COMOS EV car-sharing programme – registration begins, promo rate of RM50 for yearly subscription

comos-comos 313

Public registration for the Cohesive Mobility Solution (COMOS) EV car-sharing programme has finally begun. The service – originally due to be launched in November last year – will kick off on May 16, with vehicles set to be available at 10 locations in the Klang Valley.

Yearly subscriptions to the service are now available at a limited promotional rate of RM50, a substantial savings over the normal price of RM300, essentially a year’s use of the service at the cost of two months of regular membership.

Here’s how it works. Users need to register themselves with COMOS, following which an account – linked to the user’s credit card – will be activated. Once you’ve registered and subscribed to the programme, you’ll be able to collect and activate your special RFID access card at Menara UOA Bangsar – COMOS staff will be stationed at the ground floor area from today until the official launch on May 16.

The RFID access card serves as a passkey to unlock the vehicle via a scanner located behind the bottom-right of the car’s windscreen. Vehicle bookings can be made online, and usage rates are priced hourly at RM32, with billing blocks split into RM8 every 15 minutes. The initial COMOS fleet will consist of sixteen Renault Zoes.

Rentals can be made at five LRT stations and five public spots, these being Asia Jaya, Bangsar, Pasar Seni and Ampang Park LRT stations as well as locations in Medan Tuanku, Lorong Bunus, Lorong P. Ramlee, UTM Jalan Semarak and Universiti Malaya.

The pick-up locations double up as charging stations – users simply unplug the car before each journey, and upon the return, plug the charging cable back into the car, at which point billing stops. Not doing so continues the billing, so users will have to be mindful of that. You can sign up for the service via the official COMOS website.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Notsosure on Apr 27, 2015 at 1:55 pm

Can I crash the car and return it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 42
    • iceman93 on Apr 27, 2015 at 2:42 pm

can you not type anything if there’s nothing better for you to say?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
  • Tow truck service phone number?
    In case break down under M’sia hot sun.

• 4G63T DSM on Apr 27, 2015 at 2:11 pm

For that same amount of money I can rent a self driving car to take me where ever I want to go.

Its called a taxi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • IrizX on Apr 27, 2015 at 6:30 pm

With driver to boot. Feels like a boss.

The above you still have to drive yourself like kuli.

• hohoboy on Apr 27, 2015 at 2:35 pm

All placed at traffic jam areas. best business plan ever!

• Painter on Apr 27, 2015 at 2:54 pm

Website lacks information. Looks unfinished. No rates displayed, probably keeping the surprise element for the upcoming 16th May launch.

KTM car misrepresented as Renault ZOE. And some youtube video about car rental overseas being linked up to the website.

Not convincing lah COMOS!!

Anyway, giving them benefit of the doubt. Paid the 50 ringgit.

We do want to support local entrepreneurs, but with so many world class services on offer and readily accessible to us Malaysians, one can’t help but wonder whether small local player will be able to go through bigger competitions in the future.

If they want to do things half-heartedly, might as well don’t do it. First impression counts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • CosMore on Apr 27, 2015 at 11:28 pm

Not sure if they can be considered entrepreneurs, looks like they had RM5-7Million from the rakyat’s money, hope this was money was well spent to improve public transport. (http://paultan.org/2014/05/07/comos-ev-rental-programme/)

• Kirill on Apr 27, 2015 at 6:57 pm

The whole point of car sharing is for you to enjoy the same benefits of private car ownership without the need to actually purchasing your own vehicle. This is a different kind of service and convenience as opposed to services as Taxi / Uber. It’s a matter of preference …

Painter: rates are smack there on the front page! What website are you on dude?

• Kirill on Apr 27, 2015 at 7:11 pm

The whole point of car sharing is for you to enjoy the same benefits of private car ownership without the need to actually purchasing your own vehicle. This is a different kind of service and convenience as opposed to services as Taxi / Uber. It’s a matter of preference …

Painter: rates are smack there on the front page www.comos.com.my …

• Muhaimin on Apr 27, 2015 at 7:20 pm

I think it would be a better sell if they could lease the cars and at the same time make available more charging stations.

In that way people can drive home the cars and won’t worry too much about battery finishing at an inconvenient place.

That said, it’s way too expensive when compared to other services like taxi and public transport. And it doesn’t beat the jam either.

• kadajawi (Member) on Apr 27, 2015 at 7:24 pm

What if someone else parks on the designated car park and you can’t return the car? I hope the designated car park features spikes that come out of the floor if you park there with another car, and the thing automatically calls a tow truck.

• Spikes that come out of road… Got, in America. No joke. Mainly to stop cars from going the opposite direction.

• Kirill on Apr 27, 2015 at 8:21 pm

Muhaimin, leasing is already available with COMOS albeit Corporate one with double-tax deductions as extra incentives. New charging stations are coming up all the time and there are government and private initiatives to increase the amount of charging stations in Klang Valley to hundreds in the near future.

Kadajawi, usually you call the COMOS Ground Team and they will attend to the matter immediately. If that means towing the car, then that could be the answer if the situation requires the particular action. Hopefully people recognize the existence of proffered parking spaces such as EV Parking.

• Josh Ling on Apr 27, 2015 at 10:13 pm

just wondering why they want to get someone with such a strong foreign accent to do the narration. it’s not like we don’t have some good narrators here in malaysia or something. so that’s a bit throw-off for me. just my two cents.