Lykan Hypersport added to Abu Dhabi’s police fleet

lykan abu dhabi

In a definite show of one-upmanship, the Abu Dhabi police force has recently added the limited-run Lykan Hypersport into its fleet of cop cars.

The latest acquisition intensifies the ‘war’ going on between the Abu Dhabi and the Dubai police force, which of course has been making the news with its exotic and impressive police fleet vehicles, including a 700 hp and 960 Nm Brabus B63S-700 Widestar as well as the Lamborghini Aventador.

Now, Abu Dhabi’s boys in blue (or blue-grey, if you will) has come up trumps with this one, considering that the Hypersport used by the force is one of of only seven units available.

The Lykan Hypersport from Lebanese company W Motors, which comes with a US$3.4 million (RM12.5 million) price tag – is powered by a 3.7 litre twin turbo flat-six that was developed by RUF. The mill punches out 759 hp and a neck-breaking 1,000 Nm of twist, which is transferred to the wheels by a six-speed sequential gearbox. It gets up from 0 to 100 km/h in 2.8 seconds and has a top speed of 395 km/h.

The car was recently featured in Fast and Furious 7. In the film, the supercar – which features diamond-coated LED headlights – was destroyed after going through three buildings. Before you collapse from a heart attack, keep in mind that a total of six replicas were made for that logic-defying scene.

Jared David

Despite his age, Jared David is an old soul in a young body. He eats, sleeps and breathes cars. When he is not attempting to finish his tertiary education, he can be found in workshops in Klang, tinkering with old school cars.

• TheDean on Jun 03, 2015 at 2:04 pm

The very definition of waste. No government should spend as such. As rich as they may be, there are always better things to spend on.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
    • Ambrose on Jun 03, 2015 at 3:04 pm

Meanwhile our police is still using Proton…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 13
      • Bodoh.. kt dubai sesuai guna kete camni sbb sana rakyat dier kaya raya ramai kete sport high en.. kt malaysia setakat byk myvi guna lancer pon da ok.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
        • Policeman on Jun 03, 2015 at 7:57 pm

Proton how to chase criminals? Slow like snail. Criminals can easily smoke Proton

• listen, you dont know them, they are very rich and everyone there is rich, porsche cayenne there is like honda here in malaysia so popular, ferrari, porsche 911 got 20 months waiting list there in dubai ! so pls let the ppl enjoy their life, you should salute their government to make their rakyat happy and have luxury life, unlike other useless governments !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Jun 03, 2015 at 2:10 pm

Are u kidding me?

I want to be a policeman as well

• wilson on Jun 03, 2015 at 2:18 pm

are u sure this is correct infor?

[The car was recently featured in Fast and Furious 7. In the film, the supercar – which features diamond-coated LED headlights – was destroyed after going through three buildings.]

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 18
    • yosiDa on Jun 03, 2015 at 9:43 pm

you sir can’t read

“six replicas were made for that logic-defying scene.”

• paparadzi (Member) on Jun 03, 2015 at 2:27 pm

Considering that FF7 was filmed in Abu Dhabi, it could be part of the deal to leave the car behind.

• kumar on Jun 03, 2015 at 3:40 pm

How can the car be destroyed when cgi was used?

• urzu3 on Jun 04, 2015 at 1:38 am

most of the car stunt is using a real replica car.. look at the F&F7 the making scene

• shawal on Jun 03, 2015 at 5:02 pm

once the oil wells has dried up , its back to camels and carpets for you money wasters…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • listen, you dont know them, they are very rich and everyone there is rich, porsche cayenne there is like honda here in malaysia so popular, ferrari, porsche 911 got 20 months waiting list there in dubai ! so pls let the ppl enjoy their life, you should salute their government to make their rakyat happy and have luxury life, unlike other useless governments !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
      • Pleiades on Jun 04, 2015 at 5:36 pm

No, not everyone there is rich, the slaves who construct the skyscrapers for example, or the abused maids from poorer countries. Lazy Arabs only have their luxury by happening to sit on huge oil deposits, for which they can thank the dinosaurs (but will probably praise Allah instead). Helping other Muslims in distress (I believe there are a few around the world) is obviously not something those pampered buffoons ever consider.

• stop the nonsense , you yourself if you able to buy such a car for yourself you will without hesitation . you ppl are just full of hate towards other rich ppl. and tell me, you think malaysia got no resources ? malaysia got good resources maybe more than what arabs got, at least in malaysia you got oil, green area, in arab we have to struggle and import our food bcoz the desert.. so stop barking and hate towards other ppl, and for the maids from poor countries, tell me how many maids in malaysia got abused? stop being hypocrite

• Pleiades on Jun 06, 2015 at 1:03 am

Read up about how many slave labourers are dying in Qatar building stadia for the World Cup (as well as those in Saudi, UAE, Kuwait etc making those lovely skyscrapers). How many Arabs work on those sites? None whatsoever, because they can get others to do all the hard labour for them but only due to luckily sitting on a big pile of unearned oil. Are you telling me that if you were that rich, all you’d think about is buying a stupid car that is barely usable on public roads, instead of helping your fellow human beings? I am not a hypocrite and no, I would not purchase such a wasteful bauble because a) I’m not an Arab and b) I have morals.

• C. P. MOHAN on Jun 03, 2015 at 5:55 pm

How they spend their wealth is not my concern because the Average-Joe (meaning not the super-rich) will say I drove a super-car, have you!

• potpet on Jun 03, 2015 at 6:02 pm

Go find the video for this car on youtube, hear it’s engine sound.
    What did you hear? A shitty lorry engine sound.

• Annoynimouse on Jun 03, 2015 at 10:33 pm

They don’t actually use the car for high speed chases. Just like the Dubai force, it’s just for show.

• greytiger on Jun 04, 2015 at 12:56 pm

Lykan “Hype” sport. Is only a talk cock car. Dare this car to do a comparison with LaFerrari, P1 or 918.

• EVOPolis on Jun 04, 2015 at 1:05 pm

Our own polis also owned a fleet of Evo as petrolcars not bad..la enough to chase after myvi and proton cukup baik.