Renault Zoe and Twizy EVs now open for booking, estimated to be priced at under RM140k and RM70k

Renault-Zoe-and-Twizy

Here’s an interesting one for you. The all-electric Renault Zoe and Twizy are now officially open for bookings in Malaysia. Estimated pricing for the EV pair is under RM140,000 for the B-segment-sized Zoe, and below RM70,000 for the tiny Twizy citycar.

Though not yet official, these indicative figures compare favourably against the two other EVs that have been introduced in this market, namely the RM169k Nissan Leaf and RM136k Mitsubishi i-MiEV. Renault Malaysia says it will finalise the local prices by next month, May 2015.

To recap, the Zoe is Clio-sized all-electric vehicle that has a total power output of 65 kW (87 hp) and 220 Nm of torque. The 2014 models we’ll be getting has a claimed 210 km range. The Twizy, meanwhile, is a kind of a cross between a motorcycle and a car that’s meant for city use. It has a top speed of 80 km/h, and a 100 km range.

GALLERY: Renault Zoe

GALLERY: Renault Twizy

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Anyone drive twizy on the road definitely is a looker !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • yeah… especially when your whole body sweating.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
    • kadajawi (Member) on Apr 23, 2015 at 5:29 pm

I don’t think people would want to drive a car without real doors or side windows in Malaysia. Too dangerous. If anything it’s a fancy golf cart for the really rich, or something the security guard in an expensive condo would use to do his tour (bikes are so noisy!).

• start-a-fight on Apr 23, 2015 at 5:37 pm

it is call motorbike with roof for the rain

• Mongolian on Apr 24, 2015 at 9:08 am

Yes….agree…this is not even a real car…this is just a bike.

Guys, Pur ur persepctive and expectation right before commneting

• Try driving it around when rain.

• spongewai on Apr 23, 2015 at 2:07 pm

Zoe face kinda cute like girl

yup, really

but pricey thanks to crap G who doesn’t want to extend the CBU excise duty

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • In a strange way, Renault’s local presence started to gain some real momentum.

• riel. on Apr 23, 2015 at 2:16 pm

I saw that tiny twizy at kkip sabah last week…

• kinda hoping the Zoe to be under 100k.

• Tishaban on Apr 23, 2015 at 2:34 pm

An EV priced at roughly the same level as the hybrid would be interesting. Imagine the Zoe at around RM90-100k. I wouldn’t mind buying one.

• exactly! Well not as a primary long distance car of course. Using the zoe for daily commute and to the shops would be brilliant.

• RM 70k, 80 km/h top speed, 100 km range. Why would anyone spend that much on what amounts to a golf cart? And it doesn’t come with windows. Expect idiots to throw garbage into your car just because.

• mmmmm….it’s an EV with NO RV!!!!!Argghhhhhh.Heeeelpppp.No RV!!!!!!Can’t wait for no RV comment here.

• maslan the clown on Apr 23, 2015 at 3:42 pm

seems like a good buy. i might buy the zoe considering the range & it passed 5 star EURO ncap (not just some half a$$ed asean ncap / ancap). electric vehicle which can cater 5 people at a decent range + very safe vehicle. a plus point is u can also charge it at home socket as it comes with the charging cable too.

• kadajawi (Member) on Apr 23, 2015 at 5:32 pm

ANCAP isn’t half assed. EuroNCAP and ANCAP share their results with each other. And from 2018 on they will be identical.

• No RV car comment in 3…..2………..1…….

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 23, 2015 at 5:21 pm

Zoe is an interesting car I would say. In terms of polish, its not bad, I would say. Considering it was my first EV that I drove and it was a short round (one of Renault Malaysia’s publicity events, and it was run by Harve so we didn’t have to wait too long getting baked under the sun to be able to drive it), there was decent power and it felt alright. The rear feels way less claustrophobic compared to the Clio, but the thing is unlike the Clio, the floor of the car is raised for the battery. Which essentially means in the rear, while no “transmission tunnel”, you also don’t have a footwell, which is an issue on taller people.

Now I wonder if the Zoe can be made with a petrol engine… Hmm….

• Sammy on Apr 23, 2015 at 5:27 pm

RM140k for the Zoe, or RM90k for the Jazz plus RM50k spare change worth of petrol?… No brainer I would think? Unless you really feel like saving the planet.

and the Twizy? If you want the attention I suppose. Does it come with an aircond? put your maid at the back seat and hold that 12v fan for you.

• Leafable on Apr 24, 2015 at 6:18 am

You sound very uneducated. I assume you don’t have children. Money is not everything.

• sammy on Apr 27, 2015 at 3:30 pm

Wow, spot-on. How would you know I didn’t go college? Was it because my sentences were in question marks?

Children? On the contrary, even my kids tell me to avoid this.

And about money is not everything, I agree too. Try you talk to the management of the condo and see whether they let you pull a power cable from the 18th floor to charge your ride? Your kopi money might not cut it this time.

• Seen Malaysian concern fuel consumption, Twizy and Zoe are more save fuel than Vios and Camry Hybrid, go for it

• IrizX on Apr 23, 2015 at 6:19 pm

Yes and much more fuel saving than Iriz and Preve

• khoogoop on Apr 24, 2015 at 8:24 am

Yeah dragging p1 in all article is like somebody stupid enough in his life

• fendy on Apr 23, 2015 at 6:59 pm

saw Zoe in genting klang branch… kinda cool look

• CyberPatrol on Apr 23, 2015 at 7:28 pm

Has this electric car been tested in tropical environment where we have fresh floods waters about 6″ – 1ft height on the road during monsoon seasons. We know water and electric mixed can destroy electrical circuits and especially this a fully electric car.

Does warranty cover electric car damage after running over 6″-1ft of floor water during night driving? Not well intended to do it by owners but because electric cars manufacturer may have overlook this factor to give a water resistance a though (you do get this water resistance rating on used branded watches 10m,30m or more) ?

• Jimmy on Apr 23, 2015 at 10:02 pm

Please consider Iriz(proper car with 6 airbags + ESP + Lotus ride and handling + aesthetics + easier maintainence + 10k cheaper), or Smartfortwo(proper car by MBM), if you are thinking of Twizy for short distance city use.

• Iriz no thanks, Smartfortwo yes

• kadajawi (Member) on Apr 24, 2015 at 8:41 am

The smart fortwo (latest generation) is developed together with Renault. Most of it comes from Renault. It’s basically a shorter 2 seater version of the Renault Twingo.

Then again, if you buy a Mercedes A, B or C class you may very well find Renault engines. And the Mercedes Citan is a rebadged Renault Kangoo, just like Proton rebadged Mitsubishi Lancer models.

• peter on Apr 24, 2015 at 12:26 am

Before I sign-up, a few questions:-
    i) would Renault Malaysia also follow the same battery leasing scheme like they do in Europe and UK?
    ii) in Europe, a wall charger plug will be installed at the home of the buyer – would the same be provided in Malaysia? or are buyers going to charge over a standard 3-pin plug, which will then take 9hours or more to charge in full?
    iii) how would charging work for buyers who are living in condominiums?
    iv) any units on display or test drives available?

• Samlok on Apr 24, 2015 at 12:34 am

The twizy is a failure idea

• BullShit EV in Malaysia on Apr 26, 2015 at 11:09 pm

no point la..all those bullshits..EV cars shld be very much lower in price..so expensive due to what? Purely promotional but not honest in busineess. why promote something where no one will buy such high priced EV? Who’s causing it?? we all know