2015 Proton Exora facelift launched – RM67k-82k, new range-topping Super Premium variant introduced

2015_Proton_Exora_SP_ 002

It looks like the Proton Exora facelift has made a relatively quiet introduction with units of the MPV – in Super Premium and Executive trim – already in showrooms. For this round of updates, Proton has introduced a new range-topping variant in the guise of the aforementioned Super Premium, which replaces the Prime variant.

In terms of aesthetics, the Proton Exora facelift gets a raft of upgrades in the form of body cladding on the lower front, side and rear of the car for a more robust outlook. The headlight assembly now sports a bronze tinted outlook, again exclusive to the Super Premium, as opposed to the smoked setup on earlier models. On the Super Premium and Premium variants, the fog lamps are replaced by LED daytime running lights.

Profile wise, the Super Premium variant adds on grey side mirrors while the rest of the range receive body-painted finish. Refreshed ten-spoke 16-inch wheels make an appearance – the Super Premium receiving a two-tone treatment instead of an all-silver affair on the other variants.

At the rear, new smoked combination tail lamps are featured along with the inclusion of a fog lamp – on the Premium and Super Premium – for enhanced visibility. A revised wing design also gets featured this time round. Lift the hood and a new ‘Turbo’ badging sits in place of the pre-facelift’s ‘CFE’ tag on the engine cover.

Inside, the range-topping Super Premium gets a faux carbon trim on the centre console. The instrument cluster is now of the Optitron variety while the leather-trimmed seats feature a new design. Additionally, a reverse camera is now standard across all variants. Opting for the Premium and Super Premium variant gets you more safety in the form of electronic stability control (ESC) and four airbags.

A total of seven colours are now available with Luxury Blue and Indiana Grey accompanying the facelifted variants – the other options comprise of Solid White, Elegant Brown, Cocoa Grey, Genetic Silver and Tranquility Black. No mechanical changes are touted on the facelift variants with the same two engines on offer – a 1.6 CPS mill and a 1.6 turbo CFE engine, the latter paired to a CVT transmission.

The Proton Exora facelift range receives a price reduction by “as much as 5.8% or RM4,710 in line with the government’s plans to reduce the prices of cars,” as mentioned by Datuk Abdul Harith Abdullah, CEO of Proton. The Exora Standard MT is now priced (with metallic paint) at RM56,888 while the Standard AT goes for RM59,888 (both receive a price reduction of RM3,100), on-the-road with insurance.

Prices for the Exora Executive CVT now stands at RM66,888 (a drop of RM3,100) while the Premium is priced at RM75,888 (a drop of RM4,710). The range-topping Super Premium is priced at RM81,888 (a drop of RM4,100). All Exora variants get a three-year/100,000 km (whichever comes first) warranty.

2015 Proton Exora Super Premium 1.6 CFE

2015 Proton Exora Executive 1.6 CFE

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Tipu Tipu Rakyat on Feb 05, 2015 at 3:03 pm

Local car cost RM82k?? Are they crazy? For such a junk? The HRV, world renowed is RM99k. Don’t talk about spec. RM82k is so expensive for most Malaysians.

I thought Proton was born to ease the Burden of Malaysians? Looks like Proton is screwing us big time.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 412 Thumb down 285
    • Kereta Mayat - RM82k? on Feb 05, 2015 at 3:32 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 142 Thumb down 272
      • Same L0rrrr on Feb 05, 2015 at 4:33 pm

If people got RM81k, they would go for Proton? lol!!!

You don’t make Proton on par with Toyota/Honda by simply jack up the price. BUILD QUALITY is the key issue.

If Proton come out with the Exora SV, RM50k with minimal specs (no airbags, no ABS) and 5 years warranty, Proton probably can survive the market.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 159 Thumb down 82
        • Carnut on Feb 05, 2015 at 5:57 pm

Most of the Japanese cars sold here are ASEAN models developed for 3rd world country with high car tax regimes. They are miles apart in quality and specs from the real deal models sold in developed countries. They are made to be cheap so that after tax, they don’t become too unaffordable.

Even the higher end models, they take out all the latest features and tech, just to keep it low. Even a small suzuki hustler has anti collision radar in Japan.

No point bragging about owning a Japanese car. We are paying premium for an inferior product from “reputable” Japanese brands. We are all losers when it comes to buying cars here.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 268 Thumb down 12
          • Bangle the King on Feb 05, 2015 at 8:06 pm

The Exora is a handsome car. Better than any Innova or Avanza

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 283 Thumb down 47
          • Car for Poor People on Feb 06, 2015 at 10:46 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 246
          • Same L0rrr on Feb 06, 2015 at 11:33 am

Okey I have to admit. Toyota sales are the worst now. I wish HQ and UMW put VSC in all our cars because the public is boycotting our cars solely on VSC issue.

Sales are so bad.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 4
        • They are heeding the chairman’s advise to price cars expensive so that it will be perceived as high quality car ma.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 17
      • lelong on Feb 05, 2015 at 4:47 pm

The new dark blue colour is easier for JPJ to buy as patrol cars. Help Proton clear stock too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 59
        • JB_KIA on Feb 06, 2015 at 8:09 am

oh…they’re front and sideskirt! At first I thought it is just some hill/valley painting on the side…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
      • alphard is a big kereta mayat.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 282 Thumb down 24
        • ARTop on Feb 05, 2015 at 9:08 pm

Actually Abc , there are many more MPVs around that look like hearse. What is interseting I notice in this forum is that these anti-Proton characters are actually dead people but they do not know that they are dead. Many of them you notice wet their beds everytime a new proton model is launched .It is in their mind & they had to say something bad about Proton even their own father or uncle drive a Proton. And most of these idiots actually don’t drive a car , but a cup-cai . Pity them, really.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 216 Thumb down 16
      • kzm (Member) on Feb 05, 2015 at 6:17 pm

previous vs new variant
        exora prime cvt/cfe RM86k – exora sp/cfe RM82k
        bold pre cvt/cfe RM76k – exora pre/cfe RM76k
        bold std cvt/cfe RM67k – exora exe/cfe RM67k
        bold std mt/cps RM65k – exora std at/cps RM60k
        bold exe mt/cps RM58k – exora std mt/cps RM56k

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 12
      • Proton on Feb 09, 2015 at 11:22 am

Mayat Car? Karpal Sigh die in Toyota Alphard what?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 8
      • David on Mar 11, 2015 at 9:58 pm

Kereta mayat! Nirvana use Mercedes limo as kereta mayat!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Jual Proton di Arab Murah on Feb 05, 2015 at 3:36 pm

How many Malaysians can really afford RM82k? Now, already 250,000 Malaysians lost all their belongings and everything they owned in the floods.

All their cars also musnah. Cannot claim insurance also because Insurance company say Act of God.

So, how these people, mainly kampung people can afford RM82k??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 130
      • potpet on Feb 05, 2015 at 4:07 pm

Why would anyone with tight budget even consider the most expensive variant? The RM82K one is for the Super Duper Ultra Premium variant. They should consider naked kosong variant which is RM60K instead.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 175 Thumb down 4
        • Same L0rrrr on Feb 05, 2015 at 4:35 pm

RM82k for a beautiful skirting which couldn’t survive minor flood! I just can’t stop laughing!

Buy my Hilux better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 134
          • Ur Money Wasted (UMW) on Feb 05, 2015 at 6:13 pm

Your Hilux lagi worst,ppl want to use for construction works/off roaring,you go put bodykit. Pandai. Compare to Exora,this carry 4 ppl inside,the other 3 put at the back to be exposed to the outdoors

‘Urban Hero’ your ass la.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 123 Thumb down 7
          • kenaink on Feb 05, 2015 at 7:43 pm

Hahahha hilux is fuel guzzler.much more than any p1 car

Any free fuel gift from T?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 2
        • seancorr (Member) on Feb 05, 2015 at 6:08 pm

Is the kosong spec still being sold @ RM60k? Their website @ http://proton-edar.my/proton-exora-special-price-promotion-discount/ shows the previous top spec to be RM89k and now its RM82k so wouldn’t the base spec now be priced under RM60k?

Its a RM7k reduction in price for the top spec so I think the base spec can be sold @ RM55k to be honest. A lot of families will benefit from this though I’d recommend taking the ones with ESC at least.

Paultan.org team, what are the prices of the other variants?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 12
      • Got more money buy super premium… Less money by CPS standard RM60k..

People got shocked like this is the only variant of Exora that Proton produced.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 4
        • downsys on Feb 06, 2015 at 12:06 am

Finally, some sense. Thank you.

For those who can’t afford 82k, buy the cheaper variant la. Same like the HRV. Can’t afford 118k? Then pay 99k and you get what you pay for. Make so much noise for what?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 3
      • thedarkside on Feb 05, 2015 at 4:20 pm

if you cant afford the RANGE TOPPING rm82K, just get the cheaper ones lah? why want to make everything so difficult?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 157 Thumb down 7
        • Tong Kosong on Feb 05, 2015 at 6:27 pm

Joke of the year..82K? Self mas*rbate designer & decision maker..Yes PROTON you can say- it is the BEST in the World. self boast.

refer to Survey- Proton/Perodua for pakai buang car only. I buy & drive P2 for this principle.

82K to invest for PERFOMANCE? R3 variance.. forget it. Invest for kereta Rakyat- there you can gain public trust.

& you repate same CURSE bro, no paint for skirt- cannot see R3 variance Preve on the road, You can say: probably those buyer DIY repaint for color match.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 99
          • messr on Feb 05, 2015 at 7:48 pm

76k ady got ESC
            livina alza innova etc got?

Ptuih

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 119 Thumb down 4
          • HBK Shawn on Jun 14, 2015 at 11:23 pm

Go & invent new car using paper box.. It will much,much,much cheaper. Genius!

• HBK Shawn on Jun 14, 2015 at 11:35 pm

You’re the joker of the year..

• HBK Shawn on Jun 14, 2015 at 11:19 pm

What its got to do Exora & floods. We are asking for car review not weather forecast. If its flood that you’re concern about, then go get a boat or sampan..

• proton not salesman on Feb 05, 2015 at 3:42 pm

feel bad for people who get conned by salesman and have to pay 9 years loan for a piece of junk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 120
    • OMG…Damn expensive with old tech….puihhhh..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 109
      • sepul on Feb 05, 2015 at 5:22 pm

Vios also old tech, yet many people buy.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 224 Thumb down 5
        • Tong Kosong on Feb 05, 2015 at 6:30 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 129
        • Same L0rrrr on Feb 05, 2015 at 6:44 pm

Vios is old and RELIABLE tech. Thus people still buying. Since so good, why bother to change?

Toyota got new tech also (Hybrid Synergy Drive), but then you complain too expensive! How?

The brain you using now also millions years old design, but it still better than latest Intel processor.

Old tech not necessarily bad, new tech not necessarily good, VW DSG is one good hell of example.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 84
          • HBK Shawn on Jun 14, 2015 at 11:44 pm

Old means old.. If you prefer with the old technology, then just use bicycle..

• downsys on Feb 06, 2015 at 12:07 am

Amazing. 87 thumbs-up. 0 thumbs-down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
          • Wtf man? Protong member setup team for this blog, a forge figure. Whether free army or paid consultant, it meaningless.

Please put your BET, in 3 month how much this expensive car sold,?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 30
        • OMG…TOYOTA can sell mahal…ppl still buy bcos reliability…But this lousy noisy car not worth it loh…Bear in mind, P1 can sell cheap car, then only ppl will buy. Saga and Persona selling cheap, that why many ppl buy. Preve, Suprima and Iriz sell mahal, so less ppl buy loh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 20
      • better than old tech fugly vios..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 9
    • Lulzer on Feb 05, 2015 at 3:53 pm

Have you seen HRV’s specs, for the base model (RM99k), which you mentioned?
      Compare the specs before talking la, typical basher. (FYI, the 82K Exora has 4 airbags compared to the 2 airbags HRV, and yes, Exora has ESC)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 144 Thumb down 17
      • Same L0rrrr on Feb 05, 2015 at 4:37 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 150
        • paulnut on Feb 05, 2015 at 5:05 pm

Your 25 years old son also using proton saga black color. Comment heard from your neighbor at Cheras flat.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 130 Thumb down 8
          • Same L0rrrr on Feb 05, 2015 at 6:46 pm

I knew you would come and talkok without brain again, paulnut.

Forgot to take medicine today?

Why I bother to spend money for junk? you think everyone is brainless like you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 91
          • Simon king on Feb 06, 2015 at 10:32 pm

You bash bash bash but at the end of the day, your son using proton also.lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
        • more lies from Same L0rrrr..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 5
        • nonameee on Feb 05, 2015 at 9:55 pm

Well if I remember correctly, the mass recall involving faulty airbags recently was not proton or perodua or whatever local car brand.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 3
    • OMG…i agreed…totally just an expensive old junk…puihhh…kasi lelong sell cheap for rakyat lah P1…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 78
    • theanswer on Feb 05, 2015 at 4:12 pm

i’m not saying proton is a bad car. but they really screwed up on their pricing strategy. didnt they realized that majority of malaysian still look at price first?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 26
    • Bro, U banding highest spec proton dgn speck kosong HRV? U tak guna otak ke?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 16
    • You call HRV a world class car??? Have you been in one? HRV at 90k is even worse than exora…. low spec, bad interior design etc. What kind of shitty car designer put all the air cond vent in front of one passenger? And the HRV seat is made of cheapo fabric compared to the one I find in exora. Seriously you are a dumbo basher. I might not buy proton but at least I am willing to give fair credit to them.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 203 Thumb down 14
      • Shadowsniper on Feb 05, 2015 at 6:39 pm

I totally agree. HRV is really overprice. You mainly paying for the letter “H” only.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 2
      • powershot (Member) on Feb 05, 2015 at 8:31 pm

lousy interior too. cheapo plastic everywhere. same for jazz & city. too much cheapo plastic.

interiors are not Honda’s strong points.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 2
      • DPCraft on Mar 06, 2015 at 4:45 pm

But Honda will only get 50k+ or so if minus out all the taxes, so basically it never meant to be so expensive and thats why, you’ll get 50k+ materials in the car. (No Offence thou)

• Bumi Dunia on Feb 05, 2015 at 5:40 pm

Totoya Vios harga sampai RM94k tapi, airbag 2 biji. Esc pun xdak. Auto cruise? jgn lah nak berharap.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 113 Thumb down 2
    • Carnut on Feb 05, 2015 at 5:44 pm

Designing cars and building them from scratch is very very expensive. Local cars like Proton can never be cheap because it does not have the volume to achieve economies of scale, and they simply don’t have the R&D budget. Perodua can be cheaper because they build on existing platforms where R&D is already sunken in by Daihatsu. I really don’t see where Proton can go in the future as a full fledged manufacturer unless its bought up by another giant. The Malaysia boleh spirit is keeping it at life support.

To be fair, its quite highly specced and you can’t really compare an mpv with a small suv. But even at these prices which you think is expensive, I am sure Proton is making only a very thin margin compared to other brands. So thin that if it was any other business it would have closed down or shifted its strategy drastically.

Malaysian way of prolonging the inevitable.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 2
    • kzm (Member) on Feb 05, 2015 at 5:54 pm

those white exora with those skirting is kinda ugly to me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 10
    • time to boikot proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 60
    • Shamz on Feb 05, 2015 at 11:18 pm

Go buy a perodua alza if u want cheap mpv. the 82k is under super premium category, if u think youre not premium enough, just buy the cheaper ones. you dont really have to be such a narcissist and whine about how sad your life is that u cant afford such a car. pfft

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
    • Juz same like 45k buy Axia and 60k for Myvi also consider tipu rakyat. Pity them those use 45k and 60k to buy a rubbish.

• Rr0l Emas on Feb 06, 2015 at 9:58 am

Yaa…Proton max. price only can go RM80k, cannot more than that.
      Perodua max. price RM52.5k
      Toyota max. price RM162.5k
      Honda max. price RM175k
      Nissan max. price RM160k
      Mazda max. price RM200k
      Hyundai max. price RM127.5k
      Kia max. price RM132.5k

• Proton on Feb 09, 2015 at 11:18 am

No Push Start Button? No DRL?

• Proton is run by a bunch of lunatics running out of ideas. Just look at the bodykit – they call that Super Premium. These bozos coming up with these designs are absolutely no brainers.

• Rubbish also can cost so much….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 86
    • Where is Najib's Promise? on Feb 05, 2015 at 3:12 pm

Seriously, where is Najib’s promise to reduce car prices by 30%?

More than a year ago, Najib promised every single of the 30 million Malaysians that he would reduce car prices by 30% if we voted for him and his BN party before the elections.

Najib swore that BN always kept their promises and we Malaysians had nothing to worry about BN not keeping their word. He told us not to trust Pakatan and he firmly said he would match Pakatan’s manifesto of reducing car prices by 30%. Nearly ALL BN Ministers kept on saying that we could trust BN and we should not trust Pakatan.

More than a year has passed, nothing has reduced. Infact, car prices have gone up! All the car companies in Malaysia are eventually owned by the Government. UMW for Toyota, Honda by DRB, BMW, Hyundai and Ford by Sime Darby. Virtually every single company is owned by the Government (GLC).

So, if they want to reduce car prices, they can. But they don’t want to. they blame the car brands but we Malaysians know that nearly ALL car brands are owned by the Government. It is up to the Government to just give the order to reduce prices.

How can we trust Najib, BN and UMNO if basic promises like this they cannot keep? This is just a basic and simple promise. What about bigger promises of tackling corruption, improving healthcare and education?

Has Najib lied to us? It looks now, they are trying to manipulate what they said and say just for imported cars.

Why make C and D segment cars only affordable to the well to do and wealthy? All cars must be made affordable to all Malaysians. We Malaysians earn so little compared to other countries and yet, the Government whacks us with super high car prices.

78.6% of all EPF contributors still earn RM3000 and below. (That is from RM500 to RM2999). This was announced by Raja Nazrin last year quoting EPF data.

He was proving the Government wrong as the Government again lied to the people that we are on our way to earn GDP Per Capita of US$48,000 per annum by 2020. That is US$4000 (RM14,000) per month by 2020, which is 6 years time.

Raja Nazrin, Sultan of Perak refuted the governments claim and openly declared EPF figures say that 78.6% of all EPF contributors still earn RM3000 and below.

He also said 2 million households earn RM5000 and below which Raja Nazrin said was Government statistics.

So, how can people afford cars costing more than RM100,000? Why is it just exclusive to high income earners?

Do you think average gaji of Malaysians will go up to RM14,000 in 6 years time?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 79
      • medic on Feb 05, 2015 at 5:16 pm

Dei, how many times you want to repeat the same thing la. I thought only proton uses old idea. Looks like youare not spared too…create a new comment, retard. Then maybe najib can come out with new idea too…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 2
      • tl;dr on Feb 05, 2015 at 8:56 pm

didn’t read LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
      • Abu Sayur on Feb 05, 2015 at 11:08 pm

diam la u always re-post

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
      • I bet you dont vote najib

• Tipu Tipu Rakyat on Feb 05, 2015 at 3:07 pm

RM82k for a Proton?

Let us see what we can get for RM82k if we were living overseas.

These are US car prices with US duty and import tax paid, which are just like Malaysian car prices with duty and tax also paid, but here, you will see, they are much lower and less exorbitant than in Malaysia.

Bear in mind all cars are CBU (complete built up) Japan, CBU South Korea or CBU Germany.

The following cars we get here are CKD (complete knocked down) cars with more than 50% Malaysian content and “supposedly” are cheaper due to their being CKD and supporting Malaysian manufacturers.

I cannot understand, we support our own Malaysian manufacturers and beli barang buatan (buy local) Malaysia too, and yet the prices can be higher than barang buatan (made in) Japan or German, which is usually higher in quality.

And yet, to make matters worse, US people’s GDP per capita is higher than Malaysia’s and the average American earns five times more than the average Malaysian.

Below are car prices based on exchange rate of USD 3.0 as it was 2 years ago when I wrote my article. These Malaysian car prices were also 2 years ago, so, it is fair to use the exchange rate of 3.0. Malaysian car prices infact have risen the past two years.

Mainstream car prices VS Malaysian Prices

Honda Accord 2.4 US$21,480 (RM64k)vs RM180k

Honda CRV 2.5 US$22,495(RM67k) vs RM180k

Honda Civic US$15,955 (RM47k)vs RM115k

Toyota Altis US$16,130(RM48k)vs RM139k

Toyota Camry 2.5 US$22,055(RM66k)vs RM180k

Kia Sorento US$23,150 (RM69k)vs RM160k

Hyundai Tucson US$19,245(RM57k) vs RM140k

Hyundai Sonata US$20,895 (RM62k) vs RM150k

Hyundai Elantra 1.8 US$16k (RM50k) vs RM118k

Luxury car prices

BMW 328i US$36,500 (RM109k) vs RM300k

BMW 528i US$46,900 (RM149k) vs RM420k

BMW 535i US$52,500 (RM157k) vs RM600k

BMW X5 US$47,500 (RM142k) vs RM580k

Mercedes E350 US$51,000 (RM153k)vs RM400,000 (In M’sia for only CKD E250)

Jaguar XJ US$73,700 (RM221,000) vs RM900k

Porsche Cayenne US$48,850 (RM146k)vs RM580k

Every Malaysian must realise they are being cheated on car prices and have been cheated for the past 30 years.

Most Malaysians pay close to 50% of their salary for their monthly payments for their cars.

Not only do the banks get an easy ride (cause everybody is “forced” to take loans), we have to live in debt for over seven years, depriving our family of better food and clothes.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 177 Thumb down 125
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Feb 05, 2015 at 3:39 pm

Now this is a good reason for you to migrate…bye see you in Alaska or China…and dont come back…phew another rubbish is gone…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 175 Thumb down 110
      • icansee on Feb 05, 2015 at 4:09 pm

thats the reason why BN hate to see malaysian complain cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 37
        • Same L0rrrr on Feb 05, 2015 at 6:49 pm

The Datuk-Datuk and cronies easily buy a few S class at home. When they look at Malaysians buying cheap cars still complain this complain that, of course they feel annoyed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 15
      • Discrimnax on Feb 05, 2015 at 5:10 pm

Why China ? Can you explain ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 14
        • ayooo on Feb 06, 2015 at 9:08 am

because China produce better car than proton according to some people here and I agree with them. If I live in China, I would buy a Landwind and then replace the badge to range rover.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
      • Jajan Malaysia on Feb 05, 2015 at 5:15 pm

You’re the one rubbish. We should throw u away from Malaysia. This is pricey and lower or middle income cannot afford this high price range. HRV is 98K (of course they couldn’t afford for this!) and this rubbish is nearly 82K. You have to remember that Proton is developed for help our Malaysian ppl. Not suppress them with high price value car which they will think to buy a smaller car then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 40
        • Same L0rrrr on Feb 05, 2015 at 6:54 pm

Yes, I appreciate the idea “Proton is developed to help Malaysian ppl”. But too bad it is just ONLY an idea.

Everyone knows that once you get a Proton, your wallet forever leaking money (thanks to Proton amazing build quality). End up do Proton cars help their owners?

That’s why you see the trend ppl change car “Myvi -> Vios/City -> Camry/Accord -> Mercedes/Lexus” while Proton owners forever stick with their Proton…

They have no money to change car, Proton car’s build quality has drained all his/her saving in service centres and garages.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 50
          • OMG…damn u…dun talk cock here.

• Ray Teo on Mar 29, 2016 at 4:30 pm

Exora is 7 seater thay what’s people consider about

• Ray Teo on Mar 29, 2016 at 4:32 pm

My house i do own proton honda n Hyundai problem is honda give me problem 1’st who said Japanese is better?

• BoringRakyat on Feb 05, 2015 at 3:45 pm

So what now Sir ? Move to overseas ? Riot like monkeys ? Or just accept the ugly fact ? In each Countries has their own pros and cons to live in. Trust me , i have been living around ( Uk and Australia ) and there is no such thing as Malaysia. Learn to love your country instead of hating it.Our Parents survived without no complaints so why cant we ? Boring of listening this and that tak cukup. sigh

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 25
      • takNakP1 on Feb 05, 2015 at 5:19 pm

Bolehland exist because of this kind mentality, “live with it” & “accept the fact”. Complain doesn’t mean hate the country. I believe many love the country but hate the corrupted G.

No body ask you to be a monkey. Just be a smart consumer.

I think you felt BORING because you given up hope & lost the battle against your own conscience.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 44
    • Tidur Tidur Rakyat on Feb 05, 2015 at 3:53 pm

You tried so hard, but still failed to compare apple to apple.

First now usd $1.00 conversion is RM3.60 not RM3.00

Secondly, local state tax and delivery fee is not included in the price. This could cost another few hundred to thousand.

Third, $16,900 Corolla in US is manual gear lowest spec car that even carpet mat not included. But they did have more airbag and VSC compare to us.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 2
      • Same L0rrrr on Feb 05, 2015 at 6:56 pm

Yes, you are right. Should compare apple to apple.

But it is very hard to compare Proton with others fairly, because there aren’t many junks car makers in the market now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 29
        • Bristol on Feb 06, 2015 at 10:13 am

Got many junks in the market like Vios, Hilux, Innova, Hiace, Corolla Altis, Camry, Prius C, Fortuner, Prius, Previa and Alphard. All those car models are bullshit. Only Avanza and Rush can consider as normal vehicle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • potpet on Feb 05, 2015 at 3:57 pm

Aiyoo… you list those sedan no use la. List the price of the MPV lah, more relevant to the topic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
    • Anti-Establishment (Member) on Feb 05, 2015 at 4:33 pm

Again with this bullshit info?

1) Honda/Toyota assemble their cars in US, not Japan. Hence they enjoy better economies of scale because American car market is much bigger compared to Malaysia (7.9 million vs 600,000 cars sold last year)
      2) Kia/Hyundai prices their cars lower overseas compared to their own country – just like Proton. What they lost in pricing lower, they gain through volume.
      3) America is a buyer’s market. Malaysia is a seller’s market (because Malaysians are not smart shoppers)
      4) Taxes are not such a big part of Malaysian car prices – profit margins play a role as well.

Enough with the misinformation!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 6
      • sepul on Feb 05, 2015 at 5:24 pm

You have the best point.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
      • takNakP1 on Feb 05, 2015 at 8:53 pm

great info especially point #3 & #4.

i used to think tax is the main factor but i was wrong. Profit margin & MITI controled selling price is the other huge factors.

Yeah, Korean also sell their car more expensive but it doesn’t means we must follow.

Somehow, the result is they improvee & advanced by leaps & bound. They beg the citizens to support local products by providing good support, free labor service after warranty expired & pledge to improve to imported brand level.

In bolehland, he blame the citizens for not supporting, only talk quality improvement, service still sucks (ini problem biasalah) after decades.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • biskut on Feb 05, 2015 at 6:15 pm

this guy try to sound smart, as every american could buy luxury car anytime but it is a daily hassle for an ordinary citizen of USA to make ends meet.

It is true, we malaysians deserve to get cars with fairer prices, but to keep reminding us that our cars should be low as the price in USA is foolish. We don’t have that economies of scale to begin with. Their population is 10 times higher than us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
      • takNakP1 on Feb 05, 2015 at 8:59 pm

but requires to take 7-9 yrs loan &/or pay >RM1k monthly is ridiculous.

worst is the public transport suck putting the people without good options.

• bolehblah on Feb 05, 2015 at 10:00 pm

I wonder how much income tax do they pay in the US? 33%,10%, 20% or 50%?or you avoid from paying tax at all? What about City tax? Country tax? State tax? Federal tax?

• Sandiwara (Member) on Feb 06, 2015 at 12:44 am

Keep copy paste but never reads and respond to replies

Dont con others la
      I’ll copy paste my reply to you

You stay in Malaysia you pay local price
      The prices has nothing to do with the government(to a certain degree)
      They can only influence prices to a small degree
      Neither its the manufacturers fault
      The biggest bulk of the price differences is us as consumers

Your comparison is invalid because the US is a bigger market
      They sold 16.4 million units of vehicle last year
      Our market is 355k units of vehicles after minus P1 and P2

In the US if car manufactuers made USD10 profit per car, they are looking at USD164 million in profit
      Malaysia?
      At USD10 profit per car, they are only looking at USD3.55 million in profit
      They can barely sustain that sort of operation here
      Thus low volume = higher margin = our buying price

In other words I hope you dont cheat the rest of Malaysian car buyers
      You cannot compare prices with countries that has high vehicle sales volume period

Its neither any better in the US, their students when graduate they already in debted with study loans
      It took them almost 5 years to repay that student loan they took
      Most cannot even afford a car while alot of us Malaysians has got cars even when they are still student

Oh here’s some facts for you
      http://www.thepovertyline.net/map
      In the US the poor pays USD4.91 for food while the poor in Malaysia pays USD1.36 for food
      Almost 4 times more than what we pay
      In other words you need to earn 4 times as much work 4 times as much as you are now to be poor in the US

• arkay928 on Feb 06, 2015 at 2:04 am

I will migrate to US get beautiful Vellfire… but no teh tarik, no roti canai, no nasi lemak… hehe…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • komarad on Feb 05, 2015 at 3:08 pm

hmmm..

• Jual Proton di Arab Murah on Feb 05, 2015 at 3:23 pm

Every single model of Proton is sold to rich Arabs for 50% less the price sold in Malaysia. It is ironic. Mahathir created Proton for it to be sold cheaply to Malaysians.

But we Malaysians are subsidising rich Arabs to buy our Proton for 50% less than the price sold in Malaysia.

To make matters worse, they are the Export Quality Protons, the quality is 1000x better than the local Protons for Malaysians.

So, Malaysians not only get low low low quality Protons, we are paying 50% more than rich Arabs!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 26
      • ayooo on Feb 05, 2015 at 5:19 pm

Persona auto exec in egypt is RM 53900. In Malaysia it is RM 53483. What cock are you talking about?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 8
        • Where u got the fact Arab sell almost same price with Malaysia? U the 1 who talk cock camry 2.4 “in Dubai only rm83k don’t act smart if u dunno make u look stupid

• ivanh on Feb 05, 2015 at 3:12 pm

naisu!

• The Super Premium looks Super Clumsy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 10
    • theanswer on Feb 05, 2015 at 4:13 pm

true! ahbeng style. they can do better than this. i was hoping that newly designed headlamp with projector..or new interior.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • BMW BEST on Feb 05, 2015 at 3:20 pm

what kind of facelift is this? Proton just made this uglier than the last 2 pre-facelift models, LOL such failed on styling! It just like the regular Grand Livina and Livina X Gear, and yet u call this facelift? Bronze tinted headlamp? How bout NO? It just make the headlamp looks like being exposed under the sun for a decade and become yellowish lololol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
  • why do they have to stick those plastic panels on the bottom of the door? see the rubber lining on it…in 3-5 years, your range topping exora will look like an old junk with those lining peeling and dangling off.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • Mozilla Chrome on Feb 05, 2015 at 3:28 pm

Not a major facelift. Just bodykit facelift. Pretty much the same look. Anyway seems a better choice than Maxime?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • bbbbbbbb on Feb 05, 2015 at 3:29 pm

ermm… wish 1.8 2nd hand only 60k and you can get a CBU … what waste of money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
    • start a fight on Feb 05, 2015 at 4:31 pm

comparing between marrying a 45 years old janda imported vs 25 years old virgin local.. well u know what u looking at anyway..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 0
      • jjj544 on Feb 05, 2015 at 7:38 pm

Yeah yeah later vomit blood to get expensive spare parts long waiting time and no warranty summore

Those wish got VSC? NO!!

• Nothing to shout about. Facelift? I always feel the 2 row seat should have larger headrest. Dashboard is boring.

• zanm (Member) on Feb 05, 2015 at 3:32 pm

Still an ugly duckling to me. The front end really need new design and style!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • Haroun Nazreen on Feb 05, 2015 at 3:34 pm

Like Dr.M said before, he is going to revamp Proton to NOT build cheap cars as we go along. Oh! Sorry yer. Korang tengok je jenama Ford. Buatan USA. If dollar to dollar taken into consideration, their cars are SO cheap for their own people. National brand at its best. Like a Ford C-Max, a waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay better quality compared to an Exora, is only going for roughly 25K USD. And their Ford Escape or better known in Malaysia as the Kuga, only starts at the price of around 23K USD. Apa yg susah sangat kalau kenderaan buatan nasional dikurangkan harga jualan? You sell it cheap, more people can afford them and you don’t even need to worry about competition because the price alone is a winning factor. Sorry ye Dr.M, as much as I want to support our own local product, I must say I’ve had my fair share of bad Protons. I rather go Japanese or Korean or even European these days. I can’t keep on getting conned for the sake of my country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 14
    • I suggest you google ‘economics of scale’. Also google Ford Model T to know how long Ford had been established compared to proton.

• thgh (Member) on Feb 05, 2015 at 3:37 pm

Disappointed. Rm82k seriously?

I don’t see the “Super” or “Premium” parts from this car at all. Infact the previous Exora Bold remains the best looking Exora all time to me. This new one with Ah Beng bodykit just killed the car.

Once again, “nice” job from Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 9
    • They want to copy myvi, vios, with facelifts forever. but this is the worst

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
  • So… what are you guys waiting for? Just get out from Malaysia and apply US green card la… Stop wasting your time complaining. Don’t be a keyboard economy expert here…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 26
  • areos on Feb 05, 2015 at 3:38 pm

EASY SOLUTIONS…….LETS MIGRATE TO US AND SHARE LIVING WITH MAT SALEH AND NIGGER…WE CAN HAVE A PLATE OF RICE FOR JUST USD30 (RM100) OR A CUP OF COFFEE FOR ONLY USD15 (RM50)..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 33
  • Munchi on Feb 05, 2015 at 3:39 pm

someone isn’t thinking with their head

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • 82k and still no touchscreen MMI?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
  • BoringRakyat on Feb 05, 2015 at 3:47 pm

Yawnz

• whatever on Feb 05, 2015 at 3:51 pm

last time i checked it’s already 2015. that dashboard is longer acceptable

• Lizio on Feb 05, 2015 at 3:53 pm

Face palm…..the Super Premium looks like uncompleted car still on testing. Come on proton, instead of facelift, pls fix the existing Exora problem, the problem has been carrying forward ever since 1st gen Exora and Exora CFE new problem, 10 finger count the problem also tak boleh habis laa….
    Change the Parts Supplier and listen to Consumer la… Adoi…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
    • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Feb 06, 2015 at 3:26 am

If you have bought one, change car lah…! Tiu…!

My Alza gave me problems all 10 fingers and 10 toes combined also not enough to count those problems… In the end I ditched my piece of junk Alza for a non-national car…

If you haven’t bought one yet, I suggest you change your habit and comment elsewhere… Tiu…!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
      • Lizio on Feb 06, 2015 at 12:57 pm

Tiu… change car u pay for the loses ah… cakap senang…. 1 year car already lose at least 15k u noe, and change wat kind of habit? Comment wat elsewhere?, Im only point the truth of owning this car. it still practical car but proton didn’t improve… still having the same problem with the 1st gen exora until now, am i wrong?

• lazyf on Feb 05, 2015 at 3:55 pm

Executive version with wheel cap?
    I thought that one is the Standard version

• Almera on Feb 05, 2015 at 3:56 pm

However it is we must give credit when its due. This Exora now comes with 4 airbags and ESC albeit for the premium and super premium versions only. Still better than T.

• shut up and take my money…i am buying the red cloth above the car~!! LOL

• Still looks like SHIT……!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • shawal on Feb 05, 2015 at 4:05 pm

its best that proton retires this model and start focusing on crossovers….
    they are the rage right now……

81k, it is not worth the money….

that 1.6 turbo engine with a new torque converter slushbox should be put into an engine bay of a new b-segment suv….

• nabill (Member) on Feb 05, 2015 at 4:07 pm

to be fair , the ancient Nissa Livina is everywhere , and its not exactly brimming with specs either , NA Engine ,4 speeder , smaller size , only 2 airbags,drum brakes n so on…
    if ur looking for a big family car below 100k ,i stil think the exora makes sence , yess u might think 82k for a p1 is abit too much , but its got all the spec u want , n stil cheaper than what it fights for ..
    but being a p1 , ppl’s sences and logic somehow thrown out of the window and emotions takes over …!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 1
    • exorian on Feb 05, 2015 at 8:23 pm

to be honest, 4 speeder livina still perform better than this exora. i’m owning exora currently. Livina is way more comfortable in terms of seats instead of space compared to exora

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
    • seancorr (Member) on Feb 05, 2015 at 9:44 pm

Reason why so many Livinas on the road is because the public still has the mentality of Japanese > Local. You also can see truck loads of Avanzas and even the old school Unsers on the road. But then these cars don’t end up by the side of the road nor do they enter workshops so often so I guess the public isn’t wrong about its durability or reliability.

I can’t comment on how good the Exora is but being Proton has got a bad taste in many people’s mouths over the decades they were in business that their previous boss (the fella who actually did something for Proton) announced that all Protons will have lifetime warranty on its power windows to counter negative perception of the brand.

• eichang on Feb 05, 2015 at 4:15 pm

if proton seriously to create new image for exora using that cladding…put it properly la….full bodykit is much better like nissan x-gear or 2005 wish…..now it look like kereta x siap…..contrast color make it uglier

• i think its not bad cos the standard & premium AT variants seems to be cheaper (ie more accessories) compared to the older model. too bad 4 airbag and ESC only for higher end variants.

• Byun Baekhyun on Feb 05, 2015 at 4:19 pm

The only changes I noticed is the LED brake light design and rear fog lamp. The rest of it are so 2009…

• Sardin on Feb 05, 2015 at 4:19 pm

as an existing exora cfe premium owner, i find these additions unreasonable for the extra few grands on super premium but i think is still better option than the odd ‘prime’ variant which has captain seat option on second row. its personal preference, no doubt, but i agree the lower cladding looks ugly. would have been great if they address the cvt gearbox inconsistency especially on take off instead of these unwelcome facelifts.

• myfuad on Feb 05, 2015 at 4:20 pm

this is not facelift. this is put extra make up…

• pok mang on Feb 05, 2015 at 4:20 pm

the rim design remind me on toyota wish facelift 2012, 10 spoke rim would be better for me

• donno on Feb 05, 2015 at 4:21 pm

Why is the super expensive super premium bodykit looks exactly like a car that just went to brothers shop for bodykit but the owner too pokai to color match paint all those bodykits?

The previous exora bold is prettier than this…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Aiyoo where is the Proton chrome badge on the steering?

• You wouldn’t want the chrome badge to be imprinted on your face when the airbags deploy in an accident.

• So how about Honda, Volkswagen, Audi, BMW badge? Chrome also right?

• Plaster some paddling on the side of the car become super premium is a joke… what does the bodykit do? can fly?

Please do a proper face lift or dont do it at all.. not changes to anything.. Looks like amateur face lift as compare to the previous facelift.

Such a shame..

• kelvin on Feb 05, 2015 at 4:26 pm

Stupid Bodykit + stupid manual aircorn + stupid local car price = UGLY MPV EVER

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 23
  • BudakPandai on Feb 05, 2015 at 4:44 pm

Hello Proton! Are you still dreaming? What have you been drinking? Todi? With this kind of product, you better close shop. Otak tarak!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
  • ionlaw on Feb 05, 2015 at 4:46 pm

Very soon Proton will sell less number of car than Honda and Toyota…

• Superman on Feb 05, 2015 at 4:47 pm

are you for real? is this a facelift?? I think we can but body kits outside and make the car look better. same mistake the idiot from DRB did when they launched the Suprima S super premium. the total waste and failure by super managers from pos Malaysia bank rakyat and alam flora. useless egomaniac drb people are a disease for proton. what Tun M is doing? is this his vision?

• Blind on Feb 05, 2015 at 4:49 pm

Arrggghh.. my eyes.!

• superman on Feb 05, 2015 at 4:54 pm

is this the vision Tun M wants to do? the egomaniac drb super managers who brought the same stupid idea with Suprima S super premium which was a total failure did the same with exora this time. what ever these sick people from pos Malaysia and alam flora touch turns to stone and dies. why not just let proton do its own way? you call this facelift???? drb is a total disease for proton and like cancer will kill it slowly. this will be another failure to drb failure collection since they took over proton. Exora is a good car but now they want to kill it also.

• C.P.MOHAN on Feb 05, 2015 at 5:10 pm

I bought a Honda City V spec for my son as his first car and he says WOW!. If not for the tax even better value. I bought a NEW Proton in 1994 to be patriotic, trading my 1982 Toyota Corolla GL, my biggest mistake, the Toyota was very much better. Sold my Proton in 1996. Moral of the story: it not the price per se but the reliability/performance of the engine. On another note, cars are cheaper overseas because a car rightfully is a DEPRECIATING value asset.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • People have forgotten the classical chinese saying: good things don’t come cheap, cheap don’t expect Ferrari quality

• Expensive doesn’t mean good, cheap is definitely no good.

• Sandiwara (Member) on Feb 06, 2015 at 12:51 am

Its a general rule of thumb
        Good things no cheap, cheap things no good

If you are a business selling a better quality product would you priced it cheaply?
        And since good or better quality means higher cost, who is going to absorb that extra cost if you sell it at market value of lesser made product?

• anonymous on Feb 06, 2015 at 12:30 am

Go take a close look at ferrari. It is memang lowsy quality. You pay for its technology not quality!

• Ha haa no offense Ferrari quality not as gd as expected yes is million dollar car here they well-known for performance only

• we dont want the super premium, how much is the cheapest? paultan pls put also the price of the cheapest exora. aiyooo.

• ok ok, i agree that exora is a good family car but the SP design is ugly lah..

• azhar on Feb 05, 2015 at 5:32 pm

that black bodykit ruined it!

• WynterLand on Feb 05, 2015 at 5:34 pm

It look like abit copy Nissan X-Gear.

• dumss on Feb 05, 2015 at 5:36 pm

super pricey.. look awfully awkward..

• brazbuz on Feb 05, 2015 at 5:55 pm

The premium version now fitted with esc,led drl, 4 airbags and priced at 76k… 2k drop from previous version in case u r too lazy too compare before u start to bash. IMO still best sub 100k mpv in the market. Still wondering why standard version named as executive though….

• Adik Tiri Laki Belah Mak Engkau..... on Feb 05, 2015 at 6:04 pm

Few comments yang membina……which is commendable I think considering how popular Paultan is. The rest is total bashing….everytime this website covers story about proton, probably >90% is kutuk, bash, and kutuk even further…..

Some Malaysian may not have tones of money like what most of paultan follower had (I suspect), but at least they have a choice. Maybe the choice of buying this Exora seems ‘crazy’ in front of majority of paultan followers, but it is still a good choice, as compare to other MPVs sell in Malaysian market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • bigboy on Feb 05, 2015 at 6:33 pm

ugly for me..not that ugly actually but looks like it come from the 90’s…but the engine is really from the 90’s..but not really that old…and i dont like it…but i’m not totally hate it…damn!! idk what to feel anymore about this car..

• Jamal on Feb 05, 2015 at 7:29 pm

You just cannot flog a dead donkey.
    No matter what P1 does to the Exora
    It will never sell cos the whole package sucks.
    DRB already ran out of ideas how to clear
    It’s massive stock pile of unsold units sitting
    in it’s garage.
    Reality hurts but I hope P1 management wakes up sooner rather than later.

• anonymous on Feb 06, 2015 at 12:32 am

Ever since DRB took over, model after model cannot sell. Suprima, Iriz all non mover… I see more CRZs than suprima and iriz combine!

• tiger on Feb 05, 2015 at 7:29 pm

patch here, patch there.. wallah!! new facelift.. dafukk..

• biggbro on Feb 05, 2015 at 8:15 pm

Sad sad sad Proton with all this s/sv/premium/super premium series!! With the Msian car scene flooded with choices (albeit still expensive choices)…even the most optimist Proton believers can surely see the slow and impending demise of this brand. I hope you don’t suffer a too painful death…go now while you can stiĺ preserve whatever little pride Malaysians still has in you.
    RIP forever
    from a former SAGA90/WIRA2000 owner

• cunab on Feb 05, 2015 at 8:18 pm

cantik juga ini motocar… bila keluar?

• Contender on Feb 05, 2015 at 8:57 pm

Facelift ? They should change ugly steering to the one Iriz has ….. overall still same old shit, old wine in old bottle

• bolehblah on Feb 05, 2015 at 11:37 pm

Old wine? u sure aaa.. The older the wine, the more expensive it gets!!

• thebosssedangbercakap on Feb 05, 2015 at 9:17 pm

Super Premium Luxury Masterpiece Proton. The only car brand in the world who without any shame, calls its piece of junk “SUPER PREMIUM”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • Aman Shah on Feb 05, 2015 at 9:23 pm

Fuel consumption is 7.0 L per 100 km..this one has Vtech like IRIZ already? if tht is real wow congrats proton..that is good FC

• olio benzina on Feb 05, 2015 at 9:23 pm

I bought the Exora Bold CFE when it was launched.
    The car is reliable, so far no major issues, only a squeaky tensioner pulley and engine compartment insulation needed replacing all under warranty. Service at Proton Plentong was excellent. Knowledgeable and helpful service personnel.
    I am tempted to buy another just for the Electronic Stability Program feature available now.
    What other MPV offers similar value for money?
    Alza – Not big enough.
    Avanza – A van in disguise
    Innova – A truck in disguise
    Grand Livina – A station wagon with 3rd row seats
    The only better MPV is the Peugeot 5008. But is it worth twice the price of an Exora?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 13
  • BuRaIaN on Feb 05, 2015 at 9:32 pm

The two tone color and body kit design on the super premium looks tremendously horrible!

It looks like a very very failed ah beng upgrade with cheap plastic and terrible design.

RM82k… for that? seriously?

• bolehblah on Feb 05, 2015 at 10:04 pm

Toyota Estima ACR5x / MCR5x have been around since 2006, and went through 2 facelifts using the same engine and transmission. Did not see people complaining about it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • karipap basah on Feb 05, 2015 at 10:07 pm

price it 60k, then MAYBE ppl might buy this car…

For 82k? I dont think evera consumer will buy it. Maybe govt dept will be “forced” to buy these outdated and ugly cars……to clear up stock.

This reminds me of Exora being used as Taxi, just to boost abit the sales for Proton.

It only tell me that Exora really tak laku….even in local market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • pooruncle on Feb 06, 2015 at 3:00 pm

Merc also taxi in Germany, Australia..Camry, Altis in Bangkok, so what?

They are reliable, passenger dun want to waste time to wait for another taxi, no?

• Aldo Aldy on Feb 05, 2015 at 10:29 pm

No start stop button,no auto aircond,auto wiper,auto headlamp..Hampeh….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
    • bro, kete apa harga dlm 80k ada bende2 tu sume. bgtau la, aku tgh usha mpv ni. nak jugak beli.

• Jamil Abu on Feb 05, 2015 at 10:52 pm

Still interior looks ehmmmm…..

• ben yap on Feb 06, 2015 at 12:23 am

hate the black color bodykit. looks as if it wasn’t being sprayed after installation from Brother’s car accessories.

• sayangMalaysia on Feb 06, 2015 at 3:05 am

EXORA to me…a reliable workhorse…slowly-slowly u all will absorb the look…it will turn out to be quite ok..believe me…chill

• Nurealife on Feb 06, 2015 at 11:08 pm

Sayang, wake up and be realistic ok. Don’t just accept incompetence blindly just because it’s made by our beloved country. Be truthful and proton should take the feedback positively on how hideous this new cladding design is. I’m truly sadden.

• exsagaflxse1.6owner on Feb 06, 2015 at 4:09 am

I’ll be more than happy to pay this super premium exora at 82k if they improve the engine (let say new improve crankhead..etc..), the gearbox (let say replace cvt and put aisin 6speed auto gearbox..etc..) instead of just add some simple bodykit, some fancy LED foglamps, and small other things.. wake up Malaysian.. most of the time we talking about overprice car but still there is people buying it.. simple logic, when there is demand there is supply.. recently we talking about the consumer power.. boycott all the traders who sell overprice stuff.. we must do this also to the all car dealer in Malaysia.. stop buying it for a year or 2.. lets show them the power of consumer, maybe than we can dream of having a good car at a reasonable price.. owh damn.. i just daydreaming at all.. Malaysian will still continue buying car at overprice value and support this industries and then keep complaining overprice car during TTS or any new car launching event(forum, blog,etc).. we stop the demand they will offer more.. as for me, i’ll do my part by buying the cheapest model and let the other variant dry in their yard until the car dealers have to make a super duper special offer just to clear the stock which i think will be reasonable.. thing must be change because i love Malaysia.. enough of ranting..back to the topic credit to proton for the introduction of extra airbag and ESC in their famous mpv.

• VikingSagaFLX on Feb 08, 2015 at 9:18 am

In the official press release, not only the crankhead was improved, the camhead also. The only thing not improved is yorhead. It got shafted instead.

• Littlebear on Feb 06, 2015 at 7:03 am

Pity Proton… Always kena kutuk kaokao…

• eastar on Feb 06, 2015 at 7:34 am

RM82K? Proton sudah gila. Better buy Cherry mpv.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
    • Leonardo on Feb 06, 2015 at 11:20 am

Good idea. You buy the Cherry MPV. Then have problems with spare parts and almost no resale value.

• matgabra on Feb 06, 2015 at 7:51 am

Rugi manyak kalau lu orang beli ini kereta, cari kereta yg mahal sikit tapi bagus dan puas hati . Kita pembeli kita punya wang kita pilih mana kita suka sendiri. Adious

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • anak malaysia on Feb 06, 2015 at 8:09 am

Buat malu ja projek kereta nasional keluar kereta macam ni.. membazir duit rakyat.. elok semua grant r&d proton tu pegi kat mangsa banjir untuk pembangunan semula atau bagi biasiswa untuk ganti ptptn.. wasteful investment tapi masih sombong.. uncompetent, syok sendiri, tak habis2 dengan ‘kebanggaan negara’. Dahla jual kat org asing full quality harga sama low quality utk rakyat sendiri.. berlagak hero

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 14
    • KACANG on Mar 03, 2015 at 7:03 pm

belajar bahlol bodoh nak ptptn jadi biasiswa. bazir oksigen je kau ni hidup.

• applegreen on Feb 06, 2015 at 8:40 am

Quite introduction? Looks like Proton pun malu nak buat facelifted Exora!

• orangeorange on Feb 06, 2015 at 1:48 pm

Ya ke? Coz if they do a lot of advertising,ppl bash coz its just a facelift,like some other local maker,mmhm~

• ayooo on Feb 06, 2015 at 9:14 am

First of all exora is a good value MPV with price starting from 60k.

Secondly, proton really suck with bodykit. The only good looking bodykit they ever produce is the R3 bodykit for Preve. The rest suck big time.

For 82k, I will rather get the lower priced variant of the exora.

• designnakharomm on Feb 06, 2015 at 10:01 am

fugly skirting design..I guess the designer uses his legs to make design..

• Think Smart on Feb 06, 2015 at 10:20 am

Proton is the BEST car in the world :)

I hope all Proton fan boys will take 9 year loan to buy their favourite Proton cars.

Good luck and have fun :)

• sambalbabi on Feb 06, 2015 at 10:59 am

this is a good buy only if they make use of the conventional 4/5 speed auto tranny rather than CVT

• in my small office. as far as i know. 2 exora, 4 wish, 1 estima, 1 stream. all good. their exora dont hv quality issues. i test drive, handling n power is superb, better than wish, stream.

• Maserati(The Clone) on Feb 06, 2015 at 11:24 am

Exora waterproof, shockproof. Dah macam Casio G-Shock design.

• The bashing has begun..

• Premium CVT tak ada skirting cladding tu. Specs lain sama. 75k OTR.

• TheDean on Feb 06, 2015 at 12:08 pm

Super premium looks like not enough paint to finish the car.

• albag on Feb 06, 2015 at 1:37 pm

a recipe of disaster.. kasi tutup je la proton!

• CamryLover on Feb 06, 2015 at 2:29 pm

is it just me or the Super Premium looks hideous? The body cladding just doesn’t look right. Makes it look like a cheap add-on.

• pok mang on Feb 06, 2015 at 3:11 pm

seriously current exora bold design is much better than this

• abeng on Feb 06, 2015 at 3:19 pm

SP got extra body cladding, stereng vol control and different panel finish

• exoraOwner on Feb 06, 2015 at 4:05 pm

Iam one of the exora owner, But this new exora facelift looks more ugly than the current one. Bad design!. The body cladding looks like a cheap sticker, and the proposition of the cladding and the rear skirting also doesn’t look right.

• MatKacau on Feb 06, 2015 at 6:38 pm

kah kah kah!!!

• CyberPatrol on Feb 06, 2015 at 10:13 pm

Let hope this cosmetic facelift turn consumers accepted it as favourable features and targeting higher income group with more than 4 peoples in family, otherwise they should sack the all the marketing teams who though of those lack of market research studies.

• Nutralife on Feb 06, 2015 at 11:32 pm

More like the design team brother. And whoever gave the green light.

• Nutralife on Feb 06, 2015 at 10:50 pm

proton, what on earth are you doing? What’s that ugly black thing around the car? Total disgrace. Very sad

• Johny5ive on Feb 06, 2015 at 10:59 pm

the body cladding idea is BAD,UGLY

• walauweh on Feb 07, 2015 at 1:23 am

the super premium is just a dummy actually, for loan purposes.
    so.those who r buying premium exora can apply super premium loan,so u can lower up ur downpayment.

the same case they introducing suprima super premium.

since this is exora mc2(minor change), so minor change only lah for exora.

adushhh, thats why they dont make a big huuuhaaa cuz it just minor change only. even a minor change,better than ehem facelift(but stated new icon),add on anti thief handbag hook n cup holders,walaaaa, new icon.

atleast this minor change come with price reduction and esc n additional 2 airbags.

if i not mistaken, abs vendor this time being change to continental,prev bosch.

• Exora-2014onwer on Feb 07, 2015 at 2:24 am

I could afford 80k Proton’s MPV if they produce great quality car as promised.
    But now? after so many failures, defectives of Preve, Bold version, lousy CVT gbox. now they pop up us again with new junk P-Black and White stone age version? Proton gone stupid more n more! They don’t know how to track the market. They don’t sniff what people want..

Previous BOLD owner suffered many defectives parts, junk stupid leather-pu seats.. like papan lapis seater..

‘krek’krok’, rattling sound, gas tank cover stuck inside.. uneven front airbag cover, what kind of noisy Campro engine, lorry engine more silent..

Proton proud n love to bind contract with so call continental electronics vendors.. Bosch.. Clarion, Blaupunkt, Punch, Continental.. pity that Proton didn’t care the reliability of those automotive electronics parts (audio, ecu, tcu,etc.) were not good as Japan brand like Fujitsu, Hitachi, Renesas. They have very good reliability, than continental brand.. just proud of brand image of continental country.. but bad performance, reliability and quality wise.

Again.. we will see how many of this junks will be sold..
    hahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • Sylvester9118 on Feb 07, 2015 at 2:47 am

This is crazy! A Malaysian car cost RM80k+ ?? I can get a better car for that price…Nothing is worth it for the car..It’s low quality, not much features…Proton are using cheap materials and spare parts to build cars and they priced the car at high prices, it’s just bullshit

• botol on Feb 07, 2015 at 1:28 pm

Azlan O… u approve design of this car looking like that? So much for making timeless design… brothers designer can make nicer design than this…. or maybe DRB design using their icam student and u have to swallow it… whatever it is .. bad design.. also brochure is result of lazy work… re use persona pic for ebd explanation and claim 4 airbags but only show 2…. typical lazy proton… even too lazy to save themself from bankrupt…

• fazron on Feb 08, 2015 at 11:14 am

The skirting are just hideous. Make exora looks ugly. What is happening with Proton. When will their syok sendiri ends.

• undertaker (Member) on Feb 08, 2015 at 3:56 pm

The most pariah car in the world.want2be sporty but unfortunately look ugly& suck.only poor man buy this.inspirated & ijora.better buy lancer&grandis used cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • onearedeal on Feb 09, 2015 at 8:27 am

I don’t need to compare tech with imported cars because the real issue is about the price. Why is the price set by Proton too high while the car is locally produced?

• same kot on Feb 10, 2015 at 5:37 pm

well they say many people buy vios and innova at chin peng island and langkawi…end up 5 years later interior already ugly and engine sound so noisy.. yeah toyota quality perfect

• undertaker (Member) on Feb 10, 2015 at 9:20 pm

OFTEN COPIED NEVER EQUALLED.Brand no1.when the pariah potong fans convert 2be lancer clone we call inspiraTed.:-)

• undertaker (Member) on Feb 10, 2015 at 10:53 pm

U can compare altis&innova not vios.its to cheap same as inspirat low market value.Not same u tolol

• Jebatv6 on Feb 15, 2015 at 12:32 am

Very easy…if i don’t like it, why waste time to think how to shouted, screaming and hate others??? Just don’t buy…

• hashimoto on Feb 16, 2015 at 10:54 am

Well done proton, jgn layan yg bagi bad comment, they just jealous. kalau lu pikir dia mahal, then get another brand

• undertaker (Member) on Feb 17, 2015 at 10:29 pm

Jealous??? Wreeekkk!!!why potong fans always give stupid comments..cuz they r from pariah of dr.m mindset bullshit! Actually potong Is the failure in globalmarket but unfortunately people have to buy it cuz they ‘ve got no choices.so dont lie&dont be hypocrite hehehe RIP

• undertaker (Member) on Feb 17, 2015 at 10:39 pm

Ada ati mau kwn ngn asx, grandis, evo, lancer..puehhh!!kwn ngn pajero buruk @@triton blhlh

• I love cars and keep changing car. I know this is bad habit but this is my money and passions.. Hope no complaints..

So i tell u based on my experience.. Comparing spec with price – exora win
    But quality so-so only.. I dont mind to pay 100k if proton give conti quality..

Handling acceptable, power ok, sound profing tahap boleh jerlaa… I’m only complaining hard low quality plastic interior.. Feel very cheap.. Tutup pintu also keras semacam.. The leather seat not really comfort (adult) 2nd n 3rd row.. Front seat oklah.. The fabric one actually better but dont have new features.. 4 airbag, asc..

But i still buy it due to cheapest mpv with the spec n reliable spare parts… Lol.. This is my 12th purchase car.. Mean to carry 4 adult n 3 kids..

Tell me if i can get better mpv for this price? I’m normal people only… Lets vote PR next election.. See what they can do.. If failed, vote back BN.. Haha..

• I have been driving Exora bold for almost a year and mileage clock almost 60000KM.. I have drive other MPV such as Nissan Livina…Innova…. Overall I would say Exora win in all aspect and for haters please feel free to drive first b4 comment. From PD to Penang full tank with speed 140 to 160KM/h i will still have balance of 2 bar petrol….Handling was always good and Exora really spacious…

• piece of crap

• DPCraft on Mar 06, 2015 at 4:48 pm

The design is getting old :(

• Kudeq on Mar 07, 2015 at 2:44 pm

I have ordered one. loan approved but proton says currently no stock for Indiana Grey. Whole country got no stock. anyone can verify this? Are they stop producing this color and wait until GST? sigh..

• hisham on Mar 08, 2015 at 12:07 pm

sorry..i’m not afford to buy proton..the price is so high for me..with that price better for me to get a honda or toyota cars..

• Kudeq on Mar 08, 2015 at 5:17 pm

Which model bro? Give me the mpvs model number with the same price range and ill call the SA and cancel my oder Today..

• Terence on Mar 08, 2015 at 3:46 pm

I bought a EXORA in 2012, no fancy stuff, just the M-Line with standard manual CPS engine, been using the car for close to 3 years now, no issues at all, love the space and the handling. Petrol consumption is reasonably good. I bought it and i am not complaining.So stop being a complainer, nobody is forcing you to get one.

• Rafael van Der Vaart on Mar 10, 2015 at 11:31 am

There will be haters no matter what they try to do.
    If toyota or ferrari produce a car for them secretly then the haters also will call it as rubbish. U guys are reading this article because u are interested with it, eventhough your fingers are typing against it. Why bother to read since it is rubbish? Keep up the good work Proton, since you’re still a baby in this industry then you are forgiven.

• sylinder on Mar 13, 2015 at 3:47 pm

logo pada steering..sigh*…xboleh letak logo betul2 ke…

• Jebat Jr on May 07, 2015 at 2:49 pm

Exora 2015 vs Exora 2009…..looks the same to me….the side mirror still the same side mirror….facelift should look different….or better.

The Saga BLM turn into FLX….atleast they had diferent shape of front and tail light.

• RavenAii (Member) on May 10, 2015 at 10:49 pm

Only, if only Proton would come out with a bigger capacity engine with more power, it wouldn’t be a petrol sucker after a few years of usage like the current version.

• mr. mama on May 24, 2015 at 2:41 pm

Rasa nak beli yang super premium la… Anak2 dah ramai.. Mulanya rasa nak beli super power mpv… Tp saya drive paling laju pun 110km/j… Exora just nice..

• You all yang coment nagative about exora bullshit la…korg ingat semua org senang nak lulus loan utk beli toyota honda contoh wish, stream yang harganya boleh dikatakan murah la walaupun 100k keatas, setakat letak duit booking 1k standby duit muka 10K aku pon boleh tapi bab loan mcm bangsat susah gila nak lulus…dah sebulan 2 bank reject ni dah masuk bank ke3 try tak tau lepas ke tidak..sial.

• tailong on Jul 30, 2015 at 11:06 am

i had bought exora bold turbo indiana grey,so far so good..all that negative comment,buy and feel it yourself.

• i would say i am a proud owner of exora. i believe those who commented harshly does not even bought the car. I got no problem with it until today.positivity reflects who you are, how you look at things and how things reflected to you.

• TerenceW on Sep 03, 2015 at 4:38 pm

Proud owner of the 2015 Exora here. Those who commented on top are definitely not owners.

I am not a fan of Proton but I have to get this due to budget and I don’t find it realistic to buy Innova (I like space). I am not a fan of recon cars as well (Estima / Previa / Alphard).

This car is comfortable. For those who are interested in an Exora, do go and test it out.

Bashers are usually tin kosong la, period.

• iFONEsixx on Sep 08, 2015 at 12:10 am

Planning to buy the Exora Premium model, as my existing sedan is bursting at its seams, with a growing family and all… It’s the most affordable MPV for me today, since the recon models like Estima and Alphard are too expensive!

• Dzulfaqar on Dec 31, 2015 at 1:27 pm

comparing between Exora Premium and Exora Super Premium(SP),

the only different is
    Premium got Side Protector Moulding
    SP got Body Cladding.

The different of Price is nearly RM6000,

is there any accessories shop that can make Body Cladding and how much it cost?