Renault Twizy – a two-seater electric “car” for RM75k?

Renault Twizy MY 8

Would you pay RM75k for a two-seater electric vehicle that’s sort of a cross between a motorcycle and a car? Because that’s the price we saw listed for the Renault Twizy in CarBase.my’s Car Market Value Guide, which uses data from the general insurance industry’s ISM database.

You won’t be able to buy one at that price from Renault Malaysia though, because for the moment, the general public can no longer get duty-free exemption for CBU electric vehicles. It’s likely in the ISM database because a few units have been registered and insured under the COMOS electric vehicle rental programme, which can acquire these cars at a duty-free price.

cb-twizy

The Renault Twizy has four wheels and sits two occupants in tandem, one behind the other like on a scooter or a bike, but wraparound bodywork and side deflectors offer some general protection from the elements. There are ‘windows’ which you can zip up, in case of rain.

It weighs in at 450 kg, and has an operational range of around 100 km per charge. The lithium-ion battery fully charges in just 3.5 hours using a domestic electrical supply via a spiral cable stowed behind a flap at the front – the plug is a British Standard three-pin unit, and with a draw of around 10 amps, is safe for use in any wall power socket.

You can play around with the CarBase.my car market value database. If you find any other interesting cars listed, do drop us a note in the comments.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Ah Beng ProtonFan on Jan 26, 2015 at 3:51 pm

How need this shit when u can have Iriz the global car for cheaper price !!!

Proton !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 30
    • Oh but given a choice, this shiit is still better than the iriz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • This little cart. Kalau hujan, basah habis. No aircond some more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
  • 4G63T DSM on Jan 26, 2015 at 4:12 pm

Get Axia E. 25k.

50K left over for Fuel. = 26,000 L = 400,000 Km @ 15km/L average. 20K/yr average, can use for 20 years.

At least the Axia has Aircon, and isn’t that much more difficult to park. Both will get stuck in the same KL jam anyway.

So no. I rather buy those kiddy electric cars for the kids.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 7
  • car-fans on Jan 26, 2015 at 4:15 pm

What?!? No air-cond? Is this Europe ?

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 26, 2015 at 4:21 pm

Would have worked in 4 season countries but not here. The sun and rain would kill the occupants.

Use it in Genting or Cameron for tourists would be a better idea.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • Jimmy on Jan 26, 2015 at 5:27 pm

Smart.
    Mini.
    Kura-kura car.
    Good choices.

• Motorbike better

• interesting on Jan 26, 2015 at 7:57 pm

in all honesty? i’d get one if its about the price of a top spec Axia, circa 40k?

maybe renault can retro fit a few panels on the side for tropical countries in case of rain.

• For indoor Customers/ Tourist attraction purposes.

Buat Gempak your business.
    Of course.,:
    Not in the traffic Jam

• gberd on Jan 26, 2015 at 9:55 pm

Just watch latest top gear is just cost 7000 pound in UK, about rm 37 k !!!

• panjang on Jan 26, 2015 at 11:29 pm

Add in a proper door with window and i can drive this to work everyday coz i dont live in jam area.

But, i will leave home at 7 am and leave work above 7pm.No aircond….

• thepolygonal on Jan 27, 2015 at 9:20 am

Yes.. very good…. this will replace lots of golf cart.

• Pile it up withe the rest of the french junk.
    No big difference…
    PCB sure burn anyway under M’sia’s hot climate.
    Oh, about parts? Forget it…

• better u dont live in Malaysia laa…. get out and find a better place….u piece of shit…