SPIED: 2015 Honda HR-V – all three variants on trailer

Well, what d’ya know – merely two days after driving the new 2015 Honda HR-V in Thailand, yours truly stumbled upon several units of the new B-segment crossover packed up on a trailer on Jalan Jelatek, practically unattended.

We’ve gone through the top-of-the-range Grade V before, but this is the first time we’re also seeing the lower-end E and S models. While the poor lighting conditions made it impossible to grab a clear shot of the interior, each model was able to be fairly thoroughly scrutinised, providing a detailed look at the different equipment levels.

For a start, all variants will feature the same 16-inch wheels, front fog lights, LED tail lights, a shark fin antenna, soft-touch plastic interior trim with faux stitching, an electronic parking brake, auto brake hold and stability control.

Only the V variant gets the twin-projector LED headlights – the S and E models make do with regular halogen reflectors. Additionally, the base S also loses out on LED door mirror indicators, utilising fender-mounted repeaters instead.

Inside, the bottom two grades don’t get cruise control, a leather-wrapped steering wheel or leather-lined upper door cards (replaced with fabric trim), all of which are reserved for Grade V. Dropping down to S trim also takes away steering wheel-mounted audio controls and touch panel automatic air conditioning – you get manual knobs for the latter instead.

The audio system in each model is also different – Grade V gets a seven-inch touchscreen Display Audio infotainment system, Grade E receives a smaller 5.1-inch system, while Grade S is given a regular double-DIN radio and CD/MP3 player. Safety-wise, while the V is confirmed to get six airbags, we’re expecting the lesser models to drop the count to two.

Standard on every HR-V is  the Civic‘s 1.8 litre R18A i-VTEC four-pot mated to a G-Design Shift CVT and front-wheel drive, churning out somewhere around the 141 PS and 172 Nm of torque quoted for the Thai-market models.

It shouldn’t be very long now before the 2015 Honda HR-V is finally unveiled in Malaysia, with a launch date set somewhere early next month. Can’t wait? You can read our impressions from our preview drive in Chiang Mai here.

Honda HR-V Grade V, Malaysian-spec

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Peter on Jan 30, 2015 at 9:35 am

excited to test drive this car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • Maserati(The Clone) on Jan 30, 2015 at 9:37 am

It’s not the high spec. Why different spec from Indonesia and Thailand?

• Price will be the key factor, make it or break it… Let’s see how Honda plays.

• slk3879 on Jan 30, 2015 at 9:47 am

The only mystery now is the price…

If HM indeed put a price tag of 120k to the Grade V model as rumoured, then many potential buyers will just start looking at other alternatives

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 0
    • Captain Obvious on Jan 30, 2015 at 6:01 pm

True. Since they removed our sun roofs, our rims, our piano black finish and our tube lights and they dare keep it at 120k? Sorry Honda, you played a Honda Freed on us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • i saw one in johor yesterday….they put in their (gudang) near restoran aliff

• tempted to get one.. too bad they drop the blue color from the color lineup

• Where is Najib's 30% Promise? on Jan 30, 2015 at 10:02 am

I hope this car is sold below RM90k. Where is Najib’s promise to reduce car prices by 30%? Najib before the election promised 30 million Malaysians that he would reduce car prices by up to 30%.

Where is this promise?

How can we trust BN and the current Government when this basic simple promise also they cannot keep?

Remember, cheaper cars would mean better food, healthcare and education for our kids.

Najib, please honour your promise.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 16
  • OMG.. This is funny and ridiculous. Now the “S” really stand for “stupidity” after looking at the SPEC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • What ? No LED twin headlamp, no cruise control for E grade ? think to cancel the booking!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
  • I Love B"No" and UM"No" on Jan 30, 2015 at 10:19 am

Where the 17″ Spec that rest drive in Chiang mai?Honda Malaysia fool again us?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
    • 17 rims can easily be replaced but the sunroof, LED tube rearlight and full black piano trim has keep away potential buyer like me.

• nice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 16
  • Nice… i cannot wait to buy one….oh by the way when honda city hybrid is launching? Confius getting this one or hybrid city.

• CurryKhai on Jan 30, 2015 at 10:00 pm

Khai, you dont need to confuse which one to get. You can drive both at your showroom everyday. Ha, ha, ha!

• Berann on Jan 30, 2015 at 11:00 am

If really 120k for high specs, better add some and buy Accord/CX-5/CR-V/X-Trial.. Even the 2014 Subaru VX now selling at 115k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
  • nabill (Member) on Jan 30, 2015 at 11:03 am

I saw that.. It was parked right infronr of da bomba station..

• Last year december already booked grade V , too sad the highest spec dint get 17inch rims and tube style rear light. At least 6airbags and LED headlamps are still there.

• I Love B"No" and UM"No" on Jan 30, 2015 at 11:26 am

So how, u considered to cancelled your deal with HRV and place order with Peugeot 5008, Mitsubishi Asx, Subaru XV, or any scarp model nowaday in Malaysia? Dun be there with any of these, just bought recond car and enjoy the better quality in Japan/Euro!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
  • Lex Luther on Jan 30, 2015 at 11:24 am

Front, nice.

Back, not so nice.

Remove the “reverse light” area and integrate into the red tail light area, then we have a baby Audi winner.

• WaJib on Jan 30, 2015 at 12:00 pm

Wait until CX-3 come out and compare. Cx-3 is a looker

• Sam Looo on Jan 30, 2015 at 12:03 pm

1.Mazda CX3 sportier
    2.Toyota Rush better utility
    3.HRV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
  • policeman on Jan 30, 2015 at 1:12 pm

Funny. They’re on a truck now. In a few months they’ll be at the back of a truck being towed to a workshop to fix the failed CVT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
    • sudah ambik duit kopi? on Jan 30, 2015 at 4:09 pm

Plz dont compare Honda new cvt compared to Punch cvt. They are world apart.

• 120k dillemma on Jan 30, 2015 at 2:11 pm

Mazda CX3
    CBU
    better spec
    5yrs free service

• noreasonwhy on Jan 30, 2015 at 2:21 pm

More to add for interior but don’t quote me.

S,E – 4 speakers, fabric seat, 2 airbags
    V – 6 speakers, half leather seat, 6 airbags

S – Standard key, manual aircond, 1 usb
    E,V – Keyless entry, Touch panel aircond, 2usb

• Maserati(The Clone) on Jan 30, 2015 at 2:49 pm

CX3 better than HR-V but less space.
    But CX3 is CBU so there a big different.

• not interested.

• what a looker.hopefully it will sell at 100 k below.

• bigsizeboy on Jan 30, 2015 at 3:37 pm

The car looks ok, but it needs a more powerful engine.

• Maserati(The Clone) on Jan 30, 2015 at 4:06 pm

CX3 is a game changer.
    Just wait

• Low specs or not it is still a Honda.Malaysians love this brand very much. The upright H badge will continue to sell well despite negative critisisms. Honda selling their H badge only to us.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 30, 2015 at 10:44 pm

cx-3. pilihan muktamad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
  • My estimation:
    V spec: 119,888 (since Civic 1.8 n Pug 2008 is ard this price and CRV 2WD which is less specced is 20k extra)

• Maserati(The Clone) on Feb 02, 2015 at 1:36 pm

You have a link official price for HR-V?