GALLERY: 2015 Mazda 6 2.0 and 2.5 now in Malaysia

2015_Mazda_6_2.5_facelift_Malaysia_ 002

We now have full galleries of the 2015 Mazda 6 facelift, taken at Bermaz’s flagship 3S showroom in Glenmarie. Both 2.0 and 2.5 sedan variants are on display at the moment, incidentally in the same colour too. They look rather decent in this shade of silver, don’t they?

As reported before, only the 2.5 litre variant gets the facelift model’s full exterior update. This includes new LED headlights, slatted grille with thicker chrome surround, reshaped front bumper, LED fog lights with chrome accents and updated tail light graphics. The 19-inch wheels, though of similar design to before, are now dressed in gunmetal grey.

Rather bizarrely, the 2.0 litre model looks identical to the pre-facelift model from the outside. The same halogen projector headlamps, sans LED daytime running lights, old tail lamps and silver 17-inch multi-spoke alloy wheels remain unchanged.

2015 Mazda 6 2.5 on left, 2.0 on right.

The much-improved facelifted interior is present on all models, thankfully. The dashboard and centre console are all new, with a more refined design with classier looking air vents and climate controls, swathes of leather trim, a space-saving electronic parking brake and new roll-top cupholders.

Mazda’s MZD Connect system, as seen on the latest Mazda 2 and 3, with a freestanding display and BMW iDrive-like Commander Control knob are fitted as standard. As before, navigation, keyless entry, sunroof, paddle shifters and a 11-speaker Bose sound system are reserved for the 2.5 litre model, which also receives a new head-up display.

Engines remain unchanged – the 2.0 litre direct-injected SkyActiv-G four-pot makes 153 hp at 6,000 rpm and 200 Nm at 4,000 rpm, while the 2.5 litre variant delivers 185 hp at 5,700 rpm and 250 Nm at 3,250 rpm. The six-speed SkyActiv-Drive has been retained, too, but gets a rocker switch to select the new, faster-reacting Sport mode.

Safety kit is the same as before – both models get six airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist as well as Dynamic Stability Control (DSC), with the 2.5 litre model also receiving the i-ActivSense suite of active safety systems (Adaptive Front Lighting, Rear Vehicle Monitoring, Lane Departure Warning, High Beam Control and Smart City Brake).

As for the prices, the facelifted 2.0 litre sedan retails at RM159,158 on-the-road without insurance (RM4,000 more than before), the 2.5 litre sedan costs RM194,647 and the 2.5 litre Touring estate RM198,647 (both 2.5 sedan and estate cost RM9,999 more than before).

2015 Mazda 6 2.5 facelift

2015 Mazda 6 2.0 facelift

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 20, 2015 at 3:50 pm

realised AFS OFF button is missing, how to off it now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
    • Same L0rrrr on Apr 20, 2015 at 5:23 pm

I am regret to be junior umw sales man after seeing this car. Better now I sell goreng pisang. Sad

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • hanjou on Apr 20, 2015 at 3:51 pm

thanks for the spare tyre compartment picture.

• Finally it comes with spare tyre.

I have said the pre-FL model without spare tyre is really a deal breaker, especially for country like bolehland with pot holes everywhere.

• Jonn Dol on Apr 20, 2015 at 4:06 pm

It’s quite disappointing actually the double standard treatment regarding the exterior styling of the car related to the engine capacity. Because the re-designed face greatly improved the current version’s look (the headlamp & grille look less awkward). Those potential customers with a slightly limited budget might felt a bit disappointed..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
    • seancorr (Member) on Apr 20, 2015 at 6:21 pm

..and by looking on the roads, most people opt for the 2.0 engine in the D-segment category too. Not many people are willing to pay for the high road tax for a 2.5l engine nor do they rempit that much

• I am regretting. should have bought the 2.5 model. 2.0 underpower especially when u go up genting and bukit tinggi.

• Totally agree with Jonn Dol. I have been enthusiastically waiting for the arrival of the M6 facelift in Malaysia. Well done on the interior refinement. However, was hoping for some refinement on the exterior, especially on the LED daytime running light. Halogen projector headlamps on such a beauty car is really turning me off (sorry, no offence to owners, it’s just my personal preference). This is definitely a deal breaker for me.

• kevinwtj on Apr 20, 2015 at 4:08 pm

Prices too steep for what it is….the 2.5 soo close to RM200k mark…omg…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
    • Obviously (Member) on Apr 20, 2015 at 4:58 pm

1) CBU. From Japan, bro.

2) Look at that safety kit (i-ActivSense). Most of the features of that package is only found on the luxury offerings, except autonomous braking at city speeds.

3) SkyActiv package is advanced and expensive.

4) No other Japanese D-segmenter has this much road presence, and looks that can kill. The Camry and Accord will be compelled to shoo off into the slow lane when this comes barreling down their rear view mirror.

5) Sport mode. Finally.

Go chew on old slippers la you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 29
      • Balls on Apr 20, 2015 at 5:30 pm

Atleast Camry and Accord owners are 20K richer! lol and the features arent that far off.

In fact, go look around, that price can get new pre reg F30 320i.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 9
        • Pre-Reg?

what? u telling people unsold cars are good?

• Balls on Apr 20, 2015 at 11:50 pm

Mazda does that for 2014 cars also. So dont act surprised that this happen. In fact all brands use this method to lower price.

• Balls on Apr 20, 2015 at 11:53 pm

And what I am really saying is that when Mazda hit the 200K mark, it no longer can justify its value where it has to compete with a whole new category of brands who are willing to lower their prices. A fiend bought a pre reg a year ago… when delivered had 200km on the odo and has the 5 year warranty from BMW Malaysia…. still running well and it was 20% cheaper and at Mazda pricing… Hear they have the same thing now.

• junkyardcar on Apr 21, 2015 at 1:06 am

But that BMW was under sun at yard too long. Sure has built problem here and there

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
          • Balls on Apr 21, 2015 at 10:12 am

Dont talk as if all mazda cars are in shades. Go to Padang Jawa…. all under the sun. Same goes with car yard in Kulim. All under the sun.

• Jimmy on Apr 20, 2015 at 10:52 pm

True, don’t be scared of conti, go and look around. They do have very good discount towards the end of the year, so if you can top up a bit from 190k, you can have a few interesting conti options.

• Jimmy on Apr 20, 2015 at 11:01 pm

Or save yourself sixty-five thousand ringgit and get a Teana 2.0L basic with 6 airbags + ESP + good refinement.

• Have u tried driving it ? The most underpowered car in the category( personal experience)

• Features aren’t that far off?

Look at Honda Accord, worldwide pple are getting the real Earth Dream Unit with the potential engine output of 189ps, whereas in bolehland you still get the name tag of Earth Dream engine but detuned to 175ps, somemore the old 5 speeder, if ppl are 20k richer I believe they won’t spend such money on such blatant model.

• Balls on Apr 21, 2015 at 10:17 am

Dude…. can you please do some research before you just compare….. sigh… thats yet another characteristic of bolehland keyboard warriors. CVT has a no power and may run into issues for higher capacity cars in Hot weather. Thats why they detune the cars too. Hot weather creates more wear and tear in the car. Its not just honda…. Mazda, VW and other marks also detune their cars for tropical weather in favor for reliability.

• Albert on Apr 20, 2015 at 8:03 pm

Kevin wtj,you are absolutely correct.At the rm200k mark,might as well stretch the instalments by 2 years or opting for more downpayment ,perhaps getting a Merc ?
      Mazda has superseded premium price slaughtering Toyota in terms of pricing.
      No wonder,my good friend at Mazda,told me the bonuses given to staff are the highest in the industry.Datuk Ben believe in giving back what is due to his macai and shareholders.
      Anyway,Bermaz has to pay for local assembly of the ckd packs now,perhaps thats the reason for higher costs.
      You say pricey,people still buy Mazda and Toyota .You say awesome build quality n horrendous CVT gearbox,people still buy Proton.You say spare parts take 2-3 months,people still buy VW or Ford.
      Buying cars involves PERCEPTION inspite of condemnation from others.

• Balls on Apr 20, 2015 at 11:57 pm

Think you need to understand the car industry more. CKD usually involves lowering of costs not higher.

Well people have different preferences… there will be people who have more money than financial sense so they will buy 200K mazda instead of a Beemer. People will still buy a proton becos its one of the cheapest around and people will buy VW and Ford because they want Gaya more than Susah Paya. Lol

• rubbishToyota on Apr 21, 2015 at 1:10 am

What is Susah Paya?
          If you susah (difficult) to go into paya (swamp) ask Same Lorrrr to throw you into it with his junk Camry.

*joking*

• The 2.5 litre is such a beauty, both in and out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • So u enter a ‘sold’ car? Imagine if i enter your car that u already bought but u dont even have time to touch it, then somebody not from mazda enter it and review the car.What is your feeling? Dont delete this comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 35
    • Balls on Apr 20, 2015 at 4:21 pm

Sold to bermaz as test unit can?

Besides, you dont want to know what the guys at the port do to all CBU cars. If you know you may not want to buy it. Face it, its like eating in restaurants…. you know the kitchen will not be as clean as you like. Better not think too much about it. otherwise u will end up with no food at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 9
    • Battu on Apr 20, 2015 at 4:28 pm

WTF is this comment? please dont delete as it may be legendary.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • blaster88 on Apr 21, 2015 at 10:02 am

???? Enter here and enter there…sounds XXX ma…

• Balls on Apr 20, 2015 at 4:18 pm

Pre-reg new BMW F30 320 cheaper than this with better ride and status. Think this can keep skin liao.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 39
    • Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 20, 2015 at 5:10 pm

bmw 320i for posers who only care about badge…mazda6 for people who know cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 61
      • Balls on Apr 20, 2015 at 5:32 pm

correction… used to know about cars. New owners buying at these prices have more money than financial acumen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 45
      • Nasi ayam on Apr 20, 2015 at 9:25 pm

Can pls change the ugly profile photo for gods sake!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 21
  • I-ELOOP still there?

• Toyota Camry 2.5 Hybrid is 20K cheaper than Mazda6 2.5, so tell me who would go for the latter?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • Balls on Apr 20, 2015 at 5:49 pm

Yea… also Camry 2.5 hybrid has more power and torque than this overpriced zoom zoom.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • A cross can offend you? on Apr 20, 2015 at 4:59 pm

Price is a little too steep @ RM200k.

Then again, just like Mazda 3, best is to wait for the CKD version and hope the 2.5 variant will be priced around the 170k range max, similar to Camry Hybrid..

• so expensive, better wait for CKD. Hopefully CKD 2.0 comes with new face with lower price

• orhetorik on Apr 20, 2015 at 5:18 pm

untouched cars seem hard to find nowadays

• Gaviny on Apr 20, 2015 at 7:34 pm

To me this is the definition of Japanese premium, no wonder they were top ten interior by ward’s

If this is too expensive then buy the camry

• Tiger on Apr 20, 2015 at 8:39 pm

Tats the poblem wit auto market here, …in foreign country facelift involves extensive exterior and interiro changes inc suspension and parts…here we mostly get older generation models and after few months only they intoduced “latest” …and he facelift basicaly means endless “special editions” wit mostly modified bumpers or lamps ( which is the cheapest method ” … At sky high prices

• tishaban on Apr 20, 2015 at 8:41 pm

The Mazda CX-5 lit the compact SUV segment on fire, offering very competitive prices compared to Honda and Nissan, with excellent specs.

The Mazda 3 I expect will be close although not as popular as the CX-5. RM106k to RM125k is very competitive and excellent value, with good safety specs and unmatched driveability in the C-segment.

The Mazda 6 however decided to be the most expensive D-segment sedan in its class. Even if the CKD go down by RM20k, it’ll at best match Toyota’s pricing (which is already expensive)… What happened Mazda?

• Gaviny on Apr 21, 2015 at 6:50 am

Clearly Mazda is positioning itself as premium sedan offering genuine luxury and specs. The pinnacle of japenese brands comparable to a continental German without yet reaching the price of Germans.

But above the mass market Camry and Hondas that offer same promise of class and luxury at a price slightly cheaper but falls far short of even being considered to being compared to a German. I.e. Take 3 series versus Mazda 6 is a ‘hmmm maybe’ take a Camry vs bmw is ‘ lol what are you smoking lah dude’ situation

So if you want premium Japanese luxury without paying a Lexus or Infiniti pricing you buy the Mazda, if you want ‘affordable’ go with the time tested uncle proven Camry and accord

• Balls on Apr 21, 2015 at 10:28 am

Mazda 6 and a 3 Series is a LOL too. Thats why 200k cannot be justified. Funny how keyboard warriors say things without any consistency…. When Camry was 160K…. all the opposition is like way too expensive this and that…. But when Mazda does it at 200K with a lesser powerful engine and lower FC with some additional feature, they be like WAAAAAHHHHHH! Damn good, premium la, this and that…..

Thats a load of bullcrap!

• Gaviny on Apr 21, 2015 at 3:30 pm

Well apparently a lot of motoring journalists don’t know what they are talking about then because I’m quoting them

• Carowner on Apr 20, 2015 at 10:43 pm

It is a nice car overall. Hope the newly version success reduce the wind noise (appear >70km/hr) as Mazda claimed it reduce 25% now.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 20, 2015 at 11:27 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

• roxas on Apr 21, 2015 at 7:02 am

200k??? would buy a premium brand A200 instead although smaller ..

• Annoynimouse on Apr 21, 2015 at 8:37 am

The interior is so exciting…

• blaster88 on Apr 21, 2015 at 10:10 am

hmmm….200K is a psychological price level in MY. Once you hit the 200k mark, you would be entering the realms of European makes esp the German varieties, besides specs and performance, emotions, style, branding, status etc. etc. come into play….it takes much more effort to sell at this price…the scrutiny is so much greater esp for Japanese and Korean makes.

• Driving this baby Down Under for about $40K :-)

• J.A platinum on Sep 18, 2015 at 8:29 pm

For me this is de best JAP models in Malaysia ..
    Performance ,Exterior and also interior – good job by zoom zoom… but rm200k is the matter for me..
    making ur car leading in peoples eye is ur talent compare to other JAP brands .. but it doesn’t mean u can joined it to 200k club..
    Your competitor r not at there… realize it..
    I m sure most pple who r looking for camry accord or teana is the potential buyer for mazda6…

*its just my personal opinion/view..

• Noobie on Sep 23, 2015 at 10:23 am

Wondering is there any new version of Mazda6 on next year or 2017 since this is a facelift.

• I am regretting. Should have bought the 2.5 model. the 2.0 model is underpower especially when u goo up Genting highlands and Bukit tinngi