2017 Nissan GT-R to get “around 700 hp” – report

Nissan GT-R 2015MY

Further adding fuel to a previous report, Auto Bild is now claiming more or less the same story surrounding the powertrain of the 2017 Nissan GT-R. In its findings, the German publication understands that the next-generation of one of Japan’s most popular supercar killer will adopt a hybrid powertrain similar to the one currently in service on the GT-R LM Nismo race machine.

Said powertrain setup features a twin-turbo 3.0 litre petrol V6 mill, itself touted to put down as much as 500 hp, while an electric motor with Kinetic Energy Recovery System (KERS) further augments the package by providing as much as 1,500 hp in total. A five-speed sequential transmission with a Tilton triple-plate carbon clutch and a pneumatic paddle shift layout sends all that grunt to all four wheels.

As a result, it’s not so surprising to see a milder variation of the same powertrain lurking under the bonnet of the next-gen GT-R – which will be front-engined still, as confirmed by Nissan’s Shiro Nakamura. So far, reports are in that the 2017 Nissan GT-R will have a power output hovering about the 700 hp-mark.

120932_1_5

“It’s a direct injection engine, and the combustion technology, and integration of turbo and intake system within the head design, is all very interesting and highly applicable to the road,” said Ben Bowlby, Nissan’s LMP1 team principal and technical director, to Top Gear UK in a separate interview. Furthermore, the mill is touted to maintain a sensible rev limit of 6,500 rpm.

Styling wise, multiple sources have reported that the thoroughly-reworked Godzilla will draw copious amounts of inspiration from the Nissan Concept 2020 Vision Gran Turismo (pictured above). Expect more details to surface in the near future as its debut date approaches.

GALLERY: Nissan GT-R LM Nismo

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Makan Nasi Lemak dan Tidor on May 27, 2015 at 1:52 pm

Whilst all car manufacturers are either increasing bhp or reducing consumption, our Proton still no improvement. Just suck the rakyat’s money.

While worldwide drive latest cars, we got to drive 10 year old outdated Myvi. before that, we suffered with 20 yr old Wira.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 18
    • Beng P1boy on May 27, 2015 at 4:43 pm

All you know are makan and tidur…

Go read and study more about cars, and don’t bring in Proton here kid !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
    • Zapruder on May 28, 2015 at 9:19 am

Baca artikel pasal R35, komen pasal proton dan Myvi.. Haish.. Please channel it to the right / proper place.

• Areyousure on May 27, 2015 at 2:29 pm

Boring… GTR with updated engine again and again…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 25
  • Ahh-GTR on May 27, 2015 at 2:44 pm

I’ll take two please. Yes, scaled at 1:26. Thank you :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • Ahh-GTR on May 27, 2015 at 2:46 pm

I’ll take two please!. Yes, scaled at 1:26. Thank you :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Jilbaber (Member) on May 27, 2015 at 4:36 pm

Nah I don’t like the concept…GTR seems going into super car path…I miss its day as race boy tuner car.

• nabill (Member) on May 27, 2015 at 5:24 pm

A GTR needs 3 things to get right…. interior quality, a better dualclutch box and overall better refinement…. In most reviews, those three points are always mentioned as things to improve upon.. Powertrain dosnt need anymore power.. In the uk, the price is more than 100k pounds for a well specced variant,@ that price level, u have audi, porsche, bmw all fighting for that segment…

• karthik on May 28, 2015 at 12:13 am

The LMP car, It doesn’t send power to all four wheels, it’s front wheel drive.

• Ah Beng Vios Turbo TRD godcar on May 28, 2015 at 12:17 am

This is nothing. My Vios Quad turbo has 2000hp.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • ah beng viva smallcar on May 29, 2015 at 8:34 am

i drive viva only, and we stuck together in trafic jam. better buy viva :)

• bholay on May 29, 2015 at 1:14 pm

love