Renault Talisman revealed – stylish new D-segment sedan replaces both the Renault Laguna and Latitude

renault-talisman-0044

Renault has presented its new D-segment Renault Talisman in France. Looks impressive doesn’t it? This is the first application of Renault’s latest design language to a sedan body after it made its debut on the new Espace.

The Talisman replaces both the European-centric Laguna and the ‘rest of the world’ Latitude as a single global D-segment in Renault’s line-up. The Talisman name is not new, though – it was previously used for the Latitude in the China market.

Built on Renault-Nissan’s CMF architecture in Douai, France, it’s a big car, measuring 4,850 mm long, 1,870 mm wide and 1,460 mm tall, with a 2,810 mm wheelbase. Renault gave it a pretty large boot as well, measuring in at 608 litres, one of the biggest in its class.

renault-talisman-0042

Those ‘hooks’ below the headlamp may seem like an odd feature at first but they make sense at night as they form a C-shaped DRL pattern. The rear of the car also features a lighting design that makes a strong visual impact – the tail lamps extend inwards towards the Renault badge on the centre of the boot lid.

Like the Espace, there’s a portrait-orientation 7.0-inch or 8.7-inch (depending on mid or high spec) R-Link II touch screen that’s mounted in the centre of the dashboard. This controls navigation, entertainment and climate control. Lower spec cars feature a regular radio with a 4.2-inch display. Unlike other French cars, Renault put a lot of thought into cubby holes – there’s a claimed 25 litres of storage space around the cabin.

renault-talisman-0023

You have an eight litre glove box (will this be retained for right hand drive, we wonder), 4.6 litres in each front door, two litres in each rear door, cupholders that have a sliding lid cover, a chilled storage compartment under the central armrest, and a tray for the front passenger for keys or a phone.

Approach the car with the Renault key card in your pocket and the car’s exterior lights as well as wing mirror puddle lamps will turn on to greet you. Open the door and the electric seats will slide back 50 mm to facilitate ingress.

renault-talisman-0022

You’ll be sitting in a seat that has what’s claimed to be a world first use of ‘Cover Carving Technology’. It’s essentially a semi-rigid, flexible and lightweight shell that is about one kilogram lighter than a regular plastic seat back shell and allows 30 mm more knee room in the rear.

A few engine options are available. The two petrol engines options consist of TCe 150 and 200 hp, 260 Nm Energy TCt 200 units mated to a seven-speed EDC dual clutch transmission. Oil burner options include the Energy dCi 110, the 130 hp, 320 Nm Energy dCi 130 and the 160 hp, 380 Nm twin-turbo Energy dCi 160, all mated to six-speed EDC dual-clutch transmissions.

You’ll be able to choose from Comfort, Sport, Eco and Neutral drive modes which adjust the steering, engine, active damper control and gearbox accordingly. There’s also 4Control which is four wheel steering, but it isn’t something new to Renault D-segment cars as the older Laguna also had it. It isn’t something that its competitors have caught on to yet though, so it remains the only car in its class to have it.

Will we see the Talisman in Malaysia? We don’t know for now, but word is that the distributor is more likely to focus on crossovers as that seems to be the way the market is heading right now.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• seancorr (Member) on Jul 06, 2015 at 11:18 pm

Impressive interior and the exterior while I don’t like how the DRLs the rear looks good too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • karam singh on Jul 07, 2015 at 2:05 am

Congratulations Renault,
      nice new fresh design.. The interior dont look boring as the old one.
      The speedo & Infotainment like volvo. Big & very nice looking.

• camryrubbish on Jul 07, 2015 at 5:11 am

Habis la camry

• Same L0rrrr on Jul 07, 2015 at 2:08 pm

Renault RV is worse than kimchi, beware!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
        • karam singh on Jul 07, 2015 at 2:13 pm

Camry safety worse than Renault ..
          Beware,
          Renault, top 2 car brand with best safety ;D

Safety>RV
          #livesmoreimportantthanmoney

• Same L0rrrr on Jul 07, 2015 at 3:46 pm

Not everyone will have accidents, but everyone will sell their car eventually.

Renault is safer than Toyota? You wish!
            http://www.iihs.org/iihs/ratings/vehicle/v/toyota/prius-4-door-hatchback

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
        • Not all will think bout RV these days…

• shawal on Jul 06, 2015 at 11:32 pm

looks like an ’emo’ themed car with those C-shaped DRLs…
    not diggin it’

elsewhere looks distinguishly french and fresh….

• olio benzina on Jul 06, 2015 at 11:43 pm

Face of the Passat, interior of a Tesla.
    The halo from all conquering Renault Viry has already faded and the rest of the world continue to prefer hard riding Boche machines over supple French executive waftmobiles.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
  • Roque on Jul 07, 2015 at 12:38 am

Every now and then, one gets a just a quick look at something be it a person, an object and in this case, a car, and you get that immediate WOW response. We can call it the first impression I suppose. This is exactly what I felt. Disclaimer, have not looked into the details as yet. But from first glance, not too sure if there is anything to dislike. Well done Renault. I give u a 9.9 / 10. That 0.1 is for the squeaky window every once in awhile. Try fixing that will you now, please.

• Aero (Member) on Jul 07, 2015 at 12:40 am

Looks incredible ! o.o

No point asking TC Euro Cars to bring this here, the Germans (especially Mercedes-Benz Malaysia) are just too strong, all the other Euro badges live in their shadow. Maybe still worth bringing in a few CBU units to ‘test’ the market.

• Josh Ling on Jul 07, 2015 at 12:41 am

I do hope to see it in Malaysia. It’s a stunning looking car for me. the DRL just making it that much more unique and “french flair” for me. love it.

• I think the 160hp diesel would be perfect since euro 5 diesel is coming soon and petrol price going up every month.

• copy cat PASSAT..booooo!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 19
  • kadajawi (Member) on Jul 07, 2015 at 3:09 am

I dig those DRLs… it looks kind of cool.

The whole car is quite good looking. This thing needs to have a RS version… the looks really deserve it. Something to go against AMG and M and RS.

• coral on Jul 07, 2015 at 5:15 am

Sushi dun have any chance to even take a peek. This is eyes opener.

• Amran PEKIDA Ori on Jul 07, 2015 at 8:05 am

Passat + Kia K5

• Vicchu on Jul 07, 2015 at 8:19 am

i wanna own this so badly..lol

• this car will eat the peugeot 508 sales i reckon

• It’s a teana with a spiffier outfit.

• heybadigol (Member) on Jul 07, 2015 at 9:32 am

Very handsome design outside. The inside is nice with its minimalist clean and uncluttered look. Nothing wrong with it, but for me (and this is pretty subjective), it needs a feature point. Like a minimalist house with white walls & gray flooring has a bright painting or designer sofa to draw your attention. I know its got a similar dash to the Espace, but I like the MPV’s dash more. Maybe its the stylised auto shifter in the Espace that provides a feature point.

First time i’ve heard a D segment sedan with over 600 litres of bootspace. Thats huge! Pictures of the cavernous boot would be welcome.

• Wow! This is actually a pretty good looking and spec-ed car…. But I expect this to come to Malaysia with price tag about 200k plus.

• Jonn Dol on Jul 07, 2015 at 10:48 am

Very solid effort from Renault, every aspect is nicely executed. It’s time for some comparo..

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 07, 2015 at 10:51 am

I really think Renault nailed it with this one. TC Euro can actually bring it in cause after all the Peugeot 508 sells pretty well…
    But right now it seems it has been confirmed for LHD only :(

http://www.caradvice.com.au/364151/renault-talisman-unveiled/

• Ongtk on Jul 07, 2015 at 11:09 am

I remember in the early 90s when Volvo cars, I believe they are pioneers, were fitted with DRLs, many buyers would get the workshop to disable the function reasoning it drains the car battery. Sadly today, many motorists still believed this to be true, and are reluctant to switch on their lights during the early morning and evening hours unless it gets too dark for them to see the road. This is also true during heavy rain and thunderstorms when you see many drivers driving without the lights switched on. I have the auto light on by default for my car and many car owners have pointed out to me that I have forgotten to switch off my lights during the early morning and evening hours. Today, DRLs, a safety feature no doubt when introduced, have become a cosmetic necessity on cars and manufacturers are working overtime to best it each in this department!

• olio benzina on Jul 07, 2015 at 12:03 pm

DRLs in bright sunny climes are unnecessary.
      The dazzling glints distract and add fatigue to oncoming drivers.
      Though not quite as bad as idiots who switch on rear foglamps on clear nights.

• Regardless if it’s bright and sunny climes, DRL’s are about increasing the chances of being seen hence increasing your safety bubble. It’s just like motorcyclists with headlamps on.

• olio benzina on Jul 07, 2015 at 10:46 pm

No. May be a good idea for foggy or snowy countries but unnecessary in sunny Malaysia. we have enough gkare from bright sunlight reflected off glass and chrome.

Auto-on headlights are good enough for tunnels and shaded areas. Perpetually on DRLs just add to light pollution.

When every car has DRL and drivers mind tune out due glare overload then what? Resort to flashing strobe to stand out and create “visibility bubble”.

Once everyone has DRL, the

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 09, 2015 at 2:24 am

I disagree. No matter how bright, some cars blend in right with the road. The DRLs draw attention, which is good. I live in a rather sunny country, but when I drive a car without DRL I turn on my headlights. Day or night.

• Typical of the France cars,
    Good in design but worse in reliability