Honda HR-V; 13k bookings, six-month waiting period

02 Models posing with the All-New HR-V

The sales juggernaut that is the 2015 Honda HR-V appears to be gaining even more momentum as we speak. Earlier on, we reported that everyone’s favourite B-segment SUV had chalked up a total of over 10,000 bookings since its local market debut in February 2015 with the waiting period extending to over four months.

Fortunately for Honda Malaysia (not so much if you’re on the waiting list), interest in the HR-V looks set to continue as bookings for said model now stand at 13,073 units in total, with 3,620 cars already registered. The waiting period has now stretched to a maximum of six months with Honda working on overtime to bring it down to four at the start of the third quarter of 2015.

By the end of the year, Honda is expected to shorten the waiting period further to a maximum time of one to one and a half months. Another thing to note is that among the three variants on sale in Malaysia, from the base Grade S to the mid-range Grade E and flagship Grade V, the latter is the one responsible for forming the bulk of the bookings so far.

Further cementing the Honda HR-V as the car of the moment is Honda Malaysia’s own admission that the response received is 45% better than anticipated by the company’s own expectations. In fact, global demand for the Honda HR-V has reached a level so high that vendors all over the world are struggling to keep up with the required capacity – so it’s not an issue solely faced by Honda Malaysia’s Pegoh plant.

For more information on the Honda HR-V, check out our info hub here. Want to know how it drives instead? You can read our review of it here or head on over to Carbase.my for a comprehensive, variant-by-variant breakdown of the HR-V.

GALLERY: Honda HR-V Grade V (with Modulo Sport Aero Package)

GALLERY: Honda HR-V Grade E

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Sam L0rrrr on Apr 29, 2015 at 11:46 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 174
    • Deus Ex on Apr 29, 2015 at 12:14 pm

You must have confused this Honda HR-V with the Toyota Rush.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 149 Thumb down 10
      • Toyota Moving Coffin on Apr 29, 2015 at 2:30 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 187
        • Same L0rrrr on Apr 29, 2015 at 4:35 pm

As I always said, you won’t go wrong with sushi cars. Bravo to Honda. But everyone know a HRV is less durable than our Rush. Look at City problems then you know.

Those who bought Santa Fe, Sportage are showing great lemonade-sour face in my showroom every week. Pity them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 59
          • kurang ajar on Apr 29, 2015 at 6:47 pm

ini Same Lorr kurang ajar…kena pancut nanti

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 26
          • VHL Lorr on Apr 29, 2015 at 9:06 pm

bukan Same Lorr je, banyak salesman Toyota sekarang ni perangai macam kurang ajar (walaupun kereta dah tak laku sekarang), cuba pergi mana-mana showroom Toyota, peluang kena kencing dgn salesman Toyota adalah sangat tinggi dgn jawapan-jawapan bodoh (klu ditanya kenapa hanya 2 airbag and tiada VSC), depa akan jawab, itu VSC tak perlu punya, nak banyak airbag tu sbb nak pergi langgar kereta orang ke. Promosi, tak payah tanya pasal rebate atau offer, you mau booking ke tak, kalau tak nak, jangan buang masa kami.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 37
          • Sam LOrrr Junk on Apr 29, 2015 at 9:37 pm

You drive that useless junk vios moving coffin don’t ever come here and talk bad on Honda City.

Only those uneducated and know nothing about cars like Same lorrr will buy that vios useless tin milo junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 31
          • Sam LOrrr Junk on Apr 29, 2015 at 9:39 pm

People already lost interest with toyojunk in malaysia.

Now people go for Honda or Mazda.
            I drive new City.
            vios??sorry i don’t want to be looked down by others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 20
          • VHL Lorr on Apr 29, 2015 at 10:47 pm

Nowadays, ‘jamban junk’ Vios already beaten left and right by their competitors such as Nissan Almera (RM70k segment) and Honda City (RM80k – RM90k segment), and also soon to be Mazda 2 and hopefully also an upcoming 3rd gen Proton Saga.

Brand new jamban junk Vios? Even Protong Saga SV manual way better than ‘brand new’ jamban junk Vios although i didn’t really favour Proton, or if can wait, New 3rd gen Saga (probably will speed up demise of Vios much more faster if VSC was included as well as spacious interior and boot space)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
      • blaster88 on Apr 29, 2015 at 3:16 pm

Yea…Toyota Rush – rushing to cancel…but than nothing to cancel, don’t see many on the road…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
    • Meanwhile at the toyota dealership, everyone is flocking into the stores to buy the new toyota rush.

Said no one ever.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 18
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 29, 2015 at 1:07 pm

This sort of news amplifies the hailat feeling of all kimchi owners.

Naturally, this type of reaction is expected

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 16
      • June 2014 Camry 2.5 - RM98k on Apr 29, 2015 at 3:34 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 130
      • Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 29, 2015 at 5:29 pm

I accepted a 2014 Feb Sonata for RM35k 2 weeks back.

Now it is down to RM30k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 16
    • Rush better, 0 cancellation, because 0 booking at all.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 6
    • Lance on Apr 29, 2015 at 2:39 pm

I believe yes many will cancel as by the time CX-3 will be here and will give this HRV a run of the money. I have a chance to view CX-3 at Narita airport recently and this car will definitely cost more as I looked at every corner of the interior which are way above HRV in term of quality. Of course design wise CX-3 are way better too. This car definitely has European premium quality in it with Japanese reliability. Will seriously consider it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 8
      • Sam LOrrr Junk on Apr 29, 2015 at 9:40 pm

Honda Hrv or Mazda Cx3..will make toyota zero sales and sam lorrr will hang himself!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
    • justmegoreng on Apr 29, 2015 at 7:04 pm

a friend of mine just cancelled his HRV booking , lost 10% of deposit and took CX 5 that will be supplied next week. he gave up after waiting too long for HRV since march i.e. till august, on cancellation suddenly the agent said his HRV can be obtained in 2 weeks …. ??? have someone forgot the ethics in buying and selling … or its just the Msian style of selling things ….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • Sam LOrrr Junk on Apr 29, 2015 at 9:35 pm

Haha Toyojunk sales already so terrible yet want to come here and talk bad at Honda.
      See this Hrv already at high demand Same lorrr still launch the useless junk Rush.
      Wait till Mazda Cx3 launch in Malaysia same lorrr will kill himself!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
    • GrayImports on Apr 30, 2015 at 10:19 am

Dear UMW & TOYOTA JAPAN

If you are reading this and do care about your brand image and reputation. Please do suspend or even better sack this retarded joker Sales Advisor by the name Sam Loo. He is the main reason customers kept away from your brand as hard sales and bad mounth is not the way to go now a days. Thank you.

Yours sincerely

Readers in Paultan.org

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
  • Driving HRV Vspec now. Quite satisfied. It is compact SUV but the space is not that small and the ride is smooth and comfortable

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 3
  • T salesmen all doing facepalm now while witnessing the forgone sales that is going to H

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 7
  • Dr.M, your AP seems not working..MALFUNCTION

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
  • shawal on Apr 29, 2015 at 12:11 pm

hr-v eats up sales of c-segment cars…

Space, practicality, ultra seats, modern dash, premium looks, safety…
    And affordable pricing…whats not to like…

when the 2nd gen eventually pops us, the first gen would still be hot item in used car market…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • azhar on Apr 29, 2015 at 12:19 pm

waited for 2 months before get it on the 18th..what can i say, its been a joy..no rattling noise, no gap issue…perfecto!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • seancorr (Member) on Apr 29, 2015 at 12:23 pm

A SUV done right with the price and spec…well except for short changing us with cheaper rear lights (no striking tube lights) and a downgraded meter cluster system.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Ray (Member) on Apr 29, 2015 at 12:27 pm

Let’s hope that Honda Malaysia can revise their production line and focus more on the HR-V to shorten the waiting period. That’s because I’m one of the unfortunate ones in the waiting list :(

Meanwhile, the Toyota Rush…

• GG Toyota on Apr 29, 2015 at 2:19 pm

Toyota Rush is crying in dealership. Nobody interested on her.

• Based on my ride on the E spec, the engine starts to roar with above 110 km/h and the sound is audible in the cabin…HM needs to improve the sound proof of HRV. The back seat is quite hard too….keyless entry and lock sometimes work, sometimes not working….

• Johnny on Apr 29, 2015 at 5:13 pm

I feel u bro.

Testing it make me feel dissapointed.

It is a b segmemt suv.. feel just like b segment quality too..

Rm100k for a b segment ride quality is… not worth the money.

• 4G63T DSM on Apr 29, 2015 at 5:29 pm

Thats the problem with Honda in general. Not just this HRV.

Don’t know why they skimp on sound deadening.

• thats normal bro..its cvt not conventional

• AVH (Member) on Apr 29, 2015 at 12:47 pm

But… but…. I thought it wouldn’t sell because is overpriced for a B-segment SUV, selling at a C-segment price.

Moving on, the report is rather contrary from the news I got from my SA in the fact that the mid-range Grade-E is the one chugging up all the bookings. Having test driven the HRV against its stablemate, the C-segment-based Honda CRV thats is price like a D-segment car, it has the quality and tech edge over the larger CRV, the engine and transmission being much smoother(Hail CVT)and to my suprise, power delivery wasn’t as laggy as I was expecting, it was rather quick on the acceleration and it didn’t feel like the CVT was holding back the engine power like what I felt in the old Nissan Sylphy and Suprima S.

Being smaller, it still lacks the stability and commanding driver seating position as the bigger brother. Also, you begin to wonder what were the designer smoking when they thought that triple-air-vents for the passenger was a great idea, the moment you get into the passenger seat.

• azhar on Apr 29, 2015 at 1:02 pm

triple air vents is not a problem at all..u can direct it to the roof for rear passenger or u can close it off completely..no issue of too cold for front passenger

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • I would imagine the discussion between the Accountant, Engineer and Designer in Honda goes like this;

Acct: Nice dashboard Designer. Too bad the Msians won’t see this one.
      Designer: Thanks.
      Acct: BTW, Engineer; I heard you figured out how to setup the cooling system for the rear passengers.
      Engineer: Yes. This is my super-duper cooling system, where we can channel the cool air and set the vent either on the back center console, roof or the pillars.
      Designers: Cool. I’ll design the coolest vents for these.
      Acct: Umm…How much will it cost?
      Engineer: USD$XXXX
      Acct: No, that’s way over budget. We can only allocate USD$XX for this.
      Engineer: On that budget, I’ll do it using A4 papers.
      Designer: Can we really? I mean, I got a lot of inspirations from my evening origami sessions.
      Acct: No he’s just being sarcastic. Then why don’t we just chuck extra vents on the dashboard and call it a day? I’m late for my kirei yoga class.
      Engineer: The front passenger dashboard area is kind of empty, and I don’t need to construct extra hoses there. Just expand the vents and let the customers decide how to use it.
      Acct: Agreed. Designer, add some extra vents there.
      Designer: But that’ll ruin my masterpiece.
      Acct: Engineer and I agreed to this, so it’s 2 against 1. By the way, the budget for that extra vents is USD$X.
      Designer: (Pouting) Then it’ll look like an old Datsun aircon vent.
      Acct: Whatever. I’ll be at the gym.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
  • Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 29, 2015 at 1:01 pm

I would strongly recommend all to buy Tucson new.

Please help as supply of used 12-18 month old kimchis will dry up if no one buys new rotten cabbages

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 15
    • June 2014 Camry 2.5 - RM98k on Apr 29, 2015 at 3:18 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 118
  • Did Mazda sees opportunity when Honda’s suppliers struggle to meet deadline. Quick launch your CX3 package with competitive spec and price them below RM120K to lighten Honda’s stress… Toyota Rush, perhaps let Perodua to rebage as new Kembara.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • noreasonwhy on Apr 29, 2015 at 1:27 pm

CX-5 GL is the quick response to HR-V while waiting for CX-3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • I’m waiting the flacelift version equip 1.5 VTEC turbo with 150P’s and 20kgm torque..BTW,alot of my friend and cousin book this car…

• alldisc on Apr 29, 2015 at 2:21 pm

something that many of us not realising is that…

Honda Japan is actually now in charge of Honda Sales and operation, taking it away from DRB Hicom. The HQ now is somewhere in PJ.. near Eastin Hotel.

this is reason out of sudden we can see Honda Jazz price reduction to 75K. and the assembly of Jazz hybrid.

and the high specification level of new City and Accord which boosted sales and make Honda no. 1 in non-national segment in Malaysia.

this is something we cannot associate with DRB hicom. they are not capable of executing such thing.

DRB wont dare to bring in HRV as it may affect the sales of City/Civic/CRV.

but this is the result of different paradigm made by the japanese people.

it will not happen to toyota though as UMW is a government entity. Toyota Motor Corp did voice out the idea of coming in to Malaysia but what they all got instead was just a dealership in Shah Alam (UMW Toyotsu).

bad luck Toyota.

somehow, the new facelifted Camry maybe the beginning of a different era for Toyota to woo back its customers (who got fed-up with low service quality, low after sales network, low reliability) of other brands in particular VW, Ford, Hyundai, Peugoet and Kia. they may return to Toyota camp sooner later (or to Honda/Nissan showroom)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 10
    • blaster88 on Apr 29, 2015 at 3:33 pm

I agree Honda has taken a more proactive stance – which is good for consumers but I doubt UMW is learning fast enough or not learning at all. Take for instance the new Camry, the mid level model is price at RM150K with 2 airbags and no VSC! UMW is still trying their luck! I have not stepped into a Toyota showroom in years…mark my words…consumers are very informed nowadays…they would continue to lose ground if they do not wake up or continue to be arrogant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • Saravanan Krishna periannanan on Apr 29, 2015 at 2:25 pm

I bot it. i wait it. i want it. soon i can get gf only with hrv S

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • Kenny on Apr 29, 2015 at 2:39 pm

The success of the HRV is due to lower than expected pricing for a 1.8L car, not that it is such a great car. In Malaysia the most important criteria for car sales success is price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
    • VHL Lorr on Apr 29, 2015 at 8:55 pm

Price is one thing (at least customer can budget accordingly), but how the manufacturer spec their cars is another criteria in that particular price range. For HR-V, stability control (VSA for Honda term) are standard across the range although V spec with 6 airbags are highly recommended version if budget allows.

Although i am a fan of manual cars and i don’t like CVT cars, but, between Rush and HR-V for RM100k purchasing price, i’d rather choose HR-V over the Rush although Rush have manual option (the Toyota Rush here itself is already a junk car with very expensive ‘T’ badge).

• My main gripe of the lower specced HRVs is the door card. It is full fabric, so it will get wet when opening the door or window in heavy rain. They should’ve given all the specs the V-spec door card.

• Honda Fan on Apr 29, 2015 at 3:18 pm

My dream car, if no GST.
    He he..

• i would say excitation tax instead.
      even if we remove GST(6% that replaced 10% sales tax) the vehicle price in Malaysia still sky high

• Perodua axia 100,0000 bookings in 7 months. 60,000 of them delivered.

Honda thailand capacity is so low?
    Just marketting gimmick.. wait very long but actually sold so little.

This is a pussy 4wd..cannot go off road.. low platform height.. hard suspenion. hot at the back no aircon can reach.. wierd design.. nice on paper. .. get bored when seeing them in reality.

Ppl should buy mazda cx5 rm120k if want a tall car..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
    • Nobody wanna take compact suv for offroad, hard suspension you are wrong hrv is comfortable. At the back hot u are right but not that hot too. (Cx3/Cx5 no aircond vent at the rear too) Design is personal opinion but alot of ppl can accept this design.

• hahaha on Apr 29, 2015 at 7:12 pm

top up 10k more for a CR-V 2.0 2WD better. More space.

• ionlaw on Apr 29, 2015 at 10:36 pm

Even with only 10% of the Malaysia HRV owners /to be comment here… The fact is sales figures are much more convincing than any commentary here.

• Hate the Vios on Apr 30, 2015 at 8:30 am

I am glad that Honda is making waves. I own the latest model Vios. Bought it because of brand trust. Biggest mistake. Tin can, funny noise from the right side they cannot repair…its a design flaw, rusting parts after less than 2 years. Damn Toyota. Cost cutting measure. Dont buy the Vios. You WILL be disappointed!!!

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Apr 30, 2015 at 8:32 am

HRV waiting list up to 6 months only…..over at GreatWall, demand for M4 is so high that buyers waited for more than 1 year & yet to receive their cars. Along the way, many have cancelled their bookings but new buyers continue to join the waiting list despite manufacturing lacking in capacity to cope with demand until next 2yrs when new plant becomes operational. At least for Honda, they have higher capacity to produce vehicles & can quickly swap the production of HRV with other models.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on May 04, 2015 at 9:34 am

That is because there are only 2 units of Great Wall M4 in country and import for another 8 will take over 8 months (1 month 1 car).

Very “Good” sales figures indeed

• car-fans on Apr 30, 2015 at 10:11 am

Need to wait for 6 Months (HR-V)?

I better place my booking for CX-3 now – by that time can get the car in no time with bonus of much better interior design.

Just one thing HR-V much more spacing then CX-3.

Example :
    Interior of Mazda 2 even better then Honda City – but in term of spacing – City is larger.

For pick up – I personally felt that Mazda 2 is much more responsive (pick up) compare to Honda City.

Tips:
    If you are looking for nice sporty interior feel – get Mazda 2

If you are looking for spacious (cabin) – get Honda City

If you are looking for performance – both with latest tech SkyActive vs Earth Tech.

Mazda 2 with paddle shift/Sport switch which non for Honda City.

• Sammy on Apr 30, 2015 at 10:55 am

6 months waiting list is no big deal.
    Further up north and you look at the C Class waiting list..
    Those S Class and CLA all well over a year, with no firm date of delivery.

And on the product itself, it is nice. But I keep debating within myself whether CX-5 base model will be a better deal. Any opinion on this?

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on May 01, 2015 at 9:33 am

I personally feel CX5 has better shoulder to shoulder space at the rear. HRV is copying the Axia in perceived space by increasing more leg room which is useless beyond what is needed cause 3 person at the back still feel cramp unless the center person sits half out of the chair. Drivability & handling CX5 is the winner. Due to the stretched wheelbase, HRV is going to suffer more chassis stress than CX5. If you plan to keep the car for a long time, CX5 will likely have less rattling noise & its handling will be close to day one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • same lor keem mak on May 02, 2015 at 9:57 pm

what a waste of money, better buy used proton waja that put on sale for 9k.peace of mind baby , baby oohhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9