated Campro CFE without the turbo.

• zulrili on Apr 06, 2015 at 5:36 pm

So why this shits people use merz or BMW? cakap kosong… ask him to use first, then only promote to rakyat… useless fellows…

• P@cat on Apr 06, 2015 at 5:38 pm

Actually i do agree.. On par with Volvo’s..but probaby failed to mention on par 10-20 years ago.. lol

• cendol (Member) on Apr 06, 2015 at 6:06 pm

WHat is the use of MITI anyway?
    MITI should just ride into sunset
    Transport MInistry is enough to do the job, if there is any.
    THen we have SPAD, another jargon

• Klau Ada $ Wa Xkan beli potong on Apr 06, 2015 at 6:10 pm

first malaysia’s english standard better than sg’s, now this, adui, tak malu ke ?
    quality bagui sangat, government vehicles smua kasi tukar proton la

• tokmoh. on Apr 06, 2015 at 7:18 pm

Interestingly, during pre-Proton days, Volvo was very popular govt cars. The 124, 144, 164, 240, etc were popular as they’re very good. Police used them for their fleet alongside Alfas and Datsuns as well.

Then, the mamak came and changed everything. Genius.

• annonymous on Apr 06, 2015 at 6:15 pm

Is this the joke of the month? I know la, because Proton uses Volvo’s invented 3-pointed seat belt so they dare to claim Proton is as safe as Volvo ahahahahah

• tokmoh. on Apr 06, 2015 at 6:18 pm

Mabuk ketuk ke diorang ni?

Master race Volvo shalt not be compared with dirty Proton peasants.

• taksukakeluar on Apr 06, 2015 at 10:02 pm

Yes, give support to chinaman company, not bolehland.
      You are more worth to live there too

• tokmoh (Member) on Apr 07, 2015 at 1:17 am

What if I told you I drive both?

They both serve their own purpose, so they should not compare aspects they’re not made for. Cause if you do, it’s completely one sided.

• taksukakeluar on Apr 07, 2015 at 11:08 am

Ok, so I dun have to compare Master race Ferrari with dirty Volvo peasants

• tokmoh. on Apr 07, 2015 at 11:42 am

This topic started cuz MITI compare Proton with Volvo, u go compare Ferrari with Volvo for what? Nak jadi lagi bodoh dari menteri?

• taksukakeluar on Apr 07, 2015 at 12:44 pm

Apa pulak, dah you buat statement macam tu, bila orang lain buat tak boleh pulak?

If you don’t want others saying what you dun want, then don’t say anything that might cause it in first place! Understand?

I’m not fan of Volvo, the design is ugly

• tokmoh. on Apr 07, 2015 at 4:40 pm

Menteri cakap bodoh, kita bahan dia.

Ko pun nak orang bahan ko gak ke? Takde hal la, cakap la lagi, ko nak boikot, bakar Volvo pun, sumpah tak kesah.

• Bear in mind that volvo technology starts from the point of imagination n creative thinking where that particular point proton imagination n creativity stops thinking.
    So proton thinking is same like orang gila with less clothes n dam smelly on side of road think that he is everything….pls b professional for God sake. People around the world already laughing blindly on us n proton statement is icing on that.

• Hippocrite on Apr 06, 2015 at 6:22 pm

Wonder if the menteri drive Proton or not. Jangan2 always drive Toyota or Mercedes.

• gan gan on Apr 06, 2015 at 6:25 pm

Our Menteris’ stupidity is getting out of hand.
    Please save them

• Leafable on Apr 06, 2015 at 6:26 pm

Sorry MITI can I steal this great line for my next comedy standup. Its a killer.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Apr 06, 2015 at 6:41 pm

I absolutely agree with MITI & Putrajaya that new Proton cars are as good as Volvo & BMW. Now please remove the car protection since Proton has already grown up & able to stand in its own without support from other car companies. Local sales is expected to grow by double digits, so other makes are no longer a threat to the national car maker.

• C.P.MOHAN on Apr 06, 2015 at 6:43 pm

I have no objection if PROTON want to be like the best in the business since the customer wins in the end. Don’t we all aspire to be the best, so why can’t PROTON. What bothers me is not the aspiration or the comparison but the “handicap” tax and the uneven playing field.

• Tak Laku on Apr 06, 2015 at 6:59 pm

Proton on average selling only 30-40 cars per month in Thailand, Australia. Global car indeed.

• Alan Leow on Apr 06, 2015 at 7:02 pm

Come On!please don’t compare with VOLVO brand because base on VOLVO quality and safety standard,PROTON make themself as clown.

• hazamiey on Apr 06, 2015 at 7:20 pm

5 star NCAP? Ya, ya, ya, I know u got all those safety features just name it ABS, EBD, TCS, BA, Hill assist or whatever. Mcm ni lah, how about Proton improve the material quality used in all the current models or upcoming models. More insulation so that we hear less tyre noises, higher quality leather interior especially the leather seats. Soft touch materials applied to dashboard and doorcards. Make it on par with Japanese, surpasses the Koreans and if possible catching the build quality of the french cars. Of course we don’t expect you to match BMW, Audi or Mercedes. Ah, and please maintain all those safety features. And the sublime handling as well. Then sell at the price that you are charging us right now. Then we wont complain about proton. BTW I am not proton basher, owned Gen2 for the past 8 years and love how the car’s look and handle. I just dislike the archaic Campro sluggish perfomance in low RPM, cheap interiors and poor build quality. Driving in above 4000 rpm in 150 kmh through PLUS highway going to Johor, you can’t hear your friend talking at the passenger seat. Unless you use stickier or softer compound tyres. Why on earth is hard for you Proton to improve the quality?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • kadajawa on Apr 06, 2015 at 7:46 pm

Why need to improve when if failed always enjoy bailout either from willing rich cronies or maybe standby credit from MITI?

Failure is okay punya culture lah.

• CFEdriven on Apr 06, 2015 at 9:11 pm

Preve turbo can do 2,000RPM at 100km/h

• Jamil on Apr 06, 2015 at 7:23 pm

Recently I took delivery of my Suprima S premium variant. Found it full of features comparable to expensive imported cars. Riding stability, brakes, nvh are good. Attractive design and interior layout. Power is more than adequate for normal use. Sales staff and explanation given by delivery proton staff were examplery. I’ve owned and driven conti, korean, jap, and british made cars in my >40 years of driving. I think proton is on the right track. I just don’t understand all these noises against proton, unless of course, if these people have some agenda in their minds.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 24
    • kontikinte on Apr 06, 2015 at 8:45 pm

this is the actual mentality of most malaysian towards 2020 that i notice in PT… full of hate and full of complaints.
      U can’t say any good thing from proton bcoz in the end of argument u will be called cronies or government supporter thus all of ur bullet will not be counted. Good Luck!

*owhh.. in here ppl also hate Vios as much as they hate P1

• lingerie dept on Apr 06, 2015 at 9:10 pm

Yes almost all of them are SA, including undergarment section

• Jamil on Apr 07, 2015 at 4:00 pm

Just an after thought, after looking through some of the comments here, both pros and cons. Seems most commentators did not grasp the issue here. Yes, proton did made mistakes, Yes, proton did provide bad aftersales service, Yes, previous proton cars are of inferior quality and poor build quality. However, proton is trying to change all that, and moving forward for the better. A nation with a manufacturing industry is better than a nation without a manufacturing industry, but made wholly of consumers – in terms of economics. You can give your opinions and criticisms, but do so constructively, and with good intentions. If a person is trying to improve, and had shown improvements, give due recognition. Some of the comments were way off the mark. It’s just pure blaberring. And please, try to show some good manners. btw, I’m not a Malaysian, but someone who love Malaysia for the good it has given me, in terms of hospitality, good life, and harmony in living – despite some negative aspects (well, nothing is perfect in this world).
      What I’m trying to say, is do discuss in a constructive, and mature manner.
      Thanks.

• chikubi on Apr 06, 2015 at 7:40 pm

Pongpang2…As if ramai yang komen here have a volvo…jub0

• volvodriver on Apr 06, 2015 at 9:05 pm

Semua ada sebiji volvo kat sini, kau sorang je sengkek sangat takde apa.

*sarcasm*

• Jilbaber (Member) on Apr 06, 2015 at 7:43 pm

Try test your car with IIHS standard first la…then can say on par with Volvo or BMW

• Small Overlap on Apr 06, 2015 at 9:18 pm

Exactly! Their small overlap test!

• Small Overlap on Apr 06, 2015 at 9:24 pm

Current USA Audi A4 scored P for small overlap test. Get “M” or better and will be better than Audi

• old dog on Apr 06, 2015 at 7:48 pm

the problem is not only safty which MITI claim, as thought the non-bolehland customers are idiots..
    selling to UK/Euro also have C02 emission regulations…

So the product developed in the first place has nowhere to do but Bolehland

• taugeh on Apr 06, 2015 at 7:56 pm

Just bash the minister
    He gave the answers, not proton.
    But all of you bashed proton like no tomorrow.
    If proton is bad, just don’t buy.
    Furthermore it was based on scientific evidence. Both Volvo and
    Proton undergone the same test, and both got 5 stars.
    So, based on that both cars were equalled.

• Sharon on Apr 06, 2015 at 8:02 pm

No need to be too proud with your japanese, american, korean, china, sweden, german cars. After test by euroncap and whatever ncap with 5 stars.

The cars have minor defects or serious defects such as steering column problems, airbags defects, brakes defects and many more.

Only after years of owning the car, only you given notice to check and change.

Not only Proton cars do have problems and defects.

• Anonymous on Apr 06, 2015 at 8:07 pm

It is truly mind boggling that everytime news regarding P1 comes out… so does the numerous haters dig themselves out of the woodwork. Their lives must be so hollow to keep up with something they hate. Why else would anyone read up and offer their opinions (while some mere ignorant rantings) on things they despise..?!

True to what Kurt Cobain said… ‘opinions are like assholes… everybody has one’

• Tau takpe ;)

• Same Same Lol on Apr 07, 2015 at 12:21 am

Same can be said regarding T news

• tokmoh (Member) on Apr 07, 2015 at 1:45 am

Adat melayu kata “pukul kerana sayang”, so we actually butthurt kerana sayang.

I once came across a quote: “The opposite of love is not hatred, it’s apathy.”

That’ll be something for you to chew. Cheers.

• Sy ckp u nie org bodoh maksud sebaliknya pandai?

• taksukakeluar on Apr 07, 2015 at 12:58 pm

Tokmoh tu tak reti beza constructive and destructive crticism.

• tokmoh. on Apr 07, 2015 at 5:04 pm

Ok la I insaf lah, Proton is the best car in the world, tak boleh dikutuk, Proton is perfect you know, PERFECT.

Terima kasih Tun M, tak kerana dia, tak dapat rasa bangga la ada Proton. Proton pun bangga la sampai nak pergi buat kilang kat Bangladesh.

Tak ada kereta lain successful cam Proton, so syukurlah Proton maju jaya ke arah kuasa besar dunia

• IrizX on Apr 28, 2015 at 9:14 am

Bodoh tak faham England, sila pergi sekolah belajar.

• thebosssedangbercakap on Apr 06, 2015 at 8:18 pm

proton handling is equal to ferrari’s – Meetee

• fanboymaxx on Apr 06, 2015 at 8:33 pm

Too many guys here c’crying’ like women when they read this. What happens to the world next? Men give birth? Women grow hairs?

• Halal & Fair GST on Apr 06, 2015 at 8:55 pm

If Proton is as good as Volvo then MITI should remove the car excise duty. Fair open competition.

The loss of RM9 billion car excise duty annually can be recoup easily from GST RM30 billion collection.

Therefore the 6% GST will replace the 65% car excise duty which is both morally cruel and unfair against rakyat.

New car price system OTR:
      Factory price + GST 6% + Insurance

• Jagabuah XJS on Apr 07, 2015 at 11:13 am

Please stop bashing the import duty. It is to keep big ticket consumer spending local. Not unique to Malaysia.
        You think Japan, Korea and even US don’t have import tariffs to protect own car manufacturers? So what if government bail out Proton. Do you know how much and how many times the French government spent on bailing out Renault?
        GST may hurt consumers a little. But the hurt is only a little and even that is lessened knowing that businessmen have to pay correct taxes due.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Teksi Kangkung on Apr 06, 2015 at 8:44 pm

I wont be surprised with such cock-bullshit claims of proton cars…

Remember the TV advert of Proton Savvy?? This car was shown on national tv that it was undestructable, even been attacked by dinosour…

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CfTEFiRg6s4

Nationwide bull-crap advert, by proton…

• sanct on Apr 06, 2015 at 9:40 pm

If you believe such ads, you must believe all same lorrr’s words here then
      Loolllllloooooooolllllllllzzzzz

• harryharrymau on Apr 06, 2015 at 8:49 pm

I would be much insulted if I were Volvo. A johnny-come-lately like Proton cannot possibly be compared to be equal to Volvo. Can’t they choose some other brand if they need to shiok sendiri. The politicians are outdoing each other with ridiculous statements that don’t synch with the real world. Maybe they have lived in fantasy island fr too long. Wake up please la. Don’t embarass us before a globl audience

• shawal on Apr 06, 2015 at 8:50 pm

Proton cars getting is a sign of progress, as a malaysian, i am proud of my countrymen’s achievement, of course this statement is not coming out of proton’s mouth, they have learned humility through the hard way ( ” remember waja is asia’s answer to 3 series”)

once proton dumps the abysmal punch sourced gearbox for a modern torque converter cvt, it will be enjoyable to drive,

I urge the public to test drive the manual iriz, d steering feel, ride and handling is right up there with the best for its class

• IrizX on Apr 15, 2015 at 2:27 pm

And when will they dump PUNCH? Doesn’t seems anytime soon. year 4040??

Until then, the auto IRIZ and all Proton CVTs are pure junk.

• blaster88 on Apr 06, 2015 at 8:56 pm

It takes more than adding safety features to be on par with the likes of Volvo or BMW…built quality, ride, handling, performance, safety, new technologies etc. etc.

If Proton is as good as Volvo or BMW, it should be priced competitively…say as much as BMWs?

A bit of automotive history here…Proton and Hyundai came into existence the same time – 1985, look where Hyundai is today…I rest my case.

• hyundaikia on Apr 06, 2015 at 9:34 pm

Not really same fate, Hyundai and Kia have advantage of being much bigger companies than p1. That’s how capital power plays the game.

• Not Enough? on Apr 07, 2015 at 12:32 am

Rakyat’s tax money not enough capital for Proton?

• Beat those multinational companies that are times much bigger than p1 in resources, capital, manpower etc.

Rakyat money is only tiny dot in a big circle.

• Ooh… i see. So the rakyat wasted 20 years of their tax money on Proton? Can you ask Proton to return that tiny dot of money to us? It’s a big circle for us. Tq

• Wasting? Many job opportunities, not to mention tech and skilled trained workers, etc . Despite the bigger capital resouces etc Jap took longer time to be one today.

• blaster88 on Apr 07, 2015 at 9:23 am

Huh? Proton has the nation’s coffers at their disposal plus a lot of technological help from established automakers like Mitsubishi, Lotus, Renault etc. After 30 years still jaguh kampong?

Yea…nice try. Great excuse.

• ProtonKantoi on Apr 07, 2015 at 9:57 am

In the first place, Hyundai hired the right people to do the job. It’s all about passion and innovation.

Hyundai outsource a lot of their car design and tuning to establish players. They also joint venture with Porsche, Mitsubishi and now, even BMW to develop their hybrid.

The Koreans even manufacture their own autobox and even engines after years of learning via joint venture. They even setup a technical center in nurburgring to fine tune their car suspension.

What have proton achieve besides ugly R3 and ah beng stickers ?

To me proton is more of a egoistic political company. Without protection and even current dismal global acceptance, it should have been closed down. It’s a cancer to our Malaysian economic.

• P1 has Campro and developed by Lotus, it’s still an achievement. Gearbox would come later, hopefully

• blaster88 on Apr 07, 2015 at 5:25 pm

After 30 years….one Campro engine which is nothing to shout about and still no gearbox???

• IrizX on Apr 28, 2015 at 9:21 am

Campro is a piece of shit and one of the achille heels of Proton. The other being the Punch CVT.

Achievement!!! LOL. More like Hall of Shame!

• IrizX on Apr 28, 2015 at 9:22 am

Proton will only hire if the religion and race is compatible. :rolleyes:

• Sam Loo Ori on Apr 06, 2015 at 10:23 pm

Hyundai has reached the hailat stage. At least proton got better RV.

• kadajawi (Member) on Apr 06, 2015 at 11:05 pm

MITI only said they are on a similar level in terms of safety, and that much is true. They didn’t mention performance, build quality etc.

And look at the price. It’s good that Proton offers safe vehicles at affordable price points. Other brands don’t do that, even in Langkawi.

• minister on Apr 06, 2015 at 9:18 pm

M’sia minister’s word, who will believe… LOL… M’hathir own ppl again trying hard to sell car.

• Ismail on Apr 06, 2015 at 10:08 pm

Proton = Garbage shit junk

Period and end of argument.

Everybody knows that and everybody agrees.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • Jimmy on Apr 06, 2015 at 10:11 pm

Really? To make me believe… Please use a volvo and proton to have a head to head collusion then I’ll see how safe is a 笨蛋 then…. 笨蛋 (proton) give 笨蛋 (proton) comments on safety… Wahahahahaha

• autodriver (Member) on Apr 07, 2015 at 12:10 am

modern proton car can be tough like a tank but what does it mean if they were not in good sales. At the end they have to quit from the market. Proton need not only focus on its safety though it is important, but they need to invest on R&D, quality improvement and also the after sales service.

We known modern proton casing is strong but the quality still in question, this takes time to prove. But one thing I very sure is that the NVH of proton has never close to any brand. The engine noise and air-cond compressor noise are horrible and unbearable. This is not what modern customers looking for.

• kadajawie on Apr 07, 2015 at 7:15 am

Exactly true. Take Australian car market as example when every car is similar safety specs including Proton. Toyota total sales 400k cars vs. Proton 800 cars sold.

That’s the reality of open competition level playing field for Proton. What a joke.

• Malaysian too stupid, unable to build a proper car. Proton need survive in auto market must follow Perodua way which is only do assembly car, no need involve R&D.
      Peordua very good in copy, all product launched is par with giant manufacturer standard.

• IrizX on Apr 28, 2015 at 9:25 am

What’s wrong with Assembly? Look at Thailand. Car industry boomed (thanks to Proton and Mahathir) and has became the Detroit of Asia? Malaysia? The Joke of Asia!!!

• kadajawie on Apr 07, 2015 at 6:58 am

2000 – BMW of Asia

2015 – Volvo of Asia

2020 – Bangladesh Car Of The Year

• When MITI say Proton is safe as Volvo, it doesnt mean they are directly comparing Proton with Volvo. Its more like an analogy to me. Based on the article, I dont see any statement by MITI saying that Proton is as safe as Volvo. Instead he mentioned this; “This rating puts the Proton car models on par with other popular car makes like BMW, Volvo, Toyota and Honda”. In my opinion, that statement mean Proton is able to make a safer car by putting a lot of safety features on newer model eg. Preve, Suprima, and Iriz compared to the older model like Persona, Saga, and Exora. I dont know what is the intention of the writer writing this article. Before you say Im a Proton fanboy or crony, Im just a Malaysian that want our automotive industry to improve and expand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • kadajawie on Apr 07, 2015 at 9:06 am

Yes with new Bangladesh factory soon, hopefully Proton can increase export units from 5,000 to 5 million cars.

• Why not? Expanding their business and grabbing an opportunity is what entrepreneur normally do. Even Toyota have assembly plant in Zimbabwe.

• Jamil on Apr 08, 2015 at 8:17 am

666, I agree with you. Many Malaysians have self-defeating mindsets. They always compare Proton with the koreans and japanese brands. Bear in minds, the koreans and japanese are homogenous societies. It’s easier to unite such societies and garner support for a common goal. Also, during their infancies, their government did provide protection schemes for their car industries. They started as inderiors, even after many years – remember the Hyundai Pony and Datsun 1200? But they persisted, and with their people and government support, they slowly progressed and move forward. I do admit Proton has it’s weak points, e.g. work attitude of some staff and workers, also some in the top management. It needs to prop up these aspects. However, with the people’s and govt support, Proton can move forward, and become one of the core impetus for the development of Malaysia.

• p1closeshop on Apr 08, 2015 at 12:20 pm

But other brands SA want p1 to close shop in the name of their money, how?

• autodriver (Member) on Apr 07, 2015 at 9:47 am

We all hope our national automotive will improve and success to keep a place in one day, but how long it takes? Shouldn’t has proton grow up since they first launched the Proton Saga in 1985.

No doubt the new models like Preve, Suprima S and Iriz launched in recent years equipped with high level of safety and this is a good sign for Proton. But some of the areas still need lots improvement work to be done such as refinement of engine and gearbox and furnishing of interior and exterior. Look at the front bonnet the gap between the body shell was big and visible. The engine is such a unpleasant roar noise and less refined CVT. Besides the after sales service was so important but I didn’t seen Proton has work on it closely. Nowadays services charges of Proton SC is higher than many foreign cars.

Proton shouldn’t stop at this level only as safety feature isn’t the ONLY FACTOR consumer buy the car. If that is the case Volvo should selling well but it turn out Volvo is bad selling worldwide.

• kena main on Apr 07, 2015 at 1:36 pm

as i always said, we always kena main by the writer in order to get more clicks

• Gold Avanza on Apr 07, 2015 at 8:32 am

If car so good then why so difficult to crawl back to UK market?

Go back and beg la to beloved master in UK. Slave mentality Potong love UK 2nd home got big condo EPF money battersheet one.

Potong scared jeremy clarkson put bomb in Potong car? Clarkson already resign laa. So what excuse?

• kadajawie on Apr 07, 2015 at 9:16 am

MITI better remove the car tax since Proton is on par with BMW Volvo Toyota.

Let see if rakyat still buying Proton or not.

Come on, jaguh global mana boleh takut open competition punya.

• Why Japs Korea US China have sort of protection too? If they have why not bolehland?

• Why not? Because we pay more for expensive cars. Duh! Other countries have protection but they sell more to provide economy for their country. Proton? Less and less even with protection and asking for more money. So why are we even protecting Proton?

• vvtidual on Apr 08, 2015 at 12:22 pm

Nope, their industries have downs and ups, and their gomen did bailing outs

• “Modern Proton cars just as safe as Volvos – MITI”

But it is still as shitty as Proton.

• Ha Gnih on Apr 07, 2015 at 9:19 am

Wow! Like really ?!?!? Then why do I see less and less Protons out there ? Not even the much-hyped-about Iriz. Even the Preve and Suprima S are rarities these days. Hmmmmmm………..must be too good until people rather leave them alone. Stupid.

• horny sambal on Apr 07, 2015 at 9:45 am

Must says, it is good that proton is emphasizing on safety by putting 6 airbags and VSC and creature comfort on their current model as compared to sushi folks. Now if only they improve on the interior quality before they start comparing with their euro counterpart. Please compare with kimchi first as I hate to admit, proton is nowhere near the current crop of kia nor Hyundai.

Alas, it’s still a good move by proton to give back more to the Malaysians as compared to perodua or vios or Nissan. I didn’t mention Honda coz they already follow suits by throwing 6 airbags and VSC.

• Fairuz on Apr 07, 2015 at 10:06 am

If MITI say the Proton car safety (suprima & preve & Iriz) is good, yes I believe it because I’m own SUprima S. The handling and performances is precise and satisfied, also can smoke most of the car on the road. This car easily can reach 200km/h with normal mode.

But the nightmare is on quality and service center. I have a lot of quality issues on my suprima S. For example bonnet hard to open, gear cannot shift from P, radio issues, leather seat easily worn out, etc. When bring to SC, all abovesaid reported issues is cannot be solved. If compare to my honda, it’s far away better in term of quality and after sales services. It will very good if proton can do something to enhances the quality trim on the car.

• Ken Ng on Apr 07, 2015 at 10:24 am

The comparison is simple, Volvo’s aims to have zero deaths or injuries in its new cars as of 2020.

Now BEAT THAT Proton! Only then I’ll accept you as on par with Volvo.

• olio benzina on Apr 07, 2015 at 12:22 pm

Zero deaths or injuries by 2020?
      Maybe you got advance copy of Volvo’s press release which is supposed to be released just before midnight Dec 31st, 2019.

• If you cannot match with other people, just keep quiet. Challenging it will makes you look more stupid to your already stupid character. This id Volvo, not Trabant.

• Please read more, so that it don’t make yourself look stupid

http://paultan.org/2008/05/11/volvo-wants-injury-proof-car-by-2020/

• What so special about that? Even china homegrown companies can also claim

• olio benzina on Apr 08, 2015 at 11:08 pm

What’s stupid is swallowing a company’s mission statement wholesale no matter how improbable it is.

2020 is less than 5 years away we are still seeing clips or drivers trying to beat railway crossing lights with catastrophic results. You think they will survive if they were in a Volvo?

Not everybody is a Volvo fanboy or gullible reader.

In that article even Sweden’s head of traffic safety doubts Volvo’s target can be achieved,

• Absolute Ride on Apr 07, 2015 at 10:26 am

Are all Hot Press Forming have to same level of strength? From some info, normal metal steel have 340 MPa – 480 MPa. After the process of HPF, the strength become 1500 MPa.

However, the latest Mazda CX-5 uses Ultra High Strength Steel (UHSS) of 1800 MPa. Are they Hot Press Forming steel also? It is the first automaker using such high tensile steel.

What about Proton and other automakers?

• olio benzina on Apr 07, 2015 at 11:53 am

Please look it up. Mazda use that steel only on front and rear bumper beams. Rest of the car body is normal stuff.

Proton uses hot press formed steel on passenger protection parts of the car body.

Siapa lagi tera?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
      • Absolute Rider on Apr 07, 2015 at 12:25 pm

The main structure (in Mazda cars for example) also have 1500 Mpa steel which is the same stiffness like hot press forming. The bumper beam both front and rear are using 1800 Mpa ultra high tensile steel.

Please read. My first post is just questions whether those metal steel comparable with hot press forming as it can archive the same stiffness. I didn’t say Mazda is better or Proton not good.

• olio benzina on Apr 07, 2015 at 3:07 pm

Your first post is implying that Mazda CX5 using higher strength steel than cars like Proton which uses HPF steel.

But Proton is using HPF steel for large sections of the passenger safety cell whereas Mazda only use the special strength steel only for the front and rear bumper beams. These are not even full length bumpers as people know them.

Each piece is just about the size of a foot long ruler.
          Malu sikit lah boasting your car uses the strongest steel if they are just two small pieces.

• Preve la tera
        I’m not joking

• Tak Laku on Apr 07, 2015 at 12:48 pm

But Proton still struggling with sales and harap diskaun lelong to survive.

Just look at Proton sales in Australia and Thailand. Ada laku kah tidak?

• This article is about safety not about sales number

If you prefer moving coffin go ahead.

• Not Safe on Apr 07, 2015 at 10:07 pm

Nah, supporters prefer burning coffin like Exora

• leonardo on Apr 07, 2015 at 10:29 am

Volvo is now Chinese owned.
    MyVi and Viva is a safer car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • Sonyman on Apr 07, 2015 at 7:33 pm

Lucky own by Chinese. Or else volvo close shop liau. Volvo more fortunate. Poor saab. Close down for good

• leonardo on Apr 07, 2015 at 10:32 am

New Toyota Camry is also very safe, with just 2 air bags.

• wow…i dont think there is a lot of car brand that dare to say they r as safe as volvos

what r they thinking?

• Roque on Apr 07, 2015 at 10:56 am

ahem, i think they forgot April fool’s was on 1st April

• keluangman on Apr 07, 2015 at 12:54 pm

Put your money where your mouth is Proton. I challenge you send your Iriz or any of your to EURO NCAP and USA NHTSA NCAP for ratings. Tengok berapa star lu dapat baru lu boleh cerita Proton as safe as Volvo.

Tolong jangan tipu rakyat marhaen pls!

• sagasaga on Apr 07, 2015 at 1:00 pm

Preve dah ada 5 star Australian NCAP pun, sama je dengan import lain. Cuma markah je beza sikit.

Siapa pulak yang menipu? Tara baca article atas kah?

• Human Crash Test Dummies on Apr 07, 2015 at 12:58 pm

There are two different things when talk about safety, active and passive safety. Crash test results alone does not prove it’s safer. Are you asking everyone to crash their Proton cars to prove it IS safer than Volvo? Even Jap cars don’t dare to say such statement against contis. I think MITI is trying to bring up the sales of Proton.

• japcom on Apr 07, 2015 at 1:28 pm

Jap cars ada berapa ketul je HPF, memang la tak berani. Preve lagi banyak beb

• Kaizen on Apr 07, 2015 at 1:56 pm

Japanese invented TQM total quality management.

Bolehland invented syiok sendiri management (when sales tak laku, create fairy tales to celebrate).

• sonyman on Apr 07, 2015 at 3:51 pm

wah, this is the first time a volvo posting has more than 300 comments. usually if Paultan.org post a Volvo update probably at the most 30 comments.

Well first thing first, Proton, is safe, but never on par with Volvo.

Why? because the difference in the amount of R&D and years of commitment. If you talk about head on 50% collision. everyone can pass. Heck the Camry also no issue.

If you talk about small overlap. Proton Will fail terribly. Not even Camry can take that.

Then the technology involved in designing and developing new steel, mixing different type of steel to absorb an impact and what happens in a collision. Its not just the Airbag in Action, its the entire car.

if proton has the test facilities like in Gotten berg. every day take a car at 6 am to do roll test. pole test, overlap test. run off ditch crash test. High speed flip test. What so ever test.

Then you wanna say Proton as safe as Volvo, go ahead. i dont mind. But proton, you dont have such facilities., and MITI, dont put proton in the spot light. They dont have such capabilities. dont only sent for crash test. Volvo, they do their own crash test before sending their models for crash test.

you guys know that volvo has a facility that can simulate or have any form of head on collision.

Thats what you call technology, Not by sending to ANCAP and claim to the world you the safe car. Yes Proton may be safe, but never on par with Volvo. Sorry ya, might as well say : Proton is safer than many Japanese Cars in Malaysia. That one, no one will say anything.

• That’s because Volvo is not like Proton, everything “Jaguh Kampung”, say this claim that. Remember “BMW of Asia”? Volvo do its homework, do its R&D on safety. Proton? Just “borrow” the tech from other companies or vendors. Simple. No need expensive R&D. Main focus on profit. Also, you can say it is safer than many Japanese cars in Malaysia but not the ones in Japan. Their cars have more advanced safety system than the basic VSC of Proton. Proton can’t even beat the Japanese, much less Volvo but as usual in Malaysia, Proton is “Jaguh Kampung No.1”

• IrizX on Apr 28, 2015 at 9:20 am

The VSC in proton…will it work when the need arise???

Pikir lah sendiri….

• sonyman on Apr 07, 2015 at 3:53 pm

dear Proton, If you built this facilities. You can call yourself almost as safe as Volvo

http://www.caradvice.com.au/2816/volvo-crash-test-laboratory-sweden/

• sonyman on Apr 07, 2015 at 4:04 pm

http://www.caradvice.com.au/2816/volvo-crash-test-laboratory-sweden/

• IrizX on Apr 07, 2015 at 4:17 pm

Muahahahahahaha!
    1. Advanced Technology – Campro how many years already??? Noisy fuel sucking engine!!! Now repackaged as VVT/CFE with some minor enhancement. And i don’t even want to talk about the hopeless CVT gearbox from that Belgian company.
    2. High Quality – if sitting in a car to listen to engine roaring, CVT whining etc is your idea of high quality. I will rather take low quality.
    3. Performance – HAHAHAHAHAHAHA! The Iriz 1.6 CVT is so underpowered, it’ll probably lose to a Savvy! Performance indeed!!!

I love it when these syiok sendiri Minister angkat bakul sendiri. Sendiri Syiok, Sendiri Sedap, Sendiri Beli.

Typical jaguh kampung mindset!

• elizer on Apr 07, 2015 at 4:36 pm

CFE performance is quite ok, 205Nm is more than enough than what you can find on equivalent n/a 2.0l Jap engines. Low torquey summore from 2000-4000RPM. FC? Similar with 2.0l car, city driving can get 9-10km/l.

Iris 1.6CVT is not underpowered, 0-100km sprint can get 11.1sec while lighter Myvi 1.5 auto 12.49sec

CVT? It’s not that loud and only in beginning, at 30km/h it’s similar sound with auto gear.

• IrizX on Apr 07, 2015 at 4:44 pm

Dun bullshit. The CVT has ridiculous whining noise. I have 2 other japanese CVT cars. None have this issue.

And why compare with Mawi? Not like Mawi is the most powerful car on Earth. I have driven it slow like turtle, even the SA red faced and keep giving excuse this is normal driving car blah…LOL.

• elize on Apr 07, 2015 at 7:50 pm

You have two other cars? Then what, the drill please or you are poor kid riding old kapchai

• IrizX on Apr 15, 2015 at 2:31 pm

I have a new City and a Sylphy. You butt hurt?

Both japanese CVT with torque converter.

Pity poor people never ride in better cars.

• olio benzina on Apr 07, 2015 at 5:31 pm

Japanese invented TQM?
    The person who came up with TQM was American Edwards Deming.
    The Japanese hardly invented anything with regard to automobile quality or safety features. They just copy and people like you somehow elevate them to be inventors of things.

• antiproton on Apr 08, 2015 at 1:20 am

any proton=rubbish, premium spec for potong iriz cost rm60k++???
    yes, potong instead of proton…
    who the hell bought that = stupid!!! hahaha…

• CyberPatrol on Apr 08, 2015 at 7:39 am

MITI in reply to question on what it takes to compete with international rival, was total disaster. Not a single word mention on export sales volume of units of IRIZ (a global car) or any plans for export markets of IRIZ. Till today IRIZ is not presented in international auto events since Jan – April 2015 nor any news of new dealers 3S distributors network has been setup internationally. These are answers that public want to hear about our IRIZ global cars exported and purchased by global buyers. Why aren’t MITI did not ask Proton CEO about these objectives are not achieve.

If MITI feels Proton cannot take the major role of making Malaysia a export auto HUB like Thailand and Indonesia. As MITI then do something on a wise decision to make it happen but MITI still dragging his feet for more than 30 years and we witness tremendous auto growth in neighbour countries. Auto investors are not going to wait for MITI with billions of dollars projects if MITI do not make that change.

Lastly MITI please give us your vision statement of Malaysia auto industry, at least we know where MITI is heading.

• IrizX on Apr 15, 2015 at 2:29 pm

We are already too late. Unless all AP is discontinued and tax reduced to same level as Proton. Nothing gonna happened.

• Stupid Malaysians,

Please stop using Korean products. They are just a bunch of liers.

• flyer168 on Apr 09, 2015 at 8:09 am

Talking about Bolehland’s car manufacturers…

Just listen to what this Car enthusiast have to say – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9lMCNqmGFu0

You be the judge.

• flyer1668 on Apr 09, 2015 at 8:16 am

Talking about Bolehland’s car manufacturers…

Just listen to what this car enthusiast has to say – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9lMCNqmGFu0

You be the judge.

• triple h (Member) on Apr 24, 2015 at 10:05 pm

Pariah potong sotong fans always give stupid comments. They lie so much . nowadays so many pariah seports cars on the road like sup rima prebe jawaja inspirated wiraceloplancer satayria aswara mitsubasi iris sona saga ijora low budget sport rim16 ahbeng.they look suck shok ssndiri.booooo

• triple h (Member) on Apr 24, 2015 at 10:21 pm

Puehhh! Pangang pariah potong sotong brand want2copy our evox concept.they shok sndiri look suck like pariah sports cars.pity u boooooo

• KIPIDAB on Jan 24, 2017 at 12:30 am

Hello everyone, I know this post was 2 years ago. You guys still doubt PROTON SAFETY as of now?