SsangYong Tivoli B-segment SUV goes on sale in UK

SsangYong Tivoli UK-09

Launched in its home market of South Korea in January, the SsangYong Tivoli will be making its UK debut this summer, which for us is mid-year. What this means to us is the B-segment SUV is now available in right-hand drive and could possibly be a future offering by local dealer Convergent Strategies, formerly known as Competitive Supreme.

The firm is in bullish mood. “This is a car that will really put SsangYong on the map and change brand perceptions. By any criteria but especially style, interior finish and value for money, Tivoli stands close scrutiny. The verdict from those who have already seen and driven the car is that we’re on to a winner,” proclaimed Paul Williams, CEO of SsangYong Motor UK.

The Tivoli starts from £12,950 (RM69,465) and is available with two 1.6L Euro 6 engines, 128 PS/160 Nm petrol or 115 PS/300 Nm diesel. The turbo motors can be had with either a six-speed manual gearbox or six-speed Aisin-sourced automatic transmission with manual mode. 4WD is an option with the diesel.

SsangYong Tivoli UK-06

The base SE spec comes with fabric seats, 16-inch alloys, cruise control, engine stop-start (petrol), smart steering (normal, comfort and sport modes), Bluetooth and seven airbags. Moving up to the EX nets one grey or beige leather upholstery, 18-inch ‘Spiral’ rims, dual-zone air con, touch screen audio system with rear view camera, heated front seats, front fog lights and a luggage load cover.

The top spec Tivoli ELX features ‘diamond cut’ alloys, a smart instrument cluster, keyless entry and start, front/rear parking sensors, rear spoiler, auto headlamps/wipers, full TomTom navigation with seven-inch touch screen and cabin personalisation options.

Led by Honda’s HR-V, the B-SUV market is a hot one indeed. What do you think of this SsangYong?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• hanssen on Apr 10, 2015 at 2:20 pm

If the price comparable to hrv, my gut goes for SS…more masculine look. Hrv is boring in 7 days…

• Airis on Apr 10, 2015 at 3:32 pm

So Proton still struggling with Campro VVT engine unable to meet latest Euro 6 regulation for UK market?

• Same L0rrr on Apr 10, 2015 at 3:56 pm

Anybody interested in Triumph, Skiva, Sorella, Bee Dees, Sloggi, Wacoal products please contact me, your friendly ex UMW salesman.

I am with Parkson now, Triumph International

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 16
    • What is SS?

• Same L0rrr on Apr 10, 2015 at 2:28 pm

Not sure where SY got the courage to release a new model even after years of struggling. This model is prepare to fail also. Nobody will bat an eye on kimchis after Camry launch.

Buy Toyota better, good RV.

Latest Camry booking: 83

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 39
    • Same L0rrr on Apr 10, 2015 at 3:03 pm

Someone is using my username. The truth is, nobody is touching Camry. For RM150k, you don’t get VSC and only 2 airbag. Don’t know what else cheating UMW has compromised. Maybe even the strength of the steel and besi of the body of the car. Normal Camry in the US can accident, nobody dies. Malaysian Camry accident, everybody inside kemek.

Remember, if UMW can cheat us with no VSC and take out airbags until only 2 left, anything is possible for them to cheat us more.

Anyway, I am happy to be working in Parkson now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
      • Same Lorrrr now in Parkson but he still thinks he is in UMW….ha ha ha ha Post Traumatic Disorder

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 10, 2015 at 3:51 pm

lol.. so thick face. You steal my username and you say someone steal yours.

Seah you can say whatever you want. My one month commission can buy a Alphard. Work hard and stop complaining much. Time to upgrade your Perodua MyVi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
          • Mary Minah on Apr 11, 2015 at 9:28 am

So, you are a millionaire? Still don’t have class cos just a car sale man.I don’t think you own a tux. he he

• Same LOrrr on Apr 11, 2015 at 2:47 pm

Same Lorrr is a fake. I am the real Same Lorrr and I am now an undergarments promoter. I used to work for UMW as a salesman but since sales were declining I joined Parkson.

Pls lah fake Same Lorrr, don’t steal my identity. I have been here 2 years now

• Toyota Salesman Crying on Apr 12, 2015 at 12:14 pm

Sam must have shown him the Hilux for the 3rd time.

Just wait till he gets demoted, then the selling will happen within 48 hrs

• I just bought a 2014 Camry 2.5V registered in July for RM100k. I am a happy buyer cause I just saved RM80k and still got 2 years plus warranty intact. Accident free. Done only 26,000KM.

Are you sure got good RV?

• Toyota Salesman Crying on Apr 12, 2015 at 12:11 pm

It’s OK to feel like this after Sam showed you the Hilux.

At least you are now at the 3rd stage of a 5 stage journey of the kimchi nightmare.

Have gone thru the 5 stage and will let you know when you see enlightment

• thepolygonal on Apr 10, 2015 at 2:43 pm

Front is nice… back is debatable… hmmm… interior looks great. But if anything goes, it all comes down to the pricing. Around RM69k in UK…

• Lanhb on Apr 10, 2015 at 2:55 pm

Ssangyong maybe try to do like Kia wt Soul…

But Malaysians are sedan people…boring sedans…

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 10, 2015 at 3:18 pm

kim chi quality, owned by chapati…best of both worlds

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • Well, at least they put in the effort and give their best in term of value for money and with good looks to show. At the end customer benefits. Better than some other company that purposely taking out all the safety features in their cars and sell them at much higher price, as if people buy car just because of brand only. What benefits customer get, brand recognition, logo?

• old dog on Apr 10, 2015 at 11:43 pm

bring here and sell around 100K, sure can do.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 12, 2015 at 9:10 am

Buy it 6 months later. Should not be more than RM15k

• shawal on Apr 11, 2015 at 7:31 pm

with HRV and base cx-r in the market…
    this car will be eaten alive…
    unless backed with 5 star moto journo’s review…

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 11, 2015 at 10:59 pm

Same fate as KIA, Ssangyong can no longer be traded in