VIDEO: 2015 Honda HR-V Grade V walk-around tour

You saw this one coming, didn’t you? One of the most highly-anticipated cars of the year, and the vehicle that’s expected to get the B-segment crossover ball rolling for real in Malaysia, needs no introduction. We’ve kept you in the loop for long enough. Now, see everything move and come to life before your very eyes!

That’s right, the Honda HR-V visited us in the studio last week (quite literally), so we leapt at the chance to provide you with an inside-and-out tour of the ‘Hip and smart Runabout Vehicle’ in this walk-around video.

This range-topping Grade V is laden with cool stuff, including striking double-projector LED headlamps, DRLs and a seven-inch touch-screen. We show you how many weekend bags we can fit under its tailgate and clever foldable tonneau cover.

We also discuss the unique bits – the triple air-con vents on the front passenger side and storage cave with USB, HDMI and 12V socket beneath the high centre console ‘bridge’ – are these more style than sense?

Still thirsty for more knowledge? See our comprehensive launch report and our test drive report from Chiang Mai. You can also pore over all the specs and compare the HR-V to its classmates on CarBase.my.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• RicoT on Feb 12, 2015 at 4:12 pm

I prefer Honda Malaysia named this baby Vezel instead of HR-V, but I guess not everyone can pronounce Vezel correctly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 11
    • Dr Mamak on Feb 12, 2015 at 6:06 pm

Deal breaker here is no rear aircon. Instead front passenger gets full air blast on the face at all times. Bravo honda!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 6
      • Gargantia on Feb 12, 2015 at 6:38 pm

This time the voice and background volume are better then last ep.
        Good job guys !!!

• Captain Obvious on Feb 12, 2015 at 7:53 pm

Test drove the car.. other than removing the tube lights, the piano black trim, the 17 inches rims, sunroof… they also removed the sound proofing from the car, you wanna get drown in tyre, road and wind noise? Get the HRV. Oh, did anybody noticed that the Thai HRV has 3 illumination rings for the speedometer, but we only get one center ring? Bullcrap Honda, bullcrap.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 4
          • Same L0rrrr on Feb 13, 2015 at 11:10 am

Yea, with limited space and that price range. Get our Innova better!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 28
          • Pinky on Feb 13, 2015 at 9:59 pm

Nice video.. Everything is not bad, except the colour of James’s pants..

• Why Why Why on Feb 14, 2015 at 2:33 pm

With the downgraded specs, and…. world’s most expensive car after singapore. Pity Malaysians.

• innova ? what better. just like riding a horse.hard absorbers

• Mary Minah on Feb 12, 2015 at 4:13 pm

Nice car, sexy presenter. Ah James!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • Toyota Salesman Very Sad on Feb 12, 2015 at 4:17 pm

Today Toyota salesman very very sad. HRV has eaten their VIOS and Altis sales completely. Honda Give 5 years warranty with 6 free services. Toyota, 3 years warranty and free buntot service.

Today, Toyota salesman go home, goncang also, air tak boleh keluar.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 20
  • JeremyW on Feb 12, 2015 at 4:36 pm

No paddle shift, no 18″ rims, no full leather seats, no panoramic sunroof, led tail light also different… stupid Honda Malaysia…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 26
    • honda no.1 on Feb 12, 2015 at 5:07 pm

No paddle shift coz very aggressive Malaysian driver will break it.
      No 18″ rims – look at our pothold ridden roads!
      No full leather – our hot weather will wear out leather faster
      No panoramic sunroof – Hot sun. Look at all Malaysians love to hang out in aircond shopping malls. In the sun also, they will prefer to stand in the shade.
      LED tail lights – Malaysians malas to switch on lights. some people even come out from shopping centers at night without realising their lights are completely off. Driving in total darkness.
      In short Honda Msia already see that most Malaysians won’t notice if it’s left out. More profit for them =)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 129 Thumb down 11
      • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Feb 12, 2015 at 7:10 pm

Also don’t have LaneWatch… how ar…?

Coz Malaysians like to zig-zag around without signals…?

Don’t hint them k… Later HM even wanna take out the signal levers to save cost…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
        • Honda afraid the system will ki siao when it arrive to some lane-less roads in Malaysia thus endangering the driver.

• i wonder why our neighboring countries like Thailand and Indonesia have all these features compared to Honda Malaysia. I have decided to cancel when i look at these features arent available here. Too bad!!! I think they made a wrong decision.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 9
      • kimi_ on Feb 13, 2015 at 12:43 pm

I MISS your trademark hair Jonathan!!!
        DID you trim your hair because of the coming CHINESE NEW YEAR???

• MamposToyota on Feb 12, 2015 at 5:49 pm

Typical Toyota and P2 macais.. no anti snatch theft hook, no push start button, no LED. WHO THE HELL CARES!!!!!! TOYOTA ALTIS AND LOWER SPEC CAMRY NO ESP YOU DON’T MENTION?!?!?! MALU KAAAAAAAA??!! PITUI!! Go lick your Toyota and Myvi bontot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 7
      • pls mind your words…sad to see your uneducated comments…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 29
        • toyosucks on Feb 13, 2015 at 9:27 am

He speak okay what. You butthurt? Toyota macai spotted. ESP is more important for safety compared to all other shits. Compare his likes and yours, now please dig a hole and bury yourself with your Toyota. And be “educated” about cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • sudonano (Member) on Feb 12, 2015 at 4:36 pm

Jonathan, what happened to the big hair!

Though this V spec goes directly against the Civic 2.0S (which is bigger…). I wonder how the Hybrid will be priced….

• AjummaCalledSheWantsHerHairBack on Feb 12, 2015 at 5:09 pm

Yeah. Perhaps because of the feedback from his c class video.

• JAMES KUTU on Feb 13, 2015 at 7:20 pm

Probably got Kutu infection…hahaha

• Please make video for Mazda Cx3 when it launched ~~~~

• Painter on Feb 12, 2015 at 4:37 pm

Paultan.org

This is off topic. Really enjoyed your investigative journalism style article on the fuel consumption comparison quite recently.

Wouldn’t it be good if you guys can carry more of this style of reporting. Not just on how much a car weighs, or how the dashboard feels, or how the the door closes.

While on the same subject, I would like to propose you run an article about the grey import industry. How people source the cars from Japan, Australia and UK. How does the AP system works. What makes it so much viable to import used cars that people want to be part of it and see this as quick money making scheme?Typical margin for traders, how much goes into government coffers, stuffs like that.

We all have heard and commented about this AP system, pros and cons (99% cons), but I don’t think many of us understand fully how this whole thing works.

Please fulfill my wish, dear Paultan

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 5
  • ScourgePrime (Member) on Feb 12, 2015 at 4:39 pm

Am I the only one thinks that the interior seat,triple aircond vent,small wheels,USB console bridge and the name looks and sounds stupid lame at the same time?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 14
  • These days the Japanese really run out of idea to design a car. In terms of the interior and exterior really no style and passion but space is good and practical. I really can’t wait for the CX-3 to be launch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
    • AVH (Member) on Feb 12, 2015 at 6:03 pm

The irony is strong in this one.

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Feb 12, 2015 at 7:11 pm

Japanese run out of ideas…?

CX-3 by Mazda not from Japanese ar…?

Blur sotong…!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • BLUR SOTONG on Feb 12, 2015 at 10:09 pm

Hi Sam . Are u calling for me . Hehe
        Honda becoming like Toyota now . Sell car sell car . Will NSX arrive our shores and muddy water ? Or as an AP ???? What abt New Civic Type R ??

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Feb 12, 2015 at 5:52 pm

As long as its not a kimhci, it will have RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • Jonathan Fan Club on Feb 12, 2015 at 6:43 pm

What happened to your trademark big hair, Jonathan? :D Anyway, thanks for presenting the HR-V. This is the hot new car of the year. Office girls and uncles, they all want one. I consider getting a HR-V too. I just wonder if my aunties will understand where the handles to the back doors are.

• Actually the triple aircond vent all of them can just slide to the left and block the air vent. Cheer guys.

• Beast on Feb 12, 2015 at 7:42 pm

HaR-Vinder should get this car!

• Frankly.. Talking abt specs.. Better buy korean.. They give full specs.. Cheaper price .. Same quality.. Many may not happy with my statement but that s the true fact nowadays.. With this scenario .. I dont care much abt RV.. After all.. RV is a lot dependent on people s acceptance .. Which i think will improve later on for the korean..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • zamer on Feb 13, 2015 at 8:08 am

ok..you buy korean..

• Well said Rudy. That’s sad fact that we care to ignore. Due to competition to the kimchi in spec and price of their cars, the suhsi (or other brand for that matter) started to take notice and up their spec (but not quite there yet, that’s why so many commented “why no this why no that…”). Its all about competition to win customer. Better spec, lower price, equally good quality car (if not better) and within the segment.

• ciaksai on Feb 12, 2015 at 9:46 pm

Why did they not include the rear tube lights? What a shame, I can live without the panaromic roof but the rear tube lights on the japan/thai spec is sexy.

Also, dont agree with the inaccesible ports. I would rather those ports be tucked out of sight since a regular user will just plugged in the cable and forget about it.

• azhar on Feb 13, 2015 at 11:50 am

and u can always get USB cable extension..not a big problem there

• No!!! you are not Jonathan James Tan, you are someone else. LOL

• Krasher on Feb 12, 2015 at 11:03 pm

Sadly, we are still paying more for the missing panoramic roof, paddle shift, full leather seats, AWD, tube type rear brake lights.

• wah johnathan…finally get ur haircut…thumbs up!

• nice.

another Cheap Honda is launched.

• heybadigol (Member) on Feb 13, 2015 at 12:10 pm

I can accept the panaromic sunroof being left out, cos its a useless function here. But the lack of paddle shifters (same complaint to the Jazz & City) is a weird one. Its a good function, as you can control gears individually.

Also, having driven the Jazz V Spec for long distances, I found the touchscreen headunit/main screen & touchscreen aircon (the HRV top spec also uses both) tiring to use, as you have to stretch your hands straight without any dash parts to rest your hands on (especially when wanting to change from say music menu to the fuel consumption usage menu and back – as you need to go through a few steps to get in between both menus). At least the Accord gets a knob to control the big screen. So no need to stretch hands. Now, I just wish Honda would just put back buttons like how they used to. All these button-less nonsense, though less cluttery, is tiring due to the many menus and sub-menus. Gotta love Porsche for putting what must be at least 50 buttons on their cars. Clutter? Yes. But direct access to whatever function/menu you want? A big yes.

• mdizwan49 on Feb 13, 2015 at 2:42 pm

kenapa Honda Malaysia alwiz downgrade their models here eh?like dis HRV..kalo indon nye market..mmg top range laa..paddle shifters..sunroof..panoramic roof..sama jgk..the V specs..tp kat sini hampeh btol la Honda Malaysia..upsat skit lah..hehehe

• walau eh…triple aircond vent on front passenger seat? that seat can be freezing

• Mitsubishi ASX ckd better. 2.0 Mivec engine, got paddle shifter, panoramic roof, 17″ rims, full nappa leather summore, 4×4 – 4×2 can shift alsoo (y)

• gps tarak ???????????????????????

• Afique on Feb 13, 2015 at 10:19 pm

Typical malaysians. Obsessed with tiny things like led rear lights, sunroof rather than form and function of a car

I would still buy the cracking 3 series. It doesnt have full led rear lights.

Grow up.

• Agree.the most importnt is performance not led light radio sunroof leather seat n all others we call accesories things.

See continential car like volswagen.design sometime outdated but performnce is superb.

• Steve Kok on Feb 14, 2015 at 11:44 pm

Electronic Parking Brake.
    Maybe can only replace the brake pads at Honda SC.
    Must do re-calibration ?

• Test drove the car.. other than removing the tube lights, the piano black trim, the 17 inches rims, sunroof… they also removed the sound proofing from the car, you wanna get drown in tyre, road and wind noise? Get the HRV. Oh, did anybody noticed that the Thai HRV has 3 illumination rings for the speedometer, but we only get one center ring? Bullcrap Honda, bullcrap……

With the downgraded specs, and…. world’s most expensive car after singapore. Pity Malaysians.

Honda Give 5 years warranty with 6 free services. Toyota, 3 years warranty and free buntot service.

No paddle shift, no 18″ rims, no full leather seats, no panoramic sunroof, led tail light also different… stupid Honda Malaysia…

No paddle shift coz very aggressive Malaysian driver will break it.
    No 18″ rims – look at our pothold ridden roads!
    No full leather – our hot weather will wear out leather faster
    No panoramic sunroof – Hot sun. Look at all Malaysians love to hang out in aircond shopping malls. In the sun also, they will prefer to stand in the shade.
    LED tail lights – Malaysians malas to switch on lights. some people even come out from shopping centers at night without realising their lights are completely off. Driving in total darkness.
    In short Honda Msia already see that most Malaysians won’t notice if it’s left out. More profit for them =)

Also don’t have LaneWatch… how ar…?
    Coz Malaysians like to zig-zag around without signals…?
    Don’t hint them k… Later HM even wanna take out the signal levers to save cost…

i wonder why our neighboring countries like Thailand and Indonesia have all these features compared to Honda Malaysia. I have decided to cancel when i look at these features arent available here. Too bad!!! I think they made a wrong decision.

Thanks for helping me making my decision…..oredy cancel the idea of buying Honda HR-V….

• It’s a copy of Citroen’s DS4 design. Flattering but talkabout copy n pasta

• Bernard on Mar 05, 2015 at 2:25 pm

Speaks well for a Malaysian. I could actually understand him:)

Must be a PJ urbanite …

I guess he would qualify as every chinese girls dream guy…and on every aunty’s wish list for a ‘hansam’ son in law:)

The HRV is a nice looking vehicle but no paddle shifters???

Also, no leather seats??

I guess this would sell in malaysia as no matter what the sky high price is, malaysians would still buy….

Therefore, there is no need to reduce prices.

It is of course different elsewhere.