Honda Malaysia stays No 1 non-national passenger carmaker in Q1 2015, HR-V collects over 10k bookings

2015_Honda_CR-V_2.4_4WD_facelift_Malaysia_ 062

Besides revealing RM500-2,500 price drops for its post-GST range, Honda Malaysia also shared at a recent media gathering its to-date sales performance and plans for the future.

As of the first quarter of 2015, the company remains the top-selling non-national passenger carmaker, with 6,522 cars sold in January and 6,041 in February. In March, despite the uncertainty surrounding the impending GST, Honda Malaysia managed to shift over 9,000 cars – its highest monthly sales in history. Add the three months up and you get 21,563 units – 38% up from the same period last year.

“Moving forward in 2015, the forecasted TIV (total industry volume) is 697,000 units with a 4.6% growth. Our sales target for this year is 85,000 units and we have entered 2015 on a high note,” said MD and CEO Yoichiro Ueno.

The highly-popular HR-V has collected over 10,000 bookings since its February launch, resulting in a long waiting period. Ueno extended “sincere apologies” on behalf of the brand, saying that production will be maximised to keep up with demand.

The HR-V and CR-V facelift are currently leading the SUV segment in Malaysia, while the City, Jazz, Civic facelift and Accord led their respective segments in the first two months of 2015.

Before the year is up, Honda Malaysia will be establishing 11 new 3S facilities and five new body and paint centres to add to the existing 75 3S facilities, four 1S showrooms and 12 body and paint centres. The company is also looking to strengthen its presence in East Malaysia and suburban areas by setting up a regional office, training facilities, a distribution centre and a parts warehouse.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• AVH (Member) on Apr 03, 2015 at 4:08 pm

There is about a 4 month waiting period on the HRV, depending on color and variant. Its abit difficult to spot on the roads in the Klang Valley, but during my 3 days break in Penang, they were almost everywhere.

Anyways, it looks like with its dramatic model launch last year leading into this [City,Jazz,Civic Fl,CRV FL and HRV) looks like Honda has exhausted its inventory to introduce annything new into Malaysia. With the uncertainty of the hybrid-CKD exemption, the prospect of seeing a City or Jazz Hybrid in Malaysia looks grim.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 7
    • arcana on Apr 03, 2015 at 4:48 pm

you’re right, there goes my hope of owning a full hybrid honda. if only govt extends the dateline then there’s some hope.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
      • Honda FTW! on Apr 03, 2015 at 5:29 pm

WOW! Honda City leads the sale in 2014 now the HR-V leads the sale in 2015. Honda Malaysia bring in the Civic Type-R in 2016 to complete a thriller! Show UMW Toyota who’s boss in terms of packaging and pricing

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 10
        • Sam Lorr eat shit this time on Apr 03, 2015 at 6:53 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 187
          • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 124
        • Operation-Manager (Member) on Apr 03, 2015 at 7:49 pm

Its all about Dollar & Cent.
          Honda capable to offered up to rm30k cheaper than toyota.

D segment
          Accord 130k (king)
          Camry 150k

C segment:
          Mazda 3 106k (king)
          Altis 128k
          Civic 122k

B segment
          Almera 67k (king)
          City 72k
          Vios 76k

SUV B
          HRV 98K (king)

SUV C
          CRV 130K (KING)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 16
    • tokmoh. on Apr 03, 2015 at 4:57 pm

Subang Jaya can already spot quite a number of them.

HRV is good value for money over other choices here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 9
      • hondaman on Apr 03, 2015 at 5:54 pm

Budak subang jayer memang ader gayer…. btw HZN Glenmarie is just across the road, the most convenience place for the cars to fill up is at ss17 subang jaya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
      • Holofanboi on Apr 03, 2015 at 6:31 pm

Can attest to this. There is really quite a number to the point of it being noticeable in Subang.

• tokmoh (Member) on Apr 03, 2015 at 10:59 pm

For an area Toyota hardcore enough to easily spot Avanza, Innova, Nautica (well, a Toyota in a way), Rush, Fortuner… well, basically all Toyotas here are overpriced shits, right?

Anyway, for an area to spot all those shits to be converted to Honda, well done. Fark UMW upside down, if Vios is Godcar, city is GODSLAYER!! SLAY THE MUTHAFUHKIN overpriced coffinmobile!

Speaking of City, facepalm betul la the S and S+ spec cannot fold rear seats. No ESP already turn off, cannot fold rear seat, win liao lor.

The same for Godcar J spec and Almera (not sure if all specs cannot). Jilaka, wanna give stupid shitty bodykits can, but a super important practical feature tabouli ini machiem? Nokharooooom

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
    • Passerby on Apr 03, 2015 at 4:58 pm

here penang i almost can see an HR-V everyday… more easy than to spot a proton preve+suprimak s+iriz… even new jazz which launched half year ago has become a common car than any proton on the road

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 23
      • Korean Fan on Apr 03, 2015 at 6:40 pm

And yet Malaysian complain car price is high, economy is no good, we are doomed, bla bla bla… car in us is cheap, with 12 you can buy camry in US bla bla bla….

But then, beli jugak kereta and it seems like the top of range HRV has the highest booking

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 13
        • duit xcukup on Apr 03, 2015 at 8:44 pm

yg byk komplen tu org tadak duit..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 16
        • tokmoh (Member) on Apr 03, 2015 at 11:06 pm

Bankruptcy also higher. Mentioned many times before, car loan main contributor for bankruptcy.

Biar ayahanda, asal gaya. Ada Godcar, ada amoi, so tak kesah if bankrupt. At least can get amoi and since high RV, good investment worth risking bankruptcy. All Godcar lalabeng say u jelly cannot buy Godcar? That’s cuz u lazy, never wanna work hard to buy best car ever.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
        • Missile head on Apr 08, 2015 at 3:01 am

Not like we have a choice right ?

• Proton Rubbish Car on Apr 03, 2015 at 6:56 pm

This shows that people are willing to buy Honda Jazz and City,also new Hr-v than any low quality Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 21
        • lotushandlingftw on Apr 03, 2015 at 10:03 pm

But still preve are much better unlike junky low spec altis not to mention moving coffin vios without VSC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 12
    • Wilfred on Apr 05, 2015 at 12:11 pm

My choice remains with a hybrid…hence if Honda does not bring in the new jazz/city hybrid…
      my primary choice won’t be honda then…

• Newcomer on Apr 03, 2015 at 4:19 pm

Sad Sam Loo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 14
    • azrai on Apr 03, 2015 at 4:37 pm

Sam Loo already gave his CV to Honda Sales last month. RV RV LV. No wonder DRB-HICOM did not even bother on Proton sales, they still got Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 50
      • sam CV on Apr 03, 2015 at 5:20 pm

Sam only got industry experience in talk cock for 35 years. Honda rejected him.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 36
      • Menyusahkan Rakyat on Apr 03, 2015 at 6:51 pm

Honda record sales big profit but it is useless. Mostly gone to cover losses by Proton. Luckily DRB got Deftech big profits also so even if Proton Lotus make big loss every year it’s OK too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
    • Same L0rrrr on Apr 03, 2015 at 5:52 pm

Why so sad? We are doing good also. Only the basher and Aeon promoter talkok of our sales, they are not even in the industry.

If you don’t buy Toyota, you don’t have to get out of Malaysia/Japan.

As I always said, you won’t go wrong with sushi cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 27
      • japsucks on Apr 03, 2015 at 10:05 pm

But but…….its handling sucks at corners. High speed cruising also fails

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
      • paulnut on Apr 03, 2015 at 11:39 pm

sam bought his 25 yrs old son proton saga anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
      • roticoke on Apr 06, 2015 at 6:33 pm

I’ve got to admit, the likes of Sam Lor, Sam Loo or Sam Lorrrrr makes me changed from a neutral towards Toyota to a hater.

U’re not doing ur employer a favor at all laaaa or maybe u better off file a complaint to your employer for ruining ur life laa..

• just another driver on Apr 03, 2015 at 4:25 pm

looks like a tax exempted CKD city or jazz hybrid introduction is more and more unlikely. one of the reason is the factory capacity to cope with new model launch, another is the government willingness to give green light to city hybrid CKD as it may kill any upcoming hybrids from Proton.

• Loo Sam Pah on Apr 03, 2015 at 4:36 pm

Sam who? he had received 40 plus booking with 1 cancellation.

i find this Sam who is doing more harm than good to himself and to his hailat.

pro sales personnel sell by promoting their product benefits rather than condemning the competition.

all the best Sam who

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 37
    • VHL Lorrr on Apr 03, 2015 at 9:46 pm

Truly agreed… No need to bother his ‘hailat’ @ hilux already, in fact i really hope that all of his hilux get destroyed and smashed into pieces as God forbids people to simply showing off and looking down to others.

Additionally, even driving a ‘flashy’ cars feels less dangerous than driving a Hilux that will put you and your family’s life in danger at anytime anywhere (risk of accident is too great since no VSC, somemore most of them are Auto, not to mention risk being car-jacked or stolen/lost).

In order to get sales, usually most SA will promote their products benefits and advantages as well as attractive offers to buyers to get sales. While most (not all) Toyota salesman esp. those get ‘poisoned’ by Sam Loo / Same Lorrr only know how to condemn and badmouth all their rivals (don’t say Kimchi and Protong, even Honda also not spared as well as all conti cars) meanwhile retain their grandfather story about Resale Value of Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 34
  • azrai on Apr 03, 2015 at 4:38 pm

Does the sales includes Pondana for superscale GS?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
  • albert on Apr 03, 2015 at 4:51 pm

DRB must be having a big relief that Honda is churning out record profits to compensate for proton’s impending announcement of record losses.
    The Arab can sleep better now.
    At the rate Honda is moving,I am not surprised if DRB ditch sick Proton and concentrate on Honda,makes sense?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
  • Ongtk on Apr 03, 2015 at 4:53 pm

Regrettably, Honda in partnership with a UMNO crony who controls our rice, sugar, ports, and almost everything else!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 35
    • Albert on Apr 04, 2015 at 8:31 am

Ongtk,Cant run away from cronyism in Bolehland.Even if Pakatan wins next GE,their cronies will also emerge.
      The mamak ARAB IS GOING TO STOP NATIONAL SERVICE soon,by ditching protong.He is going BIG into bringing BIRKIN HANDBAGS to Bolehland .At US 100,000 a piece,it is better than selling 6 Preves,or 9 Iriz.You know someone has tons of cash to buy these exotic handbags,don’t you?
      What for sweat and toil for loss making Lotus and Protong,a Birkin handbag weighs less than 1kg.The f..up Preve weighs 1.4 tons.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • cendol (Member) on Apr 03, 2015 at 5:00 pm

Proton can straight away become no.1 car saler in Malaysia by Taking over Honda by force.
    No need do any work, just take over, straight become top seller

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • Sam L00 on Apr 03, 2015 at 5:02 pm

honda sales good..but showroom not nationwide as toyota.. customer choose toyota because easy to find showroom and SC.. my toyota RV still better than LONDA due to LONDA lack of SC..

city 2014.. 2nd hand rm70000 in no SC area..if got SC..maybe rm75000..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 65
    • Sam Loo bullS**T on Apr 04, 2015 at 12:38 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 125
  • City Driver on Apr 03, 2015 at 5:43 pm

This just goes to show that consumers are not stupid!! You give them a product with features that they want at a competitive price, and it’s an automatic no-brainer. Shoppers are looking for safety, value, reliability, features and RV… (not just RV!). Honda Malaysia is getting it right and the sales figures prove it. Secret sauce? They’re not using a local distributor who is just looking for profit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 71
  • Cantona on Apr 03, 2015 at 5:47 pm

Well this post proves that in this year Toyota sales will be badly affected by Honda. Last year Honda won in passenger vehicle segment and this year they might overtake Toyota in total volume inclusive of the Toyota commercial vehicle segment.
    “Alldisc” mentioned whether you win by an inch or by a mile a win is still a win so looks like Honda might just win by a mile this year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 64
  • DonkeyKong on Apr 03, 2015 at 5:54 pm

10k bookings for HRV in just a couple of months. Seems like they’ve gotten more bookings than Proton Iriz since its launch? The last time I read about it, Proton got only 8k+ bookings for the Iriz. As for the Suprima.. “failure” doesn’t even begin to describe it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
  • sudonano (Member) on Apr 03, 2015 at 6:13 pm

When you make a good product, people will naturally come and get it.

Case in point, this. Well done Honda, but don’t rest on your laurels.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • Sparcov on Apr 03, 2015 at 6:21 pm

Aiyo…I waited by V spec silver HRV for 2 months ald, when coming ar?? My sales people say somewhere in June…. :(

• No more Value on Apr 03, 2015 at 6:26 pm

All the kimchi-me need to wear a napkin tonight.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
  • My wish and prayer is for proton to close shop and become extinct.

Let’s all pray for this to happen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 23
    • abeng on Apr 03, 2015 at 10:10 pm

Then the car price will go down? In your dreamland!!!!!!

• dugongx on Apr 04, 2015 at 3:12 pm

Your wish is useless…even if proton bankrupt you think BN will stop collecting taxes for excise and import duty? I doubt you even have an IQ of 10.

• prtax on Apr 05, 2015 at 7:59 am

PR will stop collecting tax???

Malaysia die faster………….

• My wish and prayer is for proton to close shop and become extinct.

For the sake of all malaysians proton please please please close shop so we malaysians can buy affordable quality overseas cars.

Proton you suck!!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 26
    • rosmah on Apr 03, 2015 at 8:34 pm

Why?
      I like proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
    • If you mean 2 airbags no vsc, no tc, no style, no passion, no emotion toyotas, then I say… no way. You suck!!!!!!

• taknakToyota on Apr 04, 2015 at 3:36 am

At least p1 shows improvement in features. Meanwhile, there is never improve car even after generations. Hint : zinc roof

• Proton Suprima on Apr 05, 2015 at 1:09 am

Proton latest model are better than any jap brands on same segment. Do us a favor shutdown yourself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • alldisc on Apr 03, 2015 at 8:45 pm

Jonathan, care to share other numbers as well? Is Honda really that good if so by what margin compare to Toyota?

If the difference is a mere 2,000 units I say that is nothing to boast. I am expecting ssomething like double than what Toyota sold (20k vs 10k)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • Cantona on Apr 04, 2015 at 10:23 am

Do know that Honda sales does not include Commercial vehicles at all while the current sales volume by Toyota is inclusive of their commercial vehicles. As of February numbers alone Honda is leading by 3500 units ahead of Toyota. The lead should easily be over 6000 when factor in the March sales.

• alldisc on Apr 05, 2015 at 9:24 pm

are you jonathan? if you are i believe you. or else, i dont.

it is hard for me to rely on the numbers you gave without any proof whatsoever. just by talking cock.

at least, provide a link.

• Cantona on Apr 06, 2015 at 11:45 am

Just go check the MAA reports for proof and see if i am just talking cock. Not sure why you so defensive and butthurt when people mentioned Toyota sales has dropped and others have overtaken them.
          Fact is Toyota lost the passenger vehicle segment in 2014 to Honda. Sure you were adamant that Toyota overall sales higher when factor in commercial vehicles and about winning by and inch or a mile a win is still a win.
          Fact 2: Feb 2014 Toyota had 14k plus units sold compared to this year Feb only 9k units sold. See the difference?? thats a 5k or 40% drop for the same period as last year.

From the looks of it Honda might just win by a mile this year.
          A simple search using google on malaysia car market reports will show that all i mentioned are facts

• With HOnda increased sales, Honda Malaysia better improve their Service centers. They also need to train better technicians. Seems like lots of new un experienced technicians ruining the service experience.

Also rushing those 10k bookings of HRV seem to create car delivered with defects. Honda Malaysia take notice of the complaints and do something if want to retain number 1 spot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 03, 2015 at 10:45 pm

Because of Honda & Toyota new models and pricing, I have been never ever been so busy before today.

But as most HYundai cars that come in today are below 12 months old, these sorhais are reluctant to let go the Sonata at RM45k and Elantra at RM40k

Just a matter of time they come back. Have got all their plates noted down, so will further mark down when they come again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 19
    • I’l pay cash for 12mth old Sonata at 45k if is true. The stuff that you smoke must be damn good until can make you HIGH for so long!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 22
  • UMW Toyota Sucks on Apr 04, 2015 at 1:17 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 130
  • UMW Toyota on Apr 04, 2015 at 4:09 am

Jeremy Clarkson said that the BBC not fired him, he actually quit Top Gear voluntarily when he realize that UMW Toyota are making tons of monies by running ponzi-spec-car-scheme. he’s joining them next week at your nearest SC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • civicEK on Apr 04, 2015 at 2:08 pm

you all mistakenly sam loo is a toyota fanboy, actually he is a jdm (all japanese car make) fanboy and anti korean car, thats all :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 30
    • taknakToyota on Apr 04, 2015 at 7:09 pm

JDM also no use, because in bolehland the ditching work is here and there. Altis low spec no VSC, how?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 24
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 05, 2015 at 9:02 am

I only trade Hyundai vehicles, because it is very profitable.

And I drive a Camry 2.4 ACV40. Never a Hyundai because it is pretty degrading to be seen in one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
      • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 116
  • DPCraft on Apr 04, 2015 at 3:21 pm

2015- Year Of Honda !!!

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 05, 2015 at 9:07 am

Year 2015 will be the lowest year for Hyundai in terms of trade in value

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • Now small SUV are so hot, I’m wondering why Tan Chong din’t bring in and CKD the Nissan Juke.

• Sam Looser on Apr 06, 2015 at 10:04 pm

Face it la. It will be the most degrading to be seen in a 100k saga. Which water fish will pay so much for such a low end car? I won’t even ride in 1 unless you point a gun to my head.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 71
  • Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 07, 2015 at 9:08 am

Only instinctive sorhai tai lan ngongs will buy new kimchis (appears very dai mai from 1st glance).

Remorse sets in right after downpayment is made. Walking out of the kimchi showroom, you will keep looking back and wonder WTF did you just do.

Right after collecting the car, hailat feeling comes in before refilling the 1st tank of fuel.

After hearing only negative things about Korean cars from colleagues, you started to park in LRT stations and find your way to work via public transport. When your boss finds out, the promotion that was meant for you went to a junior staff driving a MyVi.

At family gatherings, you park far far away so that no relatives will see you in a rotten cabbage. Someone knew, so the senior family members gave you a pat in the back and said “this car can sell or not after 2 years?”

You are at rock botton now. Come to my yard, I show you the Hilux, you yell Hailat Lor. I then get my PA to cut you a cheque.

Head down to a Honda Showroom and book yourself a HRV. Collect 3 months later. In the meantime, you feel better riding in a Proton Waja Taxi

• hondaWasabi on Apr 07, 2015 at 11:40 am

pls bring Honda Ridgeline to malaysia and beat that toyota hilux.