Lexus ES facelift launched in Malaysia – 3 variants

Lexus ES Facelift Girls 1

Open for booking late last month, the Lexus ES facelift was officially launched by Lexus Malaysia this morning in KL. Three variants are available here – the ES 250 Premium, ES 250 Luxury and ES 300h.

The ES 250 variants are powered by a 2.5 litre four-cylinder engine with 181 hp and 235 Nm of torque. The Dual VVT-i 2AR-FE unit is paired to a six-speed automatic gearbox and power goes to the front wheels. 0-100 km/h is done in 9.8 seconds on the way to a 207 km/h top speed.

The ES 300h is a hybrid variant. Its powertrain consists of a 2.5 litre Atkinson cycle four-cylinder engine (158 hp, 213 Nm) and a 105 kW electric motor powered by nickel-metal hydride (Ni-MH) batteries. Total system output is 202 hp and power is channeled to the front wheels via a CVT gearbox. The Drive Mode Selector provides Eco, Normal, Sport and EV modes. 0-100 km/h 8.5 seconds.

Lexus ES 250 Luxury 3

Looks so much more sharper now, doesn’t it? The facelift gives the ES the sharp, bold face carried by the younger members of the Lexus range. The latest spindle grille is bigger, has thicker chrome borders and no break in the middle for the number plate; while the redesigned headlights sport ‘tick’ LED DRLs. The fog lamps are also a lot more stylised now.

At the back, the ES facelift features new tail lamps – from flowing three bars, now we have double L-shaped LED bars. The chrome bar connecting the lights is thicker and bolder now. The exhaust tips, one on each side, are now “diamond-shaped”; this is for ES 250, the hybrid has hidden pipes and a boot lid spoiler. New 17-inch wheel designs (215/55 tyres) wrap things up.

Inside, the refreshed big sedan features a new three-spoke steering wheel, new gear lever with leather boot, 4.2-inch colour multi-info display, embossed seat upholstery and a new “Enter” button to complement the latest Remote Touch Interface.

Aesthetic bits aside, the ES gets retuned shock absorbers to match the increased body rigidity for maintained ride comfort and handling stability. Rigidity is up via the application of structural reinforcements learnt in chassis tuning for the IS. An additional layer of insulation has been added behind the dashboard to further isolate engine noise.

We now come to equipment. The ES 250 Premium and ES 250 Luxury are differentiated by the following – low and high LED headlamps (Premium: low LED, high halogen), a powered boot, ambient lights, navigation, a higher spec “Electro Multi-Vision” central screen with Remote Touch Controller, manual door sunshades (powered rear sunshade standard for all), Lexus Premium Audio, semi-aniline leather, driver cushion length adjuster, passenger shoulder switch and memory seats for the front passenger (Premium: driver only).

Safety wise, the ES comes with 10 airbags, ABS/EBD, VSC, Hill Start Assist and a tyre pressure warning system as standard, but the Luxury adds on the Blind Spot Monitor and Rear Cross Traffic Alert. The ES 250 Premium is priced at RM259,200 while the Luxury comes in at RM278,600, on-the-road with GST, before insurance.

Lexus ES 250 Luxury 84

The ES 300h is priced at RM355,100. Besides the hybrid powertrain, the range topper adds on a Mark Levinson sound system with 15 speakers, nearly double the speaker count of the ES 250. The hybrid battery comes with an eight-year unlimited mileage warranty, in addition to a three-year/100,000 km factory warranty for the car. Lexus Security and Solar film is included for all.

Six self-healing paint colours are available – Red Mica Crystal Shine, Sonic Quartz, Graphite Black GF, Platinum Silver Metallic, Sonic Titanium and Amber CS. The interior colours are Black, Ivory and Topaz Brown depending on exterior colour (Birdseye Maple Wood trim standard for all); the latter brown is only for the ES 250 Luxury and 300h.

Since the order book was open in late July, Lexus Malaysia has collected over 100 orders for the ES facelift, with the ES 250 Luxury the most popular variant. The company plans to sell 750 units of the ES this year, helping an overall 2015 sales target of 2,200 units.

Lexus ES 250 Luxury

Lexus ES 250 Premium

Lexus ES 300h at GIIAS 2015

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Underneath it all still a Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 27
    • Not proctical design on Aug 24, 2015 at 1:52 pm

Imagine if the car hit the front bumper, you got to replace grill, light and bumper. Good look but lousy uneconomical design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 19
      • Lexus - King of RV Depreciation on Aug 24, 2015 at 3:08 pm

Lexus maybe a good car but buyer beware. It is the King of RV Depreciation. 2010 Lexus LS460L top of the range now selling for RM120k. Used car dealers will beg you to even take it for RM99k even. Shocking because less than 5 years ago, the car was close to RM900k.

In 4 years plus your car can jatuh from RM900k to RM99k.

That is how bad Lexus RV is. If you can afford to bear with the falling RV, go ahead and buy it and enjoy it. Bear in mind also, most of the Lexus buyers, after susah payah paying 5 years every month, have to still top up berpuluh ribu their loan when they sell their car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 27
        • flipper2uman (Member) on Aug 25, 2015 at 10:00 am

@Lexus-King of RV Depreciation.

You obviously have no f@@King idea about the behavior of the luxury car market buyers. The people that buy this Luxury segment be it a Merc, BMW, Lexus, Infinity, Jaguar and etc do not give jack sh*!t about RESALE VALUE!!!

Most people who buy the LS460L, S-Class, BMW 7 are company directory of listed and unlisted companies. The car after 5 years is depreciated to it salvage value in the company’s book and tender off.

Stop having your little wet dream about owning a Luxury car because it is so obvious you are not even in the target segment of these companies. My advise is if you are so concern about second hand value maybe you can shop around the Sunday AmCorp Mall area for those cheap cars. You can get some good bargains there. You could that use your remaining cash after your purchase and go buy one of those model car in your wet dream.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
    • Same L0rrrr on Aug 24, 2015 at 2:19 pm

So Toyota has LFA, 86, Mirai, Prius etc. What does your beloved Proton has? ugly and noisy modded Satria crawling on the road?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 11
      • Sam Sister on Aug 24, 2015 at 3:16 pm

diam lah kalau anak you pakai saga juga.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
        • Same L0rrrr on Aug 24, 2015 at 5:12 pm

If I have any Proton junk at home, I give you for FREE!!!

Proton is a dead trap. You buy one, forever your money is trapped there with its high maintenance and super-low RV. Good luck!

Junk definition: Give it out free also no one bother.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
        • Nonsense on Aug 24, 2015 at 11:44 pm

Then why you bought your son proton?

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 24, 2015 at 4:12 pm

Wow…what a beauty…c & 3…be afraid b very afraid…

• das auto on Aug 25, 2015 at 12:18 am

Finally it doesn’t look like pariah ah pek camry anymore…

• Underneath, it gives U Toyota Peace Of Mind, Reliability and Sustainability.

• Carter on Aug 24, 2015 at 12:59 pm

Work harder and get Mercedes Benz rather than this Lexus, believe me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 37
    • Fastwork on Aug 24, 2015 at 1:26 pm

I’m an owner of Mercedes C Class but, I have high regards for this Lexus ES Model. The build quality is excellent and it is so quiet. The only downside is the torque figure which is a bit on the low side but, it is not a tie-breaker issue for someone who wants to enjoy a premium car minus the price of a German premium car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 1
      • Bruce on Aug 24, 2015 at 2:39 pm

The price they are selling here is almost the same as Mercs or BMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
        • No the price is different because of the ES is a different segment vs the C and 3

• No the price is different because the ES is a different segment vs the C and 3

• sheng on Aug 24, 2015 at 4:05 pm

mercs only for drug dealer …get an audi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
  • Frugal on Aug 24, 2015 at 1:03 pm

180HP 240Nm i choose coming soon Ford Focus Sedan, more cheaper, more fun to drive, save more money to invest another home.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 22
    • I’ve driven the new Focus(auto) overseas,and it does not feel like a 180HP car at all, feels much slower than expected, with a tested 0-100 @ 8.8 sec. Definitely fun to drive though, good handling.

• shawal on Aug 24, 2015 at 1:05 pm

One of the best rears in the business, like the red paint and cozy interior

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • DPCraft on Aug 24, 2015 at 1:45 pm

<3 LOVE this car so much, now it looks sharper :)

• I ate on Aug 24, 2015 at 2:02 pm

What a slow machine for such a high price. Lexus has lost the plot.

• What’s the difference between this and the IS? Besides FWD and RWD

• Blu Oval on Aug 24, 2015 at 3:05 pm

Lexus 250 engine = Pre-FL Camry 2.5 Engine?

Lexus 300h = Post-FL Camry 2.5 Engine?

Well..really respect those luxurious spec sheet, but under the hoods..is a big letdown. Should have chosen turbocharged route for better overall performance.

• Same L0rrrr on Aug 24, 2015 at 5:55 pm

That’s why you see our Camry is selling hot, under the hood, it is a Lexus engine! Everyone wants it.

For those sozai dreaming of Mercedes, let me share with you on figures and fact:

C250 – RM299k (without insurance)
      Compact Executive car

ES250 Luxury – RM278k (without insurance)
      Full size luxury car
      More horsepower and torque

• Nonsense on Aug 24, 2015 at 11:47 pm

No everyone earn hard earn money like you as a sales man Uncle Sam. Why you bother if you can’t afford.

• Toyoya on Aug 24, 2015 at 3:08 pm

Pre and Post Facelifted Camry 2.5 Engines huh? Really?

• tinmilo on Aug 24, 2015 at 3:33 pm

it does look better after facelift, making it easier for potential buyer to part with their money…
    But is a miss opportunity that the engines didn’t get revised.
    The existing 2.5 engine is neither economical nor a powerful one, and the E300h just spell “Camry” all over…
    Should have installed the 2.0 turbo like in the NX.
    And why they don’t put in the reclining seats at the back? Even the Camry has it in Thailand and India.

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 24, 2015 at 3:49 pm

Danny you meant to say the Premium has low-LED high-halogen and only the driver has electric seats right since the Luxury is the more expensive version.

As for the looks the FL ES does look good but that’s what I don’t really like about Lexus. So much change it renders the pre-FL customer cars look like its 10 years behind and that’s not a good way to retain existing customer base.

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Aug 24, 2015 at 3:55 pm

“We now come to equipment. The ES 250 Premium and ES 250 Luxury are differentiated by the following – low and high LED headlamps (Luxury: low LED, high halogen), a powered boot, ambient lights, navigation, a higher spec “Electro Multi-Vision” central screen with Remote Touch Controller, manual door sunshades (powered rear sunshade standard for all), Lexus Premium Audio, semi-aniline leather, driver cushion length adjuster, passenger shoulder switch and memory seats for the front passenger (Luxury: driver only). ”

Am I reading this right…? Luxury model skimping on some equipments yet still more expensive than Premium…?

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Aug 24, 2015 at 7:49 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV.

If its a KIA, start writing a will

• Tan Chia Kit on Nov 08, 2018 at 1:24 am

Kalao takut depreciate don’t buy car lah. Sampai sekarang umur 24 kancil pun aku tak mampu beli lagi. Semua duit aku dah beli rumah